(2003) Brides of year 2003

yi jie,

my hubby lor.. dun know wat he is doing.. i think he always want to wait for dunno what offer, end up never buy things wan.

class started this week lor. This weekend must study hard liao
First lesson on tuesday i am already lost.. kekekekee... maybe i have no experience with inventory systems before, so i need some time to really understand the terms. Today lecture was ok, but need revision too

Tomorrow one colleague coming to my place. He wants to get textbooks from me and visit my place at the same time
He say will dabao roti prata for us for breakfast

My hubby already in sengkang tonite. i still have to wait till tomorrow then go over. Need to pack some things to bring over lor

Happy weeekend Gals!

I will be having a one week holiday!

It's so sad n pathetic rite... that all of us have to slog just for a wedding n house reno. Gone are the days where the guy pays for everything. If that's the case, we can just concentrate on being a beautiful bride on our wedding day...

That time went for the fair at expo so brought floor plan along n the designers were all snatching for biz. So juz sat down with a few juz to get an idea of how much things will be. The $20K are mainly for the kitchen n rm cabinets as well as tv console n electrical works. Haven't include feature walls n lighting yet. Seems that premium flats r not that worthwhile too, esp if we really want a designer to do up our house.

So like wat Josephine says, really gotta save up like mad for our dreamhouse...

Hi Yi,

Yes, I remember you...live rather near to each other...

Wow...your wedding is just a day ahead of me...

U must be cantonese - Kwa for tea ceremony.

So where's your dinner?

Hi 2 angles of the triangle,

sigh...HDB neber reply me, so i havent settle on my wedding cum rom date... possibly on 18 jan.
I choosing EG design on 27 Aug and 1st fitting 1 Oct.... so exciting! : )

just a thought, do you think we can save a bit on reno by having less built-in furniture? For example, TV console, wardrobes and bed, if we were to buy them from furniture shops, would the cost be cheaper than what the designers charge for the built-in ones? I am planning to furnish the flat by stages if we are going to be very tight on budget.

dear Cutie,

so coincident! my big day will be on 22nd June 2003, too. but we havent signed the package with the hotel but they have already reserved the date for us.

Oriental is a good hotel. I attended a wedding dinner at Oriental few weeks back. The ballroom is very unique because it is a 'fan' shape design. The food is quite nice too. The only thing you may need to notice is the music is a bit soft when the groom and bride first match in. However, the hotel has already ajusted the volumn when the 2nd match in.

How many tables are you going to have?

Hi Tasier,

What's the reply you are waiting from HDB?

Go bug them...dun let them delay your plans

Yep, I must admit that it is getting exciting as the date draws near.

Went to see my hse yesterday. The tiles have been done up. Now awaiting for the laminates to be put in the bedrooms

Dear whitely,

They say 22nd June 2003 is a good day.
Which hotel are you signing up with?

I think Oriental is not bad. One thing i dun like is that the ceiling is rather low. What I like is the menu is ala carte so we get to choose from the dishes the best that we like.

I'll be having abt 35 tables. What abt u?

Really looking forward to it...
I believe you must be too!

Hi Cody & Dew,

There are a lot of photographer that do natural shots. You can try Compass Photographers (Andrew Choi, Chris Ling, Kim & Eng Howe).

I saw my frens photos taken by Andrew Choi, they are good. Very natural, no traditional posing.

hi adrienne,

my love nest costs S$218k and reno cost me ard S$33k+.

hi kk,

wow, a-week long holiday ah? how come? you take leave for national day ah?

my lessons also very siong! lotsa of projects leh! :p

yi jie,

coz company got give 3 days marriage leave mah. and in may we rom, but we have not claim yet. moreover, the validity only for 1 yr. since we won't have customary so fast, we might as well take the leave now, and then take another day annual leave, and it will be national day! So one week leave lor :P

luckily one of my modules got 2 case studies but done in groups of 3. kekekee.. so i do with my kakis, not so bad. Another one got term paper and mid term test lor. Not much actually

hi gers

kk

wow so shiok on 1 wks leave
*envy envy*
mi workin like mad coz hv 2 rush out some drawings...
last sat tong du oredi...
reno works startin 2daz accordin 2 my id...

adrienne

we bought our unit @ $209,600
reno cost nt finalised coz juz started work...

yi

2daz hv 2 go lesson again ah...
muz take care hor...

Hi dew,

Sorry for not replying earlier. My reno is killing me ! I'm so tired now ....

Yup, i think my posed photos are going to be kept in the cupboard, so see how lah. Anyway at the rate i'm spending for the house, maybe no more $$ left for photography already ....

Hey jingle bell, thanks for your help. I've see some of their work too, but very expensive leh ...
i may stick with Choon Huat who can do outdoor shoots as well ..... will let you all know nearer that date !

hi kk mei,

my company oso have 3 days marriage leave but i oso never take for my ROM last year. Thus, i'll be taking it b4 my customary next jan. :p

me oso taking off probably next week to do my projects!

hi flowee,

today no lesson but got company function so late nite again!

hi adrienne,

you have got a cute son!

flowee jie,

so u and ur hubby came to sengkang to have a look this evening?

yi jie,

yah lor. validity one year. so i can't keep till my customary which is oct/nov next year. so i might as well take the 3 days leave :P
we really wanted to take a long break lor.

yoo..u got so many projects

last time i also sacrifice leave to do assignments. but after that, can roughly cope, so i dun wanna take leave to do term papers, etc anymore. kekeke...

kk,

wow, one wk leave. shiok man.

yi,

studying again ah. but never mind only a few mths left right???

flowee,

so your house settled already. when is the expected completion date??

adrienne,

your husband 21st bd ?? on first look i thought you took the picture at ighors'

hi kk mei,

ya lor, so many projects to do and 2 due this month, 3 due next month and 1 due in oct. Sian!!!!!!

luckily, i have lotsa of off days to clear, lotsa of annual leave and company oso have unrecorded leave. Plus, this weekend, long weekend so can clear my individual project 1st!

howz your new place liao? stayed there already? excited huh?

hi ling,

ya lor, class started and real siong man! luckily, hubby helping wif wedding preparation and household chores so i can concentrate on my studies! hez a real sweetie at times lah! :p

gd mornin gers

kk

we went 2 my love nest last nite @ 12plus...
no reno works had commenced yet...

ling

had dong tu last sat...
reno works can commenced any time oredi...
shd b completin in 3mths time...

yi

seems like a buz semester 4 u...
muz take care ok...

flowee jie,

wow..so late, no wonder u need torchlight. kekekee... by then, we already zzzzzzzz :P

yi,

my hubby mopping the floor now. me surfing net at own leisure. kekekekeee....
just finished preparing one dessert. Hmm.. not very nice, but edible.. kekeeke...

yesterday i prepare the jelly. success!

kk

yah lor was workin till 8plus last nite...
when headin home drop by my love nest 2 check things out...
who koes hvnt started yet...
anyway found out oredi thurs then they r hackin the walls...

wow u made jelly???
nvr treat us...

hi kk mei,

you oso like me, when hubby ard leave everything to hubby huh?

wow, started cooking at new place already huh?

hi flowee,

think your reno will be completed by latest mid oct or even earlier!

yi

aint rushin them 2 complete it asap...
give them as muz time as they need as long as they do a gd job...
muz drop by my place when its done ok...

so tired 2daz...
keep yawnin & rushin 4 project 2 go out by 2molo mornin...
seems like hv 2 work late again...
*sigh*

hi flowee,

never say that to your id coz they will really dilly dally wan! Just like one of my gf who told her id to take their time and they really leave their house reno aside halfway when they have urgent projects! so although you are not in a hurry give them a dateline to complete it so that they can arrange their priorities. Trust me.

when your house ready, i sure to drop by wan!

me also tired today coz reach home at 10pm after project meeting. After my skipping and bath, do my individual project till 12plus. So tired! Luckily, another day more and itz long weekend liao! Hooray!

Any plans for the long weekend? Me staying at new place to do projects! hehehe

flowee jie,

it is like tat wan lor. after they dong tu, they can't start anything much. then slowly u find that their pace pretty fast. When the flooring and major things completed, then they took own sweet time again. kekeke... this is when u realise u will start pushing coz u are anxious to get ur flat ready :P

ur flat ready then i drop by too

yoo.. i have to practise my jelly making skills first. cannot let u all be guinea pigs mah :P

yi jie,

yah lor, that time ask my id to slowly do. end up i need to rush them to finish so that i can xie tu and move the things in. if i dun rush them, they will take 3 mths i guess :P

i make lime juice cake today.. but hor, i put in fridge for 1 hr liao.. no signs of hardening leh *sob* *sob* i guess it might be a failure

yah hor, all of us have longg weekend. kekekee.. enjoy the holidays! for me, very fast, wednesday liao
soon, one week leave will be over

yi & kk

so i shdnt tell them no hurry take their time lor???
my guy lah he is the one who said no hurry one lah...
i wont mind it bein done up soon...
love the feelin of hvin my own place...

u gers promised muz drop by hor...
can hv pot luck dinner or lunch lor...

its been a buz mornin 4 mi...
the drawings r finali out & sent 2 site...
1 item dn...

gers

i koe its hard 2 work & doin part time studies...
gonna take care & work hard since its ur final yr...

I am back from my trip. What happened to you all? No postings? So quiet.

My trip was exhausting and it was so hot and humid. worst than Singapore. I am so glad to be back!

When i was in Tokyo one of the AM, i was still sleeping in bed. I actually felt the bed moved. Thought it was really eerie. Later i found out that there was actually a tremor. Cool my first time experiencing such a feeling...hee

hi kk mei and flowee,

ya lor, tatz y cannot tell id to take their time one coz they really do and by the time, you want to rush them, itz probably too late or they would say you say take our time wat! thatz wat happen to my gf and thus her house takes a long time to be done!

flowee, give them a dateline to have it ready! like wat kk say, soon you wld be anxious for your house to be ready liao! You been busy lately, must take care hor!

kk, start experimenting cooking liao huh? Me long time never cook liao except desert coz of studies and projects! maybe this weekend will cook lah, c how lor!

flowee jie,

that time my hubby also like tat. ask the id to do slowly. In the end he anxious to get it done so he rush the id too. hahaa..

yi jie,

i have been cooking these few nites. so far so good! The dessert really a failure this morning. Cannot harden wan. kekekee... so i throw it away lor

Just now manage to make the jelly and some mango pudding

Hi May,
Welcome back. U might not know me but I've posted in this thread before, also a May'03 bride. I'll be scared to death if I felt my bed moving, thank God u r safely back.

Hi everybody,
This thread has been very quiet lately. Busy busy?

I'll have my wedding in end of May or June 2003. Any recommendation for wedding banquet adn bridal shop???

vin

Hi May,

Welcome back! wow! what a terrifying experience... i'd been scared stiff too! Anyway, hope you are all well and recovered by now

Hi Sue,

I remember you

Hi Vin,

MTM means your gowns will be made-to-measure according to what you want, instead of choosing them off-the-racks. you can either supply your own design or get suggestions from the designers at the boutiques.

Do I answer your questions?

Hey Jan,

Have you been busy lately? Have not heard from you.

I have been very busy too... so glad it's a long weekend this week

Happy National Day folks!

hi gers,

good morning!

hi flowee,

reno starting today huh?
popping by new place to see the progress 2nite?

hi kk mei,

so you have been staying there this whole week huh?
cooking these few nites ah? wow, so fast be housewife already!

me really no time to experiment coz of my projects! :p
so your house fully complete and furnished liao?

mornin gers

so glad its thurs oredi...

yi

c how might drop by 2 c c look look @ nite lor...

kk

looks like u r gettin nearer 2 bein able 2 cook 4 us somedaz...

Hi everybody,

When my bed moved...i wasnot thinking about earthquake but rather than there is something under my bed...i was going along the line of ghosts...haha..

Never experience temor before mah..but it was quite an experience.

Vin, Oriental Hotel had a very good promo last month...u get two nights at the bridal and they give you Fri and Sun Banquet prices at weekday rate. So it is quite good. U may want to check it out. I have booked with Amara. As for bridal, i am still sourcing, but i have narrow it down to either Xzen or jawn Happy ever after.

SLK, ya loh..what happened to Jan. U gals have been so quiet. SLK, i very depress, i think i put on the weight that i lost during this Japan trip. I drank too much beer...it was so hot that an ice cold beer really works wonder.

Sue: how's your preparations?

Hi, there

i'm a going to be Feb 03 bride. Anyone who's keen to share info or is also a Feb 03 bride ?

Awaiting for responses .....

hey cutie,

I like the jumping icon so much

I will book goodwood park hotel and only 23-25 table will be taken. dont wish to invite those kucing kurak people :P yaya, i heard my hotel manager said 22nd June is a good day too, do u know why?

Why did u pick this day as your big day? 22 June is our anniversary day so my fiance would like to throw our banquet on the same day too

Ya, I am very looking forward to the day to come but i still havent ROM yet. and also need to settle renovation problem, etc. How is your preparation??

morning yi jie,

yah lor, we will be here this whole week. but tomorrow we checking in carlton hotel. kekekee.. u must be "wowing" again, how come we check in hotel so often. kekee.. my hubby got free voucher, so we stay till saturday lor.

well, like to try out my recipes mah. those no good ones i will dump them away. hahaha...
eat out also sian, dabao also sian, so cook better
and cheaper

my house totally complete liao lor. pay the full sum to id liao

morning flowee jie,

yah, maybe someday when u all drop by for weekend lunch, i can cook something

happy visiting ur flat! Bet u two will be very excited. kekekee...

Happy National Day gals! Just in case i no time to log in again today

Happy Birthday Singapore!

think i will most likely be a june/july bride too cos my fiance like these two months... duh... still choosing dates, so can you gals enlighten me on the so-called good and bad dates around that time? thanks!! i am not superstitious but i don't want ppl to question me why i pick a bad day, know wat i mean?? weekday would be good... can save $$...

Hi whitely,

Yes, isn't the icon cute???

So you have not booked the hotel? Better do it fast cos now that the chinese almanac is out, pple will start their hotel hunting. But then, since you have tentative booking, not so bad.

I wish i could have less tables too but my FH's relatives will take up 20 tables. So i doubt i can reduce...

I duno why pple say 22nd June is a good date. No special meaning for us. My future MIL got the fortune teller to check based on our eight characters and the parents' zodiac signs. Got 3 best dates for year 2003 and we chose that cos it's a Sunday.

Anniversary? Sssooo meaningful... Yes! Do make your banquet date the same day. You will remember forever...

I hvnt ROM either. Booking of date for ROM should be quite easy rite? I'm worse off than you. Havnt even got the house yet... Duno how...

Have you chosen your bridal boutique? My 1st appointment with YC will be 9/9.

Hi SLK,

Thanks for your info. By the way, for your wedding gowm, is that OTR or MTM??

Dear SLK and all,

Any idea that I can source for my wedding gown design??? Any good recommendation for bridal shop???

Have you all source for any photographer on your wedding day?? Any recommendation???

I'm very stress now, nothing have been finalised, like guess list, hotel, etc..... all this really kill me...

Hi May,

How's your Japan trip??? Enjoy yourself?? By the way, why you choose Japan???

Thanks for your infor for Oreintal Hotel, me will check it out. The most important things for my bf is the food and the ceiling of the ballroom, and is that any piano in the ballroom... kekekek... funny guy erh...???

vin

hi everybody, my wedding on 6 june 03 .. glad to meet n share with all june brides out there! my banquet booked with panpac n bridal with x-zen.. keep in touch

kk

wow so nice can go hotel stayin again ah...
envy envy... :P

tks 4 offerin 2 cook 4 us when we drop by...
nt sure if we r droppin by 2 nite @ our love nest or nt...
sms u again ok...

u hv a nice wkend...

HAPPY BIRTHDAY SG!!!

Vin,

no piano in the ballroom but got one in the reception area for Oriental. Why?

ceiling, i dont recall it was very high. But ok. Food i dunno...frankly speaking i have never attended a wedding dinner where the food is really fabulous. So dont have too high hopes.

Anyway, what is your budget. Amara is not too bad in terms of price after their reno. Look very zen and modern. That's why i chose them for the dinner.

hi gers,

me just came back from ikea!
the place still as crowded as b4 even sale so long liao! ;p

wow, kk mei, really envy you can check-in into hotel so often! for me, will be spending the long weekend @ my love nest!
busily doing projects and probably cook abit here and there!

so good, you gers stay so near each other, me stay at JW, out of the way lah!

flowee, like wat kk mei says, soon you and hubby will be anxious over the completion of your love nest liao!