(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Hi kk,

Think my hubby side has alot of parents with sch children...they are close relatives. Heard from friends that even poly students are still having exam? Really headache.

Janet:
My wedding day is same as yours ..
Sch holis start on 20/11 ..
Shd not be a prob for most relatives ..
Not many kids oso ..

Yvonne:
We haven't decide yet ..
See how much fund is left after the reno ..
Anyway, may consider US if US depreciates its exchange rate again .. Hee hee ..
Is it too late to purchase at Sep's NATAS fair huh ??

hi all....me paiseh...been bz to come in here...

chubbyrain...sorri, u icq me and me did not reply cos boss with me..i dun realli go on icq now cos boss sitting next to me liao...

sigh...anyway, gals here any1 rem me ...??

my ps on 30 jun ..far far away man...and 2nd appt on 20 june...

Hi Smallonion,

Posted on Saturday
Hi galz

now mi turn to share abt the CUTE Icons.

It called "kaoani"

used search enginee such as "google" type in Kaoani, will display lotsa of web pages, not all web pages hv cute icons tat u liked so happi searching. wen u found icon u liked:

1) right click the mouse
2) select "save the picture"
3) remember to save it into a ".gif" file

after that select the "upload attachment" button... tat it.

90620.gif

Hi seabreeze,

hahah, me going to tanned leh, to get an even tanned and of course, get my hubby to be even more tanned too! hahah...
get my hubby to wear body hugging clothes? nah, his tummy will sure show, unless he starts his diet plan too! hahah, anyway, mens suit are more or less same leh, how to have body hugging clothes?

gERm,,

I tink as Yvonne said is rite,,
C hw we plan abt our weddin sch for AD..
U can double cmf who is cmin n who is not(i tink)..Dun worry!!

hi peg ...

yap ... reminds me of my mum ... she will take out the umbrella even if it means just a 3 mins walk away ...

Moonlight ....

depends on individ lar ... me used to be quite tan ... then Angela told me to stop swimming (actually that tan line was very old liao ... like 1 yr ago when I went for a dive trip) ...

actually there are 2 way of doing it ... either aviod the sun completely or get under the sun NAKED to get that even tan hahahahaha ...

my EG is very low back ... so think its safer for me to stay out of the sun lar ... or how to get that even tan?

hi chubbyrain
BS scare that my AD gown will get dirty. but it's ok, can wear more gowns. :p

hi lazy
both WG and EG are MTM. Both 'designed' by me hahaha...

hi yvonne
actually when i first saw the blue one i wasn't very impressed. only when i tried it on then saw the nice effect. but the gown is not in tip-top condition, so wont be used for AD.

hi germ and janet
it's something we hv to face, if not this, it's after exams and parents might bring kids for hol thus not in town. Just keep our fingers crossed and do rsvp diligently.

moonlight
wow! yr hubby is really active in designing yr gown ya .. dat's nice! so u have to do more crunches!
if i ask my hubby, he will tell you 'anything' ...

seabreeze
hmmm .. the way u recommend really made me tempted to change to Angela, will talk to voicz when i meet her end of this month!! thanks!

hey dat's a nice way to sabo moonlight's hubby .. haha

peg76
yah, i think it's too early too .. if i will to go, i think mon will be a tiring day at work for me ... hee

Hi germ,
Tink wat the rest of the gals said make sense.. juz call n ask how many pple will b goin for ur AD, then send them the invitations.. try to do it earlier so more time for them to rsvp?
My AD is 2nd oct, tink got pri sch exams.. anyway, if those pple r really close relatives, it should b alright for them to leave their kids for a few hrs.. Tts wat i feel..

Hi kk,
Tts y i got to exercise more lor .. u started on ur exercise routine liao ah? Aching muscles? tts normal lah, will not affect u after a few more weeks of regular exercise

Hee, i also hope i got enuff leave for tis long weekend
Dun dare to take any leave lately..

Hi Lynn,
Both ur WG & EG very nice.. u good designer
Haha, tink they juz lazy to clean the gowns..

Hi baby5556,
of cos i rem u.. my PS even further than urs.. Mid july..

Hi BaoBao,

can try this? is yr PC running on windows or lotus?

if window try this
1) look for control panel under setting
2) look for folder options
3) under "file type"
4) search for GIF
5) upon selection does it said that it open with Internet Explorer? if not you need to select change to IE.

shld b ok. hope u understand wat mi writing....
;p

90649.gif

Lavish wedding paid for by guests
SOMETIMES, a couple can profit from inviting scores of guests to a lavish wedding banquet.

Hongbao from generous relatives and friends have helped some recoup their outlay with money left over.

Mr Colin Choo, 29, an executive in an information technology company, and his wife, Ms Goh Ee Lin, 28, a bank executive, held their wedding ceremony and Chinese banquet last December at the Ritz-Carlton.

The hongbao they received paid for the $54,000 wedding bill, and they still had $5,000 left over. Ms Goh said: 'We were really surprised and we're very grateful to our family and friends because they were so generous.'

Her husband's relatives, most of whom run their own businesses, gave them $5,000 and $10,000 hongbao.

But the going rate for hongbao is between $60 and $80, depending on the venue, said couples. Guests usually give more if the dinner is held at a posh hotel.

The Choos used the extra money for their 12-day honeymoon in South Africa.

Ms June Wan, 31, a freelance writer, and husband Chris Toh, 35, a spa therapist, lucked out too. Their 300 dinner guests helped them cover the $17,000 they spent on their church wedding and dinner at the Copthorne Orchid Hotel in January, with about $3,000 left over.

Ms Wan said: 'We tried to keep costs down. We went simple and it turned out to be the right decision.'

But often, people who spend a bomb on their weddings find that the hongbao do not even cover half the bill.

Couples tell of guests who bring their entire family but give only a $40 hongbao, or those who give lucky charms instead of cash.

A 28-year-old marketing manager who spent $100,000 on his wedding last November - a grand affair at the Shangri-La Hotel for 750 guests - said he's been left in debt.

'We wanted a small wedding but our parents were quite insistent that it should be a big thing. It's tough on me because I'll be paying the bank back for the next year or so.'

Couples should decide what they can afford before getting any other advice, said family life educator Linda Haverkamp of the Family Resource and Training Centre.

She said: 'They should not bow to pressure... otherwise, they will start their life together with debts.' -- Tracy Quek

chubbyrain,

Pri sch exam so earlier meh? So, on my AD...who is still having exam. Me tot pri sch children still having exam during my AD not during ur AD.

Germ:
My wedding coincides with the uni's exam ..
Dunno abt the sec's exams ..
Juz make sure I do the rsvp well lor ..
Relax, coz it is your BIG day !!!

germ
aha! so, u're my 'longlost' housemate from brisbane?
trying to think which friend i have that has "germ" in their name and then, it struck my mind that it's u, buddy
woman, got lots to update man, u'd better start sending me emails soon

but i agree with chubbyrain, if they are close relatives of urs, it shouldn't matter if they leave their kids home for one nite. and don't bother about poly students, unless u need them as ur helpers, otherwise, they should be old enough to stay home and study on their own

unicorn
i was also planning on booking during NATAS fair, hee hee, but yah, not sure if it'll be too late

baby5556
of cos remember u, how have u been? btw, had my PS last week. make up done by Joey and i must say her skills are really good. we're also very happy with her service, nice lady

lynn
yah, sometimes, u must try on the gowns the u'll know if it's nice on u or not. as i'd mentioned, the red gown is a good choice for ur AD EG, so glam

unicorn,

I'm trying to relax but they are scaring me lah..

Yvonne,

Finally u know who....ya boy, lots of things to update. Will send u email soon. For some close relatives, they may count the entire family attending, but in the end maybe only the parents attend. Hence, extra seats....that is the ting we are worried abt.

Hi germ,
not sure abt sec sch, i tink abt the same as pri sch.. grad too long ago liao..
but my bro who is in uni tells me my AD is durin his exams.. but he still hv to help out, only 1 day mah

Well, as for the extra seats, ask ur relatives to tell u how many exactly how many goin.. m sure they will understand..

wedding dinner is not something cheap lor..

Hi Hi
90686.gif

Bao Bao that article was fr ST right.. a good reminder not to go overboard with wedding expenses if not we (or our FH
90687.gif
)are the ones paying in the end...

Ladies, any good tailors to recommend for mother-of-bride's dress?
90688.gif

Germ:
Nowdays ppl are quite okie abt rsvp ..
Mebbe u dun ask those old folks directly, get your parents to help ..
My uncle oso called my mum to cfm the seating on the behalf of his son ..
Anyway, I've learnt that one cannot please everyone so juz do your best and ppl will understand ..

Tis is coco's secretary.. For the 12th May gathering, those who can make it..
The venue will be Plaza Sing, suggestions for dinner/kopi r welcome.. tentatively, she tot of the following places in Dhoby Ghaut area:

1) B boss opp plaza sing
2) Bakers Inn
3) Secret Recipe

Anymore suggestions? Voting starts now!

Hi Eternity, Gin,
me too!! i also want to go for the threading lor... leave the contacts ya! hehehee....
me already posted up some pixs of me liao.... go & see ya

so eternity, where did u go for tim sum? have always wanted to find a nice tim sum place, any recom?

90735.gif

wonder where is everyone?
So piglets u have a closer look at my WG and Cheongsam?As for my EG,i dun have any full views of it.
90736.gif

Wow Wow!!! there's really much to followup with..

amy, peg & moonlight
thou staying with my in-laws but they r nice people.. hmm... not exactly traditional.. I guessed have to stay together for longer time den, i'll get to see more about them...
agree???? kekeke...

janet: Great!! I love to visit people's houses, I will definitely go..
great ur reno is on the way...

I have just chosen my wedidng gown design, kind of mix & match part of the gown, of cos gotten approval from the designer... actually the 1st piece which i tried on was the 1 i have wanted except the material isn't what i want yet the co-ordinator really hardsell on the OTR piece.. den I am also hard to convince type..
insist MTM for me with the material i want... she really had a hard time esp whenever she pushed on the 1, i literally hold it & ........
still I am very happy get 1 settled, still have my EG to 'fan' over... another MTM EG..

sallen
gees.. i was still advising u that ur PS is too late, looks like mine too... around AUG time too...