(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Fairymoss:

Will do. However, people have to be more forthcoming with the information. That's right people, all we need is your wedding date (ie. date of solemnization) please. Thanks!

Ino: I have no issues with posting the pictures on the forum.

BinBin: Would you be kind enough to send me a copy of what you have please? I'll update it unless you're game for that. Thanks.

Hi KK, Michelle,Ivory

Welcome to the Oct Brides.

Hi Michelle
Have you booked your gowns yet?

Anybody here been to X-Zen or who have comments to share? Been to the thread but nothing updated.
Have not booked my gowns nor photography yet.

Hi orosalind,
I got the chance to book the banquet, will be going 2m to look see the place, he...!

Hi chillipadi,
Just read something regarding them, it's the mishap abt the gown which they r suppose to give as a price. Not a very pleasant event to the first price winner.

Guess that the guide you can get in the magazine is not customised to each individual's need :p

For finalising the no. of tables, it will be done when the wedding date draws nearer. Have spoken to the co-ordinator before and was told that they will call to meet up for a finalisation about 3 weeks before the actual day. In fact, it is normal that the no. of guests will continue to change up to 2 or 3 days before the dinner when friends and relatives rsvp last minute... so we need to continue updating the co-ordinator on this.

FH and I were a bit kiasu about printing of the invitation cards (after being advised by FMIL):p ... in fact we had just got the printed invites last week. Year end is coming so was expecting the printers to be busy with other stuff like greeting cards, calendars blah blah blah and this might slow down the processing. What's more with xmas and cny and everybody sending out greeting cards it will take a bit longer for mails to be delivered. :p

Agreed... end of the year the printers will be busy. Actually plan to give out the wedding invitation card during CNY to save the postal; it is also a good time to meet with ur friends and relative to inform them of ur “Big Day”

I guess once the PS is completed, we should have to schedule the following stuffs

2 months before
1. Printing of invitation card
2. Arrange "Guo Da Li" Stuff
3. Book bridal car (if have not done so)
4. Book Actual day photographer
5. Finalize guess list and seat arrangement

1 month before
1. Completed House reno (if possible)
2. Send out Invitation card
3. Finish selecting wedding album
4. Food Tasting (if any)
5. Honeymoon booking

2 weeks before
1. Confirm RSVP
2. Arrange for "Guo Da Li"
3. Confirm your helpers for the “Big Day”
4. Confirm bridal car and actual photographer

1 week before
1. Collect your WG, EG, tea dress, suit, and wedding album
2. Final guess list
3. Collect Air ticket for honeymoon
4. Pack honeymoon clothes
5. Prepare for the "Big Day"

Think that all I can recall for my planning, did I miss out anything??

U r welcome, Chenoa.

michellekoh, welcome to this thread. Another GHA bride. I'm oso with GHA but Tampines. When is ur AD and when are u gg to MTM ur gown?

Questy, phew!!!! Finally huh, one thing of ur mind for now..... So ur confirmed venue is in 88 resturant rite?

Btw, Lynn (and all other Oct brides out here), I have a contact from frens for AD photographer and etc. It's a package that incl digital video, VCD, photographer and express highlight at 1K+. If u r interested, I cn pass u the info tmr.

Wow..indeed a lot of postings here...

hi michelle n kk,
welcome to this thread.
When is ur wedding, michelle?
So many GHA brides here..

hi lynn,
Ur EG sounds great too.
glad that you njoy ur fitting in ur BS. I am still waiting for my first session with my BS. Was kinda of excited already..hehe.

hi Chillipadi,
From the past postings in the XZen thread, heard that XZen is not very gd. But you shd go down to take a look urself. Sometimes, every brides have their own expectation. If you really like their svc, then go for it. Trust yourself...

fairymoss
that’s wat my hubby says oso… for the fact that it can still survive after 20+ yrs.. shd be of certain standard… though we dun expect really very glam final product (be it gowns or photos).. as long as I look pretty pretty can liao… kekekeke….

cin_p
hiya… long time no tok to u oso
ya… we be using the grand ballroom cos we looking at 50 tables.. so the manager will open up all the adjoining ballrooms on that level for us lor… this wed when we going down to place our deposit will try to see if can bargain some more or not lor
r u taking their wedding favours? which one?

cin_p, twinkle
me oso after ROM gained 5KGS!!!! can cry ah…. everyday I told my hubby I will exercise to jian fei… but really too tired… mayb now I really have to set aside 1 hr everynite to run thru my dance class syllabus… at least burn some fats lah… then on top of that use slimming lotion to reduce the appearance of cellulite :p

Amos
u interested in taking dance performance fotos?

ino
kekeke… r u using Popular as well… how cum always pop by their shop
ya… I do see they have some nice designs…. but now I so fat… dunno wat the designer can come up for me lor… the designer is still that young chap lah…. forgot his name liao.. hahahahha… I very “no heart” one..

Meijia
I c… urs in April… I think dat mth is “lun yue” issit?

wah…. u finish ur PS liao? with which BS? can share?

mine is on 4th Oct 04, BS is Popular Honeymoon.. preparation… nothing done except confirming hotel n photographer lor

Hi Ivory,

Next year 'lun yue' stretch from March to April. And qing ming starts from Mid March to Early May. Mine is on 24 April 04. So maybe that is y lesser people choose this date. However have check that it is an auspicious day to get married

I am with Milan at Tanjong Pagar. Nw nothing much to do except to wait for my album to be ready in Feb and to collect my new flat keys in late Jan. And that period will be the most busiest cause have to renovate and prepare for all the wedding stuff...

Which hotel are you holding your dinner and have you plan for your honeymoon??

Meijia

as long as the date is fine with both ur families then can liao lor

Milan... nice nice... so must show us when ur album is ready ya....

we have cfm at Hyatt.. honeymoon ah... no budget so not thinking of honeymoon at the moment

Amos

hehe... not so soon.. we be having a small scale performance in Mar 04... dunno u be free then.. cos u getting married in April wor...

anyway.. tentative we hope to stage the performance at Esplanade.. still planning... but we dun have much budget.. so mayb can oni reimburse u on the film n developing oni.... we very poor one.. arts can never make money in spore.. hai...

kekeke... wat nite stuff are u guys doing tonite ah....

Ivory:

Ah...the days of film and processing. All gone. I no longer work with film. All my work is done digitally. So you should be happy to know that there are no developing costs involved. I will transfer low res versions of the images (those with an acceptable standard of course) on one compact disc for you. You can then order any prints from me, and i will print them for you at your cost. I have a CMYK printer at home that will do up till A4 prints. My camera is effective up to A1, so you don't have to worry about quality. I can also do A3 prints as well, but that has to be contracted out, so pricing is beyond my control. We'll discuss the details as the date gets nearer.

We have pretty much settled all the stuff for the wedding, and don't plan to be running around like headless chickens in March. So my projects will get my undivided attention.

Cheeky girl you. NIGHT PHOTOSHOOT LAH!
No rubba rubba kind of night stuff lah!

hi peko,
went to pan pac for a bridal show. the ballroom that i went to was quite grand.

ps early cos i kan cheong, mah... hee.

my gowns not ready yet. stressed out now. hopefully, it will be ready in the next few weeks.
ask you something... do you have any recommendations for videographers?

Meijia: I believe Qing Ming begins on 04/04/2004, not mid March...unless my damn phone is lying to me.\image However, because fewer people want to get married in 04/2004, it'll be easier to get stuff for that month!

Amos

wah... so advance now ah... hai... me like a toad in the well... still at the age of films n developing.. hahhahaa....

k.. i will let my organising committee knows... c wat they have to say

huh? wat rubba rubba kind of nite stuff??? *innocent look*

ino... i haven been doing alot leh... manythings stil pending.. hai... which printer did u go to? wat's the charges like? u're rite i wont ve problem with the printer... but i'm having problem with my boss leh.. she's helping me with some creative copy.. it has been weeks & finally i got it today.. so happy.

atelier's work not bad rite. yup, u got his name rite. do give him call. u can keep the cd... if anyone here interested, can pick it up from u.. keke..

wow, the resort is fully booked.. which resort huh? jan is their peak period. so now how? wat's ur alternative? i stil dun dare to plan my HM. wan to settle my hse reno 1st. hopefully i ve some spare cash.. unlikely leh
(((

binbin... did i ask abt ur CS? perhaps i've forgotten. how much is the rental?

ivory.. has been a long time hor... i'm not with GH leh. how to use their favors? keke.. i'm with GCW... wil be choosing my favors soon. think i've a few choices.

soupie.. atelier demo vcd is with forest. i'll using them for my AD.

hi all ladies... seem like most of all of u r busy wit wedding preparation..

Me still have quite alot of time left...kekeke. Mine in Dec 04 too.

Hi Ivory,

Sure! but still have to wait 3 more months. I only have some polariod and rejects with me right now.

Hi Amos,

Sorry, me all mixed up liao! Ya, u r right, qing ming starts on 4/4/04 and my wedding still during Qingming. Will end in early may. But everybody ok with the date so ok lor. In fact, my original date is 13/3/04 but due to HDB delayed my key, have to postpone to April

But at least more time to deco my house

So when is ur wedding.

I am confused with so many people in this thread

amos, cool! my hubby went there(fullerton) for nite shoot before too.. there's the bridge there too.. but at that time there was some construction going on... dunno if it's gone now.

no worries, i'm used to all these men and their toys talk.. cos my hubby will tell me whenever there's something new that caught his eyes or watever.. but just dun tell me the settings can already hahaha :P.. can never catch it.. kekeke except for clear cut stuff like wide angle lens...

meijia/amos, my mum told me that the chinese dun like to hold their weddings in the 3rd, 6th & 9th lunar months.. she also dunno why.. just know that the 3rd lunar month is qing ming.. but then it depends on individuals.. some are alrite with it.. the geomancer we went to said that there are good dates during qing ming too.. it's just whether u like it or not.. i think there's another 'extra' lunar month next yr.. correct me if i'm wrong... all these are abit confusing to me.. wouldn't have noticed if we were not planning for wedding hehehe

cin_p, ohhh... so the cd with forest is from atelier... hehe until now i've still not collected it from her! :P mind sharing with me how much and wat is in ur pkg?

Hi Lynn,

You had your WG and EG done? WOW that is very early. When will you be taking your PS??
I am only thinking to go and choose design next Jan. So meanwhile better to lose some weight... :P

Me also at Carlton but will be on the 9th.

How's everyone preparation?
Hope everything goes well

Can i join in?? I'll be having my wedding in May next yr....haven't even start searching for bridal package...is it too late liao?? Is there any good bridal package u gals can recommend?

wow, havent come in a for while, but some many msg!!!

hi amos,
rec, tks. if i got prob can ask u?

hi cin_p,
hope can c the video too.

hi ivory,
dun worry, when wedding date nearer, will b stress n then will def lose some wt. my frds all like that.

hi smallonion,
u mus start liao lor if not when u wan to start? btw, what date u plan to wed?

hi doremon,
???wher r u?

anyone got her hp#? pls pm me.

smallonion,
1 yr pass by very fast wor... so u must plan out your timeline liao wor... else.. ngiak ngiak ngiak...

cin_p,
too bad u not with GH... else we can compare the goodies they give to us... then bargain for wat we dun have.. hahahaha...

meijia,
hokay... i wait for u... remember i wait for u hor...

twinkleglint,
stress ah... dun think the stress technique will work for me.. hehehe...

soupie.. i got a special package form atelier cos william is a personal fren of mine. he's gog to kill me if i let the cat out of the bag.. keke... pls pardon me. anyway, i only get them to do the video & express highlight. they do ve a few packages which i feel their price is reasonable, value for the money. chk them out.. mai du liao.. pick up the cd from forest.

twinkleglint... u interested in atelier demo too? maybe u wan to pick up the demo from ino...

ino ino.. where are u? i hope u dun mind.. maybe u can pass the cd to twinkleglint :p

ivory & twinkleglint... stress technique dun work for me too. i eat more when i'm stress leh... i need my fav chocolate & ice cream to destress leh. keke

cin_p, sho des ne! i'm still deciding whether to forgo video or not... hmmm... btw, who are u engaging for AD photography?

twinkleglint, u are looking for AD also eh? me too...i've checked out
1) moomedia - only impressed with their video.. they have cute 'introduction' videos of couples.. something like mtv but more personal. photos wise nothing impressive especially with the type of albums they use.. very flimsy.
2) Andrew Tay - reasonably priced. photos are pretty well done. easy to talk to and communicate in person too. haven't seen their video.. but think they just shoot and edit kind.. nothing fancy like mtv.
3) Benny Ang - this is the one that i'm most impressed with.. love his storytelling album of the AD events.. really very nicely done! he's quite artistic and yet tasteful.. i think with this album i can forgo my PS album anytime but disadvantage is it can only be done AFTER ur wedding :P but he's quite pricey... charges 2.2k for AD and 2.6k for digital.. but altogether there are 3 albums lor.. 1 coloured traditional shots, 1 journalistic b/w and 1 storytelling album.
5) still yet to check out choonhuat, vividshots and everafter too.

amos, oh yes.. have you shortlisted anyone for AD?

Mine is on 30th Oct too!

For those on the 30th Oct, where are you having your wedding dinner?

I have a very hard time searching cos it is such a popular date, might need to have the dinner on a 31st Oct instead.

of course!! welcome girlz

not too late....dun worry...but think u should do so soon :P

what your budget and what kind do u like? simple vs elaborate? off the rack or mtm??

hi blurq
tks, it's a very exciting experience going for fittings. Looking forward to yours i believe. Keep us inform

hi kk
only my WG is done, EG is going to start the process of making now, 1st fitting will be in march PS is expected to be sometime May. Going to try toning up my arms n tummy tot. :p

hi orosalind

can drop me mail on tt contacts via email? tks

Thanks poox!!

I've streamlined a few lah...like Dang, silver lining, milan, Irene's creation and white link..

any ideas abt them?? My budget is ard $4k lor...i also not very sure wat type of design..hoping to get off the rack, becos of my budget....

Welcome girlz..
Good to have more people joining...
Sorry can't help in packages...i am DIY ..hehehee....i bought my gown off ebay...and photoshoot is taken on my own olediz.....
But i tik there are quite a few ppl here who can help..very helpful!

Update us ya!

hi twinklelight,
u want atelier CD? Can pass it to you. Just PM me and we will arrange from there.

Hi cin,
MOST of the resorts e.g. Laguna, Taj Exotica, Coco Palm, Four Seasons, etc. are all booked until the end of Jan...looks like i got to stay in their Sampan instead.....urgghhhh....now, i'm exploring the possiblity of going to other countries, either Thailand, Australia or Japan...

Hi ivory,
I'm not using Popular...it's just tat i could not resist looking at wedding and evening gowns shown at the full-length display. Tat young designer got some interesting details...
Think younger designer better...more daring and bold with designs....

Lynn, you are very efficient!

I have not started anything yet, except book my BS and into final stages of finalising my WD venue.

Was actually planning for PS in late June or early July. But my preferred makeup artist just got pregnant (congrats to her) and will be giving birth next July. So my BS asked if we can make our PS earlier in May. We thought it's a bit too early.

Why did you decide to have yours done so early?

Orosalind,
which photographer you are referring to?

cin-p, ohhh.. yeah the andrew tay i was talking abt is from the edge
he's quite good and very popular too.. already have couples booking him for AD next yr dec already.. which pkg have u taken? the 950 one or the 1800 one? would be interested in the 1800 one but then he'll only take the b/w while the colour ones would be taken by his partner.. dun really know his partner's style since he have 3 partners :P

Ino,

U going where? Maldives ah?

Smallonion,

Ivory is right, better plan early hor...time flies very quickly. Now u can every weekend do a bit, so that when time comes no panic.

Cin_P,

U eat when you are stress ah? Can eat lah, but don't eat those high calories food like Choc and ice-cream lor. Maybe when stress eat fruit lah. I stress I cannot eat one leh. That's why everytime I go holiday I come back fat. Then go back working will lose weight.

U all got plan honeymoon or not? I dunno where to go. would like F&E Europe but hate the planning. Then hubby suggested to get the UOB travel planners to plan out the itinerary for us based on the place we want to go, to so called customise a package for us. But of course, it's join those Insight Tours, not the local tour from Sg to Europe. But dunno good not. We have not enquired anything about tour yet. So far look at the package in the papers from Chan Bros, they only go certain countries. Eastern Europe is less common. Scandinavian Europe also less common. Then I thot of going to more exotic places like South Africa and Eygpt but hubby think not safe, now in a dilemma, dunno where to go?!!!

hi all.. me already got my BS, hotel more or less is confirm, how only left AD photographer & montage, as for video, still consider as budget wise.

cin_p..have u plan ur honeymoon already, as Ino is already looking out & quite alot of place is already full.

Hi Keann,

Thanks for the renovation advise. I've also been thru a few mistakes made by my contractor. What i'm doing now was, frequent visit to the site and feedback immediately when you found something not right. was glad that they changed it to what i want. Like what Dora said.... "communication is very important" and that's not enough. You will have to be abit more hardworking to down to the site to "spotcheck" on their work so as to ensure that they are doing what you have requested.
a little hint to those who are renovating their house..... at times, do buy some treats (foods like: char sao buns, curry puffs, drinks, snacks) for the workers when you visit the site. This is to build better relationship with your contractors in order that they do their work more serioulsly for you. My hubby is doing that now.... hehe....

Keann, thanks for recommending theknot.com website to me. i found my WG there. So happy now... cos one less worry liao.

Now, i'll need to source for my EG.
Gals, pls give me your feedbacks.... do you think the bride should wear a simple plain EG with some beadings or EG with organza, slightly complicated beadings? Which is more suitable for the 2nd march-in during the banquet? Is a plain EG too simple for the ballroom dinner?

Hi Girlz...
Think Irene's creation and white link seems quite good. Think now the trend is still bustier WG. For me, my hubby told me to get a MTM WG and EG, cos they are made to my size... thus, will look more suitable for me. Will not look bulky.. hehe... cos I'm quite small-build...
For white link, if you are getting them to do everything for you (like make-up, hairdo, bridal car, etc), the cost should be around $5,888. That's the package that i wanted initially... but did not engage them in the end becos it's quite expensive. i can simply get it @ Santiago Wedding Studio. and their services are equally good.....

Btw, any bride-to-be wearing KUA on their AD?
Think wearing KUA for tea ceremony is also the trend now.... but heard it'll be very warm to wear something like that on the AD.

hi cin_p, ino
ya, i m interested, since u have the cd, can see first before meeting them. i have many meetings line up this weekend till i blur
blur liao........

hi soupie,
yup, i have checked on:
1) andrew tay fr the edge (haven't schedule a time)
2) berryhappy (meeting this wkend)
3) AV (met last 2 wks)
4) Augur media (haven't schedule a time)
5) kalyedoscope (thinking)
n 2 others not mentioning their names lah.......

i def wan to do video, the mtv style kind with express highlights. so far have check out:
1) mirage
2) wed-tv (like theirs a lot, esp the sms greetings projected for the guest to c)
3) envistar
4) atelier (like theirs too)

hi ivory, cin_p, fairymoss
like fairymoss, stress will work for me.hehe, i was once on braces, so lucky my chin look sharper. but hor me petite kind so if become fat will look like a ball.......hahaha

fairymoss,
u wana go europe? my frd jus came back from there, she got a great deal. she went many places (germany, holland, switerland, france, paris, etc) at only $2k+. i think hers was insight tours, she mentioned chan bro not very good.

for me haven plan honeymoon, see how. if aft reno left not much will settle for places like korea, aust, etc. if i manage to save then go europe.

Hi to all,
Mine is at 30 Oct too, but managed to get 88 resturant liao, tentitive booked the place, just waiting for inlaws to view the place then can place deposites, he...! really must fast hand fast leg, it's really a very popular date. But i'm happy that so many of us can be offically promoted to Mrs togather, he....!

But i need to settle my ROM , and paerty first, anyone has recommendation for buffet, i saw the thread on YLS, quite good leh....

ino: I know it's just called the Sampan, but for some reason, i was trying to envision someone staying in one. Hehe. Sampan sucks huh? What in the dickens is that anyway? Some standard room or something?