(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date

Wow 3 sengkang brides here huh? Think nowadays for new hse it would be either sengkang or ponggol... I ve a few friends who just got their key not long back too.

Hi Jan,
Ok.

Ate too much for lunch. Sleepy now. Zzz...

Ever - Mine's a new flat. No money to buy resale
So where's ur flat? Mine's from the walk-in scheme, so must pay 10% upon booking.

Hi Jan, so we're neighbours too

Silver, I still can't get into the website
I think it's super popular so can't support that many pple on the server.

22029.gif

mimosa,
wow! u expert on diamonds sia.... willing to take in disciple?? hee....

cc2,
where is the divines bride in jb?? and what is the pkg like? cheaper to make there than in spore? sorry ahh, i real blur cos havent been to much bridal boutiques yet....in effect only went one....failure....cos strike off liao...kekeke

the part abt ur mum shaking her head until want to drop already....makes me want to laugh leh....the gowns really really that BAD???? hahahhaa....
22030.gif

wendylee
u post until blur blur....i read until blur blur...all those things abt diamonds..... *see stars*

Hi Sagi,

hehe... Divine Brides, JB is in Mutiara Hotel(Just besides Holiday Plaza). It's on the ground level.

Divine Brides Package (RM 2688) includes
1 OTR WG (rent)
1 MTM EG (keep)
1 MTM Men Suit (keep)

1 fresh hand bouquet
1 main car decoration
2 sets for follow-up car
2 corsages for groom(day/nite)

Umm.. if u MTM gowns it's RM 1800 and need to add another RM400 if u want to keep!

Oh.. that oscar ah... ya... their gowns very very cheena.. even a 40++ woman also think that their gowns cannot make it.
What do u think?

Hi Gals!!!

Me just went to goldheart to popby and go catch a glimps b4 this weekend with my BF... seen one about 0.294 size, G color and GVVS2 costing about $1400. But its a princess-cut wor... its better to get 1st diamond rings with brilliant-cut or princess-cut? Im deciding to get 3-princess-cut WB from there too, so thinking also get engagement ring also does it looked square-square?
22032.gif
I was told that above 0.30 then got GIA... if not then its in-hse cert. What you you gals think? Isit too small or big? MMmmmm~

hi!!

I'm actually on leave today!! hehe... relaxing at home now!

Hey, ever and jul04, which area are ur houses at?

Hi Wendylee,

was thinking that it's better to get a brilliant cut round dia for solitaire ring rather than a princess cut. I felt that princess cut is not as sparkling leh...But then, ultimately it's your preferance.

Have u seen their Zen rings? quite nice.

Btw, the jewellery shop is located at Level 1 of Far East Shopping Centre. You can't miss it!
22035.gif

hi gals!! lucky you, jan!! relaxing at home!! me juz came back from a meeting.....

me bought Park Green, the EC under construction... near another EC and a school... quite near Rivervale Plaza also.... where's yrs??

i also liked the gown that silver told us about...

Jul 04, the other 10% is paid upon collection of keys?? can use CPF mah... actually me wanted Punggol flats, but we not lucky... always left with low floors flats to choose from.... so, didnt managed to buy one...

Hi ever,

I dun even have enough cpf to pay for the 10% *wah*

I managed to get my flat on 19th flr. So we bought Fernvale altho it's not so conveniently near town centre lor.

INO: Hihi!!! Okie, bcos I have a pair of princess cut earrings so wanting to match it... yeap, seen their zen rings liao... duno what size costing $3K leh!
22036.gif
But somehow their zen the settings oso like not very nice not the exact thing Im looking for... duno what Im looking for too... cant describe... I think need to see see and THATS' IT then is the one lah... HAHA! Okie, me see this Sun got time to popby then see see.. look for?

Jul 04, lucky you!! 19th floor is good!! that time we very impatient, scared no more good units in Sengkang or Punggol, so no choice buy EC... when i heard about the walk-in selection for Sengkang this year, i so angry!! hahaha..... did you queue for a few nites?? dont worry, lots of people also dont stay near town centre... got LRT mah...

you juz started working?? no wonder not enough CPF... yr boyfren leh?? both of you very young huh?? actually, its good to marry early... juz that a bit "siong" on finances, esp. in Spore!! flat, reno, banquet, etc etc.....

hi hi!!

Mine's at anchorvale... We actually registered under the RFS scheme, untill early last yr, the govt said all can go select flat, so we got it earlier than expected.. But we wanted near to the central area so only got a low flr one.. but quite happy with it so far...

ever, yup, i think i know where's urs, building finishing soon rite?

Ya agree... getting married in S'pore not cheap!! hehe...

Oh jul04,

Urs is a premium flat rite?? If it's so, then reno costs wont be that high.. so dun worry too much ya!

Anyway, heard that the new premium flats all quite good, parquet bedroom flooring... The earlier batch just had normal tiles! Mine was just standard, so had to do all the flooring...

Hi Jan!! my situation same same as yrs!! we also under RFS scheme... thought need some time to queue and select... but surprise surprise!! they let us select so early and most of the flats are ready for collection very soon!! my boyfren and i so worried about our finances!! but then again... no good units to choose cos we only want the flat next yr... so, very limited choices....

ya, looks like its building up fast!! but some people say the certification will take some time... so cant estimate when it'll be ready... so excited!!!

Jan, you already staying in Sengkang?? is it inconvenient?? without MRT?? but ok for you, rite?? yr flat near town centre??

hi ever!!

Oh ya, it was very fast, we got it settled and collected within just 3 months... and we were also not in hurry to get married at that time.. so delayed the customary but had to rom first...

Err no, only stay in sengkang on weekends, still staying with my parents... So my sengkang house is like a holiday chalet.. haha..

Well, yes, inconvenient without mrt, but just had to get used to it... hehe...

hi wendylee, yes only diamonds of a certain size and above got GIA certs.

as for whether u will get the discount card on that day itself, not to worry. though they (soo kee) most prob wun give u the card on the day itself, they will still give u the discount for the items you buy that day.

i also feel brillant cut is brighter than princess, but it's realli up to you...

happy looking!

BINBIN: OH, so you mean SOOKEE's discount also be given to you on spot even when there's no sale + send you the card sometime later? So the brilliant cut is actually from where ah? SOOKEE or GOLDHEART? Me tot goldheart is ZEN collection? mmM~
22065.gif
Thanks for your info ya!

hi wendylee, yes sookee's discount is given to you as long as your product price is still above the min requirement after the discount. i.e. if their min reqm to apply for diamond card is $1000, and ur rings cost $1500, after member discount (let's say 10%) is $1350, u will get the member discount and yet get the card in a few wks time.

soo kee's house cut is Brilliant Rose. Only Sook kee have this cut. Earlier on, when i say Brilliance cut, i did not refer to soo kee's Brillant Rose, but just brilliance cut (or round brilliance in some shops) in the generic sense which other shops also have.
me not sure of goldheart coz dun realli like their rings...so cant tell much abt the zen collection u mentioned...

Hi ever & Jan,

I didn't have to queue at all. You see, I got my flat when they first announced the WIS. I took a look but didn't want those w/ keys available, coz no $$, all low floors, also didn't wanna rush & get married. After all, bf haven't proposed yet!

After dilly-dallying for a while, we decided to take Fernvale, coz high floor, & also won't be completed till Oct 2003. Nobody competeing with us for it! Who knows HDB sabo-ed me, told me to collect keys in Feb this yr! How can right? So I came up with some weird excuse to postpone the key collcetion. Now watching CPF increase lor. *sigh*

Jan - Yeah, being premium flat helps. At least I save a bit on the flooring. But still must spend money right? Do you know how much is a reasonable budget for reno, including basic furniture, lights, appliances?

ever - Me & fiance started working after graduation, which was in 2001. He's working life close to 2 yrs. Mine's only 1 & half coz I started work later. So poor! *sob*

HI jul04,

For mine, we also did basic reno, so total abt $24k (includes flooring, painting, lights, air con, master bedroom wardrobe, kitchen cabinets, window grilles, etc..)If inclusive of furnitures it's $30k in all.. since urs without flooring u can minus abt 4k...

Actually i also grad in 2001, started working just 1 yr over, my hubby was quite worried when we got the flat coz i havent found a perm job yet... but since he's older and started working for a while, most of the things he paid... his heart pain, gotta spend so much for house & wedding!!

BINBIN: Thanks thanks again! Okie, let me summarized... if Im not wrong, SOOKEE's is brilliant-cut and GOLDHEART's is princess-cut (cos recently advertised until very hot)? So if you want either 'cuts' then have to go to their respectively retails for the rings? Then LEEHWA has what cuts?

GOLDHEART's zen collection is something like their hse-cuts lor... my professional aga-aga lah...
If not then I might be wrong again!
Let me do some homework then after Sun's shopping then review back to you on Mon again. Thanks ya!

HAVE A GOOD WEEKEND GALS!

hello gals,

i m a newbie to this really lively and interesting thread

hi binbin
having read the previous postings on your ROM in march, i am intrigued by the idea of using a galland as well. can share wif me your nice nice pics of your memorable garden solemnisation? my email addy is [email protected]

thanks in advance

Hi gals!! so both of you graduated in 2001!! maybe you gals know each other!!
my boyfren also graduated in 2001!!

Jan, lucky you!! hubby paid for most of the stuff!! for me, we share everything 50%-50%, or i pay more.... Jul 04, dont worry... things will work out fine... for reno, think hav to take reno loan loh... most people do that... dont think we can save enough for house and reno loh.... i much older than you gals, graduated in 1999... so sick of working life liao...
yawn.gif

hi wendylee, no no no, i din mean that only soo kee has brilliant cut. Brilliant cut is a type of cut like princess cut. it just reflects light differently. many diamond shops have both of this cuts, it's just a matter of how they market it. For Soo kee, they have something call "Brilliant Rose", which is something a cut unique to them only. They actually use the brilliant cut to work on, and come up with something new - Brilliant Rose. As for Goldhearts Zen cut, perhaps it is their house cut, their specialty. Just like Brilliant Rose (NOT brilliant cut) is to Soo Kee....

hehhehehe....not sure whether i am making u more blur....i write until meself also blur liaoz.....hehhehehee....

Hi ladies...

Hi Jan,
Finally you get into the website ya hehe There are diff type of satins izzit?

Hi ever,
You like the design too? But not sure how the actual looks like.

So nice to ve your own hse ya. Me and my bf dun ve much cpf as we been in 'self employed' job so decided to temp stay with my future in-law after married. Will source for hse after married otherwise very siong. Actually my bf prefers to stay with his parents but I would prefer to ve our own unless really no choice lah
Btw what's RFS scheme?

Morning gals!

Hi Jan, so we're the same age, 1978 right? We've been trying not to take loan. Now trying to get an estimate of how much a basic reno will cost. Looks like ard $30k needed for reno & furniture. Haven't counted the appliances yet! Uh oh! Nvm lah, when the time comes, maybe we'll take the loan

Well, it's gd that ur husband has a steady income & a stash of cash *haha* I guess things are easier now that you have a perm job too right?

Ever - U & ur bf same age right? It's usually the case that the gal has to pay for things coz she graduated earlier. Unless ur bf is a rich man's son! *haha* My fiance & I r also paying for abt 50% each, coz we started working the same time, so cash stash roughly equal.

Silver - U dun have to worry abt RFS, coz it's been abolished already. In fact, when I started thinking abt a flat last yr, it was already in the midst of being phased out. Staying w/ in-laws also got pros, like someone to cook for you right?

I finally saw the gown you like! So hard to get into the website. Yeah, the back is nice, so elegant yet sexy. But my fren who recently got married advised me that if your gown is strapless, the back cannot be low, or the front cannot hold! No support, u know...

Hi Mee mee,

I am so happy for you that you knows what kind of gown you want. For me hor, I still dunno what kind of evening gown I want. Because of that, I scare that Lezen Creation have limited selection, so I signed up with Ted Collection for their Cheong Sam (CS) and EG oso. Now I thinking of choosing EG either from Lezen or Ted...

How does your EG looks like?

hi wendylee/binbin,

i'm confused by all the cuts too.
22093.gif

Too many...but then i dun really believe in all those cuts with "fancy words"...afterall, all of us can't see it with the naked eye mah...

I think just go for the cut which is the most sparkling. Think that the most sparkling is the Round cut. It depends on how many facets it has. Usually , dia will have abt 58 facets. The more facets it has, the more sparkling. For Brilliant Rose, it has about 66 facets.

btw,lee hwa's dia cut is Hearts on Fire.

Wendy: well, if u hv a princess cut earring, then will be good to hv a princess cut ring...then u can ask for a princess cut necklace for yr "jia zhuang"...hehhehe...u will then have a complete set!
22094.gif

Must decide on your ring ring carefully coz we can only rec 1 solitaire ring (according to my mummy). Unless it's the 25th / 50th wedding anniversary, then we are entitled to another one...So, guess we hv to wait 25 yrs b4 we get another ring... ;-P
me quite pang tang, yeah?

yo gals..... wah so envy sia.....all of u start preparing for ur house liao....mine nowhere in sight ahh....

ever, i also graduated in 1999...... same as u ahh...so sick of working life liao.....siao liao...how?? i quitting my job and going to study again....something totally different from my field....siao hor?? but i guess i better start fast or else get older as the yr goes by....

jan and jul_04,
wah u all just started working 1yr plus....also can afford house....good leh....

enjoy renovating ur house!!!
22095.gif

silver,
cant get to see the gown leh....how come ahh??must become member then can see one meh?? *blur*

have a nice wkend!

Hi sagi,

No need to envy us. It's bcoz of the hse that's why we're so poor!
R u waiting for your hse to be built?

Most prob u can't see the gown bcoz the website is unstable or something. I tried from yesterday till today then I managed to get in. Also dunno what's the prob.

morning gals

wah.....i totally completely hopelessly blur abt the diamonds cut thingy liao....what brilliant cut, princess cut, etc etc.....actually, what's the difference har????
22096.gif

ino,
really ahh?? can only have 1 solitaire ring?? i dun know abt this....then how abt those gals that buy diamond rings for themselves? like that counted or not..... or given by hubby one then counted.....hehehe....cos i got one fren...think she got dun know how many diamond rings liao...she buy for herself one.... to pamper herself...she said..kekekee..
22097.gif

anyone else working today? or am i the only poor soul ard?

hi ino,

actually there's a difference.. i was lucky enuff to be have a impromtu 'lesson' by a salesperson from leehwa hehehe.. if u ask them to show u their hearts on fire and a normal briliiant cut.. u see the differents in size and brilliance.. the hearts on fire would be more sparkly and bigger in size.. the diamond will look abt 30% bigger with the hearts on fire cut.. so a smaller diamond with a hearts on fire cut may look bigger than an actual bigger diamond.. and also they selected the higher graded diamonds for the hearts on fire cut... but then again the price of hearts on fire diamonds is abt 20-30% higher than the usual brilliant cut diamond

i would love to have the hearts on fire diamond but didn't get one cos the price is too steep for us.. so settled for a normal brilliant cut diamond

hi jul_04

how i wish i am waiting for my hse to be built...kekeke.....but no leh...i nvr even apply for any flat.....cos thinking might not stay in spore forever....so decide not to buy a house yet... we shall take things as they come lor....

i see....the website got prob ahh....maybe later i go and try again....hehe...

u working today also?? i waiting for time to pass leh....sat no mood work...

sagi, me too.. working today.. me having alternate sats.. wat abt u?

hehehe i would buy diamond rings for myself too.. but maybe not a solitaire one.. maybe the more fanciful ones... i'm eyeing a pair of solitaire earrings and a diamond bracelet, one that has a whole row of diamonds kind.. but have to 'eye' only cannot buy cos now saving for wedding mah hehe

Hi Sagi,

Yeah, this alternate Sat thing is so xian. I'm also waiting for time to pass so I can go home.

Btw what course are you going to take?

hi soupie
ya, me too having alternate sats.....sian hor?? very sian to work on a sat leh.....wake up early just to come work for few hrs....

going surf ard net instead.....hahaha...

allo everyone...
how's preparation going?

silver,
i ask so many quotations from different hotels..now i look at it until blur oredi
quite keen on The oriental or Pan Pacific now.. i think i would have just settled for alkaff if not because i have so many guests and i don't want to split them up. I'm still waiting for shangri-la rasa sentosa to get back to me. they take so long to reply... haix.
Have you decided on your bridal studio already?

Morning gals!

silver, ya, think there are diff types of satin... me also cant tell the difference!! haha.. getting blur already! Somemore, when u choose ur gown, u gotta choose whether u like pure white colour or off white etc etc...
And yup, govt has already abolished the RFS scheme, now they only have Walk in selection or build to order (wont advise to take this coz it'll take many years b4 they finish construction!!) Have a colleague who already waited for 3 years and the construction is only at 2nd Flr!!!
Btw, how's ur venue hunting??

ever, dun say like u very old leh... hehe.. only 2 years mah...

Jul04, ehh.. no leh, me 1979.. hehe... am i the youngest here? hehe...
Oh yes, my reno $30k includes appliances as well!! We really calculated everything and all costs $30k!

Sagi, ya u take things as it comes loh... slow & steady wins the race!

Lin, think Pan pac will be nice, heard the decor is quite good... for oriental, guess the package that's more attractive!

Hi Lin,

Pan Pac ballroom is very nice. It was in my original Famous 9 list, but too bad it's out of my budget. And worse still, it's for 8 course dinner only. What to do? I'm so poor, can't afford *sob*

Jan, you must be the youngest then
Really? Reno including furniture & appliances all in costs $30k? *yippee* That means I won't be bankrupt! Just poor! *hooray*

Hi jul04,

yup yup! We calculated everything, including curtains!! haha.... Yes, i think if u want ur reno to be simple and furniture dun need the branded kinds, think $30k wont be a prob! So dun worry!

Hi Smurfy,

The design of my EG came from a foreign bridal magazine which was bought from Kino. Its a bustier gown with A line skirt and organza wrap-around at waist level. Its bright red in colour.
The designer has suggested to sew an organza shawl to make it look more classy.

Its something simple. i initially wanted a bare-back gown but guess I am too fleshy to carry it off well.

Why not choose both gowns from Ted and Lezen?

mee mee

Hi gals!!

Sagi, me also sian of working life... but now got commitment like my house, so cant go study like you!! envy!!

ya, jul 04... me & BF same age... *sigh*... hahaha... but ok lah... used to it liao... juz worried i look older than him next time... so, always tell him we cant get married too late!! the wrinkles will show on the wedding photos!!
ya, $30k shld be sufficient since you need not do flooring... flooring can be expensive!!

Good morning Gals,

Me back. Me dun work on Sats! oops, xin1 gu3 le, girls who are working on alternate Sats. Civil service issit? Anyway, back to the diamonds issue.

I dunno abt others, but Goldheart is very slow in sending out the VIP card. We bought our wedding bands from there and it took them very very long (more than a month) to send us. Anyway, the bands also took very very long to ship here. =( Several weeks! Fortunately, we always plan ahead, and got ample time before the big day, otherwise would have to settle for other rings. Take note when buying rings, some rings are actually hollow. That is, when u see the inner rim, it's hollow one lor. We found some wedding bands in a shop mentioned above like that. We dun like the wedding bands in Lee Hwa, so settle for Goldheart instead. Mine is a platinum ring, with matt finish, with a little diamond on the outer rim and a tiny blue sapphire in the inner rim. Why the blue sapphire? Coz in western countries, there is a belief that if u wear a blue sapphire and it's in contact with the skin, it actually symbolises eternal love. =) What collection is that?? dunno, lost touch already. That's couple of years ago. But saw it in this season's Female Brides again.

Hmm, Brilliant cut is nicer than Princess cut which looks square in solitaire rings, but that's my personal opinion only. I think if u have matching earrings, that can look very chic ah?

Sagi,

Me no expert. Not even a novice. =) Hubby imparted all his diamond knowledge to me. Last time he go and yan2 jiu1 coz he must buy diamond ring to propose mah!

One trick to teach u. If u want your diamond to look bigger, please dun get too many claws. 4 claws has the illusionary effect that the diamond is bigger. But if you are paranoid, u might worry that your diamond might fall off lah, but in actual fact, it's not easy to fall off. U can go to the workshop and see how it's done and test out how strongly the diamond is gripped by the claw.

Still feel that Singapore has better diamonds than other places. We were in Mauritius once, and went to quite a few renowned jewellers to see their diamonds. Their diamonds from South Africa. Hmm...think ah, they are more interested in selling big diamonds, than getting a good quality one. They were telling us that ang mos like big big ones, and they dun care whether it's yellow or not. some from the naked eye can already see the color and they are selling in sky high prices and quoted in US$! We thought can get some good ones over in Africa, but then we were very wrong. Perhaps we Chinese are more particular in quality than quantity.

Wendylee,

True that above a certain point then got GIA cert. Hmm..tell u ah, a 0.5 carat and a 1 carat is only less than 1.5mm difference, but then the price difference is a lot! Once u cross over 0.5 carat, the price jump is greater per point than diamonds under 0.5carat. So think properly when buying. =) Happy shopping this weekend!

Ever,

Sigh... Why do women have longer lifespan but look older faster? Doesn't make a lot of sense right? When I was in Sec sch, I wanted to get a bf who's abt 5 yrs older so that I could look younger!

Okie gals! End of lousy Sat! *yippee* Maybe can go watch XMen2 finally!
Bye...

hi Jan,
yeah..agree wif you, that decor at Pan Pacific looks good..but the menu don't look attractive unlike The Oriental. This is really giving me a headache..
Jan..so 30K for reno enoughlah.. yours is new flat at sengkang right?

hi Jul,
not really exlah.. in fact The oriental more ex maybe because of the menu. Do you think we can ask the hotel to change certain things in the menu? Or we have to take whatever is given in the package?

hello girls..
have not been posting for long oredi..
glad you girls enjoying your preparation. I'm not expert in these diamonds.. so can't help much.
FH more expert than me.. so i just accept whatever he bought. But FH did told me that solitaire diamonds are in-house diamonds whereas the GIA certs are usually recognized overseas. more value or something like that...

mimosa,
agree with you that singapore has the best diamonds available.