(2004) Brides of year 2004

annmelody

Hi doreamon,

can check with you how much you got your curtains for? All full cutains_ day and night?

Pebbles,

Think me been too busy to remeber the date. I have fix the appt with my friend on this coming friday...let me know if you can make it then :p

trixie

Hi Evon,
I've just fwded the file to you. Have adjusted to reflect 5% GST for the non-nett packages. How many tables you looking at and whats your budget?

I've already renovated my flat liao. In fact, it's partially furnished already. I still need to buy a bookshelf, chest of drawers for MBR, cd cabinet, shoe cabinet, bed+mattress (i only have a temp mattress now), dressing table+mirror and some standing lights. But now trying to save money for the bridal and banquet so stopped buying furniture sometime back already. I do stay over on weekends sometimes.

choco

Wah, Bali sounds so happening! Perhaps i can consider going there for my honeymoon
Sounds like an exotic place too!

Mimosa: with a boyfriend who's a teacher, not quite possible to get married during normal school term. Coz i think they can't really take leave during school term, unless it's really urgent i think. When my FH first told me that he can't take leave during school term, i found it quite hard to believe! But come to think of it, in my school days i dun remember any of my teachers ever going on leave before! MC or compassionate leave - yes, but no 'normal' leave. So no choice lor

Hey u hv fun during ur Bali trip yah! So exciting

evon

Hi sweet,

the four season pricing i left it at hm maybe can bring along and fax it too u if u need. ya lor very ex but they allow lesser tables.

ty trixie...i've recd it. u r really good at it, very impressed by your effort.

im looking at 50 tables and budget u said leh...so many tables cos my fh's side so many relatives, im so afraid of overbudgeting so hv to reduce my tables..so sad

how r ur flat? isitz true its very smelly cos of the coco? and is ur place near the mrt stn?

doreamon

annmelody,
I got mine at $800+++ with full day and night for living room and master bedroom. The rest of teh 3 rooms are half-length curtains only.

jan

I think u can click to read simplified chinese on the top right hand corner of the website..
But anyway, since u're getting a shifu, then maybe u dun need to use this..
Yeah, i had trouble reading the fan ti zi initially, so just guessed the word!! haha..

ino

hi pebbles,

actually, i was shopping at taka on Sat and saw the Lovely Lace section. The ring pillow there was out of stock...but i've asked the gal to inform me when it comes...and guess wat? she sms on sunday to ask me to go down coz the stock has arrived...going down today...likely to buy it
;-)

btw, you are sooo creative...doing the decor yourself! i feel so lazy...thinking i've to do so much things for my wedding!

binbin

hi pebbles and soupie, really ah? far east sq (not plaza right?) and suntec have?? any idea what is the price like compared to CF? okie will go check it out, thanks!

sweetysweetgal

Thanks Evon ! If it's more than $800 after the +++, dun think we will consider....;p....guess too expensive for us....;p...guess we will only set our budget at $800 nett/table (after all the +++)

Imagine besides the wedding dinner, u still need to pay the extra costs such as buying wine, loan of projector (if hotel dun provide, of course gd if u can borrow), wine corkage (if hotel dun waive all), beer (if no free flow & 1 barrel not enough), "ang baos for helpers & everyone", extra $$$ for extra photos, extra wedding clothing / shoes / deco, etc.....;p....really lots of $$$ involved....;p

Must really do all yr costing, pricing & budgeting....;p

evon

You're welcome sweety, most likely it's more than $800. How come you dun go for wedding lunch? Marriott is having wedding lunch @ $488 (if I didnt rmbr wrongly). You can get a copy of wedding travel, there are some interesting outdoor place whr you can hold you wedding. Nice ambience and affordable. Wanna try cruise wedding but my FH dun like the idea.

wendylee

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">BINBIN: Yes, should be FarEast SQ not plaza cos there no fitness club...
</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">INO: Hi, I think previously I have seen a section whereby they sells those bears and ring pillows at Taka B1 there... smells nice too... is that the ones you all talking about? What is the smell called? So very nice!</FONT>

jul_04

Hi Jan,
Up to you
But if u're going, just let me &amp; silver know. Then we can meet &amp; attach faces to our postings too! *hee*

Think you can go to the shifu to get date now already. They use 8 characters, not tongshu. But if you go to temple, then got to wait for the tongshu. At least, that's what pple who check dates tell me. For us, we're Christians, so just pick any old date...

pebbles

AngelBB,
one thing i hate abt going to CF is the guys lah, all so smelly one esp when u go to the weight sections ah...wow...all so big then showing off their strength cannot tahan ah...

wendylee,
pple busy mah....and i have not updated my address book...ok will send it to u later..

Ino,
oh, goodie, so u going to get it tonite ah, they have quite a few design, im sure u will find something u like..
As for decor ah, me not creative lah, very lazy too, now u ask me to do it again , i might not have the strength to do it too...so for my wedding next year ah, i dun think i have any more brain juice to think of any creative thingy...eheheh...running out of creative juice...

binbin,
i dun know how much it cost ah, think it's abit more ex as compared to CF...they got one at suntec, far east square and one at great world..

silver

Hihi...

Jul 04,
Oh so duchess satin wif a layer of organza is common ya?

Btw, did you get ur flat thro BTO or WIS huh? How did you manage to delay getting your key? Anyone ve any idea if its WIS, how long after selection will we be getting our key huh?

Yvonne,
Hey I check my date thro the website too. Bascially for me I already ve a date in mind so just to check n make it that day is suitable for wedding.

How's ur visiting viewing the hdb? Did you go down to the hdb head office at toa payoh or ??

Jan,
Ve you been to any bridal so far? Or still looking around?

Ya even the balloting this time round, there r more applications for 4rooms dan 5rooms.

Btw, which gym you gals intend to sign up? If you gals are considering Planet Fitness let me know k cos my bf is working under the membership dept...

silver

Hihi...

Ino,
You must ve missed out my msg - Yes I ve received ur email. Thx!

Bin bin, pebbles &amp; wendylee,
Planet fitness has 3 branches - Suntec, Far East Sq n Great World City. Hey if you gals considering joining PF mayb I can help to find out more details for you gals.

jul_04

Hi silver,
Yup, most pple like organza, coz it looks softer. The duchess satin is the inner layer right?

I got my flat from WIS. Depends on the flat you're looking at. If it's already built, u can get ur keys straightaway, give &amp; take a few weeks for paperwork. If it's in the process of building, they'll state the estimated date of completion. But usu always abt 6 mths earlier than what they claim. For BTO, it takes abt 4 - 5 yrs, much longer coz HDB trying not to build more flats nowaways.

Sure, I'll let u know if I decide to join gym *sigh* Just so lazy...

binbin

hi silver, me called up the suntec branch. their monthly is $108 before gst. if sign up for one year, get 6 mths free and $300 rebate. plus $200 siging fee. it's more exp than CF, but slightly slightly cheaper than amore. heard that they have ladies only exclusive gym area. how's it like? and their classes need registration, which i like. CF ones can just go in and join, realli packed.

how's the place like? as packed as CF? u have membership there huh?

annmelody

doreamon,

i got a quote and it's for the below mentioned at 1200.
Hall - Full height day and night curtain. Day curtain (organza)
Master - Full height day and night curtain
Room - half height curtain only.
StudyRoom- 3/4 height Roller blind

Reasonable?

jan

Hello ladies!!

silver, if u take WIS and usually the flat is ready already, so u can get the keys very fast! If u wanna take ur time get the keys, choose those flats that are still undergoing construction, that kind probably can wait maybe ard a year...
For BTO, must wait for donkey years, think not so advisable to get this!! Unless u dun mind waiting for 3-4 years??

Hehe.. silver, nope i still havent visited any bridal yet... haha.. think u gals must be wondering, aiyo, talk so much and i still havent gone to visit any!!!

But basically still trying to find out a few good ones now, and waiting to see if they're any bridal shows going on for those that i shortlist, so will be able to get perks!! hehe, sound like a typical kiasu s'porean ah!

Yes yes, the oraganza over the satin is common actually but so is just the duchess satin type, but some ppl like it without the organza piece, so the look is more structured. However, with the organza layer, it's kinda soft and flowy

Btw, i just went for a jog on Sat, and gosh, my leg ached after that!! haha.. Really havent exercise for very long time!!!

silver

Hi Jul 04 &amp; Jan,

Oh so WIS is those ready key lah. Jul 04, how did you manage to delay huh? Cos I am thinking if there r wis coming up can I apply but collect the key later?

Looks like most gowns are abt the same ya....

Hey seems like all BTBs are thinking of going gym. Gals in 2004 thread talking abt gym too :p

How happened to Ever &amp; Sagi?

jul_04

Hi Jan,
U mean u haven't gone to see any bridal yet? I tot u went to see Flamingo &amp; Silver Lining? *confused*

Wow going for a jog is a gd start. Think I shall start some exercise soon. But too busy with hse &amp; everything lah. Plus new portfolio a bit difficult to handle. Excuses excuses...

jul_04

Hi silver,
WIS also got those in the midst of building type. Mine was that type, so just sit ard &amp; wait till they finish the bldg lor. Depends on how late you wanna collect key.

Coz when I went to apply for my flat, I paid $2k booking fee. Then abt 2 - 3 mths later, I paid 10% downpayment (the $2k is used to offset). Then when the building is ready, they will send a letter to you to collect keys &amp; pay the remaining 10% in 1 mth time. I make some excuse abt my fiance going overseas, so can delay for another 2 - 3 mths lor.

I think ever's busy clearing work after her KL trip. Sagi's already sleeping at home lah

silver

I think Jan shortlisted Flamingo n Silverlining but yet to visit the shop rite? She still taking her own sweet time hehe

Jul 04, oh so must wait till wis dan will know lor. Ok just wait n see how dan...

jul_04

Oic... so Jan is still as slow as me *hee* I'm also taking my own sweet time to pay a visit to Thomson Wedding

Yup u wouldn't know until the list of flats available for selection comes out, to see which is 'keys available' / 'under construction'.

Sian.. I'm still at work. Demoralised!

trixie

Hi Evon,
Wow! 50 tables is alot! How about Merchant Court? Their min. is 38 tables, though i'm not sure of the max. After +++, it's still less than $800 per table. I heard the food there is quite nice also, was thinking of having it there before i realised the min. table requirement is so high!

The calc of the "+++" is as follows:
Eg. $700 +++
1. 10% on $700 = $70
2. 5% on $770 = $38.5
3. 1% on ($700*1.05, ie. amt after gst only) = $7.35
Total = 815.85

i don't smell the coco from my flat, so it's okay. It's about 3 bus-stops from Jurong Point. To walk will take about 15mins. Heard they're building a sports complex near my place and with the resuming of contruction at blk 637, there'll be a mini-complex that should be ready by Jan 04.

jan

Hello gals!

Jul, work so late, very busy with ur new portfolio?

Errr Jul, i havent visited flamingo or silverlining yet lah, hehe, just that these are the 2 that i keep shortlisting and talk abt but never been to see yet!!
hehe, silver u're right, i'm taking my own sweet time!!

silver, think u can come up with some excuses but dun think can delay for too long also, few months still ok.. Like wat Jul said, choose those that are not fully built yet, this will delay the time to collect keys too!

For me, i dun think i can really make myself go gym twice a week, simply too lazy, think will just do exercises on weekends... hehehe.. But exercise is really impt actually, if not next time old already, will suffer from aches and pain everywhere, so must exercise while we're still young..hehe.. A word of motivation to get silver and Jul to exercise!!

Think ever came back only today, tom go back office rite? I presume sagi enjoying her own free time now!!

yvonne

Hi Jan, Silver, Jul04,

So u guys has changed the topic to HDB &amp; Exercise? I thk SILVER ur waiting for Punggol flat rite? Hopefully it really launch in Aug! I also prefer WIS cos the flat is ready, don't need to wait so long! BTO kinda really "TAN GU GU"... But i heard there are no more 4rooms flat at Punggol areas, so sad! =(

Btw gals, I've started going gym last week and this wed im going agn...hee! For me I dun exercise regularly, so next day whole body aching liao! I've also decided to join AMORE their aerobics class in July. Any1 interested? Heard is quite good and effective. Can really tone up yr body and slim down. But for me my aim is not to lose weight but to tone up my body and keep FIT. I already very slim liao...hee! Can't afford to lose some more, if not bcom a SKELETON!!! The basic aerobic package is $120 (12sessions for 3mths). I thk exercise is very impt! Lately, I also try to do sit-up at home but sometime come bk late or too lazy la..."GIVE EXCUSES"...hee!

This evening, I went down to GCW to enquire abt their smaller ballroom. Is stl under construction, heard from the mgr tht e ballroom will be ready in mid-aug! 1 ballroom can cater for 18 tables max another one 28 tables max. Is quite diff from the Grand Ballroom which is golden yellow/light brown... the new ballroom is kinda of zin look using darker wood! Hmm... i find that place not too bad quite classy... maybe is my choice of wedding venue!

jan

hello Yvonne!!

kinda excited to hear from u abt GCW!! Great, seems like a very good choice!! And sounds very modern too, the zen look!! Too bad, already booked mine, if not may consider there too!! hehe..
Btw, how many tables are u looking at?

ino

Hi Pebbles,

I've got the ring pillow! Torn between the red and ivory roses on the ring pillow....in the end i chose the ivory roses coz it looked more elegant...think i will add some tulle to act as a veil for the bearbear as well as some laces for the gown...hope it turns out nice.

i simply love all the lacy cute boxes...very tempted to buy but resisted. I also had a hard time choosing the cutest bears in the shelf....oh my gosh...can't want for my wedding to come! 6 more months to go!

hi silver,
glad u've got it! hope it helps!

mimosa

Thanks Girlfriend and Happy for your info! I'm really very excited abt the trip! Hey, Happy, which villa did u stay? We also wanted very much to stay at one, coz there's 5 of us and we prefer an apartment or villa type, but the packages offered by tour agents here dun have leh. How much was your 8 days trip? Where was the villa and how far was it from airport and Kuta? So good to have a housemaid to wash and iron your clothes, then no need to bring so much clothings.

Girlfriend, wow the bikinis really so cheap ah? How abt corals? I love corals, want to get some to put in my coffee table. Got one from Mauritius but want to get more shells and corals if possible to decorate the house. =) Heard there's some shops selling wood carved artifacts and souveniors in Ubud.

Wah...I simply love beach resort, but it's always very sunny and hot. Which brand of sunscreen u all recommend? I've been to several beach resorts, but without fail each time I come back, I'm always charred. Does aftersun massage help?

Choco,
I haven't been to Bali, but after hearing what Happy and Girlfriend described, already very excited abt it. Must go there and buy beach wear, heehee. If u are considering honeymoon, maybe can go Mauritius or Maldives if u love beach resorts.

sweetysweetgal

Hi Evon,

If u looking for 50 tables, maybe can try Grand Copthorne Waterfront. My gal frd had her wedding there in 2001. She has more than 30 tables.

doreamon

Hi annmelody,
I guess it depends on the material u selected. So cannot really comment on it. Basically for 5-rm standard, the price should be ard that range. For me, we got it a low price becos' someone recommended a good lobang to us. If u interested, u may want to call me and i will give u the contact.

Good morning! I have finalised my ROM date: 12th October. Finally....we confirmed the date. Pebbles, u want to update your records? Thanks a lot!

Hi Soupie,

I went down to JLC yesterday night and was very disappointed with their ROM gowns. Limited selection and gowns in yellowish condition. Now i have to search again.

a&w

Pebbles..
Yah you are so right. Some ppl go to gym just to show off or try to pick up guys. HAhaha..like the gym in school, during the peak hours, you'll see so many guys in their tank tops or whatever trying to pump iron..DISGUSTING!! Can you say NARCISSISTIC! Then there are some girls..they'll wear make-up and wear tight outfits..try to lift some weights for like 10 seconds and then they'll just sit there and survey the gym for any guy that they are interested in. End up hogging the equipment when ppl like me desperately needs to use something to lose some weight!

Yah...have to really settle on a design for both WG and EG...easier said than done though cos I'm so fickle. HAhaha...But think when I talk to my aunt and mom, probably can settle on something more easily..

Soupie..
Since your husband like Dec..then it's good to stick with it. Especially you guys are working, will need more time to shop around and plan for stuff so the more time you have, the better also.

Lin,
Since there are K-pos out there who wants to compare...then maybe whenever you post, just make it seem like it's really small, nothing much or fancy about the wedding...then you can WOW those idiots on the real day
See who is the sucker then!

ever

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Morning gals!!</FONT>

Jan, you're right!! juz came back from KL yday... so, report for work this morning... so sian... <FONT COLOR="0000ff">tues blues...</FONT> thanks for not posting many msgs during the weekend... but one mon is enough!! hahahahaha
i can hardly catch up!!!!

Yvonne, you bought yr wedding bands at Soo Kee?? Me went to try some at Soo Kee on Fri and my bf likes one which is sort of "chunky" and suits his hand... a pair is also $700++ after discount!! Is yours the chunky kind too?!?! we still thinking, but most probably getting that pair... he dislike wearing those normal-sized wedding bands cos look very girly to him....

me joined Amore too!! me going twice a week but usually one of the lessons is not so "siong" type.... heeheheheehehee.....

Jul 04, maybe you can try Soo Kee?? cos they hav 30% discount so price-wise, more reasonable... actually, if one pair costs $500/$600, quite reasonable mah.... how's the design like??

soupie

doreamon, hmmmm the ROM gowns i saw at the show not old leh, did u tell them abt the condition of their gowns?.... anyways did u try on any WGs?

jan

hello ever!

Yeah, my hubby's ring is also the chunky type, actually i like chunky one for myself too, but he and the salesmen were saying too chunky for my hand!! urghhh... too bad, otherwise that one got bigger diamonds!!

Btw, did u go shopping in KL? Havent been there for a while, miss the cheap food and shopping!

ever

Hi Jan!

so, yours is not the chunky kind?? but the pair that i saw was exactly the same, so i got no choice but to wear a chunky one!!! hahahaha... anyway, ok lah... my fingers not slim either...

went shopping, but things not very cheap cos not much sales!!! plus the shopping centres reminded me of Spore.... might as well buy in Spore during GSS.... maybe cheaper!!!

jan

hello ever,
nope, in the end mine isnt the chunky one... boo!! hehehe.. Actually we mix and match, moreover, my hubby's one is plain, so mine can be any kind of design to make it a pair..

Oh yeah, sometimes the stuff there aint very cheap, i think it's only their food that is cheap!

jul_04

Morning gals, major workday <FONT COLOR="0000ff">blues</FONT> man! Yesterday left after 7 pm, then ta pao work home to do some more. This morning can't wake up, so a bit late for work *sigh* I hope I get thru this starting phase by end-Jul latest! Then can concentrate on my wedding projects again

Jan,
So when do you intend to visit Silver Lining? I'm thinking of going to Thomson Wedding next mth, hope I dun end up procrastinating again!

You're not alone. I hate exercise too! Just thinking of putting on those shoes &amp; sweating it out just demoralises me. Speaking of which, where are my cross-trainers????

You might have to wait very long for BTO. I rem when I went to get the brochure for the Sengkang WIS, this woman in front of me was complaining abt how she applied for BTO in Punggol since 1996, till May 2002 still no flat!

So it's abt $10 per session at Amore? Not cheap hor? If I dun go, then very waste money right???

The new GCW ballrooms sound nice. But I still can't forget the glass window &amp; the gazebo in the grand ballroom *hehe* Would have my wedding there if I could meet the min no of tables.

Ever,
Welcome back
Had a gd time? Btw is there any difference in custom / practices between KL &amp; Spore? Just curious... I miss the Luo Han Guo at Petaling. You know, the corner opposite Hotel Malaya? I went to KL twice &amp; stayed there both times. Ate the LHG 5 times a day!

My bf so diff from yours. He doesn't like diamonds, or chunky rings. He likes the simple, rounded type. No diamonds, no 2-colour, not too shiny. So I guess no point custom-making anyway right? The pair we saw is Pt, rounded, small, simple, with simple shiny lines on matt surface. Er... U get my description?

jan

Hello Jul,

Dun be too upset abt ur work ya! Will get the hang of it soon!

Yes Jul, couldnt meet GWC min tables too, i think on Sat, gotta be min 45 tables or so!! So many!! Why to find ppl!! hahaha.. So too bad, now it's too late!! hehe..

Dunno when i'll be visiting bridals yet, i think prob in August, sort of agreed with my hubby we'll start bridal shopping from Aug... so meanwhile just relax... hehe..

wendylee

<FONT COLOR="119911">MORNING!</FONT>
24804.gif

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">WOW, seems all very rich to have membership for this for that yah? KEKE *pardon me hor~ just being envy* We only go to those sports complex for gym/exercise... used to go every Sun late noon (I think <FONT COLOR="0000ff">PEBBLES</FONT> go morning 830am ah? Thats very early!!!)... cos after go home bath then can get ready for dinner liao... but nowadays adicited to those wedding/bridal shows... they are all in Sundays... so now only 1 or 2 Sundays a month... Have collegue who had membership with CFC, sounds xpensive wor... everymth have to pay 'fees' other than your annual membership right? But one thing shiok is that you have your own locker and can bath there without bring all the towels and shoes buggy there...</FONT> <FONT COLOR="0077aa">BTW, how to understand these ppl with makeup on and doing exercise? Isnt it too troublesome? Sweaty... then makeup melts... YUCKS!</FONT>

jul_04

Hi Jan,
Taking a break from reading the pile of files on my desk *cross-eyed*

Yeah, impossible to find 450 people! Besides, I dun wanna go to so many tables to take photos &amp; kena sabo-ed. Shake hands at the door until 'hand soft'!

I'm supposed to call &amp; make an appt with Thomson Wedding for next mth. A bit scared scared tho. I mean, what if the gowns are horrible, or the photography is horrible, or the service is horrible? Then I'll have a horrible wedding *arrggh* Hey, that can be my theme : <FONT COLOR="ff6000">The Horrible Wedding</FONT> Oh no, I'm in hysterics!

ever

Hi Jul 04!!

dont so stessed up about yr work, k?? will get the hang of it soon...... oh, the rings that you describe, i saw some at Soo Kee and they are about $400 to $600++ for a pair, esp. if you're getting white gold... I liked one with a matte strip across, but my bf wear liao very girly!!! hahahaha....

me stayed at Sheraton cos fren's wedding was held there.... the customs are basically the same... and the ballroom very nice!!!!