(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

hahaha..
hoestly march-in... i think is the only thing i remembered.. coz some of his relatives treated my head to be flower pot... should shower in front or towards the aisle but some really threw on top of my head..

cut cake, hmm.. as i cut.. i thought of the real cake in my suite.. so hehehe.. no meaning.. MAYBE reminding us that we do have a cake to eat later..

champagne pouring.. to dirty our hands... eheheh

Gown changing.. ok.. to show off gown instead.. hahaha..

Yum Sheng.. to tell pple that hey u are here to drink and eat.. so better know ur hosts etc..

but honestly, most of us did all these becoz of parents...

spent so much time and effort and $$, in the end buy experience and tiredness... hahaha.. that's what humans are good at.. to "torture" ourselves..

hmm.. i think i'm getting crazy.. coz the lightning these days too strong.. my modem was struck, i think.. got burnt.. so.. sigh.. gtg off to sim lim now.. sian.. btw, in case u wonder... i'm at workplace surfing net and working at the same time.. rather busy though NOW IS HOLIDAY! siao!!! but i can't complain coz my duties are spreaded into holidays..
see ya.. will login tomorrow..

I jz got back fr a cardio latino class.Not as tiring as the last class i did.Movements were ok.Alot of swinging arms ard like a mad woman.Tmw leaving for UAE & cairo for a wk so working is my only form of exercise.

ah bear,
i agree with u.It's our wedding & hopefully we'll only hv one in this life time so we can do any way we wanna as long as we're happy abt it.To follow or not follow tradition is couple's choice lah.Some parents more particular,some not.Honestly,aft gg to so many weddings,i dont rem them & i dont care.Except 1 of our frens had it at villa bali,venue was diff so it was something to look fwd to.All the others were held at htls so rather similar.I tend to recall more if i'm more involved in it then jz gg to the dinner as a guest.Really a waste caz couple dont mingle w their guests.I go to see,eat & pay.

At least i can say my guests got to eat my wedding cake!Heehee!!!

i wld not want to have a dinner if possible but everyone wants it, even my hb...

ok I am not doing the going around the table to take foto thing! ald told my parents n hb abt this, only my direct families and our friends. Those pil friends, dad friends, not doin it with them......

Seriously, its pretty obvious that those with lots of gown changing is like so passe... BS kekekkeke. Reminds me of my auntie era where gown changing is a in thing. She had like 4 gowns!

well, mine was made special by my bunch of cousins
sing for us and took lots of photos!! Really took quite some time at their table... drinking n having fun

Dajie,

Here I come. Super busy with work nowadays. Looking forward to next week when 2 of my bosses are going on leave together. Grin

Juz managed to scan thru all the posts…

I also used walkie talkie when I went bkk with hb, his bro n bro’s gf. Coz we are staying at diff hotels and also when we go to the same shopping centre, the guys will shop their won stuff while me n the bro’s gf will wander on our own. So walkie talkie makes it so much easier to meet up.

Aeris,

Could tell u had loads of fun at yr AD. I like the pink London cab.

Was my frenz’s jiemei last sun but we din takan the groom. Partly coz no time (6.45am must leave the hse) and also no one seems interested to discuss how to takan the groom, even the bride.

Bear,

I like yr photographer’s style, esp those picture taken at yr new hse!

Cherz u finally appeared! i realised being the sister is more tiring than being the bride man.. i was my fren's sister for her wedding on Sat and was tso tired that nite that i fell aslp while waiting for my hair to dry!! Heehee.. next time when its ur turn to wed, book my PG lor.. Tweety is asking him for a quote too!

Tweety ah, i saw u at Yew Kwang's thread asking for a quote.. i think recently he increased prices again..
his work not bad hor....

Dajie, everything in life is only ONCE a life time too.. we gotta live life like there is no tmr.. that's part of the reason why i had the traditional boring wedding cos i was afraid if i didn't do it then i would have regretted.. perversely, i also wished that i didn't have to go through the hassle.. get wat i mean?

Where's Anna? haven't seen her on MSN nor on the forum since the day she took leave to help her SIL's wedding....

talkin abt walkie talkie, I got also, with my hb, pink motorola one, hb's blue. We bought it in hk last time cos we find it cute. But alot of ppl using in hk so I forgot to off n in middle of nite got ppl keep paging me kekkeke!

bear> I dun tink I will regret not going thru the normal traditional wedding....I jus gotta sacrifice....for everyone elses sake. Well more for my hb, he always like the yum seng part.... Tink with me not going to all the tables, I will be eating kekkeke

Well, i share the same sentiments as Bear. If I dun go thr it, I scare I'll regret and feel something missing or not rite... But it's sooo troublesome...

Sue I dun tink got the mood to eat wor... For me, I din feel hungry at all... n I din wat for e whole day!

to do or skip tradition wedding has always been something couple nowadays struggle with. Partly cos the decision is not theirs alone. think couple just have to agree or be selective about the process that they want to go thru.

i do struggle with the 2 schools of thoughts. should i do everything so that i don regret not doing it in the future or should i just be selective and do what i like. I don want my wedding to be term as just one of the predictable weddings (like in the article).. but then again, i am still thinking how i can make it different. For now, the only thing i can think of is mingling with the guest instead of disappearing during dinner half the time... oh well, AD still a long time away, will think about it later.

hi peeps...been bz lately...juz started on a freelance job so gotta b workin rather "hard"...still gotta settle my AD stuffs...*phew* gonna b a mess liao...

talkin abt whether to go thru tradition wedding?? mmm...me tink depends on individuals lor...my sis mentioned to me b4 dat although its realli a hassle, go thru it n hav a great time...dun tink abt the unhappiness n things will turn out great...

Aeris.. so how many photos in total he took for u??? How much u spent to develop all of them??? Is Chris the one that the other chat room talking abt?? heard that he got bad service.. don know if he's the one...

Dajie.. me also agree with the articles in certain thingy... but it's once in a lifetime thing lor.. all we can do is to make it more special...

Bear.. yr photos are v nice... I like his work too.. but hor v ex wor...

Oh ya.. I feel so happy when I saw somebody's PS photos done at the same BS as me eh... and it's really nice... and heard that the service there also v good... hehehe

Correct me if i'm wrong.Is it only the chinese couples getting married tend to choose following tradition or not caz fr wat i've seen with malay & indian couples all go thru their tradtional weddings.Seems like they dont hv a choice at all.Has anyone gone for these weddings & seen something out of the norm?

Tweety, I dun tink so cos he's really nice n friendly. He's pretty young actually, 24, and juz started his career in this field for 7-8mths. So have if u hire him need to be a bit tolerant in his 'slowness'. He takes a slightly longer time to adjust the lightings n such. But we r ok wif it loh.

He gave me 500+ photos. Nearly 600. Actually it's unlimited photos loh. So u can take as many as u like. I develop the photos outside not from him. So it depends on how many u develop n where u develop loh. He oso got help to develop lah but we choose to do it ourselves. I edited the pics before I develop them (add in 'watermark'. hehe...)

Dajie, I tink they still go thr e traditional wedding. Not like us Chinese always wanna be diff n 'throw' away e tradition...

Juz attended a Muslim col wedding last Sat. They actually got e cake cutting thingy. REAL cake n the groom has to feed e cake to the bride's parents n e bride using his fingers. The bride's parents stand beside them when they do the cake cutting...

aeris,
malay doing cake cutting i've seen but quite rare.Maybe nowadays is a norm.Been awhile since i went malay wedding & even if got,i try to escape say i on flt.Hahaha!!!!!I dont hv tt many malay frens & most of my relatives r already married.Where was wedding held?Viod deck or htl?Did they sit on the stage?ZGot ppl rub hard boiled eggs on their face?Got malay band?

Void deck. no, nv see the hard boiled egg... I went quite late dunno if they have it earlier...

got a mini band n ppl singing...

then e stage loh n everyone take turn to go up n take photos wif the couple.

Dajie.. In my hometown, chinese's wedding dinner nv cut cake... but we do hv karaoke session for guest...

I heard of malay doing their dinner at hotel also, but not many lor...

Aeris... My friend opening a shop thi Jan too... the one took my ROM photos... He's also quite new i think.. don know abt his charge.. maybe will drop by his shop after his opening...

Hello! was at NTU for some seminar this morning.. always kena such boring seminars.. fell aslp there while the guy was droning on and on abt bacteria.. bleah...

Dajie, wat i meant is all the things u have done are done in diff circumstances.. dun think something will be repeated at the same place at the same mood, with the same ppl etc etc.. i guess in that way, u only live once lor... i never believe in regrets, just lessons learnt...

A lot of us said that we dun wanna have those traditional big cheena weddings, and yet we had them (or going to have them).. the thing is we are not just marrying one person, but his/her family and they have their expectations.. like wat Dajie said, it seems like its the Chinese that are trying to move away from traditions. compared to other races (not being racist here ok?) we have made some progress in that sense lor..

Speaking of Malay weddings, i will be attending my first one this Sun! looking forward to that.. how much shd i give, bearing in mind that during my wedding, that fren gave me $80. shd i give him back $80?

Tweety, if u told me that u wanted to approach YK, i would have told u to mention my name mah... heehee.. dunno will help or not.. he is very gd liao.. took 900+ photos, and develop 384 for me.. plus he does artwork for the photos so u get mini collages and other special effects..

jannie, ur wedding is in less than 3 wks.. pls rem to rest hor.. unless its fashionable to see a bride on the verge of collapsing with exhaustion... bought ur wedding cakes yet?

ah bear,
u beginning to sound like me.Kekeke!!!

Anywayz,for malays & indians if u notice,they still wear their traditional baju kurong or sari on a regular day.There is no other way to go abt their weddings but the traditional way.
Depends where the wedding is held.If void deck,$80 is alot but if u wanna gv $80 caz he gv u,tt's fine.Ang baos not impt in a malay wedding.

Hahaha Dajie, i m beginning to sound like u? i had that mentality since young, but that isn't good cos i m afraid i dun do gd enough in my own opinion hence stressed the hell out of myself.. bleah.. cos i dun believe in regrets mah.. wat if i know i could have done better but didn't? that's why i m sooo competitive that i drive myself nuts sometimes... heehee...

i dunno how much to give leh... my col told me $20 per pax enough liao.. but doesn't that means they always lugi? they give $80, and we return them $20!!

Oh ya, i think thinking of going to Bintan for a short break soon.. anybody know if they are having the rainy season soon?

ah bear,
i've the same mentality as well.I dont hv regrets.But i dont stress myself.I'm not as competitive as u but i'm a proud person.

Malays mentality is not to "make" for their weddings.Plus i believe,malay weddings r way cheaper.Where is the wedding held?

Bintan is very near sg,if we rain,wat do u think bintan weather will be?If u wanna go,better book now!Dec prices may be higher too!
Hb wanted to go there too,to make it up to me for making me mad at macau but i decided to jz spend a nite at the RSYC.We gotta be near since bil wont be in sg end of dec.

Bear, before I attend my col's wedding, I went to checkout the AB price
Another muslim col says, e AB ranges from $10-$50, depending on how close u r to e person. I gave $80 cos WX went wif me mah. Some more I'm her sup, give too small like not very nice.

Dajie, malay wedding not cheap oso!!!

I went to a malay BS and asked abt the decor when I was preparing for my ROM. Guess wat! the Dai (as in e stage) alone, cheapest is 400 (artifical flowers). If u wan fresh flowers, $600. But this is the most simple Dai. More glam-glam one will cost much much more. Plus the decor for e surrounding, etc, oso need a few thousands ba? On top of tat, it cost them to book the void deck (cost I dunno). Though e food they cater is not so exp but they cater for thousand!! My col cater for 1000 pax.

Dajie, i need to wait for my hb to come back first.. he hasn't been able to call me from Aus cos the outback has no hp reception!! i doubt he wants to go to Bintan though cos he needs to spend some time on his biz... haizz think i have to abandon the whole idea... just that i dunno wat to give him for christmas so thought of sponsoring him the trip..

May be i book a room at a hotel lor.. also got too many parties to attend too.. so mah fan...

Hey thanks for the advice on the Malay wedding Aeris. my cols also said dun need to give so much. The wedding will be held at the void deck.. u know, my fren is inviting 1000 pax and his total bill for the whole wedding (inclding food, printing, deco, tables and chairs) was 10k! really cheap leh!!

aeris,
why i say cheap caz esp if void deck,for sure it wont cost them $20k & beyond.Traditionally,everyone in the whole family will help out.Decor all diy,the macik macik all will help in the cooking.The makan will be held at each of the couples home(void decks) fr lunch til dinner time.Can go anytime.Guests come w their whole family & gv $5.Some,dont even gv.Most of the time,u dont even get to see the couple at all.They r in their room or doing some prayers.Muz go right timing when they r on the stage when they "bersandeng".

ah bear,
the best resort in bintan gotta be banyan tree.Went there once.Really nice!Esp when got upgraded to sea view.
Stayed at mana mana,chalet type.Cheapest ard i think.

Aeris, 10K for 1000 pax can be considered quite cheap leh.. i can't rem if my fren told me his pkg inclds the baju or not... i find that amazing! cos to invite 1000 pax for a chinese dinner is abt $80,000, taking one table to be $800!

Ya U are right Dajie, the family helps out a lot so the couple is able to save a lot. heehee.. think this will be an eye opener for me... Wah Banyan Tree is ex man! starting price is abt $250 per room per nite!

Wat u guys getting for ur partners for Christmas ah? Aeris and WX dun say it out here hor!

Ah bear,
i went to banyan tree using some UOB cc promo last time.Stayed 2 nites!Did couple massage.Guess wat?Wasnt my hb.But tt was years ago.Kekeke!!!!!!!
No idea wat to get for hb xmaz prezzie leh.Does a good "beep"count?Heeheehee!!!!!

Bear... i think Yk is out of my budget.. need to ask my hb...
As for the malay wedding AP, I think u do not need to compare on how much she gave u, coz it's different lor.. hotels at least abt $700 per table, so they gave based on where u hold ba...

I think range is $20-$50 per pax depending on how close.

Bear.. Dec quite windy.. so some water sport may not be allow lor... I went to Bintan Lagoon once, staying at Villa... it's fun...

Banyan Tree is more for couple.. u shld try that...

Dajie, i m looking at UOB's privileges now and seems that the deal on a 2D1N stay at Fullerton seems not too bad.. got free dinner and breakfast too... plus a bottle of wine/ bouquet of flowers and 2 sets of bath robes. heh... $348+++.. dunno worth it or not leh... at least still in S'pore so hb can conduct his biz lor.. in the last 6 wks he was away for 4 wks!

I tot u always give him a gd 'beep'??!! heehee.. i rem wat u told me, demure in front of other ppl and be a whore in bed.. wahahahaa...

Tweety, no worries.. as long as u are comfortable with the PG's style can liao..
i prob give abt $50-80 ba.. he quite ok with me... i think i might just give Bintan a miss cos hb has to work..

Tea, i say correct mah.. WX and Aeris cannot say here or else they will know wat pressie they gonna get.. wat are u getting for ur hb?

I already told him wat I wan le. Then he haven thut of wat he wan. If he dun make up his mind then I'll have to get watever I can think of for him.

Tink for my col, she cater everything, no cooking themselves whatsoever.

hihi... haven been posting for quite some time =p Have been busy...

Hmm as for the tradition wedding.. hmm i guess most of all will go thru all the banquet etc juz to please our parents.. but as many had mentioned, it's once in the life time so if we din hold the dinner, we might regret. I dun ask for a veri fanciful and grand banquet.. at least something that can let mi rem for the rest of my life.. something enjoyable for the most of us.. dats veri imp right..

bear... i wanna go find u this coming sat morning.. u free anot??

hmmm i dunno wat to get for my hubby for xmas, so in the end already get him a small helicopter since he wanted soooo much.. everytime is advance gift.. hehe

queenie... thanks alot for the info.. i will try to plan to go zhuhai.. since u mentioned it's a shopping paradise =) Guess u have pretty much fun there tho there is some miscommunication between the 2 of u =)

Dajie,

my relative married a Malay gal. They had their traditional Malay ceremony at the void deck. There was a stage, ppl playing drums and buffet. Never take note of other things. Then they hold their dinner on another wkend at Hyatt.

Nowadays Malays take PS like us too. Saw my Malay staff’s BS shoots in gown, jap costume and even kua!

Bear, juz saw ur PS, AD n honeymoon photos
all so nice! keke... Then I was thinking, when then I get to go on honeymoon
belated one seems a bit not so 'special' liao.... but no choice mah, WX got exams....
Ur sisters still so nice ah, sabo him in th e hse not at e corridor....

bear, thanks for remindin me...actualli my AD is juz the wk after...so scary upon tinkin abt it...i do hope to b able to rest well but got so many things to do...haven order the cakes...hb said within a wk order can liao...

will b hittin double O this fri for my hen's nite wif my kakis...any1 interested to join can com along...
the more the merrier BUT dun tekan me lah... :p

so far me only attended 1 malay wedding which was dragged by my mum coz she needs a chauffeur for herself n her frenz...not much varieties in the food but its nice...den saw the couple on the stage den got 3 person dancin some kind of ritual dance while the drums "bom" away...ppl juz com n eat den go off...dats the onli impression i hav...

jannie> so fast hor??? when they give u ur album? I told my hb what happen, then he say liddat its best we take earlier.....

Anise, Sat ok with me.. dun come too early hor.. heeehee.. say 10am?

Aeris, thanks! u did go for a HM though it was a short one and it was nearby.. already much much better than many ppl liao... my SIL and BIL didn't get to go cos my SIL got high fever on her wedding day.. had to cancel their trip... most impt is u and WX happy can liao... then everyday is a honeymoon day..

jannie, ya u must rest liao.. hurry up order ur cakes.. better earlier than later.. wait something cock up.. weah hen's party ah? too bad i m kinda too old for such things.. by 12 midnite i wanna zzzzz liao.. heehee...

I met my crush just now at Parkway.. i was so besotted with this guy during my uni days, until my frens planned a surprise party for me and invited him along.. went out on a date with him aft that but realised we got along like brother & sister.. no chemistry.. have to say i like his body though.. wahahaha.. anyway he is getting married on the 16th (same as Jannie) and invited me along. so coincidental. cos i haven't seen him since graduation!

Bear, True lah but it;s too short.... yest talking to WX abt our Japan trip. so excited!! Not buying Tamp liao seems like can relax a bit...

Woo... met ur crush??? My 'chu lian qing ren' attended my wedding and my best fren was gossiping abt it to my cousins!! WX invited him lah, cos he's our common fren.

Maruko, tink i not going.... now body aching from the bhangra aerobics yest....