(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date

hi hi soupie.aiyoh y u have such a sweet tongue...hehhehee...... no lah i know we dun look handsome. we think we look like 2 overaged kids. coz we always kidding around. hhehhee...hope u have fun preparing for your ROM.

doremon
i'm also looking for CS design but really no idea. went down to ted collection at bugis yday, spoke to the designer, Don. quite a friendly guy. he shd be able to come with something for you. go down & take a look.

elf
i also have the same problem. have totally no idea wat i wan for EG. dun like those ball gowns. prefer those wore to oscar. haha...

hi Ivory,
what i meant is feel cooler. And moreover, all those excitedness on your wedding day, will make you feel comfortable with the wind breezing through your body.

hi elf,
but hers right.. is not all bare back. If you look at the pink EG design.. there's like a big cross behind..like two knots..very unique. I like it.

hi cyn,
hahahha...it's quite nice to describe it. oscar..hey, just tell the designer..i think he will understand and try to design that!

hi binbin,
agree w wat soupie said... looks veri nice.. actually, u n ur hubby look cute together!!! *hee*

wah...think most of u kinda decided wat WG n EG u gals wan.... so nice...

hi cyn,
guess i m also quite like u.. hee.. 'oscar' like EG..

hi ivory,
ya.. to reveal back.. need to do lots of preparations... go for scrubbing, massage, moisturizing to keep the back in tip top condition!!! then all the guests can jus go 'WOW' on the back lah!!! esp. since my front not veri magnificent!!! *hahaha*

Hi gals..

I kinda agree with you all. For EG..must be those sleek, sexy type. Ballgown just doesn't create that kind of effect..its more suitable for WG. initially I thought I want a ball gown for my EG cos I wanted a ball right. Now..realised that it won't be that nice. I wish I could wear those bare back EG..but got too much bak (flesh)..so better not. But those of you who can wear low back gowns should go for it! Very glam!

Elf,
Chiffon would be very nice for EG, its usually just like a outer layer...cos its too soft and see-thru. But it'll be very elegant yet fairy-like.

Ivory,
Be patient and keep trying on different types of gown. Find something you'll be comfortable in yet sexy!

Forest,
Everytime I try on any gowns that reveals some back, my FH tells me the same thing "Must get back scrub and jien fei ah...fei fei"

binbin

receive liao, but my server got prob.. so can't see the pics yet...

Lin

i c.. cooler.. oso tong1 feng1 mah...

forest

the way u say it as if u gonna reveal ur front if its very magnificient??

Wendy A&W

hmm.. all along i know princess cuttings gowns will be most suitable for me... so now its up to the designer to make it sexy liao lor

28 days to go.... then its ROM day!

hi Ivory
wat's the difference bet princess cut & A-line gowns? r they the same? i read from "the knot" tat these 2 r most suitable for brides who r petite in size...
congrats on ur coming ROM
so how's ur preparation getting? everything settled liao? i remembered when i ROMed last Nov, me & my FH took half day leave to comb the whole orcahrd rd for the gown...in the end, we end up getting one from bridal zone..heehee..

hi binbin,
seen your pictures. So now I know how u look like lor..

You looks so radiant and happy..
Thanks for sharing your photo..

hi Ivory,
Ai yo..sounds as if u are real big size..
but anyway, MTM also good in a certain way right?..can have your own dream gown..

u really can control yourself from not buying clothes for 5 years?! I will buy 1 or 2 T-shirts fr Giordano or Hang Ten once in a while..heee..

hi WendyA&W,
theknot really so useful ah?..hee..think will register later. Recently a bit busy with other things. U so fast find your flower girl dress. How much does your flower girl dress cost? Find your flower girl too? I still dun have any pageboy or flower girl in mind. Quite worried that there will be no pageboy or flower girl on the actual day...

What is princess cutting gown?...

hi galz...

wendy,
yup yup... have to b glam glam.. sexy is def 1 attribute... actually, slits for the dress will also make 1 look sexy... so, mayb u wanna consider.. ;)

ivory,
no lah.. won reveal front lah.. but if front is magnificent, then can reveal cleavage mah... me dun even have cleavage to tok abt!!!!!

congrats on ur upcoming ROM also... hve u settled all ur stuff??

elf,
me jus like u.. when i rom last dec.. i also shopped arnd.. but eventually, went to tailor-made my gown at icon.. cos' i had something in mind, but cldnt find OTR anywhere...

hmmm.. me also wanna know the diff btw a-line n princess...... :p

Forest,
Yeah..agree..slits are very sexy too. But I don't have the LEGS to show lah. So very jia lat...can't reveal anything unless I lose a lot of weight.
Any ideas on how to lose the stupid bak(flesh) on my back? Hate it so much!! I want to wear bare back gowns!!

Antares,
those websites are really quite useful especially when you need to find the details and stuff. Becos the designers are different from S'pore's ones, maybe you can find something different. Just different culture, different tastes..more choices for us lor. Of course they have tons of gawdy looking gowns too...so be prepared to look at pics till your eyes blur.
Yah...I found a flowergirl's dress already...very sweet and simple with either a big flower or bow at the back. I'm going to use my god children to be my flowergirl and pageboy. So convenient...a good friend of mine married earlier than me thats why I have kids to borrow.

If you don't have any young kids, then just do without it lor. Its not a big deal...I'm just using kids becos they are available. Their mom already told me that I must be prepared to bribe them with lots of chocolates ok.

I'm not too sure whats the difference between an A-line and princess cut. They look pretty much the same to me.

huh? for petite size oni ah... then siow liao.. me big size leh..

my idea of princess cutting is not exactly A-line, but quite flowy with V-shape waistline.. not sure if this the standard princess cutting though

bcos my body is quite short, i must have low waistline cuttings to make my body look longer n more proportionate

ROM prep ah... dunno leh..
book date liao,
got gown from my bridal shop liao (after so much squeezing and heaving.. too fat
),
my fren dare dare volunteer to be my make up artist,
got 2 chauffuers for both families,
just bought shoes to go with the gown,
in the midst of making my own accessories to go with the gown,

things not done...
bf suit havent buy yet,
no fotographers, frens all not free bcos of delayed exams,
haven't source for bouquet,
manicure/pedicure/hair treatment & setting

alamak! brain dead liao.. wat else needs to be done????

antares

me really big size ah.. at least on the top lah... datz where most of the gowns can fit

dream gown? haven't materialise yet leh... so far no sweet n nice dreams abt gowns

actually partly oso bcos i dun like to go shopping lor
difficult to find clothes dat i can wear mah..

forest

hahaha... squeeze both sides together sure got cleavage one lah

Wendy A&W

well... do more side sit ups and back sit ups lor.. later sure got V-shape one

hi WendyA&W,
got lots of picture means the loading time will be longer..:P I am still using dial up at home so I guess my phone bill will be very high..:P Will look at the page when I am more free..

If I really can't find any little girls or boys then maybe won't have any flower girls or boys lor. Actually I have a niece who want to be a flower girl but I find her a bit too old for flower girl leh. She is eight or nine years old. Around 1.40+m in height (not too sure?)Think quite tall too..:P Think if too tall, like not very cute for flower girl leh..:PP

hi Ivory,
so your ROM will be very soon lor...

But I thought if u signed up your package with bridal shop, the make up artiste also provided?
So now must stay happy and cheerful so that day will look mei3 mei3...

Me too, I dun like to go shopping cos' I hate crowd. I am quite an impatient person so I dun like to walk in the crowd cos' it is very slow..:P
Actually I also dun have much nice nice dress and blouse or clothes.. But my younger sister got A LOT..:P She loves shopping for clothes. Sometimes I am wondering why she bought so many clothes. :P
Ivory, u very naughty har..squeeze both sides together sure got cleavage ..u har..heehee..:P

hi antares

oh.. my bridal shop dun provide one
they just throw in the gown for me oni

hee... ur sis same as my younger sis.. too many me bigger frame than her so i can't wear her clothes

ai ya... datz wat most ppl will teach u to show cleavage wat... the bridal shop assistant oso tell u to tape them closer for cleavage ah...

Hi Ivory,
So how does your ROM gown look like? White in color? Actually I am not too sure about the make up artiste thing. That time, when my friend ROM, she said it is included in the package.
maybe younger sister always like to shop for clothes?..:P My sister is taller and slightly bigger frame than me so I dun think I can wear her clothes too. But hor, I dun think she want to share with me too lah cos' I got nothing to share with her in return .. My clothes too cheap skate compare to hers...:PP
Anyway, her clothes quite formal wan. Hers are mainly blouses with buttons (which I dun like), then also got lots of skirts (which I seldom wear too)..:PP hee..
really?..bridal shop assistant also ask u to tape them ? I tot u were just joking..:P

hehhehee hhehheee ivory and forest u too beri cute leh...... ivory, how to tape? not pain meh? *ouch*.....

ivory, wah u quite detailed on the preps stuff. u mentioned hair setting haven't done. does that mean ur friend who is doing makeup for u not doing hair for u? i am not sure but i tot usually should do hair first, then make up. then lastly touch up on hair. so if someone else is doing hair for u that person should come to ur place........any body in mind? :o perhaps u can ask daniel than whether he does hair alone and how much?

and are u bringing along to your ROM a little bag to match your gown....in whcih u put handphones, money, blotter, any emergency make up kit etc.....

wendy,
maybe can try to skip??? i was skipping for abt 2 wks... n can feel the toning of the legs.. now stopped again.. (me really too lazy)... but i will psycho myself to start again!!

wah... u so lucky.. got god-children already!!!

ivory,
ya lor.. i know can squeeze together to get cleavage.. but even after squeeze.. its not prominent lah... me dun hve natural cleavage.. think those with natural cleavage r more eligible to reveal front lah!!! *ha ha ha*

antares,
hmm.. me feel tt if flower girl is still a young kid like 3-5yrs old better.. like dat then cute.. *hee*... but still its ur preference lor...

ah ha ha ha... i m the youngest in family.. also hve an elder sister.. i used to be the one who shop alot.. n since my sis is the same size as me, she always wears my clothes.. now tt i m saving up for wedding, i stopped buying.. n she is the one who is doing all the buying now... so, i get to wear her clothes.. guess, i m quite lucky in this respect!!! :D

hi antares

actually it varies for individual shops lah, just dat mine dun have trial makeup lor, but i dun mind lah.. not happy i make up myself lor

ya.. my sis tastes os very diff frommine, so i wun wear her clothes even if i can squeeze in.. im more, how to say.. unisex type of clothes, while hers very feminine.. can't stand it lah

binbin

aiyo... not asking u to use masking tape wat...

hahaha... at least the minimum i noe they will push all your meat from the back to the front to make ur front more magnificient lor

har? detailed ah... i just write watever comes into my mind lor... think there still a few things missing

oh.. bcos my fren just started learning mah.. by the time i ROM they haven't touch on the hairstyle section so i oledi ask my hair salon can do for me or not lor
no problem wan lah.. ROM oni, just set some curls the nite before, then the next day i'll just do some simple hairstyling, add in some accessories n bingo! im ready

hmm... my makeup gf will be following me the whole day in place of my own sis (cos my sis away in Japan for training) so makeup wise no worries.. hp n $$ leave with my mum lor

hi forest,
this is what I feel too. A 3 to 5-year-old flower girl will be more adorable..
But I dun know how to tell my cousin leh. She approached me to let her daughter be flower girl..Plus my niece is quite tall too.
so good can share clothes..
I dun think my sis will want to share with me. I think neither do I want to share with her..Maybe not used to sharing clothes..:P

hi Ivory,
u are a dancer so I guess u should have a lot of experience in make up..

my sister's clothes also very feminie wan. Those type got lace, gathers, ribbon, floral prints etc..Actually I also got 1 or 2 pieces such clothes but I hardly wear them..:P My fav. is still T-shirt and jeans..heee..

hi antares

yeah... i still prefer to wear jeans n t-shirts.. easier to move dat way
no worries abt chun1 guang1 za4 xian4

my make up skills so so lah.. so far my bf never complain dat i look like a clown when i make up on occasions so i guess i still can see ppl lor

hi WendyA&W,
hahah..bribe with chocolates. I have lots of small cousins but don't intend to have one. And i have to tell my youngest sister that if she doesn't want to be my bridesmaid, i will severe relationship ties with her.
She don't want to be my bridesmaid because she hates to wear dress. During my engagement, she wore jeans! And my bridesmaid(the other sister)argh..so choosy. Told her, that she will wear the same clothes as my youngest sister..dun want.

forest,
hahah...i also don't have that clevage. But i know my back & shoulder area going to be a bit bare. so...sigh... have been scrubing it. I've got some pimples at the back.

ivory,
yeah...i'm going to wear tube (i think) for EG. so more air... but mom wanted me to cover up a bit. she asked me to drape a scarf over it..feel so amah like!
i don't care. i'm going to wear whatever i want.

binbin,
how much you spend in total for phuket? (the place you stayed, flight, food..etc ) me planning my budget for honeymoon...

Hi binbin,
Wow... Phuket looks so beautiful. Must be a great place for total relaxation.... Wanted to jump into the bathtub the moment I saw the picture! Shiok! And you and you hubby look very good together - got "fu qi xiang" leh...

Hi Wendy/forest,
Me no idea about what to wear for evening gown too... actually i would really like to wear something sexy sexy one, my FH also dun mind, he say let me decide...
but I think my parents and my MIL would faint! Cos I thinking of something really jaw-dropping, with lots and lots of lace...Sigh... maybe something half translucent? Hahahah! Then if they really wanna say anything, then I can still have the excuse that "I didn't know the material so thin one mah..." Heehee!

Wendy,
For Imperium, included will be Ritz Carlton night stay, free use of projectors and players, and they used to have a laser light show included for first course presentation. Also having free 12hr Rolls Royce rental!
Can't remember what else liao, but they are the first location I seriously check out, so still hoping to check out other places... but really like that place, cos dun have to do up with flowers and deco, and look very grand liao.

Forest,
Icon at Orchard Emerald? Are their dresses and gowns nice? I heard of their name many years ago when I was young and always browsing those teenage mags, but I didn't dare step in cos that time no $$! Heehee... paiseh mah... are they nice ppl? Tau or not ah??

Hi Ivory,
Congrats to your ROM! You said you are in the midst of getting the accesories for your gown ah? If you like those crystal crystal kind of accesories, can go to Isrida at Clarke Quay, beside the taxi stand... Their selections ALL VERY PRETTY!!! You know, like those that are sold in Seiyu, Isetan, Taka, etc? Over at this Isrida shop, I think they selling at whole sale price or something. Like those crystal rings hor, selling for only $5.90 (Isetan selling $19.90), hairclips for only about $6.90 (Isetan and such selling at $29.90). Isrida has another store at Wisma, just behind Urban & Co, but this one the selection only about 20% of those at Clarke Quay... so if you want, can go there take a look.
I always end up buying a whole collection of rings when I go....

Oh yah, if you gals wanna get some naughty lingerie, can also go there take a look. A large selection can look rather "slutty", but if that's what you're looking for, heh heh heh...

everyone, I need a bit of advise leh... I just told my 2 intended bridesmaid the date of my wedding, and was telling them that I will be looking around for nice gowns for them, and will be buying them the gowns. But one of them, my best friend, said that she wanted to MTM cos OTR "not nice"...
... and that she knows of a place where the MTM is "cheap", around $200++ each gown. I really din intend to spend so much leh... $200++ x 2 will come up to almost $500! And I'm not even intending to MTM my own WG! How to tell her tactfully ah? She did say she wants to look good for my wedding, and I really dun mind coming up with abt $100++ for her, but MTM?!?! At $200++?!?! I worry there might be a lot of hidden cost leh...

i also agreed tat wedding is the only time tat can wear something revealing & sexy without being critised. *phew* i also like those bare back, mermaid cut, slit, lace, anything tat's sexy... but dun have a figure to kill leh.. *hai*

jus went for my fitting last sun.. my gf took some pixs for me... ai yo, almost fainted when i see the pix... so "bak bak" sia... cannot lah, really must go on diet... if not, definitely a big no for bare back & mermaid cut *sob*

the bridal shop really asked me to push my breasts together to see the "long kao" or put more padding at the bottom to push up more. but she din say can tape leh...

i also wan flowergal & pageboy... but can only get pageboy.. no young niece ard me leh.. so sad.. if not, it'll be nice to have them ard, so cute rite?

ivory
where're you having your ROM? i think A-line will look good on you. dun go for those really pong pong one, it'll only make you look bigger.

Ivory,
Actually the V thing at the waist is called a basque design or something like it. Nothing to do with princess cut. Since you like it and it suits you, then it's one detail down! HEheheeh..Well for your cousin, think its more like a flower maid that flower girl. Hhaha...well maybe she can still dress up (but not like 3-5year olds)and follow you around like a little bride's maid? You know....I have 3 godchildren and I have never seen them before. I was already here when my friend gave birth to all 3 of them. The boy should be about 5 by next year, the girl will be 4 so lucky me.

AngelBB,
Sounds like Imperium gives out a pretty good deal. I think the place looks very grand too probably cos of the decor itself and the covered seats. Do you get the whole place to yourself? They have a minimum no. of tables required...? Hehehe...if you think you will feel comfortable with a see-thru dress then go ahead but then are you very sure your FH won't mind? It'll be fun lah cos you don't get to dress up like that very often. But just try to make sure that the dress would get you positive comments lor cos no matter what, Asian society is still very conservative.

Think most bridal stores will encourage brides to wear push up bras or use those stick ons. I bought a box before but I didn't use it in the end. Worried that if I didn't stick it right, then one side might appear higher than the other. Those tapes apparently do push the breasts up and closer, depending one what you want. I saw a friend of mine use it during her engagement party. Really works man! She has a cleavage all of a sudden! HAhaahha...

Lin,
No matter what, must try and bribe your sisters to be bride's maids. Hmmmm...if your sis doesn't like to wear dress, then maybe tailor a pants suit? You know..make it look dressy...can be very elegant too.

Antares and Ivory,
I'm also a t-shirt and jeans gals. Mother actually told me to stop buying jeans and start dressing up more. HEheheh...but very comfy. In S'pore its a bit hot to wear jeans out in the day (used to be able to tahan the heat...but not anymore) so its t-shirt and shorts and sandals!

Cyn,
Don't sigh too much....I'm in the same boat as you. Too meaty. And whats worse is when you wear a gown and look at yourself in the mirror, sometimes I still don't feel so bad, but when you see yourself in the pictures...then its so different...A lot more "substanc" Damn cameras..

aiyo... msg missing.. gotta retype again...

Hi antares

My ROM gown is champagne color, tube, A-line, V waistline..

Lin

Alamak! Shawl means amah??? My shop is loaning me a golden organza shawl to go with my gown leh…

AngelBB

Im making my own crystal accessories lah
thanks anyway, will go there and have a look sometime for new ideas

Is ur good fren married? If not, then u ask her to help u draw out a budget for the wedding. Then hint hint to her say u worry both u n ur FH salaries may not be able to cover cos u oni be able to save how much each mth.. Then she’ll know ur high costs and mayb be more zi4 dong4 and wun ask u to pay for her MTM gown? Actually I believe being ur good fren she would be more understanding n won’t add on to your burden?

cyn

me will be having at ROM premises

I tried ken-ken type before, look alright on me but maybe won’t choose dat type cos my bf worri tripping on my gown

Me oso can’t wear bare back now, bit if my designer comes up with some jaw-dropping design, then die die I will jian fei to look mei mei

Wendy A&W

Oh.. not princess ah? Nevermind lah, as long as it look nice nice can liao lor

wow...everyone seems to be choosing sexy EG...sob sob..me is the odd one out..me EG is non bare back nor one that will show off any "Long gao" =P

My fren used masking tape to create the pushup effect...but care must be taken when u pull it off...she just wack it out and think tore of some surface skin *ouch*

hi angelBB, yah $200+ each for a bridesmaid gown is too exp liao...... getting married is so heavy a burden u shouldhn't be forced to spend much more loh.....is she a close friend? if she is, perhaps u can tell her directly. like say nicely, "wah $200 exp leh, you will surely go "pok gai" one... financially very tight liao." or if u have friends who get married b4, perhaps u can cite examples of her bridesmaid who just bought a simple dress, or better still, paid for her own dress. if your friend really looking forward to having a mtm gown, tease her that she will get her chance when she get married lah....

hi Lin, to ur qn, i signed up for a spa romance package over the internet. costs US$651+++ for garden view sala, 3 nights stay for two pax, 3.5 hours couple massage in mandara spa, complimentary breakfast, mercedes limo transfer. this when convert to Sing dollars is around $1140. on top of that, we paid $330 x 2 for silkair tickets, $39 x 2 for airport tax. that totals about $1880. then we spent around more than $700 for dinner and lunch, and more for gifts. we had 8000baht voucher from going to a Villa Tour, which offsets our cost. so at the end of the day, we pay around what we budgeted for, which is $2500........
hope this helps....

really too much postings for me to catch up ...

Cyn,
how was your bkk trip??? did any major damage to your wallet???
u still going for yr gym sessions???
hey me also like u ah, same same lah, also like all girls want to wear sexy nice gowns but too bad, too meaty for my own good so can't wear lor, if wear already sure look like walking dumpling ah..

Doremon,
yup collected my keys but have not done my homework yet for the contactors so will be looking around after my rom before starting renov but dun have much $$ to do too much renov so will have to source very carefully...

Wendy,
i have not seen the bachelorette, spore tv programme very slow ah, when my cousin from US came down, he was so shocked we are still watching Frens from the last few seasons ah....

Sweetgal82,
maybe u can try Le Mederian, Traders, novotel, riverside hotel and corpthrone Orchard, think these few hotels should be around that price range but i have attended a wedding at New Otani and the food is not bad..so maybe u can consider that one, for Furama, i only know their newly renovated ballroom is very nice but either that im not sure if the rest of the ballroom are just as nice

Noticed from some of the postings, u girls do not have most of the contacts such as email address, i have complied the list but am still awaiting for some newbies to send their details to me, also for those brides with any change in details please drop me a mail and i can make the changes...i will be sending out the contact list which i have early next week...if i do not received any mails from u girls, will just take it that all details remains..

Also, Would like to inform all 04 brides that our next gathering is on the 2nd of May 2003 Fri..
Please let me know who's coming for the gathering...either thru postings or email

hi pebbles, wah 2nd may? when did we discuss this or did i miss something huh? *scratch head*. anyway 2nd May is fine with me....

hi binbin,
thanks for the detailed expenditure. i need to discuss with FH with this. Might be flying to japan this coming june to meet him to discuss our wedding preparation. At first thought, since i'm there, to take wedding photos too. But..i don't know how much photograher there cost and moreover, don't know where to get it also. FH also too busy to do such things. Search on the internet..everything in japanese..like as if i can read like that.
so, aiya..forget itlah.. it'll just be another normal trip again..

Need to ask you another thing..

You're wearing kebaya right for your tea ceremony? i might want to use that for my dinner. Are you getting at Amor meus? Do you know what is the range price for a kebaya at Amor meus? I know a malay shop at Far East plaza selling kebaya. But their's is off-shelf. They don't do MTM. And it's a bit too simple for a wedding. I just bought the kebaya top only there, cost me around $110. Haven't include the sarong..

hi WendyA&W,
tailor made for my sister can be exleh... my mom can sew..but she got no time. aiya... seelah. maybe ask my aunty or FMIL. i scared my sister back out last minute like my engagement day..dun want to wear. so like you suggested lor.. maybe sew those nice nice pants. i was thinking probably those baggy pants. sigh..hopefully, can get same colour as my sister. My the other sister have been looking out for her dress already! *faint.

hi ivory,
hehe... i can't help thinking about it lah. because during dinner..those wear shawl tend to be older women. i find it quite troublesome during dinner to walk around with the shawl. my mom told the designer that i must cover up a bit if i wear tube. Then my designer suggested wearing shawl. later when i go back... i shall tell my designer, i don't want to wear shawl. so, in replace of that, i shall wear a kebaya to satisfy my parents.

alkaff mansion is having some bridal show on 4th may 2003. both me & FH can't make it..

Anyone know if there's going to be a bridal show that (not for bridal studios..but dinner banquet) end of the year?

anyone knows a hotel that have charge sit-down dinner per table around $550+++ to $600+++ on weekend? most of the time i got for quotation is $700+++. Is that the market-rate for weekends in hotel??

hi Ivory,
ya lor. I always feel more comfortable with jeans..

my make up skill is pretty bad..:P but if for some special occasions, I will try to apply light make up..:P cos' if try slightly heavy make up, think i will look like a clown..:P
Your ROM gown sounds quite elegant to me..
Think Champagne color is a nice color..

wah..You are a really creative and talented girl .. still can make your own crystal accessories..

hi WendyA&W,
I think I am used to wearing jeans during the day in singapore already lah..haha..
What is your attire to school in Canada? Also T-shirt and jeans?

hi AngelBB,
is it that your friend thought that she will be the one paying for the gown? So maybe that's why she is suggesting MTM?
But $200+ for a bridesmaid dress is quite ex..
Just wondering, does bridal shop provide rental of bridesmaid dress?

Hi Marie,
think u are not alone lah. Although I haven't chosen my gown yet, I think my one will not be
a bare back one..

hope I din miss out any posting, I am a bit blur blur today...:P

Lin

then i better take some photos with my shawl on to convince u dat it looks nice with tube actually

antares

yeah.. i oso find it a bit too glam for ROM oni, but my bf dun like those white color selection available (not much for me to choose from anyway.. all need major alteration..) so i make do with it lor.. dun wan to spend $$ n buy a dress which i dun even have a chance to wear in future

kekeke... i welcome any orders for crystal accessories oh..

can ask a favor from u all? anybody in the habit of taking health supplements? my fren just asked if i can help her sell off some of her stock, she brought in too many and wun mind to let go at cost price....

hi Lin, u are welcome abt the quotes.... actuali, perhaps it's not advisable to travel much these few months lah..... quite dangerous with the SARS and the war going around....or perhaps i am too paranoid... :P marriott resort is a nice place to visit. but actuali, if we had planned our trip at this time, we wouldn't have gone..... just that our trip was before the SARS thing go bad..... anyway, think abt it kae?

you are right, i am thinking of getting amor meus.
well, not been there to check, but rem reading b4 that a simple one costs less than $200. a elaborate one with much embroidery costs $400 plus..... i am thinking of getting something somewhere in the middle, so i can wear to friend's wedding next time and not look too glam.

hi galz...
me blur... so many postings today... plus had a bad day @ work!!

ivory,
think my meat more at the tummy... how to push!?!?!?
think i will jus live with a non-prominent front lah!!

hmm.... champagne is a nice col... good choice!

antares,
agree with wat wendy said.. think its more a bridesmaid than a flower girl... but jus let her b a bridesmaid lor.... have multiple bridesmaid if u r getting ur frens to b one too...

hee... me n my sis hve been sharing clothes all our lives.. cos we r of the same size n height... only shoes cannot... me got big feet!! ha ha...

antares/ivory/wendy,
ya.. me also prefer t-shirt n jeans... but nowadays wear mostly bermudas, cropped pants.. cos less hot... only while working then more dressy lah..

lin,
ya.. me also got a few pimple on n off... so, planning to start caring for the back soon...

angelbb,
hee hee... ya lor.. my idea is also jaw-dropping kind.. also think my parents, MIL, n those old relatives will start to comment... but then, must convince my hubby first.. then, the rest.. r not impt!!

u seem to have an idea for ur EG liao leh.... can share?!?

wow... imperium sounds like quite grand n good... mayb will check it out.. do they have a show coming up?? wat's the price range??

yes... icon is the one tt u always see in those teen mags when we were young... the shop is quite old looking.. n most clothes on the rack r like cheongsams, more auntie kinda clothes.. but they do quite alot of MTM for gowns... pple r nice... n the price is actually quite ex lah.. for my ROM gown.. its mid length n already costs 299 (no details, jus a plain tube a-line? gown)... materials wise, they hve samples for u to choose.. also quite flexible cos the cloth tt i chose no more stock, n they replace with a similar n more ex one, with no additional charges to me....

wah... 200+ for bridesmaid dress is really too high lah... can negotiate a little or not??? if she's ur best fren... perhaps, jus b honest n say tt ur budget really tight.. n 200+ a dress wun fit into ur budget?!? think she will understand one lah...

cyn,
u went for first fitting ah... can share share...
wah... *long kao*.. did u try.. think tape also not much effect for me...

wendy,
wah... so, u actually saw a real-life test case for the tape push-up lah... hmmm... wonder if it will work for moi!!!!! *ha ha ha*

u r really luck to hve sooo many godchildren... most of my nephews n nieces r grown up.. or r still infants... so, doubt i will hve any flower girl or page boy....

marie,
ur fren veri daring hor... jus wack the tape off!!! i'm sure it really hurt badly aft tt!

pebbles,
my details still remain.. no changes yet!
wah.. gathering on 2nd May... will b the first gathering for me with u gals... shd not be a problem.. will confirm closer to the date... hee.. feelin a little excited leh... *hee hee*

oh ivory... u mentioned abt health supplements... wat r they??? how abt prices???

hi ladies, jus wan to share my excitement.. jus done up an idea for my invite.. haha.. i'm impressed by myself.. feel so excited. when i finalised everything then i'm gog show to my FH.. hopefully he gives me 2 thumbs up... =)

wendy
you're rite.. this morning when i look at myself in the mirror.. not tat meaty wat... jus dun understand those camera... can someone jus invent one tat make use look slimmer? =P

ivory
tat day when i tried my WG with ken ken... ai yo, i keep kicking gown.. haha, my fren warned me better stop kicking & dun trip over my own gown tat day... wil be damn ugly & malu man.. haha

marie
*ouch.. tat must be painful man.. how's ur EG gog to be? as long as you like & feel comfortable, then it'll be a nice EG. we're the one to bring out the gown..

pebbles
my bkk trip ok lah.. din spend much.. nothing much to get. lately haven been gyming.. u leh? had arranged a PT next sat. 2nd may is fine with me..

angel
if they're really ur good frens, they shd be able to understand ur situation... dun "yin yin lai" if not pocket burnt, heart pain arh. maybe you could subscidise a sum then the bal jus tell to top up lor.

hi binbin,
Okie..yeah..i think i will get somewhere in the middle. $400 to expensive for me man! But i will have to look how simple is the $200. When you getting those? I will be back end of the year. So, will go there the moment i get back. I wanted to get it in malacca, but a bit troublesome to go up to malaysia and back to singapore always.

have you book your dinner banquet? Brides have start booking their banquet for next year wedding. i'm kinda worried, if cannot get the date i want.

hi ivory,
yes, please do take a picture and show me!
Because most of the brides pictures that i saw here, none of them wear scarf during dinner. All very sexy clothes.

hi antares,
bridal shops do have rental for bridesmaid clothes. But the price to rent is as good as buying a brand new gown. I can recommend you this shop, Daniel Yam. The price range is around $100 to $100+. I'm getting my bridesmaid clothes there.

hey,
anyone going to alkaff mansion bridal fair on 4th may???

pebbles,
so far no bridal fairs here. i also found out, most of the bride here do make-up on their own leh..

forest
arh, you mean the tape... no have lah, pain sia... they jus ask me tp ush to the front. my gown is a corset kind, criss cross at the back, aline with a bit of train... the front not low enough, got long kao also kana hidden.. so have ask them to cut deeper.. hey, wonder can we push the meat at the tummy down to the bottom so can be hidden by the ken ken... hee..

I am new to this thread. Looks like everyone knows everyone so well here ; ) To the extend that I had to check the topic "wedding in 2004" twice as most of you were so informative and looks like wedding's happening this year. Am I in the right thread?
I will be heading for ROM in Oct 2003, customary wedding in 3rd qtr of 2004...

Halo to all,

I'm also very new here, planning to ROM and customary in June 2004, but nothing has being done yet, cos too many suggestions and comments, and dun knw how to react to them, very confusing leh.

Can all the sisters out there advice me on how u all decide on your wedding, just carry on with what u think u can afford and like, or take in advice? Of cos the 'elderly' meant good, but really very 'jia lat' for us loh....

Help help k! Thks thks!

Hi Pebbles,
My email address is [email protected]. Sori I posting it here, dun know where to find your email address...
Eh, what other details you need ah? Wedding & ROM date is 3rd Apr, banquet is KIV Imperium, Boutique leh... hahaha! Still "window shopping"...
. But hor, 2nd May I may not be able to come leh, unless you all dun mind I appear late? Cos I'm chionging for Film Festival shows, and already bought tickets for 2nd May, 9pm show liao. Likely will end around 11am. But I night owl one lah, so if you all staying up late, I can join you all for kopi!

Hi Ivory,
Wah, you know how to make your own accessories?!? So nice! Then you can make ALL the designs you like liao!

Hi Wendy,
I havent discuss details of the package with the Imperium people yet, but I think will have to book maybe minimum 30?40? tables if wanna have the place to myself. Hopefully they'll gimme a good deal, but I'm not sure what to bargain for yet... Hahaha! I think I have to "check out" other places to practice my bargaining skills first, then will meet up with Imperium for the front line "BATTLE"!

Hi forest,
There's a show coming up on the 20th April. Price range for the tables starts from (I think) $638++ for weekdays & $700++ for weekends. Food will be good! So far when I mention Imperium to my friends and relatives, they go like "Oh!!! Yah!!! Tung Lok!! Wah.... the food very solid one ah!"
So I guess likely I'll be aiming there liao. So far had a good impression of them.

As for EG leh... heehee! You're right! I have some ideas for the design liao. But still open to new ideas lah! Was thinking of a dark pink lace EG with lotsa shiny shiny beads, cheongsam high-collar, with very VERY low V-neck. Not sure whether wanna have train or not, but will likely hold a pink feather fan!
. Another idea is a gold colour halter neck, A-line, bare back (until the hip!), lace and lotsa shiny beads too! But this will have to depend on how I look in gold colour, as well as whether my back is showable or not!
Hahahah!

And thank you all SO MUCH for the tactful ways of telling my friend about the MTM bridesmaids gown. Yah, she's my best friend, known her since more than 10years ago. I think I really gotta tell her about my budget, but maybe a bit later in the year lah, now not sure how to bring up this subject... but will wait til the next time she mentions this, or until end of this year?
. And really like the idea of hinting that she will have a chance to MTM for her own wedding.... thanks binbin!
Have to practice saying this "light-heartedly" so that when the time comes, I will be prepared... I dun know whether she was thinking of coming up with the $ or not cos I did mention to her I wanna buy her the bridesmaid gown. Asked her whether she would prefer something non-white (maybe silver or purple), cos I thought if next time she wants to use, can still wear for other functions. But she said she wants to wear white, cos it's not everyday she can be a bridesmaid... this I understand lah, cos if it was me, I would also want to be a White Bridesmaid lor...

I'm still gyming... wah, so many people in the evening. Today my first time in the evening go gym, never realised it can be so crowded. Think I'll go for the mornings one, so at least not paiseh to go and do the weights... not so many people looking at me... heehee...
. Anyone tried those aerobic classes before? What is good for a first-timer ah? Can 'gai siao' some easier ones? I'm a bit intimidated by the class, paiseh I go there malu myslef when I cannot catch up with all the step... So got those easy ones to try first?

Hi Questy & Onee,
Welcome!

Hey gals..!!

Welcome newbies Onee and Questy.

Onee..
Once you start coming in here often, you'll understand why it seems like ppl know each other well. We like to talk a lot you see...heheheh. I've only been here for about 3 months, but i'm very K-po so it looks like I've known the ppl here for a long time

Questy,
Relax...don't worry. Have you done anything at all?? or really nothing, nothing?

Pebbles,
So the Friends that you are watching are the episodes about Rachael bring pregnant or before that?

Lin, Ivory,
Actually I find having a shawl can be very elegant and it goes very well with tube top. I probably will get one that matches my EG then I can cover my fatty arms and back. But its true also lah, it can be pretty leh ceh holding on to a piece of cloth the whole night. Its personal preference. Depending one how you hold it, it can be very sexy if you don't cover too much of your shoulders. So for my case, its more of a cover up, but if you guys don't have problems with your arms, then just (how to say ah)hold it in the regular way withouth covering your shoulders. Probably those really soft and sheer materials will suit you guys.

Cyn,
Yah lor, stupid cameras make ppl look 10lbs heavier all the time. If they can make mirrors that make you look slimmer, they should be able to do the same to the cameras wat.Once you wear your corset gown, it'll be able to flatten your tummy already cos corset tops are usually quite hard right?

AngelBB,
How many bride's maids do you have? $200+ is pretty steep lah. Usually nowadays, bride's maid pays for her own dress...just to help out the bride. Have you tried checking the price of any tailors? I've heard that some charge about $150 (really depends on the style and material)material and labour cost all included. Don't know what your friend has in mind, maybe you can try those tailors and hopefully bring down the cost a little that way.

Lin,
Yah..those dress pants can be very formal and nice. You can definitely make it in the same colour so they both match.

Antares,
When I'm in school..usual outfit..jeans t-shirt/sweat shirts and jacket. Can't really be bothered to dress up. Some students here can bother to wake up at dunno what time in the morning to put on a full face of make-up (and attend 8am class), dress up until they dunno are going where and wear super high heels! (when it snows..ppl wearing regular shoes like us also can slip and fall already, dunno how these ppl walk around campus)so uncomfortable. Hero!

Forest,
Lucky you...can share clothes with sis. Quite fun this way. More variety.

Lin,
You know...regarding the pimples on the back, I used to have a problem with that too when I was young (seriously bad)then someone recommended me some chinese herbs (that was supposedly to help the pimples on my face. In the end...pimples on the face was still there but got rid of those on my back for some strange reason. If you want, can try those supposedly cooling herbs (must boil for dunno how long and taste pretty awful lah)

hi hi.
first of all, welcome to Onee and Questy.
19930.gif
. onee, remember me? hhehehe....yes yes you are in the right thread. see? i tot you this forum is very active.......hehhehehe.....

Questy, try not to get confused by the many conflicting opinions heaped upon u by well meaning friends....just take those opinions that u feel is reasonable and within ur budget. to do that, u could perhaps first draw up a budget with ur FH (aka future husband). including housing, reno, furniture, bridal, photos etc...and see if you have the $ or time to build in the rest... you must first ask urself what is the kinda wedding u have always dreamed of having, then think whether ur budget could accomodate it.

or perhaps u could share with us what did ur relatives suggest so we could more or less get an idea of what u mean?

angelBB, glad u like our ideas.....hhehehhee......we know that it's kinda hard to tell these kinda of things to a friend lah.......but we will support you.
btw, eeeerrrr.....just a personal opinion and observation lah.....usually bridesmaid dress will NOT be the same colour as the BRIDE. coz if so there will be a chance that guests may be confused, or even find the bridesmaid more striking. not being hiao here lah...hehhehe.......but it's true as it's what the bridal magazines usually say. the bridesmaid's gown is supposed to COMPLEMENT the bride's white wedding gown. not necessaily the same colour.....
hehehhehe.......just my tots lah, it's still up to you.

Cyn, congrats!!! can imagine ur excitement on the wedding invites....
must be something very unique and creative.
am sure ur FH will like it too.

Lin, yah $400 a bit ex for me tooo..... so u coming down in end of the year? perhaps if i have not chose the kabaya at that time we can go together loh.
fun mah...hehhehee......

yes i booked hotel liao, having wedding at Conrad. mine is first quarter of the yr, so have to book early loh.
perhaps u can do some research (thru internet) and shortlist somethings first? best to book early........or at least, TENTATIVELY book the date of the hotel early.... then come back and decide.
hehehhee...