(2004) Brides of year 2004

yvonne

Hi Sagi,
Thank u... =)
So yr bf's surname is CHONG? Is he a Hakka too...hee! Today abit quiet hoh maybe these meimei talk to much y'day / save it for Tuesday gathering......haa haa! Do u hv pix for me...?

jan

hello gals!

Hi sagi!! haha.. finally u appeared ah! Luckily u still managed to read that we're meeting!!

Ya loh, ever, very confused now rite!! Me too!

binbin

hi jamci and shinchan, welcome
25611.gif

sunflower, mine is MTM...photoshoot will be in nov... which bridal studio u with huh? orrr...i see, sorry i beri sua ku about the open venue. din know there's such a thing. so have u visited the tongluk restaurants yet to decide which one u want?

sunflower and cc2, me dun have relatives who can take video,....need to spend to hire one. have not really shortlisted any lah, but looking at cin-p's friend...

jul

Hi gals! Just came back from Newton Food Centre. Full & sleepy. Zzz....

Yvonne,
Envy u! So slim. Wish I could just lose a few kilos, I'll be very happy already *sigh* Yes, send me the Amore package too. Or u could bring it along on Tue's gathering?

silver,
Oops! I think my hp wasn't re-activated when ur bf called me. Rem I had to cancel the SIM card when I lost my hp. I was thinking, before Tue's gathering, maybe can pop into PF for a tour. How long does the tour take? I think I'll see whether I got the commitment to sign for 2 yrs, if not, then better be conseravative & try for 1 yr first. I'm very sacred now a/f my CF experience.

Ever,
U want ur bf to be 'bian tai' like mine? Er.. ok.. whatever suits u!
I'm also very confused now abt who is who. Got so many more additions to our small initial gp.

Jan,
Yeah, I also prefer to get contractors who are recommended by frens. Much safer coz can see their workmanship. I also dun go gym. I think so far, it's ever & yvonne right? Soon silver will join them, left only me not exercising!

Yan,
Aiyoh what happened with the contact lens? Didn't manage to find it? I think it's weird, 11 am & the shops are not open yet? Strange. *yippee* Can see ur photos too *clap clap*

Zen,
Hallo there! So u're looking at 25 Jul for ur wedding?

Sagi,
U're back! So u're joining us for Operation Disclosure too? Good! The gp's getting bigger! I also can't speak much dialect. I'm much better at Singlish *hee*

ino

hi binbin,

thanks for yr suggestions...Duxton plain is located at cantonment rd, near the police HQ.
Just tot of another place for ROMing...the Changi Bungalows!!! hehehehe....since my hubby is civil servant, most prob can get cheap cheap rates! mabbe can hv a garden wedding...
going to check out tat place!

binbin

hi Ino....so is the duxton plains the much talked about new flats that is in the lee kuan yew area or something like that? when is it coming out?? not so soon right? how much is their 5 room flats??

silver

Gd afternoon!

I am back! Just had craypot rice wif my col, so full now hehe

Hi Jul,
They have 3 branches leh - Suntec, Far East Sq n Great World. Which one you like to view? If on tue, suntec would be more convenient lor. See which you prefers.

Hi Zen,
Welcome! Mine is in lunar 6 mth too but I dun mind lor.

Hi Yan,
Aiyo this few days not v lucky for u ya?

Oh spouse free is a benefit to staff only but have to wait until married.

Hi Sagi,
How's life shaking legs at home hehe Too long can be quite bored ya?

Hi Jan,
I think you are not those who will source ard ya? Looking at the way you select ur ID n venue hehe

Hey can email me Amore package too? Helping my bf to gather more info. Thx ya!

yvonne

Hi Jul,
Me had curry vege with rice just now...yummy yummy too!!! Now starting to feel lazy liao... ZzzZzz
Ok, will bring along the AMORE pamplets for u gals on tues...hee!

Jan, Ever, Jul & Karyinn,
How much u gals intend to spend on reno??? Urs is 4/5rooms flat? I submitted my balloting at Queenstown over wkend. Dun noe got the LUCK anot???

ever

Jul, you sure you hav time to visit PF before meeting us?!?!

silver, you doing "spying" for your bf?!?!

Yvonne, think reno usually about $20k-$30k, depending on the type of design you want... and that's excluding furniture and electrical appliances.... you ballot for 5-room?? what's the price like for Queenstown's flats?? me havent got my house yet.... bought a unit at Park Green... EC in Sengkang....

jul

Hi silver,

I think I'd prefer to see the branch at Suntec on Tue. Me lazy, want to kill 2 birds w/ 1 stone *hehe*

Me had fishball noodles, fried oyster egg (w/o oyster) & huge cup of sugarcane. Mine's a 5 rm premium. For us, it's not a matter of how much we wanna spend. But how much we can afford, coz fiance doesn't wanna get reno loan. so hope reno + furniture+ + applianes, at most $30k. Cannot have leeway to exceed already, cash-tight!

forest

hi galz....

ya.. its really unusually quiet... a bit deafening.. the quietness...

ino,
ah.. the duxton plains.. is at cantonment rd... if i got the location correct.. its not even in construction rite?? in fact, the cantonment area old flats will only b reclaimed back by government in oct or nov this yr.... then, doesnt it mean tt u'll hve to wait for a few yrs b4 u get ur flat.......?????

hee hee... my offc is along cantonment rd.. so, if i dint guess wrongly, it shd b those blk of flats tt is 'almost' empty...

if u wanna buy resale... where do u intend to buy???

i think rasa also hve some pkg leh for ROM leh.. there's this 'the lawn' or something.. tt overlooks the sea n is a garden area... good for having ROM also... i dunno the price.. but i think tt's the plc where the cocktail is held for dinner banquet... u can go chk it out!! hve fun!!!

jul

Hi ever,
I hope that the tour will take abt half hr at most? If really no time, then gotta go another day lor. Maybe silver can tell me how long the tour takes.

Thanks for the Amore package
Gd luck for ur balloting yeah?

silver

Looks like we are reporting what we had for lunch

Hi Jul,
Ok what time can you make it to view suntec outlet?

Received! Thanks!

Hey which part of queenstown you applied?

Hi Ever,
Not spy lah. Must know competitors well mah hehehe Actually FP's main competitor is CF dan Amore. I myself like to kpo abt Amore hehehe

yan

halo,

me went home for home cooked lunch..
reason being I have to go home to change into mt specs...
the optics downstairs wanted to charge me $40 for A lens plus consultation... my return taxi trip will not cost me more than $20, so decided to go home instead...

silver -- your bf neber call me leh.. i have another colleague interested in the PF package.. so maybe can jio another deal for him .

yvonne

Hi Ever,
We intend to get a 4rooms but it all depends on situations... we might change to 5rooms/resale flat due to location, price and size of the flat...etc. We just try our luck on queenstown balloting while waiting for HDB to announce the sales of the other areas like Punggol/sengkang...hee! I heard the queenstown 4rooms is abt 200K-260K! Quite X hoh but that location is quite centralise! My bf said we just ballot and see what are the units avail then decide lor (might not get it also). Anyway is only $10 internet registration fee so just go for it.

silver

Hi Yan,

Hey I thought you will be on MC? Can walk properly liao?

Hahaha I told him you injured ur leg so maybe he dare not call you yest. Anyway, I just informed him that can call you, he will do so in a short while. Hey thanks for referring ur col ya!

ever

Ya, think the location is not bad... but really exp leh!!! my fren bought tiong bahru flat for $370k!!! location makes a big diff to the price!! ya, wait for sengkang/punggol lah... most of us staying in that area next time!!! heeheheeehee....

wah, jul... no need to take reno loan?!?!?! good for you!! no need to slog for the bank/finance co....

yan, luckily you went home to get yr lens... much better now, rite?? the optical shop so exp?!?!? he/she must hav known it's an emergency, that's why charge so high!!!

yvonne

Hi Silver,
So yr bf is working in PF as sales? Must be very FIT also lor??? Haaa... Dun thk AMORE is their direct competitors la (maybe CF)! But

Jul, you email bounced. Maybe the attachment file is too BIG, nvm give it to you personally on tues ok?

Haaa...Yan! So now yr vision is totally CLEAR!!! (-@.@-)

ingenue78

Hi silver,

thanks. will check out the pricing for blue ginger. they serve peranakan food yeah?

Hi forest/binbin,
bingo bingo...it's at LKY's ward! I dun really noe the pricing of a 5-rm flat but i think it shld be quite expensive. i heard booking only starts in 2004 and the flat will be completed in 2007. i dun even noe how HDB is going to allocate the flats. If it's balloting, then got to pray pray already...dun play play ah...sculy no flat to stay ah...

The flats that forest is tokking about are all rental flats. Think they will start construction in Sept.

Rasa ah...too expensive leh...think it's about $48 (or it's $60) per pax.

Heard abt the alkaff mansion change in management...hmmm...Kinda of know that HPL is the current leasor of the place and runs the restaurant. They leased it from STB. Think they are not renewing the lease, hence another mgt will most prob takeover.

*sigh* i think i'm the most fickle minded gal here...tat's y a lot of things not settled!

silver

Ya my bf working in PF as sales. You are rite - CF is their direct competitors as compared to Amore. Think gals go Amore more for classes.

Hey so which area of queenstown did you apply? My bf n I initally wanted to take part in the balloting too but after considering find it too X so decided to wait for next WIS for sengkang/punggol. I ve news saying that the next WIS in Aug (not sure how true)

silver

Hi Ino,

Yup they serve paranakan food but for buffet they ve quite a few choice. I was accompany my gf there last wk as she is looking for venue for her ROM. If I did not remember wrongly, theirs starts from $25/30+++ per pax and you can ve it either at 2nd or 3rd level. Their 3rd level is mainly for function so you can ve the whole place to urself

jul

Hi silver,
I think if I leave at 5.30 pm, I can get there by 6 pm. Do you think half an hr ok? Btw what will we be doing, just look at the place / look at packages? Come to think abt it, like there isn't enough time

Yan,
Do you live near Suntec? Can go home for lunch, so good!

Yvonne,
U live in Queenstown now? I think my email really overflooded again *sigh* Got to trouble u to pass me the hard copy next Tue.

Hi ever,
If u think $370k is ex, what abt Toa Payoh flat for $450k? Can buy condo already! Actually, money is very tight, but my fiance doesn't wanna get loan. What to do? Scrimp a bit on the reno lor.

yvonne

Yeah Silver,
Heard about the rumours also regarding the WIS for sengkang/punggol will be out in AUG! Hopefully is true then we dun need to wait any longer...!!! Im very worried we hv to queue like 4days3nites thing, do you thk it will happen??? Will u do that???
Queenstown at strathmore road... my cousin also trying her luck there. Btw, the closing is 9 July so stl got 1 more day to decide!

yvonne

Silver,
I knock off at 5pm maybe can go with u gals to PF look see look see??? Btw, PF is at suntec which level? My cousin & her bf usually goes to Raffles place one. Heard her bf also signed the PF package (i thk is the unlimited usage one)???

Jul,
I stayed at hougang now... hee!

silver

Hi Jul,
You very cute leh! Well generally he will be bringing you around both floors and explain to you the package. The duration will also depends how many questions you ve for him. Hmm... half an hr might be abit rush lor but if you just want look see dan mayb ok. How?

I think very likely ve to q leh. My client who told me abt coming WIS said he q 2days for the last WIS n couldnt get what he want so he said he going to q earlier this time. I was like HUH? What you think?

karyinn

Karyinn's eyes drop 0_o... so many msg eheh..

Well for me, I not intend to apply new flat or buy resales flat.
Reasons are:
This 4 room flat which I am staying was put under my name (first name, follow by my mother)
.. So if i am to buy a new flat or resales flat, HDB want me to surrender the exisiting one

Another reason is because, currently the economy really bad, I very worry we might not be able to pay the loan if we "touch wood first" face economy problem ;(...

Lastly, is because I LOVE this location :D... dun want to move away. Downstair, have clinic, multi storey carpark, NTUC, Provision shops. Market nearby

So, my bf will temporary move into my house after marry lor :eek:.. stay a few more years then decide if to apply or buy flat ... ;>

We ever thought of putting my Bf name in this HDB flat, but if redo documentation. HDB will consider I apply HDB second time. Infuture, if I apply house will have to take loan from Bank instead of HDB low interest rate loan ;<...for Long Run NOT worth~~~

yvonne

Hi Silver,
That's the most scariest part for WIS... queueing for days &amp; nites in the end got nothing!!! Wow...i dun like the feeling man and i dun thk i can take it!!! Sigh, bo bian liao la...

trixie

Hi Evon,
Oh is that right? Think better not tell my fren, if not she sure 'kek sim'!

Hi anniesem,
For banquet, i first set a budget per table. That helps to shortlist some. Then by further identifying the no. of tables i'll need will elimate your choices further.

For bridal, I think better set budget first also and decide if you want MTM or OTR. But think you need to roughly know what styles you like cos diff shops specialise in diff styles. For this, think you'll need to visit the shops liao.

ever

Jul, for me, i prefer to take a bit of loan to do up my house nicely... since we'll be staying there for at least 5 yrs... maybe you two can talk to contractors/designers first, then decide loh... maybe take like, 10k or something... at least more liquid... hav some cash on hand for wedding next yr!! or maybe buy electrical appliances on interest free instalments?!?! then will be better... ya, me cant imagine buying toa payoh flats!!!! hahahahaha... that's why me bought EC after failing to select punggol flats on two occasions!!! cant imagine paying so much for a flat!!!

Wow, seems like yan &amp; jul got program before our operation disclosure!!!

yvonne, maybe you &amp; silver can take turns to queue loh... sure got people queue for punggol flats, cos those who wanna stay in the east/north-east and wanted new flats only hav sengkang and punggol to choose from....

yvonne

Ever, good suggestion but I stl dun noe whether izit worth it anot? Other alternatives is to buy resale or new flat at other area. Sigh... why gov make life so diff for our 1st timer!!! Why implement WIS and not by efiling/ebooking???

Silver, lets keep each other update on the punggol/sengkang news ya?

silver

Hi Karyinn,
True true, ve to think twice b4 adding names cos my sis was affected becos of this problem. Well, as long as ur bf dun mind moving in, I dun see any problem too.

I agreed wif you! Imagine we ve to work how to q for day n nites? Sigh.... My client even suggested to help each other to q. Looks like I ve another accompany here hehehe

Hi ever,
Ya dan for the few days you will not see Yvonne n me online. hehehe

ever

hahahahaha..... well, for your love nests, we guess we hav to miss you gals for a few days loh!!

yvonne, i dont think buying resale flats is worthwhile leh... usually gotta pay some cash when they sell above valuation... esp. recently when 3-rm and 4-rm very "hot"!!! hhmmmm.... plus you need to do add'l reno for resale flats, such as repair pipings, windows etc... all these $$ can be saved if you get a new flat... but of course, location of new flats may not be as good.... as for new flats in other areas, it depends on you and yr bf's preference... and must consider the resale value.... for eg, my fren bought a 5-rm at woodlands two yrs ago. Until now, she doesnt hav lots of neighbours yet!!! so, i guess the flats there are not very popular and she may hav difficulty selling hers next time...

evon

Trixie: I actually when to and search all the bank which is possible to give loan. Saw the UOB one so interesting hv to hv $50K in the saving a/c wif them, told my fh abt it..if we've so much money no need to loan from them already.

yvonne

Hi Ever,
Noted! Thanks for the advise. Actually my bf very much like new flat than resale one. We are considering resale areas like tampines/bedok reservoir/bishan but i noe very X (MONEY NOT ENUF)! =(

yvonne

(CNN) -- One of the conjoined adult Iranian twins separated after unprecedented surgery has died, according to officials at Singapore's Raffles Hospital.

binbin

hi ino, when i was sourcing for ROM venue i considered blue ginger too. as well as burkill hall (to exp), rasa and beaufort (too exp too hehehee....). i like blue ginger coz the service rendered was superb! u can look for Alan. he's a service-oriented guy. i had to hold my solemnisation early. he said no problem, will get his staff to come down early to set up everything, no extra cost for the early business. I then thought of having my solemnisation at botanic gardens bandstand, then go to blue ginger for lunch. he said no problem, he will provide chairs and solemnisation table (nice with tablecloth) for me at a min charge and get his guys to transport there. At the same time, he can also provide a contingency solemnisation venue for me in the 3rd level of his building in case of rain. He's unbeatable man.... :p and their price is reasonable.
$30+++ for 9 course sit down lunch!

The food is real yummy....was salivating. but in the end we din choose coz it was not exactly the garden kinda atmosphere loh. and we were loooking for garden. and we have more than 60 so we have to split 2 floors. though some ppl like the idea we scared our family complained.

they have 3 stories like what silver said. if you have more than 50 plus ppl, they will give you 2 floors totally to yourself. if less than 50, will still get 2 floors, and one floor will be entirely devoted to solemnisation I think. the ambience is nice....very authentic, soft and cosy. if u wish to solemnise in the place itself, they will set up the 3rd floor entirely for you for the ceremony. with chairs and tables. after the ceremony, everyone will proceed to the 2nd floor for drinks, while the staff re arrange the 3rf floor for sit down lunch. then some guests will go up, some will remain in 2nd. but of course if your guest is less than 50, u can have all situated at the 2nd floor for lunch, and solemnise at 3rd floor. neater...

good luck! hope this helps.....but better to call them up talk to Alan. He will help you...

jan

Oh gosh, Yvonne, thanks for the news but not a good news.. so sad...

Oh btw, i got my flat last year already, it's a 5rm in sengkang...

Resale is not cheap and gotta spend more for reno! But u get to choose the lay out that u like and the area of coz! Whereas nowadays for new flats, it's kinda standard lay out.

silver

Oh no... sad to hear that. Actually they very poor thing ya.

Yvonne,
So how many rooms flat are you applying?

Ok, me going for my next appt liao. Talk to you gals tml!

navy

Hi Trixie,
wow! I've just opened up the file. That was an excellent piece of work. Really thank u so much!

yvonne

Is devastating to hear this sad news. Let's give our prayer to the other one...

Silver, I intend to get 4rooms but heard sengkang/punggol left only 5rooms... So....???

cyn

ino, hi hi..
we've another thing in common. my Fh also civil servant. i also nua.. nothing much done lately. WG almost done.. EG fitting end of this mth. sourcing for flat now. FH interested in a sengkang unit. stil considering. as for song list, stil waiting for fren to pass me more cd. those singers u mentioned, i know none of them leh.. hee.. so paiseh.. i only listen.. rhythm nice can liao.. duno title, duno singer.. haha.

i also like the duxton flat... very nice leh but ex.. but dun wan to wait til 2007. scarly cant get even an unit there.

as for ROM venue, how abt halia at botanic garden? one of my fren had hers at loyang chalet.. not bad.. jus tat u ve to done up ur own decor. but u can do watever u wan.. catering shd be cheaper.

anyone thought of attending marriage preparation counselling?

zen

thanks for all your reply. Wow, this thread, seems to have a good responses. once again, thanks.

Sliver
Yah, actually, i orendi choose this date liao, but today i heard my colleague say no one will married on western Jun &amp; July ( tat is chinese Jun) say wat (Ban lian couple) something like that. so when is your wedding date?? R u a christian??

Jan,Jul
Yah, mine is on this date.

yan

Zen, what is ban lian couple?

latest news.. both twins passed away already..
so sad..

i also took part in the balloting as well, but its for amk.. keeping my fingers cross and saying my prayers that i will get the unit that we desire..

silver -- your bf called me liao, but i was in a meeting so have to talk to him again later... i was stuck in a meeting for three hours.. three to six *sign* terrible waste of time.. now gotta stay overtime to recover the lost time...

ever -- what programme do you mean that i have with jul??? so many messages until i blur...

jul -- i stay at amk, have to take cab to and fro. siong on my pocket..

cc2

Hi jamci and shinchang,

WElcome to the March 04 thread! Which day in march is your wedding? Mine falls on the 1st half of March