(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Hi doreamon,

Hi forest,
Since you ve the corporate rate why do you still want to take the promo? I believe corporate rate sure cheaper rite?

Hihi ladies...

Wow so quiet today?

Yvonne,
Yes my bridal package comes wif photography but I kinda of quite like Beetle@work's work so quite temptered of whether to let them do the studio & outdoor. Checked wif yc they will deduct ard $800 of my bridal package if I dun want photography.

The photo frame you saw at WL is montage. Err montage n collage the same rite? I like that too!

Journalist usually for actual day rite? Whereby they will take the nature n lifestyle type of photos?

Jul,
I think $1.8k for 20 pages collage should be reasonable rite? Cos most photographers charge ard $1.5-2k for 20pcs of 8R or 10R photos. The reason why 40over photos over 20 pages are becos some of them will ve a few pix in a page mah.

Sagi,
So envy can go for holiday! Ve fun ya!

hello gals!

Oops... so quiet today...
Ever's missing too!

Jul, Yvonne, the HDB at SK is at rivervale plaza, correct, it's the one without the air con one..

silver, me not too sure abt photogrpahy's prcing leh.... But if it's 20 pages.. shld be quite good rite..

Well, anyway, am hoping to visit bridal soon, the next wk or wk after... heheh... Finally eh!

Ok decided to visit David Lim and silverlining at the moment... And actually i emailed Yan abt David to check out more.. hehe.. quite interested in visiting him at the moment.. haha..

Oh btw, Yan is very busy with work, working late every nite and her home PC is down, that's why no time to come in here....

Hi silver,

If it's abt 40 photos for 20 pgs, then it's mag style right? Collages got at least 6 - 8 photos in a pg, I tot? I'm also very confused now. *scratch head* But I do think the px is quite reasonable. If u really like Beetles@Work, & u dun mind payin the extra, then go for it. But have u checked whether YC is able to replicate it for u?

Hi Jan,

Finally u're checking out the bridal shops! *hehe* Seems like such a long time u've been talking abt silverlining

Hahaha, yup Jul, if everything goes well, shld be visiting them soon!

So how abt urs? Are u still thinking of selling TWD package?

Morning gals!!

was on leave yesterday.... went for interviews.... sigh.... damn sian, using up all my leave for interviews.... if nothing comes out of it, then its such a waste!!!!

think for photo ablums, collage and mag style are the same thing.... with a few pics on one page...

silver, think $1.8k quite reasonable.... can consider...

yvonne, me went to see my bf's fren's EA (exec apt) at Sengkang... and went to 2 showflats too!! the EA very near to Compass Point and hav food court and Prime Supermarket downstairs!! quite a good buy, cos some of their neighbours staying there for about 2 years paid about $100k more than them!!!! imagine HDB lowered the prices by so much!! think they promoting their EAs cos the sales hav been very slow......

hi sagi, enjoy your holidays!!

Hi Jan,

I've sort of put the TWD plan on hold for a while. I think I might have been carried away, over-emotional & everything. So might affect my decision. I was thinking, maybe I'll go see a few bridal shops & compare the gonws, before I decide whether to sell. I've shortlisted a few : Jawn, Flamingo, Divine, Silver Lining, Silver Cloak, Ted's Collection, Silhoutte. Not that I'm gog to all, but pick a few lor. Anyway, a bit busy trying to see contractors & actual day photographers now.

Hi ever,

Was just wondering what happened to you. Dun think too much abt the leave. If u get a better job, isn't it more worth than that few days of leave?

Hi Silver,

Another good find for Florist: Green Palette

Located in Parkway Parade shopping centre basement.

#B1-38 Parkway Parade
Singapore 449269
Tel: 63422300

Here is what she quoted me:

Corsages: $2.50 for VIP, $4.00 for groom
Calla lilies: ard $40.00
Pew Flower: $5.00 for paper material with daisy and ribbons.
OR $9.00 for organza material with daisy and organza ribbons.
Rose Petals: FOC

She advised me to use artifical lilies to do the Pew flowers as the floral stand provided by Oaks are artifical lilies. She said like this, won't be funny.

Hi Annmelody,

Try Isuccess at level 2 or 3 of bras basah. Look for Mr Ng, he very nice and can do printing.

yup ever, a few days' leave is quite worth if it's a better job!!
Me thinking of changing jobs too! but i think my exp is still not enough leh! less than 2 yr of work exp only! How long is the standard to stay put in 1st job usually, u gals any idea?

wah Jul, u shortlisted so many!! haha!! Ya lah, just choose a few lah, if not too many will be too confusing too!!

Marigold - deco as in the buffet table got clothes, special color cloth for vip table, got flowers deco, got 1 flower arch....and they use proper hardware plates, not plastic or paper plates.

Food was not bad. I wouldn't say it's v. gd, but since it's just a buffet reception, it's ok. They have price range, i think from $10 per pax - $14 per pax (or i think maybe got higher end).

I'm also having it in church hall/canteen...so i guess d deco for the place u have to do yrself.

Poox - ok. mine is 1 May 04/Orchard Parade Hotel/Precious Moments(not confirm)

Hi jul!! you damn on leh!! still wanna source for bridal shops all over again!! hahahahaha.... me may go down to J&M soon, will try out some suitable gowns for ROM.... if not, will get them to MTM for me!!

ya, if can get the job, i dont mind taking leave... juz worried that in the end, i'm still stuck in this job without my leave!!!
one of the interviewer even told me explicitly that its an employers' market now and they can pick and choose from hundreds of applicants!!! sigh.... as if i don't know its an employers' market.... he doesn't hav to rub it in, rite?!?!?

jan, think its ok to leave after 2 yrs.... you can browse the Recruit ads now... then you'll know the no. of yrs of experience required for your field.... are you working in a bank?? cos i think banks' welfare benefits are not bad.... so, leave only when you really cant stand the job or when there's no prospects.....

poox: sorry didn't turn up. ended up damn late

hi garfield and marigold!

i am probably using Kriston for catering, haven't booked yet. Marigold, wat ur friend said is right. dun book for 100% of invites, 75% is a good figure.

pebbles: i mean my current place

btw, for HDB, govt only gives grant (30K izzit?)for resale flat? for new flats? how about staying near parents' place? and any grants for exec condo?

Hi Jan,

U're thinking of changing jobs too? Actually, I'd like to as well. But I think of my wedding, flat, etc, & also the stability of my present job, & I'm quite hesitant to take the plunge. What if I kena retrenched outside right?

I won't go to all the shops lah! Just a few to get an idea, but that wun be my priority now. Now I'll focus on reno & actual day photographer. Maybe in Sep, when I've nothing to do. I'll go browse ard lor...

Hi ever,

What a mean interviewer! Will u have to work closely with that guy if u join the co? What if he's still so yaya & insensitive to u when u're colleagues?

ever, some employers are just very mean during interviews these days... Like when i had mine last time, i think they're esp mean to fresh grads but of coz some of them very nice lah..
Yup, am working in bank, will see how it goes.. sighs!

good to have the thread buzier now....
updates:

Garfield: 1 May 04/Orchard Parade Hotel/Precious Moments
Poox: 9 May/Fullerton/BV/Kim Studio D'Fia/Fastsoup
keann: 15may/Amara Hotel/Free and Easy..kekeke...haven't found anyone yet..but prob Emmanuel B is helping me out with some stuff

The rest can fill the updates up...

Elenne: i know that hdb gives out grant..but not sure how much..we bought a new flat from yewtee..quite cheap to get new flats...

Catering issues....i recommend this caterer that my good friend used last sunday for her morning ceremony...the food is YUMMY!!! and her mum told me that it's not expensive.Dun have the contact yet..but will post up once i get it.
There's another place that i heard it's really good..they serve thai food and is quite special. The catering is called Nids Place. Tel:93820548
can ask them to send you a menu. Very different kind of food..at least guests will be impressed. I may use them..but i tik it's too early to book.

Hey Jul,

Yeah, same thoughts too, that's why still thinking whether i shld start looking now or next year after wedding.. If not everything comes together can be very siong in a way rite.. urghhh..

Hi Doreamon,

Wow you really have alot of lobangs ya? I found one at Amara (3rd floor) and she charges $50 for rose & $55 for lilies.

Was told that Calla lilies are not as 'strong' and steam too big to hold. Any comments from gals who ve use Calla Lilies for hand bouquet?

Gd morning gals...

Ya ya $1.8k sound ok to me too but another concern now is usually bridal shop will not allow us to wear our MTM WG & EG for ps rite dan if I am not going to take photography wif the BS where to find gowns for PS huh? Gals any idea?

Ever,
I think going to interview is abit of luck too. Hope you find your ideal job soon ya!

Jan,
Hey I almost wanted to drop by silverling yest but when I call up he is going out soon. Like no fate wif him leh hehe Was told that silverlining is quite close to divine so very tempted to go look see look see hehe

Jul,
You decided on actual day photographer? So far I met up wif Yew Kweng, Gabriel & Beetle@work. Like Beetle@work but his too X so out. So still yet to decide yet.

Hi silver,

Haha.. not fate with Jit, he's quite busy i guess, think u shld call him a few days earlier for appt.. haha! Yup, seen from mags, think the his and Divine's gowns are quite similar...

Wah, u gals so fast! already sourcing for actual day photographers!! Dun scare me leh!! Dun think i'll do that so fast, if not my hubby will be crazy!!

All,
Can we try to consolidate a catering 'bible'? So we can compare and decide from there?

Poox - 1st May/OLPS/No Banquet/Kowloon

Elenne
For resale - 30K for 1st timer or 40K for staying near parents. But if you take either grant, you cant sell your flat within 5 yrs, else pay back the govt plus interest. With the 40K grant, your parent/in-law (whichever is in your estate or within certain Km) cannot sell within 5 yrs from the date you purchase your flat. Taking up either of the grant will also mean that you cannot purchase any flat striaght from the govt else they'll impose a levy.

No grants for new flats.

Hope the info helps. Visit HDB website for more info.

Garfield
Then do we need to set aside a VIP table in the church canteen with hardware utensils? Plus what kind of deco do I need for the canteen?

Hi Jan,

Aiya I happened to be free that's why thought of dropping by mah hehehe

Me not purposely sourcing for actual day but because my gf looking for her ROM photographer so we arrange to see both ROM & actual day lor

I just check wif yc, she said will allow us to take OTR WG & EG for ps if not taking ps wif her but can feel that she is trying to convince to use her dan other photographers (I told her my friend checking) hehehe Come and think abt it also abit worried on how to tell her if I really want to switch.

Yvonne, MIA?

Hi silver!! think they'll let you bring yr MTM gowns for the PS, esp if you're not doing yr PS with them... guess you can check with YC... but i'm sure they'll ask you to pay for the drycleaning....

ya!! you gals already sourcing for actual day photographers?!?!?!? Jan, dont panic lah... juz get your BS settled first!! heehehehehehee.... i'll source for actual day photographer when i confirm the date!!
i need to wait for the almanac to be out.... even my future MIL think that we shld hold our wedding on sat (our tentative day is sun)!! sigh....

Hi Jan,

Yeah, looking for job & preparing for wedding at the same time is putting too much unnecessary stress on ourselves. Better wait for a while. Anyway, it's not as if the economy is very gd now. No hurry

I'm just trying to distract myself from my gown woes by getting busy with actual day photographer & reno contractor mah. Need some 'cooling off' period before I decide what to do with my package. So in the meantime, find other things to do lor

Harlow Ladies! Wow! You all so on arh?
Me nothing much to contribute leh, cos everything not settled yet... Hahaha! But will be free to go shopping in August, so YAY!

Enjoy your preps! I'm counting down too!

Hi ever,

Is there a special reason why u prefer Sun to Sat? I guess if the price / special meaning factor isn't that crucial, u may consider humouring ur FMIL. Score some points mah *hee*

But then, wedding is your own affair. If u really want to have it on Sun, just explain to her nicely. I'm sure she'll understand right?

Hi silver,

Surely u can borrow the OTR gowns from YC for PS? I'm sure she has factored in the cost of the loan already. Dun think u have much hope of bringing the MTM gowns out, coz those MTM gowns will become their OTR next time.

Hi Jul!! actually, i prefer to hav it on sat too!! juz that the fortune teller picked a sunday for us.... told us that there's no auspicious sat suitable for our wedding..... so, we juz take his word for it loh.... but my mum not convinced by him, cos the almanac is not available... so, i guess its a wasted trip!!! at the end of it, we still have to wait for the almanac loh!!! luckily, OCC didnt push us to pay the deposit.... heeheheehehehehee..... will avoid the sales person for as long as we can... hopefully, when the almanac is out, we can choose an auspicious sat and it'll please everyone!!!

jul, when you seriously start yr reno, you'll forget completely about the gowns!!! the reno project is definitely more big-scale than the gowns!!!

hello girls...
A&W,
so u packing yr stuff yet..???should be coming back soon liao rite??Since both u and Amos are coming back for good, im sure u guys have lots of things to ship back ah..
A&W,soupie,
hey i have the same problem as u girls ah, i have been flipping thru the bridal magzines dun know when ah and after a while all the gowns design all look so similar to me..ahahha...see till i blur blur and worst of all still have not decided what i want ah...and also the problem i have is, it might look so nice on the magzine ah cos those models so slim rite but the gown might not look nice on me mah...

forest,
so how, u decided which club to join ??? join CF lah at least can go with cin and me mah..ahahha got company then u will go else i bet u wont go ahah..

ino,
dun be so upset, it's only natural for the budget to ballon and guys as usual are always wondering why do we bother spending so much just for a day...ahahha...for my case, my hubby feels the pressure cos so much money involved but he also very vein so he understands the need to spend cos it's only once in a lifetime mah...so dun be so upset, u r not alone , there's still us mah...
Cheer up girl!!!

Good Day Gals,
Oh no... came in too late!!! Too many postings... (@.X)

Ever & Jan,
Sigh...! I thk our company is not doing well just got MEMO yday saying our increment freeze again for this year and Variable bonus only 0-0.6 ONLY! Can you imaging ever since I joined this company (2 years back), my salary has been freezed till now! So which means my salary never move for past 3 years!!!

Silver,
Premium/D&B flat is good cos the flooring, door n toilet all done up. But nowaday seldom got even hv also limited units left!

Jul,
Haa haa... still pondering about the bridal thing and hvnt drop the idea of comparision!!! Well, if you really not satisfied than better change early incase u regret later on then is too late! Anyway, still got 1 year for us before our actual day!
happ.gif

Sagi,
Bon Voyage! Enjy yr sun, sand and beach ya... remember go play the jetski and parachute... hee hee!

Hi ever,

Hah? Then what's the pt of gog to fortune teller in the first place? *haha* Nvm lah, just wait & see lor. As long as OCC isn't chasing u to confirm, it's ok. anyway, after u confirm, u can still shift the date.

Well, hopefully the reno takes my mind off the gowns lor *lol*

Yeah lor, I'm so fickle right? Keep thinking abt the gowns. Which is why my fiance suggested to look for reno contractors & actual day photographers now. To distract me from the gown woes. He's quite smart hor?
Nowadays I have no time to worry abt the gown problem already

Hi Ever & Jul,
Ya yc will rent us OTR WG & EG for ps even if we not going to take photography wif them. Me now trying to weight the pro n cons.

Pros of using yc will be they will coinordinate everything, more outfits for ps, hand bouquet will be included, extra perks like 8R table top, 20x24 canvas, 4R photos.

Cons is I dun get to take photo of our MTM gowns, ve to find my own additional outfit, pay for hand bouquet, no extra perks

Looks like I really ve to think twice liao. sigh...

Hi Ever,
Actually I prefer Sat too but too bad mine falls on sun so... I think OCC sat & sun rate the same rite?

I ve yet to pay for my deposit at RSYC too hehe But in the mids of finalisation the agreement. Me insisted them to put in certain details in black n white. Better play safe hehe

Ya agreed that premium flat definately better. Can save on renov. Have to wait n see lor.

Console yourself that at least you still got a job lor.

Hi Jul,
You are not the only one fickle minded. Me too.

Yea.. since there's suggestions from catering, it's good to compose a list and add in as much details as possible.

marigold - VIP table, the caterer shd include that in their service.They will set the table for u,cloth and flowers in it.As for utensils,shd b provided for also so u don't have to use yr canteen's one.

Canteen deco....depends on u and yr church... As there's a few rules to follow also when u sign the contract with yr church abt using the place...esp. abt aircon time,when can u set up d place, etc...
U can have deco, or u don't want, up to u...it's better to get yr friends/relatives to do it for u so u don't have to worry. The usuals are balloons...streamers....etc.etc...Juz to make the canteen look livlier.

silver, you very funny.... you wrote the pros of getting YC and the cons of getting Beetles@work!! hahahaha.... you convincing yourself to take YC, is it??

ya, better to put everything in B&W!!! think OCC rates for sat & sun is the same... so, i prefer sat loh... if its sun, then everyone will want to leave early!!!

guess we gals are always fickle-minded!!

Hi silver,

Haaa...haaa....i always like to do research on everything that i start on so that is why so many lobangs.
There are two type of Calla lily: the big flower and the small flowers. I was advised by the Parkway parade florist to go for big flower as i wanted the bouquet to be light and simple. Plus i am petite in size so she also advised me not to go for too many stalks.

This is the first time that i heard of calla lily is not strong and stem too big to hold becos' my friend who also petite as me used calla lily as her bridal bouquet and did not complain at all. She used more than 3 stalks. And personally, i have seen the calla lily, find them okie lei.

Ya agree with ever, we gals very fickle minded!! hehe..

Yup silver & ever, think it's better not to pay deposit first since u gals haven't confirm the date...

Silver, just another point for u to note, if u take beetles that means addl costs already, and do remember to put some budget on developing more photos in case u wanna have extra pics..

Yvonne, ya loh, why so late come in, too many to read now hor! hehehe..

Hi ever,

I think that's women rite?
Beside the point that I like beetle@work's work, can't think of any pros of getting them. But again ve to drop by his studio and take a look lah cos that day he only showed us a wedding day album.

hello fellow may brides,
elenne,
i think marigold have answered yr qns liao but for more details u can always check out the hdb website..
or their customer service officer also very nice...can call them anytime..

poox,
for mine, 6 May04/GCW/BZ/Beetles@work.
so when will u girls be having yr photoshoot??

Oh dear... i can't seems to catch up with you gals! You gals are going too fast today, so many diff topics see until i confused........

I also prefer sat that's why we choose SAT cos at least we got 1 day to rest on sun... kee kee! Btw, i also hvnt put my deposit...hee hee! As long as they don bark me for confirmation before the TONG SHU is out can liao. Hey! remember inform me when the TONG SHU is out ya! Is getting on my nerve waiting for the TONG SHU......

Silver,
YC photographer's skill u not satisify? Ala Carte package can be quite tedious so think twice.

I am also a 2004 bride. Wedding time to set in Oct/Nov.... though still far off but already started to look for gown. (just yesterday).....went to Allure and Dang... very nice gown they have... also went to HOE to check out the kua. Their kua are so nice that I wanna to give up my evening gown for it.
anyone getting married at that timming?

hello gals

thanx for your updates so far we have:

Garfield: 1 May 04/Orchard Parade Hotel/Precious Moments
Poox: 8 and 9 May/Fullerton/BV/Kim Studio D'Fia/Fastsoup
keann: 15may/Amara Hotel/Free and Easy..kekeke...haven't found anyone yet..but
pebbles: 6 May04/GCW/BZ/Beetles@work.
marigold:1st May/OLPS/No Banquet/Kowloon

elenne: ya...we waited for a while then decide to go ahead....it was fun meeting up...hopefully u can join us next time. can u update your wedding info above?

great idea to have a consolidated list for catering. :P

pop by and saw that you all are discussing abt using calla lillies, so wanna KPO a bit and share my tots..

I had used calla lilies for my ROM recently too.
I had DIY them so had did some comparison when i bought them.

The big ones is a little too big for my frame. I'm 1.63m. So i pick the 'mini' calla instead.
I bought 10 and tied all together at the stem portion and chop it off where comfortable.

I personally think it looks good.

The flowers are definitely lasting boy.
So if you like such flowers, i would encourage it..

Had wanted hydrangeas but i did hear from another flower expert here that it does not last as well.

2 cents worth.