(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
hi antares, welcome....
my customary in march 04, ROM in march this year. decided on bridal (Divine Couture) and booked hotel liaoz.... march seems a popular month recently.....u better go source fast....

lin, flipped thru the mag (Wedding Travel 2003), yummy cakes from Conrad, The Patissier (18 Ann Siang Rd #01-01 Tel 62205565). The latter have very yummy sugary looking cakes.....wah, really salivating. both places have put real flowers...

A short history on wedding cakes from the mag

The cutting of the wedding cake is a symbollic gesture integral to most wedding ceremonis. Pagan desires for the rebirth and possession of the bride are imbued in the original matrimonial cakes. The bride is literally the cake, the cutting and consumption of her symbolic self was auspicious for the fecundity of the fields and also for her personal fertility.

Like the phallic maypole, the wedding cake has been romanticised by the Church, becoming palatable symbols of joy and festivity. The original hard wheaty cakes has been enriced by butter, eggs and sugar, valuable ingredients no peasant could possess. It is rich and sweet, to bode the same for the new marriage. Adornments festoon its sweetness and the sharing of the wedding cake between the bride and groom is as tender as the loving cup. So choose your wedding cake with your heart, and imbue it with love.....

A&W, my rom is in march THIS yr leh, so it IS an urgent matter, dunno whether JP can still be booked. very worried, got quotes for hotel soleminisation in Pan Pac and Grand Corpthorne waterfront, both not beri cheap leh. and also went to see the Botanic Gardens. They have a bandstand in which ppl usually do solemnisation. The view and scenery is so good, so green and fresh and colourful. an ideal location. the bandstand (actually a pavilion) also looks good, but when u walk in, the floors are a bit dirty and the walls are seasoned inside. of course lah, considering it's outdoors in a park mah....and there's not tables leh.....so dunno how to write or sign.......ANYONE knows about this????

Already called ROM, confirmed that they dun have available time slot at 10.30am liaoz. my orginal booking of 9am (with the intention of church afterwards) will now have my guests arriving at ANY eating place at 10.30am, funnie time for a meal. so now thinking of doing solemnisation AND meal at ONE place. but looking at prices of not more than $2600 for 40 plus ppl.

pebbles, leafy, cc2, any ideas of the above????

hi binbin,
wah...so romantic history of the symbolic meaning of wedding cakes!
Thanx for the recommendation of the cake shop

hmm..binbin, did you try Alkaff mansion if you're considering outdoor. I heard you can do solemnization there. And afterwards you can also have a buffet there too.

Hi Binbin,

If u wanna a place with beautiful scenery, I think GCW and Conrad will the choice. My x-col was interested in Conrad and found that cost for one pax is $70+++

Actually even though you have booked ur ROM time at 9 am, u can still delay for a while. During my ROM, my time was 11.10 but in the end we drag here and there and went into the room only ard 11.40.

You can still stick to ur ROM at 9 am and then have Tim Sum at ard 10.30. I suppose having Tim Sum at 10.30 should not be that weird.

CC2

hi icechoco.
yes the history is indeed romantic, makes me wanna get a real cake too when i read it. but due to cost, not going to spend on extra things lah....

well, i know of alkaff mansion, and i also know that they will charge $10K for the airconditioned tentage for big ceremonies. As for small ceremonies, think they will charge a few K for the usage of facilities, on top of that have to pay for the food.....hhehhee.....a bit too much for me leh... coz it's only for solemnisation not banquet dinner.but i know it's a beautiful place....
anyway, will prob call later see if the price is indeed so exp....

well, just found out a few places. Oaks Grill and Bar have a Courtyard garden for solemnisation, aterwards can proceed indoors for lunch. Blue Ginger at Tanjong Pagar (3 stories) have solenisation private rooms too, and a comfortable sit down dinner for 44 or 88 ( split into 2 floors) ppl, peranakan......boths looks good, but i lean more towards the garden one.....
will see how.......

also considering chinese gardens, but no food there right?

hi cc2, think we post at the same time missed ur posting...hehhee.....

i know conrad have, but as my wedding dinner is gonna be at Conrad, me dun wanna go there for solemnisation leh, or else experience not fresh mah hehhehehhehe.....:P

hey the tim sum is a good idea hor? will try caling rests and ask them whether got tim sum or not....any place u know?
u mean can postpone until 1/2 hour later one ah? that means u go and register later lah, so that ur name reaches the room late and they call you in late lah...? okie.....hhhhmmmm......will consider delaying for a while.

actually the manager at Blue Ginger is beri beri nice. he knows of my situation, and said the place is beri flexible. he can get his chefs and staff to come early that day (originally open at 11.30am), abt 1 hr earlier, so that they can prepare drnks for us to drink when we reach there at 10.30am, and lunch confirm ready at 11am....nice hor??? but if i take ur suggestion delay my rom then we can even reach there a a better time! hehehhehee.......

thanks thanks...

Hello

Bin bin,
Aiyo....I thought your ROM is March next year. Well your lst option is to call up all the JP you can find I guess. If I'm not mistaken, think you can get a list of JP from ROM and you can try your luck and see if anyone of them can fit into your schedule. I wish you all the best. As for venues...yah, Alkaff Mansion is a good place, their price is pretty reasonable and they should do all the set up for you. I would think that they'll cost less than hotels cos I've checked out their chinese dinner there too. Try Four Seasons too, my bro paid like $30/person for a hi-tea/brunch sort of thing and he had the solemnization in another function room on the same floor.

Hi Antares...
Welcome..! My wedding is in Dec 30th 2004. Hehhehe...Fiance and I have already made a tentative booking at Conrad. Kiasu hor. No choice lah...once in a lifetime...have to make sure everything goes smoothly.

Icechocho,
thanks for the recommendation...will go check it out. I love the cakes from Angie...so soft and light. Also think that real flowers on wedding cakes are really beautiful.

hi binbin,
when you mentioned, Blue Ginger, then, i remembered! yah..why not try there? That place quite popular too with couples after ROM. The food also not bad
And they serve peranakan too, which i think your in laws would like
But..i've never heard of Oaks Grill and Bar..where is that?

hi A&W,
yeap..Angie cakes nice
but when i look at their catalogue, they didn't have real flowers on wedding cakes. i had that cake for my engagement. And a lot of friends and relatives commented it was nice.
so, if you don't mind the decor, it will be a good choice. i also had padang food (indonesian) buffet for my engagement. guests commented a bit hot. so, maybe this time, my solemnization, i'll try something different

For flowers, i had orange tulips... and it really lasted for few days even without water. After my engagement, i put my bouquet in the fridge, and it lasted 1 week!
So, tulips is another good option for bouquet of flowers

hi icechoco, I am just the opposite, I usually go Century Square but seldom go Tampines mall cuz Tampines Mall is always very crowded..:P

hi binbin, u also booked hotel liao ah? I am actually thinking of some restaurants but still hope can get a hotel wan.
U have booked Conrad right? Do u mind if I asked you what's the price like?

hi A & W, you also booked Conrad for your wedding banquet at Conrad. Seems like Conrad is a popular place..
U really plan fast... good good... So u can relax later..

Aloha to all Brides-to-Be here!

I'm real happy to join this forum! Thanks to you all who unkowingly helped me in my decision making
I really learn a lot just by reading the threads here! You gals have been so helpful with your advice and suggestions

My church and customary wedding will be in May 2004 and I'm starting to look ard for tea reception/banquet venue and bridal boutiques

Binbin, when is your ROM? I'll be having mine on the 22 Mar this year! Date is drawing nearer and I'm so so excited
Have you decided on your ROM venue? I've attended my fren's ROM at Oaks Grill (at Tanglin Mall) and I must say it's really quite a nice place with romantic ambience and the pix taken at the courtyard turned out really nice too!

By the way, why don't you have your solemnisation at your chosen venue too? I was supposed to have mine at ROM but FH and I changed our minds. We payed $15 to change venue and the time slot was entirely up to us, of course you have to ensure your JP can make it, that's all
This will solve your problem of having to delay going into the room at the allocated time
And your guests won't have to run to two places too. Hope this helps

Bin bin
Sounds like Blue Ginger is THE place for you now. They have the outdoorsy theme, and they are so accomodating. Sounds great! I saw this Blue Ginger place on one of the wedding planner's list of venues. So they serve Peranakan food huh? Hmmm...sounds interesting, if they actually do weddings and stuff, then i assume that place is pretty nice. Maybe I can go there for engagement party.

Anatares,
Conrad seems like a nice hotel, I have never been there before can you believe that!Our decision was made based on the pictures we saw online and also feedbacks from ppl. Hahhaha..I'm still living in Canada, so never had the chance to visit the hotel whenever I was back for hols. Actually, we picked Conrad cos we didn't really have much of a choice too lah. We don't really have too many people to invite and most hotels have big ballrooms which they won't let us use if we don't have the minimum number of ppl. So the monent we found out that Conrad only requires a min. of 240 ppl..we grabbed it! Actually, if you like, you can have it in a restaurant in the hotel you like too. Can be very nice too.

Yes, my plan is to sit back and relax months before the actual day. Don't want to be stressed out

Kiasuism can be a good thing. It seems especially important that we book WAY in advance, simply because we've been out of town since 1996 and have only been back 3 times so far. The last trip home will be permanent. PHEW! Miss home so much!

hi indigo!!! hey hey we have the same ROM date leh!!! we have also just changed our minds abt having it at ROM, so now looking for place....so where will u be having yours????? ANy JP's to recommend me??

i like oaks too but do u personally think it's weird to have solemnisation, which is such a legal and form proceeding, in a RESTAURANT huh? me worried leh.....now thinking of still having it in Botanic gardens, but try to ask Blue Ginger whether they can help us provide a nice table and chairs for the signing.....then we willhire a bus to bring all ppl to Blue Ginger for lucnh. wet weather contignency will be blue ginger for solemnisation too......what do u think??? pls comment, so fun to find someone sema rom date as me hehhehhee.....

Hi binbin

Fren had it at Shang.. their waterfall terrace.. very romantic.. prob can check it out..

Actually I was thinking of having it a rest too.. book a room abt 50 guests, set a table in front for the solemnization, the rest all seated for 10 course dinner .. not bad wat.. can then choose good food .. after all there's the customary and formal wedding banquent to create the "magical" atmosphere..

So how's the static coming along? ;) If can work me also go try..

Ya lor.. know quite ex but since no matter where I go also loss want so now working hard to cover the expect loss and hope for the best.

To all the new people .. Hello hello.. welcome to the 2004 family ..
Hmm.. me lost already.. can all the 2004 brides give pebbles your wedding info for updating.. wow.. plenty of work for u lei pebbles.. mah fan mah fan ..

Hi PP
Yep yep, Hyatt is quite ok. Atended a few function there and the food is alright.. but we really can't pls all the people lor.. no matter how good the food also got people say not nice one lah ..

Hi Antares
Wch rest you looking at huh? Actually quite a few hotels are quite reasonably price and equal to some rest too.. prob let us know you budget then we can help you out..

Hi Besse
change confirm end this year huh? So got everything settled already? No worries lah.. need help shout.. we all here to help mah..
and dun worry, wun kick u out of here one.. heehee..

Hi lin
Did u mention CDCS? Yep, tried their food n most say quite good.. also can try Lavish Dine really like it but not Halal so if got muslim guest then cannot use.

Hi Pebbles,
Me down to Fullerton and Ritz.. u lei? Now only waiting for Tong Shu to finalise the date so can go check out if the ballrooms avail, etc..

hi doll, shang too exp for me for solemnisation. about $60 to $65 +++. both of us like the waterfall terrace too.....but too exp loh....
thanks anyway.

Hi A&W, u live in Canada? That's a nice place..
I went to Victoria once and I really loved the place.

Hi doll, I still don't have any preferred restaurant or hotel in mind. I am actually looking for places which can offer abt $600+ per table on weekends. If I choose restaurant, I also quite scared that it will be inconvenient for changing the gown to the evening gown. I am also looking for places with "not-too-bad" ambience ..

Any advices from all the 2004 brides?...

binbin

Tried Beaufort or rasa sentosa?? think there's a nice solemnisation plc at beaufort..

Doll

Confirming soon.. cos jan weekends FMIL don like.. and bf doesn't want weekdays.. so settling for end this year.. die, dates getting nearer, but nothing yet confirmed yet! Am keeping my fingers crossed that the couple cancelling at fullerton will confirm their cancelation so i can hv the Sunday date.. keke

Tong Shu will only be out mid this yr leh.. hmm.. so which do you pref? Fullerton or Ritz? Dat day went see Pan Pac.. quite nice a place leh.. big roomy ballrm and guess wht? they have a pair of nice cute teddy bears as wedding favs!!! wow! we sure love it! only setback is hotel v old, and price pretty close to fullerton - 738+++ vs 768 +++ .. hmmm

Antares

Why the hasty decision for the bridal shop? how much deposit u plc? maybe you can change it for a tea dress or smthing else and can find other bridals that you will really like?! jus a suggestion..

I've not confirmed any bookings yet, but close close.. keke.. once i have the dates chosen matching the avail shortlisted hotels, it will be cheque signing time *GRIN* Most likely will be dec 12 - Fullerton.

Bridal wise, me going ard still .. but have idea of what kinda gown i want.. now just waiting for my procrastinator bf to go choose his fav photographer (at least make him feel involved and impt)

Tomorrow's Valentine's Day.. what you gals up to??? think mine will be quite normall.. i lost the "feel" and excitement for V-Day liaoz.. hehe.. prob is cos i am getting old.. din bother buying pressie for him! ;)

Konichiwa One and All!

Hi binbin!
My JP is a friend's pastor who has kindly agreed to solemnise our ROM. We tried to call the list on JPs listed on familytown but most of the contacts were outdated...So I guess the best way is to ask around. Last resort you can try your constituency's grassroot leaders, part of their job is to solemnise weddings

As for The Oaks, I dun find it weird at all when I attended my fren's ROM there. It was a beautiful moment when they said their vows..it doesn't have to be an all serious and grim affair...I just felt theirs was really heartwarming and sweet
Can't comment on Blue Ginger coz I haven been there myslef. FH and I thought of having outdoor tea party too(eg. rasa sentosa, botanic gdns) but we decided we dun want our guests to feel uncomfy under the sun or get drenched in the rain. Weather is really unpredictable! So we settled for Olive Tree at Hotel Intercontinental...we have abt 70-80 guests and the price is within our budget. Would have gone for Salon by the Pool at Conrad (it's beautiful!!) if not for the px($45 per head for high tea)

Hi Besse,
FH and myslef will be cheong-ing the bridal boutiques this weekend after we recee the hotels! we're relly excited and I hope you'll have fun too
So what kind of gown do you have in mind?
The first one I went to - Lezen at Mandarin - I tried on 2 WG that I like! But since it's the first and only one I have visited I just KIV.

Antares,
you might wanna try noble hse. Heard the food there is quite good plus affordable too
Actually I was very concerned abt the food initially so I asked ard a lot. Then this friend told me that the chef might change by the time it's your wedding nite so what's the point...heehee..and FH also say ambience more impt and I agree fully

A&W,
which part of Canada do you live in? Toronto? been there once and thought it's a really nice place
So when are you guys coming back?

Hi Doll! Thanks for your warm welcome...

Have a nice day everyone...

Ta!

hi Indigo, so u will be having the solemnisation itself at Olive tree too? It is a private room or a garden? so how much did you pay for it and what time is ur solemnisation?

another thing i hope to find out is, is the food (set lunch: soup, main course and desserts) at Oaks sufficient for your tummy? me worried too little food mah...hehheee....

Hi Bin Bin and Indigo,

Me too thinking of having ROM outside so now looking ard for suitable venue. Great to know both of u are in into the idea too then i can get advices.

Indigo,
Do tell us the charges you have paid for booking Olive. I am interested too since i have heard comments abt the food. Great!

Anyone know where can i buy 15 by 15 inches cushion cover? I have been searching high and low over SGP to get the covers. I am getting very frustrated over it.
Pls Pls, anyone know??

hi doremon, 15 by 15 is the standard size right? look in the cushion section of Ikea and Barang Barang (Tampines Mall, Great World City and Wisma Isetan). good luck!

Hi everyone....
wow...had such a hard time catching up with u girls....sorry for MIAing for such a long time ah, being really busy with work...

first of all,
to all the new comers...welcome to the 2004 brides thread....
17443.gif
this family is indeed growing..eheh..

Doll....
me also getting abit blur with all the nicks ah..can't even remember who posted what ah..anyway,will try and get the details of all the new brides and update our contact list...

BinBin,
so how's your ROM venue research coming along?? If your guest list is relatively small, maybe u can consider getting a suite in the hotel and serving finger food at the end of the solemnisation ..or Grand hyatt also does Garden Soleminsation but i think it should be quite ex..i actually thought of having mine at the Art musuem ah but i still prefer a garden event..ehehe...or u can read up the thread for a Venue for ROM i remember the girls giving quite good suggestions there...Best of luck!!! and have u found a JP yet??? did u manage to find the list from the internet...but i think one of the girls mention in the postings the list is not updated ah, maybe u might want to get the JP list from ROM, they should have the updated list. U can also try this JP, got from the ROM thread seems quite good.

here's Mr David Loh's ctc

Mr David Loh Choon Lim (PBM)
Tel:6785 8292
Hp: 9742 5005
Pg: 9509 5005
Fax:67858893 / 64893003
email : [email protected]

Hi Indigo,
me also having my wedding in May 2004...u r the first in the 2004 thread having your wedding in May....yipeee..the rest seems to be having it either in Jan or Mar...and most of the oldies have bring forward their wedding to 2003 already, so u shortlisted your hotels already....how about bridal, heard u not very happy with your bridal ah...how much deposit u have with them????

oh to all the oldies....even though u girls have move yr big day to 2003, u r all still welcome to join us ah...:
17444.gif

Icechoc,
did u receive my email ah...but i think will be sending u a new list soon after getting the new girls details..

Anatares,
Maybe u can consider Club chinos..heard they are quite good...i think there are also a few hotels which charges around $600 for weekend ah...think furama is one of them and think the new ballroom is quite nice.

Doremon,
hello....so how's your new house coming along???done already ??? any plans for your rom and wedding yet???and how's your back??? do take care ah...

Leafy,
how's your gown selection??? when will u be having your PS ah...???

Blurydory,
Have u gone for your 1st fitting ah??? any updates for us or not???

Ivory,
It's always good to look around..and like what u say, the most important thing is the end product which is the photos and gowns but their service is also very important...do take your time...find the one which u like, like binbin,see she follows her heart...
oh as for the details which i require...and to the rest of the new comers...please send me the following...
Name/Nick
HP and office no(optional)
Hotel venue,Bridal package, ROM date,wedding date and email address and date of birth..
can just email to me at [email protected] and i will complie and send u girls the updated list..

A&W,
hope the two of u are feeling better now...
Wendy, read that your aunt will be making your WG for u...that's so sweet of her..

Hi pebbles,

Thanks for the concern. My back is a lot better now as compared to the last few weeks. Currently have been taking special care. Try not to walk fast, run or carry anything more than 1kg.

My house is ready. I am currently staying over during weekend, holidays.

I will be giving the ROM and wedding a serious thoughts once the house warming is done. But currently sourcing ard for places as mentioned above.

How abt u?

Hi Bin Bin,

No..the standard size is 16 by 16. I bought them without knowing so now suffering for it.

Thanks for the recommendation. I already check them out but also don't have

hi pebbles,
yup, i receive your email
thanx! sure, if there is any updates, can just email me

hi doremon,
your house ready oredi?
wah... where's your love nest?
me still deciding where to stay...

hi binbin,
how's your ROM venue getting along?

Indigo,Antares:

We're currently located in Calgary, AB. There are actually a lot of Singaporeans, Bruneians and Malaysians here. Singapore's sending exchange students from SMU and we're getting a few nurses doing their upgrading here as well. The Uni has its own hospital.

We'll take a few pics of ourselves once we get over this damn stinking illness!

HI A&W, hope u recover soon....:o

pebbles, thanks for the contact for David Loh. My fh actually tried calling him yesterday and paged him whole day. but he neber reply, heard he beri busy....then last night we went down to Oaks to check out the place. the manager showed us some pics of past weddings there, and we saw a JP that solemnised for my friend before in ROM. the manager told us he is David loh, then me and my FH went ""ooooorrrhhhh.......".....
hehhehe now, with your provided hp numbers and email address, we can most likely find him liaoz....

but then hor, me have not decided on venue....
what about you, u mentioned you wan garden right? me also leh.....
rememberd u gonna have it at ur parents place? is that still the plan?
read the outdoor venue thread, that's wheere i got the idea of oaks. fort canning is under reno during my date. mt faber is out too many tourists...sigh......

doremon, ooppps. forgot abt that. tot i bought 15 by 15 last time from Ikea.....hope u have a fruitful time looking for it. but if it's 16 by 16 is it beri loose?

pebbles ah, did u see my posting in the new thread asking information about the bandstand in botanic gardens? do you have any advice on that huh? hhheheee......nobody replied me in that thread leh, seems like nobody knows of it.....

Happy valentine day!!!!
How are u gals doing on with the preparations,a lot of postings, once i read this, i forget the other..
Pebbles,
I called up my bridal shop, n found out chg designer liao.U can look at the focus thread, i made some postings there. My hubby knows now that we have to be demanding, so he will make sure we demand the requests that we wanted.I be going my 1st appt only in mar.Very long hor..
Binbin,
so u booked Oaks?Better book Jp fast, nowadays all pple are so KS. How abt alkuff mansion?looked from mag its looks nice for garden theme.

Doremon,
Take care.Do hope u recover soon. So decided on any places for your solemnisation yet?
antaneras,
its rather difficult to find $600+ for hotels in weekends, how abt novotel appollo n furama hotel?
If u dun mind, I find chevrons not bad, its a clubhouse, n they have ballroom if u have 30 tables.I went there before n liked the ambience as its a safra clubhouse n rather new.
Sorry gals cant contribute much abt the solemnisation place, never been to any of these places before..very suah ku..

Happy V Day ladies!

hi blurydoey, have not booked oaks. though we like the courtyard, the food may not suit my parents appetites as much as blue ginger. at least the latter is chinese and asian food. :P
yes alkaff is beautiful yar? sigh.....pity it's beri exp leh....heard need $3K to rent the marquee.

JP not yet booked. dun dare to book coz have not found a venue. Coz if in the end we dun find a suitable garden venue, will settle with our appt with ROM premises at 9am. :P

Happy Valentine's Day gals!!!

pebbles.. emailed u my limited details cos nothing is confirmed for me

i went to sanmike... michael very patient n helpful.. let me tried almost all his designs in his shop and told me wat i can or can't wear... i will just go a few more then decide which shop i'll sign..

Happy Valentine's Day :P

Been some time since I visited the this thread and wow....a lot of newcomers! a very warm welcome to all of you.

Pebbles,

You still have 2 wedding mag with me. Btw, i just went for my first appointment and decided on a bustier for my gown but do not really know what details to have. Any suggestions?

Have prob logging in...just now..
binbin,
wha so expensive ar....can book bridal boutique liao for the price.
better to book venue first, at least got a venue to makan..keke.maybe u can try looking for florist for your decoration.I think over internet have.

happy V's day! everywhere the restaurants here in perth is fully booked...gosh.

hi annmelody,
bustier for a wedding gown..hmm..nice, modern looking. hmm..details, maybe how about some embroidery of flowers and beadings around the skirt.. but not too many. keep it simple..to have that modern look

Happy Belated Valentine's Day!

Hi Blurdoey,

I think u made a mistake, not me mentioning abt $600/table. I am looking for solemnisation place.
Thanks for your concern. My back is a lot better now. Just no more high heels for another 2 years. So quite worried later on take wedding photos and wedding day, not tall enough.... :P

Hi Bin Bin,

The botanic garden's bandstand is a big tentage right? My classmate booked that place for her July wedding. The rental alone cost $3K without any decoration. All catering and decoration are extras. I think she mentioned that after all these factor in, will cost her ard $10k++++. And she did also complained abt the interior.

AM is good and very romantic feel. But a bit too ex for just afternoon lunch. Checked out the price was from $50+++ to $75+++.

Actually what is your budget for the ceremony?

There is another place that i mentioned to you before. That is SPAN at balestier Rd. The price of rental for their ballroom is $100/ hour. Catering is $15/ pax. Their ballroom is very nice. Overall much better than the botanic garden. Check it out on the web.

Hi Icechocolate,

My new place is at Sengkang. So u have not decided where to get your new place? Any particular location in mind? HDB or EC or C?

hi doremon!
okie
Actually i prefer to stay in the east, near my parents and away from in laws...heheh
But now all the new flats are around north area like Sengkang and punggol. Actually i don't mind, but i don't want near in laws..

East side got no new flats
unless i buy resale...which i'm still considering... the new ones are condos
On top of that, my parents want me to stay with them. They said if i stay with them, they will move to bigger house and me & my FH can take 1 level. they said they want to protect me from any squabbles from my FMIL.

FMIL not happy that my FH staying wif me & parents after marriage. she said i so fussy cannot take punggol..but i think she know why i don't want to take. I think she got the hint and said to my FH that having sons "rugi". she said she should have give birth to daughters. hahahha.

Building my future love nest quite headache, so i thought just go ahead with wedding first, then, start searching slowly....but me still keep looking out. my FH also undecisive. Sometimes agree wif my parents want to stay together, sometimes want a place on his own.

Then when FH said he want a baby after marriage, i think better find a place of our own, hopefully can raise the money to find a place in the east, if not no choice, have to stay wif parents first..

sometimes, the problems i have i feel like i'm being married already! hehehhe

hi everyone!
wonder if you girls start taking care of your face? sometimes me worry, pimples will pop up especially on wedding day. me keep drinking water and watching those food..make sure not too oily. starting to eat very healthy now..

Hi all..!

Wah liao...I haven't come online for 2 days and the numbers of postings have sky rocketed. Anyway...Amos and I are much better now Thanks for all your concern.

Hey does anyone know if Choa Chua Kang that area has any new flats coming up? Cos my parents are there and Amos's parents live in Pasir Ris...I really want to live near my parents too.AHhahaa..yah some parents say that having sons 'rugi' but no matter what, daughters are always closer to their parents. So I told Amos that he better produce a daughter for me in the future. HEheeh

Yah..me very worried about getting pimples on that day too! Whats worse is that I get pimples very often. So frustrating...so does eating healthy, non-oily foods really help??

Somebody mentioned that you can have the solemnization at the art museum. Is that true? That sounds really cool leh. What type of services do they provide? Like the chairs and stuff?

Annmelody,
Well what type of person are you? You want the sweet princess look? Then you can go for the embroidery, flowers type. Sophisticated, you can leave it plain, or have small simple beadings along the border? If you want the grand look, can try embroidery and beadings. Hope it helps.

Pebbles,
Have i given you my e-mail addy? [email protected]

Indigo,
Amos and I will be going at the end of Aug this year. Can't wait for graduation!! So sick of school!

Antares,
Have you looked at the M Hotel? Saw the pics of the ballroom, looks pretty nice. My friend's brother had his wedding there and she said it was really nice. Maybe it'll fit your price range.

Well gals, its Valentines Day here today....but as usual, we are not doing anything much lah. Whats there to do really. But regardless, Happy Valentines to all!

hi A&W,
Glad to hear you're getting better.
I've no idea whether choa chu kang got new flats. but i don't think so...

yeah same as me.. i get pimples when i'm stress, the monthly woman thing. mooreover with all these stress here in aust, i try to curb my pimples by drinking lots of water. And not to aggravate more by eating more soup, vegetables,fruits, steam stuffs and cut down oily. Try to eat less heaty food.

I also start using all those cream and essence for face to improve texture of skin.
getting more vain oredi...heheh.

oh no, i've lost track.

welcome all newcomers..

wow lau, you gals talking abt ROM celebration, make me wan to bring forward my ROM leh =p once again, i'll suggest beaufort villa...

pebbles, thx for the david loh contact. wanted to get him for my solemnisation after reading abt him in the Straits Time. not sure if it's too early to book him now.. he's hot favourite lah.

wah!

looks like it's mission impossible to follow the postings nowadays!!

Toking about skin...I realised I've aged!!!! No time to take care. But must try!!!!!!

<FONT COLOR="green">cyn,</FONT>
Don't afraid to be early. Book him (if u want) now.

<FONT COLOR="green">ice choco,</FONT>
Resales has few advantages like bigger floor area, neighborhood established, can choose either "original" condition (cheaper, n u can have major overhaul to ur likings) or already nicey renovated (is u short of cash now, for renovation)...

But if I can, I also want to stay with my family... Too bad, my mum too traditional liao.

<FONT COLOR="green">annmelody,</FONT>
u need to choose one gown only? me gotta choose two - one for indoor, one for outdoor. Very headache. somemore my PS in April, not enuff time to MTM liao...so actual day, I'll have another gown, which is MTM and most prob top up to buy &amp; keep.

me considering bustier, halter neck and low cut... My designer said those emboriary/beads not impt for PS, as it won't show out much. However, those details r impt on actual day esp when marching in, there'll be spotlight shinning on us hence can highlight the details.

yah, one more thing...heavy emborairy need skill... if not done properly, will give too mature look.

<FONT COLOR="green">binbin,</FONT>

Hint: David loh will always appear in functions in Tampines... Most Tampinesian knows him.

u bought the Wedding travel magazine?? I bought mine from a newstand which dun come with the CD!!!
u have?

<FONT COLOR="green">doremon,</FONT>
Found ur cushion covers? If can't find, quite easy to sew...do u have relatives/friends who can help?

<FONT COLOR="green">Pebbles,</FONT>
My PS will be in April... need to do things earlier cos I've very unpredictable work schedule.

Hi <FONT COLOR="aa00aa">A&amp;W</FONT>,

Glad to learn that both of u are getting better. Talking abt Choa Chu Kang (CCK) flats, yes! there are plenty ard. Log on to the HDB website to take a look. Unless both of u are thinking of getting condo. or EC, then i have to check again. Otherwise, CCK flats are plentiful.

Talking abt skincare, try origins. Their skin care range is quite effective. Can prevent pimples breakout.

Hi <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Icechocolate</FONT>,
I also don't want to stay w in-laws and sister-in-law but no choice lei.
OF course, own parents better than In-laws. No matter what, we are still considered outsiders to them.
Btw, are u aware that sengkang go to East side is very very near? Yup, it's so near that i got a shock too. I stayed in the east with my parents so when i got sengkang, i was quite worried abt the distance. Then finally as i got more familiar with the roads etc, i realised is so near. But Sengkang WIS has been closed temporarily. Left only Punggol, Jurong west, Choa chu kang, bukit panjang or sembawang. Wanted to get punggol initially due to the punggol21 blueprint, but dropped the idea becos' HDB delayed the WIS. And we worried no more EAs in Punggol so here we are in Sengkang.

Hi <FONT COLOR="119911">leafy</FONT>,

So PS is in April...hmm...have u started on your skincare yet?

No...i hate sewing so die die i also won't consider sewing. Anyway, i will check out Ikea. I try the 16 by 16 cover liao, it's not that bad. Just a bit loose...but no choice, i lazy to search anymore :P

hi A&amp;W,
oops..okie..sorry wrong info. doremon said got new flats in choa chu kang.. so, you guys just check out lah..

hi leafy,
aiya...why your mom so traditional? tell herlah, daughter is also your own blood &amp; flesh. it's differentleh..more closer.
lucky my parents more understanding.

my FMIL keep reminding me that i will be married into her family so many times, until FH must also said that in front of me and her to ensure his mom. aiyo...so traditional. Like as if i won't be working like my FMIL...i will also help to pay the house with FH leh.. i don't believe in all these married to guy side family oredi. my FMIL also keep reminding me of FH surname over &amp; over again also. She even showed me her IC. aiya... nowadays, we women pay 1/2 of almost everything. So, must be equal. right?

yah..got advantages &amp; disadvantages of resale. me considering all the options and weighing them carefully
coz, FH don't want to keep moving house. he said he want to stay in the house long-long..