(2005) Brides of year 2005

Hi Germ,

I do really look 4wards to next yr of fun...we can all share abt our photo shoot experience & many others...after wedding...we will talk abt marriage life & even baby...kekeke

Hi Gina,

I thk becos Cap Mom did not advertise with them (u see there are a gp of video & photographers listed here & they pay for it)...that why the moderator will usually remove the thread when they are doing their routine hse-keeping...i used to see my videographer thread but now it's gone again...

Regarding ur venue....thk u hv to compare the perks & the atm....see which one u prefer....intercon is nearer to the MRT station...so in term of location...it's more convenient as compare to Regent over at Tanglin side...

yo jnj... hmm my AD dun come fm tong shu... i pick myself one... then i ask a geomancer to check whether is okie or not... then he give me a time of 8.29am to reach my IL side... so i will follow lor... no choice rite... since i already ask... let said if ur AD u get some geomancer to caculate and they shld hv give u an estimate time lor when to reach ur house and the groom hse one...

yo zoe... wow 7pm the day b4 isit... actually u can try on website say wat time is good lor... or those traditional calendar will state the good time is when... but for me... i will simply bo chap... oh.. also not forgetting the GDL leh...

yo jnj... i believe tat since u get ur AD fm tongshu... there should hv the estimate timing wat... did u get someone to caculate or ur MIL check it herself one... hmmm.... profession.... me working in accounting line lor...

yo tan... wow u DIY hur... got pixs to show or not... care to share ur skills with us... me also thought of doing corsages for my jie mei leh... but hor hands like legs leh... duno how to do... so u using cloth or silk flowers...

yo zoe... so u another one tat can do wrist corsages... got pix or not... share with us can... hmm... so wat kind of flowers u are using hur... clothes or silk or... oh my cousin is a florist and her shop at Far East leh... if u interest then u tell me lor...

yo tan... oh these 2 place are quite unique... are u gog for dinner or lunch...

yo audrey... hmm so ur AD u didnt go for tongshu or even geomancer hur... no worry cos if u not pantang then okie lor... but u must also ensure tat ur parents & ILs too are not pantang hur... u can use my AD to count back... my AD is 11/09/05 chinese is 8yue8ri lor... well think u dun mind sending the invities on 7th month then u go ahead lor... but think listen abit to older generation lor... u can try sending out the cards last day of 6yue mah... then follow up with phone calls nearer to ur AD lor... for wrist corsages if u have $$ can paid ppl do lar... if u 1 2 save $$ then do urself lor... can ask ur friends or colg who actually hv done b4 or... maybe we wait for Tan or zoe to teach us... kekeke

yo gals GDL = Guo Da Li... its the day where ur FH bring all the things that ur parents ask for during the Ti Qin time (b4 GDL lah)... like the cakes, pigs legs, oranges... etc also the pin jin lor... it is usally done 1 week b4 ur AD then after tat u will take the cake given by ur FH to the bride relative and distribute to them with the invities....

icy, pantang issue.

ger,
oh..haha. me 1/2 1/2, just follow what mum and fmil wants... my fmil dun mind 7th mth reno.. so just let it be..

Wah Jelly. U really know GDL. I also blur

I got no pics for my wrist corsage leh. The rose is small and made of ribbon (cloth ribbon).Anyway, maybe i get a florist to do for me. Too many things to do on AD, so dun wan to add one burden to make. Its quite tiring.

Which website can i check the timing of fetching bride etc??can recommend?

Hi fat,

Oh Sweet! No Wonder, Marina Mandarin told me that the date is booked. So it was you!

Well, I am still deciding.. My 1st choice is Bridal Veil. I love their gowns. They are both stunning and elegant. However, they are very expensive. so I am still sourcing for alternative lor.

yo zoe... hmm... not really know lah... cos keep hearing ppl say mah... well can i know where u get the cloth roses fm hur...

well the website i dun hv... but i know that under the topic "wedding banquet" there a thread call "2005 alamac".... inside got alot of website to check the time one...

last time i know how to make rose .....but now forget liao.....if not on our outing zoe can show us...hahaha....

i tot the outing is dinner rite...lunch i cannot leh....cos i work in wu lu place....far far fr town area....

geomancer can give us the timing rite....or think tong shu got state....dunno how to read the tong shu...my chn very terrible one.....

i was just thinking only lah...say the geomancer say ard 3am auspicious time ...then does it mean my hubby got to come fetch me ard that time...then on AD all will look like panda...hahaha...not enuff sleep......me just thinking the worst case...hehe

yo jnj... hmm did i mention tat is lunch for our gathering... no lah.. its dinner cos everyone working on Fri wat... so where ur work place... tuas or....

hmm... usually wont lor the time wont be like 3am unless u are teochew lah... so dun worry... if really 3am... then dun listen lor... kekeke

I bought the cloth rose and ribbon at chinatown.
I think such roses are very common and easy to buy in any art and craft shop.
Which part of China town , i dun know the address but i know it is opp to OG shopping...
The shop is call " Jin Long"
selling all art& craft things.

ger.....hee..every1 sama sama lah, elder folks more pantang so can follow we follow lor..dun want them to worry too much

Hi Yuuri,

My AD is on the 05 March 2005, just 1 day before yours! And my banquet is at Raffles the Plaza ....8)

I did consider Pine before but tot it is quite inconvenient
for relatives without transport....... not quite sure on the angpow part as it also depends very much on the guest that u r inviting...... if mostly close friends....I dun think it makes any different..... just my 2 cents worth...8)

hi Tare
heheh ya lor...intercon location is better for pp without transport..but i like regent ambience. think will ask my hubby to go and take a look this weekend. let him do the decision..hahah cos i cant seemed to make up my mind..let him decide which he prefers

yo jelly...pai seh i read wrongly the message u wrote to Tan...tot u toking abt the outing......ya loh...me work in tuas...not the area near AYE one...but deeper in....haiz...very far lah...so if got outing on weekdays ...must give me some time to reach town area......

u guess correctly liao lah...me teochew...thats y i worry abt the timing loh.....haiz...but think my mom not so pan tand to that extend of 3 am lah.....*keep my finger cross*

Hi Gina,

If u can't decide...ask him 2 decide 4 u...but u dun regret after tat...kekeke...tat times...i m considering btw Pan Pac & Amara...so headache...keep thinking abt it...one is 5-stars...another one is 4-stars...Pan Pac perks is gd...but i like the ambience of Amara ballrm...in the end, decide on Amara cos i go by my feelings...kekeke...we gals look at ambience than anythgs else...
154735.gif

hello everyone,

I am aso a Jan bride on 21 Jan. Aso going to take PS mid Sep, jus wan to get over n done with, so that 1 lesser thing to worry abt on the TO DO list...
Now sourcing for actual day photographer n videographers.... another headache..
In the meantime, on diet now cos PS coming, dun wan to look like a char siew bun in the picts. :P

hi zoeanne,
sorries for this late reply.. u gals r too fast.. my internet access had problems tis mornin.. urghh..
my replies to ur questions... i used RED BOX FLOWERS & GIFTS... the lady's name is Ching.. shes very nice & friendly.. u can consider usin her services.. her no is 63960882.
my MUA is a freelancer, shes tied up with kevin seah.. her makeup was quite good.. depends on personal preference lar..shes not the kind who will put on heavy makeup for u.. shes in her twenties so she more or less noe the kind of look i want..
leme noe if u wan her contact no.

hi janice
normalli geomancer will give u the timing .. s for tong shu, i oso dunoe how to read.. ur teochew huh.. then tink it depends on ur mum liaos.. whether she wans u out of the house before daybreak...

Hi pigger
Its ok la. Do u have the MUA number? Do u have trial makeup? I am also searching for one leh.
I do not wan to hire the JB one out..

Hi Tare

Did you check out Marina Mandarin? Previously, I had shortlisted Amara, Pan Pac and Marina, then after considering the extra perks they can offer,I finally then make a choice... =)

Hi Jun, Hi Swee Cheng, Hi Smilez_Bride

anyone's AD earlier then 8 Jan?? ha ha ha.,, which is my AD

my PS will be on 4 Oct

Hihi ladies!

hehe, now at least I have a rough idea wat GDL is. Heard my hubby telling my mum abt pig's trotter etc, thot dat would be my pin jing, haha, was joking to my mum abt raising me up just to exchange for pig's trotter! my MIL quite chin chai, coz all along, my hub always makes his own decision, so leave everything to us. then my mum blur sort, 1st time marrying off daughter, so all dunno.

jelly,

I din do corsages though for my ROM, but did my hand bouquet and decor with square glasses for my buffet set-up. Used fresh flowers, bought them in bulk from Far East Flora, not that bulk either, they cum in 10-12 stalks per pkt, avg $12-18 per pkt,depending on the type of flowers u using. Would love to share pix of the flowers, but prob is that I very pc illiterate, oni noe how to surf net.was trying to send attachments of my ROM pix to an overseas fren, took literally whole nite to do it but my attachement can't send. my job dun need to use pc u see! So embarassing. But my photographer did put up my pictures in a website, would get the URL then u can see from there,now I forgot what's the URL.:P

for hand corsages, definitely easier to use silk flowers, not expensive, avg thk $3 can get a blossom, and can use till at night, esp if ur jie mei also helping out at the sign in table for banquet. Depending on ur choice of colours, actually the easiest would be just 1 bloom of flower, eg a rose, tiger liles, coz take photos can see clearly, use safety pin to pin to the back of the silk flower, and the ribbon can also go thru the same safety pin. But of coz if u like to use a few types of flowers, maybe a little bunch with small flowers, then u got to get those green/brown tapes for artificial flowers to bundle the flowers together, make sure the tapes coil round super thick, so that the pin can hold the corsage by going thru the coiled tape that secured the flowers.

to be honest, haven't actually hands on myself, but ever took a corsage from a fren's wedding, dismantled the whole thing to see how it's done, that's why likely for my own wedding would DIY. I oni got 2 jie mei.

Janice,

for teochews, groom must pick u up b4 sun comes out, coz afraid broad daylight may cheong with unlucky things like funeral....

hi germ

i met him 3 times liao...each time in t-shirt and jeans..hmm..for me, i dun realli care how he dress on the actual day, as long as he can take nice pics can liao...for my ROM, it is half half..got poses as well as candid shots...

Nemo:1 Oct 05- Conrad- ?- Sam Photo- Ya**ies Production- Hillview

fkml :1 Oct 05- Amara

Cottoncandy:1 Oct 05- Meritus Mandrain- Milan- Yew Kwang- Mirage -Bt Gombak

Noah:2 Oct 05- Conrad- Ted Wu- ?- ?

Stars:8 Oct 05- Hilton- White Link- ?- ?- Tampines

Jovia:8 Oct 05-

sunnygal:9 Oct 05- HIPV- BridalGalleryby Ming-?-?- ?

CaiCai:9 Oct 05- Conrad- ?- ?- ?- ?

tarepanjo:13 Oct 05- Amara- ?(considering GHA)- CFTien- Ya**ies- Kim Tian

Gina: 13 Oct 05 - (considering Intercontinental or Marriott) - (considering Jazreel Low) - (considering Yew Kwang or Jon Keng) - (considering Fabian Lim or Captured Moments) - The Gardens @ Bishan

Germ:22 Oct 05- Shangri-la Hotel- (considering Ted Wu)- ?- ?- ?

Annie:22 Oct 05- ?- Everliss-? -? -?

oops, sorrie for the wrong date, Cai Cai! =)

yo jnj... now teochew not so particular liao.. think u got to check with the guy side not the gal side rite... so ur FH also teochew hur... oh me working at JE area... kekeke...

yo zoe.. i know where this golden dragon shop is but hor tat day i went... nbr see the silk one leh.. all not really nice leh... hmm got to think of other place liao...

yo tan... okie u go find ur URL and share with us lor... btw where did u get the silk flowers fm... cos i start to look look ard then start to look look how to do liao...

Hi ladies. Went for my cpy's Car Rally today for family day. Very tiring. A few groups got lost, including that of my boss
Oophs, think this is the end of my organising games days.

My PIL not very particular. Think my parents are so-so. They would want to follow some customs but not all. Just that I dunno abt my Grandma. She might be more particular abt such things. Think I better ask her soon.

Rosalind, you are indeed lucky to have understanding PILs.

I may be abit late. Will try to be there by 330pm. See you tomolo

bluey : Golden Horse/Dragon Gate/28 May 05/Lovenest: Buangkok Crescent
sweatcorn : BS??/Rasa Sentosa/28 May 05/Lovenest: Esparis-Pasir Ris
Von : Feline/Le Meridien/28 May 05
Judy: BS?? /Hoilday Inn Park View/28 May 05/Lovenest: Jurong West
Bearyhugs: Golden Horse Awards/Merchant Court/20 May 05/Lovenest: McNair Road
isabelle: Kai Bridal/Marriott/2 May 05/in-laws
Nicole: Sophia Wedding/Conrad/14 May 05
Winnie: Seletar Broadway/Oriental/14 May 05/Lovenest: Hougang
Fat: Golden Horse Awards/Marina Mandarin/22 May 05 / Ang Mo Kio
Mei: Camelia HC/Conrad/ 15 May 05 / Lovenest:Sengkang
Ash: Santiago/Still Deciding/ 05 05/ Lovenest: IN LAWS!!! ARGHHH!!
Evelyn: Still sourcing/Raffles Town Club/22 May 05/Lovenest: ???
princessweds13: Tan Yoong/Regent/15 May 05/Lovenest: ???

Hello

Hmm - Can someone tell me wat's "AD"? "A.... Dinner"?

bearyhugs - Have updated the list (See above). AND please do tell me about Regent! Sigh - If there's anything negative - it'd be too late anyway but yes, I wanna know!

Oh - I didn't know Sunil was formerly from Marriot. I went to take a look at Marriott too. Really nice. But I wanted solemnization by the pool initially and they told me that the pool is closed for renovation next year May. Also, I asked for solemnization ceremony before the dinner starts outside the ballroom (Dunno what I was thinking then lah!) but they said cannot cuz no time to shift the chairs. So, I figured if everything also cannot then forget it.

Service is very impt to me so I'm also quite particular on who's assisting me on the wedding too

The Pan Pac's lady was nice, so was the guy from Rasa Sentosa, and Sheraton too!

Hi Judy

Yup - My BS is TY. Urm - not too sure about the prices cuz I may not be taking their bridal package as I have a friend who's a photographer. So, what I did was to sign up for the most basic which is from S$2,680 up for MTM wedding gown (to rent) and MTM evening gown (to keep). But cost will slowly escalate if you want more beadings, embrodiery, lace etc. So, I'm expecting to pay more after I've confirmed the gown design

I read the other forums - And it seems that TY came highly recommended. And I liked his designs very much so figured if it came at a slightly high price, then I'd have to scrimp and save for the next many months! Hee hee

Oh - I went to Ted Wu too. But Mr Ted Wu seems very busy so I didn't get a chance to meet him and hence, wasn't too comfortable in signing up if I dun have a chance to meet the designer

Blush,
Think Nov is not hot but more rain
154829.gif

All our frens noe my hubby's thinking (choose venue near his hse so tat can get home shortly), tats y they object it.

Have not been in here for a week... and the thread grew so fast! amazed... hehee.

hey re the teochew custom, i heard that if the bride is a teochew, then she muz leave the hse before sun set... did i hear wrongly?? My hubby is a teochew... hope i dun ve to get up so early on my wedding day...

Hello Carolyn!!

Yo jelly....u work JE...then we can meet first before we meet the rest of the gals first for the outing.....my FH is hokkein.... i just ask my mom...she say i "xiao".....n say me so "lao du".....n somemore say if i really go n follow the 3 am timing then she gonna laugh at me....kekeke....guess she ok with the timing.....as for IL...i leave it to my FH to settle with them.....

Tan,....share with us where can get the silk flowers leh....then we can go see see n learn how to make the corsage liao.

i still no know where is the golden dragon shop leh....

piggy....if my mom really want me out of the hse before daylight then i will be beri sad....hehehe....cant wait to send me off after so many years of trouble bringing me up...hehehe

Hey gals if i have a fren next yr early dec wedding then can she come for my wedding dinner anot?...she told me +- 3 months cannot attend other pple wedding. if want then she say dunno which party must give a small red packet.....my AD is late sept n hers is early dec...n it diff only by a few weeks....does it matter?.....i ask her to come she say pan dang...must check with parents first....