(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Onee,

What about Marriot, Hyatt? I'm not sure if their ballrooms suit your requirements cos I've not been there...ehheheh...but maybe you can go and have a look.

Onee,
How did you manage to go to so many hotels in just one day? You went to see on your own or actually made appointments with all of them?

pauline/pink
wow, so happy to know more gals have chosen GCW.. guess i'm lucky tat they extended the show promo to me even though mine is jan 2004. haha, told them is only 7 days into the new year & it worked.

pebbles, i went wisma last week.. so are we gog to the one at suntec or somewhere else?

annmelody
since you & FH prefer satin, then go for it... i'm sure you wouldnt wan to wear white, but stil eyeing on the ivory... like wat binbin suggested, get ur makeup artist do something to ur hair or color for a younger look.

onee
personally i like hotel inter-con one waiter to one table service. the ballroom has a cosy feeling but not grand kind... orchard hotel food shd be quite good. dun like hilton, find the place old. never been to sheraton, heard it very grand. but it has the same price range as conrad. m-hotel, furama & amara newly renovated, can take a look.. jus some personal opinions.... wat abt merchant court?

Forest: HIHI, UH? Finished liao ah? Which sun for the GCW? Must pay? The grandballrm looks like slanting circle leh... like a portion of 'C' or my eyes making fun of me? But my pool of guest wont be that much and they can let me use a smaller ballrm lah. Only go racky from last weekend... still referencing.

Onee: Really? HAHA, me was late and very late... got there at about 205pm. Quickly got a drink and pop into the seats liao. Was requested to see the bridal suite lor... very spacious. My BF also got excited after seeing the banquet... HAHA, he's kinda ask ask if got dinner there then entilted room then sure better than those restaurant as after dinner you will go home or book own hotel. Ya lor, how you managed to go so many hotel in one day? Then how you approcahed the hotel mgr to see the ballrm and bridal suite?

Marie, BinBin and Cyn,

Thanks a lot for your opinions...think my designer quite poor thing...i called him twice since my first appointment on Saturaday !! :P

My wedding gown is the lighter ivory one...not so yellow so think quite okie.... and if it's like whatMarie said then maybe duchess satin is for me as i'm slightly taller than hubby.

BTW, for evening gown is mermaid cut okie....heard it's quite hard to wear as hips cannot be too big....how?

Hi gals, I missed to mentioned that I did not make appt with any manager. I did everything on my own
. I collected the brochures (some w/pricelist) at the Concierge (this is avail for all hotels). Hehe, the adv. of being an events organiser is that I knew most hotels pretty well as 70% of our events are held in hotels and each year we do a comprehensive site inspection for selected hotels. Once I have the brouchure, I went straight to the respective rooms*shhhhhh* for my bf to have a better idea, seeing is believing mah. Anyway we are not there to decide, juz and preliminary. On visiting a few more next wk, we should be narrowing down to 3 selection hotel venue. That should then lead us to negotiating the package liao. Hehe, very time consuming and troublesome hor... Guess I'm organizing my wedding like another event

WendyA&W : Marriot is nice but with 30 - 33 tables, the ceiling might be 1 higher than the other... Hyatt has got pillar within the ballroom...

CYN : That's exactly what my bf said, not grand, cosy though. I personally like personal touch and prefers my wedding to be cosy than to be classy but will not swear by cosy and will respect bf's preference too. My only requirement is that the venue be high ceiling and pillarless cos I do now wan any table of guests to be block by pilar hence feel "neglected" *that's my opinion and respect that everyone has different preferences
* Merchant Court had been my 1st choice but min for Sats are 38 tables, can't meet cos I'm prob only 30-33 tables.

annemelody
cummon gal, dun feel bad calling ur designer.. hey, you've paid quite a big sum for their service leh... mermaid cut enhanced our body shape...sexy leh.. but if hip is big, wif mermaid cut, lagi big arh...

onee
it really hard to please everyone rite... i'm sure you'll find one tat both you & ur FH like.. happy shopping =P

hi gals… how’s ur long weekend?

Wendy A&W

hmmm… the squirrel was caught by my father and his frens.. but dunno y end up at our place.. but it is very cute.. the way it hold the sliced carrot in its paws and keep turn as it nibble.. so adorable

Hi Pauline,
I'll be going to GCW on sunday to chk things out, hope they'll throw in more freebies.

U tking the Grand ballroom or the new ballroom? u see what they offer u then enlighten me k? Cos I'll be tking the new ball room which is still under reno, only see the portfolio, quite nice lah, tell me ur view k.

I went down to X-Zen today to chk out the package, they hving a promo, discount up to $400-500 leh, and they let me tried 2 OTR gowns, quite nice loh. The photos are also nice to me, The promo till 30th April hoh.

Think i'll sign up with them, be tking the $2999 basic pkg. I tried to request for a tea dress, the lady still working out for me, only 18 pcs 8*10 album and 1 pcs framed. What more can I ask hah? Any suggestions for me?

wendyA&W,
hee hee.... wow... 5 or more bridesmaid... lucky U!!!! hey, hope u r studying well for ur exams.... gd luck!!

onee,
how abt four seasons?? their ballrm is pillarless n has got high ceiling too.. food is gd.. n also 1 waiter to 1 table, if i m not wrong.. but price is a bit steep i think.. but no harm jus checking it out lor....

wow.. think it really benefits to b in events line huh... u hve no probs in sourcing info abt hotels!!! anywaz, good luck in ur search!!

emailwendylee,
hee.. i meant tt GCW is having the style wedding bash this coming sunday... *hee* sorrie for the confusion!! must pay $10, $1 admin fee.. otherwise, most fairs r over.. like for hyatt, it was 2 weekends ago.. raffles was also 2 weekends ago... think this wkend, marina mandarin is also hving an event.. thot i saw an ad here on SB..

annmelody,
i also think mermaid cut is very sexy... my cousin who is tall n slim wore it as her EG (maroon red)... n it was veri pretty on her!! very glam looking... if ur designer dint violently object to ur choice, i doubt it wld b ugly rite??? but in any case, wat binbin n the rest of the gals mentioned earlier is true lor.. most impt, u must feel comfortable abt it.. so tt u can carry it well!!!

pebbles,
ya ya... where's the new location for the gathering????? looking forward to it!!!

questy,
wow.. u r lucky hor.. when i went down to x-zen, they dint even offer me to try on their gowns... onli showed me albums n albums of photos... this in spite of the fact tt i was brought along by an existing client!!! aiyo..
i think most impt, is u like their design, n u r comfortable with them lor... i havent gone shpg at bridal boutiques yet.. so, also cannot offer much advice.. but like wat i hear from other brides here at SB, go check out the respective bridal's thread in here for the most honest opinions tt u will ever get!!! guess tt is the most practical way to get true comments, and decide on it lor.... HTH!!!

Hi forest,
I'm not lucky, cos I asked the lady to let me try the gown, she said 1 at first, but managed to get 2 for me. Think the gowns are ok, but I do need to slim down so as to fit in better, he...!

Shopping for the suitable bridal boutique is indeed a very taxing chore, u may like the gowns but not the sales person, or vise versa. I read most of the boutique thread, mixture of good and bad, so very difficult to judge, even for now tat I had shortlisted one, I still got to look see look see to see if other shops can offer me better packages, so dun put all ur eggs in one basket loh, he...! Actually cun totally depend on the comments, I see liao very scared, cos all the boutiques seemed to hv some very serious cases, but some are very good, so must really go down personally to chk it out loh.

I tot of getting my friend's mum to do up my ROM gown for me, then get the boutique to use the trial mk-up for the ROM, save money and time to source for mk-up artist.

If I ever shop for boutiques again, I'll leave a post here for u k.

hihi, onee, if you are looking for pillarless and high ceiling, Hilton is out. the aisle is L shaped and ballroom have pillars.....

someone mentioned four seasons hor? realli nice leh, luxurious feeling.... their max is 30 tables i think so shld fit your estimated guests...but yes price is on the high side lor...

u said hyatt got pillars ah? i remembered that some of their ballrooms are pillarless....perhaps you could request for those? but perhaps they have a min tables requirement for these bigger ballrooms.....

anyway, heard that hotel intercontinental is a good choice.....my colleague who used to also work for events organisers is eyeing that hotel for his future wedding.....and he hasnt even got a gf...
must be beri nice....

Questy, so happy for u that you have found a bridal that u like...... heard good reviews abt x-zen b4, that no 2 piece of their gowns are alike coz their designer really design gowns depending on the bride's personality and preferences...

hi bin bin,

I opt for the OTR package, although the gowns suit my figure, I still dun feel that it's the one for me, mayb I'll chg to MTM for my Gown, cos the MTM package is $3300, still within my budget.

Hi carina,
welcome to the thread, I'm relatively new here also, but just mk urself at hm k...enjoy ur chat.

hi hi girls...!!!
wow so much to catch up ah...lost already...

Forest,
i think u put more vinager on the spots that your doggie did his biz lah cos it works for most dogs even for my auntie's..

Annmelody,
think the girls have provided u with sufficient advise on yr WGs ah and i share the same view as them, u r quite fair and slim so should look good in either designs and materials, it all depends on the feel and effect which u want...as for EG, u r so slim, can sure carry off the mermaid gown very nicely lah so no worries and purple, me love purple colour...

Cyn,
hey u sure u not working for GCW as part time bouq mgr ah, hahaha....always promoting for GCW..
think to be safe we will just go to the sizzler at Suntec lah...

Onee...
if u r looking at high ceiling pillarless ballroom, Hyatt have two ballrooms, the one on the second floor accomodates lessor tables, that one is much nicer and it's pillarless, as for sheraton, the ballroom is grand lah but L shape..

Questy,
dun trust what u read on those thread totally, always check out the bridal yourself and have a feel of their service for u and how u feel when u r dealing with them, it takes a while and looking for the rite bridal shop is indeed very tiring but take it on the positive side, it's fun mah!!! then u won't feel so sian lor..

Forest: Morning! Heya, checked the details sent by another friend of mine... its $16 per couple + $1 admin fee! Will most propably go this Sun, but duno have tickets anot. Popby to Scotts SC to see they still have anot.

Seems there's quite alot of brides-to-be are those event organisers ya? Im actually also looking out for events related jobs ie: event coordinator leh... but couldnt find one. Care to share the job and is there any vacanies/lobang out there? Finished Dip in Mktg/PR and now doing Adv Dip in Business Studies.

hi questy,
oh i c.. thot they offered u.. cos' i also heard from some1 here tt they nv offered for trying usually....
yeah... wat i meant is read thru the threads to get true life accounts, opinions.. as a reference lor.. in some cases, it might b an idea to highlight certain areas b4 hand lor, etc.. well.. happy shpg for ur bridal boutique!!! do update me on ur progress ah... will b gd reference for myself!!

hi pebbles,
ok.. i will put more vinegar to see if it wks... hopefully it does lah.. otherwise, really lost oredi!!

hi emailwendylee,
no leh.. i still hve the form which GCW sent to me.. its $10 per couple, plus $1 admin fee.. if u wan, drop ur email n i can send u the form.. but its really kinda late to send in form now.. prob a better idea to go to those info ctrs at shpg centres to get the invites directly...

hee.e.. me like u.. quite interested in events kinda job.. but i m now bonded to my company...
so, cant start my job search yet... nonetheless, if any of the gals here post any info.. guess, it wld b good research info for my end-of-yr job search!!!!

Hi Onee,
Wow! How did you managed to squeeze in so many hotels in one day and still going for more?! =)
After you see everything must share info ok? heehee

Hi forest,
how come yours $10? Mine is $16. anyway exciting exciting.

Hi Cyn,
haven't really decided on GC, cos haven't gone round looking, but 70% sure la.

Hi Questy,
You're sure getting a headstart with your wedding stuff! So fast! My bf cannot multi task. We're planning for the house first. I knew whatever I say about wedding gown, venue etc he won't be concentrating. Hopefully when reno work gets underway this week, he will be more excited about the Styles wedding show on sunday. heehee..

Thanks a lot for your your advice...think I will stick to wedding gown design.... evening gown as well...though not sure if the purple is too dark a not.... think me overly paranoid already....never been the case leh :>

Noon Noon....

Went to the counters to buy the tickets but was told that STYLE took back the tickets. I called them up and found that they have very good response and stop selling already. Anyone to let the tickets (2) to me? [email protected]

hi pink,
i also dunno how come mine is 11 bucks leh.. the form tt GCW sent to me stated tt!
me also excited excited.... cant wait man!!! *hee*

hi annmelody,
no worries lah.. u'll b a BEAUTIFUL bride!!! well, every gal will look the prettiest on their wedding day, agree?!?

hi emailwendylee,
jus sent u an email already.... hope u managed to get tix!!

Good afternoon Gals

CYN : Ya lor... hopefully will get one that is acceptable for my FH and me loh...

Forest : Thanks, it's looks expensive. Nevertheless, will check the quotation.

Binbin : Thanks, if this is the case, will drop Hilton. Cut hassle to go down...

Pebbles : Thanks, I thot there is only 1 ballroom on 3rd floor w/pillar? Din know if the one on the 2nd flr cld accomodate 30 - 33 tables? Nevertheless, will check it out.

Wendylee: haha, nice to know that you too are keen in events. It's fun but have to be prepared to forgo personal time loh... U keen to be in corporate events or commercial events (hospitality eg. hotels, etc)?

Har, Style tixs all out oredi ah? I was hoping to go too...

wendylee,
My fren got two tixs to let go if u r still keen i can help u check out if she manage to sell of her tixs yet...
actually me also like those event planning jobs, more interesting hor, unlike my job ah so boring lor ...always facing the computer and meeting nasty pple...

forest,
it should work cos it's very highly recommended by trainers...if it still doesn't then u will have to pop by those pet shops and try those sprays for doggies liao

annmelody,
dun worry too much, u will look just lovely in yr purple gown lah, must go for something different mah and not the common colours...

onee,
yup should check the second floor ballroom out, it's much nicer cos it's pillarless and it can't hold much tables but should be big enough for 35 lah...

Forest: Thanks thanks! Managed to faxed over... but duno how is it yet... dun think got hope lah... *SOBSOB* Posted a thread on the STYLE WEDDING TICKETS... haha, duno how isit yet!

Onee: HIHI, eeeee.... me like to coordinate events lor... even like my co. even small, but got gatherings or event always me bao one. HAHA! I think got chance to get into events related... either one will do. You in which one? BTW, its always 6days week ah? How's the working hrs/work like? Im really interested... pls keep me inform yah! Thanks!

Yes.. the tickets are sold out!!! SO SAD!!!!!!

binbin

hahaha.. ur colleague so cute.. no gf yet n looking out for venue? y? preparing for “lightning wedding” ah?

wendylee

wah… u like to coordinate events ah… but now seems a bit hard to get this kind of job especially with SARS outbreak..

questy

yeap, agree that u have to go to the bridal shops personally n have a feel abt their service as well as their pdts.. believe ur own eye then hearsay

annmelody

hmm.. dun b paranoid lah
relax relax.. trust ur taste n ur designer’s taste ah.

oh my... so many postings.. can't contribute any advice
can oni read thru liao

onee
i think the hyatt ballrooms tat pebbles mention are the stamform room (30 tables) & hibiscus room (28 tables) i love hibiscus room, tat's my 1st choice initially... cosy & nice ambience, kind of european feel but ceiling too low. the reason i dropped it cos hyatt has a few ballrooms so guests might end up at the wrong ballroom.

pebbles
if gcw offer me the job, i'll take it man... can meet more ppl & move ard... =P

wow, style tickets SOLD OUT!!! seems like a show not to be miss...

Ivory: Yes yes... me like those coordinating jobs especially in Events... can meet alot of ppl! HAHA... do update me if you all have any lobangs!!! Cant wait to change job now.... heee

Gals: Yes yes.. all FULL liao....!!! But one kind soul willing to let me her tickets as her FH not free this SUN... will have to check details with her later.... YIPPPEEeeeeeeeeee!!!!!

cyn,
hahahah...u so the funny ah, so u really very suitable for this line lah..ahaha..

Onee...yup yup, that's the one that im toking about....thanks!!! Cyn, me forgot the name of the ballroom liao

Pebbles: HAHA, didnt read your postings clearly... mayb just missed out... but thanks, someone sent me email to offer me her tickets. Will get from her liao... HAHA!!!

But hor... faxed my form over to STYLE at about 4pm leh... but duno they will charged me the $ anot leh... I think they are really full and me cant contact any of the ppl there!!! So busy and neva answer call and also leave msg oso neva reply!

Hi pebbles/forest,
Yeah loh, really must go see urself to find out the situation, abt the bad experience, the designer Kim actually explained to me abt the incident. I dun want to judge anything, just like their photos, and now looking out for their gowns. Everybody's expectation is different, mayb learn to tk things easy will help, he....! Actually if we are not demanding, they also will feel relaxed and perhaps will produce better quality pdts? he... Just my 2 cents worth hoh. Will update u gals when I see anything k.

Hi pink,
I just read on the thread of SB, then short list the hotels and boutiques i'm interested in, then go down personally to chk it out myself, actually the threads are very useful as it saves alot of time for me. i only went to 2 boutiques and 1 hotel to really sit down to talk to them. Another way is to get the banquet brochures and chk out the boutiques when U go 'pak toh' or when shopping, just spend 5 minutes there, if u dun feel comfortable, then cross tat shop or hotel out of ur list hoh.

It's me who's doing the research and waiting for my "boss" to approve, thk god he trust me in whatever I do, thus it's easier for me. My FH's work require him to multi task so it's no pblm to him, it's me who shld learn how to plan my work, as things are getting complicated now, needs very good planning loh. Actually my FH doesn't even flinch when I tell him abt the gowns, cos he's playing game on PC, ah...! But we must stay cool k, although they seemed not focus when we r talking, they do get the picture. So the best thing is just continue talking, ha......! Things will eventaully get in! It really works for me! ha....!

onee,
hyatt has total of 3 ballrms... of which can combine the rms if need be... like pebbles/cyn said.. the ceiling is not tt high.. but def no pillars.. unless when u combine, then the pillars r there.. but not too sure if it will block any view or not...
yeah.. go check out four seasons..

pebbles,
i will continue to try.. we bought the spray last time.. n the smell was so unbearable tt we cant even take it ourselves! haha..

cyn,
wat GCW job r u referring to??? curious leh... heehee...

emailwendylee,
hee hee... u r so lucky!!! so nice tt u r able to go... might jus "cha shen er guo" on sun huh!!!

Hi to all,

I also need the Style Bash tickets leh, any one have lobang hah? My email add is halo_to_u @yahoo.com.sg. I called GCW, they cun help cos the ticketing not controled by them, heard is respond is overwhelming.

But if really cun get the tickets, the personnel at GCW said the promotion will last for a week after the bash, so still hv chance to chk it out hoh.

wendylee,
hey good that u manage to get yr tickets...i bet this sun show is going to be so packed lor...better be abit more KS and go early ah else it's also a crowded area..ahahha...very dangerous...high risk of getting SARS!!!hehe..

Questy/Pink,
for me, i had quite a bit of fun finding the rite bridal basically for me, im big size so for those bridals who gave me that kind of look, u know those kind of u r too big kind of look, i will just take them off my list...ehahahha...so from there i will see which bridal gives me better deals and most importantly, nice pple and comfortable with is the most important lor..
u girls still have time lah so can take yr time..

As for hotels, my FH and myself make it like a weekend outing for the two of us, will pop by ballrooms during weekends at around 6 after the ballrooms are set up then see we like the decor and feel of it..ehehe...so it's quite fun..
and then meet up with them and bargain..eheheh..
but now shortlisted GCW already ah..

Questy: Mayb you wana ask Pebbles? I think she got friend to let the tickets. Yah?

GALS: YAYAYAYA, kinda excited now.... what programes do they have ah? Hightlight to me pls... I dun have the mag with me here.

Check out this thread again tmrw morning! Gota leave now... later got class!!! BYEEEEEeee

Hi pebbles,
ha.....! I love to eat, and eat too much, thus i put on 6 kg in total in 3 yrs, even though i did try to control my greedy mouth! ha....! I was quite shy when I went to the boutiques, but I managed to put on 2 gowns, that means not all brides are slim, so dun worry too much abt the gown k, can MTM if cun find OTR ones.

u can go X-zen to chk out then see if the service is ok for u, then update me abt ur boutique hunt k, muacks!

Oh yeah pebbles, any lobang for the tickets? If yes then inform me k, dun hv also nv mind hoh. Thks!

have signed up with GCW. Like the ballroom so much though its really quite inconvenient for guests.

Price per table is the same as wat posted in singaporebrides.
They have corkages wavied, free complimentary 30litres beer which is about 90 glasses and 50% off food tasting for ten persons. 20% of guests will get free Car park coupons..

One thing i dun like is the food tasting needs to pay too.. sigh. And they also charge the use of projectors. You need to ask them those details else i dun think they will tell you "hidden costs"

i m also holding my wedding dinner in Jan 2004 and keen on booking GCW too.

cyn,
care to share the show promo perks you have bargained for with GCW. which show are you referring to?

forest, pebbles is teasing me lah... cos i'm always promoting GCW so she tot i can be their part time sales person.

pauline, when did you sign up with gcw? why dun wait for the style show.. sure got better perks one... on the other hand, better to book early in case your date is kana booked.. btw, when's your wedding? i also din get the food tasting... you know hor, they did throw in food tasting & free use of projector during their last show.. =(

hi sarah
you also a jan bride =) which day are you looking at? hope it's not 7th jan... haha, tat's my day. i've booked wif them during their jul 2002 bridal show. luckily they extended the perks to me though mine is in 2004. in total i get $28 off per table (inconjunction with citibank & bridal show perks), additional helpers room which i changed it for an extra nite, additional barrel of beer, a table wavied, wine wavied, free flow of beer for an hr during cocktail time & the usage of paradiso room for my solemnisation.

2003 bridal show perks are better. total $30 off (UOB & show promo), food tasting, additional barrel, use of projector... if you're interested, look out for the promo of this coming style show (no idea wat's their offer like). most importantly, get ready your date. =)

hi cyn

thanks for the info. my date is tentatively in mid Jan. btw, may i know how many tables did u confirm and who is your coordinator whom you negotiated for such great perks?

Wah... *pant pant*

Just dropped by to say Hiya!! Too many many msgs liao, I think I'm getting confused... hahaha!

The style wedding show full liao ah... I was still thinking of going... hmm... you think if I go there try my luck, they will have extra space for me??

Hi Wendy!
Skimmed thru the thread... saw your msg... me 1979 Goat too!!

Good morning Gals...

Pebbles : Thanks will check it out on 1 or 3 May

Wendylee : Hehe, being in the corporate events gives me a sense of belonging as I'm shuttling within colleagues of similar culture and definitely a sense of security unlike privatised events mgmt companies. My official working days is 5/week. Nevertheless whenever I run events, there's not even weekends to spare. It's good and bad, depending on idividual preferences

Forest : Four Seasons off budget leh... Else it's definitely the choice

CYN : Hehe, that was our consideration to avoid guests going to the wrong wedding. Help my gfs organising their events and it ever happened that she had guests from their neighbour coming over, it's ironical *hehe*

whew so many mesgs....
sarah, welcome welcome. cyn's suggestion is good, get a date first then fast go talk to a coordinator to tentatively book the date you want. jan 2004 is beri near, most ppl booked liao.....

AngelBB, eeerrrr.....not to "pour cold water" lah, but from a past trip to bridal show, there's no such thing as "enough seats" loh. even for ppl who have tickets, some have to stand. and most likely they won't allow anyone without tickets to go in one...........

Dear ladies, can i ask for a vote huh? Who do you think is more popular/good (esp in journalistic photos) : Robin Photography or Andrew Choi?

just curious lah, wld appreciate any comments.

Good day everyone!!!

Hi Sarah: Welcome!

Hi Onee: Really ah? Im very keen in those events related leh... got lobang? Where is office located yah?

Hi BinBin: Really ah ah ah... even got tickets also have to stand??? When/where was the show held? Im worried all the troubles I went throu and getting the tickets and I still have to STAND?? Koaz, then my BF sure very grouchy!

Anyway... meeting the kind soul later after work to collect the STYLE tickets for SUN! Looking forward man!!! (paisei hor, didnt mean to show off to those who didnt managed to get...) *_^ So who's in this thread going?

Hi Pebbles: Morning, got your new updated list liao... thanks!!

hi binbin,
hehee.. think I am really blur after reading the tonnes of postings liao.. I really tot u spend $80 per head for your ROM..:P

hi Sarah,
welcome..

hi Pebbles,
got your new contact list.

just asking for opinion, does any of you thinking of signing up with another bridal shop for photo shooting only? heee..:P

the STYLE event fully booked liao ah?.. before I decided if I want to go, it is already fully booked... hmm.. think I cannot be so undecisive next time..:P

have a nice day ..