(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
cin_p, frankly speaking the jacuzzi in the villas at bintan banyan tree was quite disappointing
cos can find dead creepy crawlies inside one.. and there's no chlorine in the water! just plain water! so dun even know it's hygienic or not.. but inside the villas and seaview was very nice.. but really sooo ulu until if u go out within the resort premises for dinner.. it's quite scary to walk back to ur villa kekeke.. i think banyan tree resorts in other countries other than bintan would be better lor

forest/binbin, i went to try out daphne's facial today. i love her facial massage! her hands are really soothing and skilful. i really wished she could provide me a bed to sleep after the facial kekeke.. cos i was so groggy after that hehehe.. i like the products she used on me cos it doesn't sting or 'overload'.. btw she used her sensitive range of products on me since i have very sensitive skin... and her products smell nice too.. i like the oats peel, smells yummy really has a oaty smell leh keke

Thanks Trixie !

I also looking at abt 23 - 25 tables. Maybe better to commit less tables first then increase more later.....;p

Thanks ! Look forward to receiving your file on Mon.

hi binbin,

thanks for your help! will definitely buy the spa magazine!
*sigh* actually was thinking of koh samui but when i mentioned it to my colleagues...they were exclaiming..."AIYA, why go koh samui? so near...go somewhere further like switzerland lah"! my colleagues are so rich...but a pity...i'm not...

i went to the website of Tongsai Bay at Koh Samui...wow sooooo beautiful...but still i wonder whether the sea is blue there or greenish (reminds me of s'pore. ;-P)...

hi soupie,
wow! such a shocker...pay so much for banyan tree and find creepy crawlies? did u make a complaint? goodness! i tot their service was impeccable...but apparantly not so...totally changed my perspective of them!

hi cin_p,
not bad...at least can cook nice vege. sometimes, i'm amazed how our parents can come up with diff dishes for lunch and dinner everyday...

BTW,
anyone noe where i can rent black kua for my mum (besides House of Etiquette)?

Gd afternoon ladies...

I just went my massage+scrub last wk at Slimline. Very shiok
Look forward to going next mth hehee

Hi ino,
Hey koh samui is a nice place! Was there 2 yrs back and we stayed in Changwin resort (something like this). It's one of the more x one but very nice!

Hi girlfriend,

We are planning to visit europe for our honeymoon too but not straight after the wedding. Most likely, 2 weeks later...at least not so rush.

We are looking at paris, london and italy...ummm...at least budget 5k per person..or maybe more...wonder can make it not! sigh...

Girlfriend, Happy,

We also intend to go Europe, looks like it's the most sought after place for honeymoon hor? We would like to go straight after the wedding, and that's the time when Europe is having their sale! As for budget, we are putting aside 50-60K for the wedding, then whatever left from the banquet and bridal and miscellaneous expenditure would be for the honeymoon. Think should be enuff hor. We don't want to go so many places, probably around 3-4 countries so that we can stay in each country longer. Right now, we still have not find out abt where to go, take things one step at a time, we have yet to finish up on all other preps. How abt u girls?

ino, hey i think koh samui is a very nice place too.. read that it's commercialized too like phuket but not as crowded.. and hardly any touting or beggars around..

we did ask the pple there abt changing the water and all that but they just give u a helpless answer and didn't change it lor, we wanted room service for supper and they told us the kitchen is closed but they did try to cook up something for us lah.. besides i also dunno how they change the water cos the tap at the jacuzzi isn't working! keke

no idea where to get a black kua... is there such a thing? me quite mountain tortoise.. got no idea.. keke

hello!!

Home computer not working too well lately...not surfing at fiance's place.

so lucky both keann and pebbles get to do PS in perth....well....it means much for you guys to do it there....esp that's where u first dated

as for the albums...i'm just gonna do the arrangement myself for actual day photos...i enjoy doing that. prob getting one of those acid free paper album from borders or the shop at citylink...may also ask photographer to sell me :P

keann, i think u should try to book your makeup artist and actual day photographers first....good ones tend to be booked quite early.

Hello Mimosa,

You are so lucky! Got so much money for your wedding..well, me on a tight budget so a little difficult la..but still die die wanna try to make it to Europe for honeymoon.

I've not found out where to go, which hotels to stay, itinerary etc.. Right now, I am waiting for the hotel to prepare the contract so that we can finalise & sign on the dotted line. Next would be the bridal, will sign up in Oct..thenafter will start planning for honeymoon..Hey, when do u think we should book tickets for the honeymoon? Looking at free & easy...what about you gals?

Hi Gals!

I'm also having my wedding next June 2004!

Would need some infos if you all can help me with it..

I'm interested in Amara hotel for banquet..but when i checked out their package, their "Natural" package is only for weekdays? And min. is 30 tables?

Any of you got any experience if they allow 20-23 tables?

Morning Morning!!

It's been quiet over the weekend huh! hehe..
Anyway, it's <FONT COLOR="0000ff">monday blues</FONT> again!

ever, are u back from Bintan yet?

Jul, so did u go to the home exhibition at expo?

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Morning gals!!!</FONT>

guess you gals didnt really flood the thread from fri to sun.... but Thurs!!!!! so many msgs that they were being archived!!!! i got a shock!!! had a hard time reading....
couldnt even finish reading last nite....

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">mon blues</FONT>..... esp. after a nice holiday... really dragging myself to work today... *sigh*....

me wanna watch "Finding Nemo" too!!!! but like no time leh.... hahahaha... so, you gals talking about reno and bridal packages again?!?! Jan, think you better settle your package fast, if not we'll give you more &amp; more suggestions and make you more confused!!! hhahahahahaha.....

Hello ever!!

u're back!

Eh... u testing out the colours too huh! hehe..
Oh well, we wanted to make life easier for u and sagi lah, that's why did post that many!!

Yeah, can understand the feeling of going back to work after hols... urghh..
So did u get a nice tan?!! hehe..

Hi Jan!!

didnt get a nice tan.... every afternoon, there's a drizzle and the sun wasnt very strong.... cant get rid of my original tan line.... *sigh*....

me really sian of my work.... but the market real bad.... very few suitable job openings for me... *sigh*....

no motivation to work....

Gd morning gals!

Ever,
Welcome back! Hey which resort did you go? Saw last nite news tat bintan was having party over the wkend n 85% were singaporean?

Jan,
I guess every mon is the same....

Ok got to go office liao. Talk to you gals later...

Hello ladies!

ever, there's also rain in SG for the past few days.. Strange, usually June is very hot and sunny..

Ya, economy real bad, havent encountered any good times since i've grad... But just keep sending to head hunters, think it might help.. dun give up!

silver, guess u're getting early too huh! Can compete with ever and me to see who posts first in the morning!

Hi Mimosa &amp; Happy..

I am thinking of Switzerland hehehe... my FH is a teacher so can only take holis in June or Dec. If the wedding burst our pockets, then most probably go for a short trip somewhere and "aim" for Europe later. Paris &amp; Londen is also one of my choice. "Die" "Die" also muz make it. I budget around 3k per person for 2 weeks trip(not inclusive of spending). So cannot be tempted by GSS hehehehe..

Btw Mimosa, the shop is still around. I went there yest with my gf(she was shopping for her ROM dress). The sales person told me their new stock for cocktail/tea dress will be in next month. Maybe you would like to take a look, the price is defintely less than $200. They only have one dress, one size so you dont have to worry that people will wear the same one as you. They can also order a brand new one with alterations in the neckline, length etc etc. V flexible~ heheheh

Hi Ccy, welcome to the club!

Not so sure about Amara min cap. but its a nice place to hold your wedding if you have a fairly small cap. cos' the ballroom is rectangular in shape!

Onee, I think Hillarion Goh quite ex. hehehehh

Happy, you wanna his quotations, I can e-mail you!

Pai seah I v ks, source for actual day photographer already! Looking at a budget of less than 1k.

Hi silver!! ya, me went to the party cum bazaar in the afternoon, but left bintan after that... so, didnt go for the actual partying at nite!!! usually, Bintan full of Singaporeans!!! hahaha...

thanks, Jan... i wouldnt give up, but think the economy much worse than last year... last yr, i sent about an average of 8 applications every week based on the Recruit papers.... now, only one or two suitable ones.... real bad.... *sigh*....

Hi Keann
oh...1 more exam to go, think u should be done by this week rite..
hmm...i know how u feel, must be missing all those yummy food in spore...so badly...ahaha....i used to put on so much weight when im back in spore cos eat non stop...ahahahha...
ok, i have confirmed my hotel booking and will be having it in GCW..

As for starting early, i think it's never too KS to start early, those good ones are really hot stuff and esp if u r after those realy popular ones ah...better start early...as for photographery, who have u shortlisted...i can share my rom pics with u, i used bettles@ work and i think i might get him to do my actual day as well..
really like his work, u can also consider yew kong..he's good too and price wise very reasonable...as for make up, i had sandy ho for my rom, u can try out daniel , heard his quite good too...u give me yr email address then i forward u the link

poox,
i dun think im that creative ah...but it's a good idea to do up yr own wedding album, will have more meaning when u look at yr wedding photos, u mean borders actually ahve those acid free sheets ah, i didn't know that ah

hope all of u had a good weekend..

yeah being abit more busy than usual lah but also have not being in best of mood, feeling so sian of my work place and sick of pple peeping at my postings so dun really want to post lor...

anyways, it's a long story....the oldies will know lah...

soupie...
so how, u going Phuket ah...??? im quite shocked to hear abt your experience with Bintan banyan tree ah...thought the service should be the best liao cos they are so ex rite...and yet the service is that bad ah...hmmmm....
also, i agree with cin p, quiet is good, if want to be at crowded places then no need to go resort, can stay in spore...lots of pple...ahahah..

ino,
u thinking of going koh samui for yr honeymoon ah...have not being there myself but it is very nice ah...sorry ah, me very mountain tortoise one...ahaha..
dun bother about your colleagues lah, it's always easy for them to tok cos they r not preparing their wedding all at once with renov, i guess as long as u get to spend time with your hubbie in a quiet and romantic place,it is good enough, dun have to go europe or far far places....honeymoon is suppose to be relaxing cos u will be totally burn out after your wedding prep, so dun go for those tour group kind where u will just get more tired ah...but i know how u feel cos i get these all the time , and i always believe, its always easy for pple to tok when they are not in the same suituation and not to mention, they are not the one paying...

hi bride-2-be... it used to be hyperactive here. now abit slow... so when's ur big day?

soupie, my goodness... creepy crawlies? tap not working? definitely a let down...

silver, so qiao.. i also went chaweng regent 2 yrs back. nice place rite..

ino, ur colleague yaya leh... wat's wrong with koh samui lor... it's a nice place...

Hi anniesem and sweetysweetgal, i've sent the file to you liao. Lemme know if you need any of those hotels banquet details, as my comparison is only for weekend package hor.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Monday blues</FONT>... Zzzz... *yawn*

Hi <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Jan</FONT>, so you watched Bruce Almighty huh? Think Finding Nemo was good. Never expected a cartoon to be so entertaining, so it was a pleasant surprise. Anyway, w/ the gloomy times, it's nice to watch a happy show

The Expo expedition was a failure! Went all the way there &amp; discovered last, last weekend was the last week of the Home Fair. And this weekend got another Fair. So I suay suay went on the weekend with no fair! *wail* *boo hoo*

Hi <FONT COLOR="119911">silver</FONT>,

Finding Nemo is nice right?

Yeah, I still need contacts for the event organisers. The more the merrier. My company needs at least 3 quotes, choose lowest quote, that kind of rubbish!

So which MU artiste did YC assign to you? A lot of bad comments is it? Yup, Feb usu rainy mth, so DON'T schedule PS then. Imagine raining, then u gotta cut short PS, then do it all again another day. So xian right?

Hi purple{ever},

Welcome back
So you had fun at Bintan? We're very considerate right? Tried our best not to post anything during the weekend.

Yup, since we graduated, economy has been bad. First Sep 11, then Bali bombing, then Iraq war, then Sars. I think the economy will never recover. Think I'll be stuck in this job FOREVER!!!! *arrgh*

ino, I've also heard that Koh Samui is a real beauutiful place! Dont get affected by your colleagues comments... You just go &amp; enjoy yourself!

And black kua... hmm... do mums of brides usually wear that? Interesting! But I dun know any contacts other than House of Etiquette....sori, can't help you here

Hi <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Jul 04</FONT>!!

oh no, you made a wasted trip to Expo... ya, rather busy today.... plus <FONT COLOR="0000ff">monday blues....</FONT> *sigh*....

Yap!! enjoyed my short holiday!!! juz too bad that i didnt managed to get a nice tan.... you gals posted lots of msgs on thur!!! went into archive... hahahaha
luckily, you gals slowed down during weekend... if not....

Hi ever,

Yeah, we remembered that you were on leave, so we very kindly stopped the urge to post many many msgs!

I was so disappointed abt the Expo trip. I was complaining on &amp; on abt it until my fiance scolded me on the train. *sulk* So sad, another jinxed weekend search for contractors. Do you think that I'm jinxed? Maybe it's a sign that I'm not supposed to buy a flat or something..

hihi Ladies!!

Yeah, kinda busy today too!

Haha Jul, pls dun say that u're a jinx lah! haha..

Anyway, had a bad dream abt Mandarin hotel last night! I dreamt that my wedding dinner was in a mess!! Dunno why dreamt of that also, wasn't even thinking anything abt wedding during the weekend!!

Hi Jan,

U dreamed abt wedding at Mandarin? Haha! Must be bcoz subconsciously, u're still thinking abt wedding plans. This Sat is my ex-classmate's wedding at Mandarin. I checked, he has 40 tables! Wow!

I'm a jinx, it's true! Whatever bus I wait for, doesn't come. Whatever I want to eat, the shop is closed. *sigh*

Hello Jul,

Oh 40 tables, that means he is using Mandarin court for the ballroom and not Act 1 that u mentioned last time right? If his is mandarin court, it will be directly opposite to my ballroom which i'm using...

It's just coincidence lah Jul!! haha..

girlfriend - thanxs for d comment!

Would you gals care to share with me where will u all be having yr dinner and the costs?
So i can have an idea... hmm... i'm looking at Orchard Parade Hotel.. also not bad..
My budget is below $700 per table.

Good Morning Gals,

Kiki : Mi too, haven't decide on ROM. Whether to DIY or to take up bridal pkg that throw in gown, make-up &amp; hairdo...

Mimosa/Happy/Girlfriend : Hehe, you'll be surprise where we are planning our honeymoon... CHINA !!! Haha, must sound "lao gu dong (old antique)" hor... On telling my friends and family abt it, they were like "R U sure???"
. We are not planning to go right after wedding next June, will probably go 1/2 mths after wedding. As my FH graduated from London, I've been visiting him every June for the past 3 years and each time we Free &amp; Easy to other countries in Europe, we've decided to stay away from Europe for the next year or so loh.

Girlfriend : Switzerland is a BEAUTIFUL place. I went backpacking alone last year! It was the most career, memorable and experiencing trip I've ever had. Best period to visit in Jun / Jul, summer time. You'll be spared from dark, cold and early closing shops and most importantly heavy winder clothings. You are sure to capture bright sunny pictures then. It's definitely good choice. I'll starting recalling the places worth visiting... update u once you've confirm your trip okie

Ladies, if you are considering Jun / Jul is the best time to visit Europe.

Ccy : Harlow... I've sourced for Amara too. I'm lucky that my min is 30 tables. You might wanna try Meritus Mandarin for 22-25 tables?

Girlfriend : Oops ! Ya, Hilarion is slightly over 1k. No need to paiseh nor feel ks, it's absolutely norm. All of us have preferences and willing to part with more for them
I've not thoroughly rackie photography however, he did quite a good job for my girlfriend's wedding and that he blends well with most of the helpers, my bf said that he is willing to compromise. I do know that Hilarion runs promotion occassionally, perhaps you might wanna drop a tinkle to Chin Leng as she update SB's homepage and will probably be current with promos here? Will lookout and if I do see any other photographers of less than 1k, I'll let u know, okie?

Onee,

I am not pai seah that my budget is less than 1k. I am pai seah cos' I start sourcing for actual day photography already!

I managed to find a few good ones that cost less than 1k. Would be meeting up with them in the nxt few weeks.

I have a query. Since most of these photographers work in a free lance basis, how do we ensure that they are still in business after a year because I am sure they will want some form of deposit as a committment right?

Do you think we should ask for a contract to be written?

ccy,
In April Orchard Parade Hotel had a promotion where they deducted $15 off every table and for every 11th table, you get a table foc from them. Its quite a steal for a 5* hotel but we did not take up the offer cos' we are on budget for something less than $600 on weekends.

Hi Jan,

No, he's using Act something. Maybe can combine Act 1, 2, 3 etc to accomodate 40 tables?

Anyway, I shall check it out &amp; let u know my comments on food, decor, ambience, service etc.

happy,
I don't really look into whether the date is auspicious or not. Just want a wedding in mid June. I have heard from friends that 20 June is an auspicious date though.
mimosa,
I will be doing up the wedding programme sheets as well. Have thought of a simple A4 fold in half pattern but do not know how to go about the contents in the programme sheet. Do I plan the programme myself or what?
Onee,
if you think that in near future you wont be wearing the ROM gown you purchase from shops, I think no point buying it. I also thought about this and come to conclusion that I may rent the gown from bridal studio and then use their trial makeup for the ROM

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Hi Hi!!</FONT>

Jan, so "qiao"!! me also dreamt about my ROM last week.... it was a nightmare!!! everything was going wrong and i was so panicky!!! me and my bf didnt even discuss anything about the ROM that day, but i still had the nightmare!!!
oh no, cant imagine what's life gonna be like when the big day draw nearer!!!

Hi Jan &amp; ever,

What's with the two of you?
Take it easy, dun stress ok?

I think you must be so excited about wedding that you're both dreaming abt it. I remember a couple of weeks ago when I dreamt of searching for my WG. Seems like the whole nite I was trying gowns hoping to find the perfect one. Was so tired when I woke up

Hi girlfriend,

juz read the earlier postings.. u having yr dinner at Concorde?

I short listed that too.. but actually concorde's price n Orchard Parade hotel price nearly d same leh..

abit over $600.

oh, are you gals going for the Bridal Show?? me bought Her World Brides, but nothing much leh... so sad, no nice designs to copy...

ccy,

Concorde will be having its Bridal show this saturday, 21 June 2003.

Great perks and also a chance at lucky draw if you sign up on the spot! When I sign up, the coordinator gave me the same perks as the ones signing up in the bridal show! (I hope she didnt lie)

Err.. Orchard Parade Hotel's is slightly steeper, over $700 aft taxes. Concorde is $600+ inclusive of taxes. I am holding mine on a public holiday and its a weekday price. You may want to look for Jandy at 67317152 or e-mail her at [email protected]

Hello gals!

Been a busy day.. now come in here, take a break!!

Oh ever, u got nightmare too? hahaha, i think it's not my first time that i dreamt abt wedding!!
Come July, we still got a year to go!! It's like so far but yet near if we take into consideration all the bridal gown fittings, PS etc huh!

Yup, Jul, we will take it easy!! haha..

Nope, not going for bridal show already since decided not to have flamingo.. hehe..

Hi ever,
I tried looking for Her World Brides this weekend, but seems to be sold out in my neighbourhood. I found Style Weddings instead! The funny thing is, I wasn't looking for it coz it was sold out, yet I found it. So now no coupon, how to go for bridal show? But I really wanna go leh

Jan,
I told you I'm a jinx. Whatever I'm looking for, can't find!

Jan,
So fast decided you dun want Flamingo? I tot u liked the gowns there very much???

Hello Jul,

cannot be wat, i've seen Her World brides everywhere, but amazing that u can still find Style Mag tho!!

Yah, dun want flamingo, tho like the gowns, but can't do MTM WG for my budget, so not worth it leh, somemore not cheap! Intially i tot i dun mind getting their OTR WG, but now after looking at so many pics, i think i wanna do something which is my own too!!
But will see how lah, always subject to changes!! hahaha..