(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
meijia, we choose 11 mar

What date did u chose?
U didn't choose date? do your parents or his parents know?
You must ask the elders first regarding the date. They might be more particular abt dates.

Hello Jamci,

My date is 13 March. I want it to a sat. I did ask his parents to choose, they say qing cai, anything, ask my parent to choose. My parents also say thing, no taboo. So I choose myself and discuss with my hubby.

He also qing cai, so we decide on 13 March lor. Also don if this date good or not

Hi Jamci,

Pai seh, I'm the one who book Yew Kwang. :P Din know that this date is so popular cos after a few months I tentatively book the date with my hotel, I was checking with them if anyone is asking for my date. They say no, so I thot this date no popular.

So which photographer are u looking at now? R u going to have videographer as well. I just booked mine a week ago.

yeah... we will be celebrating the day together.

Hi Meijia,

U very fast leh! Finished ur PS already ah! My PS is coming end of the month. My hubby was complaining too early and his colleagues were surprised too! ;)

hi coolangel,

thanks i managed to get hold of the wedding package. btw if i have about 30 to 33 tables, will the pillars block my guest's view?

Hi kite

Should be ok but not more than 35 tables. I have the same no. of tables as you. my advice is to take the short aisle.If you want to have a better idea go and take a look, ask them when they have a wedding there and tell them u want to see it. The staff is very friendly.

Hi Hi!!
Wow, I haven't pop in here for quite a while and really happy to see so many Oct brides!!

Blurq, i m oso having my wedding on 15 Oct next yr
My wedding will be at chijmes.

Next wk, I am going for the first fitting of my gown.. err, can anyone tell me wat to expect?

harlow ladies out there....

just chance upon this thread as I was browsing thru the site....I am also a June 2004 Bride...Mine is on the 5th of June...glad to meet all of u...

Julie

hi julie!!

welcome to this thread!!

hey...u earlier than my by 1 day ;)
so hows prep?? maybe u wan to intro urself abit??

Hey folks! Just thought i'd share something i read from George Carlin, post 9/11.

"The paradox of our time in history is that we have taller buildings but shorter tempers, wider freeways, but narrower viewpoints. We spend more, but have less, we buy more, but enjoy less. We have bigger houses and smaller families, more conveniences, but less time. We have more degrees but less sense, more knowledge, but less judgment, more experts, yet more
problems, more medicine, but less wellness.

We drink too much, smoke too much, spend too recklessly, laugh too little, drive too fast, get too angry, stay up too late, get up too tired,
read too little, watch TV too much, and pray too seldom. We have multiplied our possessions, but reduced our values. We talk too much, love too seldom, and hate too often.

We've learned how to make a living, but not a life. We've added years to life not life to years. We've been all the way to the moon and back, but have trouble crossing the street to meet a new neighbor. We conquered outer space but not inner space. We've done larger things, but not better things.

We've cleaned up the air, but polluted the soul. We've conquered the atom, but not our prejudice. We write more, but learn less. We plan more, but accomplish less. We've learned to rush, but not to wait. We build more computers to hold more information, to produce more copies than ever, but we communicate less and less.

These are the times of fast foods and slow digestion, big men and small character, steep profits and shallow relationships. These are the days of two incomes but more divorce, fancier houses, but broken homes. These are days of quick trips, disposable diapers, throwaway morality, one night stands, overweight bodies, and pills that do everything from cheer, to quiet, to kill. It is a time when there is much in the showroom window and nothing in the stockroom. A time when technology can bring this letter to you, and a time when you can choose either to share this insight, or to just hit delete.

Remember, spend some time with your loved ones, because they are not going to be around forever. Remember, say a kind word to someone who looks up to you in awe, because that little person soon will grow up and leave
your side.

Remember, to give a warm hug to the one next to you, because that is the only treasure you can give with your heart and it doesn't cost a cent. Remember, to say, "I love you" to your partner and your loved ones, but most of all mean it. A kiss and an embrace will mend hurt when it comes from deep inside of you. Remember to hold hands and cherish the moment for someday that person will not be there again. Give time to love, give time to speak, and give time to share the precious thoughts in your mind.

Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."

By George Carlin

Hi CC2,

Ya, I have finished my PS in Sept and have selected my photos last sunday.

I also feel too early but the bridal shop say have to send to Tawian for development and need 4 months. So have to take early otherwise clash with CNY, might not get my album on time.

Mind to share which bridal shop are you with?? And where you went for outdoor??

hi joanne,
welcome to this thread..so which hotels are u looking it? I guess oct is really a hot mth to get married.Better book it early..

hi hanyan,
Such a coincidence.Finally found someone same as me..
hey hey..u book ur bridal already? Why is the first fitting so early? I thot shd be ard March?

Hi Meijia,

Me doing ala carte style. Have paid $1.2k for deposit so changing it into PS only. Was "conned" by French in Funan IT Mall.

Was thinking of sentosa and maybe Changi close lor. Where did u go for outdoor?

I also scare clash with CNY that's I wanted to take it early and end of the year always rain ah. If it rains on the day then I have to go back another day for outdoor and need to pay them $100 for makeup artist.

Hi CC2,

I went to Changi beach for my PS. Quite a lot of things to take. The photographer brought us to an old house, a small jetty and beach. Unfortunately, by the time I reach the beach, it is going to rain soon. So we only took some shoot and go back to bridal shop. Otherwies she want to bring me to a place with long grass too

Overall, the photo turn out quite nice, I am satisfy and happy. I have 2 photographer. Jaki from O studio took 3 gown indoor. The other photographer took another 3 gown, 2 indoor and 1 outdoor. I prefer the latter cause the feeling more romantic. I choose mostly photos taken by her

Senstosa is a nice place. My photographer told me it has the most beautiful and cleanest beach in Singapore

Hi Meijia,

O studio is good!

Not really conned lar, me kua zhang a bit :P. Basically I signed up during the exhibition without doing much research and taking a look at their gowns. So after some time I was quite upset over their limited gowns and decided to convert my deposit to PS and luckily they allow ah! But I need to top up another $600 lor

I dun like fake flowers for the car, also prefer to take London Cab as compared to the merc so decided to go ala carte instead of taking their package even though it mean speading slightly more but it makes me feel so much better lor!

Which BS did u signed up with?

Hi CC2,

Luckily you can change your deposit to PS otherwise heartpain to forfeit so much $$.

I sign up with Milan. Recommended by my friend. She was Ex-GM there so can bargain for more things. Jaki happen to tied with them also. But personally I prefer Kim who took the other 3 sets of gown plus outdoor.

Actually I cancel my package from another bridal shop and signed up with Milan. Can say overall Milan service is good. Just only sometimes you need to specify your requirement.

I think most bridal car deco is using fake flower. Milan too, but I saw another bride's bridal car Milan do for them, it is quite nice.

Oh! such a concidence, I am also booking london cab for my AD cause Milan don't provide car. I take chance of TIB promotion ended last month. Paid $398 (incl GST, drive and petrol) for whole day and I choose silver. Now they have 2 new colour, pink and yellow.

Have you booked the london cab??

U also lucky leh, managed to cancel your initial bridal package. Which BS was that?

Ya lor, most BS use fake flowers but I prefer fresh flowers. U choose silver ah? Silver was 1 of my initial choice but finally I picked pink.

Booked my London cab already. Me KS lar.. will book asap if not another couple wants it on the same day as me chiam ah.. they only have 1 pink london cab.

U booked ur AD photographer and videographer already?

Previous bridal shop was Everbliss. They dun compensate me for thoer things cause they say have provide me dress, makeup and hairdo for ROM. My deposit is $600 but i dun think the ROMS service worth so much. So more, the dress is only for rental.

I dun know to argue anymore and upset myself. At the same time I cancel with them and sign with Milan, I am happy liao.

Me also KS, book early. Think silver cab, they dun have too many so. So more got promo, must book fast
Intitally they told me got pink, I thought is pastal type, but is kinda of to the bright type. So I din choose lor.

But fresh flower might not last for whole day. What type of flower you planning to tie???

I have book my AD photographer. Still considering if I want to book them for videographer. They are charging me $700 for DVD. But have not ask them how many dulpicate I will get??

What abt you?? Have you book and wat is the rate??

CC2, who is your actual photographer?
Huh..must pay another $100 for make-up. What abt flowers? I only need to buy flowers again lor. Maybe i will buy from my friend who is a florist.

Our wedding days going to be 1 yr from now one. Excited? I.m meeting my designer next mth to discuss abt my EG. Feeling excited.

Blurq, not early if u are going for MTM. Must factor in Xmas n CNY, it might take a bit longer to MTM gowns.

Hanyan, Wear the shoes u intend for wedding, or at least the ht of sole so that u can gauge how long the gown shld be. Ask a gf to go along. Gals are more sharp, can help u look out for 'defects' like uneven seams, hip too tight etc.

Chilipadi, how's ur hotel search?

Same goes to joanne, 2004 is a very hot yr to get married. Act fast!

hello gals,

i went for my first fitting tis week. Quite disappointed coz only saw the lining of the gown. hehehe..

For those going for fitting, remember to bring the following:

Shoes
Corset/Girdle (optional)
Camera (optional)

I also choose my EG design. Phew!.....

Btw, anyone knows where is substance? I saw their shoes on magazine, quite nice!

Hi Meijia,

I agree. ROM service don’t cost so much. Empire Rom package is only like $300+. At least u din paid so much deposit so it’s not that bad.

Initially I thot the pink was those pastel pink too but hubby and mom says it looks nice. And the more I look it, the more I like it so just went ahead to book lor! I have not decided on what flowers to use but must use those more lasting ones.

Who did u booked for AD photograpger?

I have booked both videographer and AD photographer. Jamci, will answer ur question here. My AD photographer is Yew Kwang lor!

Hi Jamci,

I asked French before what if it rains on our PS day then they say we need to come back another day for outdoor and need to pay for the makeup artist which is $100. Not too sure abt the flowers.

Hi Gals, me just drop in to say hello!!
How's everybody??

Me quite tired & been coughing for 3 weeks liao! Weather not gd recently, so all must try to take care hor!

Recently, my tiles pop up in the living rm and had to call HDB to settle the tiles. Imagaine that all my furishing had been moved in liao and now this happen. The Most problematic one is that I had build-in tv console and platform at the pop up tiles...Sigh....

Poshies, welcome to the thread!!!
Same wedding date as me, Pageup, amethyst (not sure if her date change liao) and TCL!

Hi CC2,

My photographer is recommended by my friend. His charges is reasonable and I have looked at few of friends photograph, they are very nice. So I also engage him for my actual. His studio is call M2M, once featured in Wedding & Travel.

Just went to my hubby house during lunch time to get the letter from HDB. My flat will be delayed for 1 month!! Will only collect my keys in Jan
Dun think renovation can complete before March. Still have to arrange for delivery of furniture.

I may have to postpone my wedding. Else I will have to rush like mad. Now I have difficult finding another date liao

Hi Meijia,

ur photographer also does videography ah?

Oh no! If u get ur keys in Jan may not have time to complete ur reno as CNY falls in Jan and those contractors may take a long break during the CNY.

Have u booked ur banquet?

eh...julie & bread,

my big day oso 5 jun (customary) and my wedding banquet on 6 jun...so which one i belong to ah??? 5th or 6th?? Kekekeke

Hi CC2,

Yes, my photographer have a friend who can do videogrpahy. But I need to vie whis work before deciding.

Anyway, now I dun know what date to postpone to

I just call HDB, they can't tell me if I will get in early or late Jan. But I told them to put me on the priority list for first batch of key collection.

So siay siay, end of jan, I need abt 5 weeks to complete revo, that will means abt mid of March. And I still need to arrange for delivery of furniture plus packing my things. Think I need to postpone to April liao, no choice

I have booked my banquet at my prayer hall. Have to checked if I can change. Think should be no problem if the date I choose din clash with any class or praying session.

Will need to discuss with my hubby. Still need to call TIBS and my AD photographer.

Hi bread and Julie,

Welcome to the thread... now we've got two more kakis to share info and ideas...

Hi cubby,
Hee, still havent taken the pix yet. Will try to rem to do it this weekend ;p

Hey girlfriend, dont be disappointed. think first fitting usually this case. A consolation for you would be at least u already get to see the lining. Most of us still have not seen the drawings yet... kekeke... I'm sure your second fitting will be more exciting. Btw when will tat b??

Sneaky, do you visit FBO as well?? There's someone by the name of sneaky there with pix of herself and boyfriend.

Hey ladies, anyone attending the wedding couture organised by Female Brides tomorrow at Raffles The Plaza?? Hubby and myself will be attending.
Sunday attending wedding dinner at raffles the plaza again...

meijia, it is better that u postphone the wedding to a later date so that you will have a house to stay after your wedding.
If you got the keys in jan...i think it is too rush and no contractors will be willing to do it for you during jan cos it is their long rest holiday. All the malaysian workers also need to go back to their hometown. And futhermore, you have more time to save more money.

Hi Jamci,

Thanks for your advice. I think so too. Since both side parent are "qing cai" type, I choose my own. In fact, just now I went online to search, have a few dates in mind. Probably will postpone to 3 April, or 17 April. But it will be in repeat lunar feb. This year repeat in Feb. But I can't afford to delay further liao. My cousin wedding is on 16 May, can't clash with his

Really headache now.

CC2...no wonder lah.... when i heard that he is already booked, i was so disappointed that i couldn't sleep that nite.
I was trying to keep within the budget so that i can spent on others' necessities.
Anyway, i couldn't believe my hubby was willing to spend over 1k when we found another AD photographer. He saw the way i drool over the collages album. I asked him whether his heart pain over the price but he replied as long i am happy liao.

Jamci,

We started courtship on 8 Dec. This year will be our 10th year. And we ROM on 19 Sept 2001.

These 2 dates, too far liao, can't choose. And our bday fall in Jan and March, so also out.

I think of a date, probably 18 April cause it is a sunday. Actually I don't quite like 3 or 17 April cause they even number although the online TONG SHU day it is suitable for marriage.

I am not those "pan dang" type, so I can choose any date lor.

But me very vexed now.

hi sneaky,

yah...u belong to both heehee
most impt..we are all june 04 brides right!

hi galfren,

yah..dun be too disappointing okie...
cheers up...only first fitting...so more designs will follow one!!

hi bread,
welcome here!!

hi bread,
okies.. will keep u gals n 1 guy
updated!!

hi ic,
kekeke.. good to hear tt lah.. as usual hor.. kekekek... bt gd enuff to hear!!!!

Hi Jamci,

Good for u manzzz.... ur hb don't mind spending more on AD photographer. So who did u get in the end?

Meijia,

Heard that it's no good to have wedding on the repeated lunar mth. Just to let u know but if u r not pang tang then it shld be fine.

As me, the date was chosen by the geomancer as his parents are quite pang tang.

Hi CC2,

I know next year have repeated lunar month but din know it falls on feb. However, both side parent not pang tang type, so it is ok with us.

Ya, if parent are pang tang type, then have to choose carefully.

For me, I think it is the marriage which can last counts. So long we are happy, can liao

meijia, if both parents are not pang tang then u should be more relaxed lah...don't think too much.
Both parents already made thing easier for you.

My both side of parents are pang tang...haiz. That time when we change date, i was so stressed until i couldn't sleep well for few nites.

CC2, we chose beatles@work in the end.

Meijia,

No need to choose auspicious date is the most fortunate.... I also had a hard time choosing the date. Wanted 03 but the venue was booked.. then scare by the time the tong shu is out, venue also ganna booked so went to geomancer for help.

Jamci
Good choice. U took Kelvin or Bernard?

Just like to know more info on PS's place...

Any nice place for recommdation cos i will be taking PS on 23/10/03....

Any GHA Brides there having Miki as makeup artist and Ben as photographer?? How's their skills???

Yeah I guess I am the early bird here who already have WG & EG design plus fitting.

My nxt fitting will b on 28 Oct. I will get to see my WG outline, without details plus EG outline, without details.

Hi smallonion
Have u booked your banquet and bs yet?

Girls, I am abit blur now.. I tot MC doesnt have pillars? Or is it OCC we're talking abt? :D