(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

wx, wah u tot of new yr resolution liao ah? me no tink of it yet...mmm...guess it will b spend less on myself n save up for baby's milk powder...hahaha...juz kiddin... :p

bear, cody drinks so fast ah? dun seem normal for dogs rite? do watch his behaviour n bring him to vet if needed...

sue, u saw gals fight ah? wah seh...not bad sia...me no c b4...onli been involved in it...hahaha... :p juz kiddin...me very "guai" one...

Hey all!
I'm in cold amsterdam,snowing,it's really very nice.
Managed to get some stuff for frens.Cant exactly go empty handed to their place for NYE gathering though i already gotten the booze,hehe!

cherz,
the MNG here is so much different,quality so much better-the way i rem MNG supposed to be.I think in sg they r really targeting a different grp of shoppers.

sue,
dragonfly not for us lah.i prefer wala wala at holland v or anywhere quieter can chill out.

tea,
i like chilling out at home too.
Anywayz,enjoy ur trip!

hi all, i will be leaving for taiwan soon. merry xmas to all and a happy new year.
will chat with all in 2008;)

Hey all !
Merry xmaz & a Happy 2008!
How was everyone's xmaz?
Wat r ur plans for NYE?

Watched I am legend on sun,not too bad.
Was in NYC when they were filming the cab scene,tt was like a yr a go or more.

mumsy bear,
thx for the e card!

dajie, me wanna watch I am legend also...gotta plan which day to go...now cant watch after office hrs liao...
NYE will b gg over to my sis' place for bbq...

Hello! Hope u had a wonderful christmas with ur family and loved ones.

Haha it took close to 20 shots to get one gd shot of Cody sitting still. He was terrified of the christmas tree and us shouting at him not to move cos his claws will scratch my wooden platform.

No plans for NYE.. prob a picnic by the beach with the doggie and watching the ships shooting their flares at midnight.

mi back =)

merry xmas and happie new yr.. time flies.. so fast...

queenie.. it'snowing at amsterdam.. dats cool.. i din manage to experience that there.. only very cold when i m there.. went to their red light district.. was surprise with their individual room which can be seen thru..damn power..

i enjoyed myself alot alot.. juz dat i started to miss home during the last 3 days in paris.. maybe coz i got sick of eating the food there.. hehe.. spent a bomb.. now back with alot of debts.. heehee... during my stay in lucerne, we experienced a blackout.. initially i thot it's due to my heater as i m boiling water.. later den realised the whole town in total darkness.. but it resumed back within 10 mins.. went to watch moulin rouge.. its a great show.. nice nice and thumb up.. their costumes are excellent.. really a different kind of experince since this is the 1st time i attended this kind of french can-can muscial play.

bear.. the pic is nice.. so dats ur cody.. very cute.. see when meet up with u to pass u the wallet k.. will let u noe how much den ya =p

Hello Anise! Welcome back! Sounds like u had lotsa fun.. heehee.. one day i must go there too...

Gimme a buzz when u are free.. think u shd be quite jetlag..

anise,
welcome back! must had enjoyed yr HM. bought a lot of branded stuff?

dajie,
will be at my aunt's place for NYE.will u be in sg??

hi everyone. Happy New Year. I just arrived a few hours ago. Hope everyone had a wonderful xmas.

I had a lot of fun in taiwan.

Dajie: i got the stuff u wanted from shilin. judging from the packaging, it does look pirated. lol.

Will post tom. lotsa unpacking to do.

Happy 2008 to everyone!

We watched the fireworks fr the car near the padang,it was superb!Though Prince was terrified,hahaha!!!
Din go to my fren's plc caz her baby decided to pop at midnite.

tea,
thx for buying the pirate fakeys!

Happy New Year guys! May all your wishes and dreams come through. i was sick so was stucked in bed the whole of yesterday.

Happy Birthday Cherz! Many happy returns!

morning gals... me already back at work since yesterday.. still in holiday mood.. dunno if this is not really a good year to start off with.. i was like pointing a gun at myself yesterday when toking to my boss. My big boss wan me to go over to customer service dept side which I dun wan. got to deal with customer's complaint which i hate doing. so i thot him if he insisted me going over, i might not stay here long.

yesterday checked my balloting result.. goodness despite the fact i got 3 chances in balloting but in the end, my Q no is 4000+.. fainting.. really no faith to get a place.. no choice liao.. juz stay with my MIL..

cherz.. i bought 1 big LV and small fendi bag =p there goes my AWS.. lol.. btw belated bday to u.. how u celebrate ur day?

anise: my queue no is 5000+. faint. i wonder why they even bother to allocate a no to me. there are only 400 units available.

Tks Tea, Dajie, Bear, Anise & Sue for yr wishes!

I had a wonderful bday celebration this yr. 2 colleagues came over to my place last wkend and gave me a surprise bday party. on my actual day, they drew me a card and hung a big balloon at my workstation. haha everyone knew it was my bday. thats why quite sad to leave the co. when u have such nice colleagues u can click with...

went ktv with another gp of frenz and 2 frenz (who were supposed to be sick and not coming) surprised me with a cake halfway thru.

i feel so blessed with such gd frenz ard me!!

Hb celebrated my bday with a dinner at Hooha. the restaurant dajie recommended. we sat at the same table when we 1st visited the place last yr for hb's bday. =)

Gd morning guys...

Anise, aft u said that u might quit, what did ur boss say? go ahead? haha... i think u can choose to accept or reject the transfer right?

Aiyoh, both u and Tea's queue no is so horrible! are there really 5000 newly weds or oldly weds with no place to call home? I mean there are ppl who wanna upgrade too.. but i still feel those without a house shd be give a priority.

Cherz, sounds like u had a great birthday!

Anise, u have a choice but it may not reflect well if u reject.

i have a good frenz who also gets horrid queue no. and the worse thing is that their combined salary is now more than $8K.

hey hey its getting quiet here. everyone busy with CNY preparations already??

i threw my resignation letter on fri!will be starting my new job on the wk of CNY. =)

yaya our thread getting quiet..

bear.. i use mouth weapon onli.. in the end, so far now den tell me to go over.. instead he asked me to follow up on some of the items wor... i dunno.. maybe they trying to make me stay.. ex-co wanted me back but i decided not to. my lady boss leaving in feb thus not a good time to go back liao.. anyway i m gonna reject my previous co tmolo..

cherz.. i noe it wont reflect good BUT i got no choice.. if not i will be force to a job which i dislike.. thus pointless.. juz give it a try..

yesterday went to see the cityview boon keng DBSS... sooooooooooo ex.. but i tink my hubby insisted in wanting.. surprisingly there is a 30k grant.. anyway shall see how.. applied but might not be able to get.. so juz see

Hi all, busy with my company shifting....Busy with my hse, getting keys soon. So was spending lots of time to look at furniture, eletrical appliances etc. Have bought most of the impt things. Had shortlisted those outstanding items and get them during renovation. Had gotten and ID, officially reno shld start after cny.

anise, the boon keng flat is EC? or its jus HDB flat also? But $30k is nothing lei compared to eg. $600k.....the most ex unit I saw in papers is $750k...income ceiling is $8k, how to afford? Pay till children grow up ald then help to pay ah?

sue.. its DBSS... i guess those 750k 5room are meant for those family who currently have a home and wanna upgrade. so if they sell their current one, definitely still affordable to them..ya it's quite ridiculously high, wonder how to survive with income ceiling of onli 8k.. haha...
so when u getting ur home.. dats fast... must have spent a bomb huh... enjoy the whole process of building up ur new home

Anise, isn't there another DBSS at AMK? that one is cheaper.. the developer promised no flats will be higher than 700K. u might wanna try that too cos very near to MRT.. next time sell sure make money one...

Ya all DBSS projs have the 30K grant. even EC also have.. but i think it is kinda silly to wanna sell flats to ppl earning below 8K cos there is no way u can afford such expensive flats with a combined income of 8K! ST worked it out for us and said that ppl earning below 8k gotta be very VERY careful with their cash. Stupid... might as well sell it to other ppl and ban those earning 8K and abv from applying for WIS.

Sue, happy reno-ing! kekeke...

Cherz, so u will be taking a couple of wks off? did u receive a pay increment despite being ur last mth there?

Issit me or it is rather cold recently? I have resorted to slping with a sweater!

anise: i saw some shots of the show flat at boon keng. looks very nice leh.

I find the prices steep but then there are still a long queue for it. probably paying for the quality n view. hope you can get a unit there.

I think HDB seriously need to review their income ceiling for flat application. income and prices of things have changes drastically over the past 15 years. they need to keep up with times.

sue: have fun setting up your new place. we had a lot of fun sourcing for furniture and stuff to fit into the house theme.

cherz: so fast. going to change job liao.
all the best.

harlow peeps ^^
wahhh so long neber come in post.........
lets see from the latest post heh heh heh

toking abt boon keng flats.......its really steep but there are still ppl who are able to afford it as the payment plans are not like hdb.

judy, hehehe no arguments as to what to place or what type of sofa set, colour and so on??? but your house really looks good. so far went to da jie's place and yours, both of you got the place done up really well!!!! wonder if om able to do a good job hahahaha

bear, its true there are nites when its really cold but not so bad lah. prob you cant tahan cold as much.
i also agree to what you said about the DBSS. its definitely suitable for the high level and the ban thing was a nice suggestion ^^ though ppl earning that much might have heavy commitment too...as they say the more you earn the more you spend hehehehe

anise, have to depend on how much they are able to get from their current flat too....if its too low then no point liao......

sue, seems like your new hse matters more or less all settled liao. happy or not^^.....did you refer to the past posts on electrical appliances to get those or you got new lobangs ^^ still rem when we were toking about getting electrical appliances and which shop got better deals and services hahahaha back then we could only be "green" at da jie and the rest with house ^^ now its your turn..so fast.

hey where is everyones' new year resolution haa haa haa i thought last year we were posting about it LOL ^^

Bear,

Those who joined after 2005 will not have an increment as we supposedly had one in Jun 07. this is another push factor. if there had been an increment, i might have reconsider.

anyway, my bosses keep asking me to reconsider, saying pte sector will have very long working hrs etc! my colleagues mentioned the bosses wldnt be like that in the past. I think they are afraid they wont be able to recruit anyone given the mkt conditions now!

hehehe cherz that is really a push factor. all along i thought that a company should more or less have a pay adjustment every financial year be it more or less. anyway all jobs are bound to encounter long working hours every once in a while mah....

weixiong: umm... i think the only arguement we had was the size of TV. i am not a tv person, so wanted to go for something small, while he is the opposite. hee. other than that, not much arguement on what to buy cos we were very sure of the theme for the house. so went we go shopping, it was very specific what item we were looking for. as for where to place the item... my place is so small, so not much option on where to put the stuff. :P

i am sure you will do a good job when your flat is here.

WX long time no see... I am scared of cold one.. i tolerate heat better. New yr resolutions? I resolved to spend less time online! wahahahaha...

About the DBSS flats, i dunno why but i prefer the AMK ones.. some more it is PM Lee's ward so maintenence wise also better... Boon Keng is a bit ulu in my opinion... but it would be a big commitment to buy such flats in my opinion!

Cherz,i didn't know ur co got such thing! for us u have to be working at least a yr to get it so most of us got the 6% increment. well since u are gg away liao then dun think abt it.. I personally feel pte sector easier to negotiate... public sector must see so many rules and regulations to get higher pay.

Tea, my hb and i quarrelled abt everything! hahaha... appliance wise, i did the deciding but things like tiles, paint colour, wat type of windows etc we argued abt it...

Wx> yah I went to those forums that recommend places to get applicances, so took down prices, compare with big mkt players etc. End up I got most of my eletrical stuff from Harvey Norman, feel safer cos they can match prices for most of them. Some slightly cost more with the freebies they are giving sort of offset the diff. I and my hb argue for alot of things also, some I wanna cut cost, some he feel we shldn't etc....electrical stuff more or less ok, furniture, curtains n lightings etc, kinda big diff. Less than 24 hrs to getting the keys!

bear, I used to stay in AMK so I prefer that too. Boon keng always got jam one, compare to the locality of the one at tanjong pagar, this is really more ulu. Personally I won't pay so much, to slog like siao for a HDB tho interest for hdb loan is lower, it still means tat we need to pay. How many ppl can actually make from selling their hse now tho mkt boom,but there are many who bought during the orevious boom too. Unless downgrading else its really not that lucrative. Plus the levy to pay back govt when selling off pty.... Somemore this is deferred payment, by the time the flat is ready, the mkt is dunno hw ald. Just like when HDB launched punggol n sengkang flats initially, the cost of the flats are considered ex also based on the std of living then. Many gave up by the time their flats are ready cos the flat their are staying in after selling and getting the new flat is too bo hua.

bear: hee, my house doesnt need reno, so there was nothing to argue there.

sue: i bought most of my stuff from the neighbourhood shops. the price was a lot cheaper.
maybe the prices in havey norman has gone done these 2 years.

tea, we negotiated for abt 20 to 25% off their listed price. My dad always buy from them for their company lucky draw last time so know some of the salesmen. Call them and actually have diff quotes, as a cumulative purchase, they offer rather competitive pricing.

sue.... u really counting down on the collection of ur key huh.. hmm guess there bounds to be some argument over getting the house set up.. when it's my turn, confirm plus guarantee sure have..lol..

toking about the boon keng DBSS... hmm AMK not bad but i dunno when it will be released.. by den wait n wait, really wait till my neck long long..lol tho it's really like not practical to get the boon keng flat.. see their built in wardrobe, oso not somethin dat i really fancy.. other den dat still ok.. hmm work out with hubby, still can afford but juz dat i guess i cant work as a tai tai after giving birth.. faint.. got to be a slave for flat.. anyway shall see how... but surprisingly soooo my relative all support us to take.. in fact its not very ulu.. very near to the town wor...

Nice to see y'all involved agn.
I'm in cold milan,we're planning to visit venice tmw.Milan is really a shopping paradise & i'm oh so very weak indeed...

anise,
if in any doubt abt buying ur home due to location or budget,continue to be patient caz no point being in a hurry & commit caz it's a big investment.When s'thing is right,everything will jz fall into place.

sue,
hb & i fought over almost everything we had to get for our home til he got tired & started to give in more to me when i felt tt the home din even feel like mine,like there isnt any of my "essence" in it.Hb got expensive taste & he feels my taste is hideous(he's only insulting himself).Wherelse i feel his taste r too masculine.Our taste were at opp ends.Felt like wanna spray blood.But we survived.So for wedding,he left it all to my devices.

Hi all...been bz these few days so seldom post...

wat is DBSS har? AMK got available flats meh? me wanna get also but waitin for the property boom to cool down 1st...

I thought the AMK DBSS has been launched too! Wasn't it on last wk's papers? Sat? the developers said that it is not gg to be more ex than 700K..

Tea, haha.. may be when ur next flat comes then u might argue with ur hb.. my hb and I argued so much until i fell sick and went to the hospital with meningitis... :P i always blamed him for it.. hahaha...

Anise, if u worked it out and u can afford it then do it lor. My thinking is that pay will only increase or at least u will be earning more than wat u have now in the future. I nv planned to be a tai tai so I bought the flat i m currently in...
things were tight initially but now its much better.

Dajie, happy shopping!

morning peeps!!!!

hehehehe ah bear ah bear......spend less time online then does that means you wanna have a gathering more often??? hehehehe come to that should plan for a gathering soon.....how about early feb coz end feb is the NATAS????
dont put it like you guys quarrel all the time lah but then again its fun haa haa haa ^^

i guess for the public sector its kinda diff to make sudden changes without stirring up some storm coz its like changing the rules and alot of stuffs will need to be adjusted......prob 5yrs down the road the public sector might be on par with the pte ones........

judy, hehehe hope i will have an easy time like you for my place when the time comes haa haa haa
yest wifey juz complaining that the progress is really slow for the flat. now the going to start on the foundation.......really abit slow considering that we already paid the first payment.......

hehehehe sue really excited about getting keys right. your dad really help you save a bunch hehehe the money saved can put into overseas trip??? hehehe the boon keng flats really exp hehehe first time see a new estate is so exp....

bear.. hmmm anyway we just applied and see how it go.. as what u mentioned, it's quite true dat our pay will go up BUT, scarly by den got baby den everythin need $ den die.. will be damn tight.. kinda worry.

queenie.. as wat u mentioned.. hmm quite true.. juz wait patiently since i have been waiting for sooooooo long already.. hehe.. so u in milan now.. guess the weather even more colder now.. dats time i went venice.. soooo damn cold.. u betta wear more to keep urself warm.. hmm i missed my honeymoon days...

jannie.. DBSS is design, built, sell scheme.. built by private developer but under HDB. AMK got one site but not release yet.. u can go try when it's release ya.. so how's ur baby?

guess there bounds to be lotsa argument when setting up a home ya.. but it's a process that I am sure everyone will enjoyed => right?

Gd morning WX??!! u in the wrong time zone ah.. hahaha...

Gathering ah, who is supposed to plan this time around? eat out again? heee.... like not many of us left... sigh... i think we are the few that haven't move on with our lives.. still stuck in the wedding preps mode.. :P... kiddin'! Oooh NATAS coming again! Must start researching liao... thinking of gg somewhere in Sept.. when shd i be buying the tours? June?

Quarrelling can be very tiring.. i used to argue with my hb, from 11pm all the way till 2am... then next morn 6am have to go to work.. try doing this on an almost daily basis and u will be exhausted...

Public and civil services have another thing that pte sector dun: unions.. a lot of the junior staff join unions hence it is very very hard to fire them. say e.g. one of ur subordinate is always late for work, sometimes dun even bother to come to work at all. he uses up all his available leave and even want to take no pay leave. By right as an employer, u don't want such a person around. In the pte sector, these ppl would have been fired. but not in the public or civil service. it is almost impossible to fire ppl.. unions would say that the employee is facing bad times at home hence not fair to expect him to be working as per usual... so it is really an ironbowl... senior officers dun have such luck.. although firing someone is still nearly impossible, they will give u very lousy performance bonus until u dun wanna work there..

Anise, u said u dun want a bb so soon right? guess u got plan well lor.. when u still can manage, save a bit more.. haha.. i say like machiam so easy! I can't even do it myself!

hehehehe my previous post was written in the morning and suddenly all the calls, problems and requests came in.......do until now. wah seh busy!!! hehehehehe
when me and wifey applied for the first DBSS at tampines we really wanted to get one at all cost and we actually got a chance but gave it up coz dont want to slave for a house ^^ hehehe ya lah pay will only get higher but if at that point we choose another project which is more relaxing on our pockets we can do so much more with the money saved ^^

da jie, your force is weak against shopping LOL got to strengthen up your force against it haa haa haa.

anise, don worry about the queue number coz along the way will have ppl opt out one. the tampines also mah.....alot opt out until there are even leftovers which is available to the public on first come first serve basis.

aiya i already explain in my previous post liao......must be some serious stuffs for you to argue from 11 to 2.......
your guy really power sia......take unpaid leave somemore......he not used to earning his keeps ah. or he is those kind to sugar mummy support one LOL. this sort of ppl really should have a taste of what is poor then he will prob buck in his performance.....
but i guess the public sector should change their views lah. no need to be scared of not getting ppl for the job.

U busy ah... how's ur studies? working hard?

No it is the union that has a big say in the public service.. Like SIA, the unions can call for strikes, fight for wat they perceive is the rights of the employees. In a way it isn't wrong cos some of the practises employed by the co can be very unfair to the employees.. but there must be balance btw the unions and the workers' performances too.. Give u an eg. there was this officer in my co. He had two meetings scheduled concurrently. one he is directly in charge off, the other was a staff meeting. his boss told him to go for the one he was in charged of but he chose to go for the general meeting. becos of this and a couple more incidents combined, he was asked to quit. he refused and i think was fired. he challenged that and engaged lawyers to fight for him cos technically speaking he has the right to choose to go for whichever meeting he wants. in the end the AG chamber had to be involved. this is how hard it is to get fired in the public sector!!

Hi all, all went well ytd. Met a really chatty lady from AIG who handled the insurance stuff. N the officer who handled the signing of docs is really nice too. We were talkin abt the pty mkt etc. She said heng the new DBSS no need them to be there, she saw fights n arguments at the showflat etc. Mostly those who applied those projects like pinnacle, tampines DBSS are mostly youngsters. She said cos we more daring ahhahah! Alot of ppl enquired when they announce such projects. For me also la, almost wanna give up our booking fee for my current hse to get the pinnacle. Heng, we din.....I ald feel the bleeding when we pay for our reno deposit, furniture, eletrical stuff now. If we were to go for pinnacle, tink we really no need to tink of going hols, reno the plc nicely or occasional meals at restuarant le. Maybe jus can only buy a bed, washing machine, fridge n move in....Sit on mahjong table eat dinner ahhahah. Prefer to have more breathing space for our cpf accts. Even if touchwood 1 of us not able to work, at least the other person has enough to support the loan. Won't know what the future is going to be like too. Maybe cos due to my work, I have seen many sad and ugly cases I become very wary of such commitments personally. With wat happened to my fil, we both feel we need to have a buffer just in case.

I am thankful I got my flat then, cos initially we were thinking apply ald so long then can get, but zoom so fast, almost 4 yrs le fr application. So WX urs will be here soon! Those applications for flats nowadays are scary!!!

bear, pte sector they can always use performance as an excuse to fire someone.....only union I can join is NTUC hee!

anise,
venice was a beautiful sunny winter day yday,a great day for walking ard,taking pics & getting lost in the many alleys.It's really a unique city & so picturesque!

sue,
i'm also a NTUC union member.I do feel abit more protected compared to my frens who r in pte sectors who face probs,they got no one to turn to at all.

bear,
so far never heard of strikes by union.The grandfather of sg will come with the big big cane!