(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
hi pebbles,
No wonderlah.. for me, the only WG i've seen is whatever i tried on at my bridal shop which is like only 3 WG and 1 EG! Haven't seen much.. And i haven't gone ballroom hunting yet.. so my visualization still not that goood. hehhe

hi binbin,
yeah..you go ntuc, can find instant chicken rice paste. Got a few brands.. one of them is chng kee brand. Not bad.

hi ivory,
hey, i also felt the same too you know! i always think wear tube must have that bust to carry. Until i tried 1 tube WG, it was actually very fitting.. and in fact you feel like you've got more air around you.

hi ino,
i think i ever cook my chicken rice like that, minus the pandan leaves..coz, here hard to find pandan leaves.

hi ino, long time no see. the oaks package i sign up for is not $20+++. this is the price of set lunch last yr. this yr is $22+++. but i took the buffet lunch package, which is $25+++. yes they have floral deco for all tables, as well as two floral stands at the entrance to the aisle (or restaurant if you wish). but take note that they dun use real flowers.
my whole event started at 10.30am, solemnisation at 11am, lunch ends around 1 plus.

if you wish to have the tea ceremony same day as well, let carol know. perhaps she can arrange for you to use the private room for the tea ceremony, and decorate it for u.....

hi ladies... i'm back... wow, so so so many postings...

my trip is so so only.. din get much... managed to make a suit for FH but think it's not really cheap =( nvm lah... wat done cant be undone. tell you gals.. almost wanted to get the wedding favors.. it's a bunch of grapes make of soap (red, purple & green). i actually wanted to decorate my centrepiece with grapes so it's fit my theme. but hor they dun have the color i wan. mostly in red but i prefer purple & green. somemore they dun deliver to my hotel. so heavy to carry ard, total 8 packs.. so in the end give up the idea.

forest, my FH stay at 31+... good leh, next time ve kopi kagi.. but you must shift in faster leh... i might shift hse once i get new hse.
I'm skipping gym too... die lah, tis sat got fitting, sure put on weight after all the sharkfins & birdnest.

angelBB
normally the steam room will stop for a few mins b4 it starts shooting again... think you jus happen to pop in there while the valve having break.
glad tat you get along well with ur FH family. dun think i can do it. no common topic leh. moreover my FH staying alone. but i guess eventually when his elder bro emigrated, no choice have to stay with MIL then come my headache.. sigh..

wendy
i jus started facial last mth. went to citra sari at boat quay where i did my massage. they use demarlogical (duno how to spell) product. heard that this product is good. i'm doing the impurity clearing treatment cost abt $100. the beautician din make me buy the product. she would rather i continue wat i'm using. dun waste it.

ivory
i bought the slimming salt but yet to try. stil too lazy & tired. hope it work on me.

welcome cow... initially it's always blur like sotong... by the end of the wedding, think we all can be wedding planner...

binbin, i'm back too... glad tat you enjoyed urself tremendously... show us the photos.. show us the photos....

anyone gog to frederick lee bridal show tis sun?

hi galz....

dint read the msgs for a day.. n i m lost!!

binbin/wendy,
yes!! i love tom yam... actually its both hubby n my fav... had tom yam soup everywhere we went when we were in bkk few yrs ago...

bin bin, if u can.. can give me the recipe for the drink?? is it difficult to make?

wendy,
yup.. thai n jap food r my favs!! always cannot resist them! also, no need to punch lah... they can jus use tape to create the double eyelid for that eye!! :D

hi Lin,
ya.. i guess, really need a pro to tell me wat suits me lah... but must def get myself knowledgeable with all those materials.... otherwise, dun even know wat i like..

hi pebbles,
ya.. i stopped goin to gym due to sars.. hubby also doesnt wan me to go... guess, too many rumours goin arnd.. plus a fren had a doc fren who also advised against goin to gym....

hi ivory,
ya, the tube dress wun drop one.. me also had a tube dress for ROM.. seamstress told me they will sew the "Gu3 Jia4".. so, it wun drop!

i told my hubby tt i m thinking of baring my entire back for my WG.. n he was quite upset... hee.. he is also those conservative type.. whereas i m quite open... n wld like to hve that eye-opener effect for my WG...

hi ino,
i will still b attending the precious moments bridal show at suntec this sat.... since registered for it.. hee.. feel it is not as bad as gym.. cos' gym is where all the sweaty bodies r! ha ha ha...

hi cyn!!
welcome back!!!
hee hee.. actually, if u shift in.. we can also kopi.. cos' i will usually b there during wkends.. although i dun stay over... so, r u getting a new flat.. or buying resale?? which location??
i m sure u must hve enjoyed the birds nest n sharkfins!!

hi forest...
stil not sure to get resale or new... have to wait til sept when FH can sell his flat then decide.. depend by then is there any good location? definitely not yishun, maybe toa payoh, ang mo kio....

hi forest, i have not tried the drink yet, will let you know when i've tried!

hi girls, collected the photos yesterday, and realised that we took so many photos that if i show you the whole 6 albums (already filtered) you will sure faint!!! so have uploaded some selective ones about 46) onto the website........will send you girls the link to the photos after this!

dear Lin, I do not have your email addy leh, so i dunno how to send you the link. don't wanna post on the web. can give me your email addy?
thanks.....

eeeeerrrr....i forgot who say they wanna see the pics liao...... cyn, Lin, pebbles, marie, wendy.... i also dun have the email for wendy leh.
19617.gif

hi forest,
don't worry. Just tell the designer what you like. Then he will let you try some gowns.

hi cyn,
welcome back!
wah..you must have enjoy yourself there. hmm..the grape soap is intersting.

hi Lin and forest, okie will send you now. aiyoh, u so excited, hope the photos dun dissapoint you lah. we didn't go anywhere much, just hang around in the resort. and we take more photos of ourselves than the place...hehhehehehe..... :P

Bin Bin..
Photos are out?!?!?! I want to see too!! My e-mail is [email protected]
Send me ok!

Ivory,
Being conservative is a good point! Quite hard to find these days. But yah lah, once ina life time..wear something DIFFERENT! Then you'll always remember the special day. Yah halter tops can be very sexy and elegant too. And there are so many types of halter. So if you really don't like tube top..keep trying some more halter. Gurantee you that your FH's jaw will drop to the ground when he sees you so SEXY!! HEheheheh..but of course make sure you feel absolutely comfortable in the gown too lah.

Cyn,
I think facial these days cost around the same hor? Normally starts from about $100. Hmmm..maybe will give it a try when I get my first pay cheque!I tell you haah..before I even get my first real pay cheque (from my first real job that is), I've made so many plans..ahhaah...Don't think what I'm going to earn will be able to keep up with my spending.

Lin,
You like to use those chicken rice paste too huh! Me too! Quite good...a little bit different from the hawker centre type but close enough lah. Over here we can find pandan leaves but they are frozen. So no point...still tastes good without it. My FH and I are chicken rice freaks!
If you want to wear sexy gown...just have to make sure the design is subtle. Can still be very sexy. Either reveal more shoulders/back or some thigh. Cleavage part will be a bit too obvious.
Yah those bouquets with stalks is like a pretty new style right? Its really very elegant. Especially if your gown isn't too poofy type, it'll go together very well.

Pebbles,
Its true...after a while, you get a little sick of everything. So think its better if you try and spread it out. Then you can retain that wonderful feeling. I haven't been looking at gowns for about a week already. Tonight i saw Trista Rehn (the bachelorette..did you guys watch that tv show?) trying on wedding gowns...Aaaaaaaaaah..
makes me feel like shopping around again. HAheheheh..fickle minded hor. Think she went to Monique Lhuiler's boutique...her gowns were so beautiful. I was droooooling!The boutique itself was sooooo nice. So take a couple of months off from all this gowns and decor...it's like taking a break!

Gals..! Remember to wash your hands more often. Do anything to prevent getting infected. Take care!

Sorry for MIA for quite some time. Very busy with NUS. Every weekend like no sufficient.

WOW! too many postings, cannot catch up anymore.
Pls pardon me if i asked any repeated questions. Thanks!

Hi Bin Bin,

I want to see too!! My email is [email protected]

Hi Leafy,
Sorry for not replying your sms. I was really too busy till i forgotten abt it. When i remembered, i feel pai say to reply as it was already way way late. Pls pardon me!

Hi Pebbles, Congrats! So your reno. starting soon? Btw, Michael office hour handphone no is 90053922.

HI all,
Anyone know where can i get a good seamstress? I thinking to do a cheongsam for ROM. What do you gals think? But first of all, i need some guide in searching for cheongsam designs. I am totally lost here!! Help!!

hi binbin,
glad u enjoy your honeymoon..

u also got gastric problem ah? Seems like a lot of pple also got this problem. Think we cannot eat too much and too fast.
6 albums?!..Must have cost u a lot..:P
I also want to see your picture.. can send the link to me?..^_^

hi forest,
think I very suay. That day I just mentioned to you girls that weisen-U is good and on that same day I kenna a gastric attack..

Then I got to eat weisen-U again. Sigh.. But anyway, I seem to have gastric attack quite often. True lor, because of gastric, I dun dare to try dieting..heehee..:P

hi Lin,
Is SK-II a facial mask? Easy to use?..heehe...

hi WendyA&W,
Thanks for URL.
But to use that website, seems like we need to register first?

hi Ivory,
true lor. Health is more important than to look nice..

Your WG is MTM one? Tube is referring to bustier is it? Me always blur blur wan..:P
wah!..your FH so open minded one..hee.. then ok lor..u can choose any sexy gown that u like..hee..

I think nowadays a lot of gowns are bustier...but I never wear anything like that before, so I am also very scared it will drop..:P
u and your sister are very different in dressing har?..

hi gals..
It's Friday..Enjoy your weekend but do take care too.

Still very worried abt the SARS thing...

HI Bin bin!!

*raise hands!!*
me also wanna see!!!

Hi Doreamon!
my friend made her CS for her wedding from this guy call Gary. He is located at Concourse. # is 62352873. I have seen his "works" by chance when viewing some video highlights when scouting for a videographer. I would say his worksmanship is really good. Maybe you would like to check him out.

HI gals!

just received news that my house TOP liaoz..mixed feelings actually. Excited coz its another step closer to having your own home. Stress coz of the amount of monie that needs to flow out for the house..=(

Hey,
anyone living in Yishun? My future home is at Ave 6...maybe next time and lim kopi together..hehehe

Anyone interior designers or contractors to recommend?

Cheers and have a nice weekend!

aiyah, typed mesg oredi then it dissappeared....*sigh*....:P

antares ah, no have ur email addy leh, can give me? :P yah 289 pics sure did cost a lot....but lucky got 10% discount once above 100 photos....so paid about $130 for it.....

doremon, wendy, soupie, me send liao...

doremon!!! hihi where have u been? long time no see.....hope u are taking care from the stupid virus, and also your back..... :o

wendy, wow! u seem very expert at the sexy sexy designs leh...... next time i will ask u when i am finalising my design...hehhehee......

congrats marie!!! dun be stressed lah, dun think abt the money, coz it will be money well spent as long as we take note of what we spend on...... at the end of the day ur house will look nice nice mah.
just do a budget and try to stick to it....
where will u be staying huh? yes i have 2 interior designers that we like, can recommend to you......will get the contacts from my FH and email to you kae?

wendy
it's always the case.. there's always many plans... i wanted to get a tag hueur watch with my 1st pay check but it's only yrs later then i own one... bride-to-be always has lots to do.. facial, massage, manicure, pedicure... ai yo, where to find so many vit M rite? hee..

marie
i'll be moving to yishun after wedding... oh, so next time we've more kagi to lim kopi... my good fren's doing interior.. i'll email you her contact.

Hi Binbin!

Thanks! Received your pics liaoz! Waaaaah..so envious...looks like u have lotsa fun..me see all the nice nice pics me also now itchy wanna go and have fun...hehe

Yahlor..as for the house..no choice one..def have to spend monie just that need to be careful with the budget. =P

Have you gotten your house?

Hi Cyn!
Which part of Yishun would you move to? Hehehe..besides kopi kaki can be also shopping kaki...can go northpoint...hehehe

Binbin and cyn thanks for the contacts...me email is [email protected]

Have a nice weekend ahead!!

hi antares,
nope, it's not facial mask. The SK-ll i'm using is like toner. but it's notlah.

hi WendyA&W,
yeah..i like chicken rice very much
yeah..actually some of the instant paste not bad. taste like real chicken rice. I heard last time, in singapore, they wanted to come out this chicken rice balls..but that time when i went back home, cannot even find. Wonder if it's out..

Wah seh! Sooo many msgs! blur already loH!

binbin! I also wanna see! Can email me the link?

Hi WendyA&W,
I've only been able catch The Bachelor2 (or is it 3?), been wanting to watch The Bachelorette... when will it be screened?

And it's Saturday!!! Yeah! Enjoy the weekend!

Hello all!!

Antares,
Yah need to register bascially will ask you for your name, wedding date, fiance's name all that. No need to spend money. HEhehehe...very useful. So far I've tried that 3 major bridal websites theknot.com & brides.com & weddingchannel.com After browsing thru, still think the knot is the best. So go register and look around. Very fun. I even found my flower girl's dress already. HEhehe

Bin Bin..
Me Expert?!?! Hahahahah...ThANK YOU! Well I like to look at clothes..especially formal wear. Just an interest. So you know what type of EG you want yet? Your wedding has been brought forward to the end of this year right? Or was it someone else? Oh yah I saw your pics...you and your hubby look very cute together. You look so HAPPY! Then again why shouldn't you...just ROM and got to spend a few days at such a nice place. I even took a virtual tour of the resort! very nice!

Lin,
I heard about the chicken rice balls when I was back in S'pore (2001). Thought it was out already...it's either frozen or chilled. But I didn't go look for it. Thought they were going to export it too. I tried those tom yum soup paste...quite good..taste just like the restaurant ones. Can put more prawns when we cook at home..!! Eh where do you like to go for chicken rice in S'pore? Share tips...I lOVE the one at Holland V...like the chicken and the Ipoh hor fun. Then the other one is at Far East plaza..dunno which floor. Yummmm...All this talk about food is making me drool
Waah...really miss fishball noodles. I'm a sucker for fishballs!

AngelBB,
Guess THe Bachelorette should be counted as the 3rd one. She's the girl who was dumped by Alex (the first bachelor)Second Bachelor was Aaron then the 3rd one is Trista..They've already shown it on TV here a few months ago. Dunno when it'll be shown in S'pore. The new Bachelor (4) will be starting next week over here. Another guy.

Cyn..!
You are a Tag Heur fan too huh! ME too!! My Tag is extremely old liao..had it for 11 years. I'll like to get the new design someday. Good choice!! Very tough and durable watch. Some ppl think its a waste to spend so much on a watch cos you just need to tell time but I think its a really good investment.

There's this Imperium place flashing at the top of the page. Where is this place huh? Looks quite nice leh.

hi WendyA&W,
Yeah..i want to try the chicken rice balls. When i went back for holidays, couldn't find it. So, don't know whether they really release into the market yet a not. Oh, i like to buy my chicken rice from this hawker along kembangan road. Don't know how to say. I only know how to drive there.
And i prefer those steamed chicken. And i like to have my chicken rice with sambal kangkong. oh man...talking about food.

marie, FH staying at 31+, very near to northpoint. but i seldom go north pt. nothing much leh.. 5-10mins i'm done, perhaps i'll spend more time in cold storage... nvm lah, next time we spend can go shopping then kopi at starbucks.

wendy & lin
there's a shop in jalan besar selling the chicken ric ball... nothing special, jus tat they serve the rice is a ball form... i like chicken rice too but sinful too. usually i go to the one opp bishan community centre and margaret drive.

wendy
i'm not really a tag heur fan lah... jus wan to own one lor.. i dun mind spend $$ on watches rather on shoes and bags. i jus love watches. imperium, under tung lok, is located at ngee ann city level 7, the former sparks.

ladies, have a good weekend.

Hi Marie,

Thanks for the contact, will go ard look for him.

Hi Bin Bin,
I have always been ard, following the thread but seldom post becos' at work not convenient. Just change a new boss so rather sensitive.
At night, when i reach home, i will start on my FYP so seldom do posting here. Thanks for your concern. My back is recovering well and the flu bug is gone!

No one know where can i find cheongsam designs??

Hi Doreamon,
u may like to try visiting a tailor shop at Furama Hotel level 2. I always passby this shop when I have lunch and a few days ago I saw this white CS being displayed at the shop & my colleagues & I tot it looked so pretty & elegant

Hi Binbin
can I have a look at ur pics too? My email add is [email protected] . Thks!

Have anyone have in mind the colours of ur evening gown already? I'm rather tanned so having a hard time finding suitable colors to suit me for evening gowns....I dun want to appear too dull in dark dresses but bright colours usually dun look good on tanned skin leh...

hi gals...

its SAT!!!

jus came back frm the precious moments bridal show!! very disappointed.. think the gowns r really not fantastic.. some even look awful to me!! oops.. but really veri disappointed!!

the EG r worse... aiya.. dun wanna go on.. apparently.. most of the couples din go to the booths..

hey marie n cyn..
haha... i m also living in yishun ave 6... so, 3 of us can kopi.. go supermarket together!! also go shopping together!!!

well... gotta go now... jus wanna post this short msg.. n give my feedback abt the show...

enjoy ur wonderful wkends, alright!!

hi doreamon,
i think u can also try visiting icon at orchard emerald...think they tailor most kinda clothes... i had my ROM dress - tube dress, mid-length - tailored there... costs me 299.. but result is exactly as what i had in mind.. so, quite happy abt it...

abt designs.. i m not so sure.. perhaps.. try searching on google.. or sometimes, the tailors themselves will also hve specific mags for u to look at...

HTH....

Hi Doreamon,
Are you thinking of MTM Cheongsam? Can try to ask Shirleen at House of Etiquette at Tanjong Pagar. She has some good contacts. Been to talk to her, and she's a very very nice lady. Sincere also - should be getting my package from her.
Another place to try is Esplanade? I saw one shop there selling this very beautiful cheongsam, but pasieh to go in to ask the price - looks very posh. Oh, and to look out for designs, try to look for those mags featuring the movie stars awards like Oscars? They're usually very dressed up, so can get some ideas from there...

Hi elf,
You also very tan?
Me too... I'm going for strong colours - either dark electric pink (my fav colour!
) or something like turqiose/purple. Thinking of trying gold too, but havent try out the colour with my skin tone - hopefully it will turn out nice on me...
Anyway, if you want some colour, I think you can try for something strong. They usually bring out the tan...

Hi Wendy,
Imperium is a restaurant at Ngee Ann City. They're under Tung Lok Group. Offering really really good food. I'm likely to have my banquet there... Enquired with them liao. You can just go and try out the Sunday dimsum for preview to "food tasting". The siew mai so fresh I think it can literally bouce! Hahahah! The food so good that even for just the $600++ package, you get things like sharks fin, Sea cucumber, sliced abalone, and scallops!! I dun even think I know how to eat or appreciate the food for the $700++ package - Hors D Oeuvre (whatever THAT is?!?!), Goose Liver Mousse.... etc. And that is only the medium range one....

hi cyn,
i see..i never came across that they do sell it. I was thinking of the chng kee instant chicken rice balls which they said they wanted to release in the NTUC supermarket..waiting for that.

hi elf,
Why not pastel colours? How tanned is your tanned? If you're like the angmoh tanned..then, it's alright. Bright colours can also suit you
But if you said you're on the darker side, then, pastel colours is much better.

Hi AngelBB,
My favourite color is purple but if I can, will try not to wear purple cos I have so many purple colthes liao...wanna try something different on my wedding day
Yah, I think light gold is a very popular color now...will look out for this color when I went for my gown selection.

Hi Lin,
I'm not like the angmoh tanned lah :P ..more on the darker side ...yah, pastal colors seem to suit dark pple...my FH likes me on pastel colors

Btw, do u all feel that designs for evening gowns are very limited? I sort of have an idea wat sort of WG to go for but have a hard time looking for nice EG designs.

Elf,
Actually WG and EG designs are all very limited. Basically its just the little details that sets them apart.

AngelBB,
So the food at Imperium is good huh? Must try when I get back. The place looks very nice. Hor D Oevres are just appetizers. So what other perks do you get with this place?

Lin,
I prefer the steam chicken too. Never tried chicken rice with sambal kang kong before but sounds gooooood. I like it with either dumpling soup (at holland V) or the salted vegetable soup at the Far East one.

hi doreamon,

you may want to try doreen chee of le galleria. she makes some nice and sexy cheongsams...;-)

Hi Elf,

i tot blue colour wld be nice for an EG. But i guess it depends on the material as well? Wat matl are u looking at? For me, i will be choosing either lace, chiffon or shantung silk. ;-)
I love those laces that i see at Arab St!

hi elf,
i like pastel colours too. I think it would be nice. elf, there is a bride who shared her photos here. I think its kelsey's wedding photos. Look under that thread. Her EG is real sexy...and very nice. You would like to take a look at the design.

hi wendyA&W,
I just had chicken rice yesterday. but it wasn't home-cooked. I bought it.

hi all. I hope someone can help me. I just went to Furama Hotel wedding show today and they told me i can only take the smaller ballroom - which is the Canton Room at 4th Storey. Have anyone been there before? How is it? I personally think that the ballroom looks quite weird to me. I have 2 hotels in mind- Hotel New Otani (Taikan-En Room)and Furama Hotel (Canton Room). Can anyone give me any suggestions? Which one is better? Or do you have any recommendations. My budget is about SGD560.00 -SGD580.00 NETT in Hotel Ballroom on Saturday. My wedding is on Sept 2004.

binbin,

i wanna see too. u got my email liao rite?

Lin,

wat u mean by "more air around u"? u mean very tong1 feng1 issit?

cyn

dun worri if the salt dun have too great an effect on u... treat it as a body smoother lor
ur skin sure feel smoother after u rub with the salt

forest

hee... ur FH upset with u wanting to bare ur back.. my bf keep asking the designer can i bare my back for the WG.. but before dat i better do more back exercise n slim down the backview to a V before i dare to try any bare back... too much revealing fats liao.. hahahah..

Wendy A&W

as long as i wear differently from my normal garb, his jaws sure drop one lah.. actually its me dun have the confidence to wear tight fitting or body hugging clothes.. feel dat im showing too much fats to other ppl.. creating quite an eyesore lah..

antares

ya... both my WG n EG have to be MTM cos i can't squeeze in any of their gowns.. too fat liao.. hahaha...

i oso dunno if tube = bustier.. never take note of the names before

yup, my sis more daring in her dressing.. may bcos she very slim lor, so she got no prob buying clothes.. unlike me..
datz why have not been updating my wardrobe for the past 5 years

sweetgal82

u went to the Furama Hotel yesterday? how is the show? actually i oledi RSVP, but my BF sick so we can't go..

how cum they say u can oni take Canton Room? issit bcos of the nos of tables u b having?

Ivory The show is quite good. Well, i can only take the Canton Room because i only have 22 tables and 2 reserve. So do you have any idea on is there any alternatives that i can choose rather than Furama Hotel? My budget is SGD560.00-SGD580.00 NETT during saturdays for 22 tables at Hotel Ballroom.

dear ivory!!! i think i lost ur email addy together with my address book when the tec support format my computer....

can u tell me ur email addy again?

the rest, i sent liao.

hi wendy, imperium is at ngee ann city, 5th level i think. it's a new tong luk restaurant...

marie, yah loh, house gonna spend a lot of money hor? yah we got ours liao, at BP.

hi ino
I personally like chiffon, it makes one feel light...like a fairy
But dunno whether how it fare as an EG? maybe too light & dun carry weight huh? think it oso depends the "wedding style" u wanna create lah...

hi Lin
yah, her gown very sexy
after seeing tat, i'm oso very tempted to try one of the bare-your-whole-back EG...hehehee...it's really sthg u dun get to try often :p

HI ladies,

Thanks for the cheongsam tips, will go around those places once i am more freed-up with my time.

Anyone know when doreen chee will be having her bridal show? I hope to see that.

hi binbin, wow the place in Phuket which u went to look really good!
now i know how u look like heee.. u and ur hubby makes a handsome couple
i think u'll definitely look very pretty in ur ROM outfit lor
19712.gif