(2004) Brides of year 2004

ever

Hi silver, good for you!! at least settled the banquet thingy.... ya, the tong shu will be out in Jul/Aug.... dont think is this month....

Hi Jul 04, where's yr banquet?? me forgot... heeheeeheee........ sorry....

think i'll go and bargain with OCC before putting the deposit...

silver

Hi Ino and Onee,
Which area of balloting you looking at? I also temp staying with inlaws after married

Ino, Ya I know it's hard to neg for more photos esp already signed the package. Anyway, will still try my luck
Yes I heard Dean (previous photographer) has opened his own bridal shop (wedding news).

Hi tweety,
Hey I think by time you decided to you will be expert by then hehe

silver

Gd evening ladies....

Hi Jul 04,
Wow finally you are done with your courses
Oh so you will be having 2 church wedding and 1 dinner?

Hi ever,
Ya bargain b4 you commit. That's what I learn from the gals here hehe Like today, I only went down to find out and neg the package. Just tell them you waiting for tong shu to be out, they would understand lah.

jan

hello ladies!

silver, ur banquet at promo rate? Then they better take note when u sign up it'll still be the same rate, in case last minute they tell u oh the promo rate is over...

Jul 04, u'll be having wed blues tomorrow is it.. oh oh... think our thread will be quiet again!! hahahahaaaaa

Oh, u met up with ur coord once only... that's really fast! hehe...

ever, let me answer for Jul04, hers at Sheraton..
Yup, u shld go discuss and bargain b4 signing up with OCC...

jan

Btw, gals, i'll be going down to see Mandarin's decor this weekend! finally! Really hope it's ok, i dun expect it to be very gorgeous, but hope it looks OK!! hehe... A bit silly rite, sign up without looking first at the decor!! haha..

Actually, just went to Mandarin thread to take a look, one of them said that mandarin's decor not nice etc... hmm... feeling a bit sad reading that....

mimosa

Onee,

So good u dun have to worry abt your house. Last time we got to stress over the house, and look look see see for so many units and so many months until we settle on that perfect house. So u got one less stress than us.

Too many postings, also dunno who say she not very old but her hubby also surprise her, who's that ah? Mimosa really old liao, cannot remember who said what. :p Haha...I could very well be younger than u woh...but also not very young lah...

Hey Hey, anyone of u booked with Blush Blush Couture or not huh? How come so few postings abt them ah? I haven't book my bridal package, only confirm the venue for banquet.

binbin

hi Onee, no i didn't book hotel intercontinental, u must be confused by the tonnes of postings liao hehehhehehe...... it's not me.... WHO IS IT huh? can answer onee's question? :eek:

annmelody and soupie! yes,i also wanted to recommed poppy to annmelody...
thanks soupie hhehee..
annmelody, their service is good and u will be assured by the owner Linda who is beri knowledgable. she will also work around ur budget so dun worry.... i do think the price quoted to u is expensive. esp when it doesn't include following car ribbons and only one bouquet? try poppy kae? it's along tanjong pagar road, opp wedding news....

wendylee, yes i went to two...hehhehe super kiasu.
the first one was the one soupie mentioned just now which i recommended to her. it's trinity arts. dun have the exact addy with me now will post tmlw. the second one is at toa payoh, which cc2 went to. will send u the contacts tmlw too... they charge $100 and $88 respectively...

cyn

silver, are you having the solemnisation together with the banquet? how much is the rental for RSYC? hey, 15 pcs of photos really little. the least shd be 20 pcs. perhaps tat's few years back market rate.. btw, how much is ur package?

pebbles, with the SARS thingy, quite " ma fan" to travel ard huh... mom sure nag one lah.. the other time when i went to bangkok, she does tat too... tat's mother nature lah.. next times, we might do tat to our kids too.. haha.. Mmm.. ritz huh.. not bad leh.. i wanted to go too (cos of the toilet) haha.. even if you're gog to gcw, stil can checkin this weekend. as for the deposit, 3k is wat they want, i din bargain leh.

ino, onee.. which area are you looking at? i'm also looking 4wards to my very own hse. i also die die wan to avoid staying with MIL. though FH is staying alone, & i'll be moving in after wedding, but duno have tat's feeling lor.. so for now, let's concentrate on the wedding plans 1st, hse later lah..

silver, you also waiting for balloting?

silver

Hi cin,
Yes I will be having my solemnization b4 my dinner. They charging $250 for a separate area (The Beacon) for solemnization and I will be having my dinner at Foreshore.

The package is $2988 with MTM WG & EG....

Quite like the new flats at Clementi (near NTUC) but not sure if they will be opened for balloting. You waiting for balloting too?

ever

Morning gals!!

realised that you two young gals (Jan & Jul 04) are quite rich!! can afford banquet in such good hotels!! I always find these hotels prices too expensive!! imagine we gotta give few tables to my parents.... gosh!! that's hell lots of $$$!! heeheeheee...... me very "calculative", rite?!?!

onee

Good morning GALS...

Silver Ivory, Ino & Cin_p : Not targeting any specific area, convenient can liao loh.

Soupie : Thanks for the mail.

Mimosa : Hehe, ya lor actually nothing much for me to do, then sian ah... U R also looking for bridal package ah, me hope can start soon. So where is your wedding venue?

Binbin : Oops, sorry wrong number... Yah lor, see postings until blurrrrrr ah *haha* Thought it's you. You booked with Conrad har?

Ino : You book with Hotel Inter-Continental har? Hehe, I am keen loh, thought can solicit for some feedback about their service before we proceed loh...

cc2

Hi Bin bin,

So u went to the Toa Payoh Geomancer ah? Then Wat did he say? He got u the same date as Trinity Arts?

CC2

pebbles

sliver,
thanks for your well wishes, better late than never mah..
read that u want to bargin for more pix ah, i think u can try lah, but i think once u sign a contact with them it's really very hard for u to bargain liao...good luck
22327.gif

Cin p,
yeah man, i can just picture my mom going on and on but i wouldn't blame her lah, it's only mother's nature to nag at us rite...ahahah...oh u didn't bargain for the deposit ah, then why they ask me to pay 5k ah, so unfair one, think i better call up my sales mgr and check with her ah....

Ino,
hey hey, u same as me ah, i also dying to get my own flat cos dun want to stay with MIL, think will sure have conflict one so better prevent it ah, that's why when i was ask to select the flat i die die also must select one else by the time i have my wedding ah, sure will end up staying with them, at least now worry about renov cost is better than getting worried about staying with PIL mah...dun worry, im sure u will get your flat soon..

annmelody,
yup, can try poppy, Linda is a very nice lady...she will know what to help u out with but thought your bridal package comes with all these rite...why u still need to get your own florist...
22328.gif

Debby/Onee
wow, New zealand ah, they have very nice scenic shots places there...
me not so rich lah, doing overseas shoots in Perth mainly bcos it has special meaning to both my FH and myself cos we got to know each other there..else wouldn't have thought of spending that money, i will be getting my gown from bridal zone and have engaged a oz photographer...i have seen the photographer's work and like it very much so after working out the budget FH and myself decided to engage her..also can treat it as a mini honeymoon thingy...

onee

Soupie : Wah, nice har... It looked as if you were hosting a banquet dinner, especially the picture when you n hubby farewell your guest
Eeee, u engaged the same photographer as Ivory
Wah, looks like Nick Goh's pretty popular huh?

It's always nice to view pictures cos it captures moments...

jul_04

Rise & shine, it's a brand new morning.

Sigh... My reverse psychology doesn't work. Still feeling Wed blues...

Anyway, Jan, I don't think you have to worry abt the Mandarin decor. Rem I told you I went there once for wedding dinner too? The place is not old / shabby / run-down. I believe the comments are based on personal taste. I mean, they're MANDARIN hotel, so they have chinese paintings, which some pple dun like. I think that's what people are complaining abt. I think I saw some ice carvings that look like Roman columns that contain floating candles, & lots of flower stands. This was Jul last yr, dunno if there's been changes.

Silver - Yup, 2 church weddings & 1 dinner, & 2 tea ceremonies, & 1 lunch buffet after church wedding! Quite money wasting hor?

Ever, Jan's right, my dinner's in Sheraton. And nope, I'm not rich, but I guess what we spend on one area, we save on another. Like my reno, I can't spend more than $30k for reno & furniture & appliances. Maybe it helps that we are not giving tables to my family, as the 2 of us are financing everything ourselves, so they don't expect much "dowry".

leafy

hi Oneee,
u can actually negotiate to pay a small deposit for bridal packages. Maybe $300 or less.

Then payments will usually be done in few instalments
1 - Deposit
2 - gown selection
3 - After PS
4 - Balanced payment after Actual day

I think bridal packages no need to book so soon. Take ur time to make the correct decision. 9 months before ur wedding should be sufficient.

Enjoy!

jan

Hello gals!!

ever, pls dun say we're rich! haha.. we're also saving up for the wedding...

Thanks Jul04, Ya lah, i dun actually expect too much from Mandarin's decor, it definitely can't beat lots of other better hotels! haha.. Just as long as it's presentable and OK looking, i'm contented! haha..

smurfy

I totally agree with pageup. What appears to be nice on others may not look good on me. I will definitely choose OTR WG if I can find one good one

Mee Mee,

Tot you saw on the other thread that I bought a Simmons mattress with bed frame already :p
Thanks anyway for the info

jul_04

Hi Jan,

I'm also not having high expectations of Sheraton's decor. Of course it'll be nice to have beeeutifuull flowers, but we mainly going for the food quality. So no choice, gotta give & take.

Everyone, I need advice. Dunno what I shd concentrate on / multitask at this juncture :

1) Reno concepts, ID/contractor sourcing, budget calculation, furniture & appliances shopping

2) Gowns research from mags/Internet, gowns trying

3) Church booking, decor, programme

I find myself very eager for the wedding day to arrive, yet am continually amazed at the amount of preparation required to start a new life with my fiance. Am I over-reacting, or having pre-pre-marital blues?

ever

Hi Hi!!

Jul 04, no wonder yr wedding is yr huge project!!
good for you, no need to give tables.... holding a wedding in Spore usually cost us at least 10++ grand!! banquet, bridal package, buffet lunch.... and for you, renting of church premises... but i think i very spendthrift also, never put in effort to save much... only managed to put aside $$ every mth to finance my debt!! sigh.... oh, didnt tell you gals, me in debt now cos borrowed some $$ to pay for the house's downpayment!!! so sian... hoping for weekend to come soon.....

wendylee

PEBBLES: Hi! How you see oz's photography's work? You fly over there on the way and see or purposely fly there and see their works?

WOW... now here everyone talking about house... guessed have to lie down low low... LOL, scarely 'other' ppl start to welcome me when I post my messages later... OOooops! HAHAHA, IVORY... Im NOT saying you wor... KEKEKEKE!
22332.gif

BINBIN: Eee.. then me will wait for mail then! BTW, they will give you all the alternative dates... time... yah? So preferably choose the date which both of the geomancer got lah (average dates/time)? HEHE

SOUPIE: Me too!!! Want to see your photos!!! Thanks!!!
22333.gif

SILVER: Hey hey... how much you paid the deposit? If not mayb you can ask them to do something for the amt paid then you sign another package which provide more photos bah... EITHER way lah, mayb also you liked the gowns or style they have or you ask if can give somemore xtra photos...?

jul_04

Hi ever,

Don't be so sad. I also can't manage to save much each mth. What with the food, transport, toiletries, entertainment, parent's allowances, we don't seem to have much left too

Anyway, look on the bright side. You have a EC to live in, whereas I only have a flat. After a few yrs, will be converted to Condo! Then if you want, you can sell & make a killing! *evil laugh*

ever

Hi Jul 04,

no worries about Sheraton, me loved the food there and the ballroom is so huge and spacious!! and pillarless!!

my suggestion is you concentrate on yr house first... if i'm not wrong, you can only book the church a few mths in advance, rite?? that means you can start yr church booking, programs etc a few mths later... likewise for gowns... think only need to plan intensively for gowns and photoshoot in Oct/Nov... but no harm looking through bridal magazines and taking note of all the gowns, hairstyles, flower bouquets that you like... anyway, that's more interesting compared to supervising the reno contractors!! hahaha...

oh, juz out of curiousity, dont you need to submit yr marriage cert to HDB when you obtain yr flat?? how come you only have church wedding next yr?? me blur blur.....

ever

hahaha..... thanks Jul 04!! ya, i hope the property mkt will improve and i'll earn at least $100K from my EC!!! **dream**dream**

jul_04

Hi ever,

Well... How to explain this? I'm anti-ROM. Not abt the procedure of getting married with vows etc (This is very special), but I always feel like I'm in a polyclinic when I'm there. I think maybe it's the counter, & the way they announce that it's your turn. I feel like a statistic.

No offense to anyone! Pls dun get angry!

I think also because I'm a Christian, I must have God to join us in holy matrimony. So it's more meaningful. Besides, having no ROM saves me money! Another buffet, makeup, dress etc would KILL me!

Oh, I heard from my colleague that if you show HDB ur church & hotel bookings (esp church), it's sufficient proof that you're serious abt marriage. So I plan to postpone till after Jul next yr to submit my marriage cert. Hope this tactic works!

silver

Hi pebble,
Ya I know. Try my luck lor
You waiting for balloting too? Which area?

Hi wendylee,
Paid $500 for deposit. Ya when I go down next wk, I will try their gowns too. Keep you gals informed again

jan

Helloooo

Jul04, i'll be attending my hubby's friends wedding at Sheraton in Sep this year, so will be able to let u know how it goes! But i believe decor wont be a problem!

Hmm.. think u can prioritise something like this:

1) Look thru mags on house decor, note wat u wanna do
2) Look dor ID firms, ask for quotations, telling them wat u want

Pointers on estimated prices which can help u:

1)Kitchen cabinet : ard $5 -6k
2)Window grilles : < $1k (can't remember)
3)Aircon: $4k
4)Painting of whole house: $1.1k
5)Wardrobe: $1.2k (note it's not the walk in type, just simply wardrobe)
6)Misc (like taps, heater, cooker): $1.5k
7)Lights: $500
8)Partition(near door): $1.2k

Hope the pointers help but just estimated, maybe i remembered wrongly too! hehe...

3) For gown designs, think u can look thru at ur own leisure time, still have time..

4) Church programme, guess it's quite standard right? mainly choosing Hymns.. still have time too..

so get to stressed up okie!

Ya ever, agree with u.. getting married here is very ex!! haha..

pebbles

wendylee,
i went there last year to visit my frens also went to check out the photographers work lor...but it was fun lah, i must say the styles they have there are very different from the photographers here..

silver,
oh, me got my flat liao, i was saying cos i dun want to stay with my in laws so die die also must get a flat lor so got my flat during the Q system

jan

oh yes yes, totally agree with Jul04, having ROM in the ROM place itself is kinda silly!!
I had mine last year, and we have to like queue up to wait for our turn, so silly rite!! haha... So, dun ROM at the ROM itself!! haha...

ever

Jul 04, think Jan has given you some good guide on reno prices!!

ya, i agree with you on the ROM part... that's why i insisted on having my ROM outside... dont worry, we wouldnt be angry!!

but i think you need to apply to HDB for deferring the submission of marriage cert. maybe you can let them know when they ask you to collect yr keys...

Jan, think you're the most relaxed... smaller wedding "project" compared to us... house and ROM settled... dinner venue settled... only bridal package left to source... happy for you!!! not so stressed!! if my house is ready juz before the wedding, i'll DIE!!! reno plus wedding!!! hahaha... Jul 04, now you know, yr timing still not too bad... sufficient time to plan and execute everything... dont worry!! just enjoy the process!!!

silver

Gd morning ladies...

Hi Jul 04,
Ve you collect ur key? If so I would think settle your hse first cos you ve to source for contractor and decide on ur design. Once this is settled, you can make use of the 2 mths while they renovating to look for furniture? By the time the hse is ready, its abt time you need to meet up with you bridal for MTM gowns design. Btw, you like to neg ur package wif Thomson? What r the things you want to change? As for the church, you and ur FH will b going there every wk rite? Can make arrangement while you are there?

Ya you can delay producing your cert if you ve proof but not sure can delay for more dan a yr?

Hi Ever,
Do be careful even when having your dinner at country club cos some ppl still ve the perception that country club is cheaper so ang bao also lesser. Of course if you inviting close friends they will zhi dong lah.

Staying in spore really expensive. Everything also $$$

cyn

silver, so you're a west side gal arh.. i looking at toa payoh or even old airport road. FH can only sell his hse in oct, so we can only apply in sept. dun think can make it for my wedding in jan. too rush. unless i wan to stay in an empty hse.. haha...

Pebbles, actually the total deposit is 5k. but during my time, my corodinator only collected 3k 1st, then the remaining 2k will pay them 2mths b4 the wedding... try to neg wif them.

overseas PS sound really fun.. so envy.. no budget to go for it unless i strike toto lah.. hey, wat abt ur makeup?

jul_04

Jan, thanks! Hope I can rem your reno pointers, when I finally get my keys. Now I'm waiting for CPF to grow to the downpayment amt, then can call HDB to get keys *1k... 2k... 3k...*

ever, yup, I'll let HDB know abt the marriage cert when I accumulate enough wealth
You know, sometimes I think starting early means you discover more things to be done. If I wait till later, then maybe I won't be so overwhelmed!

silver

Well at least you gals ve hse to worry, I want to worry also cannot hehe Although me n my bf been working for quite sometimes but becos we dun contribute cpf so it's v siong for us to buy hse n settle wedding at the same time so we decided to settle one by one. My bf's ideal is to stay with his parents but I would rather to ve our own....

jul_04

Gdmorn silver

Nope, no keys yet. Still accumulating wealth

Well, I don't have tea dress in my package with Thomson. Also, I'd like to negotiate for return of negatives. But I think this is quite impossible, unless I take many extra photos.

I saw that you wanted to reneg with Yvonne Creative too. Actually from what I rem, ur package with them is quite vale for money right? You have some ideal bridal in mind is it?

Oh yeah, who's Helen &amp; chris? If they're not in-hse, then how did Thomson charge ur fren for their services? The make up artist that ur fren didn't like wasn't Jovin / Ivy right?

jan

haha... No lah, not angry at all!!
but just think that it's really silly!! haha...

Ya, last yr, i deferred my ROM, and had to send in a letter and the HDB officer will also call to ask when's our wedding..

ever, errr.. ya me got nothing to prepare now actually, waiting till Oct period then book bridal... hehe...

silver

Hi pebbles,
OIC. paiseh hehe. So where u staying now?

Hi cin,
Used to this area leh hehe but mostly will look into hse after settle wedding cos too siong to ve both at the same time

jul_04

I think I'm very "off" today. Can't seem to concentrate on work, besides, my boss is also not ard, so no motivation

Jan, you're so lucky. It seems like all the time I'm thinking abt my wedding projects. If it's not the hse, then it's the bridal, or it's the hotel. Like non-stop, so maybe that's why I'm feeling a bit down abt all this. And it's I'm very
coz no CPF to get keys *sob*

ino

Hi pebbles/silver/onee/cin_p,

me also looking at clementi area (near NTUC) coz it's quite near to MRT and my workplace + PIL's place!!! but i doubt they are going to release the units...have been @@ there for quite some time...seemed to be fully occupied.
THe only place it seems to be less occupied are the flats between buona vista and dover mrt stn.

I'm also open to getting flats in tiong bahru, tanjong pagar and farrer park (near mummy's pl).
waiting and waiting for the balloting. hdb says they will have balloting in 2nd half of the yr...scared tat it will be in dec 03...my wedding is in JAN 04...urghhhh!!!! crossing my fingers that the ballot will happen in Aug/Sept.

Hi onee,
yesh!!! i'm the one who signed up with inter-con. I fell in love with the charming interiors of the hotel and the grand feeling of the ballroom! Since i'm not having a church wedding, i was looking for a hotel wif a long aisle and they have it! *sigh* the ballroom is simply beautiful...wif high ceiling and gorgeous chandeliers...plus they have a ballroom verandah whereby the couple enters thru!!! Their suite is the "shophouse" style which i find very unique.
Can't wait for my wedding now!!!
The deposit is $5K...non-refundable.

As for their service, the co-ordinator has been very accomodating and prompt in answering all my queries. R u liaising with Anja?
On the banquet nite, it's one waiter to one table...something which i prefer so as to have personalised and attentive service.

As for bridal package, my shop's breakdown is as follows:
1) Deposit - 30%
2) Gown selection - 30%
3) Photoshoot - 20%
4) balanced(collection of gown) - 20%

This shld serve as a guide...i'm gonna withold as much as i can to ensure i get quality products and service.

Hi Silver,
My good fren signed up with Dean. She paid $5,400 for a OTR package with 73 fotos!!!! She said his fotos are really good.

ever

silver, dont worry.... look on the bright side!! you got less things to worry and someone to cook dinners for you!!

jul 04, ya agree with silver..... not sure if can delay for one yr... Jan, how long did you delay??

Jan, me also nothing much to do now... just waiting for time to pass... too early to plan for ROM and wedding.... hahhahaa.... just spend more time on this thread loh!!

silver

Hi Jul 04,

Oh so when you expected to collect ur key?

I think neg for additional tea dress shouldnt be a problem but to take back neg abit hard lor. Ya actually I am quite ok with my overall package except too little photos - 15pcs. I do not ve any bridal in mind but J&amp;M package pretty attractive but I ve not seen their gowns. Decided to stop shopping for bridal and talk to YC and see their gowns first.

Helen is the designer &amp; Chris is the make up artist. Both are from their out source. Actually my gf had her ROM done by Jovin, I find it quite ok but she dun like it so changed to Chris. If I did not remember wrongly, Chris even make up for recent Ms Spore...

silver

Hi ino,
I dun think clementi's units are full there. It's taken up by those En-blk from clementi interchange but still quite alot empty. Just not sure if they will be open up for balloting...

Tanjong Pagar no new flats leh. You referring to Cantoment? Actually my bf staying at Tanjong Pagar and we been wondering is his areas going to en-blk cos as you know TP are all offices excpts the 7 blks of old flat.

Btw, your friend signed up with Dean when he is at YC and Wedding News?

jul_04

Hi ever,

I'll delay for abt a yr, maybe slightly less. Depends on when I get my keys, but def will be less than 1 yr. I was hoping Jul, but maybe gotta wait for Sep to get keys.

Hi silver,

Wah, how did your gf get Chris? She heard recommendations from someone or Thomson proposed? Is it foc?

And why did she change to Helen? The gowns at thomson not up to std is it?

silver

Hi Jul 04,
My gf actually complained to her gf that she dun like the make up and her friend actually know the boss's wife of thomson so they actually take the initiative to change to chris.

As for Helen, becos her friend used her and she likes her design so she requested for Helen. She did not pay additional for using Helen &amp; Chris.