(2004) Brides of year 2004

maymay

I jus called kelvin fm beetles.. turn out he is in sydney... anyway heard several good comments about his work.. so if the price is right most likely will go with him lor..

seabreeze

hi maymay ...

yap ... me booked with sheraton towers ... bridal with White Link ... booked my bridal when GST was still 3% hahahahaha ....

dora

Keann

We haven't moved in yet cos haven't got our fridge... but we've stayed over during the deepavali weekend. Agree with your hubby, yew tee food is really yucky, the new food court is quite big, but so far I only ate there once, the braised duck rice is quite OK.

Hi Pebbles,
so I can say Happy Birthday to you and you can say congrats to Elaine and myself

Hi Elaine

I'm quite satisfied with my reno, nothing major happened. Think communiation is important. Also you must go and inspect very frequently and let them know once you see anything wrong.... dun worry everything will turn out well

poshies

Guess as the time get closer all of us are getting more excited and stress at the same time...
Luckily for me, my house is ready 1 year ago... though never stay in but most of the stuff is ready, so has 1 thing less on the mind...
Yup the guideline on the magz is really not acurate, if I follow, all the stuff is already out already...
So now I know I have left with only Bridal Car (to be confirm by this month), PS date (finalise with the Photograper on 18 Dec), Wedding Card Invitation (to be completed sourcing by this month), Actual day photographer and honeymoon Location (by Dec), Guo Da Li and food tasting (by end Dec or early Jan). I guess that all, any things that I misses out???

Yup, it is good to let your friends know in advance of the wedding and send out the invitation card 1 month inadvance and get the RSVP asap for seat arrangement.

Thanks all.... good luck everyone!!!!

maymay

wah Seabreeze.. means u booked last yr for ur bridal? heehee.. u r really well-prepared ya? white link was one of my 1st choice but had to drop them cos too ex...

smallonion

Cin_P..me rec'd urs too. Me on stand by now. Hahaha

hi all... actually wat is the diff between journalistic photo & normal one? Can let me know.

chinadoll2802

I hv confirmed my banquet..it will b mandarin (orchard) at the mandarin court

So rite now i juz take my time to find my photographer and videographer lor...

so how ur preparations coming along?

pisduck

dear maymay,
talked to kelvin before. quite a nice fellow.
so, is the ps part of your bridal package or is it separate? are you considering bernard too?

girl80

Hi orosalind,

Thks for the reminder. I have also drop you a PM. Btw, how did you manage to lose 8 KG. Me also aimimg to lose ard 8-10 KG...can share with me....

Thks

maymay

Hi Pisduck,

ya kelvin is quite a funny chap.. punctuates his sentences with laughters
my bf prefer kelvin's style more than bernard.. s i supposed kelvin is our 1st choice.. he comes with our bridal package..

hi chinadoll,

welcome

kc_sunshine

hello Sep04 brides
dis thread been dead some time, huh? me thinking of hvg PS prob next yr Mar or Apr, more ample time for the photos mah. :)

twinkleglint

hi cin_pin, doremon
tks for ur help.

bonjon,
who do ur mv? emotionpix?

hi pebbles,
where u hse? me reno soon.....sure busy like hell...nex month.

hi smallonion,
jounalistic is like a few photos on one page, n it tells a story. the arrangement n shooting of the pix combine wif artwork on one page will show the mood of ur AD, like telling a story. so not everyone can do it well except the prof. but nowadays many photographers can picking up on this one.

i have learned a lesson fr pass exp (signing BS n wedding banquet), so i will def pick n choose carefully for the photographer n videographer for AD, the most impt day.

orosalind

Hi girl80,

U r welcome. I'll check my mail later.

I go gym 3 times per week but eat as per normal lah cos based on past experience, losing wt thru dieting cant have lastin effect. Tend to put back the wt fast too unless u control ur diet all the while (which I cant cos I love to eat). But I'm the type who can lose wt fast one lah, maybe bcos my matabolism rate is higher?

seabreeze

hi maymay ...

not really lar ... we actually thought that we will get married end of this year one ... then who knows that the 2 of us neber plan ... and we weren't sure if our house will be ready in time mar .... so drag lor ....

anyway the good thing is that we can now slowly spend more effort on our new home first ... then do the wedding prep later lor ...

chenoa

I know that we can submit our ROM application up to 3 months before the solemnisation. But need some clarification:

is it say, I want to soleminise on 16 May 04, the earliest date I can submit is 16 Feb 04?

Is Sat's availability usu. taken up very fast? Must I then book on the very first day that application is open if I want a sat?

soupie

twinkleglint, yeah the shopping there is much cheaper than sg.. and there are many choices of wedding favors there too.. or even wedding card design and printing or even poster making.. as for furniture i still wouldn't dare to buy unless u have reliable contacts esp. if u wan them to do the shipping for u..

smallonion, journalistic photos would show the flow of the whole day process plus capturing the candid moments and details of the day.. while the conventional pics would be more pose here pose there kinda pics..

pebbles

hi cin p,
busy with house renov lah, so much things to do and every weekend there's sure something to shop for, first was the lightenings then tolilet accessoires and the list goes on...then got to go down every weekend to see the progress of the renov also mah...
not moving in so soon cos my wedding next year mah still got time

twinketlight,
hi hi, my love nest is at Punggol, what abt yrs?? so which ID firm are u getting to do yr renov..??? settled everything liao..???

pebbles

hihi ladies, it's finally friday ah...
Keann,
thanks for for sharing yr photos with me, very nice..
im sure u r not counting down to your detparture for spore..
my fren recommended me this seamtress and it's Kim , seems like she's very good and prices are also quite reasonable, as for make up artise, my stylest recommended his fren to me but i have not seen her portfolio yet, the make up artise have got a studio in international plaza think her name is ponnie ah, wonder if u girls have heard of her before...if u need her contacts just drop me a mail and i will send u both contacts..

Dora,
oh yeah, so next yr i wish both u and elaine all the best and u can wish me happy bday..
so u have settled most of yr stuff liao...when will u be going for your ps ah..??

Elaine,
I think it's petty common for couples to have problem with their renov progress, we are after all not experienced and this is our first house mah so dun get too upset over it, like what dora mentioned, communication is really the key and it's very important...for my renov, i guess im lucky cos so far so good and we will be getting our keys back next week and im happy with my contractor work so far, it's good to know that your contractor is responsible but i would suggest u keep a close look on your renov process and inform them of any dissatifcation ASAP and not wait till the end and it might be a good idea to have a discussion session with your contractor before he start work, though it might be more troublesome but at least u know they have no excuse for making any mistakes..
if u need any help just feel free to ask and im sure all the girls here will be willing to provide u with any help they can

Poox,
hey i totally understand how u feel, it's going to be a fun session for u and all the attention will be on u, the best part is, u get to try on so many gowns..
keep us posted ah..

orosalind

Hi Chenoa,

Yup, the earliest is 3 mths fm the ROM date that u wanted. So let say if u want to have ur ROM on 16 May 04, then the earliest u can book is 16 Feb 04.

Sat ok lah. Think oni hot dates will be taken up very fast. But I think, in order to play safe, beta book on the first day that the appln is open.

I didnt know 9 Sep 02 was a hot date but I just book on the first day that the appln is open but end up oni got 1 last available time slot.

ivory

hi gals...

just to let u noe... my wedding date is fixed on 4th Oct 2004!!!

finally got a date liao...

hotel cfm at Hyatt..
photographer cfm Nick..
bridal shop later call them to inform them the date..

wat else?

girl80

HI orosalind,

Wah so envious of you...me thinking of going gym but can't find someone to accompany...so going to drop that idea...maybe thinking of trying accupunture or even Jean Yip...what you think?

maymay

Hi Seabreeze..

hahaha.. so i would say its actually a blessing because now you have more time to plan for your dream wedding.. so you are also getting a new house.. may i ask where?

forest

twinkleglint,
oops.. guess i cant help much.. since i hvent gone thru the process of the preps yet.. :p

soupie,
wow wow wow.. sounds like u had great fun!!! kekek..

pebbles,
how hve u been!?!?! MIA for sooo long liaoz.. kekkee... so, u r in the final stages of reno lah.. well, when its done, u'll b very relieved.. cos' its 1 milestone down!! kekeke...

ivory,
hey!!! good for u!!!! cfmed so many things liao... !!!

wats next?? errrrmmm... any videography?? browsing mags for the gowns designs tt u like?? otherwise, i think its too early to do the rest like invites, getting wine, etc....

dunno if i've left out anything.. since i hve not started the prep.. bt the other gals shd b able to put in more suggestions!!!

orosalind

Hi girl80,

Me sometimes go with fren but sometimes alone. It's ok to go alone cos even if u go with fren, u wun get to talk much cos it's always workouts and workouts and workouts....
I went to the gym in my office, FOC somemore.

I think accupunture or those slimming centre can see results but u urself must oso control diet leh (heard fm my fren's sis who sign up with Expression). So hor, end up dunno if it's the dieting that makes u lose wt or their effort?

My fren's sis told me the effect is not lasting one. Once u go back to ur usual diet, will put on again so much control ur diet too. Sori, cant give u much comments cos I have not tried before.

ivory

finally can join in a thread liao

my wedding is set on 4th Oct 04.. i think same with a few gals here rite?

ivory

heya forest

long time no tok to u liao

dunno leh... like my hubby... we find now like still very ok... dun understand how come my frens have so much stress when it comes to finding date, bridal ot hotel.. mayb we too easy going liao..

videography will discuss with Nick n decide nearing the date if we wan or not... dun wan to make our frens do too much job cos their job is to enjoy at our wedding

me now on/off searching on the net for some gown designs... saw a few quite nice.. but dun think my bridal shop can do cos they are not those "branded" shops who can do too elaborated designs... oso must tok to the designer see if i can carry off the design or not.. cos now i fat like pig.. hai...

wine oledi ask my frens to slowly bring in for us... we oni headache abt beer cos its not free flow n we got so much drinkers among frens n relatives... can faint... how ah? how to get the hotel supply free flow?

twinkleglint

hi cin_p
my BS is Whitelink n Pan Pac for Wedding banquet.
all 77 88 liao so now sourcing for photographer n videographer cos my weekend n hotdates mus book early.

hi soupie,
ya loh, my frd's frd enlarge her photo to poster in bangkok, ver cheap...

hi pebbles,
mine in woodlands....ID is Hatch design, my FH's sister-in-law. haven't start reno, still on the design cos my master bedroom small n the door open on the side nex to the bathroom so if each of us come out from the bathroom or enter the m bedrm at the same time sure bang into the doors....moreover the door also at the wrg place so which ever place i put my bed also face the door, worst is this door also obstruct the building of my wardore......*sian*

hi forest,
u got a mail fr me.......check it out.

hi ivory,
seems like u got everything, which BS??

hi bonjon,
i will check out emotionpix too...tks.

rabbitwsk

Hello everyone

Hopes Everythings runs smooth for all.

Ivory, Nice having u here.

Cheers for those getting married on 4th, one of the best date in tt mth. I was advised my feng shui master on that too,but we wanted a weekend thus decided to 24th. Oh, btw, tt date is when me and my hubby meet

Saw some of u talking abt losing weight... hey, i am quite experience in tt cos i had'lost and gain' with many methods :p until i found that diet is very impt to tie in w regular exercise, to have a successful weight lost and maintainence. Can share w u all my ups and dws of weight lossing...heee...

ivory

Hee... hi ya...

Hotel : Hyatt
Bridal : Popular Honeymoon
Photographer : Nick xxx

rabbitwsk

really ah? 4th Oct the best date that mth ah? cos we never calculate the date.. just anyhow choose lor

kekeke.... so watz all the mi jue abt losing weight ah... actually we were thinking of setting the date on 15th Jul.. then i tell my hubby cannot.. must gimme more time to jian fei..

ivory

hi twinkleglint,

my BS is Popular Honeymoon at Jurong East Central.. its those neighbourhood shop lah.. cos my hubby bery lazy.. dun wan to travel too far for future gown fitting.. kekkekeke...

twinkleglint

hi ivory,
hey, i heard of it. my granny used to stay near there. it has been there for a long time since i was a kid. sometime, wellknown names too busy to add that kind of 'personal touch' in their svcs. my BS very far, during my rom gown selection, the travelling predi enuf to tire us out.

where is ur lovenest?

soupie

hey ivory, congrats!
it's like that one lah.. now me also nothing much to stress abt hehe... got mood think abit, plan abit abt the wedding, no mood then dun think lor.. hehe think we'll only start to get bz after mid of next yr... mine is in dec04 so still can hibernate..

forest, yeah it was quite fun
... really didn't wanna come back... the food there is really cheap too.. ate so much.. besides 3 meals a day inbetween alot of snacking too! hehehe

ivory

hi twinkleglint

yeah... they been ard for 20+ years liao
but so far i find them quite ok cos i got my ROM gown from them oso.. yeah.. they are very busy but they are still very nice ppl lah... we just keep our fingers cross lor

me living together with my in-laws
at Teck Whye.. its ard CCK area

hi soupie

u got ur date too? so are u getting nick to be ur photographer again? this morning i just call him... he's so happy to hear from me

everyone in our families like dunno wat to stress abt so they just leave it... guess oni when the day draws near then we noe wat needs to be done lor..

my hubby is hainanese so dunno wat customs to follow... mayb half hokkien n half teochew lor, cos his mum n my mum both teochews n my dad hokkien... aiya.. chin chye can liao lah...

soupie

ivory, yeah got my date...it's on 16 dec04. we've not decided who to get for AD photography..

hey! i'm hainanese too but i also dunno wat customs to follow.. but i know for big occasions will have the hainanese kueh..look like ang ku kweh but it's white with a red dot.. inside contains coconut, dried tangerine and ginger. but my mum say no need lah... heng she said she dun want roasted pig (my mum had 2 when she got married.. piang if like that dunno need how many xiong di to carry hehe).. she said who is gonna cut up the pig anyway.. just want some cakes to distribute during guo da li will do..

twinkleglint

hi ivory
me stay in cck leh....hehehe

hi ivory, soupie
we will b married in the same month, dec'04. mine is 05 dec........

.....anyone else?

blurq

Long time din visit this thread. so many postings here.
Hello Ivory..welcome to the Oct thread..

shall we make a summary again:
01 Oct (Fri) : Lynn
03 Oct (Sun) : Etella
04 Oct (Mon) : ChilliPadi, Ivory
05 Oct (Tue): girl80
15 Oct (Fri) : blurq, hanyan
17 Oct (Sun) : orosalind, chenoa
24 Oct (Sun) : rabbitwsk
29 Oct (Fri) : straw_beri
30 Oct (Sat) : happybaobao, angeline, onthemove

hmm...did i leave out anyone?

as for losing weight..I agreed too..u muz be very cautious abt what you eat. Dun take fried and oily stuffs especially..

ivory

soupie..

so u been shopping ard for photographers? how's their rates so far?

hahaha... roast pig? no need lah... i think we oso the same lah... simple simple customs can liao lor...

so now since nothing to do.. i guess i must jia you n lose 10kg!!! else i look horrible

questy

Halo to all,
I'm also an Oct bride, actual date is 30 Oct, it's the only date suitable for me. i had signed up with J&C and just choosed my ROM gown cos ROM in 26 Dec 03.

I'm interensted in 88 resturant, but got tentative booking, so still waiting for my luck to see if i can place my deposite, he...! Any recommendations?

blurq

hi orosalind,

Yap..My hubby juz came back from biz trip, so has made him to go shopping again right after he come back.

My bs is Ted Wu.

Oh yes, now looking for actual day photographer and probably videographer. Any recommendations?