(2004) Brides of year 2004

keann

Elaine:
Hey dun worry abt renovation..i tik sure somewhere sure got probs....my contractor had a few probs here and there...but in the end, it worked out well.
Wat probs are they giving you now?did they do a bad job?

I tik mayb some other stuff to do..ermm...:
1)Look for wine suppliers
2)make-up artists/hairdresser (if you not on bridal package)
3)photographer
4)draft guest list
5)Tik of music to play during reception

Dun worry about renovation...i am sure it will work out well!

Have a good week ahead everyone!

pisduck

Hi Peko,

My actual day is 7th Nov 2004. I am the super kan cheong type. gee.... (driving my hubby nuts)... so I have booked both my banquet and bridal. :D How about you? Settled on them yet? Excited?

blue_lake

hi poshies....

mine is also body hugging. and i took my measurement after my stomach flu. dunno whether there is much changes. hee. hope can still fit.

actually i'm quite nua. never go and look for car yet. but i've typed out my invitation card. going to buy paper and print after my photo shoot. cos going to print photo on the card too.

i think Odie's suggestion is good. take this a project. and be organised. i seldom organise my stuffs... so my life is so "messy". haha. as messy as my table...

cyn

fairymoss... where are you having ur dinner? wat abt BS?

smallonion... the hotel does provide us with the invite but i'm designing myself.... yeah, u're rite.. i'm seated on ur right. so keep ur phone on 24hrs hor... i'll be calling anytime of the day for help... kekeke....

voice_0229

Hey Ocean, u taking PS this friday eh, me taking on Saturday!

I'm getting excited and anxious too, praying that Saturday will be a great weather, no rain.

Going for my 2nd fitting of EG today, so that it can be all ready and set for me to wear for PS.

gebbera

Hi Elaine,

Yah. What goes wrong with your renovation? Is it gonna be a big problem to you? Did you specify clearly what's your requirement to them? And they still do it wrongly?

What should i look out for during renovation? I'm also worry that these contractors will get things done wrongly.

bread

Fairymoss, warm welcome to you.... my wedding also june leh.... when is yours.....

smallonion, r u rite stil e same.... "mad woman"....

amos, hope u r fine now..... take care hor....

juz some of my updates, went to my BS yesterday n now i know choosing a WG & EG is not easy task... esp. design n colour.... me oni manage to confirm my EG... WG stil KIV.... anyway, me stil got time lah....

cyn

ooh.. so smallonion is the "mad woman" keke...

bread... u like wat ur BS proposed for ur WG? it's never easy choosing... trying & trying... is ur EG mtm? wat color? me very KPO.. keke

bread

cin_p: smallonion refering to me.... my WG n EG are MTM... oni decide EG design, colour should be burgundy or mayb 2 tones lor cos i quite tan lor... dun really like e WG which my designer design lor.... so got to re-sketch lor....

poshies

Thanks for the advise, like blue lake, I too not organised person, I will plan but never follow the schedule... here do abit n there do a bit... very messy.. guess, I had to try harder on the planning....

Ocean & Voice,
All de best in ur ps..

I'm going for my 1st fitting on Fri!!

maymay

Hi Pisduck..

im also the ultra kan cheong kind... i think its better to prepare everything 1st than later rush to get them done ya? hahah...

i had also booked my banquet n bridal.. my AD is 24th Nov...

binbin

hi smallonio, fairymoss, cin_p, hehhehee yes me beri excited, PS next TUe....

amos, wah glad u r alright now. u sounded so cute when u described ur incident....hehehe....lucky u are alright....

thanks cin, i will def check out robinsons. my colleague also recommended there...
my gowns (WG, EG, CS) is at my home now hehhehehe....and i can't stop looking at them, esp my WG. hehehhehee....

fantasy

Yep, got them from Tangs. Second level shoes dept... there wasnt any promo or sales when I got them.
It may be seasonal alternatively can get your cousins to check with the counter staff and see if they can help. It's also by chances that we spotted them.
If I'm not mistaken, the heels shld be abt 2-2.5".

cyn

bread... soon i'll be the mad woman lah... so confusing.... keke...

so when will u be seeing the next draft?

binbin... wat!!! all ur gowns at hm? u bought all ur gowns or brought back for the PS? ur CS also from divine?

smurfy

Seems like everyone is so excited for the big day.. ME TOO!! I only have 3 MONTHS to go.. so gan cheong now..

How many months in advance do we have to print our cards and send out the invitations?

oceans

Wow Voice, urs on Sat??
I went down to my bridal on Mon and found out that i grow fat again!!
So sad... so it is abit tight... so hopefully on PS, i wld not look fat leh! Neber excersise for very very long... very lazy and very stressful! Oh where r u going for PS??

My hse is still in a mess... really tired of all these!!

Odie, i peifu u
35335.gif
. I can neber do tat leh... How to start to write down??? Can teach me??

poox

pebbles: me doing ok....quite busy at work :p i'll be going for my 1st appt next fri....i'll be doing trial makeup and gown design
really excited!

keanne: if you're looking for evening gown, can check out allure charix. they have nice gown at reasonable price.

pageup

actually most bridal magazines have checklist for wedding preparation. If memory serve me right, the 1st issue of style wedding mag got that too, can use that as a guide.

Otherwise, just sit and pen down all the neccessary things that you need to do (board idea will d), arrange them in order and start filling in the details.

For us, we prioritize, 1)book banquet, 2)choose gowns/take photos. 3)find photographer 4)shop for guo da li stuff, 5)work with parent on guest list 6)plan actual day program

bread

cin_p: will be seeing my draft next wk.... but tis time round i got some idea liao.... heehee, hope for the best lah.....

smallonion

cin_p...hehehe, no, u not mad woman.. blurred only. kekeke

I will on mine HP 24hrs, hehehe but u had mine number? I do not have urs. PM me ok.

binbin..y need to bring WG & EG home, PS shld be leave wit them cos u need to go to studio to take pics.. Puzzled.

Bread.. still mad woman or better? Still busy?

cyn

smallonion... haha.. i dun ve ur tel neither leh.. wil pm u....

bread.... u become blur mad woman lah.. it's only 5th leh.. mth end meh?

smallonion

bread.. now is beinning of month, hehehe, me will also be busy during this time as need to do invoices, sian leh...but invoices not really yet so still ok.

cin_p.. u no have, i on 24hrs also no use, kekkeke.

pisduck

hi maymay,
good to know that i am not the only kan cheong mosquito around.
Your wedding dinner is set @ Crown Prince izzit? How about your bridal?

twinkleglint

hi fairymoss
yup, saw u many times. i only read those threads lah, didn't post. will post if req.

me now looking into photographer & videographer for AD. anyone got any recommendations? tks.

girl80

Hi orosalind,

So coincidence...Mine PS is ard May 04. Need some time to slim down....hee hee

I sign up with them Jan last year and they throw in a ROM Package for me as well. Mine is the SGD $3489.64 With GST. How abt you? Mine include the following :

* Pants Made and Keep 1
* Coat & Actual Day Suit Rental
* Both Wedding & Evening Gown MTM
* Studio & Actual Day Make Up
* Bridal Bouquet & 6 Coisages
* Model 210 Car + 2 Sets of Ribbon
* 12 X 15 = 20 pcs with Design wedding Album
* 24 X 28 Canvas Portrait
* Studio Indoor & Outdoor Photography by Sam
* 3R - 24 pcs (4 poses)
* Mini Album (Photo same as Big Album)
* 1 Table Top
* 1 Signature Book

That's all. Not much...thinking of taking another PS at J.B. How abt your package? Similar? Did you get anything other thing extra?

orosalind

Hi girl80,

I got something extra, I have PM u cos heard fm one of the GHA bride that it's beta not to post in the forum cos GHA pple does pop in and I dunno if they will pop in to this thread too but I play safe lah. You can take mine as a guideline and bargain with.....

Me have lose 8 kg liao so now hope I can maintain.

Abt the JB thing, please refer to my email too.

keann

Geberra:
When i did my reno...i tik the things that you have to look out is that they do according to your specifications. Of cos, u have to monitor and look out for any bad workmanship.
Actually, i had probs with the carpentry work.The carpenter that i got was really good...but the wood was infected with some bugs or worms..realised tat after 3 months....and was really upset.But the contractor came and redid part of the wardrobe...so now HOPEFULLY, nothing wrong with it liaoz. Cos having worms, sometimes is beyond their control..tat's what he told me. So i am very paranoid everytime i see sawdust...

I think also have to look out for the tile work...cos it has to be on level or something like tat...when they laid 2 rows of tiles in my living....it was not on level.....but my contractor called me and told me the prob..and i refused to accept it...and i insisted to change it....well, after a lot of hussle, they changed it for me. I probably come across as really persistent and difficult, but that's the house that i am going to stay in for a while...

But overall, the feeling is really good now...that everything is done...

Well..hope this info helps....can ask me anything else you need to know lahz...will try to help...

fairymoss

Hahaha....saw today's postings so funny. mad woman only got one right? the other is blur, heehee.

Bread: *shake hands* we same mth yeah? I end of June, u when? Ur BS very good, still got draft the design so many times ah? mine only did once, very rough sketch only. the details also didn't sketch in leh. Do they sketch the details? eg. where the sequins will be, exact embriodery pattern etc.

cin_P: I'm with ST and IC.

Binbin: @_@ ? how come u brought your gowns home? I thot nearing the AD then u bring them home? PS also need to take home meh? *blur*

Twinklelight: yes, recently me got many questions, sometimes it's just sheer KPO so go in to chit chat a bit. which thread u go? I also looking for videographer leh. those my friends recommend one all very ex. I thot of doing an MTV, but I dun want those music MTV type. I want mixture of drama and MTV...errr...dunno can conceptualise out or not..if can think also will be expensive hor. maybe at the end of the day also won't materialise, aiyah... back to the videographer, are u intending to do express highlights then later play during the dinner?

doremon

Hi twinkleglint and fairymoss,

For AD photographer, depend on your budget. Here are a few to recommend:

1. Yew Kwang
2. Kai from kalyedoscope http://www.kalyedoscope.com/
(they are having a lot of promotions. Do check it out - value for $$$)
3. Beetles@work (Very nice collages)
4. Andrew Chan (p.s. i hve not seen their works yet but look good on website)
5. Albert chua from everafter. (Excellent work)

For videography, if u have no budget, go for adrian from videolane. He is really good! Did a very good job for my younger sis.

odie

Yupz... basically its the same was what pageup has stated in her post.

We sat down and drew up our own table... jot the items down and state the target date... and along the way we will add on whatever that comes up and strike out the item once its completed.

peko

Hi Pisduck,

my customery is on the 13th nov 04.... i had booked my bridal too... me even more kan cheong, i signed my banquet in aug 03 leh.....
yah.... pretty excited cos finally i m going to spend the rest of my life with my bf mah....
hee......... where did you book your banquet??

cyn

smallonion.. i got ur PM... rem to be on 24hr standby hor... keke

twinkleglint & fairymoss... as for videographer.. u can try atelier... their work quite interesting.. not bad.. i'm using them for my AD... & andrew tay from the edge (photography).

fairymoss... wat does ST & IC stand for? singapore technologies & identical card? kekeke... pls enlighten me.. intercon?

ino ino... how u find atelier demo?

eighteight

Hi Keann & Geberra

Think of it also headache ... everything they do from day 1 is wrong ... l really scared to go up now cos everytime l go up, l bound to saw some mistake here and there ....

Example
- First thing they do is to do up the false ceiling in my bedroom and living room and they got the wrong specification though stated in the master floor plan. Thought its normal to have such problem so after they change it, did not make a issue out of it ....
- Then they fixed up the lights and they put the lights all in the wrong places ... what really piss me off is that the reason given is because wrong floor plan has been used.
- The next thing is the painting and the paintwork is not quite done up like a professional.
- Then the tiling and piping, they also got it fixed on the wrong places ...

Thats about all l done so far ... and l already got so much problem ... l don't even know if my carpentary work going to have any problem or not
The only thing that console me is that my ID is quite a responsible guy though a bit blur ... so far so long we point out the problem, he will resolve it for us ....

l think l also come across a difficult customer but to me that my first home and l am going to live in it for a while so sort of like l want it to be perfect ....

As for wedding:

1) Need to source for music to use for reception
2) Outdoor shoot venue
3) Cake shop
4) Photographer

Any recommendation ?

voice_0229

Hi Ocean

I'll be going Sentosa for my photoshoot.
You leh?

Hiyah Smurfy

Your need to print your invitation cards 2.5 mths before your AD, allow them for amendments if need be. Make sure you send out your invitation cards 1 month before your AD, to allow your guests to have ample time to schedule their agenda and also RSVP you whether are they coming. So if you think most ppl you have invited are not free that day to attend your wedding, then you need to send 2nd batch of invites out ASAP, to those on the reserve guest list.

soupie

hi gals! it's been a long time since i last posted...

forest, my bangkok trip was great!
shop and ate alot! really alot... especially with my frens around

binbin, wow... that's fast! i think i'll be like u too if i have my gowns in my room to look at everyday keke

amos, oh dear.. luckily u didn' suffer any head injuries with ur helmet on... do take care okie esp. when ur big day is nearing
haven't heard much from wendy.. how's ur preparation coming along? ur auntie started making ur WG already?

doreamon, congrats on ur ROM!
any pics to share?

btw gals, anyone not getting video for AD? i may not be getting one.. would prefer really good journalistic fotos instead..

blue_lake

wah Poshies...

u're going for ur fitting so soon. so exciting! i'm still waiting for my designer to call me...

Oceans....
ya.. u must be really stress up. deciding wat to do for the house and wat to buy for the house can be tiring. like me the last time. jia you!

hmm.... think i better start listing down i things i have to do. hope it's not a long list. =)
we have to meet up with photograher, makeup artist b4 photo shoot right? and the florist? i've not done all tat yet. ops! one more month to photo shoot.

smurfy

I got to take care of all the planning (eg. making appts with banquet coordinators, printers, florist, etc) except for budget planning which my FH is keeping track and taking care of..

Hi Oceans,

Don't get stressed up okie.. try to be calm. Try to eat well and sleep well. Take salmon fish oil to control your weight like me..

Hi pageup,
You look very pretty in your photos.

Find that the outline of wedding planning in the mags are not very accurate.. it says to send out invitation 2 months before the AD.. I think by time the AD comes, no one knows where they place my invitation card liao :p

Hi Tiny Voice,
Guess you are right plan 2.5 mths b4 AD to print and 1mth b4 AD to send out.. Thanks..

forest

doremon,
got ur PM!!! tks n very honored!!!

soupie,
good to hear tt u had a great trip!!! kekeke... oh ya.. u hvent got the cd frm me... how?? when can i pass to u?? sms me okies!!!

fairymoss,
let me guess.. ST is sheraton towers.. ???? kekekek.. im jus making a wild guess.. dunno correct or not!!! kekekek

amos,
take good care ah....

cin_p,
dun blur dun blur.. kekekek

binbin,
eh.. i think i saw u on tue evening leh.. u were walking some distance in front of me... i dint wanna "shout".. cos' i wasnt sure.. were u walking in raffles plc area... arnd republic plaza??? i was on my way to gym then.. kekekeke...

bread,
take care... dun become a mad woman!!! first 7 days ending.. so, jus hang in there!!!!

twinkleglint, smallonion,
*wave wave*

pisduck

dear maymay,
my bridal package is with bridal veil.
Yours is with camellia? Saw their gowns in their advert in mags.... quite nice.
so, you settled on your photographer yet?

dear peko,
where are you making your gowns and holding your dinner? mine? i have signed up with Four Seasons.
ps.. think you cannot beat me in "kan cheong"ness, I am doing my PS in Jan. hee.

twinkleglint

hi soupie, bonjon, cin_p, doremon, fairymoss
me very "tan xi" wan jounalistic photos at the same time. i wan montage but i think i will try out on my own using powerpt or some software to do. i went to Academy Video last weekend n find them very ex but i like their idea like having interview style + morning highlights. MTV also not bad leh....hai, but me on budget. basically, below is my req'mts.

- jounalistics photography
- videography
- morning highlights/montage/mtv/interview style (mixture of each will be good)
- budget : <$2K

ok, i will go n check out atlier, edge (got any website?), kalyedoscope n beetleswork (hear they r good), everafter. by the way, yew kuang and andrew tan is freelance is it? got website?

now i like very confuse liao!

hi doremon,
ur sis use videolane? seems ex cos i have asked for their quote, it is as follows.....
http://wedding.videolane.net/eBrochure.htm

did u get it cheaper? can recommend?

hi soupie,
wow, really enjoy hor, can go bangkok. me also thinking to go there again to shop for household decor cos my hse theme is zen, Bkg got many cheap stuff hor....

hi forest,
*wave* back. saw ur mail, later reply u.

oceans

Yap, agreed with Smurfy that the outline not very acurate leh!!

Voice, i still have not decide yet.... Let the photographer decide lor!! Still hv to pay for the transport... but they reduce another $10, so must pay $50....

Hopefully tml no rain....

pisduck

One of my hubby's old classmates used bettles @ work for their actual day and the pics turned out quite nicely.
Why not negotiate a studio cum actual day package with them since you have not found an actual day photographer yet? gee... probably can get some freebies.

pebbles

hi ladies..

have not posted for a long time but just popping by to say how and see how are things with all of u..

updates on my side..
nothing much done as im at the final stage of my renovation process ..