(2004) Brides of year 2004

etelle

yah lynn you are the 1st cuz you oct 1st hee hee i will be 2nd then ha ha no problem with that....
by the way if i am choosing my bs does my husband need to come along and also can i ask a few friends to join??? Really no experience and also scared to experience. Would the designer be able to tell us what's suitable for us?? And also as for tea dress and wedding gown what kind you guys recommend? Any other good mags to intro?

nnyl

Etelle

Don't worry, i'm sure the designer can suggest a gown design that suit u. Just walk in any studio to try. As for bringing husband, it's up to u. First time i bring my hubby only, wrong move cos everything ask him is either 'dunno' or 'ok lor' or even worse 'i'm not a bimbo'! :p Better to bring a gf along. Gals can give more suggestion and more stamina in shopping. It's very nice experience, going around trying gowns.
Go full force!

Magazine-wise, very standard, just grab one will do. Alternative, go online to find out. My fav is www.forthebride.com it has links to many bridal website.

*hai* waiting for the next gf to get married so i can go shopping again. :p

bonjon

Hi Marie,

My is on 03/01/2004 too. Heard that this is a good date.

How's your preparation so far? Still busy with renov?

Taken your photo? Care to share?

Are you doing any photo montage or wedding MTV? Any recommendaton?

mee_mee

i went for my first fitting at the boutique... the WGlooks sort of raw as its sort of semi-complete. The boutique doesn't allow me to take photos of the gowns... :p

yah... ocean's question is oso mine. My mum said she is a minimalist on tradition... so only need to bring mandarin oranges and serve tea. So simple leh... but some more traditional stuff will be better. Wat to look out/prepare hah?

Gals... its less than 5 months to our big day... yes, 3 cheers!

mee mee

amos_aw

Hey everyone, i'm in the midst of trying to figure out a program schedule for our wedding dinner and solemnization ceremony. Does anyone have any ideas? Suggestions? Something i could perhaps look at to get some idea? Thanks!

oceans

Mee Mee, i got the same sentiments!! When too traditional, I think it is too troublesome!!

But when they told me nothing to prepare, like <font color="ff0000">An Chuang</font>, Setting up the new bed, got timing one right???
33131.gif

Confuse....
33132.gif

onee

Fantasy : Hope so, adjusting to new environment and colleagues.

Fairymoss : We've been to only one at Shang. Dun think will go for any bridal shows cos most fundamental decisions have been made. Moreover, perks at shows are valid for that particular day only. Don't wanna rush or feel pressurized and commit only to regret later : ) Wah Paradox ah, heard their shoes are pretty ex. do you know what is the range of their shoes? Will embark on my shoe search after confirming my cheongsum colour and design. Sigh, still waiting patiently for the 1st gown appt.

Cubby : Thanks for your information. We purchased our pair at Fairy's Inc. Hehe, looking forward to their call once ring's ready for engraving : )

blue_lake

halo...

my bed was set up 1 year ago.. but i heard tat our MIL must lay the red bedsheet for us? ya.. got timing one. think will just leave her to tuck in one corner la. yi4 si4 yi4 si4.
what's the reason behind this huh?

girlfriend

fairymoss,

I got my material @ Arab Street, Bobby Fabrics. If you need a tailor for your mum, I can intro my CS tailor to you. She went wif me to buy the material too and manage to bargain a lower price. The price range depends on the type of material. The one that i bought is organza silk, its $30/m.

I will suggest that you &amp; your mum can go one trip, walk ard and see what you like first. You can defintely bargain for the price of the material.

Btw, Arab St opening hours is between 10 to 6pm. Fri to Sat

Oneeu, paradox range 100+. My CS tailor recommending me to buy silver strappy shoes but i bought mine already, beige closed toe shoes.

fairymoss

hi Oneeu,

Bought mine at $280. Paradox range from $238, so when add GST would be $240+. Girlfriend, there's no $100+ ones leh. A plain one without any crystals cost $238. More costly than the Leapin lizard but it's worth it, it's very beautiful.

mariesoh

Just finished my reno for the new house...phew..hehehehe..now left cleaning up..hahahahaha

My MIL gave us 2 dates 13 Dec 03 and 3 jan 04. we had in fact wanted the earlier date but the wedding venues which we called are interested had been book so we had to push it to 2004. Heard 13 dec 03 also quite a hot date.

Where would u be having your din din bonjon? I'll be having mine at Conrad.

My PS would be on 31st Oct..which is abt a month away..first fitting in next week ..and second fitting one week b4 the PS..

I would be having a photo montage for my din din...personally dun like MTV style wedding..prefer to induce some nostagic feeling to my guests...afterall most have seen how i look now..tot it'll be great for them to see my "youth" ..hehehehe

What about you? How is prep so far?

Hi Amos

i have not started to think of the schedule..i think we would prepare tt prob in nov/dec time...am finalizing the guestlist though..so tt can we settle the invites..*pull hair*..i think tt kills alot of my cells..hahahaha

Cheers everyone!

Have a wonderful weekend!

Me just watched Turn Left Turn Right with my hubby..now in romantic mood..hehehe

Bye for now!

bonjon

Marie,

Mine was even worst, in-law kept changing their mind from Aug'03 to Sep then Dec &amp; finally Jan'04. My din din is at The Chervons (in-law's idea).

Wow, guess my gear is faster. My PS done (on 31/08),selected photo two weeks ago. Now looking for emcree &amp; sourcing for either photo montage or wedding MTV.

As for renov, my house was ready last year. Hb had moved in.

By the way, do you have any emcree to recommend &amp; emcree script to share?

Where will you be taking your photo?

cyn

hi ladies... jus some updates on my PS... so lucky to ve good weather on fri.. PS is fun but tiring... went to this lalang pl near tanah merah safra.. saw 4-5 couples there.. ai yo.. so many mosquitoes.. i kana 30+ bites on my hands.. a few on my face &amp; feet.. feeling so itchy now... so anyone gog there.. make sure to bring a bottle of insects repellant.. after tat went to the broadwalk at changi sailing club... felt sick &amp; weak at the end of the shoot... no choice ve to rest for awhile... now hopefully the photos turn out nice..

lin &amp; bonjon
for more info on the photo montage call william at 6223 1107. duno why.. i cant post their website here.

TCL... my bridal is universal at toa payoh..

bonjon... my big day is 7 jan... having my banquet at grand copthrone waterfront... time flies hor... jus a few more mths to go... so how's ur preparations? mostly done?

welcome sunshine... how's ur preparations getting on? hope u have fun here...

bonjon

cin_p,

Can you email the website to me at [email protected]? Dun really like to talk to them first before I do my homework. I'm afraid that they will pester me to sign, I'm not good at rejecting

Can I see your photo when ready?

Ino,

If you are asking for re-photo, remember to check with them the extra charges. I'm expected to pay $100 or $200 for re-booking the make-up artist if re-photo is required. Fortuately, mine turned out nice.

ever

hi gals!!

jul, my new job ok lah... at least more "click" with the colleagues....

silver, you blur blur ah?!?! hahahahaha.... ya, always crowded, that's why i a bit worried... not sure if they can cope with so many couples... a bit regret.... esp, now my bro's gf always praising PP.... seems like designer boutique will pay more attention to individual couples... so scared my BS cant produce my ideal gown... sigh...

think i better go to yahoo and take a look... havent view those photos yet...

silver

Just back from gathering wif friends. One of them on n off do login to SB n she commented our threads always one of the longest hehehe Looks like we really chatty hahaha

Ever,
Actually I am quite surprised tha ur bro's gf will like PP cos you mentioned that she has very high standard rite?

Well, don't worry lah I am sure ur bs wants to mantain his reputation too so sure will do a gd job.

mee_mee

Blue Lake,

First time I've heard of the MIL bit... what if one doesn't have MIL? Hmm....

I oso heard a few versions about the new bed. Some say only pregnant woman cannot sit/lay on marital bed before consumation, some say woman in general cannot sit/lay on it, and some say all cannot sit on it. Which one is more accurate?

I saw a shop at Jurong West that sells the Guo Da Li stuff... will get the block number and let u gals know where it is.

mee mee

mariesoh

Hi Bonbon!

no choice lor..coz have to satisfy the date to make the elders more at ease. How is the feeling now..as the big day draws by..i am getting mixed feelings of excitment, stress and sadness. Sadness as in somehow i'll be "leaving" my family..duno how to put it in words..

Wow..your fast manz..where did u take your PS?
I had settle my actual day photographer and videographer very much earlier.

House was suppose to be done up b4 june but had alot of defects..so we keep make the developer rectify alot of them...in the end..tt delayed our reno plans.

Me using Daniel as my emcee..i very ks..i chop him more than a yr in advance. I think under the thread of free emcee he has some emcee scripts to share...if i am not wrong..i came across anothe thread in the forum which has some scripts?

I'll be taking mine at Fullerton area and also at Conrad....fullerton area is my photographer fave spot lor...u have other recommendations..i cant seems to think of other alternatives..

fairymoss

GF,

then u are very lucky. I wish it was $180. but never mind lah, also bought liao, hope it will be very nice.
I haven't collect, would be ready in a month's time. the other pair I got at leapin lizard, was around $160. All these miscellaneous cost can really add up to a lot.

girlfriend

fairymoss..

I saw onli, i didnt buy...

during tat time, i havent confirmed my BS.

Mayb yours MTM that is why so ex???

I bought mine from Metro, Vive .. err ard 100. hehheeh during the 20% sale.

I mite buy another pair for EG, aft i confirm the design.

smurfy

wow, you all very good ley, already find out so many things..

me oso minimalist when come to traditional stuff... I am the type of person that very afraid of "mah fan" stuff and my mom very chin chai wan.. so I don't have guo da li, en chuang etc stuff to do loh.. unless my MIL insist.

And now my make-up artist is pregnant, so BS ask me if I mind or not. On AD, she will be in her 6th month, so stomach will show already. I still ok since I not very pang dang type, my mom oso said if I okie, she okie. But my bro-in-law said better for her to leave before my FH come to fetch me loh, like that very easy lah :p

pebbles

bonjon,
hi, my MTM gown is a package with bridal zone and i dun have to pay extra for the MTM gown, i won't be able to bring back the gown

bonjon

Marie,

I had my PS in Aug, selected fotos liao. Actual photographer found but hb had yet to confirm which one he want (his friends). Videographer &amp; photo montage not done yet, still waitling for they to get back (had queries).

Wow, you're very ks but lucky for you he'll not be doing anymore emcree next year except those he promised earlier. I'm still looking for one, thinking of asking my ex-coll.

My is at t studio, Sentosa but lastly my house. I think is special &amp; unique, I'll not be expecting to see anyone having t same background as mine. Why dun you try? It's another way to showing your relatives &amp; friends your house especially for those whom had not been there before.

blurq

I m back.How's wkends? I have a lot of fun this wkend, finally got a chance to try diff gowns..

hi etelle,
dun worry,u can make appt w the bs, and try their gowns, then only u'll know what kind of gowns that best suits u..as for bringing friends or husband, actually depending if ur husband is those kind that know how to appreciate the gowns or not. most of the time like wat lynn said, they'll give comments like,'ok lor', 'not bad'..:p

hi lynn,
the photo albums that i've seen, some of the photographers used soft paper kind, but there are also those who used those conventional type of material, which i think is better..actually depends on what photographers u choose, i guess..

hi golden and rabbitwsk,
did u visit the photographers individually or u juz choose the photographers from the studio directly? Cos i may have qns that wants to ask, which i dun think the designers can ans leh..

marker

hi hi ladies,

I'm back!!! sorri 4 not posting soon. Been very busy planning and seaching ideas for my WG/EG, now make a quick posting and also to catch up with u girls.

Yeah, u all sound so.oooo..well prepare men!!. me gotto get started on plans... any ideas where is the be the best plc for PS??

Ocean - u luck girl settled most of your plan. Now sit back, shake legs and relax hor... unlike me now rushing like mad

mine gown not yet settle ...dun even mention "Guo Da Li". But i guess really have to compromise alot ...it better to believ it then regret, afterall we all wanna have a great marriage rite?

clueless2705

i am okie with both... but felt that here more convenient... can see everything on one page... yahoo, need to click every now and then... but generally ok with both... i know i talking rubbish
, but have to bear with me la.. monday morning is like this one... heehheee

rabbitwsk

Hi blurq

Me had a good wkend exercising and visiting friends

I hv not talk to Andrew fr the Edge. But I hv tok to our friends (2 of them who are being featured in his album in Dang and Emanual) who hv worked w him. We will go tok to him when the photography date draw closer (next yr May/June).
I hv tok w Cindy fr Dang, she also recommend The Edge for we want something more outdoor and more green n sea. We no like building stuff.

So where u gone fitting... fun hoh :p
My 1st round is only me, second round of shopping me, 1 gd friend and hubby (only went 3 shops), 3rd round w a friend, then 4th round, finalise.

Tell u something, I have bought my wedding shoes liao! KS, right? Afraid tt might not be able to find and might not hv time. I am running some biz thus got to ad-hoc see something I like then buy.

oceans

TCL, dun think i got anything settle lah!! Wanting to ask you. Wat does RTC stands for??

I have already settle my Wedding Gown and Kwa. For Evening gown, selected one, but might be changing if got new one!! Well, that's all I have done lor.....

Hubby said better quickly decided what to print on the wedding cards and ask the Restaurant to print for us... Sigh.... sian..

By the way, do you gals parents meet up already to tok abt Pin Jin, tables, etc??? When are the parents supposed to meet up har???

blurq

hi rabbitwsk,
we like the Edge too..
cos most likely will be taking only outdoor pics..so his style really suits us..

yes..very fun..went to Sil, flamingo and ted wu. like ted wu gowns the best but very exp leh..shirley from flamingo is very sincere..she keep choosing gowns for me to try until i m satisfied..very gd services. as for sil, no chemistry w the designer leh..

wow..u must be very excited abt ur wedding..hehe..gd mah..as long as u see smthing nice, then buy it..cos' u may not come across another pair u like..happy for u..

onee

Hi GF and Fairymoss,

Thanks for your advise on the paradox shoes. A little off my budget. Nevertheless, will see how lah...

cubby

wah so much discussion abt shoes huh
fm wat i see, a pair of decent bridal shoes cost at least 100 bucks ya...

so how many pairs do we need to have?? one for WG and another for EG isit? do i have to get it before my PS?

hi fairymoss,
actually they just sent me the invitation...so since free i just go hehe...this sat goin for Marina mandarin one...my fren got free ticket hehe... like abit greedy hehe
so nice u got ur shoes without much difficulties!! hope i'llbe like u too!! me wan to go paraodox see also!!

hi onee,
its great u got ur bands!!! so u like it?? definitely lah...excited to see it hor!! me got mine so long..still haven engrave haha..cos postphone ROM so no need hurry liao!! hehe

pageup

hello ladies,

Times really flies.. Only 5 months left

I think all those traditional stuffs like an chuan, guo da li also depends on what dialect group you belong to.
For me, I also have no idea how to go about preparing. I just leave it to my mum to do whatever she likes as it is not too troublesome.

We got most of our an chuan stuffs from our recent holiday to guangzhou. Actually it is just a pink color silk dragon and phoneix fitted sheet set. Luckily my mum didn't insist on geting a bright red set

Wow.. Ocean, you are fast we haven't even think of who to invite.
As for pin jins etc.. our parents haven't meet to discuss on that.. they just convey messages through us.

Smurfy, your ps is coming soon, I think you must be very excited about it. Remember to share your experience with us hor?

me rom and ps also coming.. really looking forward to it.

oceans

Pageup, no... me also have not think who toinvite yet.... Hubby said my pattern is very very last min one, so better ask restaurant print first.,.... since the names of who to invite is later writen down by ourself!!

So nice, u bought bedsheet liao! Really regret din buy in Shanghai the last times.... Bought the Quit but did not buy the quit cover set. Thought very expensive, cos neber buy b4 mah!! Then friend told me buy in S'pore can be cheaper....

Now then i found out that Quilt cover set is SO EXPENSIVE here!!!

voice_0229

Hi mee mee

I would like to know where to buy items for Guo Da Li at Jurong West? Keep mee in the loop ok. Not sure if parents will want it but better check out first. Hubby not chinese so guess things would be less complicated when comes to decision making.

ingenue78

hi bonjon,
yeah, u r rite! they charge for make-up. going to choose photos this sat. anyway, i dun think i want a re-shoot. very tiring and i've tons of work to do!!!! stressed liao!

hi cin_p,
good for u...when u c yr photos, u will realise that it's all worth it! aiyo, now i'm so stressed with all the wedding prep...juz realised tat a lot of work not done yet!

bonjon

Pebbles,

I think I got confused. MTM means they will make according to your measure, rite?

Ino,

Just relax and smile, it'll turn out nice. Dun Worry.

smurfy

Hi pageup,

Really excited that Thursday will be my PS already. I had picked up my CS from TC on sunday. Don asked me to let him know comments and give him a pic after PS.

Anyone had any idea what to bring on PS day? I know oil blotters, handaplast, wat else?
I haven't decide where to go though I have Sentosa in mind. Don said that let Andrew (my photographer) plan for me. Wonder if the new changi walk (the new extension) good for photo taking or not..

forest

hey bonjon,
aiya.. paiseh lah.. my wedding still not fixed yet.. kekekek... we ve yet to sit down n decide on the details... but still hope we can make it for next yr.....

cin,
u're the luckiest woman man!! i was telling kel how lucky u r!!! the weather was really good... it really rained all it cld on thur huh.. kekekekek

ino, soupie, cin,
u gals ok with meeting up on 17 Oct?

regarding the outing... really no other takers ah???

bonjon

Forest,

You should start planning, dun last minutes if not you will press sos button later.

Can I join? where are you gals going?

forest

hi bonjon,
kekke.. yeah.. i know tt.. heee.. jus tt we hvent decided date... n our budget for the various items... so, we r still lazing arnd for now... hee hee... :p

sure! of cos u can join us... the more the merrier mah... keekekek... we hvent decided on location n time yet.... but its def mtg in the central area...
so, can i include ur name as a confirmed attendee??

marker

Hi ladies, Any suggestions on MTM cos i need to start my MTM gown soon. Have been looking at magz but still can't make up my mind…dun know what is best for me…sigh!!! Time is running out …still can't make-up my mind and I'm really worry…what happened if it doesn't turn out well, how do i know the design suit me???…. Its seem really hard to predict the outcome …its really heng/suay men!!!

Oh yup anyone know/use French studio bridal??

Ocean - RTC stand for Raffles Town Club. My dream wedding was to have it by the sea but b'cos of the old folks...no choice lor *sign* I guess we just have to give in. Well, RTC is not too bad as it do gives a nice and cosy feel.

Smurfy - Dun worries too much ….yup let Andrew do the planning….U just have to relax ….if not too kan cheong cannot smile. Are you referring to the broadwalk along changi sailing club? I'm not sure abt the plc but saw it on Newspaper…they have views of yatchs, cliffs and sunset.. its seem quite nice as it quite new. Bring along a bottle of insects repellant in-case there's mosquitoes.

Me too tot of going sentosa for mine PS, so share your experience with me aft ur PS ya and can I see your photos when ready? BTW what does CS mean?