Lynn, i think silk petals are fine coz wat u want is the effect n not as a close-up look at the petals. When they r use as confetti, 2 factors u shld consider:
1) The guests seeing the WOW effect and they r seated frm far, they can't tell whether the petals r fresh/fake.
2) The AD photographer able to capture tat moment n same thing, cam can't tell.
If u are having so much worries abt the fresh petals, I wld advise u to get the silk one to ease ur worries.
If u really wan fresh flowers, these r wat u can do loh:
1) Bring your petal basket to florist n tell them u need to fill up how many of that baskets and leave the quantity headache to them. Get a jiemei to collect the petals only on AD itself and check wif florist where is best to store the petals to prevent wilter? My guess is in aircon room. Colours wise is on personal preference but it quite safe to use a mixture of red, pink & white/ivory...seem many times. Or just a colour contrast with ur WG is equally lovely

Most important factor abt fresh petals, look for a trustable florist. Normally some like to cheap ppl since u r getting petals, they will give u those cannot make it one. U remember I had rose petals during my PS? I bot it frm market near J&M, told them b4 my PS date n ask them to get ready $2 petals for me. In the end I recieve those petals with the wiltered ends loh. But I dun care lah, $2 ok and can't b seem on cam. In the end....hehehe..effect is gd and really can't b seen. Now I realised I haven't show u my PS fotos hor....hahahahaha...sending u soon

And u can see for urself! Confetti are meant as an effect, not close-up thingy
Just remind urself, nothing will be ugly coz everything planned/prepared are your efforts.
Lynn, Amaza dun give invites & wedding favours to ROM package.
Honeygem, so is now your skin whiter/smoother ah? I given up hope to lighten my chicken pox scars on my body liao....sobsob....