(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

Hi Da Jie u are back! U are half malay?? Wow!! ur mum or dad is a malay? ya i got miss u.. heehee... u confirmed with RSYC right?

DH> come to think of it, not very auspicious for ppl to walk all over u right???

bear> I think you got the best deal, mine is still quite far away from what you got. Gotta pay for the horse carriage as well as 1k for the venue. No one night stay as well - only can use it for the duration of the event. So don't worry about us trashing the place =)

Yeah, i think it is not nice to have ppl walking above our heads =)

Wxyang> ahh, then can consider going to Langkawai once you and your wife ROM. Yeah, at least no need to headache of venue and JP. Gotta find a videographer.

Queenie> Thankie and congrats for confirming your venue. So everything more or less sorted?

Hi DH, my auntie coming back this sunday... hehe so think can confirm the date by next week lor... Will update the progress here... hehe...

Thx everyone!...Keep the thread going yeah!

By the way, did I hear someone having their ROM in the Zoo? Sounds very refreshing..Hws the package for the solemnization like? I am thinking in the event of contingency that ROM in Fort Canning is fully booked and I had to be force to do my solemnization outside....yet so..having found a restaurant for simple lunch...=P..

Hey DH!! hahahaha... So u settled everything with BH liao?? gd gd.. when are u going to meet him regarding the flowers and menu? i m supposed to meet him end of June to fix the flowers. U are catering for how many pax?

Annabelle!! update us!!! if ur FSIL gives u shit, u just tell her nicely its only the ROM, not as grand as hers. Therefore won't steal her pityful lime light!! heehee.. i have a gd mind to give ur FSIL a slap to wake her up!! :P

Elvi> U better start looking liao if u wanna have an outdoor solemnisation. heehee.. Doris said 23rd Sept is a hot date!

1.queenie30 - 18th Sept,RSYC
2.Jaslyn - 18th Sept, Carlton Hotel
3.cherz - 18th Sept, Amara ppolside
4.Kitara - 18th Sept, SAF Yacht Club
5.Twink - 11th Sept, Conrad
6.weixiong - 18th Sept Chung Cheng High School (Main)
7.suelynn - 9th sept Registry of Marriage
8. DH - 18th Sept, Zoo!
9.interrace - 3rd sept ROMM.
10. coco - 18 sept, Legends
11. Bear - 22nd Sept, Zoo!
12. Summer - 23rd Sept, Raffles Marina
13. Elvi - 23rd Sept, ROMM
14. Doris - 23rd Sept, venue?

Ahh..really so hot date ah..23 Sep 05! And I tot it will be more problematic to be in Fort CAnning ..so outside solemnization is easier...Is it difficult becos of the part to book the JP? The online registration is not opened yet until 2 or 3 mths before the ROM date rht? Or am I wrong?

Elvi> Doris said hot date not me... i dunno either.. heehee...

FIling of marriage can be up to 3 mths before ur ROM. eg, ur ROM is 23rd sept, u can register on 23rd June. If u wanna register on the 23rd then u might be KS and book as early as u can.

I dunno abt the JP but some of them have a pretty tough time deciding on who to do it for them. Heehee.. ask Weixiong! cos there is a long list of ppl who can solemnise ur ROM, ppl are spoilt for choices and dunno who to choose.. heehee...

GOOD MORNING!!!!!!! weekend is juz a few hours away!!!!!!!!!

queenie> coza MIL object mah..... she say have not rom so cannot go on trip together.

DH>hee hee hee we planning to go bangkok on oct. i need some advice on the hotels. any nice average recommendations? i was considering asia hotel coz its directly linked to one of the train station. as for the videographer, my MIL and BIL can handle that hee hee hee

i juz confirmed the menu yest and its gonna cost us 820 bucks with the solemnization table and chairs included and the menu is for 40pax. so i think with the decor of the venue its gonna hit ard 2k hee hee hee within budget. now juz got to meet up with the decors again to confirm the usage of flowers and where to decorate and im done for my rom hee hee hee
as for my customary, my wife want to have it at a hotel so as long as she is happy can le. got to save really hard now^^

anna> good for you^^ so we will be anticipating for your good news!!!!!

Elvi> hee hee hee well to start not every jp provide their hp. only a few like 4 or 5 so if those with hp all booked the you got to call their office line which can be quite troublesome as you are not toking directly to the jp him/herself but both me and my wife not picky juz as long as he can do it in mandarin can le. basically doing it outside you can choose the way you want it to be and even have your own vows... yes im trying very very hard to come up with our very own vows. bear is right about the looooooong list i think about 100 odds and the reason why you hear ppl going "i cant find a jp" is becoz they want to get those that are recommended eg jp david loh. but that is up to your own preference lah hee hee hee. the thing i like about doing it outside is you get to chose where you want it to be and the theme of the ROM.

Heehee.. u are going to write ur own vows?? wah!! in chinese some more... heehee... potatoes like me won't understd one...

i think i will just stick to the vows they give us.. or else if i miss out something impt (like the phrase 'in sickness and in health') next time my FH can say:' i never said i will take care of u when u are sick!!' heehee....

LOL wahhhh bear ah you think too much liao lah. if he can say that then there is something wrong when you decide to marry him liao worrrr and the vows can write out in english and use the translator to translate ans then furthur improvise mah hee hee hee must make use of technology!!! prob you can add in "what is mine is mine and what is yours is mine too" haa haa haa bet will give him a fright!!!!
wooo juz now went to the great singapore sale webby and print out loads of special discount voucher!!! hee hee hee
here is the link

http://www.greatsingaporesale.com.sg/gss2005/english/eng-html/main/eng-home.html

enjoy girls!!!

Heehee.. Weixiong thanks for the webby.. heehee... u getting prepared to go shopping with ur wife?? i m preparing to go shopping with my FMIL, FSIL and the 2 nieces to get them a dress for the ROM.. the lil' gals are my flower gals... heehee...

Hahaha.. u are right abt somethign being seriously wrong if we married liao and my FH said that to me.. but ppl change, even i will change.. love will change too... what's happening now is never gonna last forever (even though i very much like it to be so). may be i will love him more, may we will end up as a statistic in the annual divorce rate. haizzzz dunno lah...

anyway let's not think pessimistically ok??? wkend's here and its time to party!!!

Hi all, gd morning! Sg sale finally here but cant shop.....so sad, mus tighten belts!

Bear> wat u said is very true tho many of us dun wanna go thru tat but its really hard to noe wats in the future. Jus take a step at a time n work hard at maintaining the r/s n marriage.

hee hee hee bear think tooooo far liao le. a relationship needs effort from both sides and also tons of communications and understandings.
hee hee hee but you are right about being optimistic. so let's juz enjoy our long awaited weekend!!!

Weixiong, we gals always try to think of the worst case scenario and try to prepare for it. sometimes we over do it and make it worse... other times we are mentally prepared to tackle the situation.

Thinking too far is something i m guilty of, but i rather anticipate than to be caught surprised, if u know what i mean.. May be guys don't understd, esp you cos u are sooo in love with ur wife! heehee.... going out so long with my FH has taught me never to take things for granted.

hmmm must be quite a number of ups and downs for you i think. you are right that i wont understand . i prob never understand the actual meaning of taking things for granted so even if my wife were to do that i also wont know hee hee hee but thinking far is not a bad thing if you use it in the right direction. wish i can be able to understand women fully but from another point of view i think some parts of women are meant to be a mystery to men haa haa haa agree?

Haha... Annabelle we will both smack her together!! heehee..

Weixiong> hahaha.. ur wife can take u for granted and u won't know it.. so funny!!! heehee... ya i agree that i will not understd guys and vice versa... that's why we are diff mah!! heehee....

hee hee hee bear> how do you actually know that you are taking someone for granted???

hee hee hee if your girls are going to smack her then might as well get the whole thread down. definitely will wake her up nice and good LOL

Hahaha Weixiong, u like very free today.. heehee... post so many things.... heehee..

Hrmmm i know i m taking my FH for granted when i choose rather to look at his faults than the nice things he did. eg if he bought me chocs, i will say why he didn't buy the brand i like instd of appreciating the gesture. get it?? heehee.. me not proud of it... trying to appreciate him as much as i can...

Hahahah.. hey Weixiong, more than 3 ppl is considered illegal gathering... wait ppl think we gang ah!!! i help u slap Anna's SIL lah!!

Doris & Weixiong, thx for the tips.

Bear, ya I jus saw the ROm site. 3 mths b4 the actual ROM can file in liao... haha but a bit kiasu ah...wat if I file in 23 June but found that 23 Sep is taken...I will be damned heheeh

Elvi, if 23rd Sept is taken then u will not be able to file for registry ROM on that day. More than 1 couple can get married on one day lei... cannot be so unlucky right? u can try on 23rd June 12am in the morning.. u sure get one...

hehe thanks bear really feel like doing tat...

anyway alot of us take our partners for granted... hehe me inclusive... so long as we dun go overboard think its ok...

no problem elvi glad to be of help. actually if you are doing it outside you only need to file the registration 25days from your date.

bear> i thought more than 5 then considered illegal. i would prefer to land the blows myself.

anna> nvm we take turns la, go in pairs then not illegal ald. hahah Y ur fsil scared she cant get married huh, hao bu rong yi can get married hahha!

guys and gals, i need some advice.....
my wife bought tics to starwars3 thru her company and juz now she cant find the tics in her bag and she get all worked or should i say pisses off because i told her its probably at home and if its lost then we buy new pair of tics lor. upon hearing that she got even more pissed........why??? my tone was abit monotonous during the conversation lah. pls explain to me... why she so pissed? really cannot understand women......

weixiong,

haha when is the movie?yr wife is mostly likely pissed as i assumed she had bought the tix at a cheaper price thru her company n she wont wan to spend more money to buy another pair.i feel dat guys tend not to fuss over minor stuff like this but woman will lament over it.

ah bear,
my dad's malay.More or less confirmed liao.Havent decided on table arrangement,less tables,can invite more ppl.Mine is buffet mah.

AIYO!Why wanna whack ppl nvr jio da jie 1st?

Anywayz,got keys to my new flat already!Yipee!!!

1.queenie30 - 18th Sept,RSYC
2.Jaslyn - 18th Sept, Carlton Hotel
3.cherz - 18th Sept, Amara ppolside
4.Kitara - 18th Sept, SAF Yacht Club
5.Twink - 11th Sept, Conrad
6.weixiong - 18th Sept Chung Cheng High School (Main)
7.suelynn - 9th sept Registry of Marriage
8. DH - 18th Sept, Zoo!
9.interrace - 3rd sept ROMM.
10. coco - 18 sept, Legends
11. Bear - 22nd Sept, Zoo!
12. Summer - 23rd Sept, Raffles Marina
13. Elvi - 23rd Sept, ROMM
14. Doris - 23rd Sept, Amara poolside

annabelle> I see. Keep us posted!

Elvi> Yep, bear will have hers at the Zoo and me too. The standard package is 60++ and deluxe package is at 70++. Both packages require a minimum 80 pax and there will be a venue charge if the no. of pax is less the min. You can contact their catering sales manager, Boon Heng at 63608643 for more details.

You will only be allowed to efile on 23 June because the dates are only released exactly 3 months. Usually people will get ready on 22 June night and file on 23rd 12 midnight.

bearie> Will settle with BH tomorrow. Based on the guidelines he provided, we'll only select decor in August. Will be catering for 30 pax but my whole package comes up to approx 4k - quite abit off my budget. Gotta eat bread liao =C What time will your ceremony be?

doris> I am so sorry. I hoped i have redeemed myself by updating your venue to the list =) Don't be sad ah.

wxyang> Its weekend for all of you. I just started work =( Sorry have not been to Bangkok before so unable to provide any recommendations. Glad that you are almost done for your ROM.

queenie> So you speak melayu? Congrats - where is your love nest?

hey DH,
glad tt things r moving along for u ya.Can speak melayu but did not learn in school lah,Took CL2,heehee!!!

doris,
u gotta update urself k sweetie.

shd still b called CL2 nowadays.haha seems like we r out of touch wif books for so long alreadi.

queenie,

then r u muslim?

how cum less tables can invite more ppl??? *puzzled*

DH> how come only select flowers and such in Aug? BH told me that we can do the flower selection in June! he even said he will ask his florist along so i can talk directly with her. Then in late July we have to confirm the menu and 2 wks before the ROM we have to confirm the no. of ppl.... wah 4K really a lot hor? but as long aws ur wife likes it then ok lor...

my ceremony is at 10.30am. when's urs DH? Aftn??

Da Jie> heehee... who ask u not online.. now already got long queue to smack Anna's FSIL. Anna first, then me and then Weixiong. U be the next one lah.. Hahahah... Anna, the whole thread will help u smack ur FSIL!! heehee...

Wah Da Jie, are u a Muslim? U must look very exotic! mix parentage!!! Cool!

Queenie> So you took Chinese as second language? So your learnt melayu since young by speaking to your dad?

Me working at that time loh, worked night shift the whole of last week. So people sleep, i work. People work, i sleep.

Cherz> I think have lesser tables means more room for standing reception. My guess =)

Bearie> No idea why august wor. This is the guideline he provided:

June 05 : Have the E-file for ROM. Fil up the JP consent form.
- July 05 : Have the propose itinerary. Sending invitation card for printing.
- Aug 05 : Sending the invitation.Check on the status from ROM. RSVP your invitee.Revised the itinerary. Selection of decor and wedding favour
-Sep 05 : Collection of marriage cert from ROM. Update invitee and others

Whats yours like? Maybe because you booked earlier so everything will be settled earlier? Ours also 2 weeks before ROM have to confirm the no. of people. Hehe gotta eat bread for a few weeks to fork out the 4k :P

Ours will be at 11 am because geomancer states that the timing has to between 11 am - 7 pm. I am actually worried that all my guests will be baked at that time =)

Wah DH still not aslp?

Mine is slightly different from urs.
- June 05 select flowers and theme
- July can efile and confirm the menu i think.
- Aug must send out invites
- Early sept must go for rehersal liao.. heehee...

Quite similar lah.. don't worry.. Hey i ta bao leftovers for lunch when i go to work, at least ur bread is fresh... haizzz.. so u getting photog and videographer?

Ya 11am, sure baked liao.. hehee.. no lah i joking only.. u got wet weather plans or not???

DH,
malay was spoken with late grandma & relatives.Otherwise,Eng was most frequently used.

I work at odd hrs & P.Hols too so I totally u'stand.
Oh ya,my resale is at JW.

ah bear,
exotic?No lah.Some ppl say I look more chinese.I think chinese genes r stronger in most mixed parentage with chinese.Born muslim I guess but not a true blue believer so non practising.So no,FH not gonna convert.

Got quote for photo/video total $800 leh.Sianz!

cherz,
less tables so more standing rm lor.Casual setting so easier to mingle.Fr my observation during fbil high tea buffet ROM,no one sat at same time mah.There will be some tables & chairs lah but dont hv to equal no. of guests i think lor.Any suggestions?

Yo guyz~,

anyone have any suggestions for a lunch buffet venueof ard 2 - 3 tables? My ROM will be a simple affair with a few immediate family and closed frens only. Any recommendations?

queenie,

wat a gd idea!i havent attend a buffet rom be4.

i was still troubling over the limited no of guests i can invite coz amara can only hold 5 tables under shelter.but my tables r round tables.mayb i shd ask the coordinator.

Elvi,

if u wan near the rom place,then there is a restaurant in excelisor hotel that serves tim sum buffet or there is set menu chinese food too.the dim sum is so so only.

i feel noble house may b quite a nice place.

hi everyone, I'm back.
had a good time in Bali. didnt get to dive or do any sports but spend good quality time with BF. both of us have not been spending a lot of time together recnetly cos of work and other stuff.

Queenie: where do you usually fly to? wonder if we will ever meet on the flight. hee. ;)

don think i will be Roming in Sept.. but hope i am still welcome on this thread.

Evi: what is your budget like?

Hi guyz..thx for ya feedback..

My budget is prob ard 40 per person...hope to cater for ard 3 tables max...simple affair..dun wann go big..=)

I had always heard bout nobel house..anyone got the contacts? wat kind of food it serve?

Hi all, having a very irritated nose today, slpt whole day. Finally finished my ring pillow. Was very free, did my own pillow. Will show u all m give me comments k. hee!

Had a bad week..... Tho my fmil said to go ahead, we'll KIV to continue rom in sept....

Elvi, wat kind of rest u want? Chinese? International? Western? Can try peony jade at clark quay, they have rom package for $30 per person if u want chinese food. International u can go for lunch at legends which is at fort canning, ard $30 per person after all the tax etc.

Hey!

Welcome back Tea! How come u are not going to ROM in Sept? Don't worry, u are always welcome here. When is ur new ROM date then? earlier or later??

Elvi> How abt somewhere around the registry? there are a couple of hotels like Carlton, Raffles and Raffles the Plaza around the area. U might wanna go look see around the hotels and see if any of the restuarant fits ur budget.

Suelynn> does that means that u are going to ROM in Sept now? ur family is way behind u!!Show us ur ring pillow... may be u can do one for me and sell it to me! heehee!!

Da Jie> oh... Ur family have no objection abt the religion? Sorry if i m being nosy.. =P

Hey i'm back with GOOD NEWS!!! hehe...
kao_love.gif
yeah my ROM will be on September the 9th... hehe will ROM in ROM lor...

suelynn we'll go in pairs to smack her... hehe ask queenie along too... will u still be ROMing in 9th sept??? than i can meet u at the registry... hehe... can i look at your ring pillow too??? hope you are feeling better...

er queenie da jie... where's your new flat??? how many rooms???

bearie> Still got rehearsal eh? I gotta ask BH about it. My bread get the leftovers from breadtalk before they throw it away. Yeah, will be getting a photographer and videographer.I am quite certain that most of the popular ones are already taken for 18th Sept so most likely gotta DIY.

If wet weather then gotta hold the ceremony in the forest lodge loh *touchwood* Setting up a marquee is too expensive for me. Yourself?

queenie> Yeah, especially when you have to fly around the world. Oh so we are all westerners =)

tea> Welcome back and glad that you had a good time in Bali! You're definitely welcome in this thread. When will the new date be?

suelynn> Great, you can make ring pillows for all of us here and we'll buy it from u :P