(2005) Brides of year 2005

you have everything sorted havent you?! Literally a new life right after wedding. Absolutely cool. Anyways, mine on the 22nd.

I'm renting with fiance - are you looking at brand new furnitures? Have a buying & selling site that i go to where the expats post. Usually double cheap (they just dont take approx $200 off the orginal price like they do here in Marketplace) as they are leaving the country. Good stuff too. I bought a really huge fridge (excellent condition) for $150!

I have booked the BS, settled my gown selection more or less. Will select PS gowns in mid Sep n PS in end Sep.

Still sourcing for AD venue...liaising with a few and see which fit in best.

Yaya...weight transfer will be ideal ;)

Oh, I 'cohibit' wif my hubby 2yrs ago after we got a flat in sengkang ;)

honeygem - u r one week after our AD ;) And u hav got a gd deal on the fridge!

hi gals ,

Long time no see ...heehhe ...me very bz wif work ..sigh ..dun even have time to pop in .
Even today got to come back to work .....!!

Hi snowpet ,

Me too ..have vegetarian tables ...including VIP tables three or four . Is your s only with a few guests ....maybe you can put all the guests who vegetarian into one tables . If that your hotel able to serve indivdual guests ....my hotel actually able to do it . It got to depend on your banquet .

hey ladies ,

I realise my date 09/09/05 and 18 realli popular ....heee heee !!

haha. yup, most proud of it. If anything should happen, the fridge is mine. what a laugh...
are you both having themed weddings? Im not doing church service but I thought the long 'cathedral train' is simply elegant (looks good in bridal mags). Are you doing something like that? Or more contemporary?

Hmm...actually still like got a lot of things haven't done leh. Yup, it will be a whole new chapter. Think for some like TV, we will buy new but for others I dun mind second hand if it matches the look of our place and are in good condiition. Do u think I could get the address of the site off you? Thanks so much

Honeygem : Oh...for us, we only booked the venue in Apr and by then , found that a lot of places were already full and also for weekend they require a larger no.of min tables. So we had to look for one that could take a max of 25 tables.
Well..at least then you have to handle reno at the same time.

I see...this weekend is gonna be busy with all the National Day sales ard. Need to get shoes, specs and Nubra. Will check out some of my AD venues too ;) The other gers in this thread are busying with the travel fair, sale & furniture shopping too...hehehe....

coyote, is Nubra any good? Have you tried it before? Does it make you feel eeerr... conscious? Like you've suddenly grown boobs? Overnight?

Im contemplating it though....

Oh yeah..forgot..u can reach me at [email protected]. Thanks so much.

Yeah...but think it will be really crowded. Thought of going down to Ikea but not sure if can tahan the crowd. Talking about shoes...do you know where would be a good place to get wedding shoes?

Ladies - got to go...

Have emailed you the URL, wen. Not too sure about shoes yet since I havent done any wedding shopping yet. But I think the other Jan girls here would have a better idea. Have a good weekend!

Talk to you soon coyote.

Good day ladies!! (& any gentleman out there!

rokko: aiyo no need feel paiseh at all.. in fact i tot ur timing was jus right cos the beginning part was all abt the package details and looking at albums which u had alr gone thru
anyway, boy!.. really glad to meet up w u gals!!!
and i so totally agree leh!... esp when we were abt to leave, jit still brought out gowns fr his "secret chamber" to show us
... anyway think he's quite a nice guy

hee... aiyo dunno we telepathic or wat hor... initially i oso tot i'll probably go for organza for the train etc... but after seeing tou tried the duchess satin WG... i think i prefer satin leh.. cos more elegant/classy and oso like wat tou said, thinking of hving those gathers for the train part... though no doubt organza can give a soft and dreamy feel. anyway, as of now think my preferred choice is still Sil lor hee..
but then hor... like u.. scarly go next BS saw a really lovely organza WG, bet i'll change my mind again!! cos it seems like i everything oso like!!!

tou: btw, think u look v elegant in that duchess satin WG leh
though it's not as pong as the usual WG, looks v classy (hee... minus the brooch which i tot a bit too much "diamonds" liao)

rosalind: hehe... u beri cute leh!
cos whichever design jit brought out... ur first qn or rather first thing u look for is whether does the design allow low back or not hee! think u really bend on hving low back for ur WG hor

blue_genie: ya pity u cldn't join us.. some more u helped us to compile the contact details etc
next time okie?
wld sure luv to meet u!

cinderella: yo princess!! so how's ur visit to blumesh?
hee.. they let u try the gowns? btw, is blumesh and blush blush the same har? i a bit blur liao... as usual

sharlene: thanks so much leh!!!
hee.. okie will pm u my email addy now ya! btw, rokko is right leh... jit told us esp for those low-back.. the front gotta use double-side tape to tape all over.. horizontal, verticle, criss-cross etc... aiyo..hee.. din noe abt it leh!!

oraia: hee.. ya bet u'll be even busier after ur AD cos u'll be machiam like the wedding planner to advise us on all sort of details!!
oh btw, hv u decided on the invitation cards?

Dunno leh, I haven't tried those nubra...tot of buying one to test it out...coz my gowns r bustier...I need to have more volume at the front...hehehehe..

For shoes, they are few famous wedding brand like Paradox, Hue and L sth...I can't remember.

Hi Rosalind, the one i was referring is not chinese swimming club leh, is singapore swimming club...are they the same ah? i'm not sure also...havent seen the restaurant in there yet leh...but anyway, janey, rokko, rosalind, thanks for your suggestions for my venue, but my future Father-In-Law has decided Furama chinese restaurant, so i just leave it to him lah...since he's the one who is paying...
anyway, i wasn't able to go to blumesh yest had to do OT till 8.30 pm by the time i finish work, blumesh close already
*sob* Luckily, i never promise you gals in gg to silver lining, otherwise also end up dua you all...sigh...guess i have to go to blumesh another day...
*disappointed* i think blush blush and blumesh different...

but then because i work in suntec, after work, my bf went with me to marina sq, to look at white link and bridal zone...it was their promotion week i guess...bridal zone was okie...except for the photos don't quite like it..*no offence to BZ brides*

anyway, guess i'm not fated to wear gown *sad*

minky! im v sad ar
138212.gif
...didn't get to try gowns at all *sob*....i was so excited about the visit but no choice boss needs me to rush his work by yest...so i had to do OT... guess i'm not fated to be cinderella
138213.gif

Minky / Rokko,
I understand what u gals mean when u all said like this and that.....coz I also like that mah. hehehehe :P Actually, no offense to silverlining brides.....not sure if I shld say this, but we were being told that Divine's design were always being copied by some designers thus they are rather strict and wary of the designs of their gowns. I did notice alot of Jit's gown are very very very similar to those in Divine leh.....just my personal observation and comments, not trying to pin pt ya!.......:P
hehe...

As per the taping and the questions on the low back gown, that's why in my initial posting I did mention that other BS can copy the design but can't copy the feel of it. So far from all other Divine brides, we dun really need to tape anything to hold the gown in place...coz its their signature low back design and thus they really have ways to have that sexy low back without feeling unsecurity that the gown will drop etc...that's why after few days of deep thought I chose back Divine.

But now they are slowly moving away from their signature flowy organza train, the recent bridal show, they are focusing more on Duchess Satin instead.

Minky,
U've got mail

Tougei,
Care to describe how u look like leh
Curious!!

Hi Judy,

can I ask, does your fren's package includes photography? Cos I din know Ted Wu offers with photoraphy. I thot must sign up with photographer separately.
What does it include besides the WG and EG?

Thx!

When do you gals intend to go for first fitting to choose MTM design? I initially intended to start somewhere in mid december04 but then i see little_ger and garfield you all going in Oct and Aug liao. So i'm wondering if my inital plan is too late and should i be bringing my plan forward?

Hi ladies.

Really glad to meet up with you gals
Had a good time. Oh, after I left then I realised that I forgot to introduce my FH to you gals
So sorry. Next time ok?

Honestly, I don't think that Jit's design "copied" (whether intentionally or otherwise) Divine's. Low back is low back mah, there's only so much you can do with ruffles and organza and flowers. But I have to say that Divine does a better job with low back gowns - more "pong" and more dreamy. But agreed with the gals that Jit is really a very nice guy. Very open and accomodating.

Sharlene, think you made the right choice with Divine. The WG I tried on is empire cut with Duchess satin. It's A-line and very simple with a brooch at the bust there.

Hi sunnygal...I workout in california fitness.. the orchard branch...my hubby work out in the raffles branch..hehe i prefer orchard one..but will join him occasionally.

wow fkml..u r really light..hahah my dream weight..haha actually if i weigh 50kg then i beri happy liao...hahah

Hi sweet..will update u once i finalize the other details..thanks

Germ..its beri good that u dun put on weight easily..unlike me..heheh abit like balloon.

Tarepanjo..we have the same aim!! to lose 10kg..hahah and our AD is on the same day..hope we will attain our aim by that day

Hi sunnygal...I workout in california fitness.. the orchard branch...my hubby work out in the raffles branch..hehe i prefer orchard one..but will join him occasionally.

wow fkml..u r really light..hahah my dream weight..haha actually if i weigh 50kg then i beri happy liao...hahah

Hi sweet..will update u once i finalize the other details..thanks

Germ..its beri good that u dun put on weight easily..unlike me..heheh abit

hai tulipblue .. welcome .. me staying in sengkang with my parents now .. shifting to pasir ris after my AD

ninkumput .. kekeke .. so excited hor .. in MM Grand Ballroom .. it's quite nice .. din see the actual deco but been there for D&D .. very nice and grand .. oh ya .. if u know how to make use of the intelligence light .,. u can create the effects u want ..
but too bad i dunno ... but will ask my FH to learn
hahahaha

today i went down to shop ard for home appliances .. wow lau .. so many brands, so many different functions .. me getting confused liao ..

nanshee, yah very excited.
I have another friend who will also be signing up with MM very soon. She will be taking Belvedere.

Hmm... maybe can get the hotel's AV pple to teach lor. Anyway, they will be there to operate the lights on the AD mah.

Oh yah... appliance will be one big headahce. So many models, shapes and sizes..think the head will grow big from looking at them.

I am also a sept 05 bride to be, mind if i join this thread too?
I am still looking for a hotel for my AD but from this thread, it seems that most of u had already book a venue for ur AD and this made me abit worried if i am too late for my AD booking.

Juz went compasspt Metro & Johnlittle, can't find the Nubra leh...hmm...try elsewhere tmr. But saw a pair of plain shoes that I like but is in white colour. Am looking for a pair of silver...hmm....

Btw, G2000 having sale. Very worth gettng their man shirts...wrinkle-free @ $25 each.. If getting any 3items in store got another 20% discount. Hubby just bought 2 shirts n a pants, $70+ only. If you are looking for the shirt to match your man suit, check out G2000.

How's your weekend shopping and researching?

Updating details again:
bluey : Golden Horse/Dragon Gate/28 May 05/Lovenest: Buangkok Crescent
sweatcorn : BS??/Rasa Sentosa/28 May 05/Lovenest: Esparis-Pasir Ris
Von : Feline/Le Meridien/28 May 05
Judy: BS?? /Hoilday Inn Park View/28 May 05/Lovenest: Jurong West
Bearyhugs: Golden Horse Awards/Merchant Court/20 May 05/Lovenest: McNair Road
isabelle: Kai Bridal/Marriott/2 May 05
Nicole: Sophia Wedding/Conrad/14 May 05
Winnie: Seletar Broadway/Oriental/14 May 05/Lovenest: Hougang
Fat: Golden Horse Awards/Marina Mandarin/22 May 05 / Ang Mo Kio

Tougei,
I agree Jit is a nice guy! The reason i said copied coz i did saw a few gown which are almost same as the few at My BS, even the beadings and flowers details...maybe just coincident.
So where u gals intend to go to for the next BS?

WEnt to attend a wedding dinner tdy, the bride wore a Allure Charix red evening gown....very stunning and nice....thinking of visiting there when closer to my AD to see if I can get any nice gown or CS there.

cinderella: hmm... dun feel sad k
im sure there'll be lotsa opp for u to try the gowns. jus look at it this way... maybe the long wait is what makes finally seeing urself in a gorgeous WG even more special!

sharlene: omg!! rokko is right...u look really pretty at ur ROM leh!! honest!.. im not trying to be nice/polite or anything! and i luv ur gown... think the colour suits u v well
btw, did u get some professional to do ur hair and make-up? think it came out good on photo

btw, abt SL and divine... ya i do see the similarity in their designs. but i guess it's not so much as which designer is copying who.. rather.. probably must be all those brides who brought their "homework" and req the designer to do this part like this pic and that part like another pic hee.. which is wat i intend to do lah *guilty guilty*
anyway, oh so divine's low back no need to tape one har.. hmm.. dunno wat secret technique they hv hor

oh.. in case u gals tot i got insomnia or something.. hee not that lah.. cos i jus came back fr a midnight show.. watched the village.. umm.. plot quite interesting ie nvr expect one but beginning a bit draggy lor

Hi gals..
How huh...very fan leh....cannot decide which BS to choose from...Anyone got any advise between EverBliss and Flamingo?Or got others to recommend to me?I wan to find those ALL IN ONE bs...bao everything from WG to PS ..best if can bao..everything on AD ...like make-up, every other thing that we need lah..so that its not so ma-fan mah....very lazy to search leh...also dunno where to search from...haiz....so fan.....

Minky,
Ya....
So late u still ard, surprised. Watch collateral, average....not that nice.

I prefer Night Shayamala's previous show...Village suspense atmosphere is good but maybe I expected that there's a twist....but this show requires more thinking as some part I dun understand and hd to ask my HB hehehe

Minky,
That gown is one of my fav color
Hair and Makeup are done by Sandy Ho. She is not cheap, love her makeup, cheap and good
Thanks for the compliments. I believe every bride one will all be very nice too

Have u gals thoought abt what color u prefer for the EG? I in a delimma for that leh...:P hehehhe is it too kan cheong to worry now??

hey actually my fren oso suggested me to go for red for my EG leh!! cos her fren (abt same size and skin tone) had a red EG and she said she looked really stunning lor! hee.. too bad no guarantee i'll look as gd in red

Wah, then u must be quite fair. I scared red too bright already....:P But the bride today her gown is abit mermaid cut with alot of silver beadings, looks stunning on her. I curious thus asked her which BS is she with during the phototaking though I personally dun know her at all. heheheh She must feel I so weird.

ya think she did a good job
.. so u'll be using her as ur MUA for ur wedding?

oh actually i alr sorta hv some fave colours in mind for my EG.. ie fuschia, red, yellow w greenish tint? (something like diana ser one), and oso theres this dusty pink (cant rem the name liao) that i saw at jit's place... hee.. seems like mostly towards pinkish side hor

abt the village... ya i oso expected a twist of some sort.. but i guess it's the 'thinking part' that sorta made up for their draggy initial scene

Minky,
Actually I love blush pink, but afriad that color may not stand out in the crowd as its too pale....sigh!!! Dunno how.

Oh...I will not be using Sandy for my wedding make up, coz Divine will be providing their makeup artist for the PS and AD.

Agree that the front are quite boring. But read for a news critics that he actually like the front part of the movie....alamak! Maybe I dunno how to appreciate :P

aiyo no lah.. my skin tone quite jiat lat one.. v sensitive (easily turn pinkish) and oso quite uneven.. some more got tanlines which according to rosalind will take a long long time for it to even out

hmm.. really happy to see someone so late still up like me hee..
but think i better go sleep liao.. dunwan become panda.

hey sharlene.. u too.. hv an "early" night rest ya!

Minky,
U always go beach that's why hv tan lines?
I also easily get blushed hehehehe

Sigh...tomr still hv to work. BTW just now I went to marina Mandarin for wedding dinner, coincidentally, another friend also had her wedding dinner there tom, thus had to go back there again tom!!

Ninkumput,
Initially my wedding is next Yr Mar, tats y i booked tis Aug for 1st gown fitting & Oct for PS. Since i have change to next yr Nov, so my PS will b change to ard early Jun, 1st gown fitting i will postpone to Mar, after CNY. Don worry ur preparation starting time is too late even if u start end of tis yr. Gown making will need roughly 2 month, juz start making 6 month in advance will b more quite safe. For PS, after taking ur photos, need roughly 1~2 weeks den u can c the result, den BS will need roughly 3 months to make into album. Give 1 more month allowance for the album in case u need to do some amendment to ur album after c the result of ur album. Hope tis help u to plan ur time for preparation.

sharlene, minky... u both so bery cute leh, having a conversation at 3 smtg in the morning!!! wahhh... me oredi snoring in bed liao... heheee

yah yah i also thinking about EG too... actually i think WG not as difficult as EG... WG quite std design with the std colours also... but EG can have any design and any colour!!! *pengz* personally i also dunno wat colour suits my skin tone.... doubt i can wear red tho', too bright for my skin tone! thinking of champagne gold, but jit made a good point that not everyone can take the colour... can look 'nude'... hahaa...

btw i just bought the new copy of wedding & travel, got quite a lot of WG and EG designs (more WG tho')... can go take a look too!!!

btw sharlene u thinking of going allure charix to find another EG, or u not taking the EG from divine? i blur liao... hehee... if i go with sil, they only provide MTM WG and EG... so i may want to scout around for a tea dress... kim (at divine) was telling me that usu. the brides will wear a tea dress back to her mother's place after the tea ceremony at the in-law's... supposed to be a tradition... i didn't even know!! hahahaaa

btw how was wedding dinner at MM? nice?? ;p

Rokko,
I did not expect anyone still awake that hours too...was surprised that Minky still also log on that time hhahah...

Oh..I was thinking of going to Allure Charix to look for CS or Teadress. EG is included in my divine package already.
Actually up to u whether u wanna wear teadress for the tea ceremony or not. Some brides prefer to wear WG longer and dun incur extra cost. But usually pple do change into teadress lor.

The mag u bought, is oversea mag right? Nice to read or not ah?

Wedding dinner at MM was below my expectation last nite. Attended one last year and good and service was superb! Maybe becoz of that, I had higher expectation last nite but food not as nice. There's this pork rib dish that was very nice previously but the couple yesterday did not opt for that dish, overall still OK la. TOnite I also got another dinner at MM, will see how tonite
But their dessert is very special!! Mango sago with ice cream!!! Nice!! I think they change the deco theme already, difference from previous one I attended.

Wow.... have not being in here for sometime and seem to me that there a lot of us now...

Hi Jelly and Josie

So busy lately.... site visits some hotels for possible venues.... still have no decisions as yet. So how are you gals getting on? Manage to meet up for sharing session?

Miss U gals leh..... ; )

sharlene... i think i'll see whether to get a tea-dress or CS nearer my AD... and see by then whether can afford one... hahaa... sekali so broke liao no money... hehee

no leh the mag is a singapore one... not so high-profile like her world or female brides... but i was surprised to find quite a no. of WG and EG inside... q nice somemore!!! heheee

mango sago and ice-cream sounds nice leh!!! actually i heard that the mango dessert and the soursop dessert at fullerton also q nice, haf u decided which one u opting for? ;p

hey coyote, saw your post on bikini waxing. I would suggest you go to a salon. tried the DIY products to my utter discomfort (and pain!) It is excruciating (if u're doing brazilian wax) but from my past painstaking attempts at beauty, bikini waxing is not too bad. At least you wouldnt be screaming murder in the salon.

hi nanshee..me and FH will only move in end of next year...sengkang will be closer as his working place is in Loyang..now just looking around for wedding stuff..hmm MM seems to be a popular choice among Nov brides huh..

hi little ger, can add me in?

AD : 5th Nov 05
ROM : 5th June 03
Venue: TBC
BS : J&M Design & Photography
Lovenest : Sengkang

hi ladies ...

Happy national day kekeke !!:P

best1208,

hmm you are most welcome to join us here ....!
I think you should short list your hotels first and by the way you got your date ? We ladies here some are very KS ..cos some of the dates are popular dates

cu2nite ,

i advise you go down to their bridal to try out their gowns ...you will fell in love with one of them . Everbliss ...errmmm my frez was with them ...MTM package but in the end took off the rack . Flamingo package should be quite ex rite ?

Jazzygal ...

glad to hear that you are doing your homework ...
Which hotels you visited ..maybe i can give suggestion .

Have a nice weekend!!!
Ciao for now

afternoon ladies!!

hee.. can u believe it?? i jus woke up leh!!

sharlene: oh no lah.. in fact me quite inactive one. got those tanlines fr my bintan trip last yr. btw, u mean u gotta work today ah?? hehee.. hopefully different menu tonight at MM

hmm.. CS = cheong sum izzit huh? so both u gals getting teadress/CS ah? aiyo din occur to me leh... maybe i shld also consider hor.. hee.. then can hv another nice dress liao !

rokko: hee... ya lor.. getting quite excited abt my WG/EG that i cldn't fall asleep!! true true... there's so much more u can play around with for the EG. btw, u mentioned b4 that u got to try some EG at Sil izzit huh? as for champagne gold.. jit was saying suitable for either v dark or v fair right? actually u quite fair mah..

oh the wedding & travel a local mag with dark front cover page and quite thin one? wanted to buy that time but saw like not many pages so tot not v value-for-money hee... v silly of me right.. shld look for quality instead of quantity cos most of the time those thick thick mag oso mostly due to many pages on advertisements etc. anyway will go check it out again

btw, jus curious... roughly how many such mag u gals hv so far har? i alr bought 7 (local & overseas) plus my fren gave me 2 old issues.. quite a bomb actually.. to spend on mag hee.. but then really a joy to flip thru them