(2005) Brides of year 2005

hi honeygem, i m feeling much better n less stress after hubby enlightened me. Still got lots to do lah but will feel not to feel so uptight loh. Guess i juz need to let go on certain things....

honeygem, i need to get couple pyjamas not those sexy type lah...is those long sleeve top n pants (blue n pink), seen anywhere? Thinking of putting tat on after the AD dinner..hehehe...

Hubby gave me a pair of ear-rings (flower design), think it kinda matches my WG if I am choosing tat flowery WG frm my PS. Pretty match the theme ya ;)

hmmm.. you have two choices:
1) scrap villa frangipanni and go with Amara to save you all the hassles

2) Deal direct with Robin and no longer have Wendy in the planning process. This is something you can request as part of your terms. At least now you know your wedding is being supervised by the owner itself.

And I bot him working shirts & a gift of all his family members which he juz complained shirt not enuff to wear...hehehehe...

235229.gif

Merry Christmas to all of u!!!!

me quite some time no watch show liao....the last movie i watch is shutter.....

went shopping with my bro n sis in law, saw a show that goes well with Kua...but didnt buy. still early.

coyote,

so how? u think u can get better service from robin directly? u stilll haven't sign with amara so i guess u can still change your mind to go back lor...

the thing is really let them earn your $500 and give u so much grief. why dun u go down and have a talk with robin directly see how's his attitude in person... if u still dun feel comfortable dealing with him then juat put your money at amara, and just spend the $500 on furnishings lor... or u can try to demand your money back if u wan, depending on his attitude?

hi lynn, yah, ikea has them. i saw them at the atruim, outside the hotdog counter. din see them in the candle section though, maybe got but not paying attention so din see...

coyote,
so whats ur decision?
i think should not let the rest to eat ur 500 bucks,
but personnally feel amara also very nice place to hold ur wedding cos it will be indoor kept u from hot and rain.

tks gers, nothing much to consider...hubby n I no longer comfy wif villafrang. We will be taking Amara, juz printed all my invites wif Amara as the venue liao...hahaha... Hubby n I spent 4hrs+ juz to print some inserts...aiyo...really blood n sweat ah :P

Wat I feel injustice is the $500 deposit. Btw, Robin is the boss n he dun do events lah...so dun pin hope on him.

sgn, so late still awake ah?

wah coyote, u no need to sleep too also one huh?
congrats for having solved your venu problems

the $500 bucks no choice lah, better enjoy your day than face the idiotic manager rite?

amara dun give u invites ah? u have to print your own?

seems like everyone's very busy hor?

gosh. look at me. 8.30am on a Sunday and Im on the net! I cannot sleep...

Went for a body skin smoothing job at the Traditional House of Javanese Massage, near my place.Think the package is called Lotus Pure (skin whitening) and I didnt know what to expect since I've never done any wraps, soak etc.

But it was lovely. I got my body scrubbed for half hour, another half hour of some body wrap, then an hour worth of massage followed by a half hour soak in some milk bath. Heaven! For only $150 for 150mins. I thought it's great.

So I've booked myself for another round two days before my wedding day and some mani/pedi (but im thinking this one I will do the night before AD)

wow honeygem still have time for some pampering

i have missed my facial and back facial for 6 weeks liao, keep reminding myself to book the appt, but just can't seem to find the time to do it... pimples now popping all over my face and back liao, the most polka-dotted bride ever

no time and no energy (always metally drained) to exercise.. now found out put on 1.5kg after bangkok trip

hey lynn. Im obsessed with getting an almost perfect skin, more so than getting a cocktail venue. haha

I think you shouldnt forgo the facials etc, esp now that you've got a month to go. You would want to look the most radiant on the day right? Pamper yourself a bit for all the stress that's been getting to you. You'll feel much better and can think clearly.

i have a great big headache... well almost is magnified into a great big headache to me...

should i used fresh rose petals or silk rose petals huh? i have 20 petal baskets to fill, they are about 12x12x9cm size...

they are both around the same price... i like fresh petals, but it's more worrying. cos i dunno how to estimate the number of roses needed to fill each basket (it really depends on the size of the bloom doesn't it?)... and florist sell by the number of roses one... so if i'm assuming bigger roses and they gimme rose buds size then surely not enough half-filled... and then since mine is 1 week from chinese new year i dunno of it's difficult to find all in the the colour i wan, and dunno if they'll give me half-dead ugly petals.

i'm such a worrywart... pls help...

hubby say get whichever is cheaper... and he feels silk petals safer, cos dun have to worry abt the quality and colour and how to keep it from drying up.. need to decide soon, cos silk petals need to order from the states, takes abt 2 weeks to arrive...

i thought you can get silk petals right here in Spore? But it is really a personal choice on whether they are gonna be silk or fresh petals. Maybe costs is one of the factors in your decision.

Personally, Im not fussed. Perhaps you can do both. silk flower petals for confetti and fresh petals on the table (since guests will be sitting there most of the time) Silk flowers also reduce any chance of your dress being stained when they throw the confetti flowers.

hi honeygem, i can't find the petals locally leh... been to concourse, tat's where the fake flowers centre no? have u seen them locally?

oh i'm not having the petals at the tables liao, only the aisle tables would have a petal basket which will contain the petals they'll throw at me lor... cos my fren mentioned tat nobody ever throws fake petals one leh, she say very ugly, and it upset me a little...

cos maybe i'm a control freak, but the tot of so many uncertain things like number of roses, price, colour and quality and the logistics is freaking me out... silk ones should be much easier, just order and wait for it to arrive, and can fill the petal bakets weeks in advance also nevermind...

but the only thing is scared it really looks very UGLY...

hi gers
235267.gif
how are all of you doing?

hi yuki, can email your pics to my email instead? i'm not good at using multiply...too many messages from strangers in my account..i think i want to delete this account already

wah...just a few days never log in, so many postings already...how's your christmas celebration? mine was simple (think old already, every year also doing the same thing) heee...had to work on christmas eve, after that went to bugis walk walk, and then my hubby and i went to watch the movie 'phantom of the opera', the familiar songs from this movie are great...enjoyed the show v much...

rom was fun too..took a lot of pics..will forward to your emails when i've finished arranging them...after that went for lunch at miramar for the dim sum buffet, it was good too...then the older folks went home, the rest of us went ktv and then followed by stephen chow crazy movie 'kungfu' my hubby even bought the set where it comes with the big lollipop heeeee (my fav)

have a friend to be in charge of these flowers to help you out. To make sure the flowers arrive on time with the proper colours and quality. You do the pricing and negotiations etc and delegate the logistics to a trusted girlfriend.

I was getting into the whole strain but realised that with the girls willing to help me out, your load will be reduced a bit. Remember that you are not dealing with a 100 guests only so extra help is pertinent in ways you cant imagine.

hmmm.. thanks honeygem for the aussie website... but can't find petals for sale there though...

i have 3 gerfrens helping out and 2 sisters... sisters are too lazy to actually do anything, so will be putting them at the recept table lor... 1 fren in charge of video, andother one trying to get her to be emcee, and the last one also tasked to do something else liao... sp really like nobody free to do all these, and i dun wan them to overwork on my big day till they can't enjoy themselves at all leh...

pricing and negotaiations not a prob, but i have so much bad experience with singapore vendors liao, with the bridal boutique, the banquet and almost everything else... i can't trust them at all, so i was thinking if really wan fresh petals i'll really have to monitor them very very closely, or to the extent of getting trhe flowers myself a few days before AD and the day before prepare the petals... dun think will have time and energy though... so realy considering silk ones... but one of my frens say look cheapo.. same price leh...

Lynn, i think silk petals are fine coz wat u want is the effect n not as a close-up look at the petals. When they r use as confetti, 2 factors u shld consider:
1) The guests seeing the WOW effect and they r seated frm far, they can't tell whether the petals r fresh/fake.
2) The AD photographer able to capture tat moment n same thing, cam can't tell.

If u are having so much worries abt the fresh petals, I wld advise u to get the silk one to ease ur worries.

If u really wan fresh flowers, these r wat u can do loh:
1) Bring your petal basket to florist n tell them u need to fill up how many of that baskets and leave the quantity headache to them. Get a jiemei to collect the petals only on AD itself and check wif florist where is best to store the petals to prevent wilter? My guess is in aircon room. Colours wise is on personal preference but it quite safe to use a mixture of red, pink & white/ivory...seem many times. Or just a colour contrast with ur WG is equally lovely ;) Most important factor abt fresh petals, look for a trustable florist. Normally some like to cheap ppl since u r getting petals, they will give u those cannot make it one. U remember I had rose petals during my PS? I bot it frm market near J&M, told them b4 my PS date n ask them to get ready $2 petals for me. In the end I recieve those petals with the wiltered ends loh. But I dun care lah, $2 ok and can't b seem on cam. In the end....hehehe..effect is gd and really can't b seen. Now I realised I haven't show u my PS fotos hor....hahahahaha...sending u soon :P And u can see for urself! Confetti are meant as an effect, not close-up thingy ;)

Just remind urself, nothing will be ugly coz everything planned/prepared are your efforts.

Lynn, Amaza dun give invites & wedding favours to ROM package.

Honeygem, so is now your skin whiter/smoother ah? I given up hope to lighten my chicken pox scars on my body liao....sobsob....

Lynn, juz a tot. If u getting silk flowers hor, can have some fun giving away prizes by writing on some petals ;) And get ur emcee to announce when most relatives left.....should be your close frds left in the hall n just say..."There are some prizes to be given away, those who can find petals with inscriptions will walk away with the prizes"

These r juz for fun loh, so ur prizes can be your candle table deco or some fun stuffs u got frm BKK. Imagine ur frds on the floor looking for gold...hehehehe... The sky the limit, HAVE FUN!!!! Or some prizes will be A KISS frm Loon or frm Leng ;)

I have 6 frds helping but still not enuff:
1 - main coordinator, venue deco, personal assistant
2 - venue deco (include collect deco stuffs)
3 - to drive the girls to collect deco stuffs n help to put up deco at higher places (is a guy)
4 - reception cum angbao box bouncer..hahah
5 - reception
6 - emcee

I still need 1 to take polaroid cam. And will get my sister to coordinate on my wedding favours n wedding cake if i getting frm her ;) Oh and a sibling to take video loh.

See lah,i only 6 tables n I need abt 9 ppl to help. I think u need more loh....dun do everything by urself...will be v v tired. Imagine now we are already so tired, nearer to date will be even worst.

these r those 3R proof tat I got back n scan one by one loh.....my CD still haven't get yet loh.

sent liao....u c n u will get wat I m trying to say ;)

wow your pictures very nice leh! they look even better than the rejected ones i've seen... no wonder u rejected those lor.. very pretty, the gowns all look like they have long trains on you, so envy... i so fat they all look like they have no train

like your outdoor pics very much leh, esp the green grasses ones...

the rose petal one very romantic feel leh, so dreamy like tat. yup can't see they are semi-wiltered or anything... my another fren say if i get pink petals or any light coloured ones then the wiltered and crumpled part will be very obvious cos brownish mah.. maybe i should just ignore evryone and do watever i please

yup i dun think i have enough helpers, cos my sisters dun wanna do anything much lor... maybe hubby's frens can do a bit lah, but lynn is control freak mah, trust my gerfrens better

maybe the hardwork leave it to the guys... but not much hard work leh... hahaha, maybe think of something to hang on ceilings or watever, just to work them! oh, last time for my balloon-mania decor, they had to do a lot cos they were supposed to be in charge of inflating the balloons... now going to find something for them to do liao...

Tks Lynn, not tat i skinny the gown look like got long train lah. Remember tat I add a detachable long train wif chiffon roses at my waist? Tat's why the effect got long train.

If light colours u got more concerns, get your theme colours the red n loud pink loh ;) Most imptly, u r comfy n like it

eh, your slinky EG also look likes got long train... beary nice leh... it's u slim tat's why lah.. no need to console (now even fatter) lynn lah...

hmmm, still can't decide wan silk or fresh.... last night discuss with hubby until fall asleep, think guys not so "on" abt these extras... his conclusion: i like can already, best if get cheaper one :p oh, and he said he'll ask MIL's fren who's a florist abt the rose petals... hmmm, wait for him to ask ah? very difficult lah, he dillay-daly one... by the time i would have nagged him to death liao :p

can't get red leh, cos carpet already red liao, then can't see rite? i'm thinking a mixture of softest pink to the brightest ones :p but then i know the loud pink ones not everytime have one lor.. i super worrywart lah, worry tat no big roses and in nice colours cos chinese new year period...

Merry christmas...my bs called me last minute that day..saying my photos is ready for viewing..I have seen my photos already.. I have top-up 6 photos...
so is 28 photos in package + 6 photos..= 34 photos..considered very few top-up...the photos generally ok..I think my HB look better than me.. Next mth going to my bs again to choose the portraits etc...

Lynn, the EG is v v long....coz they din alter..tat is why look like got long train...actually is the leftover frm the length lah.... No need envy or so, i still very sad over the losing of weight...i dropped another 1 kg...by the time i AD, i think i will b blown away by the wind liao...haiz...

Dun worry too much, the dark pink is very common nowsaday. Is a very nice colour
I will pick tat if my theme is not balinese. And y CNY no roses leh? Wats the rational behind?

I think we r getter bad to worst on the panic button...hahaha... Muz borrow the quote frm Maran/AG's FH: Be it how the wedding turns out, we r married to our hubby

coyote, I was out buying wedding mags and I saw that this months's issue of Wine & Dine (wedding special) has corkage fees of the hotels. Amara is $18+++. why would yours be $20+++?

My skin has improved tremendously, yes. I can see the difference in the past two months. Skin tone is more even and I guess I can say, my skin is fairer and the glow is there
I mix my facial products though. Im not using specific brands.

coyote, cos last few years new year time frame flowers like free like tat, when i went to buy flowers for home left all the torn and tattered ones only
somemore have to play sardines with with the new year crowd... now already almost lost my mind liao, i thik by tat time i cannot anymore agitation

just thinking at it makes me very stressed liao... maybe i should start planting my roses now :p

i know, tonight nag hubby to ask MIL's fren soon... i really dun trust the singapore vendors liao, if getting fresh flowers most prob buy like 100 plus flowers and prepare them myself lah... lynn the control freak is emerging again...

how? stressed over the preps not enough, skin turning horrible, weight ballooning... think my beautician see me will cry... last time she already chided me me for scratching my back pimples... but good lah, she gave me an extra mask for my back cos she say she see already very heartpain cos got new red pimple marks :p

Lynn, Don't expect perfection on your wedding day. Having done events myself, something will go wrong or at least turn out not how you specified. Don't forget the reason why you are there. Have helpers identified to handle major catastrophes that occur on the wedding day. For small details, most likely only you will notice.

Silk flowers are often just as expensive as real flowers. And sometimes you cant really tell with the higher quality ones. In the end, you are still paying an exorbitant amount of money for flowers.

Since you've been mulling over it for so long, it does mean your heart is set on the fresh petals. Then go for it. Compensate by paying less for other details in the wedding.

thanks honeygem... i'll most likely go for fresh petals, after my long ranting and monologue... lynn is communicating with inner self...

but prob buying the flowers like 4 days before AD, and the day before AD slaughter the flowers for AD (can't help tat i'm a control freak)...

Oooo, almost forgot to get light pink ones for decorating the wedding bed too!

lynn, fresh flowers wont stay fresh for 4 days. Our weather does not allow it much. So if you plan to DIY, I would strongly recommend that you plan with the florist to supply the roses at least a day or two before, store them in the fridge (find out from the florist how to store these well) and do what you need to do with the petals on the day itself.

After that, ensure that these petals are stored in a cool place at your venue.

You do not want wilted petals before they get tossed during your march-in.

honeygem, fresh flowers cannot stay alive for 3 days ah? i tot ok, since i usually buy the flowers to just put at home they all still look ok afetr day 3... my flowers usually last 5 days or so leh..

tat's why i plan to get the flowers and put them into buckets (like market :p) and the day before prepare the petals then but in fridge, then take out and bring to venue and put in air-con room...

oh, the co-ordination is such a headache... i won't have tme like a day or 2 before AD to go get the flowers

Maybe you do know how to look after flowers. Im crap at it.

Better do what you think is best. That is just my personal suggestion as Im the sort who worries about the things that CAN go wrong. And at the very last minute, there's nothing much you can do about it.

But that's just me k?

me too the ultimate worrywart... hmmm. maybe get the flowers 3 days before AD instead of 4 days... tat should be quite safe...

honeygem ah, u change the water and trim the stems of the fresh flowers everyday... tat should help t keep it fresh much longer... a florist taught me to use iced water (i just put ice cubes in the water), supposed to be able to keep the flowers fresh longer... even if not, the ice cubes also lok pretty n the vase