(2005) Brides of year 2005

ane

fates ~ yaya,, i'm pregnant liao!! next mth will know boy or girl!!

ger ~ i think i having the same problem with you now!! and further more i'm worst,, i'm pregnant now!! the job is good, but then, boss super emotional!! i really feel the stress which is definately a no good for me!! i also dont know what should i do now!!

pierced22

catlyn, i tot of buying from JB too lei the GDl items. which shop u saw there? didnt find out any price there yet.

hee...berry i know that house....but too bad the place i recce not near the house. i thk ku cant really go near the place oso rite. plus i found out itz not becoz they cant tear down the house, itz waiing to be conserved coz of the long history. i thk changi buildings scarier lor.

wah seems like APs really big headache lei. luckily mi mum says she not takin any APs at all since she know the $$ for dinner comes from mi hb and mi,she juz ask for 10 tables to invite guests but wont be taking the $$.
oh no..i forgot abt PILs. dunno ILs will take or not lei, but i thk they wont la coz they never even cough out single cent lei.

hamster_gal

hi caitlyn,
you printing cards in JB? which shop? i asked T&T already and they quote me RM100 for 300 cards, print directly and RM150 for colour photo printed in front of cards.... sounds cheap but not sure of quality....
are u going to let them print 1 card first before confirming?

pierced22

aiyo, i tk that sounds even more scary... both mi parents and ILs keep sayin sui bian lei and they havent meet up to discuss the pin jin etc...
i hope they wont be like the above cases!

dolphin48

hee watashi, that's why i haven't arranged for parents meet up till now and cos my dad is not in sg at the moment and don't know when he will come back so may arrange for one without him i think in case he comes back only days before my wedding.
as for the pinjin and tables, i want to settle before the meet up so that everyone is aware of what is going on and actually during the meet up, i don't want to discuss this cos it's very sensitive and my FMIL is not happy with my mum taking AP but cos she's offering to top up, my FMIL kept quiet lor....

hamster_gal

for my case hor, my mom did not ask for pin jin, but rather she asked for 8 tables... so all angbaos for these 8 tables will go to her... me and FH get to keep all other angbaos then if not enough, my FPIL will top up the difference....
my FMIL actually want to give my family more tables cos when my FSIl got married, she asked for 12 tables... so she keep asking my mom "8 tables enough or not?" so farnie lor....

josl

Hi mehmeh,
haha now u v free post and post, i also got mostly $80-$100 a few $120,$150(hubby juz recieved a $150 AP yesterday for a friend that din turn up for the wedding), think nowadays after all the hotel prices are gg up i wonder is $100 enuff to cover even..

So nice that got some big APs to cover, or else really wanna bang, yah, best not to dwell over the AP, juz wondering those who gave u so little give them back the same amt heehee

My PG din reply me yet sigh sigh...my VG is FOC,coz he wanna try something new, so my PG will coordinate with the VG as they are friends.

SRJC, hmm i gotta find out were is that , not that familiar with that area except for the common places i always go..see when u free lah u let me know.

Was looking at some CS on the net, still like the one something like urs, simple and nice.

Me also gg on trip this friday heehee

harlow josl,

Yah this week very free to post! heehee, when next week comes & no more wedding to use as reason to be off-loaded, then i will feel the workload boy... Till then, hahah

SRJC is near Lim Ah Pin, near the famous & expensive Punggol Nasi Lemak yah??

I thot u leaving on Thur??

josl

Hi mehmeh,
ohh..yeah i like to eat that nasi lemak,maybe meet at the nasi lemak stall hahaha..

I leave on fri late morning lah...

caitlyn

sounds serious today.. for me and fh, we alreay met up both sets of parents.. my parents asked for 10 tables.. they'll keep the AP.. as for pin jin.. my parents say bao a 4-digit figure so tt will sound nice but they'll give back some.. so my fh will be giving 2988

winnie - my parents actually do not knoe i'm helping out w the paying of tables.. (ooppss) coz they feel tt dinner sld be paid for by guy's side.. they were quite upset when i said i may be helpng coz they say gal must learn to protect herself.. even fpr the APs they keep, it's actually for the dotter.. they said they'll help out if our losses are too great.. so best to sound out ur parents first..

hamster_gal - most likely i'll be gg T & T.. just take the risk lorz.. hee.. coz the samples they show are alrite.. as long as dun make mistakes in printing can liaoz.. as for quality nd paper all tt i not too concerned.. coz ppl just take and throw..

rek

Just to check with you all.. Does your hotel provide projector for the banquet? Merchant Court does not provide, and ask me to pay $250 if i want to rent from them..

poochi77

Hi ladies..
Thanks for the blessings!! I really had a wonderful time of my life...

Weather was good in the am fortunately it only rained in the afternoon and stopped when I had my solemnisation- so weather was perfect for my outdoor ocassion.

Well my advise is : have a good nites rest leave everthing to your helpers and dun take things too hard, lots of patience required. But be prepared for unexpected mishaps- the best is to brief your helpers thorougly before your big day and beforehand run thru the sequence of the days events tog, lastly have someone co-od your banquet for you. Our job is to be pretty and enjoy!! Hee...

Will definately share with u my AD pics...

caitlyn

pierced - i saw this shop at city square.. i most lkely wun travel ard JB coz i no car.. but the prices there i think similar to s'pore.. =)

highness

O angpow topic..

keke.. i directly told my mum at the start of my preparation, that we r paying for the whole event ourselves, i'll give her the tables she need BUT i keep the AP.. at first she nag nag nag lah.. then when she heard other san gu's stories then she ok liao.. cos nowadays, most bride's parents give back all the AP.. anyway, she open her big mouth for $3888 for pin jin, we r ok with it.. told my FH if we can afford, give her more pin jin loh cos we not giving her any tables "income", and pin jin give more, groom oso got "face" mah.. hahaha.. :p

amylim

caitlyn - my mum also said the same thing as your parents....

Daphne - you should try to speak to your mum again and ask her to give you a rough gauge on how many tables she want... otherwise, it is quite difficult to do your sums....

panggou

caityln, my parents are aware that I am chipping in more, cos i worked longer than him... so far, they also worry i loogi hehehe, but i told them, if we marry and we dont foot the bills together, it is no good too...

lovely2005

Hi stars,

Will be going down tonight to view them. Hope dun hv major changes as Vincent not ard, scare they dun understand what i wanna change.
I still busy preparing, but my cards are ready.

Esther,
Some hotels do charge for rental while others is complimentary. Mine is provided for.

ger

I'm not afraid of work..in fact working OT is fine with me. The prob with my boss is she dun tell me what to do and if u asked her, she will tell you it is all common sense. So, in the end l will be left hanging there dun know head or tail of the stuffs l hve to do do.

Gettin tired of it.

wtan

hi hi ladies..
wow..can see there's a lot of postings..hope i didnt missed out much..was busy delivering mooncakes for customers in office this few days..now managed to log in..gg out again later..sigh, lately soo stress..quarrel w/ my FH & also told FMIL that i dun want to get married liao..duno why..if i m able to turn back the time..feel like canceling the whole wedding..duno if i m ready to settle down now..aarrrgh..

hi hi seval/starmoon..
my FPIL just wrote on the envelopes & put the empty cards inside the envelope & seal it up..i told my parents abt it & they also follow it..for myself..i will be writing my friends' names inside the card & also the envelopes..oh my, my FPIL wrote wrongly for 10 envelopes & now i hv to call the printer to get the extra envelopes for him...alamak..

hi hi janice..
ur GDL is the same date as i m..but i hvnt sorted out the GDL items..hope i m in time..now is rushing out for the invites from my parents & FPIL side...

hi hi jelly..
nice to hear that the laptop is working fine for u..i m looking in the photos for the montage..getting my sis to do for me..hopefully it will turn out well too..i told my hotel co-ordinator that i will like to go down & test on the projector & also the laptop..just to make sure that it is ok...at least better also..

hi hi mehmeh..
nice to have u here..now u r officially MRS! congrats! congrats! must keep us posted on more..thks for sharing with us abt ur AD...soo happy for u...when r u leaving for ur HM? must share the photos with us..cheers~

hi hi josl..
u r soo sweet..to monitor who's next in the list..hope u enjoy ur short trip this fri...soo nice...i soo envy u...cheers~

hi hi zoe..
wow..glad that ur GDL is ovr & at least now u get to do other things..hope u r coping well..must take gd care of urself..hope u dun overwork..k?

wtan

hi hi ladies..
i hv been busy lately..doing delivering for mooncakes for customers..gg out again later..stress...like soo many things not done..

hi hi mrs wee..
dun get upset..maybe hubby hope to be able to save more so that he can plan for a "big surprise" for u? hmmm...relax..me also lately very stress over the invites & quarrel w/ my FH..also told my FMIL that i dun want to marry liao..sigh..very bad lor..hopefully it will turn out well..

hi hi esther..
i think u may try to check it out with ur friends or co to see if they can lend u the projector? how's everything at ur side? gd?

kit_kit

wow, too many posting.. cant finish reading them all..
jelly, my hubby side forget to put in the washing diaper angbao on AD. cos a bit of unhappiness.. but luckily he got spare hangbaos (prepared for open door if jiemei ask for more). also, on my AD, it rain heavily.. cannot take outdoor pics. but overall, still ok.
so, gals must remind your hubby..

caitlyn

amy - looks like all parents the same.. esp since we r gals i guess.. =)

winnie - my parents are okie w me helping out for other stuff but just not the wedding banquet.. they say it's not a matter of being calculative or wat but mre of protecting myself.. hee.. i just listen lorz..

jam75

caitlyn,
yr parents request 10 tables did yr FIL say too many??? cos my mom request 8 tables but they say can only give 4 tbales...so stingy rite...but in the end to avoid any unhappiness both my hb and myself will b paying 4 the dinner lor....so my FIL won't heart pain...

berry,
yr mom so good...traditional bride tables ang bao should be kept by yr parents...my mom already told me dat she will keep the ang bao but she doesn't knew dat i actually oso help to pay 4 dinner...if she knew she will say i stupid cos she v traditional one...all my bro wedding is paid by my mom.

caitlyn

highness - i asked june for the food tasting dates.. she gave me the following for the mth of sept and oct..September 13 , 20 , 27 & October 3 , 11 , 19 , 27 from 7.00pm to 9.00pm.. apparently we sld go on these dates for food tasting.. =) just some info for ya..i most likely gg on 20 sept coz my prents gg overseas for whole mth of oct.. so better taste before they leave if ot will be too late oredi..

caitlyn

jam75 - my FIL din say much.. they not really in a position to say anything coz they not paying.. they just hint a bit to me to chip in coz my fh not rich.. but b4 i told them 10 table.. my FIL ctually say they fd out from others give abt 2-5 tables is enuff.. but my cousins all either gave or took 10 so my parents told me 10 lorz..

jam75

caitlyn,
my FIL oso same same...keep on asking my hb whether i got oso pay $$$ for our wedding or not...actually they say their custom is only 4 tables if wan more than ask my mom to pay the balance...how to tell my mom rite...some more my FMIL still ask my hb whether did i pay my own fren the table???faint...so calculative...

caitlyn

jam75 - no choice one lah.. parents very hard to chi hou one.. =) but by rite nan fang shld be more da fang.. esp if they say they want to follow customs and traditions.. coz traditionally nan fang is the "host" wat..

panggou

hmm, my in laws only paying for their table....

we paying the rest of the tables ourselves... think tonight i must really ask my mum about it.

realy wonder, what is the meaning to say how many tables they give us ??? cos we are the ones paying ultimately hehehe. my parents is aware that my in law is not paying for us, but they are fine with it.

i just worry my MIL will bring up a lot of weird things on sunday night during food tasting....

my MIL is very strange in her thinking, she says no matter waht, she wants us to have a dinner, cos it is time for her to earn the angpow back from her friends since she has been invited by them before, but i wonder leh, she is the one paying for the tables, and then she gets the angpow back, but where is the earning that she talking about???? still thinking of making a profit??? wonder why she never understands hehehehe.

turn out, i think my parents will have more tables than them, cos they dont have many relatives here.... thus, i think i am going to do without the sentence "give you how many tables" hehehehe

artemissoh

Hi Esther,

I believe that they should be able to provide the projector or only ask for a nominal fee. S$250 is too much.
Try bargaining with them. Peony Jade is providing me with the projector and screen FOC. Or maybe you can ask your bridal studio if they have any lobang if Merchant Court is adamant about charging you that much.

vela

hihi decimal, oic. I tot ppl go check up bf trying to conceive mah so ask you gals lor. hehehehe, u hv a personal consultant mah..kekekekeke

hihi cutie mummy, dun be too stress har, take good care of our thread 1st BB

hihi germ, my VP also like that, let us zi you fa hui. He is from england, sometime his english very chim and we will tell him 'jokely' to speak simple english. why not discuss with your colgs, I yak a lot with my colgs, thou they are doing different projects, it does helps to iron out some stuff. Sometime no choice I use 80/20 rule, send the email on whatever I have and wait for his reply..hahaha

caitlyn

winnie - hehe.. good point.. =) my parents also have many more tables then my FILs.. they only need abt 6 tables whereas my parents need abt 16 tables.. gosh..but one sentence uttered by both my FMIL and mother at diffrent times makes me ultra worried "not sure if the table will fill up but sld need ard tt no" and my mum.. who thinks that there are 2 reserve tables say tt if she invite 16 then only 14 come, it doesn't matter.. i was like *faint* now trying hard to explain to my mum who sld be able to understand once i explain to her the dynamics.. as for FMIL, i think no point sometimes coz she wld be like "mei you ban fa mah, yi ding yao qing you bu dong ta men hui bu hui lai'.. which is true lah, but must RSVP well i guess..

hamster_gal

hi caitlyn,

i also face the same issue cos my FH's side wun RSVP based on my FSIL's experience when she got married.... so i intend to invite 3 more tables of colleagues (to cover 2 tables of missing relatives, extra 1 table for the reserve table)... but if all invited guests turn up, then i need 3 reserve tables liao.... but my hotel only provide 2... dunno whether last minute can add 1 more or not....

caitlyn

hamster_gal - tt's a bit of a risk.. better not to risk like dat.. from wt i noe from my hotel.. not possible to add table at the last minute due to lack of food.. maybe u sld just invite 2 more tables of colleagues..

dolphin48

hee.... talking about guests..... i also stressed ah..... cos mine is 8 Jan and i just found out that 10 Jan which is a tues is a public hols and my company may go on forced leave on 9 jan. if that's the case, a big chunck of my colleagues will be travelling..... so difficult to plan for guests list too.

caitlyn

daphne - i also cham.. a lot of my colleagues also gg on holiday.. now wondering if i'll have to have a wedding lunch coz it's meant for them also.. sighz.. hate all these.. now i regret wanting to have a banquet..

caitlyn

eh gals.. keep tokking lehz.. can't believe it's actually sch hols and i'm hre marking my life away.. sobz.. hee

pierced - ur PS on thurs rite?? excited??

panggou

yeap caityln, know that teachers norm cant enjoy the school holi one...

understand that the guest list is the most taxing thing for all of us here...

dolphin48

caitlyn, i agree wtih u.... i regretted having a dinner now.... actually my mum wanted us to just do ROM, have a simple high tea and then HM but i'm the one that wanted a dinner cos i feel that it's a once a lifetime (hopefully) affair and i'm the only child so it's the only time my mum can have such grand dinner..... but now a bit regretted liao.... should have opt for just high tea..... like my friends..... so much easier....

caitlyn

for me, i wanted a dinner also.. but wat i had in mind was a small scale one.. but no way i cld have done w/out a dinner coz my relatives wld've insisted.. my poor cousin actually only wanted ROM but relatives went on and on until he finally to ying chou them, had a 10-table dinner at a restaurant..

dolphin48

btw gals, tell u all hor, i think i'm going thru a suay period..... someone stole my cash and ezy link card at the gym yesterday ... but i'm also careless lor to leave my locker unlocked cos i just go toilet which is just 4 steps away niah and it's gone in less than 1 min! sigh...... heartpain......

caitlyn

daphne - poor dearie.. give u a BIG HUG to get rid of the bad luck.. but my luck also not tt good.. maybe we sld hug each other for awhile.. hahha. math teacher mah -ve and -ve will become +ve!

caitlyn

daphne - keke.. better not hug to much.. wait our fh start to get worried.. hahaha

berry - meeting must have dragged?? hope u din kena too many arrows during meeting.. =)

dolphin48

haha.....
btw, caitly, your colleagues got the call for the personality tests results already? i think by this week, if no news, then i'll call them already.