(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

queenie> I told my parents I heck care if the food nice or nt, the place nice can ald, they nag at me say I cant be so mean, wait ppl for yrs will complain our wedding food sux etc....See abt face again.....

Regent is abt $1k plus oso, end up Sheraton cheaper....The place is nice as well!

hiya all, i have sent you the link to some of my ps photos.. these are the unedited photos.. will show you my album once i received them... anna, i will be uploading more photos of my love nest shortly... you'll be able to see them via the same link

bear> that would be great... can you send me your gdl list please? can i also view the photos of your lovenest too? hehe... flat almost ready liao... met up with my coordinator today to discuss the remaining touch up.. he said can handover the house by next Sat....its a mixed feelings lo.. relief because house will be ready soon but then my pockets alot of holes liao.. hehe... the next headache will be to clean the house loh.....probably will get a good workout and lots of muscle aches.. hehe... yeah the amount is ever increasing.. pay & pay until i scare liao.. hee..

haven't confirm wine also leh.... dunno how to taste wine and appreciate it... probably have to speak to my friend who is an expert in this area??!??

weixiong> wish you best of luck. .. hope you can get the unit you want.. don't envy lah.. i'm sure you'll get a favourable unit and then before you know it.. your flat will be done up and ready =)

suelynn and kyra> happy b/d to your hubby!! .... excited about the coming elections sia... till now no news about opposition expressing interests in my area leh.. probably no choice to vote this time round... sheraton not too bad also har...heard alot of good comments about the food etc... we considered sheraton as well but decided to go for conrad because we like the ballroom..and the feel..

maruko> oh yeah... please do.. help me to eat my share also ah... eat more and enjoy yourself.. have loads of fun!!

the list i provided, can't say is for GDL only.. just know that need ot buy those stuff.. together with red pkt and canned pig trotters..
anyway, both parents simplified these stuff... so we only need to buy 2 bedlamps, xi stickers, red plate for oranges, 2 longfeng candles.. even those shu-tou also no need..
still thinking need to buy umbrella or not.. coz Teochew normally go out b4 dawn, so no need.. but now i'm leaving abt 8 plus.. so dunno need or not..
anyway, saw weixiong at chinatown on sat..hehehe.. i think the one at the corner selling those bridal stuff is cheaper.. the stretch facing the HDB flats(in market),
e.g. bedlamp @ $8, longfeng@$6, stickers@$1 etc.. still got discount if u buy more..
the shop name, i think is Jia Jia something.. namecard with hubby..

Hello..

Kyra, happy searching for ur dinner venue.. Sheraton is really ok, cos it sits 12... so though it might look expensive, it is not aft all the calculation.

Sue, wah! 50 tables?! so many ah? wait ur MIL see ur mum got so many tables then she also add more how? i think u look for venue for 60 tables ba...

ok DH will be sending u the GDL list and my home's pixs.
Ya cleaning of the house is the worst! no matter how many times u mop, there will be this layer of very fine grit... think cement dust.. must use hands to wash then clean... i m handwashing my place every wkend lor.. cannot tahan the dust.

Sheryl can u post the name and the add here? Wah u saw weixiong ah? think i have to go down to buy soon too...

Chase away ur Monday blues....

Types Of Wife: What Type Of wife do you like to have?

HARD_DISK Wife: She remembers everything FOREVER..

RAM Wife : She Forgets About you,the moment you turn her off..

WINDOWS Wife : Everyone knows that she cant do a thing rite, but one can live without her...

EXCEL Wife: They say she can do a lot of thing but mostly you use her for your 4 basic needs..

SCREENSAVER Wife: She is good for nothing but at least she is FUN!!

INTERNET WIFE: Difficult to access..

SERVER WIFEL: Always busy when you need her..

MULTIMEDIA Wife: She makes horrible things looks BEAUTIFUL....

CD ROM WIFE: She is always faster and FASTER!!

E-MAIL Wife: Every 10 things she say, 8 are nonsense...

Laptop Wife: Most Desired possesion, but always belong to someone else...

Virus WIFE: Also Known as 'WIFE'; when you are not expecting her,she comes, install herself and uses all your resources.

If you try to uninstall her, you will lose something, if you dont try to uninstall her, you will lose EVERYTHING!!!

Wah Dajie, u up so late? heehee.. thanks for the joke.. made me smile...

I hate Mondays..

DH, nice talking to u last nite. Thanks for the tips, will bear in mind..

Sue, ur mum just wants the best for u, in her eyes.. give her sometime to adjust to ur expectations. in the meantime i suggest that u book the place that u are comfy with.. they will learn to live with ur decision.

Sue > Your dinner will be in Sheraton?? =)
I just recd the quote, have not visited the place yet.

Dajie > I love Regent too but too bad price not within the budget. Looking at nothing more than $900 per table after all the taxes. Cant afford to do more cos PILs footing the bill and I am already starting to feel abit pressurised.

I dont know who my MIL talked to but both hb and I were pissed by her last night. About 2 months ago, hb casually asked my mum how many tables she wants. Mum didnt do a proper count but said nothing more than 15, any extra can give me for friends. Then as we started hotel shopping, mum and dad revised and said they prob need only 12 tables. Mum told me she doesnt require anything else like dowry or gifts.

Both times, hb conveyed the figures (15 and 12) to his parents and they were ok. I even told them I would park my friends and colleagues under their side so that the money collected can go into off-setting the bills while my family keeps the returns of 12 tables.

Last Sat they held a BBQ to celebrate hb's 30th bday. As usual, such family gatherings alot of 3 GU 6 PO. And suddenly, my mil told me yesterday, while we were dining out that ACCORDING TO CHINESE CUSTOMS, they will only give 8 tables to my parents. If my parents want 12, they have to fork out money for the 4 tables. And she started blabbering some nonsence about if they give 12, it wont look nice on my parents (for not paying for any table)! WTF! I have a friend whose mother requested for 25 tables!

I was fuming and on the verge of crying at the eatery. Totally caught by surprise. I felt like telling her that we have never requested for anything out of the world and that at the end of the day, it is my hb and his family who will lose face if they are so calculative. I then told her in the face that I would tell my parents accordingly.

My parents giving us all their progress package money and said we can keep for reno/furnishing since it's extra bonus from govt. My mum even told hb herself that the angbao she collecting from dinner, she will give us some to buy appliances/furniture as well and told us not to rush into furnishing whole house this year. AND MY MIL STILL BEHAVE LIKE A KIAM KA-NA?!

Perhaps she sensed my mood-change and started telling me the gifts they would give me...what cakes and suckling pig blah blah..I just told her plainly that my parents wont need such things, she can "save" the money. She then panicked and said " No lah, cannot...you are the eldest daughter, wait people may laugh at my son for not giving these stuff". I just brushed her off by saying..."Anything lor, then you better tell Rod (my hb) what you need, I get my parents to prepare and return to you accordindly. My parents very modern/open-minded one, they wont know exactly what to do."

Hb cld sense my tone and quickly jumped in to tell his mum that 12 tables are necc for my very big extended family. Somemore my parents always tell him dont need anything else, so he would want to cfm giving them min. 12 tables.

ANGRY. I shd have heeded my mum's suggestion to just have a honeymoon wedding. I warned my hb to communicate with his mum properly and not to always change her mind and then give my parents any rude shock when they meet up, else I wont give face also. He said he will tell his mum not to speak to those nosy aunties...and then he started complaining wedding prep really very stressed....WHATEVER! His stress is nothing compared to mine - fencing off the always bossy SIL...and now my usually-very-nice MIL also turning nasty!

Oops..sorry for my long naggy post above...

DH - Can share share your PS pics with me also? Many thanks in advance =)

Where you stay ah? Alot of constituencies may face opposition in this coming GE leh...

kyra> no la my dinner wont be at Sheraton, burst budget. My parents need like 30 tables lo n my mil n hb nvr utter a word abt it..... Cos anyway my parents are all ready to pay their own cos they noe my ils nt rich. Its like cant be dun ask at all oso, tink yi si yi si ba....My parents will return the angbao to us anyway.

Cool down cos some old folks got this custom thinggy in their mind, mine both oso dunno all these one so they chin chai la, cant be like selling daugther or give away daughter kind..Well, I dunno la

The hotels are a tad too ex ald, our budget very stretched...so mum is suggested having 2 dinners at hipv or maybe day 1 at rest for relatives n day 2 at hotel for frens...Hb dowan he wants a big n grand celebration....But all quite against having 50 tables at hotel cos we will be bleeding. Looks like orchid country club is still the best choice n my mum keeps asking me ppl will go meh on friday to yishun for dinner???? Kaos, hear liao oso sian, tink she want me to tink carefully but she aint making me very happy lo

I was so stress n upset over the whole week that I get gastric/stomach flu nw....

Thanks Bear, will learn to manage my mum like hw I did at work with my stupid customers...

kyra,
post all ur woes here.Dont worry abt it,we all got some kind of probs.
Sorry,i really dont knw the htl wedding dinner rates.I anyhow suggest as i thot very nice lor.

Frankly,i really dont knw wat to say abt any of u who r gg thru all these parental obstacles bfe ur AD.All i realize is tt everyone's true colour has finally come out.We really knw wat we have come to marry or hv been living with all this time.How "ugly",calculative & fake some ppl can be.Be it our own parents or pils.Oh well,if this doesnt break u,it'll make u stronger.

ah bear,
i got back near 11+ last nite fr shit-ney(sydney)then went supper so aft shower & all,not sleepy but tired though.My timing is screwed up already lah.Will sleep when sleepy lah.And tmw bfe dawn gotta be up gg beijing.Sianz!Super bz week for me if u ask.

queenie> my parents are too worrying kind, cos they are the save before they spend but my ils are the spend while they earn so they got very diff thinking.

my parents keep askin me to tink abt the turnout rate of the location.... Like as tho I m having my wedding in changi or in tuas....

sue > I shd tell my MIL about your 30 tables for bride's family man. MIL is usually a nice lady (thus I only hate my SIL most of the time =P) so we believe must be those aunties/uncles sprouting nonsense. She was so excited about the quotes all along till Sat/Sun. But still I cannot tahan when she springs such surprises on us, and worse, if she were to make my parents embarrassed during the meet-up.

Exactly, my parents are so open-minded that they told us to go honeymoon wedding will do. Mum also said if want banquet, no need hotels cos usually food portion very little and not exactly nice....It's my PILs who insisted we go thru the hassle lor.

50 tables can really bleed...I cant imagine having to Yum Seng at 50 tables. I would prefer to do it all in 1 event still though....if 2 dinners, you got to rent the gowns for 2 days? I suppose it will be very tiring.

I have told my mum I dont think I can enjoy my wedding day cos it will be such a long day and I need to smile alot (even at strangers). I'm usually very sleepy by 9pm when I wake up for work at 7am. Plus I cant eat the food (like how Dajie has written) cos need to change gowns etc....Hahaha....

Dajie > Thanks! Agree agree...I guess I have yet to understand them fully after these 8 years. Am so so so glad that I listened to mum about not staying with in-laws after marriage, else I would prob be posting my woes everyday. My SIL is worse, she wants a say in everything...from hotels to our renovators...and my no-backbone hb only know how to say stress and refuses to read fine prints on quotes. This will be my SOLO battle! But I will not allow myself to lose *wicked grin*

sue > Shouldnt be that bad lah. My doggy forum's friend held her wedding at OCC last year. Turnout was good and her buggy entrance is still talk of the town till now =P

OCC may be abit out of the way for some, perhaps you want to include a very clear map and also the shuttle buses time schedule.

I always go for company functions cos the club is affiliated to this org I am working in. The grand ballroom is indeed very grand =)

How about Grand Copthorne Waterfront ah? The ball room really big....888nett for weekends...Food very yummy! Too bad I'm looking at only 30-35 tables, they require min 45 on Saturdays. On the other hand, I am also glad mine only 30+ tables liao...else more nightmares =P

kyra> ur sil is so horrid, reno n dinner is non ofher biz, can ask her to bear in mind where is her position in the whole event or nt? Kaos!

I tink I really have been very unfair for my hb....Its always wat I like n what I want. Yah will include the map n the schedule of the shuttle. Grand corpthorne too ex n to my parents its nt convinient again....I m really tired of making all happy cos I can nvr do so...

No one sponsor us lei n whether lose or break even we dunno....I dun wanna risk having to forgo alot of things in life. My parents offered to help but then my hb will feel useless lo, wats the pt. I rather we find somewhere that makes our pocket comfy n nt worry so much lo....

Wah i was waiting and waiting from 8+ till almost 11am for someone to post.. all of a sudden POOF! so many posts! think we got verbal diarrhea.. :P

Kyra, no choice lor, cos u got help from ur PILs mah, so they will stick their hands and legs into all the preps. haizzz.. its only during funerals and weddings do u see all the nasty things abt ur family and ur best frens. I think the norm outside is to give 10 tables... we all have our MIL woes.. i tell u there are more probs to come...

Sue ah, at least its ur mum giving u the headache.. then u can scold her or talk back.. very hard to talk back to ur MIL cos everyone will know u are being rude, even though u are not in the wrong...haizzz..

OCC is fine lah.. tell them to take MRT lor.. OCC got provide shuttle bus from Yishun.. i dun think everyone in S'pore works in town so location is not the issue.

Dajie, orh i din know mah... tot u still cannot slp.. u better take a nap this aftn... or else how u wake up tmr?

bear> i sms my dad n ask him to pls understand our situation.....hope he dun be upset or anything. At the end of the day, we also want their blessings.. Aiyoh, damn sian like i said its beginning n yet I always feel like end of the rd

wah today realli alot of posts...took me more than half an hr to read thru all...some juz browsin thru... :p

kyra, my AD this dec...seems like u got a difficult MIL to handle...dun get too upset over wats happenin lor...slowly talk things thru...

DH, me no get ur photos leh...

Wahh so many posts sia... folks we have passed the 8K mark!! Give yourself a pat on the back!!

kyra, maruko - can you give me your email address please?? Lemme go and check

This Sat got my step mum's youngest bro church wedding then lunch reception.I'm just gg to eat.Caz church is way to early for me go all the way to Sembawang.Hb will be bz with his fren's wedding as he has to be ah mat the driver.Lucky his fren's wife stay Telok Blangah,still west.At night,then I will go to their wedding dinner at M htl where i gotta to taste the food for ah bear.Bz day!

hi jannie, drop by to say hi isit hee hee hee
me also ^^ last weekend did not manage to go see the printer coz overslept LOL

kyra, i read your post liao and can understand how you feel. and we will support in your battle for your rights and fairness!!!! me and jannie are legs and fists for hire juz to let you know hee hee hee hee anyway i feel that the 8 tables thing sounds like bullshit to me. one thing is in our thread(prob the longest wedding thread) have mention about all sorts of traditional thing and not once have we mention about this 8 table thing. must be those 3GU6POs' imagination. be firm in your decision and let your hb know that too. at the same time let him know that this is something which involves him too and stress is juz not an excuse to juz avoid decision making or to avoid confrontation.
and going back on their words juz becoz of some unfounded traditional stuff.....is juz too jialat and juz by making that statement already make them lose face liao....
where got ppl hold wedding like that, either you pay for all or at the very least is split the cost(so far have never heard of that) paying for 4 tables...........seriously your hb should talk to them....
your SIL sounds like another sil of someone in this forum or am i mistaken......

sue, thats alot of tables sia but don worry about ppl not going for the dinner coz as far as i rem. no matter where the dinner is as long as im invited i will go there one and i think its will be the same for almost all.

bear bear don scare kyra now lah. yup i saw sheryl hee hee hee such a conincidence. eventually my fren got her stuffs and i think spend ard 200bucks in total. she got all the stuff from candles to slippers even....
i did not manage to get the shop name the unit number is 01-98. how to walk there i think difficult to explain. can only say its located below the hawker centre. you wanna go and buy so early meh???? Oct leh. i don think i will go so early. the shop sheryl went to i did not go since my fren already got all the stuff liao. prob i will go and get the stuff ard 1 month before my AD bah.

da jie really bz day this sat^^ but enjoyable. rem to watch your food intake. dont burst your tummy hehehe or gorge yourself...don think you will do that bah ^^

my PS next week and im getting all tense up about how to look good that day.....went to trim my hair yest and now thinking of how to style it........arghhhhhhhhh

Dajie u really talking nonsense liao.. wanna get out of ur junior member status? heehee... ya tell me how M Hotel is, but i can tell u dun expect much... :P

Sue, u sms liao then? so funny own father also sms.. cannot talk face to face meh?

DH we really 8000 posts liao.. u think we can hit 10000 before July?! heehee....

wxyang,
did u notice my tummy?Oh dear so paiseh!i really gotta trim tt tum of mine.So disgusting liao!At weddings i drink alot lor then the food expand in my tummy.
When i was younger,i didnt enjoy food & wld rather not eat but now i do.
Also,i think now got tummy caz i over eat,agreedy lor.Can eat more then my hb.Eeks!!!

Weixiong u finally appeared!

Ya i have to buy earlier cos i dun have a mth to aft the 7th mth ley.. 2 wks aft the Hell gates closes, is my wedding liao.. so better do it before the 7th mth start lor.. my MIL won't allow me to do this and tat!! ARRGGHH!!!.. thanks for the unit no.! i better ask my hb to ask MIL wat she needs from us.

Ya i almost forgot u and Jannie are the fists for hire.. ur first assignment was Anna's SIL! heehee.. now got wat assignments?! heehee...

ah bear,
u all knw how senior i oughta be here lah.Actual join mth is Nov 2004 i think.Till now no one bothers to explain why i got banned.Dont care liao.
Next mth ah bear & i gg to bake ourselves at km8 on a wkday.Anyone care to join us?

bear> cos i will get frustrated n shout at them which i dowan lo, so sms betta la. I sometimes email my dad oso ahahahha! He too busy to ans calls oso, so sometimes he will start with I m busy, wat u want.....So quite pissed, dun wanna talk further.

dajie> tink the food made me sick, so nt very impressive.....

Next few months,hb & me gonna be poor souls.Bali trip,bil wedding,car ins etc etc etc.Die,mati!Been shopping too much past few mths.

Heehee.. Dajie, i think i join in June 04 and Anna join even earlier! heehee.. :P ya i rem u kena ban...

Yes if anyones needs to get a glowing tan, pls feel free to join us! Tanning session, free UV rays and increases skin cancer possiblities! heehee... Weixiong u so fair, should get a tan right? :P

Sue, no point shouting.. when i talk to my mum and she gets worked up i continue to talk nicely BUT sarcastically.. then it drives her even more mad! shouting is reserved for my hb only heehee.... wat food made u sick?

sue,
poor u!U gotta take more fluid since u lost them into the toilet bowl.I rem ls 9X 2yrs back i think thru the night til so weak had to get ambulance & put me on the drip for abt 4hrs.

Sue > My SIL is those Da Jie Da at home who is always making decisions for everyone...I shall not go into the details of how she meddles into the dinner quotes/reno items....I blurted all out to my new colleagues at lunch and they all were in shock. Said I seem like those old Cantonese soapy drama woman who kenna bullied by MIL and SIL *wah lao*

Yes, I have also realised it is not possible to please everyone. But the irony is..this is OUR wedding, why are we so bothered about pleasing everyone yet making ourselves miserable?? I sms my hb just now and told him that we have to stand firm to make decisions ourselves. And that when there are conflicting opinions, he has to play the bad guy role in front of his family so as not to strain the in-laws' relationship. His family will never blame the son/brother but may blame the DIL. I wrote so much and he only replied: OK. I am going to continue nagging when I meet him after work!

Bear > I already know r/s with in-laws is a form of ART. That's why I wanted to stay away from them, my hb is the only son, and the only grandson at home...he has wanted to stay with his parents initially. Lucky MIL herself said don't want cos we have 4 dogs =P

Jannie > Dec is just ard the corner! You settled most of the stuff? Sorry ah...I cant catch up w the posts....

DH > My email is [email protected]

WX > I also think it is ridiculous lor. Whatever it is, she is the one who makes herself lose face. I cant imagine how it will be when the preparation gets going and more 3 GU 6 PO come into the picture man!

And I think my nasty SIL sounds just like my nasty SIL which I wrote about in this forum before...HAHAHA...I wrote about her interfering in my ROM lunch venue remember? That whole event we paid ourselves and she also want to interfere. And then at the lunch itself, she insisted that I have to sit at a certain table...I had to argue with her one side and emphasized to her 3 times that I have to sit with my solemniser who is a Eurasian (cant understand mandarin) and friends. The relatives and parents can sit tog to chat. She simply didnt want to let me off until my own sister came and stood besides me =(

She mentioned something like that is the "LAW" for DIL to sit at the parents' table. Which ministry set that blardy LAW?

kyra> ur SIL needs a life, she can go n plan her own damn wedding n reno if she wants. Gosh who is the poor guy who marry her ahhahaha. She sounds like a old spinster who is too damn free ahhaha!

wx> U say one ah, if I invite u , u better make sure u fly, walk, run or watever to my wedding hor kekekke!

kyra, don be bothered by her lah. if im you i think i juz pretend not to listen and continue wat im doing. you so nice still drag her one side and argue. she those wanna act big isit. haa haa haa these kind of ppl i will think of ways to let her fall BIG LOL

sue / wx > You are right lor. She needs a life. But also poor thing cos her hubby having affairs for 4 years already and she still hanging on. She's those type who very Zhong Nan Qing Nu kind - dotes on her father, brother and husband alot....I know where I stand in her heart.

Prob also lies with my hb who always cant make up his mind. Then PILs will tend to "consult" the elder daughter...and then plus the 3 GU 6 PO. My views will rank low low lor.

I dread to think of the prep in times to come. I think last night I also told MIL in case of anything we do wrongly at the wedding event, please do not make a scene there, everything settle after dinner. She is overall still nice, just that very loud..and then with the BAD influence, she gets difficult.

BTW, anyone of you attended wedding at Meritus Mandarin before?

WX> see u trying to avoid me ald. hehheheh!

kyra> see she is venting her anger on somewhere else, cant control hb, then control u all lo...Aiyoh, there is a diff between doting on them n interfering lo. Aiyah, I tink u shld let ur hb noe lo, tell her to mind her own bis, settle her own prob, dun divert her attention.

dajie, e wedding show quite good get to see quite alot of gowns... gotten some ideas le... =P

may i ask u ppl a question since u're mostly quite into ur wedding preps already... my wedding in april than my bs told be to go and chose my gowns and mtm one of my gowns in october leh isit to late??? PS will be in january leh isit ok?

kyra,
thank my lucky stars tt i dont hv such a sil.If i did,when she gives me a hard time,i will not hesitate to gv her a harder time.Tt's me,even when i meet nasty pax,i can become nastier.Not the right way to handle.The supposedly right way is when someone treats u bad,u r supposed to treat tt person nicer until tt person cant do anything but be nice to u.Also,everyone ard can see tt u r the good person.
So far my sil & bil r all pretty nice to me so i even nicer to them.But,of caz they can be nicer,their mum lives with me.

anna,
glad tt the wedding show was a rather fruitful one for u ya.

kyra,
think i got banned caz i mentioned a particular website i din knw i cldnt.I wasnt advertising or anything.I asked the moderators to explain but obviously i'm not impt for them to spare 2 mins to explain to me.At least sue got her explanation.

i like the ballroom decor at the show. so tempted to do the banquet there. but price is out of budget. haiz. we like the one with black table cloth and chair cover with red roses. very nice romantic setting.

attending a cousin wedding on may 1. went to shop for a dress yday... like 2, now cant decide which one to get.... haiz.... one is a black dress and one is a black base with prints... wondering if i should get a classic dress or somehting different.

sue / queenie > SIL has been bossy all along, even during our initial days of courtship.
Oh well...my nagging didnt work last evening. Escalated into a big fight and we both SHOUTED (more like he shouted and i screamed..hahaha) about calling things quit.

tea> my hb n I oso fell in love with the settings, almost wanted to take it up but then our wedding is afer 30th april, so not much perks at all. Almost forgot we had a budget ahahha. After tat hb changed his mind, said even if we damn rich we oso dowan to have it there. Cos I got sick after going to the wedding show.

Anna> I din see u either...