(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date

Hi onee,
Hmm... if you confirmed yours going to be next yr, you can start looking around for venue & bridal so once date cfm you can make the necessary arrangment. And if you are doing early, you can take your time to source ard mah. Just my opinion....

ONEE: Lunar 7th month should start from July29-Aug28. Hope this helps!

So anyone answering me yet??? Is it standarized to have ony 1 brand/author for the tong shu? How I know its the same date calculate from ie: different shifus'?

Hi onee,
According to my FSIL, 18 Jul is 2nd of lunar 6 mth so you might want to count from there hehe CNY next yr is in Jan but there is a loon yue next yr...

onee, u can try this website to see when the 7th mth starts or ends..
http://mindcity.sina.com.hk/MC-lunar/index.cgi

debby, i'm with jazreel low collections and traders hotel

Think the package is quite good already... can't think of any others now...

Yup, check whether they have light snacks, cocktail for the guests b4 the actual dinner starts, u know like the Chinese Banquet, they normally have that too..

Hope they give u a good deal! Good Luck ya!

Hi onee & wendylee,
Onee, are you referring to this yr or next yr 7th lunar? I think the one wendylee given is this yr?

Hi gals!!

silver, decided on S'pore Yacht Club, issit?? sorry, cant remember....
me havent book my banquet yet... but the person told us our date still available... the prob is my mum... she doesnt believe the fortune teller... want us to wait for the almanac to be out before confirming the banquet... Jan, how much deposit did you pay?? yours at Mandarin, rite??

ya, everyday blues....

I am an early starter. I've in mind my preferred hotel, bridal shops, photographer and the rest are nitty gritty. Cos I've no house to worry about, that's about all I need to do for my wedding loh...

Months ago I went into BV and Divine Coutre threads with questions and got feedback that I am too early, feels kia-su. Thought should tone down a little and oso xian of looking ard loh...

Will start moving around Singapore again soon... *hehe*

hello ever!!

Yup, mine's at Mandarin, we paid $3k deposit... Btw, when's the almanac out? Well, tho i'm not exactly that pang tang, but just curious that the day i choose hopefully will be good.. Let me know if u gals get almanac okie?

Maybe u can make a tentative booking first at OCC rite? Think they'll allow u to keep the booking unless someone wants to place a deposit immediately...

Silver, what changes you want to make? From what I know, normally, bridals are quite flexible so you dun have to worry.

My package with Bridal Veil comes with photography too. My local studio/ outdoor shoot is with Andrew Choi. My overseas shoot also with him. So, hopefully, everything will turn out ok.
I am praying hard that nothing goes wrong....

Hi Jan!! they want me to pay deposit within one week after making tentative booking... juz worried that if i place a deposit and end up changing dates, OCC may not be available and my deposit will go to waste!! *sigh*... damn "mah fan", rite?!?! me not very pang tang too, but dont wanna make my mum unhappy... so, no choice.. think the almanac will only be out in Jul or Aug... now, juz hope that no one wants the same date as us!!

so Jan, did you attend any marriage preparation course?? me not sure which one to go to... when i look thru those threads, most of them went to courses organised by their churches...

Soupie,
I went to J. Low and looked at their gowns. Very very pretty!!! I love their gowns... esp those with the lace. The person-in-charge is also flexible and friendly

Traders hotel is part of the Shang group, right? Guess you are in safe hands.

hi hi wendylee, if i am not wrong, tongshu should have only one main one. but there could also be diff versions from diff authors. but not to worry coz they should say the same thing. as for calculation of dates, any books shld give u the same date. However, the geomancer doesn't use tong shu, he uses something called the "Wan Nian Li" (10 thousand yr calendar or something like that). some of the books he use is even more strict than tong shu. for example, if his book say a date is bad for something, the tong shu (when it comes out) may say it's okie. basically the book he uses is more rigid and conservative.
I have went to 2 geomancers, coz i super ks and wanted to be sure of our date, and both geomancers said the same thing about our chosen date, so not to worry if u will get diff responses....
hope it helps instead of confusing u...hehheheee.....

urggghhhh....so shocked when i went into this page!!! so many postings!!!

*Breathless".

Hi Debby,
Welcome to the thread! Why do u need to buy tongshu leh? Coz all shifu has one...unless your MIL or mummy noes how to read lah...then u buy the bk.

HI Pebbles.
Congrats on yr ROM! Look forward to seeing your ROM fotos too! *HAnds up* Me going for the gathering.

Hi Silver,
Congrats on finding your wedding venue! i have a colleague who is also having a wedding there next yr...she told me that the pl is simply beautiful!
your_image.gif

You signed up wif Yvonne's Creative? As long as your deposit is not too high, think there's plenty of room for negotiation. Just like my bridal package, i've paid quite a huge deposit but my shop still allows me to negotiate. So far, they have been pretty accomodating towards my requests.

Hi Mimosa,
You noe what i'm going to do in order to get more solitaire rings from my hubby? I told my hubby to just buy the diamond while i set it.

Hi Onee,
When's your wedding? Think it's not too early to scout ard for hotels. It's better to scout 1.5 yrs in advance. Once you get the date u want, u muz immediately dash down to your hotel to book.

For bridal packages, just try to book 9 mths in advance (for MTM gowns), 6 mths if OTR bridal package.

Looking at flowers right now for wedding and wondering if anyone of you have any good and reasonable florist in mind.

I went to one and charge me close to 400 in total for 4 wrist corsages and pin corsages each and a hand bouquet.

Is it reasonable ? I find it a tad 2 expensive leh

Hi ever!!

really.. OCC so strict abt their bookings! Then in this case, better for u to wait till u confirm the dates.. i think same situation as silver, she's also waiting to confirm whether the date is good or not...

No, didn't attend any marriage prep course... dun think will attend one too, anyway dun think my hubby would want to attend!!

Upated attendance for the gathering
22274.gif

CC2
Bubbles
Wendy26
annmelody
Pebbles
Blusher
Ino
Binbin
Leafy

Ino, thanks!!! not to worry will sure share with u girls..

debby, yeah i love the details JLC do for their gowns and both me and hubby are very comfortable with them
traders is under the shang group and we like it there too.. cosy and quite romantic

annmelody, maybe u can try out poppy studio at tanjong pagar which was recommended to me by binbin
have done my ROM bouquet and wrist corsage there, very happy with their work and they charged me 15 bucks for wrist corsage, so i dun think it would cost that much for you.. unless u're using some very unusual and exotic flowers...

BINBIN: WOW, 2 ah??? Eeee, mayb you wana send me your geomancer contacts can? Me wana double to be sure... kekeke, btw... how much he charges? Can have up to how many dates in mind? Many thanks!!! My email in my nick!

cannot make it lah!! every time I take a break from internet n the flood just gets worse..

hi silver / Debby / soupie

I oso dunno when exactly is the tong shu coming out cos my hubby’s the one who went to ask, not me.. pai seh lah..

hi Onee

same here, I dun have new house to worry abt cos after customary will move in to stay with PILs

attached is a copy of the lunar calender dat i copied from one of the website.. dunno accurate or not.. seems like +/- 1-2 days like dat.. for reference only

<!-Attachment: lunar_calender_2004.xls-!><CENTER><TABLE BORDER=1><TR><TD>
mime_msexcel.gif
Chinese Lunar Calender
lunar_calender_2004.xls (26 k)</TD></TR></TABLE></CENTER><!-/Attachment-!>

ahhhh.... WENDYLEE!!!! im here all along... u gals start to discuss abt diamonds so i can oni keep quiet lor..

i din work out the date lah... cut n paste from internet lah.. but realise may be a day or 2 difference so can oni act as a rough guide lor

tweety, ur ROM in dec 04? wow, really plan way ahead of time... it's good... more time means more $$.

pebbles, wow 3 weeks arh... still thot we can see it on the next outing. count me in ok.. so have you planning ur weekend getaway?

silver, so more or less you've confirmed RSYC... jus waiting for tong shui rite.. if you're planing to upgrade ur bridal package, then shdnt be a problem. really hate those inflexible ones. some only deduct that miserable hundreds if you dun wan this or that.

wendylee, hey, i like ur icons leh... always so cute one.

onee, why sound so sian. i also no hse to worry leh... at least not so stress.. i feel never too early to book... or if they happen to have any promo, then jus grab it.

ino, ur hubby buy loose diamonds, then you set it.. wow good idea... hey, can i steal ur idea.. akeke...

Gd afternoon ladies,

Hi debby,
I would like to add in addition tea dress, father &amp; father-in-law suit &amp; hopefully increase no of photo cos mine comes with 15pcs 15R only. Do you think they will allow? You going for overseas PS?

Hi ino,
Your friends having in or outdoor at RSYC? The sales mgr told me that including me, there are 3 couples planning for wedding there next yr.

Only paid $500 deposit. Hopefully they are flexible enough...

Hi Ivory,
Thanks for the excel page. I think quite acculate.

Hi cin,
Yes more or less decided on RSYC. Just back from discussing with the sales mgr. I requested for additional 30L of beer, additional nite stay &amp; ask him if he could reduce the rental for my solemnization. Waiting for him to get back to me.

Gd afternoon ladies...

Met up with the sales mgr from RSYC. I requested for additional 30L of beer, additional nite stay &amp; reduce on the rental of Beacon for my ROM. The later 2 should not be a problem but it's the additional beer he needs to work out. Anyway, he said he will get back to me for the above 3.

Hi ever,
Yes more or less decided on RSYC. Waiting for the sales mgr to revert but anyway he has made a tentative booking for me. I ve to admit that the sales mgr is pretty nice cos he actually take the initiative to make the tentative booking and told us to confirm b4 paying a deposit.

I am actually quite confused cos some of telling me tong shui out end of this mth but some were saying Jul/Aug. So which is which?

Dear Silver,

I think they might ask you to top up a bit, unless there is something in the package that you can exchange for. Sob, my package has no father and father-in-law's suit as well. So I probably have to sponsor dad's tailoring.

I do agree that 15 pcs might be too little. If the size does not matter, maybe you can ask for 25 pcs of a smaller size. (Is there such a size as 12R?)

Yep, going for overseas PS. Hope it will be fun.

hi silver, i think the rental of tea dress and father / FIL's suit can be done without any additional charges but i dun think additional pics can be done without any charge cos that's where the bridal studio earn the 'extra' profits... as for photos u can try to negotiate the additional pic price instead of adding on to ur current package.. cos u'll have to @@ ur pics first then u'll know whether you like them alot enuff to take alot of pics

IVORY: HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! I was laughing until pengz ah... paisei lah! Me like awhile neva see your msg liao then you popped up again so welcome you lor... muhahahaha!!!
22307.gif

SILVER: Eee... me tot 20pcs is the min liao... yours 15?!?!?!? You can say you wana bring the gown for your honeymoon... dun tell them its for your overseas photoshoot lah... you promised to put some deposit with them and refund you back when you return whole piece of gown to them lor.. HAHAHAHA

Hi debby,

Oh ok... so I was thinking if they are really so inflexible but want me to top up everything I may consider to change to another one cos with the top up in photos + other littles things might come up to alot rite? Will be meeting them next week so see what they say lor. Not sure got 12R but usually is 10R or 15R rite?

So where you going for overseas PS? Btw how much did you pay for that?

Hi there silver!

Oh that's good... at least u get 2 extra perks.. for addl beer, hopefully he can get it for u too!

Ya, me too am confused regarding the tong shu, but think it's usually Jul period...

can't really catch up with the posting here.

Pebbles,
where will the gathering be? Hopefully it's at town area...if not, by the time i reach, u all getting ready to leave liao.

Annmelody,
$400 is too expensive. Remember blusher's mum is freelancing? Maybe u like to ask her? Usually vendors will quote very steep for wedding stuffs cos once in a lifetime. My friend's little ROM bouquet with only one stalk of sunflower cost more than $50.

Silver,
15 pc of photos is really too little. who do u sign up with? Will ur photographer return all negatives?

Hi Jan,

Ya I hope so too but better wait for him to confirm everything cos according to him, the dinner is at promo rate. Oh I check out with him, they do allow us to bring our own wine too w/o corkage charge.

Oh so is Jul lah.... okok

hi girls...

Cin p,
i had the same reaction too ah, but that's what he says lor so i guess u girls will have to look at binbin's pics first then i will bring mine in our next gathering liao..

hmmmmm...good question ah, i wanted to go bintan then my aunite told me batam is much cheaper and better for the best hotel cos she just came back from there but then hor, dun know my mom will scream if i go cos she will sure say the SARs thing this and that, u know mom lah...and thanks to Soupie i got to know that Riz is having a promotion for their room so might end up going there...dun know if we will be going this weekend cos i will be going down to GCW to sign the contact this sat...hey was wondering how did u manage to pay up $3k instead of $5k for your deposit ah...

Lin, thanks!!! thanks!!!how's life?? must be very busy hor, have not seen u in here for a while...think staring from next week, i also won't be coming in here that often ah cos work getting abit more busy liao

Debby,
where will u be going for your overseas PS? and u getting who to do it for u ah...think u mention before rite but i forgotten liao, u will be bring your gown from BV there lah...
me also will be going for overseas shooting so will be getting a gown from my bridal to go over..
so when will u be going over

Hi leafy,
Yes I fully agreed with you but the package was signed up with Yvonne Creative a couple of yrs back. Perhaps during then they only give 15pcs? I dun think neg will be rtn to us. That's the reason why I want to neg with them again lor

Hi Silver,
I am going to New Zealand. Hubby and I are interested in taking some scenic shots. The package itself is $5K.

Hi hi Pebbles,
Cannot blame you in this fast-moving thread.
My photographer is Andrew Choi. Yes, I am bringing my gowns from BV.
You are going for overseas PS, too? hee. So, who is your photographer and which bridal are you with? Which beautiful place are you going? Share? Share?

Hi cin-p,
I also got no house. Very worried now leh...very desperate to get house...now patiently waiting for Balloting. Not really keen to stay at MIL place...wanna avoid conflict. Actually was thinking of staying at my parents' pl after marriage (in case still got no house), but think my PILs not keen...coz it's like ru4 zhui4. What to do? Keep my fingers crossed that i've a house soon!

no prob...can get my idea for diamonds...afterall, diamonds are a gal's best fren!
22311.gif

Hi silver,
You wanna negotiate for more photos w/o increasing your package px? wow...a bit difficult leh. As for negatives, based on some postings, the shop will only give it back to u if you spend really a lot!

It's really different from other photographers e.g. robin, andrew choi whereby they return some of the negatives to u.

btw, i heard they changed photographers already...
Good luck to your negotiation!

Ivory : me too staying with PILs. Will be moving from one end of Singapore to the other

Debby : Sounds nice to have PS overseas. Mind sharing how much it cos? I personally like Andrew Choi's work. Know that Andrew Choi partner w/BV too. Haven't check their rates...

Pebbles : You are oso going overseas for PS ah? Who are you engaging to do photography har? Sounds interesting leh

Binbin : Know that you book Hotel Inter-Continental for your wedding banquet. So far so good? How much deposit did u pay har? I reckon on signing the contract right?

Gals, a question... What is the deposit range for booking bridal package har? Time for financial planning liao...

Ino : Me too, me too... Will be staying with PILs after wedding. I am fine staying with them, got experiences staying with them when travelling liao. I am oso waiting for the HDB balloting, dunno when they'll launch it hor... My FIL's urging us to get it soon for his weekend chalet.

Finally back from course. Going back to work 2moro. Feeling a bit xian... Wed blues coming along

Silver - No lah, I'm only having 1 dinner. Gd thing my fiance is not Indian or something right? Then must have another ceremony! *haha*

Jan, I also paid $3,000 for deposit. I only met up with the coordinator once, then signed the contract already. Now you know why I'm super fast

hi soupie/pebbles/forest
thanks for yr welcome

me and my fh hoping to have our ROM in 2004, no concrete plans yet. like i mentioned before, i m still at the reading up stage, no action lah. think its too early for me to start the search for venue &amp; bridal. hopefully by end of this year, we can make a decision. sorry that i m not able to contribute much at this moment &amp; most of the time i read the postings until blur :o

Bluelake... i have engaged qinzhong from greymatter. His photobook is very unique and he is a rather nice guy.

pageup &amp; bluelake ... yah...i think otr better too. For me, I am quite fleshy... so difficult to find something really suitable otr. So i go for mtm. But if u can find something that u like otr, its a better option. And its more affordable too. U can use the money on extra photos instead.

smurfy, u looking for a bed right? simmons now having a promo..worth looking at.