(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date

Wow all of you choosing HM liao... Intend to go japan but now can't liao..

My HB goin italy, milan to work for 2 weeks and ask me to follow him... So no choose...

hi ladies! sorry to mislead all of u...typo error...i'm definitely going for OTR..cos dun think i've time to do MTM gowns...

i think must really sit down and plan everything by this mth....thanks gals for all the advice!!! ;)

hi yvonne,

thanks for the email! will call them up and check..

Hi Dabee,

So i see...... u potatoes ah?? hahaha.... ya lor, true also, cut cost to the min. is the best! no point making a huha then ltr struggle like crazy man! Its a nice thought to have ur dogs included in PS as well! Can't wait to see the pixs thou!

Hi Gin,
Yeh, it sure sounds like a good deal! so ur frd had sign up liao? hmmm..... interesting..... so hows it does to ur face soo far? ...=)
Yap, me also always do mani/pedi one, so nails well, nicely maintained lor, so i guess i will only be gg again during my AD or PS.

So Eternity u also interested ah? hehehee... must look mei mei rite? heheee.... did u also go anywhere else for facials?

How about Niv & her ICO2 ah? seems like very amazing from the TV advts lor!

Hi all the newbies onboard! Welcome!

Happy valentines day 1 hr in advance :p
my brother is chasing me out of his room now(computer is his) haha... cant talk much... catch up with everyone soon.... enjoy this lovey dovey day!!!!!!!!!! :p

Hi oraia,
You're right. I busying sourcing for venue, BS and other wedding preps. On top of that, I just got my new house keys so now I'm also sourcing for reno contractors. Super busy~!

Hi meagan,
For AD photography, u have to decide what style u want. conventional, journalistic or both. Different photographers give you different styles so best is to see their portfolio, chat to them to see if can "click".

I just finalise my AD photographer and I'm so glad that at least I manage to settle 1 item. now still left BS and venue that's more urgent.

hi piglets,

ya lor... tt day hot sun, then i didn't feel so well and got to carry so many things... hai...
hehe. thanks! ya lor, i was carrying umbrella. v auntie hor?
wah!!!!!!! u gg milan ah???!!!!!!! me envious!!!! shiok leh. actually it's my dream to go italy... mabbe will go next yr during summer.

hi twinkleglint,

where are u tinkg of gg for honeymoon? eh... actually we thought just go for a short relaxing honeymoon in aleenta, thailand. but i heard there's really nothing to do there. cannot lah, will die of boredom one!
then we thot go hawaii... so checking prices now, see whr can afford or not ;p

hi secret garden,

not sick sick lah, just like gg to fall sick like tt. i tink v heaty lor. took 1 day mc yest to rest... am gulping water like a camel hehehe.

honeymoon -- ya lor... dec abit tricky... tts y we doing research... ya, shd be gg after wedding, after our 2 nites' stay at bridal suite. if hawaii too far and too ex, mabbe go australia, and do a tasmania/ melbourne trip. LOVE melbourne!!!

dun worri lah, i'm sure ur 1st appt will be v exciting.
so excited for u!!

ho good morning all ladies!

HApPY VAlenTINe DAy!! Njoy urself with your loves one!

feory..
yap yap..so there are three of us liao..wowowo..so excited leh..
i am in the same situation as yours. as i said earlier, my church is kind of pretty small too, juz had a discussion with hubby yest nite, the thing we can do is try to reaarange the seating arrangement and hope that the aisle is not that narrow..

one qn.. how and when the sword bearers should start?is it that the first time is when my dad holding me (with sword bearers) walking down the aisle? then when the pastor announce us as husband and wife, is it that the sword bearers have to stand again to allow us to walk again?get wat i mean?

HAPPY VALENTINE'S, Ladies

Cat : I didn't do much research before photoshoot hence can't suggest greenary venues and provide info abt Asian C @ Sentosa. Coincidently both MU artist & photographer knew each other too so just nice lah, we all went for a joy ride

Fish : To help eye bags / dark rings, place used chilled tea bags on each eyes for 15mins every night should help swelling lightening of eye bags
Be diligent and try it for a week lah, at least it works for me...

Bow_wow : Wah, so fast food tasting liao ah? We are still waiting for hotel to contact us for preliminary discussion. Dunno when leh?

Pianokey : Me too wondering when will be meeting hoteliers. The coordinate we liaise w/quitted, never met the new one before

Cubby : Don't worry, it'll turn out well in your photographer's good hands
Remember to show your pics when it's available okie?

Fantasy : It's inevitable to have gitters, don't worry too much okie, RELAX... Things will be just fine and fun
There's quite a couple of ideas the ladies suggested in this thread mah. Alternatively any eventful venue for you and FH?

For dark eyes, like I mentioned to FISH, place used chilled tea bags on each eyes for 15mins every night should help swelling lightening of eye bags
Be diligent and try it for a week lah, at least it works for me...

hi ladies, happy vday, at our new house now hehheee...

brambles, coz we strategised with our photographer the weekend before our PS, and discuss and decide on the places to go. the venues are all quite close to each other so that we can save the time travelling, did u notice?
and on that day, robin keep wanting to stop at this place and that place to take the photos there...hehehe...so some locations is he suggested one. these are not really in these rejected pics. yes i do them all in one day. the cheongsam one was actually at a temple a few units down the road from robin's studio. so it's considered "indoors". we set off at 2pm and took until 6pm. robin commented that i was still so energectic jumping up and down hehehee....but that was coz i was so grateful for the weather that day, coz for the past few days it was raining so temperamentally.

blurry, thank you...eeerrrrr....dun feel that i look fabulous, just glad and happy i didn't look too wayang in the makeup hhahahahaa.... :P my fav hair style was the cheongsam one and outdoor WG, hehe...

coco, okie, i sent you now! no wonder i couldn't get through initially....

Hello ladies

HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY!

Hi pianokey, let's pray that we get good weather that week ok? Cloudy is ok but should not rain. I think the place that you suggested is Telok Blangah Hill, where Alkaff Mansion was (Yep, past tense, Alkaff is already closed for good).

Hi cubby, did Fullerton Hotel let you take pics without charging? Or is your wedding dinner going to be held there?

Hi bow_wow: You are fast. My food tasting will be sometime in March/April. I'm going to select the invitation design from my hotel next week as well as printers' contact. Do you have any contact details of good printers for the invites?

Hi fish, did u mean you sew the EG yourself? That's amazing! It's a very intricate job.

Happy V day!!

Wow, u all are fast, already took pictures liao! I haven't thot of any place to take, think I will leave it to the photographer. Did u gals wear kua to take pictures? I dunno whether to wear kua or not leh. But do agree that some kuas can be very nice.

I got question for those of you who have taken your pics. How do you go toilet when doing outdoor shoots? The public toilets not very clean right? and the cubicle is so small and sometimes the floor can be wet. With the big skirt and long train and probably can can inside, how to go ah? Do you have any "assistants" like a sister who go with you, or your mummy to help lift the skirt for you? I'm really puzzled leh, but with so many hours outside sure got go toilet one right? And then do you change outfit outside?

hi blurry

ya..i can understand how u r feelin right now.....one mth ago...i oso very kan chiong....coz i only chose my wedding in Dec 03...and wedding had to be on Oct 04.....consider very rush for us.....

initially i selected 30 oct....but think this date very very popular...so cant find a venue for banquet.....lucky i still have some dates to chose....end up i selected 31th instead of 30th....

i din go arnd looking for bridal shop...just went to GHA in Tampines (since it so near my hse) and sign up the packages dat day.......so at least one was settled.....for venue.....the husband flipping thru magz and notice the hotel pixs (poolside) is quite nice....so just went down to take a look b4 cny and fall in love with the place....so after cny we went down to place deposit also....ha ha......for me is chop chop kind....no point giving urself too many choices....it will give u more headaches lor......just shortlist a few place and visit....as for hotel....u call first and get the quotation b4 going down so it will save u time....

ya....my frend always tell me to enjoy the whole process...even thou is stressful....quite true lor....but try not to be too perfectionist also......i goin for my 1st appt with GHA on 27 Feb....quite excited also.......will update u all how it went......think most of the oct brides already settled liao.....not like me......so slow.......

hi nicole...your process sounds very straightforward le! well done yo..ya, i think cannot be too greedy..everything also compare...i want to narrow down my choices to a few so that this makes my searching process easier...i think i'll go for OTR as it will also be easier as they just need to do some alteraltions cos the design i wan is pretty simple so shd be able to get OTR la....maybe last choice...postpone the dates...

u let us know after u try the gown ya...

Oraia

Yup goin Milan, cos hubby go there work, than must well go there for honeymoon. But only there in March 05. After wed will be goin korea for a week treating as a holiday....

having a good V day weekend? nothing special going on at my end, as mentioned, went home shopping today. then kanna headache cos quite hot today, but likely managed to get what we wanted today.

hi nickel
did ur hubby like ur gift? did he buy a cake as well? just to update you, i called up santiago yesterday & realised that sia will still be my co-ordinator, only my make up artist had been changed to joey. told him i'm not as happy with the EG and outdoor WG i've chosen and would like to re-select again. he was very nice and said ok, so, i'll be going down again in a couple of weeks to select again

hi feroy
how? did u get something for ur hubby in the end?

hi blurry
no worries, just let me know if you have any problems ok? yes, OTR gowns are definitely better if u don't have much time. as nicole has mentioned, start narrowing down ur choices, then u won't have as much headache.

hi c0co
hope you had a good V day as well

hi secretgarden,
things going fine. now busy wif reno lor. today went up to see my hse, contractor had completed all the flooring and had clear debris as well as clean up our hse.........very excited abt it.

i havent been doing anything for my wedding. i have type out a spreadsheet on things to buy, that's all.

hi piglets,
wow, so envy u can go milan and somemore thinking of a trip to korea. me interested in a short trip to korea too but must see if we got $$ cos all tied up in the hse reno liao. like jeju very much........

hi oraia,
me also thinking of going aleeta too cos really very nice. my col went there for HM and she had given good comments. but that place quite boring and somemore now got birdflu. i not really scare of the birdflu but the thai govt cos they take the birdflu issues very lightly.......

for HM, me consider Korea, Hawaii, europe, Japan, Aust. but havent done any research yet. most likely postpone to year 2005, spring time if going Korea, europe, japan cos i scare of cold so dun want to go during winter.

hi HP,
u choose who for AD photographer?

Good morning on a lovely Sunday!!! Hope your valentine's day was great...!

yvonne...
nope, din get anything for hubby... but bought him a small card though... he 'planned' a surprise... made a reservation at the restaurant where he proposed (exactly 1 year back on V-day too!
)...
hi nickel,
I'd think the sword party goes something like this - pastor announces bride to march in, sword party marches in slowly, bride comes in with dad, dad hands bride to groom, pastor commences service. at this pt, the sword party falls out quietly. then just b4 the groom and bride walks down the aisle as husband & wife, the sword party will march in again (quickly this time), fall into position then bride and groom walks past them...
but of cos got a lot of different variations one la... i once saw a couple who did the sword thingy only after they walked out of the sanctuary, at the steps of the main entrance... so i guess it's really up to the individual...
BTW, did you managed to surprise hubby with your gift?

babysheep,
if i read your posting correctly, you're the one in the armed forces instead of your hubby? if so, wow... lady officer...

ya, me and hubby had same sentiments too... to us, we're really considered married only after the church ceremony... so the ROM was really more so for the flat... what we did was quite similar to yours too.. the house is now vacant, and we'll move in only after Oct.. but one good thing is that i dun have to worry abt the house or reno now... concentrate purely on the big day... !

blurry,
if you're going for OTR, then you should have sufficient time... more imptly, try to select your BS soon, then things will start to fall in place... I agree with Yvonne.. taking OTR is safer as you can really get unwanted surprises with MTM gowns... actually me having nightmares every now and then abt how my gowns will turn out when i try them when they're ready...

Hi bin bin

still remember me?? happen to pass by this thread and saw a lot of good feedback of your photo, can I take a look too? I having my PS in early March too, very excited and look forward to it. My email is [email protected]

Hi hi . . my first time here and need some urgent help wif my venue cos i think i'm kinda late . .

planning to confirm my booking (for early Dec 04) wif e oriental soon . . .anyone heard anything good/bad about the place/coordinators/food?

hi bynne,

i haven't attended any weddings at the oriental, but i attended a convocation there once. the food's pretty good!

i think there's an "oriental" thread at the banquets section, so i think the other oriental brides will be able to tell u more!

hv u sourced anything else besides the venue?

babysheep,
read the postings again then realise i sa lar... you've already mentioned that your hubby in army... *pai seh*

kkwai,
how abt city harvest? it's a bit far out la... but they do rent out their premises...

fairymoss : I didn't bring Kua to outdoor shoot cos my evening gown is right red colour as well. I was wearing my wedding gown for outdoor, it was super troublesome as the floor was wet. My Sis helped me with holding my gown and the long train. Afterall grew up with Sis, not shy lah :P I had wedding gown for outdoor only, changed hairstyle when outdoor though

skylar,

me don't haf the habit to go for facials... so yah, a bit headache to decide where to go leh... how abt u? interested in Haach or the ICO2???

hi bynne,
don't worry. if you ask the banquet manager to hold for you, they will do so until the next couple request for the same venue. but they will still call to confirm if you want to place deposit before they will consider the next couple's request. so priority is still you loh

hi,i have attended a dinner few months back, find the food nice, got standard one..just find the ballroom a bir odd shape, in a fan shape, curvy design..

hi all ladies!
i hoped all of you had a great and wonderful Valentine day with your loved ones ;);)

hi kkwai,
ya, thats why i only invite my close friends and there are only 3 tables for myself and a few tables for relatives so the rest will be my FH's buddies ands friends...he got loads of friends,as you know guys will be guys...keke

hi nickel,yvonne,
thanks for your suggestion!as we are planning to inform HDB about it when we are going down around april,hopefully they will grace our request...we are praying hard now lor...;)

hi yvonne,
no,we havnt ROMed yet..we plan to hold our ROM solormaization together with the wedding dinner on that day,that means we will ROM just before the dinner starts..so everything will done in just a day...

oh btw,hows your headache now?hop you are fine now ,do take care yo,

hey im happy for you that you must be getting on very well with your parents inlaw...

Onee,

U are so lucky to have sister! I got brothers only, so how ah? My mummy won't be free to go photoshoot with me coz it's weekday and grandma is alone at home so she got to accompany her at home. My bridesmaid is a teacher so she got to work as well. how ah??

Do u all eat while taking pics outside or just eat bread? otherwise cannot tahan hor..so long the shoot. what i'm afraid is go those ulu places, or those beaches where the toilets very dirty one, then it would be difficult to go toilet lor, and hubby cannot go in with me, and my designer is a guy!! aiyoh...siao liao...

Just ordered a bed today, one thing down. Do you girls "an chuang'? when to an chuang and who to do that?

hi adidas~!
glad to know that

I guess the most important thing is that we muz feel comfortable with the BS, good or bad comments abt BS can only be use as references

bin bin... u look great great great! Robin did a great job...

ur gown looks real floaty and romantic... hmnn... fantastic!!!!!!!!

hi morning everyone! its morning blues again!!
but lets look forward to a wonderful week k..

yvonne..
how u feeling now?hope u r better by now..do take care k..yap, my hubby was quite surprised by the card that i made, where i put our younger days photo together, when he saw it, he peng man!
oh yes, he never bought me a cake so heng, if not cant finish liao..

yap..so happy for u that sia is your coordinator, i think he is a great man! so when u going down again? hope that u can find something that u like this time..me will be going down tomolo, hope that me can get wat i want too..
quite excited liao..

feroy
thanx for ur information..me shows it to my hubby liao, he say something like that lor, but he will find out more from his army friends..

pikota..
hope that u can really tok to them and hope that they will agree on this, if not we will lost one oct bride liao..

how about the rest??any sharing or updates about ur vday and wedding preparation??

It's monday morning again. *sign* So tired, dun want to wake up today.
Din do much on V-day, guess lao fu lao qi liao. But did give something to hubby, a very practical stuff, and only my hubby would like it. Say it out here hah, u gals will peng! hahaha...

Went shopping around for frige and washing machine yesterday, since these two are the confirmed buy before we can live in the hse. The rest can still slowly shop after wedding if really no time. Was quite pleased with LG brand, value and function-wise, anyone here got any comment on LG stuff? The washing machine got some new technic that washes like a front-load one and same time, save water and energy.

Hi Feroy,

City harvest is way out. Too far.
And their premises is big.
I am not inviting too many people. Around 150 people. If too big the church, will look bare.
Thanks for helping.

Hi Forest,

Have sign up with Devotion.
Me sign up the Eye and Bacial. Starting this weekend. Me start early, will look better.
heehee...

Hi Lynn,

Must be fun, shopping for stuffs.
My washing machine is top load (toshiba). So can "intercept" last minute.
LG is not bad. Few friends using it.

Hi Pikota,

Envy you. Me also wanted simple. But MIL wanted "grand dinner" but heng we restricted on the max number of tables or else we will be broke... :P

Yvonne / Fairymoss : Any close friend who might wanna help you? Some couples go alone to PS too. I think some bridal shop will arrange a photographer and helper. You might wanna check with yours?

Fairymoss : Indeed I am very blessed to be close with my elder Sis. She's a wonderful help especially during the past few months shuttering around with us on wedding stuff. Hehe, 10years ago, I was with her and my Bro-in-Law when they had their PS too
It was nice that we were around for each other's wedding

I didn't cos no appetite. The rest of them ate at Delifrance while I took the opportunity to run to the ladies lor.

Hehe, we've been sleeping on our new bed for months now. We were told that our "an chuang" will be my Hubby changing the bedsheet and shifting the bed a bit (action action). That's all, very simple one cos both sets of parents not pang-dang. You might wanna check with your both sets of parents?

Hi HP,

Actually should be okie cos I did my MTM ROM gown with WL .... anyway you can staill ask them to change if you are not comfortable with what you see .... when I did my ROM gown ... I actually ask them to change the neckline of the top of me oso ....