Good morning Gals,
Me back. Me dun work on Sats! oops, xin1 gu3 le, girls who are working on alternate Sats. Civil service issit? Anyway, back to the diamonds issue.
I dunno abt others, but Goldheart is very slow in sending out the VIP card. We bought our wedding bands from there and it took them very very long (more than a month) to send us. Anyway, the bands also took very very long to ship here. =( Several weeks! Fortunately, we always plan ahead, and got ample time before the big day, otherwise would have to settle for other rings. Take note when buying rings, some rings are actually hollow. That is, when u see the inner rim, it's hollow one lor. We found some wedding bands in a shop mentioned above like that. We dun like the wedding bands in Lee Hwa, so settle for Goldheart instead. Mine is a platinum ring, with matt finish, with a little diamond on the outer rim and a tiny blue sapphire in the inner rim. Why the blue sapphire? Coz in western countries, there is a belief that if u wear a blue sapphire and it's in contact with the skin, it actually symbolises eternal love. =) What collection is that?? dunno, lost touch already. That's couple of years ago. But saw it in this season's Female Brides again.
Hmm, Brilliant cut is nicer than Princess cut which looks square in solitaire rings, but that's my personal opinion only. I think if u have matching earrings, that can look very chic ah?
Sagi,
Me no expert. Not even a novice. =) Hubby imparted all his diamond knowledge to me. Last time he go and yan2 jiu1 coz he must buy diamond ring to propose mah!
One trick to teach u. If u want your diamond to look bigger, please dun get too many claws. 4 claws has the illusionary effect that the diamond is bigger. But if you are paranoid, u might worry that your diamond might fall off lah, but in actual fact, it's not easy to fall off. U can go to the workshop and see how it's done and test out how strongly the diamond is gripped by the claw.
Still feel that Singapore has better diamonds than other places. We were in Mauritius once, and went to quite a few renowned jewellers to see their diamonds. Their diamonds from South Africa. Hmm...think ah, they are more interested in selling big diamonds, than getting a good quality one. They were telling us that ang mos like big big ones, and they dun care whether it's yellow or not. some from the naked eye can already see the color and they are selling in sky high prices and quoted in US$! We thought can get some good ones over in Africa, but then we were very wrong. Perhaps we Chinese are more particular in quality than quantity.
Wendylee,
True that above a certain point then got GIA cert. Hmm..tell u ah, a 0.5 carat and a 1 carat is only less than 1.5mm difference, but then the price difference is a lot! Once u cross over 0.5 carat, the price jump is greater per point than diamonds under 0.5carat. So think properly when buying. =) Happy shopping this weekend!