(2005) Brides of year 2005

Hi Matilda
Grand Shanghai can accomodate about 200 pax easily if you book the whole restaurant. As mentioned earlier, my dinner is only for about 6 tables of friends, so I was hoping that we can have a private room within the restaurant.
Having dinner with friends as versus normal sit down dinner will definitely provide a casual and more relaxed mood. At least tat's how we feel...But some pple love the whole walking down the aisle idea to complete the wedding fairytale....

hey gals, me oso gonna be married in sept 05

will be having traditional on 18 and banquet on 19. Booked 4 seasons and Silhouette already. hope to join in future discussions. =)

Hi Tou2

When I went to E-Bridal was more to try out the different cut and see which cut suits mi better...
158529.gif

Btw, check wif my friend liao... not much beautiful places to take photo except Sultan Garden... think most bridal photos taken there... but she also mentioned one good point lah... if the photographer is good... some really plain place can be very unique too...
158530.gif
so hard to say...

But if u dun trust yr photographer too much... either take more indoor photos or otherwise, pay abit more to take in Singapore or in Langkawi, Desaru... or better still Tioman, Rendang, Sibu Island, Tregganu... I went to one of the waterfalls on my way to Desaru... very nice...
158531.gif

hi jelly, FH's fren was at ballroom...hmm, i've heard a few bad reviews on them. Think it depends on luck, smtimes it just happens that that day, everything goes wrong.

Hi honeyjul,

Do lemme know the florist's contacts! Thanks! $500 sounds reasonable. Cos I asked poppy and they told me they charge $1500!!! But I may get them to do dinner decor...

I'm broke so invitation cards I think I'll just take the hotel's.
The mass booklet I'll prob get Lil'art to do. Quite like their work. You can view their work at www.lil-art.com
And videography, dun think I'll have. Even if I do, I'll only video the mass.
And I'm getting phototeam to do my photo for studio and AD. Because of the photo I can't have video. Too ex to do both... =(

Hi judy,

I dun have anymore budget to do up the church nicely cos all my decor going into the dinner. Can only afford like $500 at the very most... hopefully $300 actually. So thinking of asking my church frens to help, cheaper.I'm not sure but I think prices are like what honeyjul said, around $500-$650 for basic package.
From what I see in the mags, I think steffi's and poppy are my personal favourites. But i dunno why poppy so ex for church decor! =(
Fiore dorato also nice but also very ex i think.
Mebbe u can call greenpoint and steffi's to ask.
Last time I ask green point if I rem correctly, also about $600.

dioscuri ,

Do you think you can PM jellytots your details .
You are most welcome to join us here !!!
Join us more here ....as we having a gathering on this coming 17 SEP ..care to join us !

Hi Dio

Wow. Someone same as me Traditional on 18 Sept and 19Sept dinner..Mine is at M hotel.. Hee hEe.. 4 Season, out of budget liao..
There are so many 18Sept brides....
hee hee.. welcome you here...

Me again :P
Just wondering if I'm having a simple wedding, no tekan of groom and such, no bridesmaid/best man, do I still need jie meis? And for what purposes?

Hi josie

U look me so up leh.. hee hee.. I try to do only.. maybe cannot do the corsage too.. who knows seem easy to do, yet when come to do it, very hard. I very lazy, my Jie Mei got 8 leh..
Maybe i just go n buy some from florist.. Or unless, my hubby help me to do again like our ROM..

Hey , the white one seem very nice hor. I think our gown are white or ivory colour.. so it matches well.. but i think if go with some pink, it would be nice and sweet too..

Secret gardens at Bugis?? where??
Gathering is for dinner hor.. 7pm leh... eating dinner time...Hee hee
158571.gif
158572.gif

The white one nice nice...the corsage fr purpleromance all look nice but hor...do u all think its too simple....??...one of my jie mei say her hand very big.....too small dun look nice on her...kakakaka....prob i should do the big one for her...heheheh....

josie where is secret garden??.....no hear b4....if nice then we go lah......

zoe and janice ,

I dunno where is it ..jelly intro one ..so must wait for her reply loh . If we have more ladies maybe reservation can be done !

Highness,ming, thanks.. guess i need your luck!! hahahah..

When is the style wedding bash? I will be going wif my FH i guess. If he last min not free, i will join u gals ok?? which BS is paticipating for this style wedding bash??

hi rosalind, no problem, i have alot of patience looking at photographs heee thanks, at least now i have a bit of idea ... the gown you wore in the pic is a straight cut one right? i like it..coz makes me slimmer heee... that time, went to blumesh, tried on the 'pong pong' gown, felt uncomfortable wearing it coz fatter
158592.gif

Hi Cinderella...

Hmm... the gown is actually A Line.. or Princess cut leh... U sure u see the right one?
158603.gif

Dun go for those ballroom kind lor... try out A Line or Straight cut... think shld be quite okie... even some princess cut are very nice also...
158604.gif

josie: just PM her already

zoe: ya.. 18 popular date, called a lot of hotels but cant get that date. Nvm, 19 sep oso good, not so rushed for me also.

i just finished making my own ring pillow & some corsages, now running out of things to DIY liao... heh heh

Hi Vela

Think... still a long way to go... so now also dunno wat to do...
158621.gif
nearer to the date then become very kan cheong, regret how come never start preparation earlier...

Doesn't it sounds like when u r preparing for yr exams... but we juz repeat the mistake again and again...
158622.gif

hi girls

rosalind,
i start my prep relatively early cos i dun wan to rush things nearer to my AD. i wan to give ample time for my designers to design my gowns...
so glad that i completed my MPC, next step will be to look for the priest.... have to go for an interview.

hey, i have an idea, not sure if you ladies are keen.

sounds like there are a number of brides here who are good with handicraft, maybe we can have certain days where we can learn together on how to DIY some stuff???

Eeer... speaking for myself la.... a wedding occassion can only be fun and joyous if it is shared with family and friends. Jie meis are not so much for tekan-ing the groom la... I see it as part of the fun and for friends to partake in the joyous occassion. ;P

Hi nemo,

seems like quite a no. of u gals hv been to NZ...kekeke...gd to hear tat the place is v v beautiful...tat mean my choice is correct...kekekek

actually, ur file r too big...tat why they dun allow u to upload...if u choose a small one..say less than 50Kb..u should b able 2 attach the picture...

U goin BKK to shop ? Another bride tat I know intend to buy bk her wedding favour frm there...it too cheap & nice...

Hi Stars,

I personally prefer MTM all my gown cos i m very vain...wan to choose every single beads, lace, etc for my gown...kekeke...

Hmm.. can't recall exaclty which BS taking part.. but i think got at least 4 BS participating..
Style wedding bash @ 17th Oct.. haha, i think so lah..
Feline? think got 1, Crown prince hotel wedding show..
Me nothing in particular lah.. just go there see see look look, eat eat oso.. haha.. seem quite fun wat.. ;p

ger
thanks. wow, looks really complicated! i was trying to cut and paste from Excel, and i obviously failed. didn't realised it's so cheem!

hi yuki,

kekeke, ya ya, tt's the feeling..but guess no choice lah, somethings got to wait..want to KS oso cannot..kekekeke

heee rosalind, paiseh..i v kuku one..see not pong, means straight ...
158686.gif
din know got A line or princess cut haaa
158687.gif

rosalind, where do you get all these cute pics? which website? i can't find all that i find are those v v big gifs...
158688.gif

Hi Tare, Gina,

Gals i have juz email you both the wine contact that my friend intro to me. Go check your emails ya..
Hope that this will be more useful..

Hi Happy Nemo,
U managed to get the $1 ticket from Tiger Air?? Wow so good..I stayed at Asia Hotel and it is a very nice hotel..We only paid about S$53 for the room per nite and it is a very good rate..includes airport transfer as well and of course daily breakfast..Hence when u reach there, there be a vehicle picking u up to the hotel and when u leaving, the person will pick u to the airport..I give u the travel agent that i usually book and i also book from her the recent time i juz went..if u dun like asia hotel then ask her to check the rates of other hotels there lor..give me yr email address and i send u an email with her contact number and name lor..

Wat kind of type r u looking at for your home? Coz i managed to find a manufacturer in BKK that made the nice furniture that i like from Natural Living in Great World City. The Natural Living in Singapore is the retailer only. Hence i am looking for couples who like the furniture at natural living coz i am thinking of buying directly from the manufacturer in BKK as it is much cheaper.if u like the furniture at natural living as well then maybe we can share a container back with all the furniture from BKK as my hubby as ex-boss know a Thai local who can arrange it for us lor..But i need to find pp to share the container to transport the furniture back lor.
Maybe 1 day u and yr husband can pop by the shop Natural Living at Great World City for a look lor and then let me know if u r interested.. :P

Tare, is it you that also want to go BKK to look for furniture? Or is it any of the other OCT brides?

Anyone interested in buying furnitures from BKK as well? Esp the type from Natural Living..If anyone of u r, pls go Natural Living and take a look and let me know if u wan anything there as well so we can all arrange something together and get them cheaper.

Hi ladies!

How's everyone?

Have you all given a thought to who your jie meis will be? I just found out a couple of weeks ago that one of my good girlfriends will be having her AD 1 week before mine and that another may be abroad for studies! Sighz, there goes 2 jie meis! Never too early to even ask for friends help right now!

yeah! i did it sucessfully! thanks ger!
wow, it's really quite tedious. after a while of reading the coding, eyes blur....

Hey Matilda,

Same here! During the initial phase of my wedding prep, hubby and I had great plans to hold it in non-conventional venues with nice romantic setting! But in the end, we had to settle for a usual sit-down dinner cos of the parents + relatives. And given our budget constraint, dun think i can throw a pre-wedding cocktail for frens! heh! :P

Hi Yuuri,

Yeah, agree with Zzee, Jie Meis are usually your close frens who will be with you throughout the wedding! Can still have them even for a simple wedding!

Hi c1980,

I know I was reading the forum and realise there are only two of us at the moment. Guess may be april is not too good cos its close to qing ming is it?

I was thinking of ala carte. Is it very troublesome? Me just looking for a hassle free wedding prep and day.

Hi josie

Not easy la.. hee hee.... I no that creative..

Ok , i m off work. Cannot reply to this forum till tomorrow morning.. today going hubby place , no internet one.. His PC crash..
158741.gif

Hey sabz....hoorrrayy!!!!
Me abit worried too when i read thru the thread....
now we have each other!!!..are u having a lunch too?? if you are having dinner then i think there shouldn't be a problem going to the new flat right??

Hi Zzee,
My hb is a traditional hokkien while i am a teochew..so now i know it is their custom to go to the new flat...;p (thanks!!)
my mum did recommend that we have the tea ceremony at the hotel too...
but i personally like it to be done at my place plus may be a bit confusing to have it at hotel suite (cos relatives may be late or go to the ballroom instead.....*sign*)

Hi Matilda,
hmmm...actually hoping to do some photoshoots on that day becos don want to waste the pretty gown and professional make up ...hehe!!! but is considering having it near the hotel now if i really can't make it in the morning....

Hi decimal,
just realised that i have posted my reply to u wrongly to rainbow previously...so pai seh!!!!

Anyway, thanks alot for all the suggestions everybody....had narrowed down my choice to the following:

1. Customary tea ceremony + new house + photoshoots on sat and Lunch on the next day....(hmmm..had mentioned the Lunch on-the-next-day thing to my hb and surprisingly he is very supportive!!! (hmm...to think that he's the one who doesn't want a 2 day event in the first place...hai..so fickle-minded like women..!!)

2. Everything on the same day but photoshoots to be done after lunch near the hotel and tentatively have the tea ceremony for my relatives in the hotel

will further discussed the above with my parents...feel so much better now....was actually considering dropping the lunch and opt for dinner previosly...so sad(luckily....decimal suggested the next day lunch which never come across my mind b4...)

will let u all know my decision soon!!!

its actually quite a fun experience. i would not say its definitely cheaper but as long as you know what you want, it is interesting.

if hassle free, its depends a lot on the bridal studio you are looking for. we went to a few... some do individual gowns more than packages. so it is good for you if you are serious abt ala carte