(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Hi Bin Bin,

I need your help!! I need to know what are good on the Oaks Hi-tea menu. Is yours a hi-tea menu?

Oops! Forgot to add... Ted Wu is out of my budget anyway... So maybe it's sour grapes after all, that I dun like Ted Wu's gowns, I mean *sob*

Hi Ever & Jan, THANK U!

Yes, Im gonna sign up 1 of the bridal and get the ROM package included so can "SHENG YI BI"...hee! Moreover, they provides makeup, hairdo n gown! Som even hand boutique so why not? Anyway, my customery is just next year so can book now... not KS rite! Ted Wu is good at his emboss i heard but really pretty X!

By the way, hv u gals choose yr dates already?

Hello ladies!

Jul, Jun female brides out?? I dun think so, they only issue half yearly, so the latest one is still Her World mag...
Haha u're trying to test ur fiance's patience ah?!!!

Ya ever, my hubby also definitely wont wear diamonds one!!!

Ya loh, *jealous* only 2 of u can figure out ur 2 faces!!

A&W, now u brought ur wedding forward.. then i no kaki liao!! hehe actually have thot of shifting it forward too... so won't lose the mood ler.. but have to choose wedding date again...quite troublesome hehe.. so decided to stick with it.. it does feel everything is stagnant now.. hehe can't do anything much now.. especially after ROM.. feel kinda lost

pebbles/angelbb, i have membership with cal fitness also..been with them for 2 yrs + liao.. but it's been getting too crowded leh.. i prefer it last time when it was not so crowded... now all the popular classes so squeezy! i usually do the cardios and go for body combat classes... but been slacking! haven't gone for mths!

binbin, hmm thot they are quite eager to get sales one.. din know they can be so rude.. if u're really keen can look for angie at cal fitness orchard.. she's very friendly and chatty. anyway u know UOB ladies card allows u to go to calfitness twice a month? if u have the card they'll send a stamp card quarterly.. i think it's valid until this september.

finally onee/sneaky.. and possibly ino... good luck in ur balloting!

Hi Yvonne!

Yeah, most pacakges will include most of the things, some even have bridal cars, but of coz those branded bridals usually wont include car tho.. U have to see ur budget

Yes, all of us have chosen the dates already! How abt u?

Yup yup, signing up for ROM package together with the bridal package is gd value for money. Some gfs tell me that I shd go for Bridal Veil, then get photography from Compass, etc. But I just can't afford to ala-carte *sob* Anyway, it's ur personal preference which shop u like right?
So must update us which rings u bought ok?

We have all chosen the dates & the venues for dinner too! Only Sagi is the odd one out

Jan,
No lah, not trying to test his patience. Just that he was the one who suggested to go shopping for rings. So proactive hor? Feels a bit fishy *sniff sniff*

Yvonne said she bought Jun Femalebrides right?

doreamon, i had the hi tea menu during my ROM at the oaks in May

this is wat i'd chosen

mushroom soup - very fragrant and yummy!

Spaghetti Mushroom Bacon Aglio Olio (with chilli padi) - very yummy too! must have hehe

Grilled hot italian sausages - very yummy too but was kinda salty cos of the sauce and mashpotato it was mixed with <-- think this is something new they tried.

Grilled Cajun Wings - yummy too.. better than normal fried chicken wings.

pacific dory with lemon sauce - everyone had good comments for this.. altho some find it salty too.

spring roll and seafood wanton - altho fried and common but still nice...

beef/chicken skewer - someone from another thread had mentioned that the beef is tough but didn't order this so i dunno.

do go for some food tasting and find out for yourself too

haha.. Ya Jul, seems a bit fishy... u better ask him why!! But since he suggested, just keep quiet and go shop for it, in case he changes his mind!! Think all guys are like that!! hehe..

hi hi Yvonne... my package included hand bouquet for ROM too!! but my bridal shop is those "all-in-one" shop.... not sure if you like it... but i think they quite good loh... got good comments about this shop too... juz that they dont advertise, so not well-known...

hey gals
slow down ahh.... *pleads*
i no time to post today......gotta hand over stuff and go thru emails and files to see which need to be handed over, which can delete..... *sweats*
later, wld go ard distributing little gift packs to my colleagues too......bought chocolates yesterday....n wrapped them last min last nite....kkekeee....so look real ugly but bo bian...

hi yvonne
welcome!
24628.gif

ehh....gals, how to sign up for the graceful image bridal show har?? u all going together or with bf?

jul04 &amp; ever,
at least u can pic each other faces ....the rest of us still talking to faceless pp....

Femalebride is OUT, I've already gotten a copy.
Nope, hv not choose a wedding date yet. My ideal month would be Jun-Aug before or after the chinese 7th month. Btw, where u gals got yr dates from?
I'm planning to book my wedding venue too, in the midst of sourcing for the wedding banquet package. When I got the dates, I can go book liao...! I'm thinking of Grand Copthorne Waterfront, what u gals thk?

Hi Jan,
Yeah lor, 'nan de' he volunteered, so dun ask so much right? *hee* Hey! 2moro's my NUS classmate's wedding! It's at the Act 1 or something place. I'll update you on Mon k?

Hi ever,
My package also the all-in-one kind. Dun say until so bad leh *hehe* Well, since ur shop took my grad photos, they can't be that bad right???

Can you all update me on yr bridal shops and wedding venue for my reference. THANKS A MILLION.... I'm knocking off at 5pm so won't be online till monday. Try catch up as much as possible rite now. Very EXCITING here...hee

Hi Sagi,
The thread seems to have suddenly EXPLODED right? Next Mon I might not be able to post so often already. The announcement of my transfer has gone out, so sure have a lot to do for the next few weeks. *sigh*

Just go to the Singapore Brides Home page to sign up. For free admission. I haven't asked my fiance then signed up already. But I think he won't mind going lah

I think I'll wait till I finish my Style mag b4 buying. I take REALLY long to read mag, coz I read from cover to cover. Even read the adverts!

My date is just our anniversary. No fortune teller, or pan tang reaons at all. Never even ask for parents' approval!

GCW ballroom is very nice. I like the view of the garden. But I can't meet the min tables of 40, so I had to give it a pass.

hahahhahaha.... we gals very "terrible" hor... bf/fiance wanna buy rings, then we suspect something fishy!!! hahhaha... Jul 04, better than me liao... my bf only suggest when he know I bad mood and wanna cheer me up!!! but, i bad mood how to shop for bands?!?!? if i'm in a good mood, he'll always say "still early lah, take our time".... then can avoid all the jewellery shops liao!!!! at most, take a peek from outside....
hahhahaha... luckily, the salesperson told us some designs need to order and take 2 mths!! now, can bug him after his overseas trip!!!! *yippee*

Hi Jul04,

Heard GCW is doing up a smaller ballroom to cater for ard 25tables at $638+++, will be completing in mid aug! So prob I'll go for that...hee!

How do you put the emoticons huh? Me don know man... ???
I find is quite tiring to talk here leh but quite fun too...
Norm i used icq/msn messenger to communicate, is much faster. U gals dun need to work huh??? can chat here for so long...hee! Me lucky cos boss n the rest not around, so can EAT SNAKE abit! Do my own research down here... kee!

*pant pant*

today my last day of work....n i busy clearing things.....come in here, wah....the postings flood again....

pebbles,
i also want see ur photos..... only email to those u see before har??? not fair not fair...
24631.gif

hi sneaky
cant remember if i have welcome u....anyway, welcome....
24632.gif

soupie
u go california fitness regularly?? i got the lady's card....but i nvr even utilise the thing....wasted hor....cos i cant find kakis to go with me.....if go alone, i very sua ku, later dun know how to operate those machines...very pai sey....

oh yes Jul,

forgot that u're attending the dinner tom!! Mus update me!! Thanks!
hehe.. kinda excited to hear abt the comments (but hopefully not bad ones!!)

WAH!!!!!! me cant catch up!!! if you gals realise, my previous posting was to answer the qns before sagi came in!!!! gosh!! i'm overwhelmed!!!! hahahaha....

Yvonne, think GCW is nice!! and very popular, heard that some dates in late 2004 are taken up!! maybe you wanna read up the archive for our venues and packages?!?!? if too troublesome, then we type for you again loh....
but me type on tue, k??

oh no, me going to spend a bomb on bridal mags...
me always like bridal mags and have been buying!!! so exp!!! and actually, we only need designs for 2 gowns.... hahahahaha....

Wahhh!!!!!! Drowning...

Ever,
Men are so strange right? Actually, every time we walk past a jewellery shop, I'll ask to go in &amp; see. But he'll say he's not in the mood.. so now that he is, better take advantage! O maybe he doesn't wanna see me disappointed everytime he doesn't wanna shop for rings *hee*

Yeah, buy more bridal mags! Then I can borrow from u! *evil laugh* So greedy, I haven't even opened my Style mag yet!

Yvonne,
Got smaller ballroom? But the only reason why I like GCW is the big ballroom. Like the grden view sooo much. Dun think I'll go for the smaller ballroom lor. But maybe becoz of all the min tables feedback that's why they built a new smaller ballroom.

Jan,
Well, I'll be really honest ok? Will tell you all the gd &amp; the bad. Will keep lookout for food, service, decor, what else u wanna know hah?

Pebbles,A&amp;W,binbin,AngelBB,
Through my FH. FH introduce this forum to me while he was surfing around. Then, some ppl act blur-blur and ask him qns which relates to what i post. how they know this is me... i also don't know. No.1: Kepo. No.2: Trying to compare. Now, i kena scolded from FH for posting too much things.

wah.....so many msgs after my previous postings *faints dead away*
think shall come back later to slowly scroll......cos today wld ciao later, as got 2 bags to bring back, so need to wait for bf to fetch me....

yvonne, we got a list.....all the rest got things confirmed liao, except me....everything to be confirmed......kekeke...

but pai sey, i print out the hard copy and delete the soft copy away liao, so cant send to u....
any of u gals still have the soft copy then can send to yvonne lor..... add in her details too....kekeke...

Hi Jul04,

Oh! I just happened to call to enquire. The banquet sales told me they are building a smaller ballroom? Not sure where exactly is the location... hope is garden view too! U make me more NERVOUS now, late 2004 dates taken up!!! Dun KS also cannot liao... really must plan ahead hoh! I thk I must go into the forum to look see look see man...kee!

Any1 can recommend me few good bridal shops, wedding venue and wedding dates for reference. My head is gonna BURST liao, can't take too many info!

Ok, my est.budget:
Bridal - $4-5K
Wedding Venue - $588 to $700
Wedding dates - end July/Early or end Aug

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">PEBBLES</FONT>: <FONT COLOR="ff0000">NOT FAIR NOT FAIR...</FONT> <FONT COLOR="0000ff">kekekeke... share with me leh...</FONT>
(no lah, if you are uncomfortable then its alright... I understand... cos you havent met me b4 ma...

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">LIN</FONT>: <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Really ah? HAHA, luckily my BF very nerd nerd... his technology not so advance!!!
24635.gif
</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="119911">ITS TGIF!!! Have a good weekend!</FONT>

Hi yvonne,

my recommendations:
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Bridal</FONT>
- Bridal Veil
- Silverlining
- Flamingo
- J&amp;M (cos i signed up mah!!)
- Dang Bridal

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">wedding venue</FONT>
- Conrad
- GWC
- Sheraton (heard its good....)

how to recommend dates??!?!?!

Hi Sagi,
Really flooding right? Dun think I can take much more of this man! So stressful! Plus I just got 8 files to read for my new duties. 8 files!!! how to read? And that's only barely half of my new portfolio!

Yvonne,
No need to kan cheong *hehe* Jul not popular coz 6th lunar mth, not popular for weddings. Not to mention Aug, which is the 7th mth! Still go time... End of yr always very popular for weddings coz sch hols, gd for teachers, gd weather etc etc lor.

Hmm...Ur bridal budget quite high. Can go for high end shops like, Flamingo, Divine, Dang, Kevin Seah, Ted Wu etc. But I dunno what type of designs I like, so cannot recommend. When I go bridal shopping, I'll update u k?

As for hotel, not sure... Maybe Amara, Orchard Hotel, or Rasa Sentosa? Sorry the ones I collected brochures from all very ex. I got a shock too when I saw the px. I think u shd just shortlist a few hotel u like, then collect the brochures from the reception/concierge, then delete those out of budget or can't meet min tables. That's what I did *hee*

Yes, Yvonne,

Heard abt GCW having smaller ballroom soon, maybe u can consider that!! I think it shld be not bad!!

saig, i think Yvonne meant hotel list prices rite...
Oh yah, last day for u!!

first 2 weeks of July 2004 is Lunar 5th mth actually, 7th mth will be mid Aug to mid Sep, but up to u whether u're pan tang or not.. Lunar 8th mth is the most popular but that'll be in Mid Sep onwards...

Hotels for ur budget, GCW will be a good choice! Maybe Amara Hotel, M hotel?

FOr bridal, those that ever mentioned are good!!

hi Lin, aiyoh, some ppl are simply incorrigible. what for they wanna know what you post? even if they know, just keep quiet lah....so bo liao! sigh....nebermine lah....*pat pat Lin's head*.

doremon, hey! so you FH agreed to Oaks liao???? hehehhee....happy for you!!! sorry mine is not high tea, mine is buffet lunch. but what i wanted to say soupie already said hehehhehe..... my fav is the Italian sausages and mushroom bacon aglio olio!!!!!!! for my lunch, i also have their beef, but i forgot what it is called. All YUMMY!

Soupie, aiyah, dun mention lady's card lah. me have not got my stamp card after the Jan-March one.
so silly, din even bother to call UOB centre. but will call them soon, ask them why they neber send to me....hehehe...

yah, CF is reeeeaaaallllli crowded. many many sweating bodies.... :P am really thinking twice loh. when i step into amore after that, i feel so peaceful, so happy and so girly...hehehhee...so farnie. but their price almost double that of CF leh....heard that sports club and safara clubs also have, you know anything about these?

Ahhhh Pebbles,

Your fotos are very nice! Both yr hubby and u look so sweet together. ;-)
Did ya do the decor yourself or engage a professional to do it for u? Done quite tastefully.

Saw your ring pillow!! Is it from Furluv? It's out of stock! *sigh* Simply luv the cute bear bears. Has been beoing that one for a looonnnng time!!! Now figuring where i cld buy tat from...

Hi Yvonne
Think you can try Goodwood Park Hotel, Four Seasons, Hotel Intercontinental...eeerr..thats all I know for now. Those are the places I looked at.

Soupie..
So you feel it too huh. Yah lor feels so aimless like it's too early to start planning yet you want to do something. Is your FH interested in bringing the date forward? What about the venue? You picked one already?
Hey your hi-tea menu sounds really yummy leh. making me drool while reading the postings..hahah. So the food at Oaks is good huh? Must go and try. Do they have like hi-tea buffet or something?

Lin...
Oh like that huh. Those ppl are so weird.What's there to compare! Heheheh..your husband was the one who introduced this thread to you? Same here...FH found it and started posting first.

Bin BIn..
Yah...fortunately for us Conrad still has that date available. I think its probably also cos its very near Ching Ming...think its April 5th. Dunno maybe ppl don't want to have a wedding too near that day.

Pebbles..
Got photos to see huh? Can I see too?

Binbin, I usually go to CFC in the mornings around 8.30am, so usually by that time the crowd is clearing up liao... Why the sales gal so like that one?!? Usually they are quite eager to push sales one leh...

If you wanna talk to someone, can try talking to Andrew (Asst Training Mgr) or Anthony (Sales consultant)... But must be prepared hor, in case they hard sell you something which you dun intend to get... Personally I find them very good to talk to lah, cos I went there with the intention to book, so all they did was give me the extra push lor...
But I think Amore also very nice... as you said, very girly lor, cos all ladies rite? I went to try out a 3months membership a few yrs ago... not bad also!

Lin, wah, some people really so kpo one? But I think you just need to explain to your FH then okay already rite?

Soupie, sagi, me still trying to be regular at gym... sometime just feel so lazy, thinking to myself, aiyah, just have to eat less then can skip for a few days dun go ... heehee...

hi angelbb, wow u go at 8.30am ah! so early, must be beri nice having the place to yourself hehehhee....

actuali, the first person i talked to at CFC orchard IS andrew. :o. hhhhhmmm......actuali i am a person who dun like ppl to compare their shops to others and say bad things about others, so i din like it when he kept comparing amore to them, once he knew i signed up with amore last time. so i bad impression. and when he talks to me, his colleagues/customers will pass by mah. and his sales speach majam rehearsed one, can rattle on and on while his eyes are acknowledging ppl beside me, behind me..... bad impression again...hehhehee...... maybe i very fussy lah, but actuali i din go there with a firm intention to book, just look see look see.....so perhaps he can sense that so din present his best? it's okie lah, anyway, me looking now at other sports places see if can find good ones...
thanks for the advice...

Helloooo

Aiyo so many postings yest!!! Me read until blur
Was out whole day + nv bring my notebook so so can't go online... Ok try to reply one by one....

Hey last nite I accompanied my gf for her trial make up n final fitting at Allure Charix and I saw another WG not bad too. Seems like I am attracted to AC gowns... Remember I always said that I like duchess satin? Until last nite dan I know that actually the one I like is made of duchess satin + a layer of organza over it.

Ever, Jan &amp; Jul 04,
Ever, sad to say that my bf n I are not those who really save type
Actually our main concern would be the 20% downpayment cos if we are getting 4room we need not top up cash for the 20% but if we are getting 5room, we would ve to top up $20k or more for it. And imagine we still ve to fork up cash for reno? So we are thinking of might as well use the $$ for reno than to pay the 20% esp we are thinking of selling off after 5yrs.

Jul 04, huh q for 5days??? Aiyo... Btw, not true that 4room has no resale value cos understand fm my property friends that in fact 4room will be easier to sell in future.

Actually our ideal is to get a house few mths b4 our wedding next yr n start our reno after the wedding. Then we don't ve to rush into everything.

Welcome! Looks like you ve done quite a bit of homework ya. Oh I ve signed GI bridal show too! Ok I had book my bridal with Yvonne creative and tentatively booking for my dinner at republic of spore yacht club.

Hey I got news that punggol wis will be in aug. Keep a look out ya.

Wif yr budget you actually ve alot of choices, you can consider yvonne creative, J&amp;M, thomson wedding, silverlining n flamingo. So how do you find whitelink &amp; jazreel low? I ve gf used whitelink b4, find it ok.

As for dinner, Amara is a gd choice cos just renovated but not sure abt food. Yes GCW having a new ballroom by this aug. GCW seems very popular nowadays.

Sagi,
You can sign up GI bridal show at singaporebrides homepage.

Someone bought new Femalebride? Any comments? Worth buying?

Wow this thread is active again ya!

Ino,
I received your email. Thx!

Lin,
Aiyo why got ppl so boliao one? Sigh....

Sneaky &amp; Onee,
You gals applied 4 or 5rms? Just check the website, till date 257 applications for 4rms &amp; 107 applications for 5rms. Gd luck to u gals ya!

hi ladies, how's weekend?

met up with my fren (videographer). i'm quite impressed with his work. nice guy to work with too. good thing my FH ok with the budget so more or less, i'll be using his service. =) soupie &amp; binbin, if you gals are interested, i can pass u the their demo for reference.

ino
my PS on the 26th spet. my WG is done but requested for more beads to enhance the gown. EG fitting wil be end july. hopefully everything turn out good. hey, ur ROM on the 7th or 9th?

binbin, i'm with CF too. actually i dun like their service too. kind of hard sell. it has been mths tat i last went. i guess it's abt time to go tone up my body. if you sign up, i've another kagi.

soupie, you're with CF too. i also dun like the crowd. tat's my excuse for not gog.. hee.. i used to be with planet. at least not so cramp. but CF's subscription is lower so no choice, switch lor.

hi cin_p

u r having the same day as me for the PS!!
have u select the PS locations?