(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Jul 04,
Gd ideas! I think it will be fun ya
The 3 bridal shops I went with my bf. He's been very patience but beside comments on photo, he has no other comments liao. That's guys hehe So I think it's better to go with gals so that when we try the gowns we can give each other opinion.

Yeah, Jul04 and silver.. dun mind bridal shopping!
dun want to ask my gf, they are not really intending to get married yet, so think they will be bored!! haha...
Wow.. can't imagine going with my hubby, he'll be super bored... think i'll only bring him to the final 2 that i shortlist, then we decide from there.. hehe...

Jan, juz convince your hubby to go down and take a look lah.... not kan cheong... juz "advance planning".... hahahaha.... he also wouldnt want you to be too busy when the wedding is nearer, rite?? so, it's good to spread out the "workload" and hav more time to consider.... that's how i always convince my BF.... make him go around to see... he's ok so long as we go to only one bridal shop on each weekend and rest on some weekends.... that's why i started sourcing so early.... think in Feb.... hahahaha.... cant stress my BF....

think i'll check with them on the promotion this weekend....

Jan, they hav a in-house designer and they are at Tanjong Pagar.... near House of Etiquette... the shop that rent/sell kuas....

ya, me will most probably sign with them after a "final" bargaining this weekend... tired to source for more... plus their service, gowns and photos not bad... their gowns are relatively simple (mostly bustiers with minimal beading), so you gals may wanna take MTM.... me headache... donno if shld take MTM evening gown... like very waste of $$....

Cool!! you gals can shop and then bargain together!! ah..... correct me if i'm wrong, but Jul 04... thought you already signed with Thomson?!?!?

Wahh...!!!!!

So many msgs, no time to read! I'm rushing off for lunch now, then later got meeting. catch up with u gals later!

Btw, do you gals know or ve any comments on wedding news? I heard the x-photographer from Yvonne Creative went over or opened a shop himself and just realised that the shop is next to J&M.

hi everybody,

checked out with my bridal boutique... seems it cost about $100 to dryclean each gown.

but fh and i really want to go for overseas shoot cos we dun want to have regrets when we r older, fatter, uglier.... that time, even want to take, also no "capital" liao.

we checked with our photographer... he said that if it was an individual job, he will charge us $5K to go to where we want to go.

but was wandering if anybody has any experience to share on this overseas shoot thingy. dun want to spend $$ and everything is @#$*&@ in the end.

hi Ino, for us, we set aside $1K each monthly into our joint account. and we try to limit our monthly spendings to $100 to $150 weekly.....quite hard but must try loh....

with this savings (and more when bonus comes), we could just barely reach the desired amount leh......

Heard wedding news service not that good...

Actually really got phobia, heard so many stories that when u sign up, they'll be very nice to u and after that, service is bad... sighs...

Plus i sort of know the kind of gowns i like, so dunno whether which one is able to do wat i like... Just afraid they tell me they can but in the end, they couldnt....

hi binbin,
WOW! $1K each ah?!?!
tat's a whole lotsa of money leh!
we only put aside $1K combined into joint account.
;-P...
but it's a good idea to limit monthly spendings...
muz start keeping track liao. Me is a spendthrift...will be a herculean task for me!

Jan, guess all of us here hav the same worries as you.... i was worried about the shop's services and the gown they'll design for me.... it's a risk all brides hav to take..... but i think reading up those threads in the forum really helped alot..... plus its impt to build up a good relationship with the staff of the shop.... can bargain more.... hahahaha....

that's why i think it's impt to choose a shop that you feel comfortable in and can communicate with the staff..... that'll reduce the chances of yr gown not turning out to be the one you designed!!

INO&BINBIN: Afternoon! WOW!!! O_O" $1K aside each for one month??? You both must be earning tons and tons of thousands ah!?!?!?! Duno even know got $200 anot... wow, alot of differences wor! We havent really started leh, how? Every mth also have little 'accidents' to pay out from our savings... SOBSOB!

VON: Hello, oh ya... so envy that you and your FH have plans for those fun fun thingy... mine? Have to wait long long ah... no funky business man! HEHE, mayb you can try those 'branded'-AndrewChio,ChrisLing... last time STYLE wedding they have those packages leh...

welcome von!!
have u thot of engaging a local photographer at the location where u intend to take ur shots? i.e. if u wanna go oz.. engage an oz photographer? Cos' it shd b cheaper this way.. as u wun hve to pay the expenses/airfare/hotel accomodation of a singaporean photographer... i think i've read someone doing it tt way.. jus tt the photography style might b a little different....

hi ino/wendylee/silver,
ya lor.. the model is sooo handsome hor... even my hubby was saying tt he's handsome.. n the shoulders very well-suited to wear suits! hahah... so, can u imagine.. i actually saw him at 3 shows tt i went to!! hahaha...

wah, so many postings ......*catching breath*
see u all post abt bridal stuff, like so gan cheong like that....keekekkeee...

me the worst lah! havent even do any shopping ard yet.....

oh, i going to ask a really blur qn, what is J&M ahh?? what is the full name? good ahh?? maybe next time when i go with my fren, wld go have a look.....hee

silver
i have not decided on the venue yet.....now like not so on into my wedding thingy yet....cos looking at courses to study.....i going to quit my job soon.....
after deciding on the course, wld go full/ 3/4 gear into wedding preparations lor....bridal hunting....venue selection etc....
m'sia side i still dun dare to think abt it yet leh....task looks so daunting!

hi wendylee and Ino, no lah we not earning a lot lah! just barely enough to save man! hhehehhee ..... the reason why we do this is coz our wedding quite near mah, march next yr, so we extimated how much we need by then. from there we estimate how much we need to save a month loh..... so bo bian. :P. we have to change our lifestyle drastically leh. try to eat at food courts when we do go out, or else eat at my home. and we have not been watching movies for many many months, nor buying new clothes...:o

actuali, though we set our own weekly budget to $100, we always exceed by $40 or so. And this is EXCLUDING my pampering sessions of spa or facial leh....hhehehehe cannot help it mah...hhehhehe...

INO/SILVER/FOREST: You know? Even those modelling for the STYLE wedding... they are also very WOW!!! Very seldom my BF will say this very handsome or blablabla... but he said for the 2nd time! HEHEHEHE
21792.gif

Hi sagi, J&M is the name of the bridal shop... stands for Jack & Michelle or something like that... the previous owners of this shop....

Wah, envy you!! can quit and study cum plan wedding full-time!!! so cool!!
think me gotta work for another 20yrs!!! hahaha...

BINBIN: Oh yesh... me always dun have the movitation to really get things work to it! When I will have to scrimp and save... there will be sales... blablablabla, this month alone... I have already bought 3pairs of shoes leh... can not let my BF knows... he will hack me! LOL I think if my dates are really nearer then mayb will suit to be in those environment and really scrimp and save lo... mayb now still early thats y no mood... by anyway... he's the opp of me, very thrifty... wont spent unneccessary... so 'pei fu' him! hehehe ~Shhshhhhh~
21794.gif

hello girls...

wendylee,
your icons all very cute ah...where u get them one ah, i like those flying ones..ehhe...so cute..
hey so how's your shopping for gowns and stuff ah...???

Von,
Engaging a photographer from here to your overseas location will definately cost more, that's for sure cos u still need to include all your air ticket and lodging cost, it's cheaper to get the local photographer...where are u looking at, if u r insterested in Perth, i might be able to help u a little here and there..

binbin,
hey we same same ah, that's what me and my FH are trying to do too but so difficult always tend to over spend one...but like what u say lor, have to try, even with this amount of savings still bearly save enough hor so must watch and be very careful with what we are spending ah

forest,
u all toking about which models, good looking ah...???

cin p,
hey hey, me waiting for the contact from GCW ah then will sign it and settled for it liao...finally....ehehe..

wendylee!!!! me not busy in other thread lah
... this thread moving so fast i can't contribute mah..

binbin

wah... envy.. u can save so much a mth.. i wanna squeeze out $50 to save oso hard ah...

PEBBLES: Hello, thanks thanks... credits to one of the brides-to-be who taught me! Have to save the pic then you must type \image{icon name} and when posting of the message, they will prompt you to upload/browse your pc for the icon. HAHA, at 1st its also very diff to learn... but times got fimilar... then okie liao...

IVORY: WOWOWOW, you must be watching me wor... haahaha, and thats you know I have been talking about you yah? Geshhhh, luckily not bad-mouthing you!!! LOL, You dun worry for the time being liao ma... already ROMed... we still saving $ during this bad times for the rings wor!
21805.gif

BINBIN: Hmmm, me really have to take my hats off! Must really make the effort to scrimp and save liao! Koaz koaz... so upset with myself!
21806.gif

Hello everybody,

Everyone of you is so helpful that I am a bit overwhelmed.
I have more or less decided on my photographer. He is one of those Compass guys...

Yeah, did think of hiring an overseas photographer... but gave up. Too much of a hassle. Also, would need to coordinate the make-up people.... etc etc.... And the most worrying thing is that, we do not know who is good.

What if the foreign guy does not know how to do make-up for Asian faces... worst still... is a racist....

Then, we would be like #$%&@ed.

hi wendylee, i think pebbles is asking u where to get the cute pics (which webpage), think she wanna store more of these in her hd so she can use them next time mah.
as for posting the pics, think she know how to do liao....hehhehhee...
right pebbles?

binbin,
ahhaha...u so funny ah, yeah i was asking here where to find those cute pics but it's ok lah, my office comp very lousy one dun have that much space to store pics one...hey so how's your renov coming along ah...???did u manage to check out the geogemecor during the weekend...???

Von,
actually it's not really true lah, personally i prefer those Angmo photographer as compared to those famous photographer here, the ang mo photographers are more creative and they are nice enough to help u with the make up artise..
and other logistics, u will be surprise with the number of asians they have taken photos for

hi wendylee

hehehe... so u better watch out, better not shout, better not scream, i'm telling u y.. Ivory is looking.. at u...

hi pebbles, reno started yesterday.
beri excited....

no din get to go geomancer coz din recieve cc2's sms. but got it from email today liao...
we just bought a shetland sheepdog for his mum! so were busy with him over the wkend anyway....

so many msgs again......sob sob....
21820.gif

try to upload some icons....dun know successful or not...

wendylee
u keep on posting those cute icons hor...i save until very happy...when i know how liao, wld contribute too....kekekee...

ivory
which thread u busy in??
sorry har, i very kpo one....

hi ever

thanks!! so J&M is the name liao....kekeke...initially thought u all shorten it one....heee...

if my bf can support me, then i rather not work....but cannot lah...now quit becos find that i am not happy in my line....already wasted 3 yrs plus.... finally got the courage to change...so intend to go study before i m too old....though i am not that young liao too....sob sob
21822.gif

anyway, under lots of pressure too lor for quitting at this time...
wld try to find temp job if possible, at least to cover expenses...if not, my savings wld deplete....

hi wendylee,
no lah...me and my FH save $500 each...so combined $1K lor but binbin different wor...

as for spending...dun forget gals...The Great S'pore Sale is coming!!!
Mabbe take the opportunity to buy shoes for wedding...hehehhe.

okok..testing now for the loading of pix...dun noe whether successful anot...
blobwink.gif

uhoh...cannot leh...
*SOS*!!!
wendylee, can advise again?
Do i type "Your image here" or "abc.gif"?
paiseh hor

Hi Jan,
Oh ok. Never find out much abt wedding news. Ya I am worried too, like wat ever said, it's a risk that all brides have to take.

Hi sagi,
what course are you looking at? Actually quit siong to quit job and plan for wedding at the same time...

pebbles, how come so long one... thot the day you told me you're waiting 4 the contract... ve you decided how to decor ur ROM thingy?

wow binbin, save 1k each is alot leh... envy man... for me to save this sum, i've to "eat grass". better to save more actually.

ino, i very kiasu leh.. i bought my shoes last week.. got discount lah... so buy 1st =P

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Smurfy</FONT>, <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Pageup</FONT> and <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Mee Mee</FONT>, I know
21830.gif
i must quickly booked my hotel!!! Actually, I already had a few quotes and even visited New Park Hotel.

<FONT SIZE="+2">But why nobody had not booked yet!!</FONT>
21831.gif
No kakees to panic leh... kekkee...

As my budget is abt $600nett per table, i think my choices are very limited!!
Then since this year end, I had been very busy at work!!
21832.gif
So....
But me think I had no heart to look at it.... Sometimes, i felt abit sian abt all these venue searching.....

Oh yap, I think u gals also need to go for your PS soon right??? Are you all going for outdoor???

Hi Ocean,yeap. Am going for outdoor. FH likes labrador park and we both agreed to go for explanande oso... But PS won't be till Oct I think...now still too early.

What about Pageup and Smurfy? Where will you be taking your PS? Which studios do you gals sign up with?

Tomorrow am choosing my gown. So exciting!!!

mee mee

Hi everyone I'm back!

Ever,

Yeah I signed w/ Thomson Wedding. Unfortunately, I'm the type of person who dunno what kind of gown I like. Show me pics, all look the same! I think I got more of a guy's brain than a gal's. *sigh* So I was thinking it would be gd if a gal can go with me to try gowns, give some comments, then at least I'm not so lost. Depend on my fiance to give comments on which gown is more flattering? sigh... Wait long long.

Hi silver,

I took grad photo in 2001. Their svc is not bad. Nice pple &amp; not rude, bochap, etc. Very comfortable with them. But I didn't notice their gowns coz that time not interested in wedding, so can't comment.

I'm thinking of gog to these few, coz my colleagues told me abt them : Silhouette, Amanda Lee, Bridal Veil, maybe also can try Silverlining (with the Jit guy right?)

Jan,

You got any suggestions on which shop will allow us to try diff types of shape &amp; pattern for the gowns? Then I can narrow down what I like.

Hello gals,

got a question to ask you gals... how do you find Diamond Industries, Lee Hwa, Sookee??
My FH want to buy diamond me but after looking at so many shops last weekend, me &amp; him are totally blurred now...
any recommendation for jewellers???

Please help

hi cc2, no leh i din recieve....or maybe u happen to mesg when my hp is off...
hehhehe thanks for the contacts!

Ino, you are supposed to type "\image {anyname}". Do it without the space, coz i use the space so you can see. Then click on post message. they will prompt u to browse (if ur browser supports). Choose the file from the folder u save it, then click upload. There you will have it!

Hi ladies...

Jul 04,
Ya, if you want to wait for guys to give comments, think can might as well dun ask hehehe

Amanda Lee's pricing pretty X rite? I ve a gf using hers but never ask her for details.

Morning!!

Jul04, not sure which shop leh, coz there are some shop quite friendly, they will let u try out gowns on first visit.. some not so friendly i heard... But wat i know is dun go to those hard sell shops, otherwise will have a hard time from them!! hehe... Perhaps those that u mentioned are worth trying... Then maybe one called Dang Bridal also can..

Morning gals!!

think those shops that you gals mentioned are not bad.... but remember to make appt and let them know you wanna try their gowns.... personally, i like gowns from Bridal Veil and Dang. Bridal Veil's gowns are very classy, cos Michelle only uses Swaroski crystals!!! went down with my fren and must agree that my fren looked gd in their gowns!! As for Dang, went down once but didnt managed to try on their gowns.... from the look of them, mainly beadings and duchess satin!! nice!!

gals, think its ok to take OTR evening gown?? cos me thought of signing up with J&amp;M, but considering taking the cheaper package with MTM wedding gown &amp; OTR evening gown..... initially thought of getting my ROM dress MTM too, but think its a waste of $$..... will only wear it once....

Morning pple...
21844.gif

Cin p,
yeah lor, still waiting for their contact now,maybe the co-ordinater is busy lah plus now most of the staff are forced to take leave so might have to wait awhile for the contact to come...
oh for my rom ah, yeah more or less decided lah,my dad got a gazbo for me, so will be using tiger liles for the poles of the gazbo and using off golden organza and champgne roses for chair decor, then i also got those glass bottles for table decor, will place it with water and some rose petals. hope everything will turn out nice nice, i collected my rom dress from my bridal last nite lah and my FH suit then went over to topman to get a matching shirt for him. Think we should be quite prepared liao but me taking friday off just in case i have any last min stuff i need to get...then wont be so stress

binbin,
so sad, i called up the spa u recommended and its fully booked for friday ah, everyone thinks like me, long weekend go for spa ...*sigh*

mangocheesecake,
i dun really know much about diamonds, but for starters, whichever place u get your diamond from also depends on the cuts of the diamond, each jewellers have their own cuts, for soo kee it's the perfect cuts ah(think it's 66 cuts) can't remember liao, their brilliant rose is their trade mark then for Lee Hwa is the Hearts of fire,Goldheart is the cress cut, and also if it's GIA certify , as for diamond industry didn't check that place out so can't comment on that.

21846.gif
poox,
me me, im going to be a May 04 bride..
so what have u done so far..care to share, i have booked my bridal and in the progress of booking the hotel venue...after that, can shake leg liao

Hi Ocean,

I think we cannot panic with you but definitely can panic for you

Thanks smurfy for the website addy, still trying to shortlist. Do you think the videographers allow us to view their work?

Mee Mee, you are so fast, I haven't even go for my 1st appointment. I am with everbliss, they also provide 2 locations for my outdoor shoot. I'm thinking of esplanade too. For the 2nd location, I want to choose somewhere with old shophouses, but don't know where got nice one. Any suggestion?
I'm afraid of mosquitoes so grassy place is out for me. ;p

pageup

Hi there ever!

If u can find an OTR EG from J&amp;M, then good, cheaper!! hehe..
FOr me, i dont mind taking OTR WG but for EG i think i want it MTM... As for ROM dress, think u can shop around and buy it from shopping malls..