(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

Hi Queenie,

My ROM will be on the 9th, Fh jus told me his fren getting married on 10th lei, gosh! Told him we cant go cos its very rush.....

We havnt decide on a venue yet. Tentatively going for the courtyard at Grand plaza parkroyal. We still looking ard n see if there are other alternatives, dun intend to spend too much cos we wanna go for mini honeymoon.

My flat will be up in 2 yrs time, but we plan to move in after AD, so prob in 2008. But nothing fixed yet.

Kris> Glad u settled on the BS. I still waiting to see the photos of Yc's bride.

Hi Suelynn,

You have got mail. Please refer to your email box. The photos taken by YC is good. They even showed us some pictures whereby they have taken 2 days ago in Kota Tinggi and it is still in their PC.

They also have the magazine kind of photo album and my FH is very pleased with their work.

hey gingercat,

mine email is [email protected]

suelynn,

mine frenz aso getting married on 11th sept.i will b attending the AD.ppl say cant go to others wedding if its within 4-6mths of yr wedding but does it apply to rom as well?wats the reason behind tis?
i tink shd b okie to go rite?

Hi Ladies!!

Suelynn > Okay, if you select more than 45 pictures, they will be able to compound a mag. style album for you. From what I understand, every additional pictures that we choose cost $65. But Kino said that we may not need to choose everything... He will advise on which is nice and which are those that need not. There will be discount to each pictures...
This is what he and Yvonne promise me. Depends on how you bargain.
My FH does not like the magazine style album though it is light and stylish... He feels that it is very fragile... Cos we will be putting this album out during the cocktail reception and what happened if someone accidentally spoilt it. Your money will be going down to drain.

Cherz > I will email you tomorrow from my office cos it is kinda of hard for me to type email now when the connection of my wireless broadband is not stable. Do check out your email tomorrow. Promise.

Ladies, check with my mother and future MIL, they said that there is nothing wrong attending a friend AD when your ROM is quite near to them . You only need to avoid if you are having your AD 2 or 3 months away. Ppl believed in if you are attending your friend wedding first, you will be going there and taking away there blessing and good luck...you know, sometimes ppl are beri pan dang about all these...

Hope all these helps.

Kris,

U mean the mag style album is filmsy ah? I really must see hw its like already, cos those I saw fr other BS are as thick the individual pages. If its like wat u say I not interested ald. Most impt to us is the fotos. I dun tink I will let the guest flip thru my fotos lei, dowan to let so many ppl tamper with it. Kiasu a bit kekkeke

Hi Suelynn,

Yah... It is filmsy... just imagine those normal magazine that we are reading... the wedding album photos are slightly a bit thicker only.

That is what we are afraid of... people tamper it and then thats the end of our photos... moreover... not one or two people touching... Just imagine how many guests will be at the wedding dinner...

tks gingercat.

hmm but usually ppl will put the photos at the reception area for viewing.heehee i always like to look at those photos but never spoilt them lah...haha.its a waste if u take beautiful photos but ppl dun see them rite.mayb can hav someone "guarding" the photos n make sure no one tamper with it.

Hey suelynn,so ur's 9/9,easy to rem & dbl digits usually more popular right?

Cherz,so our ROM same day ay?Supposed to be very gd date,u knw.Lunar calendar it's 15/8(full moon).
RSYC is Republic of S'pore Yacht Club.Doing outdoor thingy.
My resale's at Jurong West.Wld wanna a new flat too|(who wouldn't right?) but circumstances r such,u knw...well...Lucky it's only 5yrs old.

My FH oso say dowan to put fotos there lei, he dowan ppl to damage his $ kkekeke! Hard to find someone to guard cos everyone will be busy, receive angbao, usher to tables etc. Its kinda boring to stand there n guard oso I tink. Will only show close frens n relatives, tot of jus placing the largest frame foto at the entrance so tat guest knows its our wedding or wat. Some mean ppl like to comment until kinda jialat oso, dun wanna spoil my mood cos of them. My fren's bro jus had his n a relative started comparing the fotos until he so pissed!

queenie> yah double dates popular, dats y most prob gotta do it outside the registry. It means everlasting oso cos chinese means jiu jiu ;)

Hi ladies, saw some post on Furama waterfront on this thread, can share more info with me. Me and FH looking for ROM location / lunch reception.

Have already finalize my AD. Will be in 20 May 2006.

Cherz & Suelynn > Yah, my FH dun wanna the picture to be spoilt or tampered and we decided to stick to those thick thick album. No one will want to guard the pictures one lah... this is what he told me. I also feel that the mag, style one cannot make it... very fragile... filmsy too.

Queenie > How much did you buy your resale flat??

Hi Teacup !! Welcome to the thread. I am holding my ROM in Furama Riverfront and the package is good. Though a bit inaccessible but the layout there will make the guest feel very comfortable and relax...
The package is at $888+++ and initial deposit of $250 ( caters for 30 pax ). This is a hi tea menu package and if you want it to be lunch, additional $5 per pax. They allowed you to use the lounge from 11am to 4pm... so you will not need to rush.

Hi Ginger, thanks for the info. I will check out the place this weekend with bf. If we have less / more than 30 pax, how will it work out?

hmmm... interesting that they don charge more for more pax....

but even at 30pax. the price seems reasonable.

Any other place that you have checked out besides Furama?

Kris> If its liddat, I wont consider YC ald cos we want album with artwork. Other BS's mag style album are as thick lei, jus dat there are a few pics across 2 pgs or 2 pics o 1 pg. Dunno hw to explain, but its nt filmsy.

Teacup> when's ur ROm date? Welcome to this thread!

Hi Suelynn,

Well, I just call them and they have 2 types of mag album. One hard one and one filmsy one. Maybe we miss out the hard one the other day because I am busy looking at the wedding ring pillow. Heehee!! My preference is plain without artwork. Simple and plain but they are using digital cam.

Really ah, liddat still got hope, hee! Actually its me who wants the artwork design kind, my FH have no pref, as long as I like can ald. I like the effect of the artwork design after viewing some gals fotos on the web. Dun like those mag styles with wordings n in bubble effect tho. Dunno hw to explain........ But photography wise, many say tat the film type is better than digital but we need to take digital cos we wanna make it into a webby, dun wanna scan the fotos 1 by 1.

However, if in the end cos of tight budget we mite have to stick to normal full pg oso.

Hi Ladies !!

Suelynn > I understand... my FH also squeezing on very tightly about the BS I am going to choose... MUst be practical, good service... and therefore my no.1 choice BS is gone... but frankly speaking... I think YC also not bad after seeing so many good comments about them. No harm trying out.... since my ROM teadress is going to make by them. Just now have a final confirmation on the Actual day date : 24 June 2006. Initially to be in May 2006 but the time schedule is a bit tight.

On 30 May 2005, I will be taking my ROM teadress measurement... and then to discuss about the design and so on with Yvonne. After ROM on the 24 Sept 2005, some where in Nov or Dec 2005, I will have to go for my photo shooting ( outdoor ) and then in the 3rd week of December, will have to tailor made my WG and EG. In Jan or Feb for indoor photo shooting and then finally, in May 2006, will be able to get ready everything.

Till now, still very confused where to hold the dinner cos... GH is way too expensive and so on. THinking of holding it in the country club such as pine tree country club etc. CHeaper.

Hi Teacup, maybe you can check with Carlton, Amara or Star DUs... not bad either... The packages quite competitive.

queenie30,

yup 18th sept is a very gd date.dats y i choose ma.heard of tis date at an auspicious dates talk at a wedding show.

how is the charges like at RSYC?

hmm i tot jurong west hav a lot of new flats left over?queenstown having balloting now.not sure if i wan to participate coz the price a bit steep.

Gingercat,

wow so fast settle yr AD date already.so envy....muz wait so long for my AD coz muz save $$$$$$$!!!

hav u got yr flat or living wif yr in-laws?

Thanks Gingercat. will check them out... on budget, so really need to check the prices. will be having 20 pax including me and bf.

I just ballot for the queenstown flat... hopefully i can get it... if not, cant even fix a date for ROM, AD.. etc... then might not be able to make it for sep 05 ROM...

Hi Cherz!!

Settle the AD fast means have to do shopping list fast. The budget for the whole wedding comes up to about $35,000 to $40,000. Hard work in saving money, one month barely have spare cash to buy clothings etc... almost 2/3 of the salary goes into the bank for saving.

Meanwhile will be living with PILs first. After AD, we will be buying resale flats instead of applying for new ones... Resale flat bigger.

Hi Teacup... actually no need to get flat and you can go on with ROM... maybe you have different perspective.
All the best of luck for you to get the ballot.

cherz,RSYC charges is pretty reasonable like less than $50/pax for dinner.Food & service is gd.Gd menu selection.Also free 1 nite stay at it's suite room with jacuzzi as FH's a member.

yup,JW lots of units left but my FH bought his current plc so cant buy new plc.This area near Boon Lay mrt is pretty nice,I moved in abt 3yrs ago considering I'm originally fr the east.

Queenstown is a nice area & so near town,matured estate,if tt's impt to u lah.Maybe u can consider.

Gingercat,got my EA at a high price.$375k-11th fl,corner & gd view.Marble fl & well maintained.Everything came w a price,sigh...

hi gingercat, want to get a flat cos currently rently a flat outside... cost is quite high... haiz.

actually true, can rom first... but will keep fingers cross on the ballot... so many pple have applied for it....

actually bf stay at BL. so if cant get the ballot, might consider Bl.

Queenie30 > Wah... Where is your EA located at?? I am getting my flat somewhere around East area preferably Marine Parade area cos my PIL live somewhere near Bayshore Area. Did went to see a few flats and cos about 230K++ to 300K+++

Teacup> Hmm...mmm then it is more feasible for you to get a flat instead of renting... very very ex. Where is BL?

Gingercat,it's at Jurong West,very near Boon Lay mrt.Marine Parade very nice,do they hv new flats?I knw they hv point blks with solid view of the sea.

teacup,BL-Boon Lay?

Ya, must save for AD oso, no matter wat we jus save, I oso dowan banquet lei. To me its too much of a hassle...... How I wish I can jus go for honeymoon n dats it!

Queenie> Jurong's flat oso so ex ah?

suelynn,Jurong West new 4 & 5 rms alot cheaper lah.I dare say cheapest in the market.Mine's resale so...It's all abt location i guess.

queenie> Cos ur space area is big issit dats y its more ex? Really dun dare to tink of anything yet, no new job yet....sianz......

Hi Queenie!! Marine Parade is a nice area. Yah, my PIL is staying at one of the pivot apartments facing the seaside. The block is directly opposite the East Coast Lagoon Market. Cannot afford to buy a unit over here... very very expensive... So looking at HDB flat.

Suelynn, my friend had not contact u huh??? By the way, can you let me know your name thru email?? Cos her colleague asked me what is your name... and I go errr....rrr....

suelynn,my EA approx 130m squared.I knw some EA bigger but cheaper lor in somewhat same area.They r not well maintained,low floors,view is blocked etc.I saw quite afew.When I stepped into this unit,i felt comfortable & knew it's the one.
My advice is if u want to get resale,decide on area then slowly do research on price etc.So u'll roughly knw how much ur expected to pay when u r ready.Btw,dun mind if i ask u wat industry r u in?

Gingercat,tt area so shiok!
I love the east too but my FH grew up in west & my MIL wld be lost if we relocated to east.Easier for us to readjust then asking the old folks.U still considering east or other areas?

Kris> I told u my name in the email lei, dun have ah? its in the mail where i sent u my resume. Yah ur fren havnt contact me lei. I'll mail u again.

Queenie> Am in the finance industry.

Queenie > Yup!!! I do love east side... especially somewhere near siglap, there is this sinful stretch of shophouse... ( Hagen Dazz etc ) and explain why I have to go on diet now.. .Heehheheeh!!! I grew up in the central area. You are from the IT industry too???

Suelynn> Never receive your email. Can send direct to my company email?? [email protected] Have a few opening here. My friend had so many resumes and when she ask me your name... i go errr.....rrr...

Sorry about that

Gingercat,all I can is is east side is lovely,actually I grew up in Toa Payoh,nothing beats tt area to me.

No,no not in IT but knw some friends there.In travel industry.

Hi Queenie!!

Wah, so next time I wanna get air tickets for honeymoon can get it from you

Yah... east side indeed is a lovely area. I admit that.

Heeheeh Suelynn, I received your 2nd email already. The first email, you put a hi as subject right?? But the file cannot be open. Mind send again???

Hi Queenie...

Thanks for your mail... Heehee.. So your FH same profession as yours?

Hi Suelynn,

You went off so fast... Have couples of question to ask you leh... hiaz... I drop you an email tomorrow morning... I have 7 openings over here. All in Finance.