(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

good morning!!!!!
hehehehe im not a monk lah bear bear, juz don wanna see someone with low confidence coz im like that too but trying very hard to build up confidence hehehehehe

i wonder what is there to show off about.....it is just a wedding dinner only mah haizzz if they wanna invite the whole world then might as well post it in the papers.....

sue don worry you still got us hehehehe will try to help you out one.

Hahaha u def not a monk or ur wife will be damn upset! heehee.. :P wat confidence thingy?

Aiyoh a lot to show off one.. show off whose wedding bigger, grander, more food, more liquor etc.. haizzz... i told u guys my cousin put her wedding 6 days before mine despite me telling her not to do it right? even if u dun conciously go and compare, other ppl will still do it...so i guess there is innate pressure for u to deliver the best that u can.. u dun wanna lose out also.. and hor, ppl always say ONCE a LIFETIME, so even more pressure lor...

morning...

bear, can send me ur GDL list too... keekee will come in handy...

wah i see weixiong coming back to posts liao... keep it up ya...

joy, good... heehee u settled ur problem le...

hehehehe yup im back to posts!!!!
aiya confidence as in if you slouch like showing ppl you no confidence to carry yourself lor. those kinda of stuff lah.

yes it is once in a life time so no place for other ppl other then the 2 ppl involve to butt in and give suggestion or requests. don forget it is OUR once in a life time and we have every right to do it watever suits US to make it a MEMORABLE nite for US!!!!! cant please everyone so might as well please OURSELF only. The rest of the guest will also be happy for you and since only the ILs and parents will grumble.....let them grumble bah.

yay tampines ave6 will begin construction soon and will let public purchase/ballot sometime at the second half of this year.

prices will be base on the avg resale value of tampines area. 4rm avg price will be 245K while 5rm will be 300K.

choice of puchase not confirm yet. Either by balloting or direct purchase(like condominium)

So weixiong u gg to get the flats? new one cannot use the 40K grant right? heehee.. think u can't wait also...

Abt the slouching, its not a confidence issue anymore.. its habit.. understand?! *grin*

Funniest thing is that our parents feel its once a life time for them to show off too! ARRGHH!!! my MIL grumble liao then throw tantrum.. very hard to live with when she is in that mood.. bang everthing, grumble LOUDLY to herself.. make it as if she is the poor thing in the whole situation. hear liao also sian...

Anna u got mail liao!

wx and gals, thanks for hearing me out.....Hw nice if you all can be my parents or my inlaws....

I wished I wished....

My hb kept saying he dun understand y I so paranoid.....

wx> excited or nt...

sue> ahahahaha.. maybe we are all like that when next time our kids gt married...
anyway, we really dunno what the old folks wanted.. even my hubby dread gtg home early now... either "quarreling becoz of dinner or the angbao etc". Funny thing is they folks quarreled not with him but within themselves.. sometimes make us think that might as well we let them do everything.. all will be happy.. but once again.. humans are never contented..
dajie> really envied you.. no need to go thru such stuff..

Parliment dissolved lo!! GE coming!

Sue, yes we will be here for u..

Wah Sheryl, their folks quite siao right? i think u hear liao also sian.. so strange.. like they getting married like that.

Yes Jannie, come in often even if it is to post 2 sentences heehee...

Hi hi!
me just started new job on monday, now trying to clear some back lot, and auditor coming very siah alot of work to do...

Anna, thx for your email... your hse very nice lay, sooo cosy! you paid 17k for it huh? very worth lay, can give me your contact and quotations cos i also looking ard lor even thou havent take keys yet... kekeke

Anise, congrats! you got your AD date liao, very happy for you... mine still put on hold lay, cos now got hse hb like concentrate on the hse only... siah

bear bear, i can use the 40k grant hee hee hee its already published liao. ppl going for the DDBS scheme are allowed to use their 40k grant that why i can consider to get there ^^

yes sue im very excited in fact its my dad who showed me the paper article one hee hee hee

minne, hope that all goes well for your new job ^^

minne, ok e-mail u tmr ok... heehee cause details are in e office...

weixiong, good luck hope u'll be able to get a apt of ur choice...

hey ppl anyone of u go to 7-11 to get stuffs ar? me collecting e badges leh but missing some characters leh... any of u here got extras?

hiya all!! It is going to be weekend soon... cannot wait for weekend to come leh... just to update all what happened to me... Revo should be pretty much done by this weekend....

now concentrating on furnishing our place. Bought our living and dining set from OM except for the sofa... got sofa at nova (not recommended.. didn't like the service)... also bought a lcd tv for the living yesterday so now very broke liao..... hehe gotta drink water liao....also got ps photos which i will try and upload over the weekend

Our GDL will be on 5th May .. saw the list from cacphin...quite different from mine....just sent our cards for printing so hopefully will be ready by then.. Here is my list

1) Kiet Hong
2) Cake
3) Cans of Pig Legs
4) Oranges
5) 2 x Liqour
6) 4 boxes of Mee Sua
7) Long Feng Candles 2 pairs
8) 4 Dian Jin
9) Ping Jing

btw do you know what the bride should "return" the groom eh?? i checked with my mum and she doesn't know such things leh.... all i know is they haev to return us two bottles of orange juices

dajie> Moving in ceremony should take place in May loh... actual move-in will be after our wedding reception... yeah alot of wholesalers in city plaza... wifey said they have very nice blouses etc..especially those you can get to buy at far east square

bear> Hope you are feeling better. My mil requested for 50 boxes of cakes if there is any comfort.. heheh..for me i am okay with that loh as i know my wifey has alot of relatives...my mum said not to do anything in the qing ming month.. but i don't carel oh.. gdl will be in 5th May.. if don't prepare won't have time to do liao....you're gtting from pine garden eh? hows the cakes there? I am looking at Choz ... .ordered 2 boxes to try and will be collectign this sat..

anna> My place should be ready by end of the week.. so i will take some photos over teh weekend and upload them ya =) would probably get paintings and do curtains later... no $$$ liao.. hehe ... hope you're feeling better too

cacphin> personally i don't think we will need those portable urine pot etc.. depends on what your mum wants from your hubby and likewise what your hubby wants from your side....

anise> Congrats on getting your ad date.. do start hunting for your ad venues soon and then start your preparations by working backwards...

maruko> Have fun shopping in BKK.. i do miss BKK because of their food... cheap and good sia... shopping will be good for ladies too =)

minne> Me also in midst of auditing sia.. that is why i am still in the office.. hehe =) Hope you are coping well with your new job!!

wxyang> What is the 40k grant abt?? So nice... i didn't get any grant for my flat leh...

all these talks about tables do make worried sia......my guest list is not definitive yet.. so i am afraid that at teh end of the day i will need more and more tables.. and then budget burst.... jialet sia..

WOW!Super hot u people.I LIKE!
SOOOO happy tt our thread is still super active with so many ppl even aft 1 yr.Give urself a pat on the back!

Ur posts r all so interesting.It really makes me er...appreciate my pils more...hmmmm.....

sheryl,
u dont need be envious of me pls.I'm jz...abit lucky lor maybe a pay off for being so patient.I waited so long to marry my hb.Maybe 1 day i'll tell u the whole story.Ah bear knws.
My ils knw tt my bil will hv a chinese wedding dinner plus I'm only half chinese,gg thru all the chinese tradition is kindda strange.It'll only be 1 sided lor.
My fil also told me to hv a small & simple wedding like his.Mil told me she had to cook for her guests for her wedding.Hahaha!

ah bear,
i didnt need to use my assertions to get wat i want for my wedding.I guess to a certain extent,i think maybe my age played apart.I'm not a young bride in "normal" standards.I mean if a woman my age cant get wat she wants,when will she ever?
Perhaps,being younger like most of you all here are & just starting out,parents has yet to "let go" & allow you to fully take charge of something tt gonna costs alot of money.I knw,some parents will NEVER let go.The showing off part,i truly think only caz they r so very proud of u lor,"my little gal/boy is finally gonna hv a family of her/his own!"Blah,blah,blah!!!Sob,sob!!!It gives them achievement of some sort,like they got "promoted" to another stage in thier lives.On the other hand,some parents jz dont gv a damn.

One of my cols told me tt whenever his uncle(50+yrs old)who has grown up chn of his own visits his mum (70-80yrs old),she wld wanna gv him $20 pocket money.HAHAHA!!!!!!He wld tell her tt he's already how old & has brought up a family of his own.Some parents will alwayz think their kids r their babies no matter how old they already r.

wow.. so many post to read this morning. seems like now we talking about GDL.

Welcome back weixiong. Yeah, for DDBS, can use the grant. ;)

DH: great to hear that your place is going to be ready soon.

So tired. going to be super busy today. was out on course for the past 3 days.... don even dare to logon to my mail box yet... going to make myself a nice coffee and breakfast first before doing that. :P

Weixong: can share with me your package on chef chan? hubby like that place.

Gd morning!

Weixiong new flats also can get 40K grants? what DDBS? i only know BTOS. so gd lah u dun have to pay so much $! heehee... looking forward to it?

Anna, nopes i dun shop at 7-11, so can't help u there.

DH, ur list is very much shorter than mine! hrmmm i send u my GDL list? cannot copy and paste it cos its in Adobe.. tried liao.. May be Weixiong or Anna can see if they can copy it here. Wah flat finally ready liao.. finish cleaning? one big sigh of relief right? heehee... i wanna see the photos! 50 boxes of cakes? hrmm i m feeling much better liao.. last nite we were counting the amt we need and the amt seems to be ever increasing.. nv dimishing leh...

Dajie, ya may be u are diff lor, older and wiser and u know what u want.. u are right tat some parents cannot let go... to them, we will always be babies in diapers.

BTW can i check, what is the length of the ferry ride from S'pore to Bintan?

morning peeps...

DH, waiting patiently for ur photos... been waiting for very long le dun mind waiting another 2-3 days... remember to send me ar...

bear, its ok... those we have than can exchange lor... now i'm missing pumbaa, tigger leh... sad...

tmr will be having 2nd rd of house warming for all colleagues and frens haiz alot of ppl leh duno how... muz do cleaning tonite already...

hi bear,
is 45 minutes to reach bintan from singapore.

heeh anna,
is like tat one..think i'll hold mine after my AD..now too busy to do anything ar..coz planning for the other dinner...have to do invites blah blah..coordinate the logistics..now also searching for wedding favours for my own guests..haa

seeing DH setting up his apt really envy him and also all those who have their flats done up.
for me i waited and waited until i almost give up then finally the article appear. i even went down to the plot of land to see got any signs down there or not hehehehe but finally manage to hear news of it finally on the way. will try my very best to get the apt, even preparing to 'q' overnite for it hehehe

judy, my package for chef chan is 700(after +++) for each table. my mom go ahead to chose the most exp menu cos after she change here and change there, she eventually take the most exp menu.
basically you can go taste the food first meaning you pay for the food tasting and if you decide to have the dinner there then they will deduct the amount you pay for the food tasting when you settle the final bill. the package also include one nite stay at the Carlton hotel which is juz beside only. and they also got provide invitation cards but its those kind which was used during our mother's time one red color with gold lettering but its on the card. you got to source for your own printer....well bras besah is juz next door hee hee hee
and max no. of table down there is ard 22 max. everything you want to request will be to the chef coz he is the boss down there. anything about the food you wanna change you can voice out also and if can be done he will do it if not he will explain why. he is quite friendly but if you can converse in cantonese with him even best hehehe coz he is from hongkong and of course his restaurant also considered a cantonese one. see the desert can know liao heeheehee
can call 6250 3363/4 - Ms Wong to arrange for a meet up about the dinner not neccessary have to try the dishes first and prob can have a talk with the chef if you want hehehehe

Hrmmm kinda quiet today ah? come back to chat leh...

Anna, what are u exchanging? wat's pumbaa? heeheee..

Joy, thanks for the tip.. me thinking if i shd go over some water for my outdoor PS.. see got moolah or not also...

Here are some webbys for wedding favours. http://www.theweddinggiftshop.com.sg/bridal_06.html, http://www.theweddinggiftshop.com.sg/bridal_06.html. there is another webby just for wedding favours but i lost the link.. will help u to get it from my frens.

Weixiong, sooner or later u will get ur own place to stay. then u will see that renovation is not an easy chore. i m sure u will queue overnite lah.. u so on one...

Tea, are u reading Weixiong's posts?! heehee...

Hmmmm...

Had a talk with my hb, for him he will try to give in to everyone with their requests as he feels very proud to be able to "grow up" and start a family of his own. Tho we are the stars of the day, like wat Dajie said its a time to tell everyone that my boy/girl made it! Plus they are proud of us etc. So since we can, jus try to give in a bit and not care abt who they invite since both our parents are not asking much from us, even angbaos they said they gonna return...

Mil finally made a list, so kinda solve one of the key problem...I am gonna use the list, if they going to want more, I'll show them the list lo ahhahah

Today is my hb's bday, nvr really get to celebrate cos both of us were too busy at work, plus stress by the dinner thing.... Try to celebrate tonite if possible!

Hihi!

Suelynn - Happy bday to your hb yah?

My hb turning 30 this Sunday. Tomorrow his mum organising a BBQ party for him. I havent buy any present yet though =P

Busy busy at work, somemore May Day and GE coming...SIANZ...

AD finally confirmed - 29 Sept 2007 (Sat)
Been around to view 4 hotels already, will continue our search for the next few Sundays as well.

Ask you guys ah - If my mum asking for 12 tables, is it alot? The Ang Baos for these tables she can keep is it?

You guys really going strong! Alot of ROM in 2005 threads already died down....Kudos to all of you =)

bear bear, cant wait to enter the "renovating home" phase wor hehehehehe
this sat my fren going to get her stuff from chinatown so i might be tagging along with her to kapo abit hee hee hee

actually about chef chan can still say somemore but still it is my feelings so really go to go down there and chat with the ppl so see if you like it or not. but i do know that the atmosphere there can really go well with tea's cheong sum ^^

weixong: actually we went down to the place to have a look. hubby like the place, he like all things chinese. hahaha.

what does your package include har? what are the drinks charges like? how come it is +++ and not ++? i thought resturant is only ++.

DH, its been a while since we c u online...me also miss the food at BKK so gg there next wk to refresh...will help u to eat more...hehehe...

kyra, ur AD set oredi ah? gd gd...gonna get bz liaoz...

tea, u chosin chef chan for ur AD ah? me went there b4...quite a gd place...very traditional ambience but my hb dun like...

sue, ur hb today bday ah? enjoy urself tonite

hehehehe rest also +++ mah. got 5% gst the 10% service and still got the 1% forgot wat it is liao. basically my package is the usual,

free soft drinks
one nite stay at the hotel
free wedding invitation card
got a cake also(think for show only)

and the rest i dont rem liao leh hehehehe
basically i only rem the food haa haa haa the rest i dont really care oh they got provide projector also if im not wrong and also got a changing room right at the restaurant itself oh and got discount for the white/red wine too coz their corkage fee is not cheap so im getting wine from them too and per bottle i think ard 25-30 bah after discount.

anna, got to get use to this lah. our dear bear bear is really living in a well.... we got to bring her out more often haa haa haa

Weixiong, i m sure u can't wait to reno ur house. once u start reno-ing u can't wait for it to be done! heehee... u go chinatown this wkend can help me note down the unit no. or name to buy GDL stuff? heehee.. thanks!

Wah the wine very ex! M hotel send us directly to the wine supplier.. abt $13-20 per bottle lor.. waive corkage too... got free flow beer? Tea are u paying attention? neg for all this! +++ = GST, CESS and Service Charge.

Orh Anna... heee u collect these things ah....

Jannie - Yah lor...finally leh...my MIL ding-ding-dong-dong for so long liao.

Hb wants to confirm venue by June then move on to reno quotes. Reno will start this Sept. Unlike WX, I hope that day will take its own sweet time to come. Dinner quotes I already read till blur, will be lagi blur when it comes to reno quotes. My hb refuses to read all the fine prints...he said he will be very stressed...asked me to read then read out to him the main points =(

Anyone been to weddings at Meritus Mandarin / Goodwood / Oriental? How's the experience?

hehehehe how to compare a restaurant against a hotel bear bear....
all the things you mention is at least expected from a hotel. but i did not expect them from chef chan's lah hee hee hee coz restaurant mah ^^

Not really Weixiong, my fren got bliss garden at Expo. she got free flow beer and hard liquor.. no corkage for wine.. so it really depends lor..

Kyra, i have been to gdwood for viewing.. not too bad... just a bit small.. think the max is 23 tables. and also they are supposed to be undergo major reno to their ballroom so not sure if now u can view. Meritus Mandarin is ex... so is oriental. what is ur budget per table? may be u let me know i can help u...

Ur hubby GOT to read the fine print lah.. its also his dinner.. cannot say stress then everything dump to u...

Goodwood there are 2 ballrooms yah? We went to see Windsor..max 35 tables. The smaller one is Tudor.

We looking at 30-35 tables. Budget is hopefully within $900 per table (nett or after the +++).

Went to see Goodwood / Meritus Mandarin / Orchard and Marriot last weekend.

I love Goodwood...very English feel =)
But MIL said very long time ago she attended dinner there, food not very nice =(

Meritus my concern is the pillars....
Orchard looks abit old though they said they are renovating soon....
Marriot too exp liao...anyway my co. D&D was held there last year, food so so...

Going to view Oriental / Sheratons and Hotel Intercontinental this weekend.

Cannot one...he is keen...willing to drive me around whole day, will give opinions etc but simply refuses to read....*STRESS*

Kyra then the reno over liao.. cos last June i went the max was 23 tables only.. heehee... old news.. heehee...

I would recommend Sheraton! the food is yummy! they sit 12 per table too. so when u work it out abt $80++ per pax.. the only bad thing is that the ballroom is L shape. Intercontinental i nv hear much reviews.. How abt grand waterfront copthorne? not too bad also...

congrats kyra. got your date liao.
Good luck for your venue finding.

Weixiong: thanks for info. my friend also using chef chan. he told me the cockage is $12. so plus the wine, also about $20+.

As much as I like Goodwood and then dream of the pom-pom Victorian-styled gown...it's abit too exp too...838+++ for weekends...will add up to around $970 *sigh*

Yes, I heard about Sheraton too. Some award-winning Chinese restaurant or Chef by the name of Li Bai yah? Just called them...no one picked up...havent seen the quote...will pop by on Sun to see see look look first =)

GWC needs min 45 tables on weekends...so cannot...we looking at 30-35 only....

Where are u holding yours? Sorry ah...I cant catch up w the thread most of the time =P

Thanks Tea =)

Haha...today I can see the thread move cos almost whole office gone for briefing =P So I can eat snake....

Kyra, heehee... u just describe my WG! its pompom! heeehee... so ex ah? that time was onlg $788 nett.... Ya Sheraton is the award winning Li Bai.. u can go to the Sheraton thread to ask to share pkg lor... mine is at M Hotel.. heehe.. How abt Amara? not too bad also.. 4 seasons?

Fairytale right? Yes, I always dream of English English fairytale weddings =P

Yes, I have gotten the quotes for those 4 we visited. I dont know why also. Meritus Mandarin quoted us $788+++, in FBO, some brides quoted $688+++ in 2005! An increase of $100...Sha Ren Fang Huo!

I plan to view M Hotel and 4 seasons too. Amara didnt hear gd reviews leh. Which BS did you choose for the pompon gown? =)

Hrmm i dun think M Hotel big enough for u.. think the max abt 32 tables.. heehee.. u can double check.. i really can't rem... u can go to this forum' fine dining section to look for the updated pkg.

Ya every yr the pkg increases.. haizzz... so ex hor, getting married? My BS is Bridal Zone. I got 2 MTM gowns so made it pompom lor.. heehee...

Yes lor..very expensive..if not for sponsorship, I think I would be too stingy to splunge on anything more than my house reno and HM.

But sponsorship also headache, I scared make BIG losses then very paisay towards PILs. I personally feel that weddings arent about making profits/losses lah...but still feel bad to make them fork out big sums...thus must really really plan properly....LAGI STRESS....

yay going home soon liao. have a good weekend all!!!! hee hee hee
hopefully tmr can settle the card printing ^^ them one less thing to worry about.

have a nice weekend all!!!!!

Kyra> How I wished I can have abt your table numbers as well, after calculating, we need abt 50 tables......My side would need 30 tables, my mum says she dowan hb to "give" her the tables, she will return us the angbaos. Maybe you want to look at Holiday Inn Parkview, value for $, I had to give it up cos I burst the max. Will be going down to Swissotel Stamford to look at their wedding package on sunday!Mum likes Sheraton too! Dad likes Conrad..... Me like no wedding dinner ahhahah! Amara, I went last yr, not good for the poolside buffet dinner, they forgot to give out wedding favours! But sit-down one is not bad. 4 Seasons can no need to see ald, tink abt $1k there abt....I went there for my cousin's wedding 3 yrs ago, n I am impressed!

So very stress....we got no sponsor somemore...

hi ppl...finally its friday...hav a gd rest n enjoy ur wkend

kyra, slowly choose...u still got time...my bro wanna hav it 4 mths after my AD but still haven decide on anything...

Suelynn - 50!? That's alot...When my mum said she wants 12 tables, I already asked her straight-faced: We have so many relatives and family friends meh? Wahahahhaha...

But of course we agreed lah...cos she said she only wants tables and no need anything else. And when she said that, suddenly I feel we short-changing my family leh *such dilemma*

I just received Sheraton's quote - $950+++ for 12 pax on weekends. Very stressed...must go back calculate if it will fit the budget.

I've heard rave comments about 4 Seasons too - good food, good ambience, good service kind. I know it's kind of exp. The ballroom can only accomodate 30 tables, if only we do a very small scale one but upgrade everything...I am dreaming only lor.....

Jannie - when's ur AD?

Most of your ADs this year yah? My zhong shen da shi spanning across 3 septembers...
2005 - ROM
2006 - Reno to commence
2007 - AD

So draggy...so long....I so old liao...

hi kyra,
long time din see u here.
Wat abt The Regent?My hb's cousin had her wedding there last yr.The ballroom looks grand,high ceiling.Food was ok.Frankly,i find tt wedding dinner food alwayz only ok caz portion so little.Many ppl i knw nowadays will hv their dinner elsewhere bfe they come caz usually by the time dinner is served,so late already & most ppl r hungry & portion so little to feed 10 pax?Also,so wat if the food is great,u wont get to eat them either.LPPL.