(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
sneaky & onee... u two gog for queenstown... good luck.. let us know the outcome.

sneaky, which bridal & hotel did you confirm?

silver, i agreed these flats for balloting is pretty ex.

Hello ladies!

silver, if really got WIS in August, then it's good, but u must be prepared to queue!! But usually 4 rms for WIS quite limited, more 5 rms...

Jul, seems like u like the idea of selling pirated VCDs hor... u can go JB get some lobang then!!

sagi, soft flowy type is the kind i like too, the material is usually organza..

ever, so lucky, u're going on holiday this weekend again tho u're there to attend wedding dinner! *envy* When will u be back to SG then?

hi pebbles,
yah..now seems like me have to be careful.

hi forest,
enjoy your preparation, yah!

hi AngelBB,
yah..now we got A&W to join us and we can count down together!

hi silver,
yah..such ppl do exist.. haix..worse than aunties. last time aunties peep.. now the new edge girls use technology.

Halo Ladies!!!

wah! so many posting!! hv been busy with work lately so no time to come in and check...hope all of you are well & looking forward to the coming wkend...

nothing much of an update from me, i'm currently waiting to meet up with my wedding planner to sign on the dotted line for my lunch banquet..bridal will sign up in oct'03...sigh..me now busy saving money!!! *sob sob* i love shopping..but coz of the wedding coz to C-O-N-T-R-O-L!!!!!!! sigh.....

ya man choco! we got exactly 1 more year to our BIG BIG day! looking forward...but then again...spend $$$ ...
but nvm la...once in a lifetime event..

Hi to ALL JUNE BRIDES! I'm new here! Can anyone enlighten me??? I'm quite confused, been to few bridal shops but seems like all the packages are quite similiar. I thought the best things to take into serious consideration is the photographer's skill, variety of gowns and workmanship, services and the make-up. Does anyone agree with me??? Can you give me some suggestion cos' I don't wanna go around blindly, very tiring man!!!

Forest & cin_p : Thanks, since we've done what we could, will pend till results lah

Silver : Ya, agree with you that it's expensive. Trying luck, if get, blessing. If not, it's ok loh, we'll pend for next round or later application loh. Like mentioned earlier, we are staying with PILs, no rush. Meanwhile, save up for other expenses loh

Sneaky : Hi... Haha, so our balloting same same huh
Hopefully both of us got it, who knows, we might become neighbours ah

happy,
yo! I love shopping also... but, sigh... now gotta control. When singpore sale is here, I nearly lock myself up so that I won't be able to be tempted... hahahahahaha

Onee,
Yah, I am counting days already... kekeke, I bet most gals in this thread also counting days with me

Choco,
I also same same, choose 19 coz it is a sat.
Can see that everyone busy with planning the BIG DAY. All the best, gals!

Hi Onee,

Sorry for the super late reply...hehe

Just checked the forum and poof...so many messages..>.<

Anyway, i've signed up with Universal Bridal Studio..it's at Toa Payoh.

Hihi...

Jan &amp; Sagi,
Ya go GI show too lah since it's free. It's on 6 Jul at Hotel New Otani.

Jul 04 &amp; Jan,
Looks like Jul 04 ve already planned for me ya
Actually I didn't really want to ve my flat so soon cos it really incurr alot of $$$. Imagine wedding + renov = very siong!

Jan, my friend queued 2days for the last wis but did not get it. Scary ya...

Ever,
So shiok ya going 'holiday' again hehe Enjoy ur wkends!

Gals, just check wif you - did anyone of u took reno loans fm bank? Any idea how much is the interest?

Hi Doreamon..

No problem...I am not creative at all..thats why I couldn't even come up with any other proper suggestions..hehehe. But if you have time, just try playing around till you are happy with it, thats the safest way I think.

Lin and AngelBB...
Yah...let's do that!! Count down till the big dayS! Well guess I won't be the last one in here to get married..EHhhehe. So far its just the 3 of us marrying in April right? Wah..actually never imagined myself to be an April bride...Always thought of myself to be a more wintery season type of person. Ah well..good thing S'pore is seasonless

Pebbles...
Yeah..thanks!! Actually...I am really quite excited now cos it feels like its really happening! If not wait until December also quite sian...can't really plan or do anything till much later.

Pebbles..

Forgot to answer the other part of your question. Right now..all we've done is change the date of the hotel. Kinda browsing thru the list of photographers on the SB website to get a idea so we can just proceed and meet with those we've short listed ASAP once we get home. Thats about it, and of course...browsing thru bridal mags for designs. After looking at so many wedding gowns, really dunno what I want anymore. Evening gowns...needless to say, haven't even start thinking about it yet.

Lessor time to prepare..thats for sure but the good thing is we can get things moving FINALLY once we go back.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">morning gals!!</FONT>

me coming back on mon... juz a very short trip... but, better than none!! hahahaha

you gals take more photos during the bridal show, k?? then can download and show us... or we could meet up and share our pics with one another!!

silver, think its still good to get a place of your own... although where $$$ is concerned, its really siong to have housing and wedding projects at the same time.... shld consider 5-rm... more practical... you doing "flexi-work" shld hav heaps of savings mah...
although you guys dont contribute CPF/minimal CPF, but in terms of take-home pay, shld be ok.... guess its inevitable to pay some cash for your house...

sagi, if you like flowy flowy type, then you hav similar taste as Jan.... now, we're all confused... we (Jan, Lin &amp; me!) said we hav the same taste when it comes to selecting bridal shops... but when it comes to gowns, me &amp; silver likes Duchess satin, while Jan likes organza.... Duchess satin is harder and stiffer compared to organza... as for Jul 04..... she still not sure which kind she likes!!!!

Congrats, its yr last day!!!!
must be feeling great!!

guess i'm the only one that havent store you gals nos. into my mobile.... lazy me!!!

Morning!

silver, then maybe wait till after ur wedding then get flat will also be good too, at least not so troubled by so many things..

Wow, ur friend queued for 2 days then didnt get it, must be very siong!
Anyway, the current balloting one also very hard to get the flats, and usually the left overs, so dunt expect high floors..

ever &amp; Jul, so u gals met up yesterday?

Hi Girls!

Hee, so exciting to hear from all of you!

Well, i'm also trying hard to save money...the Great S'pore Sale isn't really helping in all this!! Must resist the temptation to go down to town during weekends...

Babestaurus: actually choosing bridal package depends very much on what you deem as important. For me, i chose based on how nice the gowns are, the photography &amp; their service! Of course price is a factor too! Haha, actually seems like everything is impt...
But if u scout around the different bridal shops, u can narrow down ur choices and then come and check out this forum board to read up on others' comments on all the different bridal shops - this will give u a better idea on the 'unseen' stuff behind each bridal shop
But i guess at the end of the day, u have to choose based on how comfortable u feel about the shop &amp; their package....gut feel kinda thing! All the best!

hi ladies, it's finally friday..
so happy..

oh, i have attached the link to my rom pics for those girls who i have met up before...take yr time to view ah..

A&amp;W,
i guess u still have abit of time so no worries, the most important thing is getting your wedding gowns idea but personally, i feel that the design for EGs are much more difficult as compared to WGs ah, and i dun know abt u lah, those which we see in the bridal magz seems so nice rite but when i actually wear it on myself, doesn't look nice at all ah....so i guess will really need the help of the designer to come up with something really flatterning lor...

Lin,
yeah i know how u feel but how did u find out that someone was peeping at yr posting ah...??? i know cos that someone will come in here to read then act blur, ask me questions regarding things that i post here

Morning, it's Friday! And I'm not working tomorrow! *yippee*

Hmmm... Today's <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Sagi's</FONT> last day of work right? *envy* Wish I could go back to sch too!

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Jan</FONT>,
Must make plans for the worst. Selling VCDs very low capital investment. Just need a table &amp; loudspeaker will do
Yup, yup, met ever &amp; her bf yesterday

<FONT COLOR="119911">silver</FONT>,
It's true that wedding + reno + honeymoon very siong!!! Just look at me u know already
But what to do? Dying to get married!

Just a tip, if you want to q for 4 rom in WIS, 2 days also not enough. The previous one, some pple q for 5 days! 4 rm is very popular, because it's more affordable than 5 rm, but must consider carefully hor, no resale value.

Not sure abt the reno loan, but I saw POSB offering at 7.8%. But of course I didn't bother to read the fine print

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">ever</FONT>,
Ermm... I got no digital camera how to take photos during the show? Shd I take with normal camera then scan? So primitive right? *sigh* Maybe can borrow from my frens *hee*

Haiz all, it's been quite some time since my last posting!

Hi silver,
sorry, me wasn't at office for quite a few days!
will send it to you now.

hi onee,
yup! heard the good news! but the flats are so expensive. guess we hv to pay premium for its proximity to MRT. currently working out my affordability level...my FH is doing scenariio analysis for the different repayment periods. haiz...such a chore!
likely to go for bukit merah.

hi pebbles,
congrats! u muz be soooo happy to see yr fotos! it's from beetles at work, yeah?

anyway, dun overwork yourself too much. if u haven't been working out for quite some time, guess it takes some time to get your "engine" back in motion again. ;-)

me more worried...photoshoot in SEPTEMBER!!!!!! going to go on a fruits diet but takes plenty of discipline!

ya, reno loan int rate quite high... think at least 6%.....

hmmm.... can use normal camera as long as got zoom!!! very impt!! cant waste of $$, cos need to develop... try to borrow a digital cam loh, then only need to scan in and maybe print those that you really realy like for yr designer to copy!!

"Onee"
Yah...we might be neighbours for all you know. BTW, I heard only 48+ people chose Queenstown. Hee hee...we might have chance leh....hooray!

"cin_p"
Thank you. I have booked my bridal services with Wedding News because my brother-in-law &amp; cousin-in-law (both husband side) used them 3 years ago. So far no complaints. I have made tentative reservation with Shangri-la. Will be paying the deposit on 28th this month because they have a bridal show going on then. The sales person advised me to sign on that day because there will be more perks. What about yourself?

ino, how's ur preparation? my PS in sept too... where're you planning to go? hey, you're slim, dun need to go on diet lah... maybe jus some toning up.

sneaky, if there's a show gog on, better to wait. dun miss the perks. i'm with GCW. bridal with universal bridal studio.

Hi ever,
Thanks for letting me have ur coupon. Then can save $7. *hee* Yeah think I'll try to borrow a digital cam from my future SIL. Then can take pics &amp; upload into my PC
Can send to u gals too if u're interested!

Yeah Jul, borrow digital cam better, can save money on the developing too!! hahaha!!

Yup, lucky sagi, have fun going back to studies!!!

Hi cin_p,

good to hear from ya! i'm starting to get a bit stressed ...havent' dec on my ROM place yet!

as for where i'm planning to go, i haven't decided yet...have shortlisted a few places...will dec later:
1) Botanic Gardens
2) Sentosa
3) Clarke Quay/NAC builidng
4) Tuas
5) Changi Beach
6) Mohammah Sultan

my fotoshoot on the 12th of sept and my first fitting is on 23 aug. u leh?

Choco,

So both of us will be "shi mu" heheheh.. very hard to plan wedding.. teachers can only get married in June or Dec during school holis. I juz wan to "chop chop" finish the banquet and go for a long holiday (if we could still afford it)

Ya, trying v v hard to save $$ now... *sighes* retire from the shopping scenes.. hehehe now try to convince myself that I will slim down so dont need to buy so many clothes~ The money can put into better use~

Try to window shop for household or electrical products so wouldnt be tempted to buy anything~ Moroever the malls are so crowded.. ...

Bow Wow,

How is your package like with Universal BS?

Hi Babestauras,
Welcome aboard! Which are some of the BS which you have shortlisted? I am sure there will be some which you are slightly more comfortable than the rest. I based on my "instinct" and "feel" of the shop (like tang ki hahah).. and if the gowns make me feel like a princess when I tried them.

Of course there is the budget constraint too!! Mine is not to exceed 5k!

There are two styles to take note:

Taiwanese bao ka liao one which includes the standard items but all of them are in house (inclusive of photography, bouquets, car rental etc etc)

Another type is the designer BS which normally only design &amp; make gowns but they tied up with a few photographers. The prices might be slighly higher~

My FH &amp; I choose designer BS cos' of they dont hard sell. :-p

I hope this helps~

Lin and Pebbles..

Yah man..who is peeping? Postings are quite open to the public mah? Can tell us in secret code?

Pebbles..
Its true...EG design is definitely more tricky. Yah its a pity i don't have model type of figure...then I can wear whatever I want right. HAhah...I dunno..guess i'll just stick with something simple cos dunno if my aunt can design one for me.
You have sort of settled on your design already right if i'm not mistaken?

"cin_p"
Yah..that's what the sales person told me too. i'm just too eager to sign up and put my mind at ease...

i tink i'll do the gown selection in Dec &amp; PS in Feb after CNY. i have a lot of time to lose weight...kekekeke

hi girls hi girls!!! quite surprised to see the thread floooded again but beri happeeee too! ehhehee....

eeerr...not sure if i can follow though.

First of all, WELCOME To Sneaky!
24620.gif
hope you enjoy urselve much much here!

To all those who are applying for the balloting exercise e.g. Onee and Sneaky, GOOD LUCK!!! Hope you girls get your dream flat!!!!! then can start planning for the reno which is always an exciting activity...hehhehee....

Soupie and Cin, yeah me also havent got videographer leh. somehow after booking the hotel and bridal, been relaxing and nua-ing....SIGH....canot like that lah...me better buck up..... Cin, u also looking right? shortlisted any?

Pebbles and Lin, wendylee, angelBB: pebbles and Lin, yeah i know there's a lot of "peeping" into threads. if it's done with no harm or ill intention i dun mind, but I DO know some ppl peep in to spy on people and talk about them behind their backs......sigh...... i can understand how you feel. the thread shouldn't be used this way loh. now i know why you two not been in for so long.
nebermine lah, all of us "wen4 xin1 wu2 kui4" right? hehehhee.....

Ino, ur photoshoot so soon ah! guess u must be feeling vry stressed about slimming down yar? me too leh! mine in Nov, but feeling stressed liao..

Pebbles and ANgelBB, can ask u girls something? i know both of you with california fitness right? what do you think of the place? i made an appt with a rep two days ago. when i reached there, i found that their lounge has been converted to a "consultation" area. so many tables and chairs to do "sales talk". not that i am saying it's not good lah, but i was quite shock loh..hehehe..and the 3 levels of gym and classes are very packed and busy. din know their classes don't need booking, and holds so many ppl? did you girls get to use the equipment anytime or did u have to wait? attended any classses b4, can u follow with so many ppl around? me intended to sign up. was considering between renewing my Amore one, or signing up with CF. how much did you pay for your CF package??? are u aware whether there's any package from CF that is for twice a week of usage instead of unlimited? coz i dun think i can make full use of the unlimited one leh..... thanks for any advice!!!

Any comments for banquet venues for abt 20 tables or max 25 tables at budget not more than $800?

I'm looking for criterias like location, food and my budget.

Sneaky, forgot to mention, Shangrila is a nice place! i felt the place is sooo romantic, esp when i stepped into their lounge and they were playing the grand piano....

A&amp;W, so u have brought forward to April yar! u lucky girl, fortunately Conrad still available that day...hehehhehe..... happy counting down!!!

Pebbles and AngelBB, i forgot to mention. i din really like CF's service. the guy who served me at the orchard area strikes me as quite surface and not sincere. so when i went back, i called up the raffles branch and ask more abt the package. it was 1030. the lady said her girls are busy, asked me to call back half an hour later. I went to bathe and called back around 11pm. A lady told me "Sorry we are closed". I said i only wish to ask about package. she said "Nobody's at the counter you know???". told her i was told to call back 1/2 later. She replied "And Then??? ............ y dun u leave ur No. i will check see if anyone still around?". i was quite pissed off by then and said "nebermine". she sounded so happy when she rang off with the words "Okie! Bye....!".
24622.gif

Hi Dearie Yup, i ROM last year. My husband and i also in the processing of selecting and shortlisting the banquet venue we want.

Hi Dearie So which bridal boutique have you booked. Mine is from Santiago @ Parco Bugis Junction. So how about the banquet location? Have you booked? Me shortlisted New Park Hotel, Furama Hotel, York Hotel, Concorde Hotel and Apollo Hotel. Still cannot make up our mind... Which one to choose... *hee*

Hi hi...

Not that busy, just that nobody posted anything, no nothing to reply to. This evening I'm going to go shopping for wedding bands. *yippee*

Hi Jul,

I'm new here but I'm going to shop for my wedding bands too! Any idea which jewery shops has got nice n not too X wedding bands? My budget is 1K for a pair... =)

I've signed up for Graceful Image bridal show too... Also, there is 1 more bridal show coming up which is by HERWORLD "BRIDAL SHOW OF THE YEAR 2003" at shangri la. Any1 intersted? I paid $18/= for it, I thk is quite worthwhile cos few bridal shops will paraded their gowns n probably can grab some freebies or discount on that day!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">hi hi!!</FONT>

welcome, YvonnE!! are you a Jul 04 bride too??

Jul 04, me went Goldheart yesterday to look see look see!! saw a pair of 95% platinum rings with a strip of rose gold "slanted" across... the strip is protruding out.... quite nice!!!
but will go to a few more shops first... the salesperson was saying that if they dont have our sizes, then need to order from Japan which will take 2 mths!!! that's almost the same time period as customising!!! good for you, shop early... but dont buy too soon... i think if i buy early, then cannot wear until Jul 04 very sian leh.... you dont mind keeping the rings for some time?? I'll go Aspial to see in Jul when my bf comes back from his overseas trip... think got lots of nice designs on their website, so wanna go and try!!

Ur budget of 1K is quite ok, I think. Why dun u go to many shops like Aspial, Lee Hwa, Goldheart, Soo Kee, Poh Heng, Tianpo etc to try? Even if u dun buy from them, u shd go &amp; have a look first. Mkt research u know
I'm also going to do research coz I have no idea what designs I like

I signed up for the GI show too! Do you know what bridal shops are going to be at the Her World show? I tried calling the no but no one picked up

Ever,
The ring u described sound so nice. Simple &amp; elegant. I thin u dun like those many stones, &amp; carvings type of ring right? And do u like rose gold a lot? The last time u mentioned Fairy's Inc u were also talking abt rose gold *hee*

For me, no choice lor. Just keep for 1 yr
But nvm lah, I'm already wearing my engagement ring for the past 6 mths, just 'tong' a bit for another 12 mths...

hi binbin

eh? is it romantic??? i only find the place quite grand loh. the island ballroom is so so big...i feel small when in there...

Hi Jul04,

I've already "RACKIE" a few jewery shops liao... LEE HWA, SOO KEE &amp; GOLDHEART seems not bad! So 2nite is the decision nite! Btw, my ROM is 9/9/2003...hee! I'm planning my customery next year prob jun-aug avoid the chinese 7th mth can liao. I'm also waiting for flat, interested in the punggol 21 areas...HOT FAV rite!
Besides wedding bands, I'm also sourcing for my ROM gown which I've visited few bridal shops at tanjong pagar liao. Any recommendation? I visited Whitelink, Julia, Jazreel low, milan, le galleria, ted wu and emmanuel... hee quite alot hoh! Very confused now... HELP!!!!

Hi Jul04 &amp; Ever,

I've have the telephone nos for her world bridal DID: 63196337 (Angela) or 63196315. You can enquire abt the bridal show 2003 with them. If not try www.herworld.com for more details. By the way, do you gals hv herworld brides latest copy? I bought the femalebrides for Jun issue.

Hi Jul 04, hehehehee... not that i like rose gold alot lah.... juz happen that that design is quite unique... will discuss with my bf if we wanna customise cos he prefer yellow gold... so, maybe can copy that design but with yellow gold and not rose gold....
ya, i dont like lots of stones, but actually my bf likes the wedding band to hav a small diamond... now, i can pic yr face while talking to you, much better...
but still gotta imagine the other gals' faces....

oh, by the way, the 20% storewide sale at goldheart not applicable to their wedding bands leh.... i got a feeling most shops dont put wedding bands on sale!!!! they know we'll need to buy, with or without sale!!!!! *sigh*.....

hahahhaha.... never mind lah, wait one yr and then wear for the rest of yr life.... worth the wait!!!!

Hello!!

Hey, not fair, how come when i'm free nobody posts!! When i'm not so free, all postings here!!

Hi Yvonne, are u Jul 04 bride too?

Well, i'm kinda lost abt bridal studios too!!

Hi yvonne,

congrats!! my ROM is in Nov'03... are you going to sign up for a bridal package and get them to include the ROM dress?? I signed up with J&amp;M, a shop in tanjong Pagar.... will be getting my ROM dress OTR from them... if i cant find anything i like, will tailor-made a simple dress... think Le galleria and Jazreel Low has quite good comments in this forum... Ted Wu exp, rite?? as for white link, i dont find them very value for $$... quite pushy too!!!

Yeah, Yvonne,

Think Ted Wu and all the other very famous ones costs not less than $5k rite? But Ted Wu's gowns quite nice, u shld go for it if u hv the budget!

As for white link, think not many good comments abt them i know so far.. maybe u wanna skip that..

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Hi Hi, Jan!!</FONT>

so you finally free to come in and post?? thought it'll be only 3 of us here...

oh, need to remind you gals not to post so many msgs again!!!
me will be back on mon!!

hi hi ever!!

Sobs.. tot no body would post after i post again!!!

Dun worry lah, weekends usually quite quiet here! hehe..

Hi everyone, what happened??? Flooded!!!!!

Hi <FONT COLOR="0000ff">Yvonne</FONT>,
Tonight is my recce night! *hee* I shall c how many shops we can go to b4 my fiance surrenders!

You've done quite a lot already! Visited so many bridal shops &amp; jewellery shops. Have u booked the hotel venue too?

I suppose you're waiting for the Punggol WIS right? Then you'll be rival with <FONT COLOR="119911">silver</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="119911">silver</FONT>, u better make sure u q b4 <FONT COLOR="0000ff">yvonne</FONT>

Me very poor thing, no bridal mag at all. Only managed to buy Style mag last weekend. My very first bridal mag! *waves it ard proudly* Got Jun issue of Female already? But I haven't read my Style yet!!! *panic*

Ermm... I dun have gd impression of Ted Wu. I didn't make appt, just went to the shop to try 2 gowns. Make me look so auntie! *gag* Or maybe becoz my figure cannot make it

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Ever</FONT>,
So strange ur bf likes diamonds? My fiance the opposite, dun want diamond at all! Sigh... like that will severely limit the range of designs right?
These stupid shops, shd give discount for wedding bands too right?

Yeah, so gd to have a face when I talk to you.

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Jan</FONT>,
You must meet up with us too, then we can all have faces *hee* U're not the only one suay ok? Everytime I'm busy, there're so many postings. my timing real bad man...

Hmm... wonder where's <FONT COLOR="119911">silver</FONT>