(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date

I am new here. My AD is on 28th Sept. I read that 23rd is the only auspicious day in Aug, but I was told that 28th is also an auspicious day. *Scratch head* We cannot take 23rd coz it "chong" with one of us or one of our parents (cannot remember liao)

So interesting to know so many brides getting married in Sept

hi gals...

rabbitwsk and yvonne.. guess many of us are going to get gold unless we make it clear that we prefer white gold...

Anyway my sweet granny ask me what i like... i felt very touched dunno why. Maybe coz she was my caretaker since young. Anyway, even if she buy me white gold, the design might not be something i like. I told her anything she buy will be appreciated by me. (but i know i wouldnt wear... ) hehe... but i pray its not a jade braclet. :p

Anyway,Girl80, is Jeanyip so effective? Are the treatments comfortable and relazing? Expensive or not? My arms very flabby...

Hi jush and blurblurblur28,

welcome!!! so how has your preparations coming along??

maybe you can update the list with your BS and dinner venue information... then easy for all of us to remember and recap.. heehee....

hi oraia, yep I have embroidery on the train, on the front and esp along the hem on the layers of organza. i like the other details that helen put in....hhehehee...

i am sure you will enjoy gown design process with bv.

hi soupie, we like the church ones too. we chose alot of pages of church ones, only second to the beach ones hehehee.... so you can see not much church ones left...

coco, sent liao!

hi meagan,
AD photographers can range from$850 (i think and onwards depending on who you getting. any photographers in mind?

hi oraia/piglets,

me busy with work and also busy looking and choosing contractors for the house. Same time also attending marriage prep course
and it's quite enriching! if you have a chance, shd go attend

what about you oraia? what you doing so far for marriage preps?

piglets, meimei liao not? going for photoshoot soon lei
i still rushing to finish your CDs so that I can return to you asap!
i also saw oraia one time in raffles city uring lunch. think she was with her colleagues

hi brambles ! hi smallonion

how are you all doing?
long time no talk! how's your preps coming along?

hi binbin,

how's the servings of the food like? big? hmm... my food tasting still a lloonnng way to go ....

hey, you got your pics liao? can i see? my yahoo id is

can link me up to your link?
where did you go for photoshoot? and how many previews you have in all?

hihi secretgarden, the food portions dun LOOK big, but apparently it's sufficient to make us so full at the 5th dish. can u imagine, there's like 4 more dishes to go and we are full hhehehhehee...lucky did manage to enjoy all of it lah, coz i dun finish all loh hehehehe.....

sure, just sent to you secretgarden. PS places are sentosa, church, and railway, and some other places robin brought us. can be seen from the pics....

what do u mean how many previews? like in how mnay pics in total? or how many times we go down to choose? hhmmm....he took a total of 200 over photos i think, coz the rejected alone is 130 liao, and we choose about 54 pages which equates to about 70 over photos. the first time we were there we ended up choosing 62 pages of album, instead of the 38 in our package with him. hehehee....we freaked out, and told him we will come bek another time to reselect some more. we went back 1 mth later and narrow it down to 54 pages. the ones in the link i sent you are only the rejected ones.

coco ah, ur mail bounce back leh. did u type wrongly? anyway i tried sending again liao.

hi secretgarden, sounds like ur having fun as u go along wif ur wedding prep n hse reno stuff

i'm nt doing much now leh. last nite, my hubby n i juz got down to list out the list of 'to do' and 'to buy' stuff for our wedding. realised that we've missed out quite a couple of stuff. so am actively starting on my research now!
hehe...

btw, girls... can i ask wat kinda shoes to go wif the kua ah?

Hi secretgarden

Hihi... Now trying to slim down loh... try to eat less... Wow it seem like you all have a lot of preparation to do... As for me luckily my love nest reno have been done last year. As my new flat develop fast...

Me not so much wedding prep, cos my mum want to make it simple as possible.... Heehee... :P Luckily me and my hubby..

yo ladies,

me called up WL and make my first appointment on 24 feb .... they were saying that they need more time cos my gowns are all MTM one .... anyway me need time to start shedding some weight for the big day .... guess should start now with all the fittings coming along ....

hi secret garden...u really seem busy, as u still need to have ur house done up. oh u attending marriage pre course but what did they teach!!! hehe

Me not busy, very relax, hehehe as no house to reno. kekekeke

hi hi binbin,

how mnay pple do you allow for food tasting?
your wedding's drawing near how's your preps coming along?

I logged in liao!
your gown's done by helen? so nice! n you look so sweet!
are you going to buy your gown? is your blue cheongsum done by divine too?
who is your makeup artist?
hey where is the railway station?
and where is this place where you took the pic i think it's pic no. 37?

wow! so you maust have topped up alot for the photos? you really look fantastic!

hi brambles,piglets, smallonion, oraia and all

ya! having fun while at the same time getting stressed!hehe
positive stress!

me just gotten the fengshui master to see our house last week, so got to incorporate some changes...
me targetting to settle the quotation and design by say end of this month and hope to start the reno next month or so so that it will end by ching ming else i have to wait till after ching ming to start
then that would be super rush liao

n my 1st appointment with my BS is next Friday!*excited* but i grown fat liao, need to lose wt fast... thinking of postponing the 1st appt keke

but like too many things happen at the same time! haiz

sorry ah, i think i ask this before, but how many xiong dis n jie meis you gers having? can share share?

brambles,
maybe you can look for those red sequins/beading shoes to go with the kua? then that would be perfect !

what research are you doing on? maybe i can help?

piglets,
you no need to slim down lah, already meimei liao

ya, you so good house reno liao at least one MAJOR thing done!
good lei your mum wants it simple! dunno mine last min will start adding things not ....

small onion,
they teach a lot of things! like backgrounds and families of origin of both parties, how they influence us and the marriage, inlaws, conflict management, sexual intimacy, finance, roles of wife and husband, foundation of building a strong marriage etc... me only went for 2 sessions so far still have 3 more to go! but it really enhances our realtionship so far

shd go for it if you gers have the chance

howcome you no house? not ready? so where you staying after married?

hi piglets,
mine is organised by TOUCH community services i think. they have experienced couples who are the counsellors for the course and we go to the couple's house for the course so it's in a more informal environment
so it depends on where they stay.
mine is in serangoon area...

hi binbin,
jus saw ur pics... u look so pretty!!!
btw, which MU artist did u work with??? is it some1 tt ties up with divine??

wow... 54 pages for ur album!!!! tt's a lot!! kekekek.....
rem to show us ur selected photos when they r avail!!!

Oic....

Secretgarden you came back the thread seem to be alive... Me where got mei mei.... Haiz....

Don't noe when the new bridal book coming.... Got to see see look look for my AD WG and EG....

hi secretgarden, you haven't changed, always a tarade of questions hehehhee....
41280.gif

my food tasting is for 6 ppl. addtional ones at charge of $65 each. yep real busy now!!! so stressed, finally confirmed my invites (can u believe it? so late??) for both dinner and church. :P have done up programme and rough seating plan but pending finalisation and the informal RSVP. my GDL is 1 march, our bed coming on 19Feb!!! yeah yeah!! looking forward to that!

yes my gown is down by helen and she added in the little things that made me love it so much! yes i am buying down the gown hehehee..

nope the turquoise cheongsam not done by divine. coz divine dun rent out cheongsams, only for MTM, and i dun wanna keep the cheongsam. so i rented one from Doreen. happens that this one is choose is brand new..hehee...
makeup artist is Joanne.

railway station is near spottiswood park.
depending on luck, may not be allowed to go in....

took me sometime to find out what pic 37 u tokking abt hehehee.... well, i like it coz it looks quite european.
it's actually a power station....

forest, yep Joanne is a makeup artist of divine, ties up with them and Emmanuel B. sure, wait til i get back the album first hehehhe..
41281.gif

Long time no write in liao. Just went to KL with my colleague and gorge myself silly.... and my PS is taking place in 2 weeks time. Now pimples and ulcers popping out. Oh dear!
The first thing my FH asks me when I come back from KL is "How many pounds have you put on?"

Also getting panda eyes now cos every night I spent 2-3 hours sewing beads onto my evening gown for the past 2 weeks. Oh dear, Travis gonna scold me when I go for my photo discussion with him tomorrow.

hi ladies! u gals are so helpful! thanks rabbitwsk, nickel for your advice! just called a few hotels..yup, u gals are right...the banquet manager was quite "surprised" that i called to enquire only at this time!! and my fiance, was also shocked when i told him we got to do our homework and hopefully to finalise by Mar, he hasn't got the invitee list out yet..

when i called, i basically asked for an estimated no. of tables and they were saying...i'm afraid the dates u chosen are mostly booked...except the smaller ballroom...i think i really got to call one by one....

banquet besides the point..i read a lot on going for body scrub, toning up etc etc..i've started anything le!!! oh no! i m so jia lat..i'm scouting for all the spa packages etc etc...hee...i wonder how i will look like boy...

hi blurry
oh no, hmm... try opening up ur options? call up country clubs as well? I think some of the girls mentioned orchid country club? My cousin had his at some swimming club previously, not too bad also. i guess it's because oct/nov are the lunar 8th & 9th months, a lot of people like to get married around this time. don't give up hope yet, keep trying ok? what about meritus mandarin? have u tried calling them? if u need, i've got a contact for that pl cos i used to book a lot of events with them

Hello Gals,

Just to update on my preparations.
My food tasting with the restaurant was a very satisfying one. Everyone said the food was yummy!
Happy with the food...^_^

Now i'm looking around for wedding favors and printing of wedding cards...

No problem, blurry! U can check things with us anytime

TO be frank, I think u might have to go for weekdays to get pl in Oct.

Though its quite rush but dun be too tense up yo! affecting ur health n complexion

For spa package, I did not go to any cos I DIY at hm. Buy a good scrub n do tt every other week. Then go for massage every other month. Maybe u wanna check out some pl with trial package bef u decide on a package. I know inner hamory in far east plaza is giving some trial package. U might wanna try cos I tried n not bad.

hi morning pretty ladies..

blurry..
we will be so happy to know that our little advice and tips do help..me too have a lot of help and sharing from them..

have u confirm on ur date?30/10 is a popular date among us leh.. yes guess u really have to call them up and if the date is available, u must turbo liao, faster book it!
wowoowow..u so fast go into spa liao huh? guess u r the first one to bring out this topic leh..so any good recommendation?/maybe we can ask ard and go together...and asking for cheaper rate!
how about facial?u start looking?i think most of us are discussing about facial now..to be mei mei for our big day!!

hi yvonne, meritus mandarin sounds good, have not call them..maybe u can give me? i try calling...

my fiance doesn't like country clubs cos he finds it a bit inaccessible...to old folks who didn't drive..anyway, i just told him that he has not much choices left!!

i was thinking worse comes to worst..to postpone it later...but his parents were saying that lunar year end is rainy season...not good...sigh...stress ya!

btw, need to check with u ladies...do u hold the ROM and the customary on the same day? will it be very rush ya?

hi everyone!!!
welcome jush and blurblurblur28. blur your nickname is so long leh!!!! so both of you, which day of sept is your wedding???

eternity, skylar:
when we ROM four years ago, our both sides parents said that they dun mind anything they leave everything to us. as long as we are happy. but now, 4 years later, they give up on us!! they pushing us for the customary. initially, said simple one just tea ceremony lah, then slowly they wanted this and that, so now looks like we are having the full event!!!!

is not that we are sianz about AD after 4 years of ROM. now we still think there isn't a need for that lar. in the first place, AD customary is not even in our list of to-do things. me and hubby not traditional. our parents always comment that we are potatoes!!!! hee heee heeee
since we are going through all these for our parents, we just wan them to be happy. we are trying very hard to keep things simple, minimum cost. since we are doing for them, thus we dun except them to pay a single cent. our savings are not intend for AD!!!!

hii rabbistwsk and nickel...hee, think i rush the sala things...haha, like spa etc...me haven't book banquet and bridal package but going into spa liao.,..haha...me damn blur u know...

i've been going for my regular facial with my beautician but she does a lot of extractions, those kind where she sees anything on your face or feel any little bumps she will squeeze them out no matter how hard it takes!!! but, its pretty effective, as it really deep cleanse but sometimes the marks takes a little time to go off...so i'm quite worried and i keep telling her dun squeeze too hard the next few mths..

ya, rabbit, my gf also warned me not to be too tense up and got to relax and relax...

my fiance huh...everything also, huh? so fast ah? so early must book ah? then how ? my gosh...i feel like boxing him...everything also duno...sigh...

anyway, got a lot of good advice here!

so..i'm going to scout for banquet 1st..if not, most likely postpone the dates....heee...guess its the easiest way out le..

hi yvonne,
okies.. will rem u for 38... kakak..

hi kkwai,
wow.. u've made appt with karen!!! tt's good??? when r u seeing her???? i'm contemplating bringing fwd my appt.... haiz... but dunno if i can make time to bring fwd.. really very sian.. wish to see her sooner so tt she can start advising me....

hi blurry..
for me, i will be having it together in church, which mean i dun have to go down to sign the paper, i can ask my pastor to sign in church..
so should be okie..
perhaps some of them have already ROM liao, so that day will only be customary..if u want to be in the same day, guess u have to do a draft plan for the timing and ask ur hubby to come fetch you earlier so that u will not be too rush..dont forget u still have dinner at night..can be quite tiring lor..

Hi Blurry,

Dun worry. There will still be some hotels that is not taken up on 30. But you must rough know how many tables you having. Then you can determine f you need a ballroom or function rooms.
In my case, I wanted a function room but heng book a ballroom. Becoz my hubby's guest list has increase. So can increase the number of tables. A function room has a limit number.
Me also looking into body massage / spa.
Did once. Really feel good and also helps blood circulation and thus will lose weight leh..
Body more relax and think will be good esp for PS and AD.

Me having church and dinner on same day..
Intending to do once a month soon.

hi blurry
give me ur email address and i'll email my contact at meritus mandarin to you. i agree with rabbitwsk, there is a high possibility u may have to select a weekday. there are plus points for weekdays actually, the packages are cheaper, fewer kpos staring at u when u leave ur house, and ur dinner ends earlier as well

i'm also like rabbitwsk, i buy a scrub and DIY at home. I'm using this scrub from Loreal. it smells really good and ur skin feels really smooth after the scrub. have reccomended quite a few of my friends to try it and they love it.

wah, ur beautician very 'on' with the squeezing leh. for mine, she'll try and squeeze as much as possible but i'll keep shouting if it's painful, so, she won't squeeze too much also lah hee hee. but the good thing about her is that even if she does squeeze, there are no red marks after my facial session, good right?

hi forest

Hi Cat! I'm going for PS day after yours. If you like green green, grass grass and some tress, can try Alexander Hill, near SAJC (opp).

Yvonne and Cat: May also want to wear more comfy shoes to walk around to take photos.

When are you all planning to meet the hotel cordinator again to discuss like decor and stuff huh? Soon?

Hi Forest,

Also miss your reply. There are so many, my eyes are popping out..
Aiyoh, only made appointment leh.Haven't gone there.
Want to check with her on the Bacial and eye treatment. It's just consultation so see what she say. Will let you know next week.
You better book her early if you want to go on weekends. She seems busy on weekends.

Hi Nickel,
You have to invite the JP to your church to witness? I have "Romed" and will only held in church as holy matrimony.

hi kk..
sori wat is JP? wat i mean is that my pastor is able to witness the wedding and he will be able to sign for us..so all i need is to go ROM three months b4 my AD, give them the letter by my pastor and i will have my ROM in church liao..hope u understand me, not too good in expressing myself..

Hi Nickel,

It's ok. Me also not sure how it goes.
JP is justice of peace.
OIC. I tot you inviting the ROM people(JP) to your church to sign and declare you and your hubby husband and wife.
Where is your church venue??

hi kkwai,
kekekeke.. i think ur eyes really popping out liaoz... i dint say u met her liao leh.. kakaka
i was asking u when r u mtg her.. since u've made appt with her liaoz....

also, i've mentioned tt i've made appt with her next wkend liaoz... kekekekeke...... its jus tt i cant wait to see her earlier.. n thus, thot of bringing it fwd...

hi blurry,
i actually ve a few frens who had ROM on the same day as customary... wat they usually do is to hold the ROM say an hr b4 cocktail starts... mayb in a function rm... or if u prefer to do it in frnt of all the guests, can do it on the stage as well.....

hi kkwai/nickel,
if im not wrong, i think nickel's pastor has been authorised to solemnise weddings.. n thus, there is no need to invite another JP or Grassroots leader... 1 of my coll's wedding was also solemnised by her pastor.....

hi yvonne,
yap,will be collecting in 3mths times,but we are thinking of checking with HDB if we can extend the key collection date as our wedding is Oct,understand we must produce the cert within another 3mths,if cant,we may have to change our wedding date..haiz a bit worried now

hi kk..
oic..me dun need the JP to come..
juz need to go ROM and tell them i want to marry and guess they will do the rest for me..

my church is near to simei, its actually a small church, more like a mission house..
me thimking of having military wedding but dun know got enuff place for them to stand or not, now still discussing with hubby..

hi nickel,

wow,it would be very nice and grand to have a military wedding..

i do not have a theme for my wedding,all i want is simple and nice...probably a cosy one with my close relatives & friends...