(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
hi ever
my bf also same age as me leh, but he malaysian so also graduated ard same time.......hehehe...we all 1977 one ya?? later not then pai seh....heehee...

hi ino
i think u can negotiate with the hotel for changes in menu one..... ;p

time to gooooooo home!!!!!!!! YIPEEEEE
bf cooking lunch for me.....

mimosa, yeah... haven't seen diamonds overseas but if look on ebay auctions ah.. the diamonds they sell are mostly H or I grade (mainly the sellers are from the US).. and wat matters is the size not the quality... even the tiffany's rings are set in H or I graded diamonds.. guess we asians are more concerned abt quality than size.. it's the final sparkly brilliance that will capture our hearts isnt it? hehehe

i also got my wedding bands from Goldheart too. but i got my VIP immediately after my purchase leh, but even without the card u can just turn up at their store tell them ur name and ic no. and they could give u the VIP discount also.. we chose our rings from the other range.. not the wedding band range.. so the inner top part of our band is actually hollow.. and could only squeeze in 5 characters.. but fortunately the band was pretty solid not too flimsy.. if not will go out of shape easily..hehe

hi gals!!

Hehe.. good for u gals, end of work!!

Hi Lin, But i also heard that food at Pan pac is good.. so u may wanna consider that too! Oriental food also not bad... but not sure abt the decor, never seen it...
And yeah, 30k shld b enough for simple reno.. Yup, mine's a new flat..

Btw, i've watched Matrix reloaded, not too bad, just that have to wait for their Part 3, coz there's no ending for this yet.. Heard ard Nov, Part 3 will be out!

Soupie, sagi, Ivory.... Wah!
22107.gif
me now then see you msg... Me not working on alternate Sats... Me work EVERY Sat... til now still working... So hor, you all beri xing fu liao!

So much about diamonds... I blur like sotong... actually I cant realli tell the diff leh, unless like those shops where they have a magnifying device can see the diamond, then I can see if the cut is very unusual. Once I think at SooKee or Aspial or something, I saw the Hearts and Arrows cut thingy... wah... that one really very pretty.... \clipart {biggrin} nearly drooled on the window display siah....

Hi Mee Mee,

I went to kino yesterday too and saw many bridal mags. Most are quite ex and I had no idea which one is good. As I were also in a hurry, I had no time to browse through any of them. Only manage to flip through some reno mags.

Eh, becos i want to save cost loh, so i only want to choose 1 EG either from Lezen or Ted collection loh...

In my opinion, I don't think you should cover up with shawl, it will only make you look "bigger" and "fleshier". I think you should just bare your shoulders (no low back), it will only make you look elegant because your stylist will put some glittering power on your shoulders. And also, the "shawl" thing is like a fad, is going to be outdated very soon. We hardly see anyone with shawl anymore. All the above comments are just my opinions
hope you don't mind.

Hi Poox, Pebbles & eighteight

I'm also another a May 2004 bride

poox
You're still in the midst of deciding which hotel to choose? Otherwise you may list dw which is your fav, then go dw to view at the ballroom ,,etc....

pebble
So happy to hear that you r another bride from Bridal Zone (The one at MS), 1'm served by a Xiao Pei. Attracted by their service, her PR is good.

eighteight
Yah, u got 1 more mth to wait... BTW, which brial shop you booked..

Enjoy your weekend...

Gd afternoon ladies,

Wow wow so active today ya. Ok let me read thro one by one...

Hi sagi,
Ve not seen you online for quite sometimes ya. Nope you dun ve to be a member to view the pics. Try again when you are free. Btw, you decided on the venue?

Jan,
Ya I realised not all WG are pure white. So many things to take note. -Blur-

Hey I watched Matrix reloaded too. Nice graphic but storyline abit boring leh.

Ever,
Ve you bk with J&M? I went down earlier and served by Kent. How abt u? He is abit 'girly' type but quite nice and willing to neg the package according to what we need. But was in a hurry so nv see their gowns. Will go down again to see their gowns but do admit that their price is very reasonable. Hey, if you going down, remember to neg for the items. Most of the time, they will give in (as long as not too much lah).

Hi Lin,
Haha I was like you. So many quotes until I also blur. What I did was to narrow down those that is within my budget and can acc the no of person. From there I shortlist again. Btw, you are looking at outdoor or indoor now? If you are looking at hotel poolside, consider Marriott. Let me know if you want the quotation. Pan Pac nice place but if I am not wrong, min no of tables quite alot.

I actually had a package with Yvonne Creative but ve not decided to go ahead or change to another one so looking around now.

Jul 04,
Ya I get what you mean. Dun think would want too low cut for WG. If EG, I dun mind hehehe

Agreed ve your adv of staying with in-laws. In fact, my bf's mum is a very nice lady but just like to ve a place of my own lor. No matter it's diff feeling staying with in-laws

Aiyo you gals all so young!! I think I am the oldest here

hi Jan,
really..okie, coz when i look at the menu of pan pac, doesn't look appetizing.. the only thing that was expensive there was shark's fin and prawns, no abalone, no scallops, fish was seabass and the dessert was platter of fruits. wonder if i can change here & there with the menu, you know like do upgrade..and the price was $620.

hi silver,
i really like alkaff very much because of the environment..on top of a hill. have that feeling you know.. but i don't want to separate my guests. Yes, pan pacific need 30 tables minimum if you want to go for theme wedding decor. alkaff is only good for small weddings. if you have lots of guests, not advisable..though i like alkaff menu much. If i can do some changes with the menu, then i go for pan pacific. If not, i might settle for the oriental..but then again, i'm waiting for shangri-la sentosa.. if cannot have my wedding at hill... at the island would be good. hahahah...

haha! finally bought my diamond ring already...
went to so many store & finally decided on DI has it is the most reasonable in turn of pricing for their diamonds.

Went to Gold heart , Lee Hwa & Sookee but prices were so steep despite their promotions...

DI havin 50% discount and really worth it. Bought a 0.30 carat solitare with GIA cert E Colour for only $1300. Gold heart is selling my inhouse cert, 0.30carot J Colour for $1300 and Lee Hwa & soo kee, 0.30 carot for almost $2k plus...

0.30ct is just nice for me, not too big or not too small.

I saw the inhouse diamond in DI and really cannot make it, some diamonds are really yellow... compared to those with GIA cert

While, it is another buying experience for me...

so gals who want to buy diamonds, now it is really a time to go DI to purchase as normally their sales is around 30% only...and must buy GIA cert ones...

Hi Lin,

Hmm.. seems like pan pac's food quite ex considering 8 course and seabass... Think not worth to top up leh... Then if this is the case, think Oriental will be a better choice...

hi Jan,
if include the dessert, it would be 9 course(which they quoted me) but just that when i look at the dishes, so disappointing. Yes, the oriental looks a better deal. But quite surprising, they didn't give me a trial dinner. i think i should bargain for that right... i thought most of the time, they would give trial dinner right?
Yes, when come to think of it, Pan Pac expensive....i have to book 30 tables if i want the theme decor if not it will just be standard decor.
How about you? Have you book your banquet already?

silver,
i think i don't know what to do already. have you come to this stage? you know like really become blur..pointless, don't know what you want. suddenly i feel singapore don't have much place to hold scenery wedding at a reasonable price and have that wedding feelings.
if my parents not so traditional, i think i want to marry overseas...how come getting married in singapore so expensive..

hi Lin,

Yeah, think u can bargain for the food tasting, think Oriental shld be negotiable...

Wah, didnt know that for pan pac, if there's no min 30 tables they'll just do normal decor..

Yup, i booked mine at Mandarin...

Hi Gals!!

sagi, yep.... i'm a 1977 gal!! lucky you... both of you worked for 3yrs plus liao... got more $$$.. hahahaha....

silver, you went down to J&M today?? heard from my fren that all the staff there are quite nice, so dont worry about Kent being "girly'... (maybe yr bf should worry!! hahaha... juz joking...) nope, havent sign with them yet... supposed to go down today, but we decided not to sign so early cos gotta place a deposit... but decided to take them liao.... need to stop shopping for bridal shops!! hahahaha... ya, need to bargain with them... thought of asking them for OTR ROM dress which was not included in the $2888 package... oh, you wanna give up yr Yvonne Creative package?? thought they are not bad?? if you already pay a fair bit as deposit, then just take loh... YC not bad, rite??

Jan, me watched Matrix Reloaded today!! not bad!! but i just hate shows with no ending.... like Lord of the Rings!! me so curious about the ending!!

lin, i totally agree with you.... marrying in Spore is really expensive!! people hate receiving invitations cos need to give big ang pows and couples hate having banquets cos they're expensive!! think the only ones who are happy are the hotels and restaurants!!!!

hooray! welcome happy02

i've signed up with bridal veil today!! really happy and excited but must wait for a couple more months before i'll start the design session....can't wait. Her gowns are really simple and elegant, worth considering if you like the style.

happy02
how's your planning coming along??
for me, i've actually visited a couple of hotels and kinda decided on Fullerton but since they didn't press us to sign...thought we'll wait a while more :P

any updates from the rest? pebbles? eighteight?

hi jan,
yah...have to negotiate hor. if not rugilah.. oh, you're having at mandarin hotel? i'm so confused with the marina mandarin, mandarin..

hi ever,
yah agree! haix... when i look at the bridal magazines(overseas), their venue so nice.. yet not expensive unlike singapore. My friends asked me why getting married in singapore like some economic business..whereas the angmoh here go for wedding feelings..like everyone enjoy the wedding. i feel like eloping oredi...hahahahha.

Gd morning gals,

Hi Lin,
Hey wat happened? Don't give yourself too much stress. Ya I feel the same thing abt Alkaff Mansion - dun want to spilt my guests too so drop Alkaff from my list. Hmm.. issit becos you ve too much quotes until you blur? Maybe you can share with us what you want (indoor or outdoor), how many guests you looking at and what's your budget? Perhaps you can give you our opinion?

Hi ever,
Not worried abt Kent lah, in fact he is flexible. You are been served by him too? Ve you neg the package with him? Ask for the tea dress! He will throw in for you. In fact, I asked for tea dress, father suit, increase in no of photos and dunno what (cannot really remember). When you going down to bk yours? Tell him you are referred by Serene I think he will throw in for you (not that I am big shot lah but becos I am referred by my friend so he throw in a few things for me)

I ve not decided to give up Yvonne Creative or not. Apparently, when I tell my friends abt YC those who heard of it all give gd comments so I am planning to go down next wk to see their gowns and neg the package again. Package wise, J&M is better cos YC no father suit, no montage and 15pcs of 15R only...

Jul 04,
The designer my gf used from Thomson Wedding is Helen and make up artist is Chris. Both are not from in house.

Hi Poox & Happy02

poox

so good your parents are not particular on dates. l actually wanted my traditional date same date as my ROM date but they say it falls on the 6 mth of lunar calender
1 mth seem short but feels like enternality cos we have been on this "dates" matter since chinese new year

happy02

My bridal shop at Seletar Boardway ....

Morning!!

silver, since u paid YC deposit already, perhaps u can get something from them, like get a men's suit or father's suit or rom dress or something else which is the same amt as the deposit u paid?? Then sign up with J&M?? Heard some gals do that too... Maybe u can try that??
Coz heard some gals from the forum who actually paid deposit but didnt want to carry on with the package did that too...

ever, ya, since we still have some time, think we can book the bridal at our own sweet time! hehe... ;)

hi Lin, mine's the Orchard Mandarin..

Gd morning...

Hi Jan,
Hmm.. gd suggestion. I will talk to them and see what can be done. The best is they can throw in what I need and it will save my trouble

Gals, like to check with you all usually how many mths b4 our wedding we ve to meet up with our bridal to discuss the designs of our gowns (for MTM)? Understand from my gf that give them 1 mth to get back to us on the design, 1-2mths for gowns to be ready and 3 mths b4 wedding for PS? My gf also reminded me that due to Chinese New Yr shops will be close so we better give them more time...

Mango Cheese Cake,

Glad that u purchase yours at DI. Finally there's someone appreciating DI. =) So it isn't that bad afterall, right?

silver,
if you go earlier, it will be better because you're not rushing them to complete your MTM gown. In this way, they can produce better quality. You must give them at least 3 to 4 months allowance for photoshoot.

Hihi Poox
Ohh, fullerton is a posh hotel. Maybe you can also look out for copthorne waterfront which is another posh one.
Meanwhile,i had only book for my bridal & rite now busy with my hse renovation ( Looking for contractor,actually orendi had some in mind, juz that we need to consider which one to take)How abt you??

Hihi eighteight
Actually my situation also same as you, but my mummy's frenz know how to calculate dates so my mum orendi ask her to check for us, still in the midst of checking.
Ohh, so you had sign up with seletar Boardway, btw this boutique been quite some times liao rite, must be veri experience. One of my colleague ever take her family's photo there, she told me their service is good...

hi silver,

I think all in all, it's safe to book about 10 months in advance... regarding the designs part, not too sure abt that...

hi ladies!

Eighteight, well i guess u should just be a good gal and wait for them to pick the right dates for you

happy02, mm... must be tough renovating your new place and preparing for your weddding...mine would not be ready till end of next year so i'm taking it one step at a time...

silver, think its good to start designing yr gowns in Dec or Jan... one mth for doing up the gown and three mths to do up the photo album.... me talked to Chris when we went down to J&M the other day... she quite flexible too... think will negotiate for more things before signing... thanks!! my bf always tell me its sales tactics... they will give you "freebies"' bit by bit to entice you to sign up!!!

my bf loved the montage given by J&M too!! lots of bridal shops dont give that FOC!! think we still hav time, juz book the package by Oct/Nov... the shop will advise you on the timing.... but heard from my fren that J&M sometimes need "pushing"...

hello!!

mee mee, your gowns sound very nice. i love organza and long long train....heee. so romantic.

shawl is outdated soon? hmmm...

smurfy, you getting CS as your tea dress? how much do u pay for your CS?

i wonder are there people wearing their EG as tea dress too?

pageup, for actual day photographer, think KC from greymatter not bad. good rates too. i'm considering too....
his website: http://www.greymatterphotography.com
u are going for your first appointment? u must be very excited. keke. i also dunno wat to do during the first appointment. u prepare any mag cutting to show ur designer? =)

Gd morning ladies...

Thanks Lin & ever! Points noted.

Hi Lin,
Rcv ur quotation from Shang?

Hi ever,
Ya I hardly hear any bridal shops give montage free. I think all shops need some bargain

Hi Bluelake,

yup, I wearing CS for my tea dress. I am not sure how much it cost exactly. TC quoted me S$1500 for both CS and EG. But he told me roughly that CS costs S$700 for full length with beading (hope I rem correctly)

TWEETY/ESPRESSO: HI hi!!!
22159.gif

BINBIN/INO/SAGI/SOUPIE/MIMOSA/LIN/ANGELBB/MANGO CHEESE CAKE: HELLO!!!
22160.gif
Have a nice weekend? Oh, read up the thread ystd after all my shopping... but it was tooOooOoooo long so only today then reply all postings! Thanks gals for all the valuable feedbacks... Me ystd went to Goldheart/Sookee/Leehwa/Aspial/Meyson to see solitare.

My BF seen the princess-cut and he finds the brilliant-cut is better... so will look into brilliant-cut soltaire liao... he says the princess-cut looked thicker band... the diamond not very outstanding thou' WOW, didnt know that we are only entilted to get ONE soltaire ring from hubby until the next 25-yrs?
22161.gif

Oh, btw... the 30% discount is also for the loose diamond for Apsial but the settings will only have 20% for VIP only... hope this helps for those who wana buy.

Here's my findings/feedbacks:
Goldheart's 4claw, so-so... find 6claws too many... and their Zen is very costy, 0.34size=$4000+. Their settings so-so too! Tot can get better elsewhere, then head to Sookee... DUN like their 4claw settings, not 2 by 2 but '+' cross look claws... their brilliant rose very giltter but not cheap too! When to Leehwa but DUN like their settings, all the rings are embeaded and all looked 'fat' and short... dun have those classy look leh... their 6claws' very big you almost cant see the diamonds... was refered to Aspial but they dun have nice settings... saw the Hearts on Fire... very very nice... but it comes in loose diamonds and have to set ownself. Saw one MTM's ring, almost $15K wor!!! The size is about 0.80! But me like the settings, its somehow MTM and modified by similar design they had. Lastly, went to Meyson... their rings are those BIG size but the quality no good... all H/I color, then Vs or S grade. Sat night went passby Poh Heng, they have this 5claw... VERY nice, I liked it very much... but their whitegold no stock liao... left with 18K gold. So mayb gota wait until later date. So Im actually looking for those V-cowrn setting lah... but not many stores have it. Either have to wait for Poh Heng to come theirs if not then mayb this weekend go down to DI again to check out... as so far have learnt about the 4Cs liao... not like the 1st time went to DI, like sotong... duno what the sales talking about... just bring out and show me... HAHA!

MANGO CHEESE CAKE: Hello, have a good trip to DI this time? So you advise me IF were to buy diamond from DI then have to get GIA cert lah... but how about their clarity of the diamond? Yours is a 4 or 6claws? Mayb will popby this weekend...

SOUPIE: Hi hi... all the long we have decided to get the cherish collection for the WBs but again... ystd saw the thinner version of the cherish, looks THIN! Not the one they advertised so me thinking abit too THIN if my BF to take the plain one... scare cant match his thick fingers. We were laughing all the way out of the shop and was considering to run another round for WBs liao... xtra work!
22162.gif

ESPRESSO: DI=diamond industry

hi silver,
yes, i finally receive quotation from shang! hmm, now i'm torn btwn shang and oriental. so, when i come back end of the year, will see their ballrooms, then negotiate, then decide. ok..at least i've narrow down my choices.

hai.. its Mon again.. last nite can't sleep cos weather too hot liao!!!

oh boy... no more holidays until Aug.. so long...

pebbles, congratulations on ur ROM.. enjoy yourself? update us k...

mango cheese cake
glad tat you bought ur ring. i also think tat DI is cheaper compared to others (GIA diamond only). any idea when's the 50% sale end?

wendylee
you must have enjoy ur diamond shopping.. since you like the poh heng one, i think they shd be able to make one it white gold for you rite. if you happen to be in town, popby larry too. look see look see.. they're not as expensive like wat we think.

PEBBLES: CONGRATULATIONS mrs...? Share with us the photos when they are ready yah?
22170.gif

CIN_P: Hello! Their 50% is like on-going lah... dun think end so soon... me last visit was sometime early 2003... and now (MAY liao) still 50%... what do you think? HAHAHA!

Hi Bluelake,

Thanks for the website, another one to add to my list. Think must find time to visit the photographers and videographers to view their work

Yes, I tear off a few pages of gowns I like from the magazine. But then hor, my friend advise me it is better to try on the gowns rather then look at magazines because what looks nice on those superslim models may not look nice on me lor. She also advise if possible, choose otr because if mtm doesn't turn out good on me, I can't do anything to it. *shrug*

pageup

Hi wendylee & cin_p,

while, mine is 6 claw, but it dosent over power the diamond.The colour is E colour. Clarity is only S1. For me, i think colour is very impt... not so much on the clarity... mine is almost to the whitest.

After much consideration, decided to go for this current ring as i must be practical. the price suits my budget,it is my desire size of diamond i want & it is GIA cert.

As for the clarity,it is not a issue to me as nobody going to tell the difference whether it is a VVS1 or VS1.

Not now & future, I am not going to trade in my ring as it is going to stay with me till i leave this world.So dun be taken in by those promoters telling you that diamonds can be trade in if you do not like the size in future..

Diamond Industry sale is going to finish by end of the month. I saw many young couples choosing their diamond rings overthere too.

Have a great time shopping around but please do not go for their non certified diamonds as it can really tell the difference.

Hello everybody,
I am having my wedding in Nov 2004. Can see that all of you are having great fun discussing diamonds. (Diamonds are a gal's best friend, after all...)
Just to join the fun... the ring my hubby bought is a 0.78 carat, grade F, VVS1. As for all the other details, I am totally clueless....My hubby probably knows more about these stuff than me. hee.

Has anybody started the preparation for the marriage ie. bridal, photographer etc? Can share? :D

wow....a few weeks not here and the discussion go over to diamonds liao....

Yup..i agree that now is the right time to go to DI to get the GIA diamonds. 50% off mah...of course it's a good deal. Personally, i not so crazy over diamonds so usually, i won't spend so much on diamonds.

So depend on individual.

HI CC2,

sorry, not sure were you the one to post the DIvine bride package prices here? But just to check, the package doesn't come with the indoor and outdoor photography right? If add in, how much do you know?

Hi Espresso,

The grade are as follow: E,F,G,H and VVS1, VVS2 or VS1 and VS2. HOpe that i don't remember wrongly.

The explaination for 4Cs of diamond are above, do go and take a look as they are important to know before purchasing.

smurfy,
$700 for a CS. hmm... i'm still thinking whether i shd get a tea dress. Been spending a lot already...:P

pageup,
hmm... i heard some of my frens say tat OTR better too. cos theirs turned out to be different from wat they think to be...a bit of disappointment. but i think ur designer will advise u on that.
mine is MTM. but i tried one OTR which i love so much. can't get that gown off my mind... dilemma!

DEBBY: Welcome welcome!!!
22192.gif

MANGO CHEESE CAKE: Hello, wow... their 50% is only until this month-end ah? Shouldnt I have to make decision by this week to catch their offer? Let me consider-consider... HEHE! Me find somehow the clarity counts to the sparkling of the diamond leh... bcos I went to Meyson, their diamonds are of those S1 or S2 and dun seem so sparkling as those of VVs1 or VVs2... or even Vs1 and Vs2. Well, no offence... its just my thoughts, and of course the color counts too.

Gd afternoon ladies!

Wow seems like alot of diamond expert ya
Ya diamond is always women's best friend. Like diamond but dunno much abt it...

Hi Debby,
Welcome! How's your preparation for bridal n dinner venue?

Well gals,
Think you can say that I am the kiasu kind. hee.
I have booked my bridal and studio/ outdoor photographer. As for the venue, I have made a tentative booking. Waiting for the SARS thingy to blow over before confirming the booking.

hi espresso, D, E, F is not so much grade as colour. just to summarise a bit kae..

Colour - D, E, F, G, H and so on. D is the whitest.
Clarity - IF, VVs1, VVs2, VS1, VS2 and so on. IF is internally flawless ...
Cut - brilliant, princess etc for generic cuts.
Carat - speaks for itself right? hehehhehee.....

clearer?
22197.gif