(2004) Brides of year 2004

doreamon

Hi Soupie,

Thanks for helping with the hi-tea menu. Really appreciate that!

Hi Bin Bin,

U mean your buffet-lunch menu same as the hi-tea menu? I got the buffet lunch menu too but mine don't seem to have the same items on the hi-tea menu. Can clarify? I am confused here.

mimosa

Hello Babetauraus,Choco!

Welcome welcome! Decided on hotels and BS?

Anyone missed me? Heehee, very thick-skinned. Me very very very busy these days, so didn't come to visit this forum at all. Gone for just a week and so many postings liao.

Happy,
Wei, u so biased, now got June 04 thread, u forgot all abt the sheraton one. How's your banquet? I'm sure u are very happy with the package, can see a broad smile on your face. So what u waiting for? As for the honeymoon, we have not decided or rackie yet. Only shortlisted some countries, one of which is of course Switzerland!! Me going to Bali next week for a 5D trip with family and hubby coz it's a long weekend for us, my company gives us 1 day leave on Independence Day (American MNC).

Anyone here been to Bali before? What to buy and where to shop and eat? We would be staying at Hard Rock Hotel at Kuta Beach, heard very happening. Hmmm...looking forward to it liao. Heard that bikini there very cheap at $5 only! But dunno good or not, sekali the lycra stretch liao cannot go back to original state.

I've been pretty busy with work and home, just bought a queen size bed for my guest room. Very worth leh! it's from Picket and Rail, made from rose pine. But sale over liao. Now heard the price is ~700, still discounted price lah.

Girlfriend, Choco,

Wah...so coincidental, u both got teacher hubbies. No wonder lor...must get married during school hols. Can teachers get married during school term? like just take a few days leave etc? My hubby not a teacher, but then we also must get married during hols, so that guests can come to attend. U know lah, school children etc, so must coincide with their sch hols so that all can come to singapore. Headache, got overseas guests, accomodation dunno how....

Ok...think i better get going, got to look for a wardrobe for my guest room.

Before i go, anyone knows of a quick relief for ulcers? Got swollen lips and ulcers for several days liao...*ouch ouch*

happy

Hi Mimosa,

Don't like that say leh, got june04 thread forgotten all abt the sheraton one..aiya..u ah...like that say me...heehee! ya, indeed i m v pleased with wat sheraton has offered. will be meeting them the following week to look at the contract and will definitely sign if everything in contract looks ok.

we hv not really thought abt the honeymoon yet..still early...but hope to visit europe..will see how it goes...

wah! u going bali eh? i went there over this year chinese new year..i went with my FH family and stayed in a villa for 8 days...v nice...got our own private pool, cook, housemaid to wash & iron our clothes & clean the place... during our stay there, we went massage..v shiok man!...went on a day cruise package with activities like snorkelling, mountain bike cycling in the village...v fun but super hot!!! and the next best thing is shopping!!! remember must buy more surf shorts & bikini...i dunno abt the $5 bikini...i bought all from those surf shops that sells quiksliver, billabong, rip curl etc at the shops in kuta...of course for these shops u cant bargain but the prices are slightly cheaper than SIN..must try their fruit juices..v good..hv fun ya!!!

u may wanna get oracort-e paste for your ulcer...trust me...it's effective..

dew

Me also a Sept 2004 bride. We are going to ROM and have a banquet at the same time. I have been to New Park Hotel. It was nice for the price. Moreover, there is new NEL MRT. It is more convenient to get there. I have also shortlisted the place and may go down to book at end of this year.

soupie

A&W, the oaks dun serve buffet if i'm not wrong.. but their ala carte menu is enuff to make u drool.. hehehe.. i haven't had the chance to go back for a proper meal yet.. planning to do it! like u, everytime i mentioned abt the menu to others i'll drool! and regretted that i didn't get to eat much during my ROM hehe

binbin, now that u mentioned it i also never get! hmmmm... but it's already june now... no point getting but must make sure get the july-sep one lor hehe.. till now me and my frens said wanna go try out the spa but never made it keke :p

cin_p, actually i prefer their classes.. it's fun! but it's getting too crowded lah.. and u have to rush to get a good spot... so quite sian.. somemore now my hubby dun go with me anymore so even more no motivation kekeke..

angelbb, wow.. that's early!! if it's during weekend i lagi cannot wake up! always ended up going back to sleep instead hehe.. but it's really better in the early mornings or really late at nite abt 9+ to 10+... no pple around and u can really relax and do ur stuff

Lin, that is bad.. why do these pple wanna do that? i thot wedding preps is hectic enuff and they still so free ah! tsk tsk..

adeline

I'm also planning to have my rom in Feb/Mar'04 & dinner on sep'04....I've also shortlisted afew hotels like Mandarin Hotel, Sheraton Hotel, Grand Hyatt & Pan Pacific Hotel, but still cannot mind up my mind yet?

I also dun't know which bridal boutique to choose?

girlfriend

Hello Mimosa,

I went to Bali last year and stayed at Nusa Dua, Melia Bali. Nice place! The people are v warm and friendly lot! It will be useful if you know their language.

I agreed with happy, its v v hot in Bali. Remember to bring lots of sunshades, suntan lotion, sunscreen and if possible bring a small fan along. I brought along and it really helped!

I went to Kuta on the second day, its a shopping paradise like the orchard road in Singapore. For most of the stuff, you can bargain half of the price off. I bought the bikinis at $4 for 2 pieces so its less than $5 each hahaha..

Nice beachwear and surfwear too.. and also nice sandals~

galgal

Hi sweetgal82,

I also book with Santiago. How's your package like ? How many photos u hv ? My ROM will be end of this yr & dinner maybe ard Sept or Oct 2004....;p....hv not fix the date yet....;p

So, your dinner on Sat ?

F

fiendlygirl

Anyone interested in signing up with Santiago. Due to unforseen circumstances, I've to let go my package. I'm willing to let go @$700 (actual value is $1000). The package is very good. Hope to get a reply. Thanks.

jan

Morning!!

Monday Blues again!!
Wow really quiet huh... hehe..
ever, u must really thank us for our efforts!!

Jul, so how was the dinner at Mandarin that day? hehe..

smurfy

Busy ah? very quiet...

ok, i went for an arm wrap last friday, not slimming wrap...sorrie.... not bad lah. They put hot wax on my upper arms, say to tone up and reduce blemishes.. thinking of whether to sign up the package or not... hmmmm...

Pageup,
yesterday oso went to TC. Told them that I am confirm cancelling my EG, then in that case, my CS will cost $100 more cos I making only 1 piece

sweetgal82

Dew Hi. Welcome!! I been to New Park Hotel yesterday to have a look at their ballroom. It was quite spacious and nice. Moreover, it is very near the new NEL MRT, it's just less than 5 mins walk. Me too have shortlisted the place and will be going down to book in coming september. Do you have any fixed date?

galgal Hi. My package costs $3188 and i think i have quite a number of things included. My consultant is Christine and Sia. They are very friendly and goos. Who is your consultant? When's your big day?

Adeline(kokopooh) i would recommend Santiago.

jul_04

Hi silver,

I think most pple like duchess satin, but with a layer of organza. Think the organza 'softens' the look.

Dun have to be sad, my fiance & I are also not the saving type. Just get married, & leave the rest to divine providence lor
What to do, cannot wait already

Is 4 rm easier to sell? Maybe now that times are bad, pple are more willing to buy 4 rm, coz same reason as you, cough up less cash... My colleague also bought a 5-yr old 4-rm resale recently.

Actually my ideal is to get the reno done before wedding. Then I can sraightaway move in after honeymoon. Also dun have anti-climax of having to do the contractor chasing, shifting, furniture buying etc after the wedding day lor. I wanna slowly slowly buy furniture, wipe my stuff, decide which cupboard to put them in, that kind of thing *hee*

Hey, thanks for the contacts! I'll go check my email later!

jul_04

Hi Jan,

As promised, here's the report on the whole event.

The dinner was at Act I (35th floor), less than 20 tables. But the place was quite unique, it has a small stage, then the tables are spread over steps, sort of like theatre style, but with round tables instead of seats. The place was quite charming.

But the service got a bit of hiccup. The first dish started 10 min after the couple marched in, so the guests were sitting there, dunno what to do, for quite a while. (No projector to show photos & video, so no entertainment) Topping of of drinks was very manual mode, always have to ask, but take ages to come.

But the food was good & quite big serving. I think the dishes were :
1) suckling pig combination (nice)
2) sharks fin with crab meat & bamboo pith (ok)
3) crispy roasted chicken (nice)
4) steamed garoupa (fish a bit tough)
5) broccoli, mushroom & abalone (ok)
6) cheesy prawn & scallop backet (nice)
7) duck with chestnuts thing (ok)
8) oh nee (nice, even tho I dun like it)
9) ee-fu noodles (nice)
Can't rem the order & exact names already lah!

Oh yeah, & they scan people at the main door (The camera thing, then they give u a sticker)

binbin

hi cin! yes me interested in the video demo, can show me?
btw, how much was the planet fitness package? got consider that but there's only branch in great world city right? not convenient leh.....

doremon, no, it's not that all the dishes are the same as that for hi-tea. but SOME are the same.
e.g. italian sausages, mushroom bacon aglio oilio, cajun wings and mushroom soup! but since it's lunch, of course there are other main dishes like fried rice, beef, salmon, vege etc etc that are not present in hi-tea lah. if what u see on the new menu is different from what i mentioned, prob it's coz it's a different package or coz carol change the menu.
but if you like what soupie mentioned, u can always asked carol whether you can change to those items...
she will advice you one..

soupie,, hehehhehe u blur din know u din get the lady's card stamp ah? hehehhehee....... i hope they WILL send us the july/sept one leh.... btw i forgot whether the spa visits from the stamp is once/month or once/3 months huh?????

binbin

hi wendylee! our weekend was good manz! we went to park mall on sunday and got much much "shou huo".! hehehehe.... after searching for so many places (barang barang, suntec, picket & rail, home exhibition, xzqt-calligaris, paragon etc) past month, finally found the dining table and sofa that we wanted in Park Mall!!!!!! so happy. and i also found two shops that sells accessories that i am looking for!! now we know where to go when we wanna buy these accessories...

hows ur weekend?

doreamon

Hi Soupie and binbin,

Thanks for the Oaks's advice. Will check with Carol again.

Hi Soupie,

Btw, did u sign up with JLC bridal? I planning to take up their ROM package and going down tonight to take a look at their gowns. So what is your feel on JLC? I have not reviewed the thread on JLC yet. Will do so soon

ino

hi silver,
have sent the contacts from you last wk but have not heard a reply from you. can u confirm? if you did not rec it, let me know so that i can email to you again. just to re-confirm, yr email addy is [email protected]?

soupie

good morning gals!

cin_p, me too!
would like to take a look at ur fren's demo.. thanks!
but is it at a website or in cd? if cd, can let binbin have it first lor.. cos i've still got super long way to go hehe

A&W, forgot to mention.. that we did consider shifting our wedding forward.. but it was too much hassle to change the date again (already big headache on settling the date :p) and besides hubby still prefers december.. so staying put lor

binbin, i think the UOB spa thingy is only once every 3 mths if i din remember wrongly

wendylee

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">BINBIN</FONT>: Heyooo!!! Mine was a normal busy weekend... a very busy and short of time... HAHA! Usually my weekend is rather short... cos Sat got class until late afternoon... then half day is gone... but no worries... after 2nd week July, my Sat class are ended!!! Up-coming modules are only Tues/Thurs!!!
24734.gif

Went for Irene'sCreation bridal workshop at Mariott Hotel ystd... their gowns dun really impressed me just that the last 2pieces are WOW... looked like very lacy... and slim-cut and somekinda 'see-through'... very nice... hopefully I can describe them out when its my turn for MTM gowns... hiack hiack! Only 2 models and its in a small function where they had this workshop. The Marriott Hotel side has alittle set backs for their video to intro their hotel services and testimoal so had the gowns display 1st then tea (nothing much to eat, paid $15!) then see the video-clip. Left after the show cos nothing much to talk/discuss about... then suppose to meet friends for dinner... but later cancelled... so went groceries shopping!!! You not bad ha... 'feng shou' - frutiful day wor... *envy*

yvonne

Hi Ladies, Good Morning!

U gals very good hoh can chat during office hours most of the time. Me quite inconvenient cos EYES all over the place.

Guess wat! I’ve bought my wedding bands over weekend from Soo Kee. Cost us about 700+ after 20% discount… ok la at least 1 thing of my mind now… hee!

Did any gals do any homework over weekend? I went to see the flats at Bt Merah, AMK and Queestown areas. Of all, I prefer Bt Merah estates more convenient and better environment (for me la). BUT, my ideal place is stl PUNGGOL!!!

Hey, so far who hv met who liao huh? Seems like u gals so closed to each other like old time friends… =)

And who is joining AMORE aerobics class? I intend to start my aerobic in July, so probably can join for aerobic class…?

soupie

doreamon, i had 44 guests.. are u considering the hi tea or the lunch package? i had my ROM on weekday hi tea.. and i didn't have to book the whole place and ended up we had the whole indoors to ourselves.. cos there are hardly any walk-in guests.. only 2 or 3 angmohs going there for afternoon beer who stayed outdoors under the tentage. if u're considering lunch then u have to consider do u mind having walk in customers who are going there for lunch?

yeah i've signed up with JLC for my bridal... signed up on my 3rd visit, felt really comfortable with them and their gowns are gorgeous!
.. do u plan to take the OTR or MTM ROM pkg? i've seen their ROM gowns at their show before and they look new and elegant. so if u can get the OTR pkg i think it's really good enuff

jan

hello ladies!

Hi Jul, thanks for ur very very detialed report!!

Yeah, heard abt the Act1 room being quite different from the normal kind of ballrooms..
Ok, at least the dishes were acceptable and ok, but depends on luck lah i guess.. haha..
But yes, i find steamed fish standard in any hotel vary, it depends on luck, sometimes very fishy, or not fresh.. So i think i may take their another option which is Deep fried fish with some sauce or something..
Yup, they had the temperature check 2 months ago when i went there to sign contract.. haha.. hopefully by next year, nothing like that happens again!! Thanks again!

silver, i think ur agent got a point abt 4rm being easier to sell, coz nowadays, there'e lots of 5 rms around, and prices may not be cheap and affordable to certain ppl for a second hand.. 4rms in new estate are much lesser, but it'll even easier to sell if it's a 4rm corner, coz hard to find a 4rm corner in new estates now, lots of 4rm corridor types.. So it'll be good if u can get a 4rm corner next time...

jul_04

No lah, I could go online coz I was in the midst of changing portfolio. Now very busy, so maybe come online less often already

Was busy this weekend helping my fiance to pack the hse. So quite tired this morning. Did go to check out some wedding bands tho. Do you think that there aren't many choices of wedding bands available? Went to Lee Hwa, Poh Heng, Tianpo, Goldheart, &amp; have our eye on a pair. Both Poh Heng &amp; Lee Hwa have similar pair, but the price is either $500 / $600 per pair. Thinking of buying soon before the GSS ends

Didn't go ard looking at flats coz already got mine
For some reason, my fren complains that there's a weird smell in Punggol, dunno what she means tho.

So far only ever &amp; I have met, that's all. I was trying to get the gals to go to the GI show, so that we can finally see faces when we're talking *hee*

I'm still trying to decide whether to join a gym too. Worried that I'll sign up, but dun go, end up wasting lots of money. I think I'll wait later &amp; see. Can try to put off exercise then put off lor...

jan

Haha.. Actually not very convenient for me to surf net too often too, plus quite busy these days!! hehe..

Oh, ur wedding band is quite reasonably priced!!

If u want the punggol area, think got to wait, if not sometimes they have the Built to order types, but must wait very long b4 u can get the flat...

jul_04

Hi Jan,

The fish was fresh, just a bit tough. I think it's because the garoupa was very big, so normally big fish are a bit more tough right? At least that's what all the mums &amp; aunties say. But you're right, deep fired fish is safer...

jan

Hi Jul,

Yes, u're right, big fish are tougher!! haha.. Looks like too big also not good!!

Are u based at ur headquarters's office today onwards?

yvonne

Hi Jul04 &amp; Jan,

Actually we are deciding to take the Goldheart wedding bands or Soo Kee cos GH no discount n Soo Kee has so...hee! Go for the cheaper one! Anyway, we both like the SK's one from the 1st look/try n price is reasonable!

I've also signed up for Her world bridal show at shangri-la, i thk is this coming sat??? Hee... not very sure too many things in mind! And Im going GI show too on 6th july b4 i make decision on which bridal shops?

So, u gals hv gotten yr wedding dates n venue already. That's pretty fast... me stl hvnt leh! Can any1 advise me auspicious dates for 2004? Where can I get the dates?

jul_04

Hi Jan,

Yup, at HQ now. A lot of work piling, so cannot come in to post so often already *sigh* Think this will be my last posting till after lunch
I will have to go back to my old office to pack up my stuff &amp; clear my table etc tho.

Do you know when we'll get the tickets for the HWB show? I signed up, but not sure if they still have vacancies. They claimed they'll return us the money if the tickets are sold out. What a weird way of organising a show right?

Er... not sure what dates are auspicious. I dun check dates. I think u can ge the almanac thing / see a fortune teller right? But sorry no contacts for them. Maybe the other gals can help?

evon

Sorry ladies..having been here for quick a while

Trixie:- Fullerton and Ritz I might have to forgo them
24747.gif
cos too many tables = too costly. My email is [email protected]
Both my FH n myself still looking ard, we wanna get those flats that are nearer to the MRT cos my parents in law are coming to stay wif us, and I didnt want them to travel too much, too dangerous for them. Have you found someone to reno for you? Beta check carefully cos really afraid of those hidden cost. I have signed bridal package with Golden Horse Awards just last Sat..the package to me looks attractive and kinda happy abt it as at now
24748.gif

Hi Anniesem: Your wedding oso end of the yr? Which hotel are you looking for? I have just received Marriott hotel and Rasa Sentosa and Oriental...hehehe...asked a lot of hotel cos have budget.

evon

Ya I agreed with sweetysweetgal, that's why I'm looking at hotel with nett rate. If not the GST will surely 'kill' our pocket then we have to eat cup noodles everyday liao
24750.gif

jul_04

Jan,
Are you signing up for the GI show? Go lah, since it's free. Then we can all meet up!
Can get ever to come along too!

jan

Jul,

I dun think i'm going leh... when and wat time will it be? Coz not very interested in GI, so tot give it a miss.. hehe..

dew

Hi Sweetgal,
My wedding should be in September 2004. But exactly which date, we have not decided. It will be one of thev saturdays though. The ballroom is not very big. I may only book for about 20-25 tables. They even have cocktail before the dinner. The whole foyer is also available.

jul_04

Jan,
You can go to the Singapore Brides homepage to sign up.

A GRACEFUL AFFAIR

DATE &amp; TIME: SUNDAY, 6TH JULY 2003, 1.00 PM - 5.00 PM
VENUE: HOTEL NEW OTANI, PHOENIX BALLROOM (LEVEL 6)
FEE: FREE

I signed up straightaway after silver said it was free *heehee* Thought of going to see the so-called newest designs. Maybe can copy some gowns for my onw WG &amp; EG. Heard that it's going to be those runway type, then food is after the fashion show. Anyway, I haven't asked my fiance whether he wants to go yet *oops*

jan

Hello!!

Oops, Yvonne, u're not Chinese? or u're not good with Chinese? hehe.. sorry... Actually my chinese is very bad too, but managed to read all the impt words!!

Thanks Jul, will see how... sometimes just too lazy to go to these shows!! haha..

doreamon

Hi soupie and binbin,

I thinking of getting the buffet lunch menu and will be doing on sat. Found two dates: Sept 14th and 1st Nov, tonight will confirm the final date. FMIL checked on these two dates and said they are the best out of the many so tonight will confirm. Haven't spoke to Carol yet once confirm the date will finalise.

As for walk-in guests, will check with carol how she arrange it.

Hi soupie,

Tonight i going there and see see, will update u again. I didn't know they got two types of ROM gowns. Will find out more. Btw, how much u paid for your package?

pebbles

hi girls...
so many postings, so difficult to catch up ah...

Wendylee,
i wanted to send u the link but realise i dun have yr new address ah...and i dun have the contact with me in the office so didn't send to u, mind giving me yr lastest email addresss...

binbin,
hmmm....i know the sales staff in Orchard are quite bad but i didn't expect the raffles place ones to be that bad too....if u r still keen, i can introduce the sales mgr at Raffles place to u, she's ok, dun hard sell, i bought my package from her and she really take care of me one...got good thing sure will share share with me...and some of my frens went to her with free passes but in the end also never sign up with her...so maybe u can meet up with her and get a free one week pass to try out first...i agree with u , cin p and soupie, it's getting very crowded, i always try to find excuses not to go for gym nowadays cos it's so pack ah...but i normally go to the gym at 9am on weekends cos there's really no crowd at all which is really good, and try my best to get out of there by 12 latest...i love amore, like u mention, very peaceful and girly but then again,price wise so ex rite , maybe u can consider planet fitness, some of my frens sign up with planet and so far no complains...

Ino,
thanks for your compliments...as for decor, i did everything myself, of course with help from my dearest frens who are willing to spend their sat helping me with the decor..
As for ring pillow, my hubbie bought it from KL last year but now they have it in Taka too, its on the same floor as the gift level, under lovely laces, i love those mechandise from lovely laces,they got really sweet stuff..
hey woman, u dun be stress over slimming lah, u very slim, maybe spend a few months eating really soupie stuff and u will look realy good for yr ps liao..

Lin,
yeah i totally agree with u, i dun understand the need to compare rite...not to worry, maybe we should make a posting telling these pple to stop peeping and get a life...now i also dun care lah, just post and if that person love reading so much let her read, she's getting on my nerves anyway so i can't be bothered..shouldn't stop chatting with all the fellow brides to be here just bcos of such pple..

A&amp;W,
yeah mazzzz...i also wish i have those model like figure ah, but too bad...i dun so just have to look at those simple and flatterning gowns...ahahha..
) so yr aunt will be doing up yr EG for u rite...so better start looking for designs now, i think i will be doing that too

cin p,
can i have a look at yr fren's demo cd too??? thanks!!!

galgal

Hi sweetgal82,

My package also at $3188. I signed up with Joey - make-up artist. Hv not decided on my designer yet, maybe Sia lor...;p

Becos I going for my ROM end of this yr, so my ROM dress is included inside too. How abt u ? What yr package include ? How many photos ?

So, u decided on New Park Hotel ? I still deciding which hotel to go for my dinner next yr....;p...maybe ard town area lor becos more convenient....;p...anyway, still hv not fix on our date yet....;p

angelbb

Hi gals! So envy you all, weekend so “da feng shou”… I only managed to go gym on Sat nite, go church on Sunday morning, and MANGO sale on Sunday afternoon (though I didn’t buy anything from Mango – didn’t see anything I like this time round) The rest of the time was spent at the office til late late late at nite…. :{ But okay lah, making up for it tonight… yay!! I going to Imperium to check out their packages today, as today they also having a wedding on! :D Hopefully I can confirm and pay the deposit by these few weeks. Yay!

binbin, there’s another planet fitness at Far East Square, and another in Suntec leh… you can go there take a look as well…

Soupie, I was at CFC last Sat nite… Hmm… maybe I won’t go alone during that type of timing liao… a lot of “guys” around
… a bit yuck yuck….kekeke… I’ve been getting a bit lazy recently, giving myself excuses not to wake up so early in the mornings… must reali change that!

sweetysweetgal

Well, actually it's ok to look at +++ wedding package too becos during calculation, u juz remember to add in the 10% + 1% + 5% (for next yr)....;p

Anyway, me also think quite a few hotels I cannot take becos their min tables is 30 tables for wkend. So I'm looking for abt 20 - 25 tables on wkend....;p

yvonne

Hi Jan,

I can read abit of chinese but not dos “FAN TI ZHI”! Don’t know what is the meaning also? So u gals didn’t get the SHI FU to choose the auspicious dates? I’m planning to do so but got to wait till end July cos the TONG SHU from china not out yet…haa! =P