(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date

wah.... suddenly the thread so active..

CNY coming.. I wish all June 2004 btbs happy lunar new year & a prosperous one too!

I am having probs wif new hse renovation so seldom come in.. I think by the time I settle my new hse probs, it will very very very near our wedding already.. *slurps* time really flies!!

Count down 5 more months to AD!

Me off today and tomorrow, but Sat have to work already.

I tie and watch TV at same time. Take my own sweet time.
Hi Blim, my strings all very long, so no worries.

Only done half today, will continue tomorrow.

hi meagan/ HP/ postpet2,

welcome!

meagan -- since u already bot ur WG, why dun u do all ala carte? u can MTM an EG/ rent one... and find ur fav photographer for the PS... find a good florist for all ur floral decor...

i think it's prob gg to be more worth it than signing a package...

my 2 cents.

hi HP,

so hv u got any tentative bookings w any hotel on 19 dec? apparently it's also a really popular date, one of my frens recently also was looking at that date, and alot of hotels are booked...

hi postpet2,

are u still scouting ard for ur bridal studio?

Hi Ivory

Oh dear... pls take care of yourself. Actually me also sick, also been to doctor non-stop. Feel terrible but can't take MC anyway. In fact now still at work... =(

Thanks for updating the list. BTW, my hubby is a Tiger but born in 1975 (before the CNY).

Can't wait for the holidays to arrive and can't wait for 28 jan when we can all 38.

And yes, pikota, really wish to get more ang bao this year... this year, last year liao. My hubby and I agreed, next year this time will be cash outflow for us.

Hello.

wishing all Feb 04 brides a happy and prosperous year of the monkey

1 more month to most of our wedding and 2 weeks plus left to our first bride of the month

Hey Smurfy, how is preparation going?
Wishing you a blissful marriage ahead. Have a GREAT wedding.

Our prep is going well. send out invites already, Has also chosen the songs for the dinner. Now left with the preparation of actual day itinerary

hello everyone,

Happy new year to all.
39912.gif

Less than 2 weeks for me!!

Have done up the room & stuff....Now left with the RSVP-ing and the seating arrangement.

Meeting up with my helpers this Sunday...hope everything will run like clock work on my AD.

Hi Pageup,
Thanks for your well wishes. Hope the same goes to you too

Me almost (bits and pieces here and there) done with everything:
1) Songs chosen but not burned into CD yet
2) Got a reasonable-size ang bao box but not wrapped up yet
3) Had not sat down and gone through my AD program yet

Some questions:
1) Is it necessary to meet up with helpers?
2) Do we need to plan seating arrangement for relatives?
3) How much ang bao should we give to our helpers, makeup artist, driver etc.?

Wishing all Feb brides a Happy Lunar New Year
39924.gif

Hi Piper,

just went back to check thelist, oh yah.. you are the 1st bridefor Feb 04.

Look like you are all ready.Remember to drink lots of fluid, have enough beauty sleep, so that you are sure to be the prettiest bride on that day

Enjoy your big day.

nickel...
kekeke... im still very quiet... these few nites bcos of medication n sickness sleep very early... so my hubby was spared of my 'noise'

feroy...
wah... so good.. u on leave since yesterday...

babysheep...
u oso poor thing like me.. lucky i c company doc so no need to pay.. else i wun even go n see doc ah...

me last nite oso worked until quite late, then gotta deliver new year goods to my mum's place, by the time i reach my hubby home.. KO!!!!

later still have to run a few places... heng tdy oni work 1/2 day, so not that bad... after work go home n rest until reunion dinner time...

EC is built by private developer ... but we need to follow the HDB rules ... like we need to stay for 5 years than we can sell to PR and Singaporean .... after 10 years it will be privatise so we can sell it to any one we like ...

so its a hybrid of HDB flat and private condo .... and you need to earn less than 10k to get the 30k grant (which is similar to HDB whereby earn less than 8k to get the grant) ...

we only asked our parents for the month of wedding and inform them that we plan to have it on 2 seperate days .... then we will choose based on what the feng shui master says lor ... so that they won't keep questioning our decision ....

now only praying hard that there wil not be any 3rd aunt and 6th grandaunt to influence our parents of anything ....

Happy new year ladies!! And lotsa money come along our way .... heehee

39928.gif

Wishing all a Happy & Prosperous Lunar New Year!!!

GONG XI FA CAI !!!

P/S: Hmmm..., this is our last year to collect ang pow liao, so gotta treasure hor... hahaha...

hi hp,

oh, is it?? never mind lah, big arms big arms lah... cannot help it anyway... ;p

hi seabreeze,

oh,i see..... now i understand EC better.. hehehe...

hahaha... so funny right? the relatives and friends of parents always seems to be the influencing factor.... i find it totally amusing...

that's what always happen to my mum too.... often she say ok ok when i informed on wedding stuff. then a few days later, she will say dun do this or that, cos the who-who say no good... wah liao, everytime i feel like fainting!!! last time, i will always argue with her on all these. Now, i will just nod nod my head and end off by saying, "it's my wedding, mum."

Hello Smurfy,

To answer ur qns,

1) I think it will be good to meet up with them so that they are familiar with their roles. For me, my sis-in-law will the "OIC", hence she requests to meet up with the helpers so that on the actual day, she'll be able to identify who's doing what & not screaming around for names - very unglam.

2) You definitely need to allocate a certain no. of tables for your relatives. There may be cases where so-and-so cannot sit with so-and-so. Therefore, it'll be good if you have a rough idea which group of relatives is gonna sit with who.

To give u an example, during my sis's wedding, my parents did not believe in seating arrangment for the relatives as well. Then on the actual day, it was very chaotic coz my parents did not put down on paper who's gonna sit with who. In the end, my mum's nieces & nephews are sitting at the 2 opposite end of the ballroom.

The rule of thumb is - have a rough idea which auntie or uncle is going to sit with who. Or which group of relatives is occupying which tables. Hope that helps in ur planning.

3) As for ang pow, it's really a token of your appreciation. I would think give within your limits. I'll be giving them enough to cover their petrol costs & taxi fares plus a bit more to thank them for their help. Dun forget, both sides of the parents are gonna give them an ang pow as well...take tat into consideration.

hello pageup,

Thanks! Will definitely try to have enough rest during next week & gotta restrain myself during CNY - 1 pineapple tart a day

Think really gotta watch my diet during this festive season.

Hi Piper,
Thanks for answering my questions

Seems like you have slightly more than 1 week more to your AD. Wishing you all the best.

well we really can't please everyone ... so me only listen to advise that i think are logical lor ....

like my feng shui master advises that we start our wedding ceremony after 8am .. then my MIL was saying things like teochew custom is to leave the house early etc ... so we told her that timing given by the master so listen lar ... esp since we paid ... hee hee ... naughty hor ...

39938.gif

Hi oraia,

Thanks for the advice. Yeah I am thinking of going ala carte all the way, but very lazy to start! Haha think i need some motivation from you gals.

Hi piglets, which package did you take? Without the WG, I was quoted abt $2700 with the Merz. Not sure if I can get a better package somewhere.

12 and 19 Dec are quite hot dates...=)

hi pikota75
i'm very lazy, don't want to have a banquet, too much headache
we'll only have the tea ceremony followed by a lunch reception at our new place. simple and informal so that our guests won't have to sit in a table filled with strangers for 3 hrs

U'd better start booking ur banquet early cos u've about 8 months to go and if 10 Oct turns out to ba another auspicious date, u might be faced with disappointment. but make sure u shop around before u committ. A couple of my friends just signed with the hotel without negotiating the details and when it got closer to the date and they needed extra stuff from the hotel, everything was chargeable. All these should be negotiated properly when u sign up with ur banquet venue

hee hee, i'm not working today, my company gave us the full day off, not bad right?

Wow.. this thread has been quiet for quite some time liaoz... guess every1 must b either on lve or busy prepping for CNY...

Just wanna pop a message to wish every1 a VERY HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR!! N for those not yet gone thru customary.. its the last yr for us to collect ang pows liao!!!!

ivory n babysheep,
aiyo.. sick ah... betta take care... must enjoy the cny goodies okies!!!!

just wanna wish all Oct 2004 Brides a HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR!!!

hi ladies!!

HAPPY LUNAR NEW YEAR TO ALL!!!

hi miaows,
welcome to the thread!! wow 6/6 is really a popular date!! think after CNY u got to get a BS soon.. think better go 4 OTR.. cos MTM abit rush.. got to allow time for PS also leh!!

other things prep liao??

hi fantasy,
thks but stil canot acess leh.. can u email to me?? [email protected] thks!!

hi seabreeze,

yah loh... how to satisfy everyone?? will go crazy leh, so many pple involved in wedding prep...

hahaha... you are also another naughty one... heheh..

Happy New Year and collect more ang pows!!!

hi moemoecham,

oh yes,thanks...we will be looking for it somewhere after CNY, there are a few we had in mind lor...actually i would prefer like you, having a lunch instead of dinner...but my future in-law prefer dinner...where will you be having at? ;)

HAPPY NEW YEAR ONE & ALL!
Last year to collect ang pows liao...must cherish every one!

Dear Piper, Smurfy, Odie and Blue Lake (and Dumpling, Lovebyte and Miso.. if you're checking in),
All the best! Have a GREAT time. Share your experiences ok?

Wishing all a Happy Lunar New Year too.

Aiya cc2, today work also only half day what. Some more everybody New Year mood already. HB actually wanted to take leave, but office have lucky draw for items from hampers they received so he went back lor. Just sms me that he got 3 bottles of XO, cos colleagues who got it gave him.

Hello ladies,

Wishing all a very happy and prosperous lunar new year. Last year to collect ang pow. Must be more hardworking... do more leg work... kekek... 4 days of holidays becos of us!! @>@

Cubby, sorry. Can try again.

hi pikota75,

yah, luckily both our parents weren't keen on a banquet, so, we could get away with it
. our new place is at bukit gombak, will be getting our keys next week, very excitings

Hi ladies...Sorrie been MIA for some time.

Hi girlfriend, you having reno blues as well? Hehe..same here. Who's your ID?

Hi cubby,
There are many JPs out there, not just David Loh. I got my MIL's teacher who is a registered JP with ROM. She's a very nice lady. Her name is Mrs Bertha Neo. To me ROM is a very significant event, thus I also chose to do it outside ROM

As for trial make-up...I've just done it last Sun. It was pretty fun. I hardly put on make up thus it was quite an interesting experience for me...

Ok..got to go pai nian already...

HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR EVERYONE....(My mum was saying this is my last CNY in the house. Next yr I have to give ang bao already).

Hiiii, HAPPY LUNAR NEW YEAR, Ladies : ) Must be diligent to collect ang baos this year, last year to do so liao...

Fairymoss : Now working in Clementi area. Can understand your dread every morning. Aft wedding, I'll move to the east, will then be my turn to shuttle bet east and west everyday :< Luckily hubby works pretty near my office, like bow-wow, get to zzz for a while...

Fantasy : Trying to control. Ate so much at reunion dinners *slurp slurp* Still home, hopefully I'll remain controlled whenever palattes of goodies are displayed *temptations* hehe... It's very individual when it comes to human interaction. So do you have anyone in mind liao? Must speed up decision making, times running short...

Hi Pretty Brides-to-Be,

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!

Smurfy, Piper , Odie and BlueLake,
Enjoiys your wedding day. Be the prettiest bride! : )

mee mee

mee mee

Girls,

Happy CNY!!!

I'm still at home, going pai nian later. ate lotsa goodies liao. oh no, feel the spare tyre spilling out of the dress liao. getting a sorethroat from all the baked stuffs and soft drinks. Luckily postpone the fitting to another week, otherwise sure cannot fit.

Onee,

U good at least your hubby working near your office. My hubby works in Raffles place and he only start work at 9am, so he woke up later and i will have to go to work myself early early in the morn.

Last year of collecting ang pows, relatives already start asking me when would be my turn to give, then the next question to ask after learning the wedding is near, is "must quickly have kids orhh..."

hello all dec 2004 brides!!!

HAPPY LUNAR NEW YEAR!! Gong Xi Fa Cai!!

hi psmissyou!

welcome welcome!

how are your preps so far?

hi girls

thanks for the well wishes... me now still sick and feel v weak. feel like vomitting all the time. die die, not even pregnant, but feel like puking all the time.

next time morning sickness.... dunno how.,

Happy CNY gals!!! I'm Ju, the 6th bride to get married on 6 Jun! I agree with fairymoss that miaows shd start looking for a bridal studio now, else your photos might not be ready on time.

ladies,
Gong Xi Fa Cai! Wan Shi Ru Yi! Hou Lian Hao Yun!

This yr may be the last yr for some brides to collect hongbao. but if you are teochew, still can collect next yr and dun have to give, that what my mil told me.

Hello Judy and Miaows, welcome to this thread!

happy new year everyone!

i am doing it ala carte and found my makeup artist and florist. I did bought a WG at Le Galleria 2 weeks ago and now looking out for EG.

heard that vanity is having a sale now. am hoping to find a EG there though. anyone been to the sale? how's the gown?

hi ladies...

am back from all the festivities.... ate so much for the past few days... *urghh* tummy big big now...

babysheep, dun wori... we'll all continue cheering each other on post marriage, during pregnancy, share tips on raising our kids etc ya? so if we have morning sickness, i'm sure someone in the forum will be able to offer advice and tips...

uhmm... back to my qn previously... can i stil serve tea to my daddy since my AD clashes with his zodiac sign...?

Happy CNY to everyone...

oria: no...me have not settled on my package yet...think after this holiday will start lah...after i had my fill of bak gua...ahhaha

Hi oraia, it's really a hot date. till now, most hotels and country club that I approach are fully booked. the hotel managers even told me that the ballrooms are booked as early as last year oct. that is why I have no other info except a tentative date for my wedding

really hope can find one soon, else alternative plan is to have customary on 19 dec, wedding banquet on next night, 20 dec.