(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
hi pebbles.
the free pass from the lady's card is either at the St Greg Marine Spa (for gold) or Javanna spa (for classic). :P it's not for novena.
really love the therapeutic spa leh, i signed up for the spa sampler package, original price about $250 paid $168+gst fo rit coz they have this on-going spa samplers which include a serious of message or facials plus the day spa membership. mine has the Japanese Wooden hot tub (mu tong) plus one Coffee Scrub Body Soft and one Aromo Body Bliss Massage plus the day spa membership. i made appt for 3.15, but decided to do the day spa first before the whole treatment. so their consultant brought me around the place and taught me where to wait later for the masseur. the personal locker has everything you need i.e. fresh towel, bathrobe, slippers, paper undie, shower cap and a disposable bag. went straight for the jacuuzi (unlimited use), so comfortable nearly fell asleep there....
there was only another lady there besides myself. among all the facilities, only the pool, jazuuzi and gym is shared. the rest (steam shower, suana and all treatment rooms) are separated into ladies and men. after about 20mins, went for my treatment. the Jap Mu tong is good too, soak myself inside, with a glass of iced lemon water, and nearly slept again..hehhehee......(i was super stressed after a morning proj demo and wished to relax mah).

the lady came and fetch me when time's up (coz the mu tong is only 20 mins) and brought me to the VIP suite for the 2 massgaes...hehehhehehe coz they that day full liao. mine is last min insertion so they let me use the VIP suite...hehhee... the scrub and massage very nice too, or maybe coz i feel beri pampered oredi so everything nice...
showered in between, then she brought me out. she asked me whether i wanna rest or leave, i said rest. so she brought me to the oxygenated ladies lounge...so comfy. got leather lounging chairs, sofas and such. enjoyed my refreshments and "nua" there for about 45 mins...hehhehe.....

Going to go again........

hey pebbles, regarding ur query in the le galleria thread, i asked storm abt it b4. think it was abou $600.
so qiao, i am also gonna do one leh....hhhhehehehe....perhaps we can go together some time later?

hey binbin,
wow, really serious pampering ah, u paid only $168 ah, so tempted to go try already but now must save money lah cannto anyhow spend ah...oh and me didn't make any postings in the le galleria thread ah...what is it about...???

Hi pebbles,
hee...yah...MIA for so long...aiya...actually i always log in, just no time to type posting.

I selected a spag stripe (with can-can) pure white WG with a very long train. Some emboriary (sew-on type)+beads+sequins design in front, same design also lined the bottom of the gown + the edge of train.

EG is halter neck ball gown in turquiose-marine-blue. It's on display yesterday and I fall in love with it at first sight leh.

Outdoor PS gown is bustier.

No lah, xiaopei busy with her customer. Yesterday suppose to be her rest day, din expect to see her there also. My designer is not Linda anymore, but ZhengRong (the very nice girl whom helped me to try a few gowns on the day i signed with them)

My previous appt hor... really not so good experience lor... no new WG n EG were showed to me. All look pretty worn out liao. Furthermore, linda will come up with many reasons to prevent me from trying the design I want lor. Her reasons simply not justified one leh. blah blah blah.... Really frighten me leh! I thought I made the wrong choice on bridal shop again! *shocked*

Leafy,
hey your EG sounds really nice..im designer as at now is still Linda, i know she dun look very nice lah but shes quite nice one, just spoke to xiaopei and she have put aside some gowns for me to chose hope the big me can fit into the gowns lah...dun worry wont make the wrong choice one, if u make the wrong choice i will also make the wrong choice mah..

pebbles, i think the person could have used the name "pebble" in the le galleria thread.....she asked about making a cheongsam from doreen.

yes the pampering is soo shiok hehehee....i need tlc every once in a while...so no choice this money have to spend.....beri affordable leh i find.hhehhee...

hi cyn,
okie
i'm sure it'll be very exciting to go for your 1st fitting.

hi pebbles,
i miss the bridal show held last week. Waiting for the next one. Will go check out. Hopefully FH agrees to take photo here.

pebbles
andrew is charging $950 for 7 rolls, a mixture of color & b/w... there's an package, $1800, 2 photographers, one taking color & the another b/w. i think something like 8 rolls each. u need his contact?

leafy
your EG color very unique leh... all your gowns are OTR?

hey gals, need some ideas... i'm looking at victorian theme for my wedding... but i've no idea how my EG shd look like to fit the theme... any ideas?

hi cyn,
my designer told me victorian theme is the "in-thing" now.
Hmm..why not ask your designer to do some sketches? I think it should be those long flowing gowns with lots of laces and the skirt will be a "ballroom kind."

Cyn,
I've checked out Andrew Tay's portfolio online here and I really like his style too. Besides him..also considering Nick Goh, Photo Language or something photo and maybe Andrew Choi. Initially Amos and I thought we'd go with Chris Ling, but later discovered the others who are just as good. So why pay the extra $3-4000 right. Hmmm....if your bridal store won't deduct too much if you don't want the photgrapher, how about asking for accessories or another gown..stuff like that to help ease the "pain" a little

Oh my god...the spa sounds heavenly. Really want to go back there again. I had such a wonderful experience in a spa that I too am hooked! But can't afford it for now...wait till I'm employed or something. The atmosphere is just so relaxing. Makes you want to stay there the whole day...

Leafy,
Your gown sounds very beautiful. How poofy is it? Do you still have to wear those thing that looks like an umbrella under the skirt? I tried 1 ballgown here.....that one was too 'pong' and complicated looking, but I'll still like too try some other simplier ones if I can find any.

Lin,
Its not that the food here sucks..its just that the variety we get here isn't even close to what we can get back in S'pore. Over there in Perth, there are malaysian, S'porean food right? Not cheap but at least you have something familiar when you are craving for it. Over here, lots of vietnamese and cantonese food. Some are quite good. But if you want local food, then the beef here is good. Calgary is called Cow-Town. HHehhee..sometimes you still see men in cowboy hats and boots.

BinBin,
hahhaha...i guess as much that u got that pebble and me mixed up, i just found out that she is my ex schoolmate...
i also think the cost of the spa is affordable lah but now me very focused in saving up for my wedding...so try not to spend too much on myself..

Lin,
oh, do check out the bridal shows, they are really very different from the ones in spore, i really love the show, there's so many things to check out, all the bridal shops and all the photographers and make up artise..worth going..
oh yeah, if u happen to see any contact for good make up artise, can trouble u to get their price list from them...thanks!!!

Cyn,
his package sounds reasonable ah...did u check out Fastsoup photographery, his work is also very good but i think he's a bit on the high end side ah...can i have Andrew contact...maybe will consider him...but how much is he charging for additional roll...

wendy
i do agreed... why do we have to spend tat extra money since their standard are equally good. might as well use tat sum for other stuff...

pebbles
nope, din chk out fastsoup... andrew's hp: 9686 7894... if i'm not wrong, he charges $40 per additional roll.

hi cyn,

yes, both my WG n EG are OTR. My pkg is MTM, but since I found someything OTR, I'm contented.

yah... my EG fabric is unique... erh...dunno how to describe leh...

hi wendy,

erh...yes, need to wear can-can (the "umbrella") it do look "pong". The size of can-can can be adjusted. I'm not the slim type, so ball gown more suitble for me.

(gown settled)I'm intensively looking for actual day photographer now. Any recommendation?

Cyn,
Thanks!!! will check them out after i settle my hotel and house...

Wendy,
i think photo language is quite good and i personally feel that Chris ling price is too ex and over rated

hi binbin,
no, I din go to the taka show.. got something on that day..

hi cyn,
what is "Victorian theme" ?...
:P

hi wen76,
I think the service of River City is pretty ok. As for the food, I personally find it quite ok too but my uncle said very nice.

Have a nice day, girls...

leafy
once again i'll recommend andrew tay from the edge... i've engaged him for actual day too.

mmh... antares, how do explain to you huh... think something like ancient english kingdom, where royal families held lots of lots of balls.. perhaps something cinderlla times... gals, pls correct me if i'm worng.. really duno how to describe...

pebbles
which hotels have you shortlisted? your house in the mid of renovating?

thanks cyn!

u know flowee? she also recommend A Tay.

I'll shortlist a few to consider( in case Andrew already been booked )

leafy
saw her nick ard.. quite a few FBO brides recommend him too. no worries, in case he's booked, he'll recommend his friend.. if you really keen on him, book early... saw his appointment book, wow he's really busy.. btw, when's ur big day? too lazy to refer to the list... hee..

Hello there,

All of you have been really helpful in the planning, even tho i don't post, but always read!

Am thinking about photographers now and sounds like Andrew Tay is popular!Does anyone have Andrew Tay's website address? I would like to look at his portfolio online if it is available.

Used to want to use Chris Ling or Studio D'fia - but waaah, so expensive! $3-4K for actual day!

Thanks gals!

Cyn,
Currently the shortlisted hotels are pan pac, Marriott and GCW, still thinking which should i take, if i dun meet up to 50 tables can't take pan pac so might chose either Marriott or GCW , as for house, still not done anything yet..

u mean A Tay is so popular ah...but is his price reasonable ah...i have not done my research so dun know what is the market rate...

Hi silk,
Think Andrew Tay's website is www.theedge.com

Antares,
Think the victorian theme is that era where ppl literally painted their faces white. Women wore corsets that pushed up their chests(usually always revealing their cleavage). Their gowns are really poofy, usually with a square neckline and 3/4 length sleeves that sort of flares towards the end. Can you picture it? Think that should be right.

Pebbles,
Yeap...photolanguage has that pretty candid style that I really like. Well...good thing we have more than one to choose from. Decisions, decisions, decisions....the headache will start next year.

pebbles
andrew's price is slight higher tat market rate. some charge $650 for 8 rolls ( color only) or service charge at $350, per roll at $35-$45...

wendy
thx for explaining... tat's rite... tat's how it'll look like... but think i'll give up the sleeves..

Hi gals!!

Wow..me MIA for my exams for last 2 weeks and i cant keep up with the postings! Hehehe

Oh for those interested in engaging Ray Ong from Photolanguage, you need to book him about a year ahead. That is what he told me. Anyway, me signed up with him for my actual day. Like his style...found it to be very vibrant. ..i think he looks abit like the ex TCS actor Zheng Wen but the better looking one lar...hehe

Hey..anyone started searching for their videographer?? Me really lax..not done anything since finalizing bridal shop and photographers..
=( Any recommendations for videography?

Binbin,
you making cheongsam? Me tot of making one too! Where u getting yrs from? I like the cheongsam Lina Ng wore for the Ren Ci charity, anyone knows where she got that from?

Oopps...heheh..yeah I got the website wrong.

So most of you booked your photographers a year in advance? Hmmmm...then I guess we'll need to find one by end of this year then just to be on the safe side.

Hi Cyn,
Yup I got the flat from the recent balloting exercise. It's a 5-room flat and we're playing $331,300 for it. They are building a few new blocks just next to the hawker centre which I think location is also pretty good
So go for it! How come must wait til Sept? You found out that they will only be open for sale then?

Hi binbin,
the spa voucher is for day spa at Rustic Nirvana...made an appointment a week b4 my ROM! Will let you gals know if it's good after the experience! My fren just started workng at St Gregory's Spa leh..I should ask her to give specal rates for brides to be like us hor? heh

Hiya Lin!
Is it easy to get hold of the Peter Dawson guy if I wanna have my PS in Perth? (still thinking abt the vintage cars I saw there...) Do you have his contacts?

Pebbles, will update you when I have decided on my bridal and hotel

Blessed Weekend everyone!

hi indigo....i would like to try rustic nirvana too...interetsed in their chopsticks, sandstone massage. also their food spa cafe...

hey possible to ask ur friend from st greg to give discount or not? hehehehee.......

yesterdey went amrita spa in swissotel to see the facilities and membership......the place looks as good as st greg leh....hhehehee......

marie, me dunno where lina ng made hers leh....but sometimes certain cutting may look nice on her but not on us loh.....
me thiking of asking doreen from le galleria...but will check out the prices closer to the date lah....

Cyn,
yeah i also think it's a tough choice but will wait for my guestlist to be completed first before deciding cos i still dun know how many tables i will need....i think the victorian look is nice...i like those gowns which Drew berrymore wore in Everafter...very lovely....
so for Andrew, he also belong to those more ex ones lah...will check out his website..so if we are going for the more popular photographers then we have to book one year in advance ah, abit KS rite

Wendy,
i believe your decision making will start come end of this year cos your wedding is end of next year rite...but it's really decisions decisions and lots more decisions ah....

Indigo,
If u r really interested in having your PS in Perth then i won't recommend Peter Dawson guy, if u check out his website, he's work is not as good as the rest and he's price is also not cheap, there are many better photographers in perth...did u give me your email address ah, maybe u can give me then i can email u and Lin a list...

indigo
i agreed the location is good. not sure when they're open for sale.. the reason to wait til sept cos my FH can only sell his flat then, so no choice lor.

pebbles, i din get to watch everafter leh.. perhaps shd get the VCD.

marie & binbin
i'm also thinking of cheongsam but think it doesnt match my victoria theme.. maybe for the tea ceremony...

happen to saw this info from the other thread:
cheongsam tailors
1) Allan Chai (62277184)
2) Beijing Cheongsams (64687697)
3) Cheongsam Gallery (63481928 / 62557010)
4) Peter Chew (67811926)
5) The Dress Shop (63384806)
6) Joanna Foong (97630938)
7) Lam Po Chung (62521949)
8) Frederick Lee (63234372)
9) H&W International (62413268)
10) Single Fashion Centre (67345063)
11) Yue Hwa (70 Eu Tong Sen St)

if you need the price range, let me know.. i've the new paper article on cheongsam tailor. =)

hi antares

Thanx for your information. My hubby and I decided to go down this sun to try on their food and service.hehe..Btw we have already book the church sevices and the wedding dinner on 28/2/2004..Finally all done.Now waiting to see my designer from IC,appointment on thurs.Hope this will go smoothly too...

Btw got any DIY slimming formula..hehe...
I have hear of high protein deit no rice n noodles n bread..I am trying it out for the last 2days..hehe..

hi WendyA&W,
oh..okie. nice place
Interesting.

hi Pebbles,
waiting for the next bridal show to come up. So, i can go & start making comparisons. You got the photographers contact? eh..email me leh.

hi Indigo,
i haven't make any comparisons of photograhphers yet. Neither the bridal studio nor make up artist. so, until i make comparisons, then, i can give you some contacts .
i can't seem to post the peter dawson website address here..must be the forum restrictions. if you want to see the website, email me. my email is [email protected]

hi ladies!
Wonder where's everyone during weekends? So long didn't hear from A&W, binbin..hmm.. Wendy A&W, where are you?

Have you girls did some research on actual day photographers? I find that actual day photographers are very expensive. Give me some recommendation ok? Have you girls heard of Yew Kwang.. i heard it's quite cheap.

hi cyn,
Victorian theme sounds so cool. Where are you going to hold your banquet? Will it be Victorian decorations too?? Very grand. If you can make your guests dress up, it will be even nice!

Hi Lin..!
I'm BACKK..!Been reading the postings, just that i haven't post any comments. But you know what...talking about guests dressing up. I actually wanted to do a ball theme where the ladies all dress up in cinderalla ball gowns. So cool. But Amos said "you just wear whatever you please but don't expect all your guests to dress up just for you" So guess I can't really do that. My relatives will definitely dress up in suits and gowns. Then again, we are not going to have any dancing during the dinner anyway....so forget it lor.

Wen76
Well avoiding rice and yellow noodles is definitely a way of loosing weight. But you probably won't be able to loose much. My mom tried abstaining from rice for about a few months to dunno a year and she only managed to lose a couple of kilos. Its really hard for me to stay away from rice cos i love it so much. I've tried this water-based diet which kinda works. Basically, eat stuff with more water content like home made soups, watermelon. Eat kwe tiao with soup (but don't drink too much soup if you are eating out). Of course...loads of veggies and fruits to fill you up. Stay away from bananas, honeydew melons or rock melons sort of fruit cos they are harder to digest. Try and eat less red meat too. So if you want, give it a try. Of course don't deprive yourself of things you like too lah..hehehe..I cannot resist food

Leafy,
So a ballgown suits ppl who are not so slim huh? Hmmm...then maybe I should consider that. Cos now when I try on A-line gowns, they are usually very long so I can't see if it'll make my hips look bigger when its my length.... Did you like yourself in an A-line?

Wondering if I can join in this thread. I'm getting married next year too. I've now booked my bridal package only. Have not confirmed my wedding dinner venue yet. Have not ROMed yet too. Will be holding my solemnisation during my dinner (hopefully can find a JP for this).

I'm now trying to find a way to slim down....

Hi PG,

Welcome to the family.
How abt a short introduction on yourself. Eg: have u confirmed your wedding date already? When is it? And which bridal have u booked?

For pebbles, leafy, wendy26, cc2, bubbles, blusher and myself are the "pioneer" of the family. We all started to plan our wedding in year 04 however as time passes by, some of us have moved to year 03. Yess..plans do change along the way. For me, i still stick to Year 04. Same same as u, i have not decided on my ROM date or customary date. Still thinking. But now, my search is on venue for ROM and maybe a bridal boutique too.
No wedding dinner for me, i decided a big NO for it. That is about all on myself.

Hi PG,

Welcome! Hopefully we can all share ideas or help each other along the way.

Doremon,
So you are not planning to have a wedding dinner? What will you be doing.... if you don't mind me asking.

My bf and myself are getting married on 12 March 2004. It'll be on a weekday (Friday). No choice, we went to get a wedding date based on the Chinese calendar, so since we go and ask already, better stick to it.

I'll be staying at my in-laws' place first after our customary, as we are waiting for our lovenest to be built. I'm also agaainst wedding dinner, like doremon. But havee to please the old folks, so we told them tat we just want a comfortablee numbeer of tables... our jobs are already too stressful for us to plan too much for our wedding. My bridal boutique is Bridal Concept. As for dinner venue, might be looking at restaurants instead of hotels.

hi WendyA&W,
What amos said is true. Very hard to ask the guests to dress up. Unlike overseas, the guests do dress up.
No matter how simple the dresses, the bride & groom here always look beautiful. And they get to go around in limosines or vintage cars. Very romantic.
Singapore to do that..kinda expensive.

Hi PG,
welcome

Hi Lin,
That is so true. Normally caucasians will dress up for anything...even funeral. And it doesn't matter where the wedding takes place...they'll still wear dresses or suits. What a pity right. Cos I thought...once in a lifetime, can create a ball just for a day. Never mind lah, our closest friends and relatives will dress formally and that's good enough. You know....over here in Calgary, ppl use ugly ribbons to decorate bridal cars. Most ppl basically use some round, ball ribbons and just stick it all over the car. So the bridal cars here look like they've got measles or something...not nice at all. I'd rather they just leave the car as it is.

Hi Lin,

Yes..Yew Kwang is good. I have not reviewed his work yet but I have heard abt his work is good. And his price is a lot more reasonable than the rest. U can call him at 97608980. But make sure u booked him fast as my friend told me that he is already quite fully booked.

He does journalist type of photos too. Will be getting him for my customary too

Hi WendyA&W,

Most probably will be doing reception after tea ceremony for the guests and dinner time, just have two tables for families and helpers will do

Hi WendyA&W,
That's quite interesting in Calgary. hahha
The other day, i just saw 3 bridal cars on the road while i was walking! And they're all so beautiful. The bestmen were all dressed up and they were in the open-air vintage car. When me & my friend walked passed them, they looked at us, winked eyes & waved. hahahah

Hi doremon,
Thank you for the info!
He's fully booked? You mean for even 2004 wedding?

<FONT COLOR="purple">PG/wen76,</FONT>

To slim down, minus away the rice, noodles and bread from ur meal should help. Do light exercise everyday while watching TV.

I just started my slimming regime last week. My PS in one month's time, will let u know if my method effective or not!

<FONT COLOR="purple">Wendy,</FONT>
If u r tall, A-line will give an elegant &amp; sexy look.

A-line look nice too, but just tt ball gown with a V-shape cutting at tummy area seems to slim down my waistline perceptually. So I take the "pong" one lor...

<FONT COLOR="purple">Indigo,</FONT>
Which area u ballot for? Have u got ur keys?

<FONT COLOR="purple">Doremon,</FONT>
How's Yew Kwang's pricing? how u know he's good? I actually read up one thread...many good comments on him so I will be meeting him lor... Also meeting Alan Dai (but he's booked, so he will recommend his partner to me instead.)... how huh? In terms of service, which is better?

Binbin,
i went to the Taka bridal fair and bought the massage from Rustic Nirvana, it's the chopstick one but have not gone for it yet will let u know if it's good..
How's your rom prep coming along?? found your venue already, still no news from the Sky garden ah...??

Wendy,
i think it's really very difficult to get your guest to actually dress formally, it's really very nice if we can turn our wedding to a mini ball rite just like those fairy tale but i think very difficult esp in spore, i dun think our relatives will bother to spend extra just to get a ball gown...

Wen76,
i think Wendy suggestion to slimming down are good but i guess im not in a very good position to advise u too lah cos me too am so big size...but one thing is for sure, i believe in excerising, if u can go thru what Wendy suggested with excerising u will sure see reduction in your weight, so far i have not being successful in the dieting part, just love food so much will always eat first and worry later...

Lin,i will be sending u the list of photographers thru email later..

Indigo,
u want the list of photographers which i have complied, please give me your email so that i can forward it to u too..

Welcome PG, hope we can share all the nice experiences we have in our wedding prep..

Hey PG,
we have a contract list for the 04 family, u want to give me some of your particulars..
such as your bridal, wedding date,hotel,future love nest,rom date, hp no and email address...
u can email me..at [email protected]