(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Ted Wu is a good choice. Heard a lot of good comments on the gowns.
So u can finally relax a bit on ur planning now....

For photogapher and videographer, I have not much recommendations cos I'm using my 'uncle's service'. But I went down to Academy Video last week to look at their album and end we oso look thru their videography work. Quite professional leh but the price oso 'professional' lah. If u dun mind the budget and are looking for pro quality work, can check them out. They did a few weddings for TCS artistes. Think they got a website but I dunno the exact website address though.

I am also a April 04 bride. Seems like really this is not a active month to get married.

lin,

ur wedding on 04/04/04??

Nice to meet you. I am also a 04 bride. But my wedding month thread seems 'silent', so thought of joining this thread.

hi orosalind,
Thanks..ya.finally settle another big thing..

Oh, I heard abt this academy video too and of cos the price.
Dun think will have such a high budget. Are you getting a videographer also?

Hi Questy,
Welcome..another oct 30 bride..a popular date indeed..

Are u still sourcing ard? If not, you can place the deposit, and they will call up the couple to confirm their booking.

Hi blurq,

My uncle and his tu di will take photos oni (my uncle taking candid and journalistic style while his tu di taking those normal shoots). Hence, I'm still thinking if I shld get one videographer or just ask my sis-in-law / brother-in-law to take digital cam to record. Then I will end up with 3 pax doin AD shoots, like a bit exaggerating leh.

Trust my uncle's work cos I rec a lot of good comments on my ROM photos but a bit scared his tu di cannot make it but my uncle insist his tu di to help out.

Ivory, Soupie, Twinkleglint:

Wendy and I were supposed to be married on Dec 4th or 5th, 2004. However, we later decided to bring it forward to April 2nd. Hehe. Otherwise we'd all be in the same month! Tough.

Wendy's aunt hasn't started making her gown yet i think. Preps still going on. We're not really stressing out yet i think. Just got David Loh to do our solemnization. Hmmm....nothing much else happening. We're spending our days taking photos, because i'm planning to start up my own photography shoppe.

Amos, twinkle, soupie..

aiya... me 4th Oct lah... not Dec.. kekekeke...

Amos

why bring forward leh? i forbade my hubby to choose an earlier date.. like dat i more time to jian fei.. hahahaha....

I'm back! seem like i'm still the first one here to hold customary :P

I m going to meet my designer tonight for my EG and for 2nd fitting of WG. Very excited! Anyway going to MIA for a while, will be out of town end of this month. Going for overseas trip *grin* looking forward to the well-deserved rest.

Btw, orosalind, does ur uncle do free-lance AD PS? Might have brides here interested n looking for one. Can help find out the charges? Tks in advance.

Hi Lynn,

Ya, u r the first one hor, must give us advice after ur wedding.

Sori, but my uncle is not a freelance photographer. His with one of the local TV station and photo-taking is his job. He is not doing this as part-time but rather as a favor to me.

twinkleglint,
no email frm u leh!?!?!?

ivory,
hee hee... actually, urs is still slightly less than a yr away.. so of cos wun feel too stressed lor.. the trick to getting more perks is to b very thick skinned n bargain lor.. but i understand tt certain hotels r quite strict.. n wun even budge!!!

soupie,
rem to sms me so i can pass the cd to u hor.. kekekeke...

hi orosalind,
U are so lucky. Can save quite a lot if ur uncle is doing it for u.
Some more he is a professional, you dun have to worry abt it..

Hi lynn,
Nice to see you again.
Wow..second fitting...that's fast..when is ur PS?
I am sure you are very excited, cos' the WG is designed by u..you must have the 'man zu gan'..rite?

Oh ya..have a nice trip..

forest,

i think so... kekeke... den u just wait until near the date n start hearing me screaming lor.. like this
35447.gif

i dun think Hyatt will budge lah... at most give us 1 more barrel free... hmm...

Hi orosalind and blurq,
Thanks for the warm welcome! ROM is coming soon, still no feeling for it yet, he...! just felt excited when trying for gowns.

i'm still looking around for resturants incase it was taken up. Think will roughly knw the answer by 2m, cos if it's taken up, then i dun need to waste my time to view the hall.

tot to get mabel lee for ROM and AD photos, but she's expensive.

Yeah. The hotels don't seem to budge much these days.

Ivory,

My bad. Got a little confused somewhere down the line. Hehe. We brought the wedding forward because it seemed like a long wait. We actually began planning around Jan 2003, which would make it almost 2yrs in advance. So, some time around mid-yr, we decided that there was no point waiting so long.

Hi Pisduck...

i booked with Bridal Zone and my banquet will be at Pan Pacific Hotel....
wah..... how come you so early go for you PS????
your gowns are ready???? still have a long way to go leh..... i will be going for my PS in may or june 04......

Cin_p: yo, u sotong ah...U asked abt hotel and BS, so how can ST be singapore technologies and IC be identity card leh? ST = Sheraton Towers and IC = Irene's Creation.

See that many of the brides here all marrying late next year, no wonder can hibernate for a while. My wedding is just about half a year away, so now getting busy liao. now starting my intensive treatment for my skin, also to keep in shape. very cham, must cut down on oily food, spicy food. U girls got jie kou or not?

Ivory: hello hello! I heard of Popular, my colleague's sis-in-law got hers there. Although not branded shop, but it has a long history of making gowns. Since it can survive so long despite this crisis, it should have certain standard.

Amos: are u the first one in this thread to get married? heard mostly year end, me mid-year, yours is 2 mths before me.

I just collected my shoes. one thing settled liao. *relief*

hi orosalind

u r lucky gal!
Anyway, i'll definately pass whatever info i know to all of u. hehe.. maybe i shld also peek into Sept brides to check things out for myself. :P

hi blurq
yap, back. It's been a long hectic wk of attending weddings and clearing my intray, in time for my leave. :P

2nd fitting for my WG is great. they did what i have requested them to do so and I have a new designer which is gd and professional. She gives me ideas on what suit me. My EG is settled now. It's going to be red, bustier and with a special long train.
it's great to design your own gowns!

blurq, Ted Wu is gd. Sure u'r in gd hands.

fairymoss:

That's a damn good question. I don't think i know everyone's AD. Alright. POLL TIME!
Could everyone post their wedding dates in 2004 please? I'll keep track of it and come up with a list.

pebbles.. ya lor.. alot of shopping to be... i also ve been spending my weekends shopping for furniture... i'm left with bathroom accessories. bank acc is getting lesser & lesser =( dec wil be a hectic mth.. tidying up the pl & alot of details to finalise.

hi ivory.. long time no post huh.. glad tat u've comfirmed ur date & venue.. hyatt very difficult to bargain for more peaks. are u using the grand ballroom? me also leh.. after PS also gain some weight
i've only 2 mths to slim down... siao liao lah.

fairymoss.. i jus being boliao abt ST & IC lah.. keke...sheraton tower arh, not bad leh. i wan to lose weight but din jie kou leh.. (like tat how to slim down) kekeke. u collected ur shoes? for your WG? did u custom make ur shoes?

amos..
i shall be the 1st to report... keke.. mine on the 7th jan 2004. w/o the contact list, we are getting so confused with each other wedding details.

hi meijia
hi, saw u somewhere.......ke...my dec'04 thread also very quiet cos some go rom, tour, etc. basically because we all dec'04 brides still far so at the moment nothing to talk abt.

hi amos,
u interested in photography huh? good loh, FH n me realise that it can be very fun aft we bought our first digicam. now we r studying on photoshop n macromedia cos trying to do own montage/slideshow. dun kn can work or not......

anyway, u kn my date rite? i have note down ur date in my little black book but wait 4 ur list lah......hehehe

hi ivory,
oops, see wrongly,
. u got go n neg wif hotel again? thick skin a bit really help. *haiz* i didn't neg much when signing up BS, now also a little bit uneasy.

hi fairymoss, ivory, cin_p
i see my rom photos like a bit "ba ba". so need to tone up if not AD more "ba". ai yo, now have to go jogging during weekend. but sometimes didn't go (like always find excuse not to go)..

hi forest,
huh? u didn't rec??? ok i will go n resend. funny hor sometimes i cannot rec urs too.

Twinkleglint: Sent you PM. I've been into photography since i was 15yrs old, and learned how to process film from canister to prints. I used to hangout at my secondary school's darkroom every weekend with my shutterbug buddy. The equipment was ancient, but we made do. Now, what i have to do is gain more experience by taking as many shots of different varieties as possible. I recently upgraded from my Nikon Coolpix 4300, to a Canon EOS 300D digital SLR, so taking tons of shots is not a costly affair as far as developing costs go. I think it's time to retire my trusty ol' film SLR. I'll keep that one as an antique. Hehe.

Everyone: I'll e-mail everyone the list once it's pretty filled up. That way we can all update our own copies.

wow, so much action this past week. Have been so stressed out with work...so haben got the time to log in ...

hi amos & wendy, binbin, cin_p, forest,
i was thinking that before i post the photo (our outing) on the internet, it's better for me to ask permission fr u...dun noe whether u r ok with me posting it on this forum. If not, i rather tt i send the pix via email...more private... If not, i just developed the photo and send it via snail mail. ;-) how?

amos: My wedding date is the same as cin_p...7th Jan 04. Banquet is on the 9th Jan 04. ;-) Btw, have u confirmed with Chijmes? U've got a mighty good deal ;-)

hi cin_p,
how's yr prep so far? I just confirmed with my printer 2 days ago. I was having several iterations with them for the past 2 weeks before they finally got it rite...it's a real frustrating experience! luckily u wun encounter such problems....heehhehe

hi soupie,
long time no c u!!! so u hainanese? me cantonese...got to have roasted pig...they say it signifies chastity....*sigh* all those customs are so troublesome...

hi ivory,
yr bridal shop at Popular? I tot they have pretty nice gowns. Me work ard that area...always pop by their shop. They have now shifted to Jurong East Entertainment centre...I wonder whether the designer is still that young designer who graduated from La Salle. Quite like his designs. ;-)

hi cin_p,
I quite like the atelier's video presentation. not sure abt. the price tho. will check out wif William (correct?) on the price before i psycho my hubby.
how? u want back the cd-rom? how to pass it back to you?? paiseh...it's been in my possession for a looonggg time.

i think me going to maldives for my honeymoon...but u noe...the resort tat i want to go....is all fully booked!!!!! urgghhh!!! i'm too slow in finalising the details....*sob sob*

hi hi ladies!

cin_p, smallonion and fairymoss, my bridal is Divine, so my photographer is not inhouse ones.... i signed up with Robin photography....
so of course i need to bring my gowns home, coz Robin takes photos at his own studio mah..hehehhee....and boy won't I jump at the chance to sleep with my gowns beside me hehehe....

Cin_p, surprised u ask coz i tot u know.
nope din get my CS from them, coz Divine only makes cheongsam for brides, they dun rent. i only wanna rent the CS, so i got it from Doreen Le Galleria..
the one i chose was newly made, so i beri happy..

soupie, yah loh! can understand my feelings right? now the WG and EG is hanging outside my wardrobe..hehhehee.....so when i open it i can look at it...

forest yes i have been in raffles plc in the evening recently, coz i have been going to fotohub in oub centre. why didn u call me???? :P

Amos, i think all the oldies have the compiled list of data, it was compiled by Pebbles. I have it, but it's not updated. pebbles have always been the one to compile, so we din keep track hehehhehe.....

Ino, sorry but I do not wish the photos to be posted on the web... :P can u send to us through email pls? better that way. thanks!

amos, cool!! my hubby is also into photography.. he's been wanting to get a DSLR.. but the ones he wanna get are sooo ex! :P so he's using a SLR now... he's always going around sg to take pics.. botanic gardens, zoo, or special occasions/events like the recent powerboat race at marina...and just last week to geylang serai after the light up... or he'll just go anywhere he fancies and click away
can see some of his pics at http://gallery.igloo.per.sg

ino, yeah...my mum say suppose to have roast pig.. but she finds it too mafan.. especially the cutting up so will do away with it.. but nearing my date which is still quite some time away.. i hope she dun change her mind kekeke :P
yeah.. cantonese definitely have roast pig eh.. cos my hubby's BIL is cantonese gave his sis a roast pig on AD also..

cin_p, so the cd u passed to forest is from Atelier? heard their portfolio is quite good.. u're using them for ur AD?

I am a 12-Dec-2004 bride. At this very early stage of the wedding, I am troubled with the very wide selction of wedding packages in the market. And I would hope if there are any experts out there whom can share their valuable experience with me which bridal shop that offers a good rate (approx 4k) and service. Especially bridal pictures must be turn out good. I actually have Whitelink, J&C Bridal and Milan in mind. What do you gals out there think?

hi valaxy
y r u troubled? dun b, list out the good n bad then compare. i think u r confused rather than troubled lah. me also like that initially but now all settled (BS = whitelink and banquet = pan pac) so relax abit liao. however me now start sourcing for photographer n videographer, abit confusing...too many selections.

i can share wif u anything, jus send me a pm.

Pebbles:
Yup..saw the thread abt Kim..have u seen her yet? is her workmanship and prices good? am quite interested to meet up with her when i am back..

Hope everyone is having fun ....am sloggin for 1 more paper! JIA YOU JIA YOU!

Hi Ivory,

My wedding month April but seems like not much poeople get married in that month, the thread seems qite silent.

I have finished my PS in Sept and have selected my photos liao, nw deciding on wedding venue. As I am a vegetarian, so I only have a few places to decide, no hurry.

BTW, when is your big day?? Which bridal you with and how is ur preparation also??

Hi twinkleglint,

think I also find your name familiar...kekeke!!

So have you start looking around for bridal shop??

hi hi...

yealor...hafnt come in for v long...have been v busy wif work...how abt u gals?? how r u?

hi kc sunshine...ya actualli i think its beta to have it earlier...but my peak will only end ard end may...so can tk PS in end may..oh ya..u muz tk note not to tk it in qing ming...of course unless u dun mind...

ino:

Chijmes deal is solid. I have the contract in front of me, and it's exactly as i mentioned. I'm not sure why others are not getting similar quotes though. Pure luck? I don't think so.

soupie:

Will look at pics. Feedback welcome?
There are only two manufacturers that i trust as far as affordable "prosumer" cameras go: Nikon & Canon. Anything along the lines of Leica and you're blowing a huge hole in your wallet, however, you get what you pay for. Nevertheless, one must be clear as to what one wants, and what one really needs. To be frank, the Nikon D100 really caught my eye, but at $3888 retail w/o the lens, it's not something i'd commit to immediately. So, for starters, i went for the Canon EOS 300D, which you can get for $1750 w/18-55 zoom lens. Full specs can be obtained here:
http://www.canon.com.sg/index.cfm?fuseaction=digitalcamera&prod_type=eos300d_specs

For that price, the specs on the camera are true value for money. I really don't mind sacrificing some functions on the Nikon D100 or the Canon 10D, for more than 50% reduction in equipment cost at this time. I've been taking lots of pictures with the Canon 300D, and it has certainly not disappointed so far. I'm in the midst of getting webhosting, and will let you fellas check out the performance of the 300D, so you know what you may be getting into, if you ever decide to take the dive.

hi gals....

so sorri..i have been busy lately....can you believe it??!!!?? I am still working....*sob sob*..

I want to go home....i miss my bed....

May I join this thread?

My mum-in-law just got a date for me last week for 6th Mar. Cos kept thinking will be end next year so didn't do any serious shopping around. Now very stress...

Am now looking for banquet venue. So last minute most taken already, especially it's a Saturday.

Also looking at BS now. Have all of you done your PS already? Am thinking that my album might not make it for the AD.

Stress...

amos,

of cos feedbacks are welcomed
he's using the nikon F80 now and have invested in a few lenses and flash.. so changing to canon would not be cost effective... he has his eyes on nikon d1x now.. which is even more ex than the D100 he had his eyes on last time :P

u're having ur church wedding at chijmes? we've considered having our wedding lunch/dinner over there..lunch in fact cos really like the effect of sunlight on the tinted glass but cost wise and the logistics involved is not feasible for us..

Haha! Men and toys. We'll always be boys!

I was considering the same thing. I've got a Nikon F401s w/Nikkor 35-70mm, and was hoping to use the lens again. However the pricing on the Canon got the better of me. Maybe next time.

FYI, i got news straight from the horses mouth that Nikon is having a promotional event at Expo on the 27th November. Prices will probably drop a little then. I belive the Canon 300D will eventually force Nikon to come up with something. They have ceased shipment of D100s, so something is indeed happening at Nikon Japan.

Hope i'm not boring you with all this camera talk!

The magazine guide are really that lousy huh? heehee,i will take a closer look at it. I usually pay more attention on the pictures in those wed magazines?
Perhaps they are make for non singaporean style wedding??

Hmm, perhaps everyone can contribute and we prepare one for all the Feb04 brides use?

By the way, when you you gals suggest we should start laising with the banquet manager on number of guests and printing of invitation cards?