(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

Hi Queenie

Enjoyed your dinner... See ya here again.

wow wow din came in for 2 days...so many postings to catch up.

jialat...i am goin HK for wk next wk for 2mths....ohh ohh mayb i will hav pgs of postings to catch up.

hey tea,

i may be balloting for the queenstown flat too.hee mayb can becum neighbours.goin down to take a look at the sample unit today.its a bit ex coz its mature estate.i wld still pefer bt panjang as both me n FH stays there but duno muz wait how long then got new flats at my area.

hey toa payoh area is even more competitive.there r abt 60plus 4rm flats n already 700plus applications!!

hey tea,

i decided not to ballot for queenstown flat coz too small leh esp the master bedroom.cant hack any walls to put my walk in wardrobe.hee so 1 less person to compete wif u.hope u acn get it!!

Hi Cherz!! Wah going hongkong to work or holiday??

What is so special about Queenstown area??? Heard that it is real small over there.

Cherz,HKG-shiok huh?Heard tt wedding stuff cheap there.Can get nice customized rings too.Shop ard if u got the time.

Ya u gotta see the layout properly whether it'll suit ur WIW plans.Gd luck!

Queenstown maybe small but near town so more popular I guess.

I've kindda shortlisted 2 IDs,headache!

ya its real small only 90 sq metre.the only gd thing abt queenstown is its location.can walk to queenstown mrt n only like 15mins to town area so its very convenient if u work in town area.

goin hk for wk ah.hope i got the time to shop ard.ha but my FH not there aso cant buy the rings myself.

Hi Ladies!!

QUeenie > Which 2 ID have you shortlisted? Queenstown is near my secondary school place. There are lots of coffee shops and market around... some shopping center too.

Cherz > I agree with Queenie that HK stuff is cheap... if you are popping by Shenzhen, probably you can custom make your Qi Pao there too... very very cheap... Told my FH about it and guess what he had suggested... Go Thailand and make my gowns.. Anyway, bon voyage and hope to see you here again.

Gingercat,
shortlisted FuseConcept & FrontierConcept.Cant say much for now,it all boils down to dollars & "sense" lor.

Bangkok,one can make gowns using Thai silk at reasonable prices.I think do overseas got different ideas & designs fr the ppl there lor.Or else in SG alwayz the same old stuff.

most flats now all small, no choice, got lagi small one lei, I saw hdb's some only 80+ sqm, worse lei! To tink govt want us to give birth to more kids, then y make flats all so small huh?

Queenie> wats the diff between the 2 IDs? My cousin (I nt close with him) used to wk with fuseconcept, I kinda like their designs, ex nt?

cherz> shiok lei, go hk, I wish I could go again, but dun tink I wanna go again tis yr, perhaps next yr or so. Gotta save up for my mini honeymoon this yr

Kris> ya go bangkok n tailor make even betta! Wanted to do it when I went in Jan but we havnt finalise our rom stuff yet so din in the end. Furhtermore I wanna lose more weight!

Morning Ladies.

Queenie > I am sure they are very costy... ID charge a lot... That is y my FH rather we DIY and design our house next time... Dun want to waste unnecessary money. But think about it, ID is there to provide you with a service to design an up to date design flat for you.

You mean Thai silk is cheaper??? Hm...mmm but dunno whether the tailors or seamstress in Thailand is reliable or not... later I become a robert to them.

Suelynn > How much more weight do you wanna lose?? Think you should be someone who is slim and small to medium build?? Correct me if I am wrong. For me... gotta lost another 10kg more... Hiaz... two more months to go before my first measurement... a bit stress...

Kris> The other time u wan to ask me more abt my job stuff rite? I email to u k

Thaisilk is not cheap, but its cheaper in bangkok cos in sg, its ex to do it here.

I am not small build, am medium build, I actually need to lose another 5 kg but I wanna lose more myself, abt 7 kg. Jus need to tone up some areas.Have lots of fats at my tigh n arms area.

Hi Suelynn,

Yes... Need to ask you something on that... cos if not, I do not know what you are looking for in your new career...

But to my knowledge, dun think everyone will look good in Thai Silk... I am looking at Satin silk for my WG.

Aiyo, means you are not overweight right...?? Take your time... you still have time for toning... but for my case... I have to gambetta already... end of May taking measurement. Hiaz... dunno how. But just now went up to my finance dept and they said that I had slimmed down a lot... Hope things will work out well.

I emailed to u ald Kris, U free go n see k.

I prefer thai silk cos its thicker, dun tink I can take satin cos it clings to me n it shows the bulges obviously, eeeks!

Yah, trying to lose weight but we kept going out for nice meals, aiyah, hard to lose weight....then nw nua at hm somemore....May taking measurement do wat?

I emailed to u ald Kris, U free go n see k.

I prefer thai silk cos its thicker, wat empire has are thai silk dresses. I dun tink I can take satin cos it clings to me n it shows the bulges obviously, eeeks!I prefer stiffer materials, so dat my tummy dun show when i sit u see ;)

Yah, trying to lose weight but we kept going out for nice meals, aiyah, hard to lose weight....then nw nua at hm somemore....May taking measurement do wat?

Suelynn,
both IDs prices r comparable.To me all tis r only on paper.Wat's more impt is the end result & time needed to complete job.As we need to vacant my FH current plc for new owners max 8wks of key collection.

Gingercat,
I guess more ppl using IDs then gg direct to contractors as their prices r comparable.Also,u gotta source on ur own & deal w them directly.Carpenters,plumbers,painters,etc etc..

Last time,IDs were ex,only for the wealthy.For designs,we got our own designs & proposed to ID & he proposed his to us but we gonna use the best of each.More importantly,he'll knw colours, materials & lightings.

Abt Thai silk,my friend who is of a plump build wore a Thai silk dress & I tell u,she looked so lovely.There's s'thing abt Thai silk,so classy & like royalty.

Hi Ladies.

Suelynn > I am sure you can lose weight. With the ingredient of preserverance + Deligence + hardwork = weight loss. Todate, I lose 5.5kgs already. U My colleagues are saying that my waist line can be seen clearly ( so happy!! ) and my face had sharpen a lot. 31 May, i am taking measurement for my ROM teadress. Got my design ready

Queenie > Agree that IDs are more professional but what to do when my FH wanna cut cost here and there. Thai silk... hmmm...mmm maybe can go back thailand and buy some thai silk back.
Pass it to the BS and make the dress for me.

congrats gingercat....jiayou jiayou!!i havent make much progress.

tok to u guys when i am back.hopefully if i can access internet in hk then u see me ard.

cya

cherz> dun worry, hk got lots of internet access lei, in the hotels, some foc for guests. Wat hotel u staying?

Bon voyage!

Queenie> I nvr window shop there b4, heard someone got their rom or bridesmaid dress fr there. U tinking of getting a dress fr there?

Shux, today is a very humid day!

Hi Ladies!!

Nope.... Have not been into the shop but walked pass it before.

I have confirmed my wedding venue, it will be at Meritus Mandarin.

Suelynn > U free this afternoon??? Take a peep in your email later. Me preparing the draft letter to you.

Kris> I free this afternoon but after 4 cos gotta go back to office to sign some docs cos I leaving the co....Stupid.... Make me so excited lei, wat u sending me? kekkeke

Congrats u got ur venue! Which one marina or orchard ah? I always get confused wif the new name

Gingercat,
tt's the Ord one right?Tt's for ur AD?Wat abt ROM venue?

suelynn,u leh?Where's ur ROM venue?

Really looks like only afew of us active here recently.

Suelynn > A while more you go in and see. Me typing the draft now.

Queenie and Suelynn > Thanks... the hotel is the one in Orchard. Considering the accessibilty for the guests... and not bad lah... the room is big enuff.

Queenie > My ROM venue is at Furama Riverfront Hotel.
On the 24 Sept 05.

Queenie> I havnt decide yet lei, most prob in Grand plaza parkroyal courtyard. If not maybe at a pte room of a resturant cos we nt inviting alot of ppl, abt 20.

Kris> K I go read!

Gingercat,
how many u intend to invite for ROM?Usually hotels dun cater for small grp like even 20pax.

suelynn,where is tt htl located?

Initially the nos. of guests were ard 30 then now grew to abt 50 total for me,aiyo!

Will u ladies be printing invitaion cards for ROM?Caz I not doing anything else.Jz ROM cum buffet dinner.MY FH said if guests dun gv ang bao it's ok but I want leh.

Also I popped into Diane Caroll jz now.Dresses imported fr UK range ard $259-$300,not many designs,looks ok only.Floral ones r nice,too ordinary.I've seen somewhat similiar ones in Australia for far less.
Got 1 transvestite working there.

queenie> I and my FH argue over the guestlist, headache man......Still wanna try n keep to 20. Its in cityhall, near peninsular, jus behind it fact. Guest usually wont give angbao for ROM, so must fit out budget lo, we intend to go for short getaway.

I wont print cards, just send emails n sms. Save trouble, time n $.

I went pass Diane Caroll today oso lei, I dun really like it, nt my choice shop for ROM dress. I tink I prefer La-Vie or Silhoutte. Ard that price oso the dresses.

suelynn,
I was thinking of emailing & sms too but MIL said if want ppl to gv ang bao then shd gv cards.FH said no need.But if u not doing AD,wld u print cards for ROM?

Where's La-Vie & Silhoutte?I'm actually thinking of wearing pants.

If nt doing AD then I wld print cards lei, I wont put it as Solenisation ald, I wld put the invitation as wedding instead. Let ppl have the idea that they "shld" give angbao kekkekek

La-Vie is in OUB plaza n Silhoutte is at Stamford hse. I read fr one of the bridal mag that they jus have ready-made dresses esp for ROM n bridesmaids or something liddat. Pants ah? Interesting!!! I dun look gd in pants got porkchops thighs hahaha. U can get inspirations fr mags I tink. Saw a combi of flowy low waist pants with tube top tats really nice. ;)

U nt having AD huh?Then ROM can be more elaborate n invite more ppl!

Gals> anyone been to spa with FH or bf? I tot of bringing my Fh to the spa plc I always go to cos nw they open to males as well....I mite need to sign up for more packages tho. Jus doing research nw cash strapped rite nw. I m with Rustic Nirvana rite nw. Any other suggestions?

suelynn,
Yeah,I was thinking of putting "wedding" too!
Do u knw where I may get tt kind of pants?Saw at British India Co. but anywhere else?

I got skinny legs so gotta cover up,gotta work my butt though.

Morning Ladies,

Queenie > I am inviting about 40 pax for my ROM. Holding this Solemnisation in Furama Riverfront hotel lounge. Initially, the package is catered for 30 pax and every additional pax is $15 nett. I will not be printing cards for them to attend this ceremony. Just send emails to them will do.

Silhoutte is a well-known bridal shop. They do not have those comprehensive package. They cater to wat you require and can sum up to a lot of $$$$

How come you are not having AD?? I agree with Suelynn, if you are not having AD, then you can elaborate more on your ROM.

I have been to SPA with my FH and he likes it.

Queenie> So envious I oso want skinny legs lei, my are thunder thighs ahahhah

I dunno if Mango has any nice pants this season, maybe u can check the outlets out? I like their pants, both corporate wear n casual. Wearing pants is great for outdoor, looks like u can mingle n not be so stiff

Silhoutte jus launch this ready-to-wear range, affordable nt very ex, abt $200-$300 liddat the dresses for ROM. Their gowns etc are not so affordable tho. Can check them out for inspirations for ur gown design oso mah rite?

Gingercat,
I'll prob DIY cards aft doing research,realized tt they can come up to an unneccessary amount.Havent decided jz like many other ROM stuff.NO AD as we not into all those stuff lah.Rather westernized,heehee!

Thx suelynn!
I'll check out Mango if I get a chance.Aft seeing so many boutique's website,I still like Empire shd I consider getting a dress.Got ROM pkg.

Have u ladies bought ur dresses,rings,etc?

Hi Ladies!!!

Wah!!! DIY, a lot of work leh... Westernized style... something new.

Already have my wedding band and for the dress, I am waiting for May 30 to come. I am going to MTM my teadress. I have got the design ready.

gingercat,
I was thinking to get my best friend's help to print cards so jz buy paper & I roughly knw the wordings.Wish me luck!

Westernized as in sign already then makan time,stand up buffet dinner party.Done!

HI Queenie!!

U mean your friend is doing printing service? Then I guess you will save a lot of money in this way.

Oh i see... simple and easy style. No much of the hassel.

All the best !!

I oso want simple wedding but no choice, his side really pantang plus traditional etc. Gotta give in...I wanted a garden theme wedding n honeymoon dats it but cant work cos of the new set of parents I gonna inherit after signing the docs....

Can DIY cards urself, jus buy nice paper can ald n print urself.

I oso like Empire's dress but then alot of feedback abt the quality, cos its OTR n seems like many ppl tried b4. Someone even complain the padding came off n the MUA is made her into a freak. U can consider Jess coutre cos hers is MTM, can give her some inspiration from empire's dresses. So far her rom package has lots of gd comments.

I gonna wait till may/june then start to shortlist the items. Ald saw a pair of rings fr lee hwa, soo kee tat I like, tinking of going to Fairy's inc to see sometime in Apr. Will be going for wedding shows to see some of the BS packages n see if I can utilise part of it for solemnisation. Hee!

Nw concentrating on getting a job n slimming.....Going back to rustic Nirvana soon, my skin damn horrid nw, esp my legs, damn dry....nails chipped...... but my toenail polish still in tact kekkeek

Thx gingercat,
no lah my friend's not in printing.Like what suelynn said lor can jz buy paper etc...

The ROM May thread where I started posting also has a few gals gg to Jess.

Suelynn,

I'll also start getting busy for ROM only in May/June.

What kind of designs for rings hv u got in mind?My FH wants 3 small square diamonds on his so maybe I'll get 3 round ones.Saw this at GH but workmanship bad.

If not working then DIY mani/pedi lor.I not gone mani/pedi or massage for long time already.Maybe tmw go ear candleling,trim hair,foot reflex...So many things to do,so little time.

Hi Ladies.

Suelynn > I dun think you are fat at all... probably puppy fats around ur tummy area?? How much did you pay for your spa package? How many sessions are there?

Queenie > Oh ic... do you mean jess couture?? Hm...mmm must go down and take a peep on their designs... Feel like going down to Tangs to take a look at their tea dress designs. Heard from my colleagues that there are quite a no. of new arrival.

By the way, do you know where to get nice heel shoes??

Kris> I not very fat but fat la, or fleshy kind..... fh always say I pui lei......hahahha

I shows some nice shoes fr Vinnci dat suitable for bridal gowns etc cos their shoes got lots crystals, diamonte etc Aldo shoes are nice but pricey, too high for me tho.Tangs a gd place to find shoes too ;)

greetings fr HK!!!me not staying in hotel ah.hee tink too ex liao so the client let us stay in the company's apartment.weather is quite cold here.

so many postings but got no time to go thru them.

hey i saw a nice shoes fr HK,very suitable for wedding.its open toe and got like diamonds.cost S$500!!!

Hi cherz!
glad tt u can still join us & not lose touch ya.U in HKG or Kowloon?

HKG got soooo many many variety.I'll be gg HKG nx mth too so can go look see.

So gd!!! I oso wanna go HK!!! But tink will save up n go somewhere else ald, jus went there last yr......Nothing done for ROM yet......Aiyoh...

CherZ> Harlow!!! My saliva oozing out lei, tinking abt mango puddings.kekkke

Kris> missed ur qn, I sign up a package with Rustic Nirvana last yr, its $1200, 10 times free 2 times so make out to $100 each session, but if u dun sign package, its $180. Each session takes abt 2 hrs or more. I paid by instalments cos 0% interest. I tink I shall stick to them for my Fh's bday, save $ since I ald paid for their package, sacrifice 1 of my papmering session for him hahahah. Tummy got a bit of fats but I buay tahan my thighs, arms n butt!