(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date

hi coolangel,
thks, most likely i will take the ballroom cos im looking at 50-60 tables. restn food better u mean? gee...my uncle knows their purchaser so hopefully can get good food but im thinking of opting out sharkfins...

we're thinking abt the tpt also, worst come to worst we will charter own buses for our guests. but dun think the rushing is that bad rite?

Hi Catura,

perhaps you can tell your MIL why you need th dates earlier..anyway the chances may be better if you hold your dinner during weekdays...

plus, there are still other good venues ard, like marina mandarin, suntec etc..so dun worry too much la.

Hi evon

I went to their restn to take a look at the menu...The restn manager told us that if I am take ballroom the food will still come fr this restn. Dun worry the food looks good and tasty

Their last shuttle service will end at 11pm so they will try to finish everything b4 11pm so that their staff can take the shuttle service..... it's a good idea to charter yr own buses.

I have confirmed my booking with Holiday Inn, the staff there is friendly and heard taht the food there is nice too.

hi coolangel,

ohh...but how come u didnt choose occ urself?

hmmm...i didnt realise that...but most of my relatives drive it's my hubby's side who does..charter owb buses just incurred additional cost :P:P

ya i heard ppl mentioned about holiday inn as well...so when's ur customary?

Hello girls!
I'm sept'04 bride too! Just got my date, should be 26th Sept 04 if no one objects! I've booked with Wedding News and Sheraton Towers
Just bought a resale flat at Sengkang, hopefully i'm able to get the keys by Dec'03! Cheers!

I've finally gotten a response from MC. Their dishes looks quite nice and prices are reasonable..
Now I wonder how the ballroom looks like..

eVon,
I guess it'll be alright if OCC provides transport... In that way it can make your guests be on time! hehehe!

Shinde,
I think I'll go rush my MIL again this weekend
If not I'll just become a 2005 bride! hahah
What abt u? U've settled on your venue?

Hi eVon

Cos i didnt meet their ballroom requirement which is 40...I only need abt 30 - 35 tables.
actually i make tentative booking with their restn (20th Nov)but one couple want to pay deposit so we give the date to that couple.
My in law say OCC quite inconvenient so we never call them again.

Hi Catura
I like MC ballroom, quite grand and the food portion is just nice for 10. My ex boss held her wedding there early this year. The foyer is also quite spacious.

Hi Ocean,

The boutique doesn't allow photography leh... maybe much later when its nearer my wedding day. Will upload and show u gals.

The Jurong West Blk that has the Guo Da Li stuff is either 502 or 501. I must find time to go down to check out the exact blk.

gotto run...

mee mee

Hi coolangel
That's good to hear.. Trying to find pics of ppl who held their wedding there so i can see how the ballroom looks like heheh!

welcome bread... how's ur preparation? have you gone for your 1st fitting? btw, where's wang jiang lou?

hi girl.. beta to settle the venue first... once you ve an est capacity.. source ard, if you like make a tentative booking... actually at teh mean time, you can shortlist 1st.

mmm.. my preparation arh.. wil be choosing my photos on thur.. rite now doing my invites... & also my new hse reno starts tomolo... so excited =)

anglebb
wow.. u also promoting ur venue huh.. keke.. you like kids huh... anyway it's a good way to exercise too... hey, u sure u can handle those kids? keke... how's ur preparation? it's drawing near...

remember to buzz one of us... think i must key in ur tel as well... keke

doremon... i'm very confused leh.. ur ROM is coming rite? customary next yr hor? when huh? no banquet rite?

ino... where are you? how's ur photos?

hi doremon!! :D

mi also holding any dinner banquet. gotten exemption from the parents!
so it will only be a shiok shiok ROM in jan '04 and then follow by the customary in sept '04. wanted to hold all together in jan but my mother said too rush k lor .. so split la... give her more time to readjust too :P

aiyo...long time never post...a lot of new comers!!! welcome newbies!!!!

hi amos,
how come still using dial-up? can subscribe to cable...now starhub having promo...2 mths free payments!!

hi cin_p,
my photos are out! hehehe....top up quite a fair amt. of $$$ to convert to digital and have extra 7 fotos. The kind lady agreed to let me have 35 sample photos back...think me going to negotiate for more...hehehhe
i'm going to get my album in Dec...gotta wait 2 more mths...
how abt u? i'm very sure it muz have looked beautiful...

Really into the wedding prep now...juz got my invitation card designs. Thinking of the floral decor theme that i want for my wedding now...

Thanks for all your compliments.

Smurfy, yah lor.
I think those we saw must cost more than $1000.
Come to think of it, our cs is not cheap at all.

bluelake, does your hotel provide free printing service? Anyway, I heard from one of my cousins who married recently that her printing costs $1 per pc.

Hi poshie, welcome

Seems like now there are 4 of us who will marry on 21 Feb 04

Maybe you can think of where to go for ps now

Hi Catura,

MC has only 1 ballroom and that makes your wedding exclusive..It's very spacious with high ceiling..in other words, good. =)

Hehe...i'm actually holding my wedding dinner at MC too..Been to a few places before deciding to have it there.

HI Cin_p,

Yup, u r right. My ROM is this coming sun. Customary either July 04 or dec 04. Given two dates but we have not confirmed which date to take first.

NO Banquet.

Hi Coven,

U taking up Kai's promotion?

Catura: ya the shuttle svc provided by occ is more frequent than other clubs...but if charter personal bus lagi punctual :D:D

Coolangel: hmm...actually quite true lor about the inconvenient thing, but occ is really very nice because of the high ceiling.
anyway...now you got a better venue so should be happy :D:D

hi shinde,

may i know how many tables u hv booked with Merchant court? urs on wkends?

hi coolangel,

so in the end, did u book with MC? if not where is ur wedding banquet venue?

Hi angelbb,

Thanks. Will check out since Club Chinos is out...But you sure the rates are for Weekends? Anyway, will give them a call. You have any photos to share abt their wedding setup?

Have also check out Novotel Apollo...seems ok...will check out the wedding setup soon..Same for River View but max. is abt 35 tables...

Hi forest,

Same same. Have you shortlist some? Any gd recommendations so far?

Hi cin_p,

Yah, you are right. Got to decide fast since mine falls on a Sat....By the way, what does tentative booking means? Hee hee...

Hi Gerlynn,

My estimated tables now is abt 32 tables....got to consider those that can accomdate more than 30 tables...

Will check out River View, Novotel Apollo and maybe the RELC International Hotel...(dun know if you have heard of the RELC Intl'l Hotel....seems to be very "wu lu"....hee hee) No choice, due to budget constrait....

hi pageup,
ya lor, like I said I read in other threads about how the other brides bought cloths from Arab Street and got those neighbourhood seamstress to sew at below $500, I heart pain.. but among all my wedding clothes, I still love my CS the most, dunno why, maybe becos its the most comfy among all and I pay for it myself

No need to worry about PS, your photographer will sure know where is the best place to take pics

hI Girl80,

RELC got 1 chinese restaurant, the food there is nice & i think they got free shuttle bus to pick ur guest up frm Orchard MRT to the hotel...but not too sure bout the setup...maybe u can chk it up...

hihi Raphine,
My AD is 2days after ur & i'm also with Sheraton Towers...

blueangel, sliverlining... so far so gd... will be goin down to discuss my gowns tis mth end...

cin_p, me preparation almost done, waiting for my PS which is March'04, 1st fitting still long way and wang jiang luo juz next to New Otani hotel... WOW... u will be choosing ur photos soon muz show us ur mei mei photos hor...

I will be a Sept bride too .... tentatively fixed the date to be on 19 Sept ... dinner to be on 20 Sept ... wanna check some stuff wif u ladies ...

As 19 Sept is chinese 6th day of 8th month ... when should the Guo Da Li be?? My mum keep perstering me cos ppl tell her that Guo Da Li must be at least 8 days before the wedding .... but 8 days before will be in 7th month ... and we can't do it in the 6th month cos my FIL just passed away this year 7th month ... and we wanted to wait for 1 year before we have our wedding ....

Can I do it on the 1st day of 8th month? Anyone knows the rationale of the 8 days? Also, do we need to engage someone to select the date for Guo Da Li ... I engaged someone to select the wedding date for me but the feng shui master didn't provide me with the Guo Da Li date and now I can't seem to locate her anywhere ... lousy service ... so mad ....

Really hope to hear from someone ... cos I am planning to comfirm my wedding banquet by this month =p and I really do not wish to change the date anymore ....

Hi kokopooh,

You are right, the restaurant name is called Pin Hsiang Restaurant. I think will check out the setup and let u gals know..

Hi Angelbb,

I have check with Norman on the weekend package and its abt $788+++ which is way out of my budget....but the setup is really really very grand and nice....

ino & bread... must pray hard tat the photos turn out nice... hope no nitemare... very very worried tat i'll look fat, old... can see those mosquito bites.... many many more lah... keke...

girl... tentative book arh.. hmm.... chop the date 1st then slowly discuss the details... but some hotels only hold for awhile.. u ve to chk with them =)

hi welcome ralphine & seabreeze...

yeah...so many sept 04 brides suddenly...n our AD are all very near to one another as the first half of the mth is 7th mth...so only left 2nd half of the month...hehe..

girl80...what the full name of RELC?? i duno leh..hehe...btw how abt Long Jiang restaurant in Crown Prince Hotel? Heard its not bad...n the price shd be cheaper than the ballroom rite?

btw gals..around when will u guys be designing your gowns? n fotoshoot???

i hv asked MC. if i have 33 tables, they still can allow but i have to pay abt $770 (before tax n service charge) for per table. dont think worth it. think hv to pass this. anyway MC dec 2004 dates all gone.

Hi neece,
Me too.. dont have so many tables.. altho the prices/ table is very reasonable...

Hi kite,
ALL GONE???!! WAH!! Abit scary.. hotcakes!

ino:

Wendy's using dialup at her place right now because she'll be there for another 6mnths. After that she'll be moving over here mah. I'm running cable here.

Hi catura,

MC dec dates all gone. but maybe u can call to call them up.

Hi coolangel,

heard the holi Inn not bad. the ballroom very grand w high ceiling n long aisle? hv u seen the ballroom? are the dec dates still available?

Hi Pageup,
I think $1 for the printing of invitation card is the common rate, unless the qty is high, then a better rate is given. Do you think if all of us go to the same printer, we might get a better discount?

Yup... me now headache for selection of my Studio photographer.....

hi bread,
ya.. we ve an outing next wk.. wanna join us?? kekekek..
i read quite alot of good comments abt silverlining... n tt jit is very good...

hi doremon/coven,
kai got promotion meh?? wat's the promotion?? can let me know?? i really love his gowns leh.... tks tks

hi ino,
wow wow.. really into prep liao hor.. kekekek... must b getting all excited abt it... glad to hear tt ur pics r nice... n tt u also managed to get quite a deal frm ur BS...

hi girl80,
hee.e.. no recommendations yet leh.. but i've been to some hotels for banquets n both the food n ballrm very good.. jus tt the prices abit steep... since i still hvent decided on my budget.. i'm also not sure if i'll choose those hotels or not... but best scenario is tt i get to choose them lor.... kekekeke...

cin,
no worries!! photos sure turn out nice one lah!!! rem to share the outcome tom hor... kekekek...

hello lin .. now known as ic...
u change ur nick ah?? heee... how hve u been??

Hi Catura & Kite,

mine is on a weekday...i've confirmed 35 tables with them thou i tink there may be more...big family from my side..

Wow...i'm surprised...you gals serious abt Dec 04 fully booked??

hi fantasy,

u are quite lucky huh...somemore got 2 pairs
think cheaper at tangs right? me will try my luck there too!
show us the pics when its ready thks!

hi onee,
in my opinion, its better to hold it outside. it is nicer and ur guest don have to go squeeze there, usually crowded one. but it really based on your budget also...ROM there is definitely cheaper than holding it outside...

Hi Gerlynn,

I only know the hotel is called RELC International Hotel located @ Orange Grove Rd. There is a Chinese Rest. called Pin Hsiang Restaurant. Maybe going to check out this Sunday. Will be going down to Novotel Apollo this Sat to find out more and also going down to River View Hotel this Sunday...

Will keep you gals update asap.

Hi Kite
I think some of the dates are still available..... maybe you can call them to check it out. I seen the ballroom and they have long and short aisle. The only bad thing about ballroom is the pillars. a few tables might be blocked if you choose long aisle. Depends on how many tables you booked. Min 25 Max 40

Hello everyone,

I am new to this thread
My AD is also in March 2004.

From now till March, stil have 5 months more. And I have already taken my wedding photo. Seems like nothing much to prepare, not like other ppl, so busy leh??

Just to check, when should my hubby come to my place to "ti qing"???

Hi CC2, are u there? I had MIA for so long...too busy.
I had already changed my date liao.
Same as yours leh

My fortune teller told me that it is a good date. Even my AD photographer was booked on this date
so i had to change another photographer

Hi jamci,

me still here!
Noboday post so I always keep quiet lor!

U got the same date as me ah!
I just pay the deposit for my hotel and they were telling me that there were 2 other couples interested in my date too! Luckily, I blocked the date earlier!

Which photographer did u booked with? Maybe I'm the one who booked the photographer! hahaha.....;)

Why u changing ur date?

Hi...u are back. I am waiting for u.
Yeah..a lot of couple choose this date. I book Yew kwang and he told me that i am the third person who asked him. Too bad! Luckily he didn't accept any deposit so i was able to change photographer.
My dad said that this date is no good after reading the tong shu so end up we changed again.
So u and i will be celebrating on the same day liao

Hi Jamci & CC2,

May I know the date the 2 of u choose? For me, my hubby and I just anyhow choose the date. Din read any tong shu or go to fortune teller..