(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Hi jenksk

u mean u haven booked the hotel and its still available for booking huh.. thats good.. mine is 1 day earlier than u, 11 Nov. : ) My bridal package is with Whitelink. Think there is a quite a few Whitelink brides here. Maybe you can check out those bridal services forum and see other's comment. It helps.

After some discussions with my hubby, he decided to wed within 100 days. Therefore I can't be a Dec Bride liao, but will be much earlier that you all, maybe April or May. So sad that I can't follow as we have planned earlier, but life is so unpredictable, so no choice lah....

My banquet at Pan Pac I need to either cancel or transfer. If anyone interested, can email me at [email protected] or check it out with Johnny Chua at Pan Pac. I'll inform him on the coming Mon (heard that he still on MC until then).

As for my WG & EG, I've no choice but choose OTR liao. No time for me to MTM. Everything now is rush,rush and rush. Luckily, my parents will back from overseas today to help me out on this, if not me doing alone now (dare not disturb my hubby too much now), me will go crazy. Especially there are a lot of rules that I do not know.

Anything will update u all again. Hope everyone here can follow their plans intially and be a happy & beautiful bride.

kpo,

alot of times, things just dun turn out the way we planned.. gotta take things in our stride

maybe after the funeral and stuffs are settled, get ur hubby actively involved in the wedding preps too, hoping to take his mind off a little.

dun worry too much, ya? list out the things u need to do, and work on from there. rope in ur gd frens to help u too..

take care

Hi everyone! wow, so many posting!

Hi pikota75,
u are so lucky to get ur unit. Must be now happily sourcing for renovation and stuff? Envy u gals.. i'm still waiting for my developer on TOP date. So sian, waited almost 3 yrs liao. Wonder how i survive all these while. Ur hubby also very cute, want to hear negative feedback on jcc. Frankly, nvr attend wedding functions there but i have to say the chinese restaurant food is gd. make my mouth waters thinking abt it. :P

nickel
also tot of doing facial, which one u are thinking of? me nvr do before, scare if do end up got more prob hor...

hi kpo lady,

very sorry to hear about what happened. do take care ok?

according to "rules", can u still hv a banquet? if so, mabbe can explore with pan pac the possibility of bringing it fwd to a apr/ may date?
if cannot, then i think can try and transfer cos 12th is quite a 'hot' date, i think the possibility of someone taking it over is quite high.

don't worry ok? i'm sure things will work out ok.

take care!

hi poupie, noted with thanks!!! will bring along a winter jacket.

Actually i wanted to see snow cos i haven't see falling snow before. Too bad, the timing is not right.

hi lynn..

me thinking of going BI (beauty inspiration) at far east..there are many positive comments on them..i been there once and i find them very friendly and not pushy
me thinking of going at the end of feb, u want to join?we can ask the rest too..
i think u should start going since u never do b4, normally there will be some "marks" but it will goes off after 2days..

hi c0co

yeah...we're same day brides...can we share share our progress? now me and fh all over the place after work everyday...and late nights are spent catching up with learning all the wedding stuff here...*tired*

hi rabbitsk

my package offers similar...1 barrel of 30l which i'm not sure if my guests will drink cos mine comes with wine. one friend's banquet consumed 3 barrels of beer...anyone knows how many glasses 1 30l barrel can serve?

hi nickel

we'll be having a black bridal car if we do have...actually our plan is to do everything in the hotel but seems like my mum wants me to be fetched fr home...then that's one big headache cos we're trying to minimise going to too many places...

me also thinking of doing facial...and like lynn...i've not done it before...any recommendations? heard the clarins one is good but ex and the waiting q is very long.

hi pheb... welcome!

nickel...
i think when you first start doing facials, your skin will actually have more problems (pimples, etc) than b4... then after 1, 2 mths, when your skin is 'adjusted' to having facials, it'll be better... hence, it's better to start as early as you can... hope this helps... BTW, heard a lot of good comments of beauty arsenal (think @ pacific plaza)... so you may wish to consider too... but if you've been to BI and are happy with them, stick to them... most impt thing is you must be happy rite?

all black cars for your wedding.... wow... that's cool!!
see if you can get the cars to be the same model... even better!!

morning ladies

TGIF
I'm sure everyone's looking forward to your weekend right? no more holidays till Apr, so, every break counts

hi pheb,
welcome to the thread. c0c0's right, this thread is very very active, u'll never be bored

hi lynn,
where's ur new place? 3 years already still haven't TOP? wow, that's longer than mine leh, 'pai fu' for ur patience hee hee. u need tips to be the 1st few to get ur keys? if u need, just let me know, i can share with u my experience hee hee

hi nickel & lynn
hee hee, yah, have to start going for facial more actively liao. i've always signed on 5 sessions package and i drag it for 10 months! now, i guess really have to go once a month liao, sigh

hi pheb...
1 30l barrel = 90 mugs/glasses...

you're getting free flow wine for your package? that's a great deal....!

hi nickel
sorry, forgot about the black cars bit. yes, i've got a friend who used a black car for her wedding, cos it's their own car. but that's the only car in black, i think the rest is of other colours. it's definitely cool but better check and see if ur parents & in laws will be 'pang tang' about it, u know how old people can be sometimes

morning everyone! me feel very welcome already
think it'll be quite difficult to catch up with you girls!

hi feroy

thanks for the info...no we'll not be having free flow wine but at least one free for each table confirmed and we're thinking of trading the beer and favours for more wine

hi pheb
i suspect 30l barrel may not be enough, most weddings which i've been to use about 2 barrels of 30l beer + 15 bottles of red wine. if u want to ensure u don't go over budget with booz, u can tell ur co-ordinator not to allow alcohol beofre dinner is served. and and only top up if the glass if empty.

or if u travel quite a bit, u might want to buy the hard liquor from duty free (but check on corkage for DFS stuff, some can be quite sticky). also, do NOT give the hotel people the bottles of alcohol, cos they'll not use it sparingly. maybe give the captain one at the start of the dinner, and only give the other bottle when he shows an empty bottle. make a mark on ur bottles so that u know it's urs and they're not using their own empty bottles to replace with urs

hi nickel
saw ur posting in santiago's thread about considering sothys at OUB centre. i'll be going there on 21 feb for my facial, if u want, can come along. they have 2 beauticians, u'll need to call in advance if u want to go there at the same time as me

i'm going down for my 1st appt with my BS tomorrow, i'm so excited

hi yvonne

oooh...beer's that popular ah? i'm not too sure if my guests consume that much beer...anyway, thank you so much for the info

i've been to some dinners where the waiters are very wasteful...before your glass is empty, they remove and replace the wine...some others simply refill as if chinese tea like that...i know that i'm going give strict instructions to the waiters to ask the guests if they want more before refilling or replacing. And also the amount no need to be full glass...some inexperienced one ah fill so full...really help you waste

as for duty free liquor...i think most hotels actually require the liquor we bring in to be duty paid leh...but thanks a lot for that trick on tracking the honesty of the hotel

hi pheb,

one other thing you can instruct the waiters is to fill the wine glass half full each time, instead of three quarters (the norm)... cos i realise a lot of ppl just ask for wine but nv end up drinking or finishing....

and like what yvonne suggested, dun serve liquor during cocktail... will save alot... esp on beer... cos to alot of guys (esp military ones!!), beer is like liquid food... got beer dun need to eat also can...

btw, where will u be doing ur dinner at?

hi yvonne

My is EC, nuovo, bought it late 2001. I also peifu myself. Maybe cos also no intention to offically get married before 2004 too, so nvr feel the wait till now. Wedding schduled in Oct and est TOP is still oct. Hoping they will revise the date earlier hehe...

hi nickel n yvonne
Actually my skin is quite ok, tt's y worried if go for facial end up mess up my face haha.. :P so till now still thinking abt it..

hi pheb
wow, tt's very gd offer u got, wine incl?? Hmm.. wat type of wine would u be serving?

hi pikota75,
congrats to u on getting ur new flat!!!

hi yvonne,
yupz.. already shortlist liao.. but still cannot make up my mind yet.. i thot of deciding yday aft i met up w 1 photographer.. but now i wan to meet another photographer b4 i decide...

ya, i think the threads in SB r simply great.. helps us in understanding wats happened.. but also, its impt for us to meet up with the BS to experience 4 ourselves...

hi pheb,
welcome!!! if u ve any qns.. jus shoot.. we gals will help if we can...

hi nickel,
im on the lookout for a plc to go for regular facials too!! so far, tried 2 places.. but havent signed pkg yet... will try another 1 this mth.. then must sign pkg liaoz!!! where r u thinking of gog for facial??

hi feroy

yes yes...i also noticed that...esp some women....they ask for it and then dun finish...

ooops...i like totally forgot abt the cocktail part!!! i honestly dun remember drinking anything except soft drinks before dinner...for me, pre-dinner really doesn't involve that much drinking :P and yes...i will take your kind advice to omit the alcohol and instruct the hotel to serve only when food is served.

me dinner will be at fullerton. the wine comes in the package. but lynn, i not so sure what wine they'll be offering. can't be that bad i believe :P

hi yvonne...
i can feel your excitement... cos me going for my 1st appt too tomoro...
going to sign the package as well...

wah... i was disconnected when i was writing my post.. then when i posted.. realised there's sooo many msgs!!!! scary!!!

hi nickel,
kekeek.. dun ve to ans my qns liao.. kekeke.. saw ur post tt u wan to go BI rite?

hi pheb...

dun wori... fullerton should be fine.... actually fullerton was one of our shortlisted hotels.. but they weren't that flexible in a few things so... oh well... but i love the fact that they have a 'private' cocktail area... very nice... so the package that you're getting also comes with the spa treatments? you must go for that!!! their spa is very very nice, svc was excellent...

btw, pheb, you may wish to post your details ie. date, dinner venue, BS, photographer, etc... cos ivory has been most kind to consolidate our details and update for everyone's info every week...

hi moonlight,
i have already made the booking many weeks back but yet to pay the deposit so am not worried. spoke to ST a few times round already to negiotiate the package, so this Sun going down to do confirmation and pay deposit plus see the show.

your WD one day earlier than me? where you holding yours?

I went to see WL at Marina some days back. realised alot of their gowns quite petite size. me quite tall and big frame -broad shoulders cos I swim alot, kinda worried.seems like brides at WL all like Vivian Lai size.. good for you lucky gals.. me still sourcing around.sigh..

Hi HP,
tat's cool, which Blk are you staying in?
me at Blk 684D.
reno in progress. stopped over CNY period, now beginning again. Got an ID to do the job, she is somebody I know from a common friend. let me know if you need any referrals. cheers!

hi pheb

Dun worry, i have been to fullertion before, the wine they serve not bad, can rest assured.
The suite in fullerton is very NICE, wow.. take my breathe away when i saw it.

Hi jenksk,

will be having mine in raffles the plaza. : )
me not as small size like vivian lai.. me slightly bigger than vivian lai.. my friend signed up with golden horse. heard that its not bad. maybe u can drop by and have a look.

hi feroy

thanks for your endorsement
fullerton wasn't my first choice...but i'm fine with it...heard a lot about the bridal loft and now the spa...wah...still got 200+ days to go!!!

btw the hotel was decided only last week...and that's the only thing we've decided so far :P now dashing fr one BS to another...any recommendations? i'm looking for a simple bustier gown with limited adornments, excellent workmanship and quality fabric. Dun look good in those princessy dreamy soft sort...

photographer...we like u's style...and also m west...but still deciding...haven't even started thinking abt AD photograhers ...*fainted* :P

hi lynn
wow, that's very long, i think u might be very bz in oct if they TOP at that time or earlier. it may be better if they TOP after Oct then at least u'll have time to rest after ur wedding then start running about for stuff for ur new place.

but if u really kan cheong want to get ur keys early, the trick is, early Sept, call up the developer's office directly and tell them u want to ask for early collection of ur keys. They'll ask u for a reason and to write in to them. that'll help abit. for mine, they only give out about 4 keys per day and if u don't tell them u want it early, they'll just leave u in the queue number, whoever buys first gets their keys first.

as for facial, actually, if ur face is ok, don't need to worry about it. just continue ur regular treatments. u go there, they'll sure say ur skin is too dry lah, not good enough etc, and make u do lots of stuff. best is keep to what u're doing now. but, closer to ur wedding date, u may be very stressed and u may not have as much time to take care of ur skin. so, if u want to try out facial, now is a good time. go for one session first, if u like what they do, then consider using them only closer to ur wedding, maybe 3 months before ur wedding? that'll help cut down some costs. most impt is u must be firm, some of them can be very pushy.

i go to sothys @ oub centre, have been with them since jan 2001. my original beautician was better, she's not pushy and gives me lots of tips for skin care. but she has since left. my current beautician will only be pushy in the begining but after u keep rejecting her offers, she'll keep quiet and won't pester u anymore. which is good. just stand firm in what u need and don't need. there are a lot of products that are good to have but not compulsory.

hi pheb
no worries
i've helped 3 friends co-ordinate their wedding dinners, so, roughly know what to do (and that's also why i don't want a banquet, too much headache hee hee) i agree with feroy & lynn, fullerton's good, had been there for one wedding in nov, the wine is very good.

hi feroy,
u've not signed ur BS package yet? i thought u've already done hee hee, too many people here, sometimes forget who's who, sorry. wow, not bad hor, u sign on the spot and get to settle stuff on that day itself. which BS again?

hi forest
good luck with ur BS selection, keep us posted on which one u've selected

hi pheb... you confirmed your hotel only last week? hmmm... cos that time when we were sourcing for hotels (late last year), they told us that they were booked every weekend in Sep and Oct
except 10 Oct, which we din take as it's my daddy's Bday ... hmmm.... but nvm... so far very satisfied with my hotel so far...

ya, the bridal suite was sooo beautiful... *sigh*

if you've a photographer in mind, try to book or at least block his dates first... there're photographers with bookings up to next dec!!!

BS - me not going to any BS so can't really recommend... what are you looking for actually? ala-carte or everything inclusive? cos the designer who's doing my gowns is pretty good... but other stuff like photography i'm not too sure...

wowowowowow..soooo many messages till i oso abit blur liao..

yvonne..can u email me ur contact number and the info for sothys?i might be going down with u b4 i decide to sign a package with BI..wat time will u be there?

forest..u want to join us?which are the two u tried?good?

lynn and pheb..maybe u can try it, at least u still have sometime to allow ur face to "rest" if something happen..
i heard from my beautician that if we go often, our face will glow and the make up will look nicer and natural..

hi momoechan,
thks, yap i will be busy sourcing for renovation soon liao..now we are going to go through the home decor mag to get some inspiration..hee,

hi exciting,
oh then you must quickly look for your dinner venue already liao,any place in mind?i have got 2 groups of my friends who signed up with white link too,

hi nickel,
thks, i feel that this is a good place to get more infor from one another, i will ask around from the brides to be over here...thank you thank you hee...

btw my wedding car will be a black one as i will be borrowing from my uncle...is alrite to me and my parents as my bro had used the same car for his wedding last year..

where do you have in mind for faciel?
im thinking but dont which one is a recomended one..

hi forest,
hey thks! im going have lots of idea for my new home now....;0

hi rabbitwk,
yap i will be going to jcc tomorrow, abit kan chiong of what they will offer us...but i will take things as it is lor,
i heard that OCC provide free shuttle to and fro rite?

hi yvonne...

me not going to any BS... i'm the one whose designer left the BS, and am taking the risk of going to him to do my gowns etc.... wish me luck

hi hp,

mine is 5 room flat, standard.

as for my bridal package, it's thr friend recommendation...
my contractor also thr friend recommendation... hehehe

hi jun and jenksk,

welcome to the thread..

hi jenksk,

my friend is very tall too, and she had her gown done by emanuel. quite nice leh.. you can check that out.

hi pheb
if u want quality gowns & have the budget for it, i think Ted Wu is very good. he's very good with embriodery. i see his gowns everyday cos his shop is just opp my office hee hee

my friend used Wesley of m west for her wedding. he's very good. I'll be meeting him up as well, he's been shortlisted as my AD photographer. actually, it depends on whether u want digital photography or good old film photography. the picture quality is very different. for me, i feel that film is better (studied photography back in Uni) but it also boils down to price and the delivery of the final product. if u use wesley for ur PS shoot, u can also use him for ur AD, that's what my friend did.

hi feroy
oh yah, hee hee, now i remember. good lah, he's going MTM quite a number of gowns for u right? u lucky girl

hi nickel
sure, what's ur email add? i'll email the details to u.

yah, if any of u gals want to check out sothys at oub centre, do let me know. i'll be going there for my facial on 21 feb. if a few of u sign up together, sure get good rate

hi pikota
u want reccomendations for contractors & interior designers? my friend used one who is pretty good, she's featured here as well, their company's name is project file. i've asked them to give me a quote for my new place. if u want, i can give u the designer's contact directly and u say u're reccomended by me.

hi yvonne

will be heading down to ted wu later today...thanks thanks

my friend also used wesley...hmmmm...have not thot of using him for AD...that's a suggestion...thanks! my FH will prob insist on film cos digi doesn't show enuf depth... but is wesley on film or digi. i know u's better on film which we're fine

hi feroy

oooh...so sorry to hear about that. actually i got the same treatment from my first choice hotel...was told every weekend's taken and not willing to assist furthur so i dropped them like a hot cake...

actually one of my friends had her gowns made by a BS, din take a package and selected her preferred photographers, make-up artiste etc....that's good also since you have the flexibility to get the best...but i feel it can be tiresome for disorganised people like me :P

Hi kpo lady,

My condolences to you.

I am a Panpac ocean ballrm bride in Jan 05. I was actually interested to wed on 12 Dec 04 (the ideal date according to our shen1 chen2 ba1 zi4)but at the time of booking, it was already taken up by you so went for Jan 05 weekend instead....finally know who took up our date..just joking

i am actually interested to consider pushing forward my date to 12 Dec, if panpac agrees. only thing is that i have not collect my home keys nor start on my MTM gowns yet.

Maybe you can let Panpac know that someone is interested to take up your package and see what they say.

Meanwhile, take care ya.

hi pikota,
our Hotel is Hotel New Otani. have placed a deposit already, so right now oso nothing much to do. think the busy mth will be starting form July... hahhaa... so now relax huh...

wow gals..so many postings..have been keeping track all the while. But no time to reply.

hi exciting,
You have the same AD as me!! Finally found someone!!

hi nickel,
U went to BI? I went there once only.
And then I switch to another one for 2times, but somehow, I feel that all my pimples popped out everytime after facial. I am quite demoralising, thot of giving up.

But I am going down to BI again to try it. Hopefully, it won't disappoint me.

hi Yvonne,
I have always wanted to try sothys..but read from the thread that it is kinda exp?
How's their package like?
Yes, yes. If more people sign up, maybe we can get a better price..

hi pheb,
I am a TW bride. Let me know after u have visited them, okie?

hi pikota75,
Congrats on getting ur lovenest.

If you want, I can recommend u my designer. She is quite gd. Cos' our reno really hassel-free.
Happy finding!!

hi nickel
have emailed to u

hi feroy
wow, 6 MTM gowns, that's a good bargain leh, most places only have max 3 MTM, the WG, EG & tea dress. see, u're really getting a good deal from ur designer

hi blurq
my package is about $380 for 5 sessions. Works out to under $80 per session. Mine is the normal package ($89/session). if ur complexion is very good, then it'll be cheaper, $79/session. if u have sensitive skin, then it'll be $99/session. this pricing is off memory, don't know if they've changed this year cos i last visited them in dec hee hee

well... i think their price is pretty standard. i've used them since jan 2001. u're right, i had breakouts after my 1st 2 sessions with them. but after that, no more breakouts. i've been having pimples on my face since 13 and no matter what products i try, they don't go away, very sian one. but after going for sothys facial, my face stabalised in 2 months, it's been pimpleless since then (touch wood).

but then, of course, if u overwork or take too much heaty stuff and don't take care of ur skin, will have occassional pimple but not as bad.

yah, as i was saying, i'm going there on 21 feb. nickel's coming along as well. if more of u come along and sign up together, sure have a better deal. do let me know if u're interested ok?

hi Yvonne..
recieved! okie..will beep u k..btw do i need to call them in advance?can i have the phone number??so excited leh, can go mei mei liao..
see u!

blurq..
u going??if yes maybe we can all meet up k..u can ask Yvonne to email u the detail..

hi yvonne,
of cos.. i'll def keep u gals updated..

hi nickel,
oh... i went to LD... n i dun like it leh... also tried citra sari at circular rd (behind boat quay).. find it good..
but im planning on visiting Karen of Devotion.. there's a thread on her giving advice...
aft trying her out.. i'm thinking of signing for pkg with either 1 lor....

hi yvonne,
is sothys good???? wats ur rating of the therapist there?? btw, wat r the rates of the facials there?

hi pikota75,
must be very careful in the selection of reno n contractors... alot of homework to do.. but its a wonderful process.. frm an empty hse.. to ur ideal hse, furnished with ur selected furniture n lightings, etc...

hi nickel
their tel is 6535 5669. serena is the recept/admin person, she'll most likely be the person picking up the phone. they only have 2 beauticians, so, if u want to try them out with me, u'll need to call them and make booking. saturdays are usually fully booked. just call say u're my friend
(nope, i don't get any commission lah, but if more of u sign up together, maybe we'll all enjoy a better rate mah

hi forest
yah, i like sothys, have tried 2 other beauty salons previously and i don't like them, they're too pushy and squeeze until whole like just got chicken pox, damn ugly. got a friend who went to haatch recently, also same thing, whole face filled with red dots after the facial

i've just posted my facial package. what i do is take the normal package first and then if during the visit, i feel my face is very dry, i'll top up about $10-$15 for extra works, eg vitamin c or some hydration stuff. that's the good thing about them, they're very flexible.

the current beautician (diana) whom i'm using now is not too bad. i think the boss is better but can't remember her name.