(2003) Brides of year 2003

hi Aileen!
my supposed wedding date is on 6/6/03 too!but thinking it is a fri so i put it on 7/6/03.

me booked with Marina Mandrain for hotel and
Bridal Zone for wedding album.

nice knowing u!

May,

The price for fr the wedding packages is ard the same, so..nothing much different. Me and my bf just went to The Pan Pacific this evening, the Ocean Ballroom very grand, Oriental, don't like their ballroom but their food very very tempting, kekek....will still shop ard nxt week...
We are short of time as is the wedding is in May or June nxt yr and yet we get anything done.

Fr the bridal shop, we already choose Julia.

morning flowee jie,

u did not sms me.. kekee..meaning u did not drop buy on thursday nite?

hmm..today public holiday.. perhaps u dropping by?

morning yi jie,

the sale over? thought the sale still on. kekeee... wow, so did u buy anything?

hope u enjoy your cooking today!

Hi Lilac and all,

Hope all of you had a great National Day holiday yesterday.

Lilac, I went to see our blk 647... 18th FL. is up already!!!!! I guess in a couple of weeks time they'll start painting already huh. I guess our block will be in a different color from those opposite our block ( 642D, 642C) that are already fully painted... judging from our brochure ya.
We brought our binocculars there... so I could actually see my unit.. WOW!!... but cannot see the inside lah, cos it was at an angle.

Can't wait to see my flat!!!

Hi kk mei,

ikea sale is till this weekend i think!

bought a picture for my masterbed room and some cute frames. simply like going shopping at ikea!

yesterday, went c car wif hubby coz hez planning to change car lah! and i baked some cookies over the weekend! success coz my family say nice!

went barang barang at great world city on friday too and bought a lovely tray. saw lotsa of young couples shopping for furniture there!

Howz your weekend?

kk mei

we onli drop by on sat afternn...
saw the workers doin up the electrical works...
hvnt started with the flrin yet...
the schedule stated dn as flrin startin 2daz...

went 2 chat with my upstr neighbour...
she is a nice auntie...
we koe her b4 the nite b4 we queue 4 our flat...
went 2 c c look look ard my blk & she is the one who recommend us 2 get our unit instead of the one opp...
though hv some afternn sun its muz brighter than the opp unit...

the opp unit is almost done up but we yet 2 koe the owner of the flat though seen a lady b4...
remember i mentioned abt them gettin furniture b4 the reno started???
the furniture is placed in the livin hall as their sofa set...

so hows life hvin ur own love nest???
btw ur dec conservancy charges is bein wavied???

yi

envy envy u had so muz fun bakin cookies...
i also wana 2 make some...

Hi Vin,

Mine's MTM for both WG and EG. I think the best place to look for designs is bridal magazines.

You have picked Julia? That's a good choice. I've heard very good comments abt them. My friend who had her wedding in march this year used Julia as well. She was very satisfied with their service

Hi May,

Put on weight? It's ok lah, I am the same.... put on weight over this long weekend :P

Jan has been missing leh.... Jan Jan, where are you

vin: raffles hotel will be very expensive. i dont think the package are all the same. It depends on one's budget and expectations.

SLK, ya lor..what happen to Jan..man...

Hi SLK,

Ya, Julia, their service very good and they are very very friendly as well. B4 I sign up with them, I got no idea what should I consider when I step into the bridal shop, but they gv me the guidelines and ask me to shop ard.

Hi May,

Ya, me going to Raffles this Evening to take a look of their packages and ballrooms. Let you know how much it costs then, hope it won't ne too expensive...:P

HI SLK and May,

How to keep fit?? I don't like my tummy ler, I got a small tummy....

hi vin,

small tummy? alamak! it's ok lah! wait till u see my tummy! hahaha! may is prob the better person to ask abt keeping fit.

for me, the only sports i play now is tennis. thinking of picking up golf leh. then can join my hubby when he goes for his golf sessions...

Hello SLK & May,

Here i am, not missing. Aiyoh, i went on cruise over the long weekend. eat and eat then sleep and sleep. i slept until 1pm on sat. i put on 1.5kg over long weekend. must start excercising soon or else will be big problem.

Vin, welcome to this thread! Tummy??? I got also. My mum says it's normal for girls to have tummy because if not how to have babies. but i see all those thin girls out there. they have flat tummies! help. maybe we have to start doing sit ups. wonder if it helps.

SLK, how is your excercise routine? you started already? i think we have to start soon. Jan 03 photoshoot so must start now, only 4 months to go till Jan 03. worry, i am like vin, i got medium tummy.

May, you got your bridal package already? me not yet. i might be going for the divine show at mandarin hotel. heard it's free but also heard that they are very expensive leh. most likely will go for x-zen's show at imperium. however, x-zen's show recently at alkaff like not much talk leh.

miss all you, so happy May is back, now we can talk again.

hi jan!!!

oh finally see you here, miss you lah!

cruise? wow! must have enjoyed yourself very much. the last time i went, i also eat and sleep all the time.

i haven't really started exercising leh... just tennis only.

when is the x-zen's show?

Hi Jan,

Actually, once we wear the gown, nobody can see our tummy at all.. kekek... I told ppl I want to keep fit, everyone scold me then..I'm lazy to do sit up ler...
. and I eat a lotz..

You can try Julia, they provide good service and the gown is nice as well.

May, aiyoh, i cannot play tennis. lousy at sports. x-zen's next show at imperium on the 25th August. think it's a sunday. see how. not sure if can make it too. must pay too. $18 per couple.

Vin, sure?????? after wear the gown cannot see tummy???? yippeee hurray. if confirm i don't have to worry so much. now every time after i eat, i look at tummy and i get super depress. don't eat will be hungry, eat will have big tummy, aiyoh, headache! sit up??? tough. i also no motivation that kind. plus i don't like to excercise. julia too expensive for me. my friend who tried them spend $7,800 in total. good service but out of my budget. so think i have to skip. you confirm using julia? what about your banquet? settled already? may 03 not so bad but still have to hurry.

Went to M'sia for the long weekend. I just confirmed my package with Bridal Veil two Sat ago. So now, just have to wait for them to call me for my first appt.

Weight issue is every bride-2-b's concern, I managed to lost 5kg but I think put back abt 1 or 2kg after my Australia trip one mth ago. I cut down on food intake esp carbohydrate. It helps a lot. Take more fruits & drink lots of water. Take sandwiches for lunch.

We still have some time before our wedding so let's keep fit & encourage each other.

Hi Jan,

Ya, aft we wear the wedding gown, nobody can see our tummy, unless your wedding gown is super fitting type which will show out your body shape.

You should drink a bowl of soup or a glass of water b4 you take your dinner. Or sometimes I take fruits b4 meal, so will eat lesser for our dinner. Or even a hot drink (e.g milo) will help to reduce your appetite.

Ya, me confirm use Julia, I also worried that aft I took the photos, I will want to develop more as my packages just come with 38 pcs.

You must check very carefully b4 you sign up, one of my friends who took her wedding photo at north side, aft they choose their photos, the bridal shop staff claim that their package is those normal type photo layout which is full 15" photo side, if they want to do sth like magazine type with small photo inside the full page, they need to pay another S$800/- for workmanship.

Actually all the wedding packages offer by different bridal shop is ard the same, firts things you must like their gown, they rest you can bargain with them. Think the prices ranging from S$3000/- for S$5000/- is quite norm. So must ask your hubby to bargain with them...

My wedding banquet, aiyoh, yet decide ler, both my bf's parents are overseas for business trip right now, must ask their opinion to show respect ler. We went to Raffles Hotel today, they ballroom is too small for us, coz he got quite lotz of relatives...
for mine, I will held my wedding dinner in Malaysia and here, so for those invited in Singapore will be my relatives and friends. Parents friends from here and overseas just occupied 2 tables in Singapore, for Malaysia one, let them settle, will panic if I do up coz must be quite number of ppl will be invited.

My wedding will be in June..coz my bf grandpa passed away in May'02, so his grandma said that is better to hv wedding aft 31st May 2003. Think his dad will scream coz he prefer early..

So where you will hv your wedding banquet? Think Merchant Court is nice, nice food and reasonable price. Oriental also not bad, their food very tempting, you can try to take a look of this.

HI Sue,

How you lost 5 kgs?? Is within how long?? Actually is my friend who need to keep fit, me kpo, ask for her.

Wow, you went to Australia for pre-honeymoon erh???
Is quite easy to lost your weight aft this, not worry, 1 or 2 kgs is not a big issue. Eat lesser you will lost this 2 kgs out. I always lost my weight when my bf went for his overseas business trip. SO you can try to eat lesser in your dinner, it works!

You went to Malaysia for your long weekend?? Which part of Malaysia you went? I'm in K.L fr my weekend as well. Nothing much to do there, just went for food. Nice food, yummy..

Where you all get your wedding gown design? I try to source for those bridal book, so far cannot get a design I want...

Is that crazy to ask my bf to buy those books for me when he goes to HK next week?

Actually he more curios how the japanese wedding gown design looks like..weird guy. He's lazy, he claim that he will help me to buy some books when he is in overseas, but I must do my homeworks and finalised what I want and let me go through the final design...
what a hubby-to-be??

Did anyone receive flowee's email on the dinner buffet at Ritz Carlton? Would like to know if anyone is interested in the next gathering...

yi jie,

cute frames to put photo? nice?
me a lot of frames now, but no photos. hahhaa...

wow, looks like u have done a lot of shopping! We just simply hide at home and only go marketing at ntuc.. hahaa...

flowee jie,

that's good! so there is progress everyday

u must be really excited!
Glad that u have nice neighbour. My opposite neighbour auntie also very nice. very cute, she always scold her 3 yr old son.. hahaa.. and her 2 children always come to the door and disturb my hubby.. kekekee...

flowee jie, i guess i have no time for the dinner/... recenntly busy with study and also tendering my resignation soon

Hi Sue and all,

Hv you all try evening primrose oil pill? Heard this can improve your skin and it help to reduce weight as well???? Is that true?? One of my friends try b4, it help ler.. any comments?

Hi everybody,

Jan, so glad that you are back...me and SLK was wondering what happened to you..so how was your cruise? I never been on one before, but i cant blame you ...confine on the boat, you either eat or gamble...not to worry, we all still have time to lose weight. I think i will go for the xzen show this month. Tell me more about the show at Alkaff. xzen staff did tell me that the show will be more grand at imperium.

I have not chose the bridal yet...i think i will be deciding last minute...cant make up my mind...and i got so much to do now with getting the contractor for the house...

Sue: i also trying to cut down on carbo. Please tell me what you eat everyday to lose 5kg. I only succeeded losing about 1.5 kg and i am stuck there. i need to lose another 3 kg.

Vin: i am started taking primrose oil pill aout 3 months ago regularly every night. 2 tablets a night. i dont lnow it helps or not...but it does make menses cramp less painful. You sound like you need alot of tables for your dinner. alot of relatives.

SLK: i not expert in fitness lah..i have not even started exercising regularly. Will start to jog with hubby now...

hi kk mei,

yap, bought cute frames lah, but oso like you not much fotos to put! hehehe

no much shopping lah, now mostly buy for love nest rather than for myself. hehehe

but simply love shopping at ikea, barang2, picket and rail etc now! ;)

wow, hide at home for er4 ren2 shi4 jie4 huh?

hi flowee,

progress quite fast huh?
sure excited over completion liao hor?
very fast, you would be real busy liao!

hi elaine,

me got class on every mondays so cannot make it for that dinner leh!

May,

My relatives, all in Malaysia, so will hv a dinner in Malaysia as well, don'tknow need to invite them out to attent my dinner in Singapore or not. Still consider. My bf's relatives more then me...

Me also trying primrose oil pill.. for the skin and menses cramp, actually I don't really hv menses cramp problem, but just take it to prevent laa...

Sue: How you lost weight? Teach me...

Anyone try Carlton Hotel wedding banquet b4??? Any comments? Read some comments from other thread, seems like it's not very good in service and food...???

You all started to do facial already???

hi jan and may,

i am interested in the show too. let me know the details. good time for us to meet too

hi vin,

i took EPO before. my cramps were gone and complexion better, but somehow i put on weight. i know it's supposed to help me lose weight... not sure why too.

hi sue,

wow! 5kg is alot! i will be jumping with joy if i can lose 5kg!! but my hubby will not be too happy. he does not like very skinny woman :P i am trying to lose at least 3kg before my wedding or photoshoot... but also no determination... sigh!

Hi Sue,

What si your weight now??? Most guy don't like their gf or wife too skinny.

Ya, me heard that EPO should make ppl lost weight ler, this is what my friend and her bf experience.. you gain weight?? weird erh...

When is your photoshoot??? Which bridal shop you choose?

Sorry for not replying, busy the whole day. My weight was 48kg & I'm now abt 44 or 45kg. At one pt, I was only 42kg. But, I'm only 155cm so I'll look round round if I hit 48kg. Like what Vin said, it's easier to lost weight if FH is not around. My FH is in Australia (that explained my holiday in Australia, also our pre-honeymoon) so cut down a lot on snacking & supper. He was shocked when he picked me up at the airport saying that I looked so thin.

I put on some weight during the trip & when my FH was back in S'pore for one mth, we started our food hunting. But, I try to control by eating lesser & let him eat more. He just flew off today so hopefully I can lost some weight.
I did it like within 3 to 4 mths. It's not an easy process but I just tell myself that I have to look nice not just for the wedding but also at all times.

Hi Vin,
Are you a M'sian? I actually went back to my FH's hometown, at the end of Johor state so I'll be having two weddings. I took EPO before but that was some time ago. It does help in menstral cramp but doesn't work for my complexion.

I've booked Bridal Veil and photoshoot should be next Feb or Mar. How abt you?

So glad that this thread is "alive" again!!

Hi Sue,

Wow, you are pretty thin...
Me envy... me wan 45kg...

Ya, Fh not are easy to get thin. But be mind, don't let ur Fh gain weight ler, pls don't push unfinish food for him, he must look nice as well maa...

Tell you what, take some light food before you knock-off, so you won't feel like eating again when you reach home, I stay with my auntie, the food she cook very very delicious, but me will just take my lunch at ard 4pm, so at night, I won't eat much unless I "chan jiu" laa...

Me also gain weight aft hv my trip to europe (just spain, Uk and belgium), took ard 4 to 5 meals per day, so gain ard 2 kgs for my one mth trip, but then lost it when I back for work. So you don't need to worry, sure you will lost your weight soon.

Ya, me is Malaysian, from Johor. So will hv two wedding dinner, Malaysia and Singapore.

Me booked my bridal package with Julia. Will have my photoshoot in Nov or December this yr. My wedding shld be in June. How abt yours?

Hv you all go for any facial?? Do you all hv any good recommendation?

Heard that this SK-II whitening faical mask is very good, anyone try b4?

vin

hi kk,

you tendering your resignation?
you quitting your job for another new job?

studies busy hor?
me oso got lotsa of projects dateline to meet! Hiaz!!!!!

Vin: how come you can eat so much in Europe. Everything so expensive when i was in France...i only ate lots of bread and then put on weight ...ha..

My facial with Modern Beauty is going to end...so i have no recommedation. Need to start looking for another place.

Sue: you really got a lot of determination to lose so much weight. I am still trying to achieve my 3 kg. So can u share with us what you eat everyday...to achieve so much weight loss.

SLK: you can sign on for the xzen show on www.x-zen.com.sg go look under promotion.
I have not sign on yet.

Hi May,

I went to Spain for 2 weeks, london up to Manchester for 10 days and Belgium for 1 week. The food in Spain and Belgium not very expensive. Most of our expenses was food. Me and my bf ate lotz, we enjoy food, so don't care abt the weight since the good there is so nice and not x. Aft our trip, we went to HK fr a few days, so ate a lotz again. But aft am Back to Singapore fr ard one mth, my weight drop to normal or even lesser, ard 44kg.

Is all bride will go for facial treatment b4 photoshoot and actual day??? I didn't go for any yet, should I go and check up and sign up?

I heard that SK-II mask is very good ler. I try the facial clothes for cleansing, very good. Deep cleasing for face. Me got it from outside, not counter, ard 25% off the counter price.

Wow Vin, Europe for holiday! How I envy you! I tend to eat more when holidaying! & if it's cold weather, I think we used up more energy so get hungry very soon. That's why I ate a lot while in Australia.

I thot of Julia but they want me to take photos in Nov or Dec. I can't because my FH is not back yet. He won't be in S'pore until early Jan 03. My wedding is in May.

I go for my facial at Bioskin, so so only. Still trying to find some place that's good. Any recommendation?

Some of my friends said that the SK-II mask is good but I've yet to try. Have anyone of you try SK-II facial?

Hi May,
This is my normal diet.
Breakfast - Bread or biscuits, tea or orange juice
Lunch - Egg or Chicken Sandwiches only or just eat a variety of fruits.
Dinner - soup, my mum is a cantonese & she boils soup daily, vegetables and a meat (chicken or fish)

I have digestive biscuits in the office so if I feel hungry, just eat one or two pieces. Your stomach will get used to the quantity and you won't feel hungry after a while. Whatever it is, I make sure I eat something.

HI Sue,

Dun need to envy me laa, choose europe for your honeymoon lor. This was our free & easy trip, so for both of us including air ticket, we spent less than S$7000/- for 5 weeks. Budget motel, no cab, walked, bus, train..

Ya, tend to eat more when in cold weather..

You can request them to let you have you photoshoot in Jan when your FH is back ma... I remember I asked them b4, "how come you all need so much time, in case if those who is marry bcoz of shortgun then how?""
, then they need to rush for them lor, so for your case, should be sufficient enuf to done all the job ma....

Your wedding in May? Mine is in June.. where you booked your wedding banquet?

Me try the Sk-II mask, but not the whitening one, not bad, aft used it for face, I put on my neck, follow to use it to rub my hand and back. The moisturing mask very rich.

One of my friend try the Sk-II facial before his wedding, he claim that is quite good, even right now he still using their product. Me quite tempting to try on as well, but must ask more ppl for good recommendation. Will ask my friend for how much is cost for the facial with Sk-II.

hi lyne,

nope, i'm a teochew not cantonese. wear kwa coz nice and unique mah and itz a once in a lifetime thing mah!

my dinner at swissotel merchant court.

o, house ready soon hah? sure excited hor?

me busy with my studies and project lor!

Hi Yi,

Ohhhh...teochew gals are pretty

My hse reno shd complete by end Sep. After that will be photoshoot and preparations for the wedding.

Since we last spoke, more things have been done to the house. So far so good...no major problems.

Study hard huh...then can relax for wedding and after

Keep in touch.

What happened to Tasier?? Yuhhoooo

I'm a Jan 2003 bride too!! My big day's on 17 Jan...so how are your preps for the day??
I haven really do much prep yet...

Hi Vin,
Then I must really try SK-II facial when my course with Bioskin finished.

I booked my wedding banquet at Conrad. How abt you?

hi gers

hows everyone doin???
been sometime since some of u gers drop a line or 2...
do keep in touch thru the forum. emailin or sms...

kk mei

u r quittin ur job???
becomin a teacher izit???
gd 4 u...

yi

u muz b buz with work & studies...
muz take care ok...

elaine

perhaps we can arrange high tea 2 view ur rom pixs...
gals anyone keen???

flyn & hazel

how hv u gers been???
been a while since u last leave a msg here...
do drop us a msg when u hv time ok...

Hi cherry,

Think we all start to go into preps for the wedding when the date draws near.

Mine's on 25 Jan and I have not done anything major preps either.

So far, only shortlisted the page boy/flower gal, got the rings, booked Church & dinner venue.

Currently, am involved with reno for my new house.

What abt u? Any new place? shortlisted any dinner venues?

Hey Yi, where do u intend to go foryour honeymoon?

<FONT COLOR="red">flowee</FONT> - I think everyone is either busy or the topic presently not interesting? High-tea is fine with me...anyone interested?

<FONT COLOR="orange">flyn</FONT> - I register through efiling. You still need to register 3months in advance. then u also need to get your JP to sign a form &amp; bring is back to registry. The steps are:

1) call your prefered JP (to book the JP)
2) 3months before your rom date, which is now as yours is 2 Nov, do efiling - efiling will ask you for the JP's name.
3) registry will call you to confirm your booking &amp; JP.
4) 1month before, meet your JP to have the form sign.
5) 5days before your date (28th oct) you &amp; your FH must go down together, coz u need to verify things &amp; registry need both of your ICs &amp; 2 witness ICs, bring down the JP's form, &amp; then collect your cert, 2 sheets of papers to be sign &amp; scroll/kong on the same day.
6) After your rom, you have to bring back the 2 sheets of signed papers to the registry the next day. The cert is for you to keep.

The advantage of outside rom is tat they do not have a quota, not like in registry as they work office hours. but you still need to follow the before 3months &amp; not before 3 weeks. But the disadvantage is tat got to do more steps.

If you go down to the registry to book, then they will verify both of your ICs &amp; 2 witness ICs, but you still need to go back 5 days before your rom date, pass the JP's form &amp; collect your cert, papers &amp; 'kong' to bring to your venue on your rom. so have to go down twice.

I hope this is clear...if still not clear, just call me. I use motorola, sms veri slow, coz got to type letters by letters.

Hi Sue,

Me not confirm yet, should be sheraton Towers, havne't make any decision yet.Where is Conrad?? How's the food and the ambience there???

Me thinking to try the facial as well.. Maybe will check out with them how much is their course. Pls don't buy their products from their counter, you can get discount if you get it from chinatown area.

hi flowee and elaine,

i'm game for the high tea. but not next weekend coz i'm having lessons on both sat and sun (full-day). Sian!!!!!!!

yap, you are rite, everyone is either busy with renovation, wedding, rom, studies or work. n i'm real busy with work and studies lor!

hi lyne,

heard that teochew gals are pretty from my parents and friends too. but hopefully, i'm not a black sheep! hehehehe

me busy with studies to bother abt wedding preparations now. but i'm trying on my gowns for the 1st time tomoro, kind of excited over it! Bought my wedding shoes last sat though coz my designer needs it tomoro mah!

as for honeymoon, think would probably settle for a resort immediately after wedding coz think by then, no much $ left liao!
In addition, hubby might be going for overseas exercise next feb to march and march to april is my assistant's maternity leave mah! so got to plan next june liao lor! What abt u?

hi cherry,

welcome to this thread!

your wedding is a week b4 mine!

gd mornin gers

flyn

u r holdin ur rom outside rom premises???
then i cant help with the procedures...
elaine oredi 'teach' u how 2 go abt...
congrates 4 ur forth comin rom...

elaine

so wkend shd we schedule the high tea???
i shd b fine with most sat...
m game 4 the ritz carlton wkdaz dinner also...

Hi Lyne,

I'm staying in my new house already, moved in abt 8 months ago. So only the wedding preps now. Booked my bridal shop and venue but my 1st fitting will only be at the end of this month and photoshoot will be in Nov, so now....nothing much to do except buying shoes for myself and my FH and his accessories lor (belts, ties, cuff links)...

Hi Yi,
really! actually i thght very few ppl will get married in Jan 'cos too near CNY already....aiyo got to give ang pow after that....you're going to which resort?? there's a natas fair in Sept, thinking of going there for a bargain.

yi jie and flowee jie,

me so busy recently over my job and study. i have tendered resignation and my last date is 11 sep. so everybody joking why this date. and some even tell me to remember to aim properly at certain levels of the building. hahaha....

i will be joining MOE. Will take on teaching lor :P

study..sighhhh....this morning think over a case study.. dun know how to do leh

luckily it is group work. hahaa...

Hi Dew

WOuld you mind sharing with us the package you and your hubby got from Imperium?
Is it the 638++ package? Is the Imperium management flexible in throwing in freebies like a barrel of beer etc
I am also interested in exploring Imperium as an option.

hello gals!

heheh...MIA for a while hor? got miss me boh? *thickskin*

flowee jie jie..u miss me hah? :p

sigh..as usual lah..the studies, the work and now coming up the house lor..then got lots of other things..

u hor..better not eat so much cookies hah..ok?

If going out for high tea etc etc, give me a sms ok? will try best best to go..
actually i got 1 four seasons - sunday brunch $100 voucher leh..but must have at least 4 person dinning..heheh..but i think it's a rather ex place to eat also..