(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
hi rabbitwsk,
I shortlisted Dang too coz I really love the designs but I dun dare to go down to check out the package loh.

your banquet venue is at OCC??

Hi HP,

Well....Margaret's.... Lezen....... I just went to Sophia and their package is quite pricy but nice gowns.....

Actually, I already have a photographer in mind and he has packages with Lezen, Flamingo and Emanuel...... so thinking of going down to Flamingo to take a look this weekend.....

How about you? Which BS have you looked at??

Hi Joan

If u r interested in BV but r concerned about the cost of photography, u may wanna check wif Colin on the next in-house show. They normally hv some promo wif the photograhers if u sign up durin the show. BV works very efficiently and they r able to deliver everything even if u sign up 6 mths b4 yr AD. Last yr, BV had an in-house show during Apr. I learnt my lesson the hard way...I did not sign up during any shows and I hv to fork out an addn $1k on photos now cos they r all very nice...

Jus a suggestion...

btb04,
Yes decor is been taken care by rsyc but I abit particular so I prefer to tell them what I like. Lucky they r pretty flexible.

cheerio n manolo,
Seems like you all are well prepared! You had ur ps?

butterfly,
I think btb referring to fresh flower more x n not white rose more x rite? Well as long as you like pink, it will b fine.

Shelle,
I am also curious how come got food tasting?

july04,
Are you the jul i know?

BlueAngel,
Whats ur budget?

hi chobits,
not yet seen any BS coz busy sourcing for contractors for my new house renovations.

would like to settle my BS by early mar hopefully, else not much time left

Welcome chobits,
u can have a party theme for ur wedding now.defintely can have a lot of fun.can countdown with ur guest untill new year day.oh yah,i wonder if the photograher will charge higher price since urs is on new year eve and mine is on x'mas day?i m sourcing for BS too,preferably in tanjong pagar or chinatown area.

Anyone of u gals has MTM gowns??And what is the diff in prices in the pkg for MTM and OTR????

hi hakida,
the differences for MTM &amp; OTR is about $800 - $1200 depending on how many MTM gowns loh. some packages give u <font color="0000ff">MTM EG + OTR WG</font>, some give <font color="119911">MTM WG &amp; EG</font>, some give <font color="aa00aa">OTR WG &amp; EG</font>. so it really depends loh.

HP,i give u my contractor no.90256135.he is called ah zhai.can bargain with him one.tell him peter from kim tian blk119b introduce one.

HP,
u can just ask him to give u a quotation first then do a comparison.u can ask him to bring u to see his clients hse and take a look,so u can gauge if u like his workmanship.

sigh pay lor.. upon confirmation, the sum will be credited back to us and deducted from the total amount paid.. But that still means that we are paying for the sampling dinner at the place that we decided not to choose.

Will let you guys know once this is confirmed.. I wish this thing could be finalised!
for peace of mind..

Hi excite... dun be so disappointed... we can always make it the next meeting a thurs if u really really cant make it on fridays...

Nickel and feroy... u gals ok with Thurs 4th Mar or 19th Mar (fri)?? Really hope to see u gals next time

Lynn, potlucks in the future sound fun :p

gals, let me know if 4th mar or 19th Mar is the preferred place to meet?

This time round, where should we meet? hehe...
u gals like dessert? I can bring u gals to yummy waffles place called Gelare if u guys have not tried it. Hot and crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. :p~~~

Anyway, any one of u gals keen to do a real wedding cake? I luvvvvv cakes and now choosing a vendor for my wedding cake. However, if i were to cut a cake in hotel after solemnisation, definitely have to order from Oriental coz they are strict about us ordering food from ouside vendors. They are afraid of food poisoning cases and dun want to take unnecessary risks.

So any of u gals thinking of a real wedding cake at all? :p

Hi Hayashi,
I got a geomancer to see the feng shui of the place b4 reno and he also gave the date for an chuang on a suitable "move in" date. So I dunno if I'll still be going through the boy-roll-all-over-bed thingy before my customary.

Hi oraia,
Actually I like "The Golden Renaisance" theme but it will add up to be a hefty sum. So in the end I took the standard package and will play around with some deco items to create something victorian. Will have to do some research on that!

oraia/HP,
I'm pretty confident to get my PS photographer to do both days at no extra charge if I'm engaging her for AD as well. Will also try to negotiate wif the make-up artist too. But like you said, should not have to fork out too much.

piglets, no prob.

Hi chobits,

Welcome! I've been to Margaret's b4 and love her gowns. I like her style as well cos she'll design WG based on venue, wedding theme, size and height of hubby etc. Very personalised. But it's a pity she only does OTR gowns now.

BTW, which photographer do you have in mind?

Dear Blim,

It is in the middle of March. 15th ha ha ha.
Err....have not distributed cards. Thought must be done only on Guo Da Li Day??? We have been calling friends. Food tasting done. Aiyoyo lost lost lost....

List of December Brides (2004)
==================================================
2nd - White Orchids (In Wedding, Le Meridien, Hougang)
2nd - Inlove (Kowloon, Oriental, Punggol)
2nd - Winterhakone (BV, Fullerton, Punggol)
3rd - Smallonion (Everbliss, Concord Hotel)
5th - Twinkeleglint(Whitelink, Pan Pac, Woodlands, berryhappy, earnest video)
5th - Meagan (Qings Bridal, Noble House, Sengkang)
9th - secret garden (Divine,Conrad, Telok Blangah, Hilarion, Ernest Video)
11th - Michelle (Santiago, M Hotel,Punggol)
11th - Owl (White Link, Le Meridien, Yishun)
12th - Oraia (BV, Grand Hyatt, Jurong West)
12th - neece (Margaret's, M Hotel, Seng Kang, Avail Lite)
12th - KPO Lady (Paris, Pan Pac, Seng Kang)
12th - Zhuzhu (Camellia, Carlton, Tampines)
12th - Lovey(Divine, Merchant Court, Bishan)
12th - eVon (GHA, OCC, JW)
12th - postpet2(Fullerton)
14th - Irenes (Pan Pac, Woodlands)
16th - Soupie (JLC, Trader's Hotel, Bedok)
18th - Fanny (Jawn,Raffles the Plaza,Seng Kang)
19th - Trisha (Swissotel)
19th - Jasline (Htl rendevous, Holland)
19th - Doremon (Santiago, SK)
19th - Puzzlerain (Paris, Hyatt, Seng Kang)
19th - HP (CCK)
19th - Christine (Bridal Concept, Hilton, Bedok)
19th - bear76 (TWD, Merchant Court, Punggol)
19th - joan (Marriott, Pasir Ris)
19th - kaitlynn (French Bridal, Marina Mandarin, Wdlands)
19th - haloya (Vanity, Grand Hyatt, Punggol)
21st - brambles (GHA, Pan Pac)
24th - Fi Fi (Wedding News,Crown Prince, Punggol)
24th - Piglets (BZ, Pan Pac, Bukit Panjang)
25th - Hayashi (Nil)
26th - Wendy 76 (Fullerton Hotel)
31st - Chobits (Conrad Hotel, Queens)

hi morning my dearest gals..
wowowoow..our group is so big leh, guess we have to try to suit to everyone's timing..

i have a suggestion..

since exciting has lesson on mon, wed, fri, we can always change to meet on tue or thur.. and if we are going to have Gelare as suggested by c0co, we shall go on tue coz its HALF PRICE!!

so we can meet either on 2rd, 9th or 16th.. juz to let u gals know i cant make it on 9th coz i need to go airport and fetch my hubby back!

for the cake, i am still thiking of using real one or dummy coz i check the price for real cake (3 tier) is about $500-$600, is it exp??

okie..to add on, i love gelare too, i like the icecream and yum yum, its so nice..i know there are a few outlets..like suntec, east coast, far east..etc..

hi ladies, u know what, every night i lie awake thinking over tings that need to be done, and i can't sleep my mind was soo active. then eveyr morning not enough sleep....sigh.....tot of putting a notepad or something beside my bed so i can write down the to-do things that comes to mind, but its so dark wun it spoil the eyes?

hi nickel
no lah, hee hee, actually, fris are not that good for me cos i usually meet up with my hubby on wed &amp; fris but if the general consensus is good for fri, i'll go with the flow
but since exciting can't make it on mon, wed &amp; fri, tue or thur is fine with me as well
and since there's half price on tue, let's go on tue
but that'll be our dinner right? we're not going to meet and have dinner then have gelare for dessert right? too sinful

hi blurq
nah, i don't really have many ideas, just thought it'll be better to do something more interesting to make ur wedding more memorable
no prob, just let me know when u need to brainstorm, i'll definitely try my best to help

hi c0co
i'd like to have a wedding cake but wah, if what nickel said is true, it's too ex. i'll only have about 50+ guests, don't think i want to spend so much on a wedding cake. was thinking of asking the caterer to provide one for me, i'm lazy lah

yvonne..
the price i have is given by my caterer..so i oso dun know exp or not..maybe i try to hunt for our sources lor..will let u know again..

its not sinful lah, once in awhile only..
maybe we can ask the rest to go excerise too, have a healthy lifestyle!

Gd morning Yvonne

Ya, we same... do all things already now can rest a bit
But i think mingling w gown n hse is the most fun time...
so now u do hse work regularly like me ya
Hubby got help? My hubby sometime mop floor but iron clothes is his job! Hey, must share w u this gd cleaner that I use... very good in cut dust and remove hard stain... good stuff lighten workload la
PM me if u interested ya

hello!

I like gelare!
tues is my yoga day but i can go gym on wed instead, then will see coco punching hard :P just let me know the arrangement.

Anyone interested in yoga? I think it's working leh, i lose an inch off my waist, even my frens also commented i look slimmer. Was wondering whether herbalife had helped a bit too, it's similar to wat rabbit is recommending.. Took it for 1 mth, tot supposed to take for 2 lah but decided that i still prefer exercising than taking meal supplement.

Btw, next thurs, 4 Mar is not a gd day, Panpac brides here supposed to have a gathering (feroy: send ur email to cubby already
) Orsoalind, u coming?

Good morning HP

Sometimes u log on quite late ya...

huh? wat u mean dun dare? I got fwd u their package? 7th March, 3p.m, i got appt for consultation n design, u wan to come together? You, some how, must decide by mid march to give ample time for them to design and make gown for u lei...

Yup banquet at OCC... u interested? I got the package details. U need i fwd to u

Hey Binbin, I'm having the very same problems!!! For one reason or another, all the little things just pop up in my mind as I lie down in bed, right before I sleep... Do you already have a to-do list? I'm going to tabulate the stuff I need to watch out for...

hi nickel
Do you want all 3 tier to be real? There's this caterer Q'zin, listed here, and they will throw in the cake if your catering is $2000, check it out here http://www.qzin.com.sg/wedding.htm. But theirs only the 1st tier is real, the other 2 is dummy. I was thinking more towards this line since most of the guests don't really bother with the cake. yup, do let me know if u have any good caterers to reccomend

exercise ah? yah lor, have been telling myself need to start since begining of the year but so far haven't

lynn
hmm... yoga helps is it? maybe I might just join us since uob ladies card has 2 free visits per month, i think, will need to check with them on this again

ladies
have a problem which i need ur help in. altho i'm on the slim side, i've got this ugly double chin and it appears in photos if the photographer doesn't take in a flattering angle for me.

just saw myself in my friend's AD pic (journalistic style) in Dec and boy, does my double chin stand out! plus, i'm using a photographer who takes pix in journalistic style, sure have high chances of my double chin showing up in a lot of the pix.

any ideas how i can get rid of it without going for liposuction or cosmetic surgery? a colleague of mine suggested sticking out my tongue! she said it'll help strengthen the muscle, not sure if it's true but only tried it at home, so that i don't look silly

hi zenn.

i check with ray ong liao. he is taken on my date. hmm. too bad lor. but he din tell me how much he charge lah.

but my photo budget only $1K. cos i am doing videography + express edit as well.

Hi Zenn

Just managed to pop in here for a quick look. Nope, july04 isn't me

I was scanning thru the posts, &amp; I realised there are so many of u getting married in July! And eother on 3,4 or 10,11. Are they really gd dates? My wedding's on 3 &amp; 4 Jul.

Okie I'm very confused...

How abt this to keep track of everyone?

Zenn - 18 Jul, RSYC, Camellia, Blk 646 Punggol
Jul - 3 &amp; 4 Jul, Sheraton, Camellia

Yay! So many July brides =) I didn't know 11 July was a hot date... my MIL picked it.

Zenn, Ray Ong has 2 actual day packages. The cheaper one is $1600 which includes 10 rolls of film, 50 pieces of 5R, the rest 4R in photo album. The more expensive one is $2000 for 20 rolls, 50 pieces of 8R, the rest 4R in photo album. This is the price I got through my BS though, not sure if there is a price difference if you go to him direct. My PS is with someone else, and it's next week!

Ray's a leetle more expensive than the other photographers i checked out but the results are fantastic.

Have any of you girls researched make up for jie meis? Anyone heard of Jeannie Yong? She's quoted me $80 per person which seems reasonable...

BlueAngel

If your budget is $1k, you can try Monica of Vividshots? Her quote to me was $980 and her work is good... inclusive of some black and white shots too!

I am ok with tues.
Is everyone ok wihth 2th March 2004?

Ya gals, shall we start doing yoga together since it seems to be a great exercise? I can get u gals free passes at california gym if u gals wanna go :p no prob. I know the people there so i always make them skip the sales talk. haha...

Lynn, u are so slim and u still losing inches? Hehe... guess ur gown has to be altered now? :p

Yvonne, thought one of the beauty salons like Hacch has a program to slim double chins? I personally dun know anyone who did it... why dun u start a thread to ask if anyone tried it before plunging into the program... likely that its not cheap...

Wedding cake? Once in a lifetime... if u love cakes, go ahead but make it smaller one if u find it wasteful.

Nickel, excite, u gals ok with 2nd March, Tues?

everyone, Tues ok? :p then we will meet and discuss when we can work out together... haha...after the gelare waffle :p

so is 2nd mar confirm?i will try to make it this time round,that day may have to meet up with the banquet mger for some discussion lor,hmm the waffle sound very yummy leh..where is the place huh?:p

hi yvonne,
thks liao, i will go n check my mails later, i think i will take things easy and not over stress myself,cos too many things to worry now..

so u going for the next outing?

been feeling sick these 2 days... wow.. so many msgs!!!

abt the outing.. oh no, i cant make it on 2nd.. but the first suggestion on 12th was fine for me. then subsequent dates like 5th n 19th r also out for me. but im ok with the other tues dates like 9th n 16th. haiyo.. how how?!?!?!

lynn, c0co,
i also hve cali gym membership.. but i've been so lazy tt i've skipped it for a few mths!!!
so tues is yoga day ah... can update me wat time??? i've been to the yoga class b4, n its usually sooo sooo crowded!!!!

yvonne,
confirmed tt uob ladies card has got 2 visits per mth to cali.. i think nowadays, they also ve visit to planet fitness...

Hi HP,
I am also sourcing for contractor at the same time
!! What a headache !!

Hi Hayashi,
Yes, there will be slight in increase in the price for the photograher if your actual day is the eve/public holidays

Hi Haloya,
I like the style of The Edge so I would most likely choose him for my PS.... still sourcing around for the actual day though.

hi c0co
i'm alright with 2/9/16/23/30 Mar. I've listed down all the dates so that u can arrange the time easier
thanks for taking the iniative to organise this outing

hmm... double chin program with haach... was thinking more of doing it naturally, like if there's any exercise routin to firm up the double chin hee hee. will only go to beauty salons for help if it's been proven to work, usually, quite skeptical hee hee.

not really a cake person actually, only getting it cos my mom said MUST have a wedding cake for our wedding. i'll do without it if i have my way

hi pikota
no worries, don't give urself too much stress ok? must take things easy, life is too short to let it go to waste cos of stress
yup, will make go for the next outing once the date is confirmed
try and make it, will be fun

hi forest
oh no, recovered from ur illness yet? must take care ok? this year is very impt, so many things happening, make sure u have stay in good health so that u'll be a pretty bride

thanks for ur update about ladies card

Hi Ladies...

Wow..so many msgs...2nd i dun think i can make it too...cos company got a new launch..very busy le..

Yvonne, u can try out those those beauty salon like wat coco mentioned..my sis in law went for facial and neck massage and can really see the difference le...try ya..

Hi Jul

BlueAngel - 4 Jul, RTC, BS:Jawn, PS:Linn Kong, Home:Bt Panjang, AD:Searching

Gals, do continue the list!
Hi Manolo,

Thanks for your recommendation. I met Monica before. I cannot recall her AD style but I was very attracted to her outdoor shoots. Fantastic!

Been on the hunt for video + photo packages. Seems able to meet my budget for $2K. Hee Hee. I am considering Yew Kwang for my AD. :P

Hello!!

just 1 morning so many postings.. hehe.. my yoga post got many replies. guess every gal wish to lose some inches for weddings hor. :p

Got a yoga mat, so the moment i go into the class, i unroll to chop space haha.. well, i'm in mazie's class on tues 7.40pm and sun 5.40pm. If not alternative day would be wed 8.50pm (mazie), sat 6.20pm (hee boon) n sun 11.20am Laura. If u'r beginner, suggest to go for deepak's class first to learn the steps and posture.

coco, just want to lose my tummy. :P WG bareback, can't wear girdle.

yvonne, got an old method, to beat the chin upward very night, supposed to tone up the face 'muscles' there. May work?

I'm pretty flexible, other than mon, the rest of the wk is ok w me. Let me know.

Hi Jul

BlueAngel - 4 Jul, RTC, BS:Jawn, PS:Linn Kong, Home:Bt Panjang, AD:Searching
Manolo - 11 Jul, Four Seasons, Ted Wu, Montage &amp; Photo language

Long time no 'read'. Sure alot of excitements going on in this thread.

I had on PS on the Feb 9 at Ubin. Nice place, nice weather. Seen the photos last Sat and got overwhelmed. Never thought that I could look good on photos. Heehee... and we topped up 50 photos onto the original 20 in the end. That's alot, huh?! Hopefully the outcome of the album will look fantastic.

After splurging on our photos, we are very constraint in spending extras on our wedding lunch. (there goes my HM, drifting far and far away...) Still have yet to discuss with the hotel on details... June 6 is in 3 mth's time. Normally, how many months prior will we see the co-ordinator on the details of the wedding??

Hi Yvonne and rabbitwsk!

didn't realise that there were so many October brides! Mine is 30 October too - looks like it is a hot date alright. (Good thing we got the venues fixed early on.)

Also just confirmed the design for my wedding gown with Yvonne Creative - she designed a lovely silver flower and leaf motif to be embroidered on my duchess satin WG ... although I must confess that I'm a bit jittery about the effect. I wonder if embroidery is a bit out of fashion, but I guess a dress is a dress is a dress, eh?

Can I find out what your WG designs are like? What are your preferences - embroidery? Lace? or Beading?

Looks like you guys know each other well enough to organise outings... it's so great to know that there's a support group out there for folks like us. haha... have fun, ok?

cheerios!

hi blurry
it works ah? hee hee, which one did ur sis-in-law go to?

hi lynn
anything that has to do with losing fats is defnitely of interest to all brides-to-be, that's why everyone's interested in ur yoga thingy

agree with u, bareback gowns can't wear girdle, found out from my friend's wedding as well, so, other than my double chin, have to lose my tummy as well.

thanks, will try ur double chin reducing method tonight

hi danielle
ur wedding date is also Oct 30 huh? that makes u the 9th person in this thread to have ur wedding on that day. wah, this looks like the hottest date to get married this year huh?

i like embriodery, my AD WG has some embriodery on it.

hi yvonne,
no prob abt the card!

actually i havent recovered... still sneezing badly, n the nose is running!! arrrggghhh...

c0co,
ya.. must really thank u for organizing.. actually alot of the dates i cant make it is cos i'm having alot of gatherings... kekekek... so pai seh...

How are all of you? It's have been some time since i last did the posting. ;)

A warm welcome to all the newcomers.
Seem quite a lot judging by the list.

And there are a lot of 19th Brides to be

HI HP,

Are u refering to separate day for photographers and make-up artist? I have checked before that for well-known photographers, the extra charges is $300 and above.

hi ladies...

wah.. so many postings today....

forest, me very lazy... actually signed up for the lady's card then becos it has all these visits to gym, spa, etc... but have not even used them in the 2 years that i've got the card!! haiz...

yvonne,
for double chin, try this - clench your teeth together... you should feel some 'stretching' along your neck... hope this works...!

me keen to lose weight too... went for a run this morning...
haha... so proud of myself... have nv exercised willingly b4... but guess that big day coming, must motivate myself to start....

cOco,
i'm ok with the 2nd... or any tues...