(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
odie,

the photographer is my hubby's friend...then he hold a full time job & is doing his masters at the same time. We also feel paiseh to press him coz he din charge us a single cent.

So far, he's tempted us with 9 pics tat he had uploaded. I just can't wait to lay my hands on the rest.

Hi Everyone

Wedding on 11 July. Ted Wu for bridal salon, wedding at Four Seasons, photographer Ray Ong.

How are preparations?

hi yvonne,
k this is my email add ([email protected])
thks for your speedy reply yo...

the fengshui shi will be brought in by my FMIL as that was her idea,do you need to make any changes for that after he advised you?

hmmph, my FMIL is also getting someone she know as a contractor for our new home,we shall see how they charge..whether reasonable anot,then decide lor, but i will take your recommend in mind, just in case..

did u go for the 2nd outing?

Hi gals, me having wedding in July too, 11 July heh heh..
I have settle most of my stuff liao and BS is Silverlining. Hope to share info with you gals to prevent missing out anything

i see i see... guess that no choice then.

oh yes... me too but the thought of having to develop and send those photos to friends and family... hmmm its another big project :p

hi bluelake,

Will check out my guide book tonite on Club Med. Think it will be a lovely place.. saw a few couples went there too

Same for me. My photographer is my hubby's friend too and he didn't charges us a cent. But we did give him a big ang bao to cover the film, developing and service charges.

We had also asked another friend to help us take pics using his digi camera that day, so that we can put up a slideshow of the morning events that night. Really thanks to the technology that had make things so much easier nowadays. Will try to upload some of them

hi rabbitwk,

hee,actually is diffcult for me to use the pc in office coz im mostly outdoor,no personal pc..

have to share and grab the chance..
the only chance is at my FH house,he using broadband and i can surf long without worry..

oh we have went to many furniture shops at marina sq,fairs at suntec.more or less we have what in mind and the concept we would like to have for our home,but we are so 'lucky'leh,most of the stuff we like are on sales and its always the last day,duno true or not..
) but we couldnt buy 1st as we still yet to collect our keys,

Hi Piglets
I m superstitious to some extent...hee..but the bed was the only one tat we didn't quite bother. Just wanted to settle into new hse.
Now more concerned bt my bridal package...:o(

hi pikota
have emailed the link to u liao
nope, didn't change anything cos my pl is already done up, main thing to ask him was where to place our beds, so that can have good night's sleep
and of course, the "cai wei", the fortune position.

no prob, just let me know if u need contact for my contractor

yup, i went for the 2nd outing, it was fun, u should try and make it for the next one as well.

as for those sales tactics by furniture companies, don't be taken in by them, take ur time to shop for something u really like

hi haloya,

yay!!! i oso booked the sir stamford room -- was worried initially cos all the hyatt brides all booked the hibiscus room!!! had to drag my fiance down to re-look at the sir stamford room to make sure we didnt' make a wrong choice ;p

but like u, we fell in love with the cosy reception area.

where is vanity located? i also was torn between an embroidered gown (ted wu) but decided i prefer a more understated and elegant gown, tts why bv was all along my 1st choice.

wah!!! ur fren really really fast hor? dec 05 already booked hotel venue??? pengz. haha

Hi oraia, my wedding will be on July 3, when's your? I m thinking whether my JRT should be outside with my FH when he comes to pick me up or with the 'jie mei' inside my house!

Hmmm...Piglets, all mom are the same. My mom is always full of praise for my JRT saying exactly the same things as what your mom says.....

Hi Manolo,
Welcome to the thread! So what else do you need to settle on? You sounded just ready for the big day! HA haa.. I still have so much things to think about (alteration of gown, bridesmaids' dresses, fiance's suits..) And the list goes on..

Hi zenn,
Orange and white is a nice colour! My fiance loves orange. BUt because his family is still a true blue chinese, so we have to choose pink which is a lighter tone of red.. HE heee.. But i love pink! So that's ok!

Hi btb04,
You mean white roses are more expensive than normal roses? I love white roses too.. But if it's expensive, then might have to think about other colours then..

Raffles Marina is taking care of the decor. BUt i think i'll request something.. DOn't want it to be too colourful..

cOco...
me gotta work late on 12 Mar.. urghh...!!! see if i can swop wif any of my colleagues...

are you guys fixed on 12 Mar? any other day...? so sad everytime also miss...

hi gals..
glad that u all are making another outing..as my hubby is back on the 10th and i have a appt with my BS on 12th, can i kindly ask to change the outing date?sooo sori leh but i really hope to join u all this time..
how about one week earlier?like 5th of march? thanx!

hI EVERYONE!

Beri busy with work,but still make effort to come in and read. Can't post tt much tot. :P

12 Mar is okie with me. and we can still meet up after Oct 04. U know, progresses together to cleaning hse topics, kids, untidy husbands, u name it :P Of cos, got a few gd mahjong gals hah, can arrange for potluck at our new hses.

btw, calling out PP oct brides, we are planning to have an outing nex thurs, u want to join us? can drop me pm so that i can ask cubby to add u in the yahoo group if u are not in it yet

Hi oraia

Yup I had went down to discuss the details of package with Colin. Still considering cos we r comfortable with BV. However afraid that it gonna increase our budget should we need to upsize of top up the number of studio photos.

Hi Piglets,

thanks for emailing me photos of your new hse. Sure is cosy and everything so well furnished
I have not taken photos of my new hse yet so cannot show u
My huuby also move in liao and sleeping on the floor. My bed is also custom made and the mattress not delivered yet cos' have to wait till good time to anchuang

Hi Butterfly
Thanks for the welcome! Just looked at invitations last weekend, bridesmaid's dress bought already, fiance just collect his tux last weekend... am now looking at flowers and favours...

Hi Cheerio
Yay! Same day! Where is the wedding going to be?

Hi bin bin

What shd we bring on the day of PS. Eg our wedding ring, still have other thig to bring. I wish to bring my piglets doll for PS too.

hi piglets sure shld bring ur piglets dolls for PS if they are meaningful to you.
we brought our doggie softoys..
well, some ppl suggest bringing touch ups and blotters. but i didnt find any need for them. but mineral water with straws, tissues would be important.

Thanks Binbin

Ya loh i will be very ma fun if bring so much thing and the main problems is i don't have make up kit wif me. Cos i never put on make up...

hi ernie,

mine's in dec.
hehe.... ur doggie shd be with your jie meis... then he can help "negotiate" for better angpow terms hahaha.

hi joan,

have u gone and visit other bridal studios? ya.... colin is v nice... i have emailed him on a few occasions and he's always v prompt with his replies etc.

thanks for the advice everyone.. going for food tasting to decide between hyatt and raffles the plaza. and one more choice now, raffles town club.

Manolo, 11 July seems like a very popular date!

Hi All !!

Joining this thread for the first time...... I am a Dec bride too
.... just wondering if anyone have comments on the BS Flamingo ??

Hi all newcomers... Kindly fill up this list

List of December Brides (2004)
==================================================
2nd - White Orchids (In Wedding, Le Meridien, Hougang)
2nd - Inlove (Kowloon, Oriental, Punggol)
2nd - Winterhakone (BV, Fullerton, Punggol)
3rd - Smallonion (Everbliss, Concord Hotel)
5th - Twinkeleglint(Whitelink, Pan Pac, Woodlands, berryhappy, earnest video)
5th - Meagan (Qings Bridal, Noble House, Sengkang)
9th - secret garden (Divine,Conrad, Telok Blangah, Hilarion, Ernest Video)
11th - Michelle (Santiago, M Hotel,Punggol)
11th - Owl (White Link, Le Meridien, Yishun)
12th - Oraia (BV, Grand Hyatt, Jurong West)
12th - neece (Margaret's, M Hotel, Seng Kang, Avail Lite)
12th - KPO Lady (Paris, Pan Pac, Seng Kang)
12th - Zhuzhu (Camellia, Carlton, Tampines)
12th - Lovey(Divine, Merchant Court, Bishan)
12th - eVon (GHA, OCC, JW)
12th - postpet2(Fullerton)
14th - Irenes (Pan Pac, Woodlands)
16th - Soupie (JLC, Trader's Hotel, Bedok)
18th - Fanny (Jawn,Raffles the Plaza,Seng Kang)
19th - Trisha (Swissotel)
19th - Jasline (Htl rendevous, Holland)
19th - Doremon (Santiago, SK)
19th - Puzzlerain (Paris, Hyatt, Seng Kang)
19th - HP (CCK)
19th - Christine (Bridal Concept, Hilton, Bedok)
19th - bear76 (TWD, Merchant Court, Punggol)
19th - joan (Marriott, Pasir Ris)
19th - kaitlynn (French Bridal, Marina Mandarin, Wdlands)
21st - brambles (GHA, Pan Pac)
24th - Fi Fi (Wedding News,Crown Prince, Punggol)
24th - Piglets (BZ, Pan Pac, Bukit Panjang)
25th - Hayashi (Nil)
26th - Wendy 76 (Fullerton Hotel)

19th - HP (CCK)
25th - Hayashi (Nil)
31st - Chobits (Conrad Hotel, Queens)

hi yvonne/ feroy..
thanx for ur "support"..

we shall hear from c0co k..hope that most of us can make it this time round!
see u all soon..
i havent not meet anyone except yvonne, so must call me k, if not i will be very blur one..

Hi Rabbitwsk,

Oic.... earlier now.

As for me, nothing much to do now too cos still early. PS on June. During april till june will be busy with bridal. House has already finished reno... now was like trying to buy in something tat we are shorted of each month when we got spare $.

Helo Manolo,
My banquet is at Merchant Court

yeah.. 11 Jul is a VERY VERY HOT DATE!!
I already know 4 brides (including you) for that day!!

hi Yvonne,
Wow...u really have lots of ideas in this thingy..will definitely ask for ur help if i am doing one for my AD.

hi nickel,
Oh no..i m meeting my BS on 5th Mar..can we make it on other days instead?? So sorri, or else i can't join leh..

okie..i will ask the lady on fri if they could offer a better deal if 2 of us sign together..

But I think normally will get 10% off if you sign up the package..so dunno if they wld give further discount.
I forgot what treatment I did the other time, but it cost $99..probably this time round, I will do the normal one..

5 March 2004 is fine for me, provided I don't have a "bomb" go off in the office.

Seems working late is so normal among pp nowadays. For me I numb liao. Another late night. Totally hate my job - source of all misery. =(

Excited about meeting up again though! =)

Hi HP,
Yeah! Then we'll have it on the same day! I haven't thot abt the extra charges for photographer and make-up artist yet. But will work something it out.

Hi Kaitlynn,
I'm also staying with my hubby at our new place, in the master bedroom, on the bed for more than a year already. So dun worry, you're not the only one!! I did the An Chuang at an auspicious time when the place is ready to be moved in.

So I think our "new" place is not new anymore!

Piglets,
GSS is a good time to shop for mattress. Robinson's always offer v good discounts. I got mine during GSS and have them keep in warehouse for a few months before delivery!

P.S: You left my name out when copying the list to chobits.
I've add it in again below.

19th - HP (CCK)
19th - haloya (Vanity, Grand Hyatt, Punggol)
25th - Hayashi (Nil)
31st - Chobits (Conrad Hotel, Queens)

Hi oraia,

I felt the same way too! Actually, I didn't even see Hibiscus room cos it was occupied when I went down. My coordinator actually say it better fit what I had in mind as I wanted something Victorian.

I was dying to see it just so I was sure I made the right choice. But I kept consoling myself that Stamford can hold up to 30 tables and it is more spacious!

Vanity is at Tanjong Pagar, across the street from Milan. I initially wanted a simple and elegant gown but the more I looked through bridal mags, the more ideas I have and finally ended up with an elaborate design.
That's how the Victorian theme came about too!

If I stick to my inital intention, I would have taken BV.

hi gals... 5th March i got company function leh... what about 4th march (Thurs) or 19th march (fri)?? Can everyone make it?

hi manolo

wow u settled so many things liao. *envy*

oh yah, how much does ray ong charge huh? me still looking for AD photography.

hi girls....
5th or 12th is on Friday... I got lesson on mon, wed & fri. Very very stressed
I really hope to meet up with u all, but seem like I gotta make it a missed. When did u all meet up the 1st outing?? Which starbucks??

piglets,sorry so sotong of me,forget to leave my email.it's [email protected]
i oso shift into my new hse already,however me and hubby sleeping in another room.haven buy a mattress for the bed yet.my MIL has informed us before she passed away dat we have to AN CHUAN.and to get a boy to sit on the bed.

haloya,how do u go abt to an chuan as in which is the better day and time???My MIL not around anymore so dun noe how to go abt doing it.

Hayashi

Actually if you have a chinese calendar, you can look the date wif have An chuang on it...

Or you can go to those shifu for good date.

Sorie Haloya ....

hi haloya,

we saw sir stamford rm 1st, then went up to see hibiscus rm. we love SSR's reception, but the windows in HR. in the end, we thot we'd play it safe and go w SSR cos can hold more tables. and luckily we did, cos we did a count, and the no. of guests are already spilling over!!!

wow! victorian theme! are u gg to have that as a "theme" for ur wedding? cool... hehe.

hi chobits,

welcome!
u've got a new yr's eve wedding!!!
are u sourcing for a bridal studio? hv seen some of flamingo's designs in mags. quite nice!

hi HP/ haloya,

i think the extra charges for photography and makeup will be significantly less than what you would otherwise have to pay for a weekend banquet. so overall i think it's still ok to hv ur banquets on 20th!
if u only need the AD photography for a few hrs on 20th, then u can pay per-hrly rate, so it's more worth it

hi haloya,
like what oraia said, the additional charges for photography and make-up is little.

I had done my homework liao, for photographer, it's $100 and for make-up artist additional $80 loh. if the photographer and makeup artist very ex one, then maybe the additional charges will be higher.

<font color="0000ff">welcome chobits~!</font>,
your wedding on new year eve, so special, can even do count down. and u will begin a new year with a new status.

!!

Yes!! The date was chosen by the geomancer and it happened to be that day :p ... He actually gave us 2 dates but I was unble to get the ballroom on the 19th at Conrad.... looking at the list above, I now know why
!! So many brides on the 19th !!!......

And yes, I am still looking for a BS to sign with *hai*...... How is the service provided by Flamingo??