(2005) Brides of year 2005

yo gals... how everyone... long time no @@...

yo icy... no need... u onie need to bring all ur docs on ur ROM tat day... so tell us tomolo whether u get the time u 1 okie...

wow!!! muz do tt one meh? my sis abit the bo chap leh... she intend to file after coming back from tioman on monday leh!!! me better go tell her!!!!

mooshi: i think venues is a bigger headache, cos sept 18 is a good date. I'm facing this headache now
but for BS, i think shld be fine, cos there are many BS around, i think u shld be able to find something suitable that day. which BS have u seen?

hi odiey, no additional updates yet on my banquet venue, i've eliminated more restaurants from the list cos they are either taken up or too small..

will be visiting river view hotel and concorde hotel this sat, hopefully we can get something, else i wld have to settle for jade room restaurant

wish me luck!

poohcsl,
cos my date is on saturday, rom only open 1/2 day so i more anxious.. moreover my timing cannot be too early too cos i need to go to my BS for makeup, styling..

mooshi: some personal views abt Bridal veil

i think they have very good workmanship in terms of the dress cutting, simple designs that work becos of the fabric and good cutting. but the crystal designs didn't look very outstanding to me. I've seen better crystal designs at other BS.

service wise, i didn't have a good experience with them, so wasn't too impressed.

tis is juz my personal opinion

poohcsl, me ROMed last yr in Carlton, can't recall the details but got to collect the marriage cert to sign rite?..David brought all the documents for me on actual day..

jelly angel, hugz..u oso MIA for a while liao hor..

Hi Sierra,

Wonder if you have also considered Regent's function room? I think they cater for smaller group too and I feel that they dishes are quite good...

hi jamie,
i dun think so. AD venue/AD photographer/videographer of ur choice tends to be booked 1 - 1.5 yrs prior to AD. It is cheaper to get a bridal package.

are u oso a Nov 05 bride?

Hi stars,

U only got the AD dates? The shifu didn't give u GDL and An Chuang date? Who u went to? Ya, me went to Tew Wu bridal show in Fullerton on 1 aug...their gowns are beautiful.

hi jamie

i think it's cheaper to get a package. certain photographers offer a tie-in with bridal studios, and a discount from their individual prices. or for photographer, if you take the same person for PS and AD, they will usually give, maybe, $200 off.

Hi MOoshi!

I agree with Sierra that the most crucial thing is the venue for your dinner. For me, I went to book my BS before my hotel but luckily, i managed to confirm the hotel cos another couple gave up.

I haven't went into Bridal Veil cos I tot I prefer lace to crystal WG. However, I think it's impt that u make an appt with them to try their gowns as well as to have a chat with the designer. This will definitely help you to decide if you like their gowns and how well you would be able to work with them.

I guess u also have to consider if you prefer crystals, beadings, embriodery, lace etc before u sign up with any BS. Dun decide hastily...try them all

Juz sharing my personal experience...

Gd morn germ,

I cant rem the name of the sifu already. It is recommended by my friend. The consultation is done at his home..have to go home and check my letterhead then i let u know..

My friend only told me to go to him and he will give me 3 dates for my customary wedding and the timing to reach my husband home..I got ROM already last yr...is the GDL and An Chuang date reali necessary? How?

Hi Mooshi,

Maybe u can try Irene's Creation...my colleague has her pkg from them...i found their gowns very nice n their service oso not bad...

Hi everybody

He wanted Nov 05, but yet to decide on which date exactly.

I heard alot abt Margaret Bridal, any other recommemdation. I am going for simple design. Does Margaret Bridal has good photographer and make up artist?

hi kero, i'm having like 28-30 tables, and regent's probably out of budget. We dun really wan to spend too much on the wedding too...thanks for the suggestion though

mooshi: i personally find shopping for BS is the most fun thing to do in the whole wedding process, so juz make appts to go to the various BS and check their gowns out. depends on wat is yr priority oso, gowns or photos or budget, cos different BS have different strengths.

oso depends on your chemistry with the BS ppl, see if you are comfortable. so go to as many as possible till u find something u are comfy with.

Hi all...my shi fu asked me to an chuang the day before my wedding...so my wedding is on 13 Oct..an chuang will be 12 Oct..and guo da li will be on 6 Oct

yo vela... kekeke... ya lor... onie a few days mah.... u got miss me or not... tell u something sad... my FH will be gog detachment again nxt month... sob sob...

hi little_ger

Sorry abit new to this forum, still trying to get use to it.

So your big day is on 26 Nov, congratulation. What am I suppose to start with now? I have been reading those bridal magazine, and both me and my future husband has already more or less decided on the design of the gown. But he feel that is too early to start planning, and he wants me to leave the planning to him, not to worry. But i cant help it but to be worried.

Hi Sierra,

Would u like to try Allson Hotel...i have booked wif them for 30 tables...then i m allowed to use the ballroom...if u have lesser tables then will have to use the restaurant.

The price is oso very reasonable.

jamie,
oso if u are engaging professional AD photographer/videographer..i think it is good to settle such things first. trust me there are tons of things to prepare nearer to AD.

Poor jelly, he's going away AGAIN!?!... if it is me sure cannot tahan one. Then our phone bills will make my FH regret having to go away. Nevermind, find a part-time BF lah!

icy,
I usually flip thru Vogue or other foreign mags to see their EGs. Maybe you can try to see if you can fish out designers' websites to go by visiting vogue's website first?

Good morning ladies,

wow, so many msgs to read...

Hi Stars,

Welcome ! You are right...i guess we Oct bride hv to print our wedding invite card before 7mth & send out on 8mth...we nd at least 1 mth to inform our guests...not 4getting that we hv to RSVP & do up a seating plan...

Hi Germ,

That also what I thk...writing the invite card on the 7mth since we can't send out...i thk should b alright ?....

Actually, I hv already slp in my master bedroom bed...since my hse is ready last yr.."wkend chalet"....but i thk i will still do the "an chuan"...heard that I can just shift out my bed...chgn a new set of bedsheet or pillow...wait for the gd times & push it bk to the original position...then dun touch it anymore...

Hi Vio,

My mum is the one who help us choose the date...kekeke...she went to KL (M'sia) to get the date for me & my brother...she is goin there in Oct this yr to take down all the necessary custom stuff...like date & times for an chuan, GDL, times for fetching bride, etc...

My MIL quite easy-going...she leave everythgs to us...cos she oso duno anythgs abt chinese custom...kekeke...

I thk you just nd to "an chuan" at the place you are going to stay immediately after ur AD...never heard tat we nd to "an chuan" for so many times...

Sweet,

Thanks for the update...kekeke...

hmmm, you are like me...but my hse is consider 1 yrs plus old liao when i shift in formally after customary...now, really try to maintain everythgs as gd as new...do hsework once a wk

Gina,

Din hear from you for the past few days...busy with your hse reno ?

Hi Gina,

You so fast already know all the date...i shall wait for my mum info after she go KL this Oct...kekeke...mayb, we are doing all on the same day as well...

a day before will be quite busy hor...i wan to go for my mani/pedicure, dentist, etc...wonder do we collect our gowns on the eve as well...stress man...oh ya, we also hv to buy those sticker with the words "xi" to paste in our hse...

Hi Stars,

Normally, that is part of the customary to choose a gd date for GDL & an chuan...

Hi Sierra,

I dun have the no wif me now...have to book thru the restaurant not the hotel cos the hotel dun do banquet anymore. The ballroom is rented by the restaurant. The restaurant is New Treasure Restaurant. It is previously located at the former M Hotel.

The ballroom is more squarish..not those wif long aisle one...think max it can contain is 36 tables. I found it quite ok except for the stage deco...i will ask them if we can decorate the stage oursleves anot when the date gets nearer.

The restuarant is on the 2nd floor n the ballroom is on the 3rd floor.

icy,
dun think will be using that design already cos i am quite petite and slim. have to go for something more structured to give me volume.

Hi Tyng

Can you brief me more about Allson? My gd friend is looking at venue now...But decide on Jan 06.
Just see if i can help her with some info

ger,
i really compared the 2 kind of gowns..those with can can like more balance with my fh, if not i seemed to be too small size. :p