(2005) Brides of year 2005

Hi Stars,

Welcome to Oct Brides.. I'm not actually an Oct Bride yet just planning to be 1 if i can find the ballroom I like a avail. I'm not totally so knowledgable.

I think u'll only collect ur cards from the hotel 2-3mth bef your AD for printing unless u request to collect earlier and send them earlier. Which BS u are with? y scared booked wrong hotel? Din u went hotel/ballroom hunting and reseaching before signing up? Hilton so famous with their daughters of cos hear bef lah. But I think the hotel is a bit old leh. Din go n see the ballroom so can't comment much. But they have children's day avail (for me), thinking of whether i shld consider them bcos they have the date (anyway 1 oct is not a date from the si fu, its out rom date only, have not ask sifu 4 date yet).

As for when u shld try gowns for PS, u shld check with ur BS. they can advice u better. PS is usually 3mth bef AD.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>AD Photoshot</TD><TD>AD Videographer </TD></TR><TR><TD>mehmeh</TD><TD>03/04 Sep 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>josie</TD><TD>09 Sep 05</TD><TD>1 Oct 03</TD><TD>The Concorde</TD><TD>Golden Horse Award </TD><TD>Stanley Production</TD><TD>Mirage Pictures </TD></TR><TR><TD>judy1</TD><TD>09 Sep 05</TD><TD>27 Feb 04</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Audrey</TD><TD>09 Sep05</TD><TD>09 Sep05</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>Double Up</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>jellytots</TD><TD>11 Sep 05</TD><TD>20 Mar 03</TD><TD>Orchid Country Club</TD><TD>Z Wedding D'sign</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Mirage Pictures </TD></TR><TR><TD>cu2nite</TD><TD>11 Sep 05</TD><TD>20 Apr 04</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>tyng</TD><TD>17 Sep 05</TD><TD>18 Sep 04</TD><TD>Allson Hotel</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>cary</TD><TD>18 Sep 05</TD><TD>11 Jun 05</TD><TD>Pan Pacific</TD><TD>Sliverlining</TD><TD>I-werks</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>kero</TD><TD>18 Sep 05</TD><TD> 30 Oct 04</TD><TD>Fullerton (TBC)</TD><TD>Blush Blush</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>piggersorous</TD><TD>18 Sep 05</TD><TD>17 Aug 04</TD><TD>Le Meridien</TD><TD>Printemps @ Citysq JB</TD><TD>Sam Photography</TD><TD>Box Set Media </TD></TR><TR><TD>snowpet</TD><TD>18 Sep 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Regent S’pore</TD><TD>Allure Charix</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>odiey</TD><TD>18 Sep 05</TD><TD>24 May 04</TD><TD>Grand Copthorne</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>sierra</TD><TD>18 Sep 05</TD><TD>Nov 04</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>The Wedding Presents</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>zoeanne</TD><TD>18/19 Sep 05</TD><TD>30 May 04</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>New York Classic @ JB</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>josl</TD><TD>19 Sep 05</TD><TD> 09 Sep 04</TD><TD>Four Season Hotel (TBC)</TD><TD>Yvonne Creation</TD><TD>Yew Kwang (TBC)</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>sihui</TD><TD>24 Sep 05</TD><TD>12 Dec 03</TD><TD>Stamford The Plaza</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>smilemelody</TD><TD>29 Sep 05</TD><TD> 29 Sep 03</TD><TD>The Chevron</TD><TD>Thomson Wedding</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>qiqi</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>14 Feb 04</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Double Up</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>cristalle</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Four Season (TBC)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>sweet</TD><TD>01 Oct 05</TD><TD>30 May 04</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>Milan</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>ming</TD><TD>11 Dec 05</TD><TD>23 Nov 04</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Parkview</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>panggou</TD><TD>14 Dec 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Pan Pacific</TD><TD>Golden Horse Award</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</td></tr></table>

Hi Vio,

Thanks for the information...Hee hee ya lor..the Hilton sisters. Hahaha. Well i did check around the hotels before i book but bec i am also on somewhat a budget so those reali exp hotels r out for me..N at the same time my FH din quite like others like M hotel or furama...Moreover we have obtain 3 dates from the sifu and some of the dates are alr booked at other hotels.

Went to see the ballroom and spoken to June the banquet manager...found overall service not bad but bec still a bit worried lor.. :P

So it is best that i started preparing my invites b4 7 mth and then after 7 mth then start sending them out? Din think abt that earlier coz it never cross our mind that 7 mth is quite close...now a bit worried.

I booked my BS with Whitelink..spoken to 1 salesperson and she told me to start trying the types of gowns i like at this yr end. Coz both of my WG &amp; EG is MTM...But dun u think it is a bit early? I am also busy with my hm reno and everything a bit rush i feel suddenly...

Hi Star,

Me have not obtain my GDL date...You Long Zi will only let u know 2-3 mths b4 ur AD. So, l'm actually worried whether will l have enough time to order cakes and hve the invites printed / sent out on time.

Me booked with Shangri-la.....l have not attend any wedding at Hilton b4 so cannot give u any comment.

Hi vio,

Ur case sounds complicated....wat l know is that...most of my friends who got their place b4 their wedding...they will not sleep in the master room. They will only sleep inside the master bedroom after their customary.

Hi germ,

When is yr wedding date? Wow..shangri lau is a beautiful place to hold a wedding..me cant afford. :P

Have you booked yr BS yet already then?

Btw wat does GDL date means? Dun quite understand the short form...

Hi stars,

My wedding date is 22 Oct. Ya, its nice...me love the ballroom. After my wedding there...must eat many mths of bread, haha.

No, not yet...but l'm considering Ted Wu.

Oh GDL means guo da li....where the guy side sent cakes, liqour and other stuffs over to the girl side.

updates:
solemnisation at singapore art museum, the chapel.

luncheon at Regent hotel, The Bar (am holding back from signing the contract because i heard that there is a wedding fair coming up in september)

dinner at chinese restaurant with relatives

22 Oct was actually the date that we wanted...but at hilton the date is already booked...so sad...

Oh i see..that also need to get a date?? Oh dear...i went wif my FH to see a sifu to get our wedding date only as we have alr ROM so now is our customary wedding..the sifu never mention anything abt that leh...How? We spend abt $200 to obtain 3 days for our customary...

Me know nothing abt all this..so guess as my date is nearer reali need all of u gals to help me out okie..my parents dun noe anything abt all this as well...haha :P

Ted Wu is nice as well...been to a few wedding shows and seen his gowns been displayed as it is reali nice..too bad i cant afford it. U shld go to wedding shows to check it out as well as during wedding shows usually the promo &amp; package is better than if u go to him directly...

So if my wedding date is 8 Oct, i shld prepare my wedding invites b4 7 mth and then after 7 mth then send them out rite???

Hi Matilda, Baobao, Fates,

Thank you so much for the feedback.
I am having MTM wedding gown. I am thinking of organza initially. Not sure about how does satin looks like. Shiny organze sounds good too. Hrrrggghhh cannot make up my mind. Well, I guess I'd better meet up with my designer ASAP. :P

Are you all planning for honeymoon trip huh?
Do you all know when is the NATAS fair. Might want to book for a budget trip. Everything is so costly to get married.

Hi Germ,

My current enbloc flat is a 1rm flat only so i we dun sleep in the so call room then in living rm ah? Not much choice leh...

Stars,
Dun worry too much now lah. I think u can talk to ur designer about too early to try gowns, but they'll advice u how much time they need to make the gowns for u. Keep in mind u need to minus 3 mths from ur AD for the gowns to be ready for photoshoot. gown making is bout 6-8mths depending. In fact try gowns end of this yr is not really that early actually.

Gotta run now...Enjoy chatting wif u all and all the useful advises u gave me..my PC at home is down
so guess i have to check in again tom morn then n we shall continue ya...Going to be bothering u all for more questions and advises.. :P

Do take care..

Hi Vio
i m having my AD in Meritus Mandarin =)

Hi tare
actually we got our keys in Apr, but till now, still searching for ID...haha..we realli know how to drag...hehe..so hopefully can start soon...will b staying at our lovenest during weekends before AD, will onli formally move in after customary loh...

Hi winniepooh,
My hse is also starting reno next month. Just manage to confirm my contractor after many months of searching (started in early April in fact). My contractor has his own ID with him, hence able to get the ID to input some ideas for us although the bulk of ideas came from us too. We went to about 8 contractors/IDs so far.
I was just curious to find out if it's actually much cheaper to get diff contractors to do different works like what you did? How much did you spend on your reno? 4 or 5 rooms?

Nemo:1 Oct 05- Conrad- ?-?- Sam Photo- Hillview

fkml :1 Oct 05- Amara

Cottoncandy:1 Oct 05- Meritus Mandrain- Milan- Yew Kwang- Mirage -Bt Gombak

Stars:8 Oct 05- Hilton- White Link

sunnygal:9 Oct 05- HIPV- BridalGalleryby Ming-?-?- ?

tarepanjo:13 Oct 05- Amara- ?(considering GHA)- CFTien- Ya**ies- Kim Tian

Gina:13 Oct 05- Intercontinental- ?- ?- ?- Bishan

Germ:22 Oct 05- Shangri-la Hotel- (considering Ted Wu)- ?- ?- ?

bearyhugs, its not exactly cheaper. u must have very good coordination in order to go thru the ordeal I just went thru. to date I've spend almost $40K including furnishing, mine is a 5 room. If I'm given a choice now, I'll rather talk to 1 contractor &amp; he deal with the rest, rather than wat I'm going thru now.

But Thank God, its finally over!!!

Hi Nanshe,

Which part of Pasir Ris will you be staying?

My new house is also at Pasir Ris and my AD is only one day before yours....so qiao

Little_ger, pls help to update

My AD 5 Nov 05
ROM 25 Jan 04
Venue : TBC
Bridal studio : Milian
Love nest : Pasir Ris

Thanks ya

heheh here's a update of my particulars...

Gina: 13 Oct 05 - Intercontinental - (considering jazreel low) - Yew Kwang - (considering Fabian Lim) - The Gardens @ Bishan

so long nev come in for a chat with all of u..

finally booked my banquet yesterday..
think 18 sep really hot date...yesterday when i went down to pay my deposit at Chevron,sep 18 is booked already...

now the next thing to do is search for photographer and i must start digging up my baby photos and scanning them for the powerpoint presentation liao...

jelly
have u all confirm on the gathering date?

hi judy, dang's package sounds pretty reasonable leh... mabbe i'll give them a call when i'm back... r they still at amara hotel??

i dun mind going MB wif u if u dun mind waiting for me... i'll be back on 23 aug 2004 but i think i can oni make it on either 26/27 aug... can we communicate via email?? my email is [email protected]

if dang is still at amara then mabbe we can go MB n dang together if u dun mind... kekekeke...

This user (moi) is very new and just decided to be Sept05 bride. Only just started planning BS, hotel enquired etc...but PANICKED when see all these msgs flying ard.
Someone please tell me its all good. I still can make it ?!

wow, the no of sept brides is growing so fast! Been really busy wif work this week, not much time to read all the postings until today...

Hi Mooshi, if u intend to have your wedding in Sept, u ve to be quick as many hotels/restaurants are booked, not that i want to scare u. So how many tables are u looking at? That will help to narrow down the places to look...

Sierra, how's your search for your banquet? Any updates?

Cary, was looking thru the list n saw that your ROM date is supposedly my 2nd choice AD given by my shifu. It's Dragon Boat Festival rite? It's my colleague's wedding too... Supposed to be ano hot date for wedding... plus it's a sat... =)

Hi winniepooh n bearyhugs,

We got different contractors to renov our house.. it is very much cheaper for our case despite the time n coordination efforts required... we feel very satisfying after the whole renov..

feel pretty proud oso... coz my FH design the whole house himself...
i dunno how to draw only know how to comment... hehehehe

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick Name</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wedding Date</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">R.O.M. Date</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bridal Studio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD Photographer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD Videographer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Chel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">05 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">05 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pan Pacific Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Kai Bridal Studio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Buangkok</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">tulipblue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">05 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">05 Jun 03</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">J&amp;M Design &amp; Photography</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sengkang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Shermaine</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">05 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">25 Jan 04</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Milan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pasir Ris</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">nanshee</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">06 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">30 Oct 04</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Yvonne Creative</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pasir Ris</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">peek-a-boo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">06 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Conrad Centennial</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">garfield</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">13 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">25 Jul 04</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pan Pacific Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Universal Bridal Studio</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bishan</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">RL</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">27 Sep 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Choa Chu Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Blush</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19 Nov 05</font>
<font size="-2">21 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dec 03</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bishan</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">hweiz</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">26 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">21 Feb 04</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Punggol</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Littlebobeep</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">26 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">04 Mar 04</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">York Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Seletar Broadway</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Alan D</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Choa Chu Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">little_ger</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">26 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">26 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Intercontinental Singapore</font>
<font size="-2">Church-Our Lady of Perpetual Succour</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Divine Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Robin Photography</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Punggol</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">ninkumput</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">27 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">27 Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Meritus Mandarin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">In Wedding</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Looking</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">girl ren yu</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Dec 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Regent Hotel</font>
<font size="-2">Chinese Restaurant</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hurricadia</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Buangkok</font></td></tr></table>

Hi sweatcorn,

You've got mail! I will wait for your reply in the email. Maybe you want to join me and others Dang Brides over at this Dang forum thread.
See U

Hi Jazzygirl

Something seem wrong with the file. I realise i cannot open it . I need to send you tonight as i m in office now.
Sorry

Hi Tyng2
I send to you tonight as well

Hey gals good morning. Anyone in the site yet? Hee hee

Juz to supplement my info..gotten our flat but renovating after 7 mth this yr..so its stars: 8 Oct 05-Hilton-White Link-?-?-Tampines

Hi YYBB,

I think your designer is the best person to advise you on what suits you best. It will be good to try on the different types of gowns to get the feel.... initially I was told by some designers that I might not be able to carry the full duchess satin due to my petite bulid but when I try it on.... it actually looks very nice on me...8)....
No plans for honeymoon yet but have shorlisted a few places but if no budget left after factoring in all the extra wedding expenses, then might just go to korea to visit our friends there

morning girls.

*excited* tonight can file online for rom liao.. any ideas do i need to go back to ROM before my rom date to verify any documents?

yo moo... yap like wat odiey said... u really got to start really fast cos Sep is chinese 8yue... and lots of ppl planning to get married on this month... care to share hv u started anything... hv u had any dates in mind...

yo odiey... ya lor... so long nbr hear fm u... really busy hur...so wat abt u... start ur BS hunt already or not...

minky,
I am thinking of converting my teadress into a cocktail dress.. no idea on what to do with it yet.. i guess i have to discuss more with my designer.

tou,
for my WG, there said it was similar to vera wang style. I have to wear can-can becos my fh quite big size. it is a bustier, which have few ribbons below the bustline and the can tie at the back, white roses pinned there too. The bottom is half-covered french lace and all in satin. It is more simple look.

EG is a cheongsum style. bright pink colour.. it is bareback to the waist is all netted ciffon with embriodary. mermaid cut.

they are all new ones for the fashion show in oct. Happy happy. :D and both give a different look.

my rom gown just simple simple ciffon tube dress. fh dun like me to wear bareback one.

ger

icy, Wish u Good Luck! I did it off-site, suppose to collect the documents but David Loh brought it for me on actual day..

Hi odiey/jellytots, thanks. I haven't a date - getting parents to check almanac (my birthday is 25/09 - I'm trying not to do it on same day !) but have only started collecting packages from hotels.

My personal fav now is Hyatt, they also offering me garden solemnisation which is what I like.

Others I have checked include Marriott and Intercontinental but I haven't check with any of them for dates yet lor. Now I better check, because sca-ly all book how!

BS - considering BridalVeil/Michelle Huimin. Any comments ?

Looks like I need all the help I can get.

ger,
thanks.. heehee.. suddenly realised i forget to check what is the earliest time my BS can do my rom makeup for me. :p