(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
any recommendation for places to buy mother's dress for the dinner itself? We been to isetan, metro, CK Tang, OG ... dun have suitable ones ... anyone with any suggestion?

Hi Lala,

Me have the holy matrimony in church. My CG leader is going to help me source for worship leader/musicians. Thank God for her help !
It is so difficult to find pp who are comfortable with playing the piano/sing on stage. I have settled my flower gal/pageboy clothes, selected songs for the service. Now busy with finalising the church program. Honestly, church service is the worst in terms of prep work. Anyone know where to buy unity candles ? I went techman & they cost more than $50 ! went ikea & it's out of stock !

Dabee - My future MIL is in Taiwan now. My frien give me another contact - Jasvy, contact no, 62992263. Heard they are cheaper than T-Dragon.

hi unicorn
if u r really worried, then arrange for trial make-up soon.

hi meimei
think your email is full, can't take my file. clear mailbox and pm me again?

Hi Dabee and Jen Sia,

Yep, Jasvy is the printer that ties in with Regent Hotel. The rate for normal paper is $100 for 200 pieces.

Jen Sia, me haven't look into the details for church wedding yet. Will find out from my friends on the unity candle then let u know.

my dad initially asked for 10 tables as well.
doesn't help that my 2 brother in laws give 10 tables previously also. But then on realising tt each table is so costly, he decided to cut to 7 tables and invited the rest to church. My FH also have to give pin jin to him. Sometimes, I pity the men cos they end up having to foot out a lot for wedding, no wonder more & more men have problems in committing !

I think we need to manage our guest list well. Make sure everyone RSVP, just a penny for thoughts ... so much time & money is spent on 1/2 day affair ....it's really not worth it to go into debt cos of this. A lot of things are nice to have (extra flower decor, extra wedding favours) but not necessary. I started out wanting a grand wedding but have learnt to manage it within what I can afford to.

Yup. My HB is complaining these days on our wedding expenditure ....

Better cut down cost else he wld run away ... hahahahaha

Hi Jen Sia,
Agreed !! I was like wanting this and that, be it wedding or hse reno, however along the way, have cut down a lot as it is simply too costly. I remembered I had a fight with HB over an expensive tap, come to think of it, do I really need one that is costing hundreds of dollars. Well, me also have learnt to manage liao, think HB is really stressed over the wedding though he is not showing out.

Hi Lala,

HB and I had a row last Sat when we were hunting for shoes and accessories. He went home and I continue my shopping unhappily.

All becos I wanted he to go chinatown with me for GDL stuffs.
He said why so cumbersome one. Need to go here n there.

hi unicorn
nope.. the red one. Blue one is actually 1 size bigger than me and e condition not tt gd so for PS still ok.

Most pple say the blue is nice, suit me very well. then.. keke i still like my red one more.

ya... was praising my photographer for his nite shots. he's so happy, (he say) not many photographers in s'pore know how to take such nite shots. do envy him for enjoying wat he likes to do

Hi Adeline,
If your HB is not the type who loves shopping, it's better you go with your mom. Don't quarrel over this.

Have u gals decide on your where to buy the cakes for GDL? I am considering Prima Deli coz my mum wanted small pieces of cakes than one big one. Any recommendations for bakery ??

I won't have "an chuan" or "chuan tou deng", my mum said don't need since we are christians. However, will do "su tou" just for my mum's sake if she wants. Still yet to decide. To me, only holy matrimony is a must and also tea ceremony... hehehehe

Hi Lala,

Do you have contacts for Florence Catering?

Hi Kokopooh,

Me not sure wat to buy either. But teapot & table lamps are a must.
Hv you view your photos from Kim?

May I know anyone here plan to ask small kids to jump their new bed?

Hi Adeline,
will check out the contacts for Florence tonight. Is Savory Flavour located in Sembawang? There is one shop in Sembawang that sells very good Teochew bian (from other thread too, however, my aunt also gets the same for his son's GDL).

Lynn:
Lucky u that u've such a good photographer ..
We also want to take fotos near Fullerton as well ...

Hopefully, our photograhper noes how to do it ..

Hi Lala,

Yup ... I think so.
I printed the thread weeks ago .... think Savory Flavour is located at east coast ... not sure.

I go and check it 2nite , cos the printout is at home.

Bread / Ayu : You've got mail

Octbride_78 : Rest assure you are in good hands
Marcus' prompt with e-mail. All my MTM gowns are from Ted Collection, not Ted Wu

Hi kokopooh,

oic ... your PS one day after me leh.
I long admire Michelle and Kim's work.
Pls share with us after your fittings and PS ok.

hi Adeline,
Can understand lor, i think dun have to ask ur hub to go with u to chinatown to buy those wedding stuff lor, coz me also nv ask him, will go with my mom instead, if u want, u can go with me lah...

coz my hub also now very stressed up, we are paying for our own banquet dinner lor, had about 25 tables but he want to give my mom 10 tables on top of the Pin Jin lor, as for the Ang Bao to give mother for bringing u up one, I thot only Hokkien have that rule? its called the "Sui Sai Leo Puoi" that is a must... for my mom's case, to her Pi Jin is up to my MIL to give but the "Sui Sai Leo Puoi" is for my mom to say one lor....

the other day i also quarrel with my hub when i told him that i bought this & that, so many things like haven't buy then he grumble like "so many things to buy meh???" totally pissed me off lor like i am the one who want to buy like dat but its all customary wat.....

hi lala, Gin, Jen Dabee,
actually the Jasvy price is more or less about the same as T-dragon leh... coz i called them up to check on the prices.... but then hor, T-dragon is more centrally located lah, compared to Jasvy....

Adeline,
if u do want those traditional Hokkien or Teochew cakes rite? There is a shop in Sembangwang lor, they do all kinds of dialects, just tell them wat dialect u r in & they will settle everything for u lor.....

Hi Skylar,

Yup, tat's y I went to checkout accessories yesterday w/o him.

Duno leh ... my dad asked for the angbao for my mum leh. Duno which rule also???

Think the printing cost is almost the same leh ... Lilart also charge $100 for first 200 cards (normal printing).

Do you have the contacts for the shop at Sembangwang?

Hey .... I've just bought happy girl creme ... duno gd anot? My TF is finishing liao.

Gals, may I know whether u gals are printing extra cards, on top of wat you're getting fm hotel? I'm only getting 70% out of the gaurantee attendance.

Gals, when are we meeting up? Been toking here for long liao leh ......... ???????????

Where's eternity huh?

hi taurus,

we went to alexandra and labrado park... i'm not sure where is the exact place at alexandra. i only know it's somewhere near those very big houses... alot of greeneries one.... ;p

actually we also sort of wanna go to changi, it's near the changi safra there.... but my photographer say it's now under construction liao. so i dun know if changi jetty you mentioned is affected.

we went labrado park out of convenience, cos it's near our house, so the photographer can sent us home after the shoot... hehehe.... i'm dead beat lah. ;p we didn take a digital camera to take outdoor pix cos the gown is too much for me to handle... ;p and i'm just too tired and forgot abt it.... ;p

btw, my BS just informed me that my photos are ready, so i will go take a look this sunday... hahaha.... ;p

dun worry... the photoshoot is fun.

and hor, i am so tired that the photographer and the asst motivated me by offering ice cream after the outdoor photoshoot!!! ;p

and i was eating ice cream in my gown at labrado park!!! alot of pple stare at me leh, that day also got a few couples taking pix, and the brides all stare at me... hahaha... they must be thinking it's so ungrace to eat ice cream in wedding gown... ;p but i dun bother lah...

Hi Adeline,
actually hor, i think its good also that u go do ur shopping urself so that at least when u wear everything on ur AD, ur hub will be prone to new things, at least something new lor,,, if not all he also see before already rite?? hehehe... dun worry lor, we are all the same here one lor....

Happy Girl creme for what area ah? I know Happy Girl got a lot of creme leh, which one u using? TF finishing liao ah?

the Sembangwang shop ah? i check first then let u know ok? think its called GIN THYE

which hotel are u from ah? for me, i think i print all the cards lor.... my hub say one, so let it be lor...

Eternity duno do her Haach facials until to which corner liao...

hi gals:
do not quarrel with our hubbys over weddin stuffs. cool down n enjoy... me n my hubby agree not to agrue over our wedding preparations.
savoury delight is at siglap. i think 690 something east coast rd.

adeline: 70% of cards for guaranteed guest. i think that is normal. isn't that enough? if give couple couple only need 50% leh.

ya i heard of "Sui Sai Leo Puoi" -- wash dryers money before. din know that is a must. so should give our moms Sui Sai Leo Puoi money, n pin jin..... care to share how much to give? i know is up to individual... dun mind...just info sharing

hi Dabee,
BINGO!!!!

Hi Adeline, Yvonne,
that place in Sembangwang is called Gin Thye, its at 423 Sembangwang , Tel: 62571566, u can call the shop, they will give u directions on how to get there, they are recently been air on TV show also

wah!
112591.gif

my GOODNESS... really cannot catch up tis time man!

dabee.. wah.. u went to search my BS ah? hahaa.. actuali i dun wan to mention names.. cos not nice... i picked them becos seen my husband fren's pics.. felt nice... like nicer den others i've seen.. so we din scout.. juz chose them.. becos no intention to hire outside fotographers lor... n yes.. i tend to tink tat the BS co-ordinators are careless... n seldom rem my requests... pek chek...

i shld b showing slides lah... else nothing to show... awkard? hahaha... i'm not excited yet... n becos i din hv much tots abt who to invite as bridesmaids.. my 3 best frens... one in US, one very pregnant n one getting married at the same time ! gosh.. hhahahaa... so now tinking of asking husband's frens to b my bridesmaids... cos i rather hv experienced ones den frens (young gals) who oni noes how to look pretty n prolly step on my train! hahaha... =P

i shld b seeing the invitation card first draft on thurs. =)

luckily (stil crossin my fingers) tat my parents din hv much to ask for... no nid tables... becos i'm a gal... hahaha... last gal in the family ! but still crossing fingers.. cos dad fond of changing his mind at the very last minute! *scared*

hey.. how come my mum said she buying gold stuff for me... tot its like pin jin or wat.... not by ILs mah? *blur*

ralphine: wah! u hv so many tables wor.....

we oni planning for 15.. hehehe... but its a risk for breaking even lor.. *worried*

gals.. tink better not spend so much money on tings tat are for now lah... like accessories... (my 2 cents worth oni)... den later like no use for the accessories.. all these little tings... can add up to a few hundreds leh... i've been thru it once oredi... cos my house oredi done up... lucky lor....

but den again.. for other tings.. i tink it depends on many factors lah.. parents.. ILs... n if u tink it 'may' affect yr marriage life lor... like "better safe den sorry" ...

skylar... dun quareel wif HB lor... they dun like to rush everywhere .... so maybe get gfs to go shopping wif u.. cos HB dun noe how to tell u accessories or shoes nice or not lor...

hope i din say the wrong ting. =P

actuali hor.. i felt a little less stressed now.. after reading all the tings u all going to buy n do... but hor.. scary leh.. i like anyting oso no nid.. ahahaha.. i juz hope dun do doesn;t mean not a good marriage... hahaha.. i so auntie tinking .... no choice... siblings marriages not good lah... so i oso scared...

hi adidas & moonlight,

actually my PS supposed to be tomorrow but bcos my hubby on reservist so postponed to next wk. my MU is sammi and Photographer is vincent. What about yours? I know that adidas's PS is 2 wks later. what about you, moonlight?

I think on PS that day, I will bring along my camera and try my luck lah, see if they allow me to take photos or not. If can, I will update you gals, ok?

hi fleur,

you mean your hubby's cousin got 80 pics from WL? wow, tats alot. dun think I will top-up any photos lor cos my pkg already got 40 pcs. juz nice to do the magazine-style.

hi mist,

your photos ready? wow, tats fast. muz be looking forward to this sunday to view your photos, rite? care to share your pics when they are ready?

wow mist!
u r so fortunate to have such a nice photographer to make u relax & get motivated to smile!!

taurus
oic .. moonlight & myself are also with vincent, okie let us noe ya! tks!

Hi Verre
I know what you mean.
Me also getting stress ( relatives are making things worse) and I think I still got more to be done.

But dun worry, I keep telling myself that everything will turn out well.

hi hi gals.... :p

Excite...u are right... thinking of Bakers I** hahaha... kidding la... my cravings got season one... sometimes crave for beancurd barley with ginko nut, sometimes crave for ice cream/cheesecake... right now... the craze is YAMI Yogurt... hahahaha... so old fashion hor... that was what i always eat during sec school... hahaha

Gals... u gals prefer the food street at chinatown with all the yummy food? Then we can go to look look see see at the new stalls in chinatown? Or do u gals prefer Plaza Sing? Let me know.

Err.. some time ago... someone was asking if Fairy Inc has a website? Well... i dun think so... but do drop by Orchard Delphi and talk to evelyn... she is simply sweet and pleasant... always ready to help.

hi girls
I am back....wow the thread is getting super hot meh...

hi twinkle
wow so nice your beautican.... do mani and pedi for you....

hi fluer
don't panic lah ,just relax... my friend told me to enjoy my preparing and don't overstress your self...

hi mist
wow so nice your photogragher....me also wait for my hubby to view the photo ,maybe have to do it another next 2 weeks as my bridal shop already call to 2 weeks ago but still not time to go... so sad.... very eary to go and see see...

Wow! Onee, you source everything on your own. Must have take a long time to do the preparation.
You are really hardworking. For my wedding, everything was simple, I kept wondering why brides often say they have alot of things to prepare. Now i understand. And how much did you spend for your wedding?

How did singapore brides got your photo on the cover page?

sgn, hey that's pretty reasonable.. topping up another 4 more pics for mag.. but do u need to pay anything for the artwork? i can't really believe that we actually top up so much.. i always thot that we wouldn't really top up since both of us not photogenic :P

gals, link sent already..

aiyoyo.... i am only 3mths and 11 days away from my wedding. lol.. still like got tonnes of things hasnt do yet.. kekeke.. no worrries..... still got time manz....
whahaha... hey girls enjoy every moment of planning...

Hi zann,do u mind updating us.

List of December Brides (2004)
==================================================
2nd - White Orchids (In Wedding, Le Meridien, Hougang)
2nd - Inlove (Kowloon, Oriental, Punggol)
2nd - Winterhakone (BV, Fullerton, Punggol)
2nd - JG/newyjg (Sheraton Towers)
2nd - Joelle/moonny (GHA, Amara)
3rd - Smallonion (Everbliss, Concord Hotel)
3rd - bynne (Sophia, Oriental, Tampines)
5th - Twinkeleglint(Whitelink, Pan Pac, Woodlands, berryhappy, earnest video)
5th - Meagan (Qings Bridal, Noble House, Sengkang)
5th - Wise (Inwedding, RTC, Jurong)
6th - gannk (Le Meridien)
8th - LingLing (Bridal Concept, M Hotel, moomedia, AMK)
9th - secret garden (Divine,Conrad, Telok Blangah, Hilarion, Ernest Video)
9th - lichristin (Novotel Apollo, Punggol)
9th - pochacco (Golden Horse, Westin, Sengkang)
11th - MTDT (Santiago,M Hotel,Sam Photography,Punggol)
11th - Owl (White Link, Le Meridien, Yishun)
11th - Squirt (Milan, Pan Pac, Bukit Panjang)
12th - Oraia (BV, Grand Hyatt, Jurong West)
12th - neece (Margaret's, M Hotel, Seng Kang, Avail Lite)
12th - KPO Lady (Paris, Pan Pac, Seng Kang)
12th - Zhuzhu (Camellia, Carlton, Tampines)
12th - Lovey(Divine, Merchant Court, Bishan)
12th - eVon (GHA, OCC, JW)
12th - postpet2(Fullerton)
12th - Priscilla (Free Lance, Hotel New Otani)
14th - Irenes (Milan,Pan Pac, Woodlands)
15th - Sally/Bluemoon (Everbliss, )
16th - Soupie (JLC, Trader's Hotel, Bedok)
16th - dearie (BridalVeil, Grand Hyatt)
17th - Babu ( , Beaufort)
18th - Fanny (Jawn,Raffles the Plaza,Seng Kang)
18th - Coolsnow (French bridal, Prima Tower)
18th - wheredreamscometrue ( BV,Marriott)
19th - Trisha (Swissotel)
19th - Jasline (Htl rendevous, Holland)
19th - Doremon (Santiago, SK)
19th - Puzzlerain (Paris, Hyatt, Seng Kang)
19th - Christine (Bridal Concept, Hilton, Bedok)
19th - bear76 (TWD, Merchant Court, Punggol)
19th - joan (Marriott, Pasir Ris)
19th - kaitlynn (French Bridal, Marina Mandarin, Wdlands)
19th - haloya (Vanity, Grand Hyatt, Punggol)
21st - brambles (GHA, Pan Pac)
22nd - Circusbugs (Popular,Grand Hyatt, Bishan/Hougang)
24th - Fi Fi (Wedding News,Crown Prince, Punggol,earnest video)
24th - Bao Bao (BZ, Pan Pac, Bukit Panjang)
24th - jess27 (Noble House, Dang)
25th - Hayashi (Sophia, GWC, KimTian)
25th - Cruise ( , no banquet)
26th - Wendy 76 (Fullerton Hotel)
26th - Bunnygirl (Seletar Boardway,Imperial Courts,Punggol)
31st - Chobits (Conrad Hotel, Queens)

After reading all your threads, I really felt the same as you all. A lot of things to do. Hubby not understanding. PIL/parents adding to our troubles. haiz....stressed to be a bride-to-be. That's y most brides slim down during wedding preparation process???

Tho' it's not good to quarrel, sometimes really can't control. I proposed lots of ideas to have a special and unique wedding but my hubby all said not practical not good. Said I crazy....haiz....I really have the thought of running away just one day before my actual day cos the whole wedding prepn process helped me more understand that my hubby and I really have great differences in how we view/handle things. Haiz.....

Just some crazy tots. Really hope that I won't regret my decision.

Btw, how long will Tdragon take to complete printing our cards? Ard 250pcs.